223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Plantation Place RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (972) 226-0464
CGID2913

Plantation Place RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   5   10   3   3   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This park is very quiet and peaceful. Its a good place to go for rest away from the hustle and bustle of life. Beautiful scenery. Not a lot to do here so this is why I say an eight. It would be nice if there were potluck gathering among tenants for some people interactions. The staff was very friendly and the park is pet friendly. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
We are staying here for a week while visiting family and having work done on the RV, and absolutely love it. Very clean and quiet. The management has been nothing but helpful while we have had a mechanic out working on our RV. Lots to do in the area with Downtown Dallas just down I-30 a few miles. Will definitely be back when we visit family again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
Nothing really to do here. It is a gravel campsite with hook-ups and a little laundry facility. Both are kept clean but there is nothing else to this park. I was there for five weeks and never met a staff person, but did speak to them on the phone and they were very helpful. It's a great place to stay if you are in the are for other things, but the dust and lack of shade left something to be desired. I'm glad that I was here in the winter months, as it would be unbearable in the Texas summer heat. The nightly rate listed of $26 is based on the weekly rate of $185. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Roads to get to this park are terrible which is why I only rated as a 5 and not "big rig" friendly. There were so may bumps, trees, and narrow roads that things in our rig that aren't normally affected by bad roads were flying around opening drawers and doors (most roads in Alaska were better than these). Once in the park, the sites were easy to get into and services all worked great. The pond (not really a lake) was nice and lots of grass for the pups. Some folks did not pick up after their pets which makes it bad for all of us animal lovers. There is no on-site management which may be why folks were negligent. Overall, nice little park with no amenities except a laundry which we did not use. There are no rest rooms or showers but apparently I have to state "don't know" to submit this review. Wouldn't be bad for a short stay except for getting in and out of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
The first time I called this park I got the last spot for the week. I realized when I stayed here why the park was so full, it was because of it's location! I was able to get to downtown Dallas in 18 minutes. I know because I timed it. The previous reviewer described this park as a "parking lot". This campground is far from a parking lot, I know because I have stayed at parking lot type RV parks which are close to highways, construction zones or railroads. The park is very quiet and secure which is the way I like it. The park is also very clean with no trash or junk piles. The sites themselves are very level with ample room between the sites. There is plenty of grass between the sites, and the sites are mowed on a regular basis. The WiFi and cable TV(which has 75 channels) is free, and is better than most 5 star hotels I have stayed at. The previous reviewer stated that it can get dusty. This problem can be avoided if you drive the speed limit which is posted. Each site has all the amenities (20,30,50 amp,water,city sewer, and instant phone if necessary). Their laundry is extremely clean with 3 washers and 3 dryers which are $1.00 each load. The secluded location in an upscale neighborhood gives this park a camping atmosphere, but within minutes of all the restaurants and other action. i believe the sport/pet run area covers about 15-20 acres. Dallas has good RV parks and I found one in Plantation Place just a short drive east of Downtown Dallas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We had heard how difficult it was to find vacancy at this campground, and the perception was because it was so nice. Unfortunately, perception did not come close to reality. The majority of this campground is occupied by "full-timers", with many of them leaving for work in the morning and returning from work in the evening. There is very little grass, but lots of white chalky rock that makes up this "parking lot" of a campground. The main plantation house, off limits to campers, is a significant distance from the sites, and is separated from the campsites by a wall. There is a lone swing-set frame rusting in the distance; remnants of another set and some other junk are in a trash pile at the back of the property. There is literally no other infrastructure (except for plumbing/electrical, and a couple of picnic tables). There is a huge field, but not much else for the kids to do. Riding bikes in the rocky campground is not advisable, but the field was mowed and stickers were at a minimum. The small lake had a couple of picnic tables nearby, so perhaps on a cooler day it is not too bad a place to eat or drop a rod in the water. But despite reports online about shady spots or nice fishing spots, there are no shade trees anywhere here...during the summer this is a pretty hot, dusty place with very little to do. Dallas really needs a good campground. If you're stopping just for the night, this is sufficient. If you're staying a few days, find something down the road...it can't be much worse. Also, be warned: access from Barnes Bridge Road should only be from the east. There is a load zoned bridge to the west, as well as very low hanging trees over the road. The trees are getting low to the east as well, but at least no bridge issue. If only some of those trees were shading the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
If you are looking for a place to park for a couple of days/nights, then this is sufficient. This is a "parking lot" for people passing through town. There is gravel and white chalky dust everywhere. There is a laundry, period. Nothing else. There is an office, but no one is ever in it if you need anything. If you call the number an answering machine usually picks up, and they call you back. You walk out your front door and your next door neighbor's sewer and electrical is right there in front of you. They let people park all kinds of trailers and awful old pickups at the back of the lot. You have no patio area to sit out on and there are weeds everywhere. No shade at all and with the 106 degree temps while we were there, it worked our air conditioners to their limit, having no shade and only gravel and dirt to sit on. This is a good place if you are in a pinch, otherwise, just keep on going down the road. The only thing I can say good is that the rates are very reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
A bit unique. Stayed three nights and never encountered any staff person. Check in is self service at entrance (Must have a reservation). No restrooms or showers available. OK laundry. Phone available for use with unrestricted in-country long distance. Sites are gravel and mostly pretty level. Space a bit tight but not cramped. Good length for pull thru sites. Easy getting in/out of park and sites. Super area for dog walking. Quiet country setting. Rate shown is for Good Sam. On a future visit this wouldn't be my first choice but I wouldn't feel bad if this was what was available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We stayed here for a month while visiting my elderly mother. We found the owners and staff to be extremely professional and courteous. The park is quiet, not on a major highway or rail line like other parks I've stayed at. The Wi-Fi is very FAST and FREE. FREE cable TV. Not sure what there is to complain about at this park. I will stay here again, and I also recommended this park to other friends of mine that travel to the Dallas area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Excellent free Wi-Fi ...both in speed and reliability. Nothing else to brag about. Good utilities although hookups are at rear of site so can complicate effectively using the pull-through with a toad behind a MH unless you have sewer extensions. Caliche/gravel streets & pads w/nice grass between. Nothing fancy ...nothing major to complain about. We would return if we need to visit in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
As others have mentioned, check in happens at a kiosk. No life forms are involved. No restrooms or showers. Washers/dryers are on site. We never saw a park representative for the entire week we camped here. No signage from I-30 or other access roadways. Good location if you need to be close to Dallas. Most residents are permanent. Dusty and gravel surface. But, Wi-Fi and CATV worked great!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Met our needs well while visiting family in Dallas. Our site overlooked a small pond with a wading bird or two at dawn and sunset, nice touch. Many long term campers but sites were clean and neat. Good 50 amp power, sewer and water. Verizon phone and air card worked well. Some sites are a little narrow, but most would fit our 40' rig and toad just fine, and our 4 slides. Quiet. No shade so was hot outside in low 90s weather. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Pulled in here just before a major storm hit. Wet and muddy. Very good cable and Wi-Fi. No restrooms so must be self contained. Road in is rough. Many permanent residents. Probably the best deal if you want to be close to Dallas. We needed to get off the road due to the weather. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
It's OK for overnight, or if you have business or family in the area. It's gravel, some what worn; looks like some sites flood in the rain. Has mostly permanent campers. No shade: summer must be a joy. Has easy access from I-30; the main road in, gets narrow and rough. Other's have covered the check in; which worked fine. Not many other choices are as convenient if you need to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
One of the closest RV parks to Dallas. No office, only a sign-in kiosk. Sites are level gravel. Some permanent residents but park was quiet and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
Very lovely owner who is sweet and accommodating. Park is convenient to Dallas and Rockwall. Close to Lake Ray Hubbard. People there are friendly, and other RVer's look out for one another. The electric never goes out during storms. Clean laundry facility. Easy check in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is a winter park. If you are looking for a shady spot in the summer heat this is not the place for you. Winter time would be good here. There is no swimming pool and not one tree. The laundry facility is good, WI-FI works well at no charge...good Cable...no visible staff. You make a reservation and when you arrive you pick your envelope up at the kiosk in front. The envelope has your site # and location map inside. Fill out the paperwork and return it to the drop box. Good location for access to East Dallas area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
The stately plantation house you see when you drive down the road raises your hopes about the quality of this park. However, once you get there, you realize it’s just a gravel parking lot under the power lines, with a wall between you and the mansion house. The sites are level; the pull-through sites are easy; and the pond is pretty. We never saw any of the staff in person, but registering by telephone was straightforward, and the check-in instructions when we got there were clear. Only one RV slot in the entire park has even a tiny patch of shade. Our poor AC struggled to cool our RV in the broiling August temperatures and really couldn’t quite keep up. This park offers few amenities for the fairly high price, and the water tastes terrible, but it’s convenient to east Dallas, and we would stay there again. We received the Good Sam discount (10%). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Park is very nice. 103 degrees in June in Texas takes a little out of anything done there. There's no shade so everything is directly in the sun. Management is very courteous and accommodating. It's the closest, well-rated park in the Dallas area. Easily accessible with a big rig. We will stay there again when visiting that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
The park is located behind a private residence that was or appears to be an old plantation house. The sites are gravel, ours was not level, but it wasn't too difficult to level our 5th wheel with three of the stacking leveling pads. The cable was very good and Wi-Fi was the best we've ever experienced. There are no public restrooms or showers and no other amenities besides the cable and Wi-Fi. It's on the far east portion of the Dallas area, but only about 20 minutes from downtown Dallas. We will stay here again when we are in the Dallas area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
The park is very nice and will use again. Safe park so comfortable to walk after dark or in evenings. Management was extremely nice and park is well maintained and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
The park has full hook-ups, free Wi-Fi, and a nice laundry room, but little else to offer. Unfortunately we arrived just after a few days of heavy rains and couldn’t put out a lawn chair without loosing it in the soft ground. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, it’s a great place to stay if you’re visiting family or friends, as we were, or for an overnight stay, because your options are limited. I’m sure we’ll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
This was our third stay over the past 3 years as we use the park when visiting family in Dallas area. Park does good for our purpose, good location, safe and full services including new wifi since our last visit. Laundry room is the cleanest with good prices on machines ($1.00). The owner, Glenda, is very helpful, but you do have to communicate by phone or catch her driving through the park. We will continue to make Plantation Place our base on our annual visits to Dallas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
There were no restrooms or showers. Reservations are needed as the office is not open often. The sites had large wooden dividers that were difficult to move around the RV and set up water and sewer lines. We would use this park again only because it has a great location to visit the Dallas area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
There are very few RV parks in or near Dallas. This one is east, just off I-30, 2 miles from I-635, so it is easy to access Dallas. There are pull throughs with 50 amp and WIFI, which are our main requirements, but the park is very plain. The sites are wide enough to open slide outs and awnings, but you wouldn't want to sit outside because it isn't very attractive. It is far enough from the interstate to avoid traffic noises, and it is right under 2 cell towers, so the signals are good. We found it to be sufficient for our purposes, which were to visit family in central Dallas. We never saw the manager, as business was conducted via an envelope which we picked up and filled out. You have to have a reservation in advance to stay there, or you can call the posted number and request a site when you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
We chose this park because it was so convenient to downtown Dallas. Space for maneuvering was adequate. The sites are adequate, but not spacious. The view is adequate, but nothing to write home about. The interior roads and pads are gravel. There are no park personnel present. Everything is handled by envelope, similar to some state parks we have stayed in. There is a large shopping mall close by. We were here over the weekend, and there was a lot of traffic in the area. The rate we paid was with the Good Sam Club discount included. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Very close location to east Dallas. Basically a level gravel lot with power and wifi and cable. No bathrooms, and when it rains it turns into a mud puddle. Good place to stay when in Dallas, but only for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
The rating of this park will depend upon what the visitor seeks. There is nothing there for children to do and it does not have showers. It does now have a laundromat that is very clean and new. It is small, but this park only has 38 sites! This park supplies exactly what their web site says it does. It is very quiet and in an very rural setting, yet only two miles from major highways and with good roads and easy access. The sites are reasonably wide and very easy to get into, with wide streets of well maintained gravel. Most sites are pull-through. The lake is well away from the sites, but has tables for visitor use and has catch & release fishing with no license. The owners are very nice and the park is run such that there is little contact with the staff, unless you need something. There are trees near the sites, but none in the campground so there is no shade, but it does make for very easy access. This is a good park to stay in if you seek only a place to stay and to sleep, but not to be entertained. We spent a week there to visit family and we will return next spring! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Very convenient to relatives in Dallas, nice and quiet area away from highway traffic, we prefer no trees for easy use of our Datastorm dish, level site, and very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Campground? Driveway up to the area nice plantation home, which is not the parking area. No interaction with staff. You pick up your paperwork from a mailbox, fill it out, put it back in a mailbox. Any questions or problem is a phone call away. Laundry room open, but office is locked and not staffed. Water pressure blew the female connection off my hose and also the campers site next to me. Under power lines and one picnic table for all sites near the pond. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We were here in April 2004 and stayed 3 days. They do have premium cable TV and instant phone available. We liked the park very much and will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Their web site is very misleading: it shows a plantation style home sitting on acres of green grass - you do see a home, but the campground is a desolate parking lot with uneven gravel sites. They advertise free premium cable TV (not available), instant phone access (also not available) and around the clock security. There was no security, just a rude employee who had to be a relative of the owners - he looked like we were always interrupting his TV watching!! In fact, his car was parked at the plantation house at night! There are no amenities whatsoever - no pool, showers, picnic tables or shade. There is a pond, but you have to release whatever you catch. This is nothing but a glorified parking lot made out of gravel and mud whose sites are heavily rutted. We stayed here while visiting relatives for 2 days, and that was too long!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$25
They have no amenities . . .no bathroom/showers; laundry; picnic tables, shade spots; nothing except E/W/S. The first site we were put in was so unlevel we asked to be moved. Then we were informed that the advertized "instant" phone hookup on site in fact cost an additional $3.00 per day. We voiced the fact that their rates ($28.00 a day) were very expensive for what was there. They very rudely told us that if we didn't like it, we could just leave . . .and that is what we did. The pictures and advertizement look and sound great, but beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com