223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Bend Resort and Adventures RV Park and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (432) 371-2218
CGID2915

Big Bend Resort and Adventures RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
131
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   6   6   8   1   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
It's just a dusty gravel parking lot with hookups. But, if you want hookups, and can't get one of the few in Big Bend, it is certainly an adequate place to stay while visiting the area. Utilities worked fine. Location is good. Close to the west entrance to the national park, to Terlingua/Study Butte stores, restaurants(few), and most importantly the only gas station. No Verizon data service but voice was good. Park WiFi worked most of the time, better than most CG WiFi service. Sites are big enough and easy in/out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This is a very nice RV park, level, clean, well maintained and very close to (in our opinion) the best entrance to Big Bend NP. Yes, the campground is mostly dirt but this is the desert so don't expect palm trees and waterfalls! Campsites are very roomy - no problems with being too close to your neighbors. The office manager was very nice to us, but seemed a little grumpy with the lady who was in line in front of us. Not sure what that was about. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Can't say enough good things about this campground. Location is best we saw while we spent five days traveling the area. We saw other camp grounds, but no other professionally run camping sites were in the area. Would definitely stay here again. Clean, quiet, grass, trees, management and workers very helpful, restaurant, store, and gas on property--don't miss the great breakfast at restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
To be clear, there is no resort here. Just a run down looking motel and a parking lot in back with some grass (not much) between gravel strips. But the place was fine for the amount of time we spent here. We came for the national park, not the campground. Very convenient to the NP, but I did stow my chairs & grill when we left for the day because we were the front site to the highway and the park has no security or even a choke point for incoming traffic. This place did what we needed it to do. Restrooms were run down and old looking, but clean enough to use. No Verizon 4G out here, but the campground WiFi worked well enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
First the good stuff. The sites are wide with lots of room around them. WIFI works great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Gravel roads are in good shape. Now the not so good. Price is high, but they have the location, close to Big Bend NP. Cable TV is very poor, ours didn't work and our neighbor's barely did. Water hookup is a poorly constructed setup, and I'll bet they get broke a lot. Garbage dumpsters are a long way from most places in the park. Dirt in the sites is loose and easy to track inside; could use gravel in sites. Some sites are long some short with not enough room for the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Rate reflects stay of at least 7 days. Pretty much a gravel lot, but great location in the center of Big Bend activities. Employees were both friendly and helpful. It is what it is, and what it is is about as good as it gets in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
This Park was the worse that we have ever stayed at during any of our stays in Big Bend. The workers were friendly but the park was unkept, the restrooms were beyond filthy (stunk to high heaven and looked like they haven't been cleaned for two weeks) and the pads were unlevel. It rained when we were there and the caliche turned to mud and those that know caliche, it sticks and stays with you. Never again. We stayed here in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We stayed a week at this campground as a base for day hiking in Big Bend NP. It was a very convenient location with friendly staff and great places to walk our dogs. Despite the large number of RVs and motorcycles coming and going, it was relatively quiet compared to other places we've stayed. Like all campgrounds in the area, it is in a low desert environment that is dry and dusty and lacking in vegetation and shade trees. We looked at the other campgrounds in the area during our travels and feel this is definitely the best of the bunch. Although the Internet connection was intermittent at times, we plan to stay here when we next visit Big Bend NP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
This was a great location for making daily visits to the National Park. After reading reviews on this forum we were prepared for the worst. We are writing a review for the first time, because our experience was so much better than the reviews. Yes, it was dusty and bare...we were in the desert. We found the staff to be very friendly and highly accommodating. Because of a phone number error in a magazine we had made a reservation at Rio Grande Village instead of here. Staff refunded out money and let us stay in Terlingua. We would definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
We stayed here a week, the rate reflects 7 days stay. The location is very good, it sits between the state and national parks, 80 miles south of Alpine and maybe 5 miles from the eclectic little town of Terlingua. The staff overall was helpful, there is a small store and a laundry within walking distance. It is very, very dusty and usually windy but it is, after all, the desert. The Wi-Fi worked sometimes, sometimes not. I went once or twice to the office to get them to reset it, though most of the staff did not know how to do that. Cable TV was terrible where we stayed (on the south end, same side as the stables) but supposedly it is better on the north-east side, I have no way of knowing. Additionally, there is a noisy power plant on the south east side of the park. There are a lot of Sheriff patrols and Border police that frequent the area, and it did seem safe while we were here. Really there isn't much in this area for alternatives if you have a very large unit like we have. There are steep grade hills east and west of this park. I would stay here again were I to return to Big Bend. PS: Beware of snakes at night, not usually a problem during the day however. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
The park is run down with dying trees and vegetation. Only a few sites have limited shade trees. The check in staff was not very friendly. The cable tv and WiFi did work. I paid $30 a night for a site with 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This park had awful customer service. When I checked in I discovered that I would also have to actually "check out" when we left. I had questions/issues with that because we sometimes decide to leave very early or even very late at night. After some back and forth with the woman at the desk I was finally allowed to "check out" as soon as I checked in. Her manner was very condescending, and I did not appreciate being talked to that way. The wi-fi at this park never worked for us even when I sat on the porch right in front of the office. The restrooms looked like they had been remodeled in the last 10 years and were fairly clean, but one of them had a loose faucet in the shower with a big hole. Also, there were no picnic tables at the popup sites and nowhere nearby. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
Friendly staff let us pick our site. Dusty and dirty, but it is the desert. Terlingua is an interesting place. Locals are a strange assortment of dropouts and retirees, but everybody was very friendly and loved living the hardscrabble existence in the desert. Local stores can provide basic needs. Cable in campground didn't work, and Wi-fi was in and out. Lots of snowbirds and long term residents. Campground could be a little cleaner. We looked at other campgrounds in Terlingua, and this one was probably the best. Loved hiking in the Chisos Mountains, 4 wheeling and driving around Big Bend National Park. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
This was a bare basic park. Gravel road and sites. Very dusty. Dogs not picked up after. Cable was okay. The office tried to put us in pull throughs that did not even accommodate the rig, much less the tow vehicle. Went to back in sites that had aggressive entrance into the lot that causes the mud flap to bury in sand if you do not lift it. Had to angle the rig into the site to get over the the hump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
Nice place, friendly staff and sites were fine although dirt, they were level. Our only complaint was that you had to pay $2.00 to take a shower in their restrooms, which we didn't do. This is a convenient RV park to Big Bend National Park and the price was good for full hookups. Wi-Fi was a little slow and cable TV was fine. We didn't use any of the other facilities within close proximity, i.e., cafe, riding stables, laundry, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
We used this park as a starting point for exploring the area and it was a good choice for that, rather than dragging a camper all across the park to go to the Village Park after reading the reviews. Since it was too cold to sit outside and watch the stars, it didn't really matter. The days were pleasant but the nights were cold. The spots were level, the wi-fi was slow, but I had my own Verizon wi-fi card which was also slow. Cable was good, water pressure was fine and the office personnel were friendly, letting me choose our spot. A large ice machine was available which was a plus. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Just one night here, but it suited our needs...spent the whole day in Big Bend NP and exited the west gate at sundown, so Terlingua was very convenient. Everything worked...cable, Wi-Fi, water, electric...and the staff was friendly and helpful. We debated staying in the campground in the NP at Rio Grande Village, and it looked OK (would have been a more scenic location)...maybe next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Let me preface my review with a few things. First, keep in mind there is nothing in this area except for Big Bend National Park (BBNP) & Big Bend Ranch State Park (BBRSP). Terlingua has a population of 260, is 100 miles from Alpine and that's not much of a city either. Terlingua is the PERFECT place to stay if you're visiting the area. There are several restaurants, stores, gas stations, etc. Plus it's 3 miles from the entrance to BBNP and about 15ish from BBRSP. We really thought Big Bend Motor Inn was a good park, more like a complex. It is an RV park w/ cabins, hotel, store, cafe, gas station, horse stables, you name it. It was easy to check in with the hotel front desk. We were allowed to choose any open site and most appeared to be pull throughs. Yes they are dirt, but everything is in Terlingua and at least it's level dirt! What set this park apart from the rest is that it has cable TV and Wi-Fi. Based on previous reviews we didn't expect the cable TV to work, and it didn't when we arrived. Maintenance repaired it and explained they use signal amplifiers and the breakers for them frequently fault. On our last night the cable TV was out again. I notified the front desk clerk. He said maintenance would be in till the morning and told us he would give us 10% off since the cable was out for half our stay. I thought that was perfectly reasonable. We also expected to walk to the cafe for Wi-Fi. We picked a site as close as we could get to the cafe and had plenty of signal in our rig. We didn't use the showers, but I notice they do charge $2 for 6 minutes. That might seem rough, but we noticed you were charged for showers everywhere, even in the national park. Water is tough to come by in this area and I can understand why. Anywhere else this park would be just ok, but full hookups, with cable TV and Wi-Fi for $27/night in Terlingua makes it pretty darn good! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
It is a very basic park, with small trees and not much grass. We had 2.5" of rain our last night and everything was a muddy mess for move out. WiFi is not available anywhere in the park. The park could use some maintenance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
The Wi-Fi only works at the cafe. The showers are pay. It is an open area with lots of dust. The staff were overwhelmed as they were busy for a change, and not too friendly. No late check out was available. Good location for Big Ben National Park. Looked like the best RV place in Terlingua. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
RV area is in back of the motel. The land is on abandoned mercury mining area. The entire area is about as unattractive as we have seen anywhere. The highlight of the park is that there are no permanent trailers. From there it is pretty much downhill. It is a dusty lot with frequent manure droppings around. Cable TV "is not guaranteed" and there is no wi-fi. Staff is not friendly, and there are no discounts of any type. Bank/post office is across street. However, it is less ghastly than BJ's if you want to stay to see 170/Big Bend Ranch State Park Park and west side of BBNP. Then move quickly. Try park listed under Alpine on east side of park for a real treat from where you can visit Chisos Basin and eastern side of BBNP and enjoy this most unusual and entertaining park. Study Butte/Terlingua really is the end of the earth - but BBNP is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
This campground is located only 3 miles from Big Bend National Park behind the Big Bend Resort and has a restaurant (breakfast & lunch only), gas station, convenience store and laundry on site. I stayed there 6 days. Each site has water, 15/30/50 electric, sewer and cable TV (10 channels) on each site. Sites are gravel and fairly level with dirt roads. There is WiFi in the restaurant, and I was able to get a signal at my site using my external WiFi adapter; the speed was good. There is a patch of dried grass on most sites with couple of trees scattered around (they were planting additional trees the last days I was there). This is the desert so don't expect lush greenery or paved roads. The view of the mountains around the campground was great. Had a huge rain storm while there (3 inches in 15 minutes) so things were muddy for a day afterward. But then everyplace was muddy with many Big Bend park roads closed. Staff was friendly and helpful, directing me to local eateries and to where to find ATV outings. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
It is dusty, but so is everything in that area. The people were friendly and the park was clean. Beautiful scenery. I would not spend a vacation here, but to see Big Bend and the surrounding area for a few days, this was perfect! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Not far off the road. Very noisy, very dusty. Bathrooms OK. Handy for Big Bend. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This campsite was okay, only because it was near to The Big Bend NP. We were overcharged while here and the staff could not sort it out. They did not seem to know how to use the computer, had to go back when Manager on duty to sort out. He said that my credit card had not been charged, but 2 days after leaving I find it has been charged for nights I did not stay, I am now trying to get my money back from them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
We stayed here while visiting Big Bend NP since the NP does not offer reservations. The campground is a big gravel parking lot with very little shade and with lots of ants and flies (horse stable nearby). The staff was friendly but not very helpful with things to do. Lots of wind and a big storm one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This is a decent park considering it is in the middle of the desert. It was actually the best looking park in the area. We had to switch spots after figuring out that our slide-out would not come all the way out due to the site being small. The staff politely changed out our site to a much nicer one. Only some sites have picnic tables and only some have grills. Roads/drives are gravel and the sites are not very roomy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
We chose this park because it is near the entrance to Big Bend NP. The park has the basics and all hookups worked. Sites were mainly dirt with a little grass. The area is desert and windy so there was blowing dust, but that is normal for the area in the spring. There were 8 cable channels and the Wi-Fi is in the nearby cafe, not at the RV sites unless you are close to the cafe. Dumpsters were overflowing. My husband mentioned it to the staff and they said they had trouble getting the folks to come all the way from Alpine (80 miles) to empty them more than once a week. The location is great! It is three miles to the entrance of Big Bend NP which is a great park to see in the early spring. Late spring and summer are very very hot. March is very busy...spring break visitors fill up the campgrounds and motels in the area. Must make reservations for anytime in March. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
Good place to visit Big Ben. We were here for 3 nights. Very dusty. WiFi worked very well from our site, although they indicated that it would only work from the cafe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
We had stayed at Rio Grande Village hookups for a couple of nights, but we felt that for the same price this campground in Terlingua was the better bet for a base for exploring the area, assuming you are a big rig and need full hookups. We looked around and although not a ravaging beauty, this RV park seemed nicer than the others in town. It is right at the junction of highways 118 and 170, and is walking distance to a couple of restaurants, a bank, and post office, just a few miles from the Big Bend NP west entrance station. We explored the west side of the National Park from here, including the beautiful Ross Maxwell Drive, and the highlight of the park at the end, the short (but steep) trail to Saint Elena Canyon. We also drove the extremely scenic river road from Lajitas to Presidio through Big Bend Ranch State Park (no fee for driving, only hiking) from here, rather than taking our rig up and down the ominous 15+% grade two mile hill. A challenging golf course is on site, but when we were there it was not being kept up well, and was free to play (cart $5). It was worthwhile for a fun practice round. The course in Lajitas had been washed away in a recent flood. The best feature for us was a 4-mile unpaved and little used road (some small hills) that leads north from the campground and is immediately very scenic, making for a great bike ride or walk to start the day. It ends at the National Park boundary where a trail (lock your bikes here and walk) leads in about a quarter mile to some rock paintings. The town of Terlingua (made famous in country songs) is actually friendly and artsy. There is no town center per se, it’s just strewn along Hwy 170, but its cultural center is being redefined about 5 miles away in the quirky Ghost Town area, worth a visit for its historic cemetery, large rambling Terlingua Trading Co. store, the Starlight Theater (now a restaurant) and other galleries and cafes, now popping up inside the old adobe ruins. We saw a good play for $8 near there. As for restaurants, we had a great authentic Tex-Mex lunch at Rio Bravo, a half mile south of the campground on FM170. The quirky pink Kosmic Kowgirl Kafe further along is a fun place to experience, but it took forever to get our food, which was good, but your average fare. We did not try the on-site campground cafe, which had a small breakfast buffet on weekends for $7. A Wi-Fi transmitter is on the cafe, but only the sites closest to it will receive it. We payed $3 extra per night for #18, a 50-amp site close to the transmitter and it worked well. Contrary to another review, our fixed roof Dish satellite came in, but we had to move back and forth in the site to get it, possibly because of a small tree on the site. Like the others in town, the campground is unpaved, and in this area that means dust. A water truck came along periodically which helped a bit, but was noisy and created its own dust. Sites have a patch of dried up vegetation and picnic table. Some have small trees, and desert mountains can be seen in the distance. Office staff were friendly. We did not use the restrooms or laundry. RV guests are welcome to free coffee at the motor inn. The full hookups worked fine, but you may want to stock up on bottled water before coming to this area, since the water tastes terrible. By the end of our three-night stay, we were moved to buy some Viva Terlingua! souvenirs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
It is obvious that this camp ground is over priced with few amenities, but when one needs a place to stay that is close and convenient to Big Bend, it’s the also the obvious choice. It’s pretty flat in this part of Texas, so one would expect level sites. This campground managed to make that a chore. Water pressure and voltage was good, but there were only five rigs in the campground at the time of my visit. There are only a few 50A sites. Cable channels are minimal. You will not get satellite signals. I do not know why, but I checked this out with other RVers while we were here. Perhaps it’s in the satellite twilight zone. Cell phone coverage was available. If you are close to the building, free Wi-Fi is available from a restaurant’s hotspot that is on the edge of the campground. If you are not, don’t expect to receive a signal. There are some nicer campgrounds that are 50-90 miles from Big Bend that offer more for the money. One must chose between them and being closer to the entrance of the National Park. My rating of this campground really means little. It come down to how far one wishes to drive from the campground to Big Bend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We were here on Memorial Day Weekend. Place was not very busy. (Off season.) The sites are gravel as are the roads. Office folks were nice. They accommodated our needs (big rig sites, 50 amps and three near each other.) When the wind picked up, it was a bit dusty as would be expected in a gravel park. Wi-Fi only worked near the hotel. After checking the other RV parks in the area, this was the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Clean, quiet when 100 Harleys aren't here. Good place to stay when visiting Big Bend NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
The park had a full hookup to use just outside west entrance to Big Bend National Park. roads and sites are gravel/dirt. Registration is in the motel office. Maintenance was marginal. First 50 amp site assigned had open ground at pedestal. We moved to another site. Be careful opening awnings - sudden winds can make them fly away. There was no warning provided by office staff even though maintenance foreman said it happens all the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
This is the best there is in this area. Be aware that the area is really primitive, but this park has all the necessities. There is also a golf course, motel rooms, and apartments. Plenty of room at sites, and most are pull through. Located just 2 miles from the entrance to Big Bend National Park, and a few miles to Lajitas, and Big Bend Ranch State Park. Much to see in the area, and great views. We stayed here a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
I have to agree with the prior reviewers for this park. It is in need of much repair. Staff lies to you all the time. When making a reservation they give you the impression that they are booked solid, not so as out of 150 sites maybe 20 were occupied the 4 days we were there. There really is no WiFi in the park and no access inside the motel lobby either. The only place the WiFi might work is inside the cafe at the gas station next door which they said was theirs also. I have great external WiFi antennas and they have worked everywhere except here. Air Cards do not work in the area either. We were not the only ones that could not receive any WiFi here. The sites are dirt and mud when it rains and are not level. The power boxes are old and need updating. The (I assume) water tank beside the park has noisy motors running day and night. The only restroom in the RV Park is old and dirty with no soap or paper towels. The cruddy showers are also pay! It is the only game around so they could care less if you ever return. The Rio Grande Village at the other end of the park has two campgrounds one with hookups which resembles a three lane parking lot with rigs lined up on both sides of the center lane, no shade and only holds about 30 rigs. The non-hookup campground on the other hand is very nice and private and shady with lots of grass, if you don't need hookups or tent camping this one is the right choice. The Chisos Basin campground near the center of the park also has no hookups and will only accommodate rigs of 20' or less and is adjacent to the lodge. You wouldn't want to drive anything larger up the road to it anyway with its many twists and turns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
First time here. All dirt pads, no shade. Pretty dusty when the wind blows through everyday at 3pm. Staff was cordial. Park should put down some gravel to help cut down on the dirt and dust. Fortunately told to shop in Alpine before coming to Terlinqua. This is naturally a pretty primitive area. No cells, no WiFi. Only a mile from Big Bend National Park. Plenty to go see and do in the area. Very convenient to Terlinqua, Big Bend and Lajitas. Would stay there again, since there is limited RV parks in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Good base for exploring Big Bend. Staff was friendly. Regular no frills desert park. Utilities were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
If you're looking for full hook-ups in the area, this one just fine. We looked at the paved parking area at the Rio Grande Village store and we determined we made a good choice. We found we needed a hardware store and found one in Terlingua. There's also a bit of night life at the nearby saloon with live music on this particular Saturday night. It ended at a decent hour. We also had easy access to The Barton Warnock Visitors Center at the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Lajitas as well as destinations in the central and western side of the national park. We'd definitely choose Big Bend Motor Inn again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
We stayed here due to the fact that Big Bend was full (even the no-hookup sites). The cable TV never worked right. The WiFi worked OK, and the laundry room was clean. This park and the surrounding area is pretty desolate. However, if this is the only place available, it is definitely worth it to see Big Bend NP. The park entrance is only 5 miles or so from the park. There is a store nearby with a restaurant. They have diesel, and food, and also a grill. The food is OK. We'd stay here again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
Great location for visiting Big Bend. The showers cost $2 for 6 minutes, so we used our own. Pretty pricey for tenters! Groceries are pretty expensive, so we bought food and water in Alpine before getting to Terlingua. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
First time to Big Bend and very glad we picked this park. Drove by the others would not stay there at all. Big Bend Motor Inn is easily the nicest in town and very close to the park entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$50
Clean and friendly owners. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
Nice place to stay while visiting Big Bend NP. This is our second stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$24
We have stayed there several times. The park is behind the Big Bend Motor Inn. Park is actually at Study Butte on Highway 118, about 2 miles from the west entrance to Big Bend Natl Park. Terlingua is on FM 170. Try the Starlight Dinner Theater for great food. FM 170 is a great scenic drive along the Rio Grande River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$27
This was an adequate campground owned and run by the Big Bend Motor Inn. The campground was dusty with a mixture of pull-thru's and back-in's. Most sites were flat and had full hook-ups but the cable tv wasn't working when we were there. The picnic tables could have done with some maintenance. A good location to visit the western side of the Big Bend National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
We found this campground to be quite pleasant. The reviews were rather negative, but we tried the park anyway. The staff is friendly, wifi worked all the time and it's quiet. We would come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This place didn't seem as bad as some previous reviewers have noted. We had no problem getting level; in fact, the first site we tried we didn't need to use the jacks, but because of a dusty area right below our door, we moved. The second site required minimal leveling. If I have to bring out the wood blocks for my jacks, I consider it serious leveling. In this case, the blocks stayed in storage. Also, this park now has wi-fi (since 7/06). While it's not the best wi-fi, in that it fades in and out, it's not bad and beats running over to the middle school. They claim to have hotspots in the office and rec area of the motel, but we didn't feel the need to lug the computer over there. Not many amenities in the park...the real amenities are a few miles away in Big Bend NP. We would definitely come back and are happy to have not been scared away by the mostly negative reviews. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$23
What a pathetic place. It's about the only game in town at this end of Big Bend. Lots of narrow, cruddy spaces that are unlevel. Sad attempt to level some of the more lopsided sites with loose gravel fill. No dog walk area and there's plenty of residue from pups all around. Nice scenery out back if you walk around the 9 hole golf course which is surprisingly nice. Like dust? Go here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
It's cheap and close to the park. Other than that, it's simply a rather dumpy RV park behind a tacky motel in a dusty, little wide spot in the road. The sites weren't level and, given the miles of nothing in West Texas, stupidly-designed narrow sites. However, it's the only game in town and Big Bend Park is so harshly beautiful that is was worth a couple nights here just to be able to easily visit the park. The yin and the yang of RVing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$21
I thought I posted this after our annual trip to Big Bend in 2005, but mines not here. We had a travel trailer, 2 fifth wheels and one motorhome. We stayed 3 nights and had no complaints. Everyone was friendly and when we could not get the wifi to work the liquor store let us have something sent to them and they printed it at no charge to us. For those other less than positive posts, remember, this is the desert. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$18
This is the best location for visiting the Big Bend Nat Park and the great River Road, one of the best drives in Texas. The camp ground is fine for a desert setting. I stay here every time I visit the Big Bend (3X) to date. Great hiking and quaint restaurants in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com