219086 User submitted reviews online!!
Tye RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (325) 691-0398
CGID2922

Tye RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   6   3   7   6   5   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
Our packed gravel pull-thru site was mostly level and more than long enough for our 40 ft motor home and toad. The campground was reasonably clean and well maintained although dumpster was full. Cable TV was fuzzy but there were no trees to block our satellite dish. Good Verizon signal. Although next to the interstate traffic noise was acceptable but the campground is right on the flight path of the local Air Force base runway. Relatively easy on and off the interstate. Good place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Near Abilene and at the exit for a Flying J (#278.) Nothing fancy - no WiFi or cable, but fine for an overnight stop; we had a very long pullthrough which was great for our combined 65' length (coach and car hauler trailer.) Cash or checks only - no credit cards accepted. Like the previous reviews stated, this is close to I-20 so there will be noise. The interior roads are gravel and in good condition. Apparently the transient sites are separated from the permanent sites (lots of the RV parks in west Texas are filled with oil field and energy workers). We aren't close to the permanents (we're in site A.) We would overnight here again with no hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Very basic RV park. Train and plane noise during the night. Very close to I-20 as well. Perimeter of park is seasonal, full time folks. Restrooms are clean and adequate. Electricity (50 amp) was good. Not worth the price but not much in area. Over the air TV was good, no cable in the park. Pretty level gravel sites. Good for overnight, but not anything else. I did enjoy seeing the B-1 bombers. Park is in the flight path of Dyess AFB. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
A no frills park for sure. Great, friendly managers. Site was tolerably level and power was solid and water pressure adjusted out to 50 psi. Nice to have decent pressure. Some noise from I-20 and the sweet music of C130's and Bones (B1's) flying patterns into Dyess AFB just South of the park. It is a fair price for what you get. Some reviewers seem to think $25.00 should get you a resort with valet parking. I loved the sound of freedom flying by, and if you don't want noise of any type don't stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Wow, what a park! No cable (other sites had cable, not ours). Noisy from the air force planes flying over, trains, and interstate traffic. Dusty park with lots of permanent residents. Nasty sounding hand-out (“Do not waste our water in our way…will result in eviction”) along with lots of signs giving rules. Not welcoming you at all. Sewer damaged. Showers are cleaned like a state park, not an RV park. Bugs and dirt along the edges. Other than that, a great park. Too expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Very convenient location right off I-20. Flying J just up the road. Big speed bumps in here, so drive slow. Bathrooms clean and showers good size. Toilets and showers have curtains, no doors. This is no longer a Passport America park, which was too bad because that was why we stopped here. My bad for not calling to confirm. Nice area to walk dog and seemed free of goatheads. Windy today, but not nearly as dusty as towns just west of here. Decent overnighter park. Train noise and interstate noise, but didn't bother us, we live right near both at home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Nice campground, nice pull-through site. Noisy at dinner time because of military aircraft landings (final approach over the campground); the train is also passing close and it is situated along the I-20. But for one or two nights, it's okay; though 28$ is a little too expensive! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a clean, noisy park. It's just under the final approach path for Dyess Air Force Base, and also close to an active railroad. B1-Bs fly directly overhead at low altitude and all hours. Sites have a bit of fine gravel, are fairly level, and have little to no shade. Credit cards are not accepted; cash or check only. Roads are wide, gravel, and have lots of speed bumps and a few potholes. Staff are friendly. I could get 6 cable channels (ESPN, Discovery, Syfy, TNT, USA, and Fox). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very convenient, on the access road but back a little so the highway noise was not a problem. However, the jets that fly over are EXTREMELY loud. They look cool when your sitting out in the evening, they fly very close to the ground, it's amazing! But when your trying to sleep, scared the &*()_ outta me! Sounded like they were going to hit our camper. If it wasn't a jet flying over it was a darn train going by. Sites are out of level from front to back as the whole property slopes back, but we dealt with it because we didn't want to unhook for 1 night. They only have FHU with one rate, $25. Very few cable channels and could not get the local channels. The free wifi would not work. Will never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This is a good overnight stop. We arrived after they closed and were greeted by a nice man who opened the office and got us checked in. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Rate is nightly rate for FHU 30 amp pull thru site. Dirt/gravel roads and sites typical of this part of Texas. They no longer offer PA discounts, but have adjusted overall rates downward according to office. Yes, as other reviewers have stated, there are low flying fighter aircraft from the nearby Air Force Base, but they are keeping our country safe, plus there were very few landings and takeoffs during our stay. Good overnight stop, though if you are sensitive to noise, it may not be the place for you. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Passport rate, quick check in. Had a nice site. Seems many extended stay people, which is fine. Was quiet, even the early birds leaving for work were no bother. We just needed an over night spot as the wind was to much for the road. I think they have cable TV? No WiFi was the only bad thing I could find. Was good for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
This is by far the worst park we have stayed at in five years of travels. All the other reviews are truthful. Please do not take your pets here. We almost left because of the noise, but it didn't start until after 10pm. Yes, the after burners are loud!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
This park is located at the end of Dyees AFB runways. It is great if you want a REAL closeup view of our latest fighters, bombers and transport planes on a 24/7 basis. I counted 23 C130 transport planes going overhead between 11:00 and 12:00PM (night). There were also many other aircraft, B1 bombers I think that were practicing touch and goes. When I say up close and personal, I am talking about the aircraft going overhead at less than 500 feet above your head. At least the night we stayed, we were in the landing pattern, not the take-off end. Would have been really interesting with afterburners ignited above the RV. Pay the extra money and do not stay at this Passport America park. Don't try and get your money back after you check in either. Big sign that states NO REFUNDS after you go to your site. Wounder why? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This park is an OK overnight stop but is filled with permanet working people who have trashed up the park. The restrooms were run down and basically just an old tin building. The wasps had taken over the rest rooms and laundry room. The pool was empty, the same as when I camped here 7 years ago, so the advertised pool does not exist. The management needs to get out and trim weeds and maintain the park better. The laundry was outragously high at $2.00 to wash and $2.00 to dry, which took twice so it was $6.00 a load to do laundry. The rate we paid was Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
As said-small, dusty, loud planes, trains and autos; very loud here. Cable got 5 channels and not good with no local channels. Pool was there, but no water in it. Fishing pond was just an OK here. Some clutter around permanent people, AF people, just guessing. Too pricey for what it is, even with discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Friendly staff. Thats about the only bright spot. Very trashy permanent RV with junk all over. Very low flying aircraft till 12:30AM. There is highway noise and trains. This place is not worth the $18. that was a Passport America rate. It right off I20. But if passing thru here again I would look for anther place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
This is a tired, dusty little park off the interstate that offers nothing exceptional. It is just a one night stopover only. There is an Air Force base just south of here. The jets are flying over constantly at low altitudes. Our fifth wheel has the shakes when they come over. If it were not after dark, we would be out of here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
Nice folks run this RV Park. They were very helpful as we came in after dark, and he led us to our site. The site was very flat with easy hook up. Since we were staying one night we took the site without sewer. Laundry room was close, and machines were in good shape; $2 a load. It was a warm night in the 70's. The park was easy to find and fairly close to the freeway. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Yikes! Thank goodness this was only an overnight stop. The bathrooms were cold. No heat in them. Shower curtains for the bathroom stall doors. You definitely want to wear shower shoes when you use the showers. Worst part? The F-15's from Dyess Air Force Base. I thought it was landing on us! They did quit taking off by 10 pm. Best part? Right off the highway next to the Flying J. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This park was handy to the highway and had big pull through sites BUT it had some highway noise and worse were the low, I mean low flying airplanes coming over until about 10:00 pm and the train going by all night long. We only stopped for 1 night but won't stop again. I cannot imagine anyone paying full price for a stay. I need to learn to read the reviews first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Passport America website indicates the regular nightly rate for this park is $36. That has to be a mis-representation to allow them to charge nearly full rate for Passport America customers. If not, this park is considerably over-priced for its fair to average facilities, with gravel roads, sites, and poorly placed utilities. The 50% discount Passport America price was about what it should be BEFORE the discount. Very long pull-through sites are compromised by having all utility connections on the road at the extreme rear of the site. We would have had to have 1 or 2 extensions in order to connect our sewer. Grass needed mowing. No WIFI in park, but we were able to pick up a workable signal from the Flying J WIFI about 1/4 mile away. We would not likely choose to stay here more than one to two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We stayed in 15 parks over the course of a month and a half ~ this park was the worst one of all. The low, low flying aircraft, the crummy site (with unkempt trees, open sewer, patches of grass), washing machine that sounded like one of the jets overhead, pot-holed roads and the rundown permanent trailers/residents are just a few reasons we will opt to stay in a Walmart parking lot if we're ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Worst RV park we have ever stayed at. At end of Air Force runway with jets taking off all night long and still wheels down when they went over RV. We not only heard them, we felt them. Campground looks like deserted mobile home park with many junk RV's sitting around. Water hose bib covered with piece of dirty carpet. Sewer opening covered with slab of concrete. At least the grass had been mowed or it probably would have been full of snakes. Pass this one by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This is the worse RV park that we have ever visited. Talk about trains, planes and automobiles. Well, this park has it all. Very dumpy. Mowing needs to be done. We were put in a site by a dilapidated old trailer that had been there a long time. Couldn't hookup to water because the hookup was actually missing. As we laid in bed, we could see the Air Force plane's blinking lights through our roof vents, as they flew very low above us. My husband wanted to leave about 2:00 AM, but he was concerned that we would wake everyone with our diesel truck. I don't think that he needed to worry about waking anyone. Nobody could sleep between the planes, trains and trucks on the highway. We will never stay at this park again, plus we advise all of our RVing friends not to stay here either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
This park has really gone down-hill and is now a real dump. Do not enter it at night as large tree branches hang well out into the road and cannot be seen after dark. The site was long enough for our 40' with toad but the utilities were all at the edge of the road so we could not reach the sewer with 30' of hose. We needed 100' of water hose. The roads are filled with holes and there wasn't a light in the entire park. It is located next to a junk yard, an Air Force Base and the Interstate. We consider this the poster park for boondocking at Wal-Mart which we very seldom recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Pool was there but not maintained, rate higher then Passport advertised. Excessive noise level from interstate, railroad and B-1 Bombers from AFB. Not good for a restful nights sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2005
$16
I agree with the prior review - we needed a place to stay and this was okay. Almost. No one mentioned the USAF base 2 miles away with B-1 bombers and C-130s that did touch-and-goes for hours at a time. While we were the landing pattern it wasn't bad, but mornings we were in the take-off zone. Fortunately we have a sense of humor and laughed as the house shook. The pool wasn't open yet. The fishing pond didn't look too inviting, but it might be to someone with a pole. We asked for a satellite friendly site and it was. Most people were over-nighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Not much else out there in Abilene Country. I'll give it a "5", out of reasonable kindness. Dumpy little park, actually, with very few 50 amp service sites. Some trees, but if you pick your spot carefully, it won't be a problem getting in/out with "Big Rigs." Dirt road getting in (watch holes) and dirt roads and sites throughout. Level enough sites. Actually surprised that the "Big Rigs" book even mentioned this place. Oh, well, we all need a place to stop overnight. Stayed here in Oct. '04 with 42' motor home with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com