214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park at Whispering Pines (formerly Whispering Pines RV Reso was rated 8 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (903) 858-2405
CGID2924

Jellystone Park at Whispering Pines (formerly Whispering Pines RV Reso

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   9   7   9   9   2   3   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
We used to come here for several years. Since it became a Jellystone park, it has gone downhill. First, the positives. The staff are friendly, they deliver firewood, and the restrooms are very clean. The bad: unless you have 3 year old kids, it is BORING. The Yogi Hey ride has no Yogi. Its a dude pulling a trailer with a tractor. The tie dye shirts are $20 a pop. The arcade is gone. So is the playground, replaced by a pre-school piece of plastic. There used to be spring break activities like dancing. No more. The hot tub is anything but hot and the "free Wi-Fi" doesn't work anywhere. The miniature golf course is falling apart with torn carpet and broken wood. We remember this campground being packed during spring break, but it is now mostly empty. This campground has become an overpriced piece of garbage and we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
We stayed a night off-season. Staff members were extremely friendly and helpful when we had some technical issues with our trailer. The on-site cafe had excellent food (some of the best gorditas we've had anywhere and an incredible dessert called chocoflan) and the people who ran it were also very kind and helpful. This park is in the process of converting to a Jellystone Park franchise and promises to be a family oriented destination when the conversion is complete. Despite the construction when we visited, we were delighted with the friendliness of everyone we encountered during our stay. I would definitely stay at Whispering Pines again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Very nice campground. Lots for children to do. Ours loved the jumping pillow and the children's pool. Owners were very friendly. Will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$19
Nice park nestled into the pines North of Tyler and East of Lindale. A bit out of the way but the surrounding area is lovely to drive through. This would have gotten an 8 except that the sites aren't level, at least where we were placed. Excellent staff, always friendly and helpful. Laundry room needs some serious updating, 2 pools, were nice but the furniture around them needs updating. This rate reflects Passport America Sun to Thur paying full on Fri & Sat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We loved the park because it was very clean and kid friendly. My children who vary from 3 to 11 had a blast. There is something for all ages and lots of things for us to do together. We had a great time and we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
This is a beautiful resort. Lots of trees and a pond and so many facilities. We really enjoyed staying here. We were going to visit our family n AZ and stopped for a day. The whole setting is very enjoyable. The staff running the resort are very friendly, especially Christina. Your cell phones may not work here, but WiFi was good. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Listen close when communicating with park personnel. What you ask for and what you pay for will probably be different. To stay here you must love posted "rules". They are everywhere! The back-in site we were assigned was a muddy gravel and not level. I had to dig the sewer connection out of the dirt and needed help to pry the cap off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
Rate based on weekly rate. Of which we only used 4 nights. Loud vehicles racing through the park late night/early morning (11:30pm until 1:30am). Office alarm going off in the middle of the night (4am). If you have a golf cart, you'll love this place and it's golf cart races that seem to go on all day. On the good side: it's almost empty, so you can choose your site. It has a mini golf course and a jump pillow for the kids. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Very recent change in ownership. New owner hasn't got a clue! Reservation lost. Raised the rate agreed upon. 6-7 year old kids "driving" golf carts everywhere! Not at all impressed - will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Office staff were very friendly and helpful: as this was our first time with the RV we even enlisted some assistance in backing in to the spot! Camp store is well stocked with basics and the park has separate sparkling clean adult and kids pools for relaxation. Would recommend to anyone and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
WE LOVE THIS RESORT!!! We had our whole family here: 2 adults and 4 children! Staff was very friendly. We felt like part of the family. This resort has everything. There is no need to go anywhere, as you have everything you need right here. There are activities during the weekend for adults and children. People who live here full time take time to get to know you. GREAT FEELING when traveling. The staff goes above and beyond for you. I got a snake bite while I was here and everyone at the parked helped out. We had several people bring over food for breakfast, lunch and dinner so I wouldn't have to cook. We will be here every summer for vacation! Thanks Whispering Pines staff and neighbors! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Average park and definitely not worth $38 per night. Wi-Fi left much to be desired and was very slow. Either fix it to where is works or take it out is my option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
The people here are very friendly and helpful. It is a quiet, comfortable park and it is close to the Tiger Creek Wildlife Refuge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We stayed here in the fall of '05 and really enjoyed the woods and quiet. This visit was not so enjoyable. We were parked on the upper level where the long terms were parked and the traffic flow on the road was constant, day and night. It seems the same vehicles were back and forth all day. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We stayed here for 5 months this year. Pros - This is a beautiful park, and the staff was very nice. There are lots of trees, and it feels more like a state park than a private business. There are a lot of amenities, and things for the kids to do. Cons - The same washing machine that was broken when we arrived, was still broken 5 months later. The laundry room is filthy most of the time. There are members of the staff that are probably trying to treat you like family, but come off as a bit nosy. The Wi-Fi is worthless - the small amount of time that it actually worked (15%), it was as slow, or slower, than dial-up. The last two months, it didn't work at all, and we had to go into town every day to do our online tasks. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We stayed in this park for the first time with our camping club and really enjoyed it. The sites were level with large trees or there were more open sites without trees. We love the shade! The park is well kept, landscaping is beautiful, and all of the amenities were great. There's a bounce pillow for kids to enjoy, a pond for fishing only, and two pools...one is adult only. Employees were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay in this wonderful park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
Very nice park with good facilities. I would've given it a 10, but our site (and several sites near us) had sewer hookups that were too far away. We would've needed at least 10 more feet of sewer hose to connect. The adult pool was closed for repairs, but the family pool was wonderful, if a bit chilly. Other than the sewer hookup, everything about this place was wonderful: very friendly lady checked us in; shady sites; very remote "feel" to the place. And Bodacious BBQ just down the road was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
It was our first stay, but it will definitely not be our last. We already have reservations for Halloween and New Years Eve. It is on a beautiful property - very wooded. You get the feel that you are in the woods. Our site had trees on three sides - from our Motorhome it was like being in a tree house. They do have sites that are more open, but we like the trees. For families they have planned activities every weekend. There also a ton to do - 2 pools. We liked the fact that they had a all-adult pool. We didn't have kids with us, so we really enjoyed the quiet. The people here are amazing. All nice, and super friendly. What struck us most is the number of campers we met - and they all seemed to be regulars and everyone had great things to say about the park. This will be one of our regular stopping points. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
The park is quiet, away from highway noise, with abundant pine trees. Some spaces are a little tight to back in, but with plenty of space between sites. Some roads will not allow two vehicles to pass comfortably, but pull over access is available. The rate we paid reflects a rate for groups of 10 or more rigs. We camped with our travel group and the group facilities were clean with cooking and refrigeration amenities for our group of 30+. Hookups were adequate, but our sewer drain was 25+ feet from our valve on the rig. Personnel at receptions were friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a great place for kids. They have a lot of activities on weekends. They have 2 pools, one is for adults and has a hot tub. One is a family pool. At this place you don't have to worry about your kids so much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This is a very clean and comfortable park. We stayed during Fathers Day and had our grandkids visit. They loved the pool, the putt-putt golf and the new arcade. The free breakfast for the Fathers was well appreciated. Thank You We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
Wi-fi wasn't working and no one cared. All traffic had to pass within 4 feet of my RV and some passed on each side. Kids rode around on ATV's, dogs ran loose and there was a lot of noise until midnight. Way over priced and misadvertised! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
The office staff were nice. But the discounted rate of $27 was a bit high, in my opinion. My space was in the trees, had no cable, could not get satellite reception, and only one channel would come in with the antenna. From what I saw, the pull through sites were very close together. They also permit dogs to be left out unattended. This is a clean park, but for the services they offer the price should be in the $20 area. I've camped over the last 3 weeks in three different states, and the $27 seems to be the standard rate with more services to offer. I would have changed parks, but my vehicle was being serviced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
I'm rating this a 6 only based on a very short overnight stay (arrived in the dark, left in the dark, given the time of year and the fact that we needed to cover miles on this trip). I'm sure the resort amenities are very nice; we didn't use 'em. The people were very nice at check-in, the sites were spaced nicely, lots of room to walk dog. But bathrooms/showers were old and in need of attention on the mold front. If in this area, we had been told to stay at the Tyler State Park just down the road, but we had a snafu and didn't arrive in time to get a spot. (But we did look around and it looks like a great state park.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
A very enjoyable park. For direct/dish TV, ask for a pull through. I reserved 1 night, and stayed 4. Very friendly check in. Lots of things for kids, and many groups come and visit. A very quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Very nice park in the woods. Feels much like a State Park. Two pools, one for kids and one for adults. Restrooms are older but clean and in good repair. Some minor leveling problems. A bit far out from Tyler but worth the drive. Very peaceful and resting stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
We stayed here on a monthly rate so unsure on their nightly rate. Their monthly sites were booked so they placed us in their Rally area. We paid $375 and that included our electricity. We stayed for a month, but had planned on staying longer until we were disappointed with how they handled loud and disruptive guests. They allow tent campers to camp in the RV area of the park, instead of in the tent area. They were in the site next to us and heard voices all night since they have no rig to go inside. Their actual long-term monthly sites are nice and wide in the back of the park. But the Rally area sites are very narrow, and they pack them in like sardines. You have barely enough room to open your awning much less an enjoyable patio area. We could never get their Wi-Fi to work at our site, we had to use it at the pool area to get signal. The pros about the park are their pools are fun and clean and we loved all the activites they had each weekend. The fishing pond was neat too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Older campground resort. I'd probably rate it lower but it had some nice amenities. Well staffed and very nice and helpful. Clean but dated. Our pull through site was very small. I'd stay here again, but would try the state park first We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Very nice, family oriented park. Jumping pillow alone is reason to visit this part- everyone loves it, from the kids to adults. Overall park was clean, and while rather worn, it is taken good care of. WiFi worked great. Spots very level with easy access and good shade. Had gated entrance that stayed closed after dark. Lots of long term residents in back of park but all seem to be upscale and tucked out of site. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Had a wonderful Thanksgiving week at this campground! Our whole family went and enjoyed it so much that we've already made plans for this year's Thanksgiving week. The park actually furnished Thanksgiving Dinner for EVERYONE in the park (turkey, ham, brisket, rolls, and iced tea). All we had to do was sign-up to bring a dish. The food was wonderful and it was well organized and everyone got to eat in the heated dining hall, which was even decorated for the event. The park is definitely family-friendly and has tons of activities for everyone. Hiking trails, pool, park, bouncing area (the kids called it "the blob" and had a wonderful time on it). Golf carts are for rent as well as little pedal go-carts for the kids. This park has something for everyone including cabins right on the lake. Our son and his family rented one for the weekend and it was clean, well decorated and had a beautiful view of the lake. Full size refrigerator, oven, stove, microwave with a small den and 2 bedrooms. Very nice for the price! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We went to this park with friend to camp for a long weekend. The park was clean with paved roads and level sites with full hookups. There is a swimming pool and numerous activities for the kids and adults alike.There is also a store on site with limited items. This park is near Tyler Texas which has numerous attractions including a large zoo. We will definitely stay at this park again and highly recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This is one of the most beautiful and clean parks out there. Staff very nice, and it was fun to get to rent a golf cart for the 2 days we were there. We will be back and would love to full time here some day. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This Resort park is the nicest we have stayed in this side of Fort Wilderness Resort! The staff is friendly, and RVers themselves that are willing to help you. The resort is very clean and beautiful, they have a fishing lake, cabins and tons of activities. This resort have both an adult and childrens swimming pools both are wonderful. They also have a giant "jumping pillow" great fun for kids and "kids at heart" alike. Other activities include mini golf, tennis court, horseshoes, volleyball, ping pong, and golf cart rentals. This is a real RV Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This is a very kid friendly place! Lots of kids here. It looked like several family reunions were going on when we visited. It was our first camping experience in the new trailer. There are two pools (one just for adults), miniature golf course and lots of other activities. It was Elvis night, with a catered dinner and movie (for a small extra charge). There was a store. Lot's of full-timers live here, but our site was a bit bland and had no picnic table, but we ate out at a local restaurant and had a nice time. This place is located near Tyler State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Very nice and clean. It was quiet. The pull thru sites were narrow and we had 4 slide outs and barely fit. It was a long way off the freeway to get to for just one night. No cable and the TV reception with an antenna was bad except for two stations. Nice place for a rally though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
I hadn't been to this park in over 5 years and it was hard to believe that this was the same park. The place has had a great face-lift and is a very pretty park. Very quiet and easy to get into. I used a satellite for TV and after finding a opening in the trees had good reception. There are a lot of things to see and do in the area. Also if you have children or grandchildren, there is quite a bit of activities in the campground. The office staff was very helpful and pleasant. It might be a bit pricey for some, but you do get what you pay for. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This was our second visit to this pretty park. Access is still easy with gravel driveways throughout. Rustic style with lots of trees! TV reception is practically non-existent so bring something to watch. The location is about 8 miles from the north side of Tyler which features the zoo and about 20-25 minutes from the south side where most of the shopping and dining choices are. The Azalea Trail is in the middle of town so go online and get the road directions or stop downtown at the tourist bureau. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
I give this park a "10" because of the terrific staff and the beautiful grounds. I made a mistake and reserved the wrong night. The staff was so accommodating and did everything to get us in a great site regardless of my error. The resort is beautiful and our site had trees and plenty of space. The grounds were well kept and clean. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Outstanding RV Park! We stayed over Christmas while visiting relatives. This is truly a "Resort" because they have so much to offer - planned activities and things to do. Super nice and very helpful in the office. You can tell this park is well cared for and maintained - its very clean also. It is very family oriented. Next time we will bring our grandkids - its perfect for them to swim and play. I would highly recommend this to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$11
We are spending a month here and are delighted with the park. It is clean, cared for daily, has two pools, one for adults and a hot tub. Free Wifi is a new addition this year and it works well. The rural setting is quiet and peaceful. Roads are paved and sites are gravel, graded. Staff is helpful and friendly. Nicely equipped store too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Nice quiet park, out in the hinter lands. Mid week very restful and not crowded this week. Weekends would seem to have a lot of scheduled activities. The reason for the 8 is there are only a few pull thru sites.We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Very nice park in the tall pines of east Texas. The feeling of a church camp in the woods. Plenty of fun for kids with swimming and fishing. Looks like the Tyler area fills it up on summer weekends. 40 ft. rig and a tow car fit just fine - superior to the state park up the road with regard to to big rigs. Nice folks at the front desk. You cannot have it all - 20 miles from the good restaurants in Tyler. Home and Garden TV home on Lake Tyler was a joke. Nice town but growing fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We spent Fathers' Day weekend at Whispering Pines. Great facility, clean, updated, roomy sites, woodsy, etc. Only problem we had was music/dance event held in the pavilion on Saturday night. Very loud and lasted until after midnight. If you're not into the "party scene" I'd suggest calling ahead when you reserve a site to inquire about whether music/dance is scheduled for the pavilion on the weekend you plan to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This is a great park off the beaten path. The new owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The park is quite and there were many different things to do while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$25
Nice park deep in the woods North of Tyler. Wide spaces with a picnic table and BBQ on each site. New ownership is upgrading many of the sites as fresh construction could be seen on many of the sites. Our picnic table had seen better days but a new one was quickly provided. Friendly management and nice store for the basics. One morning was gently awakened by the distant sounds of lion roars from a nearby big cat sanctuary which we absolutely loved! We will stay at campground in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$21
I rated this park a 9 only because of very poor water pressure. Extremely clean and RV friendly. There are 33 extended sites which are well separated from the overnight sites. Good TV reception even though in a rural setting. Gravel sites. We were here Thanksgiving week and enjoyed the quiet. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
I was surprised to see a negative review on this campground. We have been staying at Whispering Pines for over 2 years. The park is a nature lovers dream. There are many things to do and the people are very friendly. Its a few minutes off Interstate 20 - well worth the trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$21
A long way from the freeway and town. Kind of run-down facilities. OK for a short stay but way too many live-ins. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com