214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Ray Roberts Lake State Park / Johnson Branch Unit was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (940) 637-2294
CGID2926

Ray Roberts Lake State Park / Johnson Branch Unit

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   10   10   5   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
The campground is very nice. Large paved sites. Our site was Lakeside, except there was no water in the lake at this part of the park. Water is very low and appeared it had been so for a long time with grass and bushes growing where water once was in one end of the lake. The Texas Parks pass is a good deal if using Texas Parks frequently, but as a visitor, I thought the $7.00 per person, per day entry fee was too high. We've stayed at other Texas Parks for $2 or $3. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Very clean park for a state park. Site 11 was level and had some shade and a nice view right next to the lake. Lake is low but would be nice during summer. Nice swim area that we did not use. Has a loop bike/hike trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. We had a water and 50 amp electric paved pull-through site overlooking a lake. This is a very nice park with a swimming beach and many hiking and biking trails including one very nice paved trail. Very nice and clean bathrooms. We would have given this park a 10 rating if there was sewer at the sites and if they didn't charge the day use fee in addition to the camping fees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Wonderful rural location. Far enough from Dallas/Fort Worth to make it a true out in the country experience. Friendly staff helps gets you in the spot of your choice but reserve early and get there early as the choice spots on the lake go very quickly. Weekends in season are full. Roomy spots but some are shorter than others. The office has a color photo of every spot making your choice easier. Very family friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
A nice park! Well kept, campsites have fire rings and tables along with a lantern pole. Sites seemed level (at least ours was). Very friendly staff and the park is patrolled regularly. Nice playground for the young ones. The bathhouse/ bathrooms are in great shape and kept very clean. I enjoyed the trails and while we were the park had a nature program about birds of prey that my 5 year old son loved. This park is Top Notch in my book. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Unless you have a boat and be on the water, never camp here in the summer. It's Texas and it's hot! Only 8 sites on the lake and some of them don't have a view. No reason to camp here unless you are here to fish. Some, but rare, shaded spots. Most of the picnic tables are in the sun. Overall, not a good experience - would not stay here again. Much prettier state parks on lakes in Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Very nice state park. Many different type of sites to choose from. Some are lake front, some are with shade. Tables and fire rings at each site. Very well maintained. Lots of hiking/biking trails. Free fishing from the banks without a license thanks to the state parks. Park is patrolled and controlled. No concerns about having a family experience here. We stayed for 4 days during late March. Over the weekend, the park was about 1/2 full, but by Monday only 10% of the sites were occupied. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Nice campground with plenty of shade. We stayed here for 5 days with our grandkids. The rangers at this campground gave use fishing poles for the youngster to use and were very nice. Kids had a blast, there is nice bike/walking trails throughout the park. We have camped here twice and will always go back. Park is well maintained and we enjoyed it every time we have been there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Really nice park. Reservations are not slot specific so get there early on busy weekends. Most slots have lots of shade but some can be a bit small. Most pull-through slots did not have much shade. Quite a few slots will require leveling. All of this was fine for us. The paved walking trails provide for a hassle free bike ride or hike. We stayed 4 nights over a Thanksgiving holiday and felt we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
The Johnson Branch of the Ray Roberts Lake is on the northern side and the sites seem to be better than on the southern side. The campground is as good as it gets with great, wooded sites in a wonderfully serene atmosphere, even if you're not boating. The $28 fee includes Texas' "enter-the-park" fee of $8.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
There are two large state park campgrounds at Ray Roberts. The Johnson Branch Unit is on the north side of the lake and the Isle du Bois unit is on the south side. They are both very nice, but are several miles apart by road. Reservations and check-ins for the two units are handled separately. Our impression is that the Johnson Branch unit is less crowded. There is a per-person daily use fee of $5 in addition to the $17 campsite fee (no charge for kids 12 and under). If you plan to stay awhile, you can get a $50 year's pass that pays the day use fee for everybody in the car. Spacious sites with lots of privacy and trees. Table, firepit, and lantern hook at all but the primitive tent sites. Dump station. A big park with paved walking/biking trails, playgrounds, sand beach, and boat ramp. The swimming area is at a day use area and a fairly long walk from the campsites. We just drove. Can fill up quickly on holiday weekends during the summer, but during the off season is nearly empty. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
First night in our new RV. Nice campground. Very friendly & helpful rangers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com