219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Van Horn KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 157 user reviews. Phone: (432) 283-2728
CGID2929

Van Horn KOA

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   8   7   6   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This was a great park. We arrived early in the day and got a end site with the a view of the mountains. It was very quiet and peaceful. They had a small but nice dog run. The sites are level, mostly gravel. Hooks ups were convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Not much in Van Horn but this is a nice park with level pull-throughs. A couple of small dog runs and they're working on a larger one. Restaurant on site serves breakfast and dinner pretty good for price but limited menu. It's very quiet. Fills up quickly. Better to call than make on-line reservation, or just show up. We have stayed here several times. Not much else between Van Horn and El Paso or Van Horn and Kerrville if you want to drive more than a couple of hours. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Rate reflects KOA membership discount. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff (owners). It was late winter so I shouldn't comment too much on the bare grounds, but it looked like it would definitely be more appealing with foliage, and the pool would be open as well! Rest Room / Showers were dated but clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Pretty good for a KOA. Good-sized pull-throughs with room for slides and toad. Clean facilities. Pleasant and helpful staff. Dry and dusty with not much shade, but that is what the area is like. Would not be different elsewhere. Wi-Fi worked better than most parks' Wi-Fi. Small on-site restaurant serves breakfast and dinner; did not try it. Would overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Considering the area, this was nice. It was located just off the interstate, so traffic noise was not bad at all. The staff there are great people. The little diner had good food, too. We have made this our stop when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$34
A very decent place to spend the night. If I rated it for where it was I'd give it a 9 since there is not much choice in West Texas. Easy off and on I-10 yet no road noise. Friendly staff and efficient check in. A little cafe on site - we decided not to cook. It was just fine other than we left smelling of grease.. We pass through this area a lot and would not hesitate to stop here again. A good nights sleep. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$38
This is an OK park. They have a restaurant that is really handy when you arrive late in the evening. The sites are pretty level and in good condition. We will stay there again, and we have stayed there in the past. There was an incredible full moon the night we were there. It has nice dark skies, which helped view the moon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
So many KOA's these days are run down and don't meet expectations this is NOT one of them. Friendly staff, supper cooked for you, cable and wi-fi were awesome, easy on and off. Pilot gas right there too. Thanks to the staff, you were awesome! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
Price reflects Value Kard discount for a long gravel pull through space. Friendly staff, and further off the highway, but still heard a little noise. Fenced pet areas with grass, and WiFi worked okay. We did not have the strongest Verizon signal but definitely not a real problem. Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. It's a good overnight stop. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This is an adequate park for an overnight stay on I-10 heading east/west through West Texas. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facility is older, though generally well maintained. The on-site restaurant is handy for meals while staying put after a long day's drive. They will even deliver to your site. The office is open late and closed in the middle of the day. In other words, it is set up for one night transit visitors. I have not stayed at any other RV parks in town, but this one certainly fits the bill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
We've stayed here several times in the past, mainly because we had been KOA members. The Park has remained consistent in care and overall upkeep. My only complaint is the burrs that are in the grass everywhere and get into my dog's feet. There is a great place to walk your dog but the burrs make it impossible to do so. We would stay here again if traveling this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
From the moment I drove in, I was impressed. The registration desk person greeted me enthusiastically. Everything at my site was perfect...level, clean, easy to get to. Crews were out for 2 days mowing and trimming! The pool was clean (cold!) and comfortable. The dog area was awesome...2 areas with grass! The big surprise was a full Kamp Kitchen with tons of choices...pecan waffles for breakfast. Really! I'd stay again and highly recommend it!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Huge pull throughs, easy access, though close I-10 no noise. Pilot truck stop at exit for fuel. Great for overnight; we didn't have time to explore but this could be a destination park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
This was an overnight stop for us. As KOA's go I'd say this was better than average. The pool was clean and well maintained. The campground had no hidden surprises. Access and maneuverability is above average. WiFi and cable TV worked well. All in all, a good choice in Van Horn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This was actually our second stay at this park about a week apart on our trip from Tucson to San Antonio and back. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even guided us to our site. Both sites were very level and just the right size for our 36' TT + tow vehicle. The on-site restaurant was quite good as well and even delivered our food to our camp site when we asked for a "to-go" plate. We'll stay here again for sure. Our rate reflects a discount coupon as the normal rate is $38. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
An older stop over campground located adjacent to a I-10 in rural Texas desert. We have stayed here before and the owner makes improvements each time we come back. Limited grocery stores, gas stations and restaurants in the immediate area, campground has store and restaurant on site with beer, wine, milk bread etc. Very friendly and helpful staff that escort you to your site. Owner is on site and very helpful. Older clean well maintained restrooms, swimming pool and laundry room. Well maintained park . Small stocked fishing pond . Pet friendly for friendly pets. Hard packed gravel interior roads. Level gravel sites with some grass and trees between . Average space between sites . Picnic table at each site. Lots of room to maneuver in the park with long pull through sites. Good access to utilities and all worked properly. Good cable selection . Good free Wi-Fi and good Verizon data and cell coverage. Close to I-10 with some traffic noise and train noise. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$34
A nice, quiet surprise away from the highway. Very friendly, helpful staff. Gave us a discount coupon for an affiliated park (which we were able to use). Everything you expect from a KOA except a high price. This is definitely our go-to park for future transits through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$34
The bathrooms were old and dated but clean. I like that they had paper towels. Yes, friendly and fast check in. Level campsites, good hookup, easy in and out of sites and campground . Nice long pull-throughs. Very helpful staff. Good strong Wi-Fi. Lots of good channels on cable TV and good reception. Wi-Fi better than a lot of the fancy expensive parks. We will be back when traveling through. We used discount card from another campground, 20% off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
Very clean and well layed out RV park. Spacious sites with great view and friendly staff. Easy on/off of freeway. Stayed here one night and found it to be sufficient for what we needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Nice large, flat sites. A bit dusty, but to be expected in this part of Texas. Friendly staff. The only issue is the train that runs through Van Horn every hour on the hour. At least after mid-night, the train stopped blowing their horn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
We stayed here overnight on our way to California. There was a mix up at check-in about our reservations, but everything was worked out fairly quickly. All sites are level, gravel and large for the biggest of rigs. There is a fenced dog area as well. They also have a cafe where a very good meal can be enjoyed at a very reasonable price. There were a lot of trains, but it didn't bother us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$38
This park was nice and clean as you would expect from a KOA. We would not stay here again because of the excessive price and the train noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
We stayed in the campground from November of 2012 to March of 2013 and loved every minute of it. We paid a monthly rate that averaged out to about $15.00 a day. They have a nice pond where catch and release is allowed. Two fenced in doggie areas where your pet can run and play alone or with others. The spaces are big and some of the smaller ones do have shade. But the thing I like best was their cafe. If you pull in late in the evening, you can go and have dinner in the cafe. The food is good and the prices are fair. In the morning, you can walk from your rig to the cafe and have a great breakfast. The owners are delightful and attend to your needs quickly. I would recommend this KOA to anyone traveling along Highway 10 in Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
They have put in stakes so you can tell where the end of the site is - makes pulling in so much easier. Still overpriced, but is clean, safe, nice little cafe for breakfast, beats the other places nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
We stayed here as a one nighter on our way to and from our destination. It had big level sites. The staff was very friendly. It worked for us as a one nighter. Easy to get to. Rate reflects KOA member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This convenient KOA makes the most of what it can offer. Not much shade - there are few trees in this desolate part of Texas. But there is some grass and the place is immaculately maintained. There is a cute little pond and there are 2 small fenced dog runs. There is a small cafe on site that serves breakfast and dinner (limited menu). Very easy interstate access. Fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
We stayed here one weekday night the second week of October. Only 25 or so sites were occupied and some of those were extended stay customers. None appeared to be permanent residents. We had a FHU, pull-through site that was satellite friendly, with 40+ channel cable TV, WI-FI that worked OK for us. Most sites in the park fit that description. About 50 sites are 30/50 AMP and the rest are just 30 AMP. The sites are decent size but longer units may have to unhook. There are also 8 tent sites plus a group site and a couple cabins. There is a small, but deep, in ground pool (already empty for the season) that does not appear good for little kids (shallow end is 4'). There is also a playground, pet run, and fishing pond. There is a KOA cafe that serves breakfast and dinner. The park is a quarter mile south of the I-10 exit and about half a mile from the center of town just north of the exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Nice, clean park. Great place for a short stay, with some great views. The owner was great. We had a tire problem and he went out of his way to help and it was on a Sunday. Sites are good sized and level. Park is easy in and out and close to Hwy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Basic park: gravel/dirt sites. WiFi worked well, but it's not much to look at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
Considering the reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. We found a quaint little park in this dust bowl of a town. The bathrooms were old and dated but clean. The best part of this park was the on-site cafe. Considering there is not much to pick from in Van Horn, this seems like the best. In a similar situation, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$37
This is a great campground after a long day of driving. Friendly and fast check in. Clean restrooms and showers. Level campsites, good hookup, easy in and out of sites and campground. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$34
Not much to chose from in this part of Texas but this place is okay. Only fly in the ointment would be the price. A little pricey but that is KOA. Sites are level and utilities are excellent. Nice long pull throughs. We have stayed here before and will be back when traveling through. It has a great little diner on premise We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
Driving east on I-10 in West Texas there aren't a lot of options once you leave El Paso, and we found those unappealing. We had enough daylight left to push on to Van Horn, and were surprised and pleased with what we found at the Van Horn KOA. Hosts were pleasant and accommodating. They serve a decent dinner on site with beer and a local wine (St. Genevieve) on offer. WI-FI signal was consistently strong (and free, as was the cable TV). Restrooms were dated but clean. Fenced pet area was a welcome addition. We wound up spending an extra night to wait out some severe weather that passed through towards the east. In all, we were not disappointed with this KOA. and would stay here again as an overnight option for the I-10 drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
A little expensive, however, nice and quiet. Easy access to sites. We were passing through so this was a stop over after a long day of driving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
Nice, accessable place for an overnight. Lots of room to exercise a dog in the back. Little restaurant associated with the place, didn't eat there but it seemed to be popular for dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
I stayed here for 1 night in a pull through site. Campground elevation is 4,300 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was no issue. Roads and sites are gravel. The patios are grass & gravel, and edged with landscaping timber. Sites are large, very level, and spacing is good. My site offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. WI-FI and cable were included in daily rate. Their WI-FI is very slow. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G2 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart is 90 miles away and a grocery is 2 miles away. They have a restaurant open in the mornings and evenings. I did not eat there. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$38
A good place to overnight off the freeway. Friendly staff, fair rate. Easy to find. Otherwise, nothing special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$31
Easy on and off the highway. Close to downtown Van Horn. Friendly staff. Two hours East of El Paso, seven hours West of San Antonio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
Great overnight stop. Dog park small but clean. Very friendly staff and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
It has friendly staff, and level spots. There was plenty of room for the truck hooked to the 40' fifth wheel in the nice pull though spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
We very rarely stay in a KOA due the high price and few amenities that very few adults use. This was no exception. There are limited options in west Texas off I-10 so this was one of the better parks in the area. Easy well marked access off I-10 in a rural setting. The park is close to the Hwy but quiet. Adequate size sites with hard pack gravel with grass between sites. All utilities were accessible and worked properly. Staff was friendly, for a KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Well-kept and clean, everything worked, friendly reception. Relatively good price for a KOA. Very easy big rig access, all sites are pull throughs and are pretty level. Surface is hard-packed clay/dirt. Fairly near the interstate but noise was not a problem. Wi-Fi is free but speed was so poor it was nearly useless (even late at night). The area is remote with not much to do so good for an easy overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
Visited as an overnight stop off I-10. Convenient to freeway but far enough away that road noise was not a problem. Sites at the rear of the campground are spacious and are easy in and out for a big rig towing a vehicle. Bathrooms and showers were clean but very dated and in need of a remodel. Roads and sites gravel and dirt. Decent overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
Last visited 2 years ago, major improvements since then. Dog run and landscape timbers add to a much nicer overall appearance. The cafe is a nice difference to get dinner or breakfast without driving into town. Wi-Fi still weak at night when busy, but for the surrounding area do not think this can be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
It seems like KOA's are the most expensive of all campgrounds, and this was no exception. The camp hosts were very friendly at check-in and the pull through site was more than adequate. It was very level and all utilities were readily accessible. The basic landscaping was a gravel lot, but more than adequate for a single night's stay. That is the longest we would ever plan to stay in Van Horn, Texas. We would return if necessary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
This KOA was an overnight-only stop for us. It's an older KOA that the management is upgrading. Parts are still quite old and need service. However, they are very friendly and offer large pull-through sites for the biggest rigs. We're a 45' quad-slide motorhome towing a Jeep. The sites and roads are gravel and dirt and you'll get a little dusty: but this is Texas and expected. There is a nice pond developed to the rear of the park and two dog walks. If you need to stop down in this part of Texas this park is an acceptable waypoint. They have a small cafe in the office area and a cook up a mean breakfast and dinner for guests who wish to dine on-site, or take-out back to their RV. This was a plus for us us because we were exhausted when we pulled in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
This is a nice park with a few more amenities then most KOA. Has friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We have stayed at this KOA before and always had the same site but this time they wanted to put us in a site that our tow vehicle would have a hard time fitting. Of course the office was closed, as usual from around 10 - 2 pm. We were lucky the owner was around: he parked us where we usual park. He could not understand why they would have assigned us the site they did, but in the end he is responsible for his staff, so their actions reflect his KOA. The cafe was closed for dinner, this did not make sense either. You have weary travelers who are hungry but no: No eating here! Rate includes KOA discount and taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This could be a destination facility if you want to go to Carlsbad Caverns or Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We stayed one night and had NO complaints. The park is clean, very well maintained, nicely landscaped and convenient to the expressway. There is actually some grass in this arid climate, though the grounds consist of small rock gravel. There are rabbits everywhere so watch your dog. The sites are level and the Wi-Fi is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Rate reflects premium for 4 adults and discount for KOA card. I agree with recent reviews. We stayed overnight and found clean washrooms and showers. We registered after hours with no problems. Someone came by to make sure we were okay. Large sites - easy for us to drive through even with our 41ft Titanium. I was unable to gain access to the wi-fi - but maybe that's my issue? Easy off and on the highway. Only minus for us was we heard roosters early in the morning, and dogs barking most of the night - the chickens are local but the dogs belong to other campers - the camp can't help that. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Nice park with friendly management. Had a nice cafe but we did not eat there. This is a West Texas park with all gravel, very little grass or trees. Large pull throughs and made it nice for us not to have to unhook. Stayed one night. Dog run could use a little cleaning up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Very nice park and well maintained. Friendly staff and a cafe with great food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
A very nice facility with pleasant staff. We've stayed here numerous times in passing East & West. We've always been pleased with our site (level) and the affordability of an evening meal or breakfast prepared at the on site restaurant- there was no need to unhook and travel elsewhere. The restrooms/showers were always clean and well kept. Surrounding grounds were nicely maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Smallish Pet Walk area, but everything else was top notch. Reception, guide to site, cook in the small eatery on site, all were great. Prices in Diner great as is the food. Friendly and helpful staff. Love this campground. Great place to stop when travelling through Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Great place to spend a night when driving across Texas. Clean wide spaces. Our satellite and Verizon broadband worked fine but the cable TV didn't work well. The enclosed dog run was small and one side was full of waste. We did like the Kafe and was served a good dinner by the friendly staff. The park is very easy to get to off the I-10. There is a good access gas station for motorhomes with a tow in town. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
Nice, level, gravel lot with adequate space. Clean shower with low water pressure. Their KOA Kafe served an excellent catfish dinner for a reasonable price. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This campsite has easy access to and from the I-20, but without the noise of the traffic. Wide and very long pull through sites, friendly and helpful staff, and a cafe on site offering dinner and breakfast at very reasonable prices. This is an awesome over nighter, and I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$31
Easy on and off Rt. 10. Nice hosts. Will stay here again. Food was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This park was right off I-10, it was easy to navigate into the site, gravel. It was pet friendly, very clean bathroom & showers. Cafe on site, open for dinner and breakfast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$31
It is a good park for short term stay with nice, helpful staff. The sites are gravel and pretty level, with good length. It appears to have had recent work on utilities, and they worked well. The showers need work-water dribbled out,and temperature fluctuated greatly (mens); temp fluctuated, and the valves were reversed (womens). It has a great little cafe-good food and reasonably priced. We would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$31
After a long days drive this place was a pleasant surprise. Office very helpful and friendly. This is a southwest CG. All pull-thrus. All utilities worked great. We were there on a very cold night so we disconnected the water. They have a nice little diner right on the premise. Not much in this part of Texas, but this is an oasis in the desert We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
KOA should take lessons from this campground. The staff was excellent, the restaurant food was good, plus the people made you feel right at home. Sites were large and wide. Plus it was easy on easy off the highway. Note: Woodalls lists items the restaurant does not serve anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Far enough off the Interstate so no noise. Wide, level, long pull through sites. The WiFi works good. Food at the small cafe is down home. We stop here if in the area. All the water was frozen but what do you expect when it's 4 degrees? We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Easy off/on I-10, but quiet at night. Sites: large, gravel, level, pull through, FHU/50amp, Cable TV, and Wi-Fi. All utilities worked well, plus good Verizon air card and cell service. Friendly staff, clean, well maintained buildings and grounds. Took advantage of free golf at local course. Reasonable rate with KOA card. Would be a 10, with concrete pads and paved roads. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
What a nice place to stay! This campground is run by wonderful, friendly people who we enjoyed meeting. Our kids were thrilled with the playground and mini golf, which were a nice treat for them after spending 8 1/2 hours on the road. The sites are roomy and level with picnic tables. The view of the mountains all around is beautiful. They even have a Kafe that serves dinner and breakfast, and they will deliver it right to your site. I was surprised that the price was so reasonable compared to some other KOA's we have stayed in. This KOA doesn't charge extra for kids under the age of 12. It definitely goes on our favorites list and we will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
This is a very nice (older) KOA. The park is clean and everyone is very friendly. They have a diner in the park serving breakfast and dinner, good food at a very good price. We stopped here overnight, but will return on our return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
Boy! I thought the Tall Pines KOA outside of Dayton, OH, was my favorite KOA, but I was wrong! In Texas, there's no place like the Van Horn KOA on I-10! Friendly, well-trained staff that obviously likes what they do, make any length of stay worthwhile, I'd think: but a one-nighter will leave you wanting to spend more time there. We didn't only because it was too windy to take advantage of their offer to play golf on them at a course nearby. The food was five star, if the menu was short (but not limited at all. They had fish, chicken pork, and beef to offer, along with your favorite beverage: and a great opportunity to kick back with fellow travelers and tell lies and swap experiences RVing. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here, and won't miss the next opportunity to repeat it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
If I could, I would rate this camp ground 6 1/2 stars. It's a great place to stop for the night if you're looking to stop somewhere between El Paso and San Antonio. It's essentially a dirt lot with full hookups, including cable TV and Wi-fi. The dead grass had sharp thorns in it that bothered both the kids and the dogs. The putt-putt golf has seen better days. That said, the hosts/staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed us to pull in and set up prior to checking in so I didn't have to set up in the dark. The sites themselves were level and everything, including the Wi-fi worked great. The diner which others have reviewed so well was pretty disappointing. They only had about 6 items on the menu and the price is steep for what you get. There were some permanent residents spread throughout the park, but all the RVs were in good condition, and we never saw any of the residents. Overall, it’s a good stop for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Although this is a bit scruffy around the edges, we liked this park. It was quiet, level gravel, and had a nice cafe open for dinner with real food, not just burgers and fries. The people were very friendly. The spaces were large. Although we are only 30 ft long, there were 60 ft long RVs that had enough room. Pretty scenery. Has mini-golf and a clean pool. WiFi was slow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Friendly staff. Very level and long sites. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Would have given a higher rating if it had not been for the roadways which are not gravel. There are just dirt and extremely dusty. Some of the permanent resident construction workers who live here, seem to think the speed limits don't pertain to them and cause vast dust clouds that blow all over and through everyone else's RV. Would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is another average KOA. It is nothing fancy but a good overnight stop. BUT, the Kafe was a different story. They have an onsite Kafe for dinner and breakfast. We had jumbo butterfly shrimp for dinner and it was the best ever. This place is worth the stop if nothing else but the Kafe. Also the mats in the showers are a nice touch. I wish more parks would use these. I hate stepping out of a shower onto a wet floor. We would stop here again if for nothing else but the KOA Kafe. Verizon wireless worked okay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
You have to remember when you leave NM there is not a lot of options until you get to San Antonio on I-10 going east. It is an adequate place to stay. We have stopped through many times and this time the cafe was open (2nd time out of 8 stops). They do dinner and breakfast. They installed a 'booster' or something so the wifi is MUCH better than the last time we were here (July 2010). Cable is OK, water pressure awesome. Spaces OK, just grass but not piled on top of each other like a lot of parks. I just wish KOA would reduce their prices as they are the most expensive of all parks. I guess the free Wi-Fi and cable contributes to that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
There is friendly staff. The park was empty and quiet. It has gravel roads and sites. The sites were level. There are easy to get in and out of pull through sites and park in general. We stopped one night and left early the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
It is ok for an over night stop. The cable was ok. There are long level, grassy sites. It is pet friendly and quiet. A typical KOA, old and overpriced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is an older KOA. It is a good over-night stop. The lots are long and level. The owners are great. They were in the process of redoing the office. They said they were going to redo the restrooms also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Our site was level, dirt with some grass and long enough to pull through without disconnecting our toad. It rained all night making it very muddy the next morning. We did not use any facilities for the one night we stayed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would consider staying here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The only good thing I can say about this campground is that it offers full 50 amp hookups, including cable and Wi-Fi. Beyond that it is old and nothing to look forward to. It is simply a large field covered in gravel with hookups. If there are shaded sites, I didn't see them. Like most KOA campgrounds, they think there is something special about their park and they can charge more. I think $35 for this location is outrageous. Problem is, if you find yourself here and need to spend the night there just aren't many better choices. I will plan future trips to bypass this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is a nice KOA for an overnight stay or longer. There is not too much highway noise since it is not right next to the highway. It features grass, trees and level sites. The toilets and restrooms are older but clean. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
This is a good RV park for an overnight stay when traveling east or west on I-10 in West Texas. While there are several other options in Van Horn, this appears to be one of the better ones and there are few other choices other than the Van Horn area in this region. The check in was friendly and efficient. The grounds are in good condition. There was a very strong wind when we arrived and it lasted all night, but that certainly not be blamed on the RV park. We had breakfast at the on-site cafe. That was very handy and the food was good. We would return if travel arrangements required another stay in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
The sites are the usual KOA set up. They are all gravel, but level. Mostly over nighters on their way east or west on I-10. Not as noisy as other near the Interstate KOAs, even though the railroad is nearby. I think the trains are going by so fast that you don't get much rumble. The big plus, is the staff and the cafe. Really nice people and the food is great even if at twice the price. Would stay again when driving the long trip between San Antonio area and El Paso. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Nice park with friendly staff. Has very level sites, good showers, good Wi-Fi and located in a quiet area. Good for an overnight stay. The pool was not open. There is a cafe on site, which we did not use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$31
Stayed here over-night for the KOA card rate. Level, gravel sites. 1/2 mile off the freeway sure made it nice and quiet at night. Showers and restrooms were old but clean, all worked well in the laundry room. Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Friendly office staff, restaurant on-site for dinner and breakfast. Miniature golf and pool for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
The staff was very nice, and the services were good, but this is still just a plain, unadorned KOA. It met our needs very well, but I can’t give it many points for appearance. It wasn’t trashy—just not very attractive. We understand this is West Texas, but a little desert landscaping would improve it quite a bit. (It looked much prettier in its website photos when the trees and grass were green.) The roads and sites are gravel. There is a table, but no grill. The utilities were fine; the cable was good with lots of channels; the Wi-Fi was strong. We were only here for an overnight so there were some amenities that we did not see or use. The price seemed a little high, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We stayed here on our way to Arizona, we didn't even unhook from the truck. From our short visit we can say that their cable and Wi-Fi were very good. Sites were easy to get in & out of and ample long. Our rig, including the truck, is just under 60'. We had no power issues, seemed to get the correct amount of power from the pole. We filled our propane bottles here and their rates were pretty reasonable: $24 for 30lb bottle. I honestly felt $35 for just an overnight stay was a bit high but you don't get many options out in the middle of now where. Not many more choices past Van Horn until you get to El Paso. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
It has very nice staff but this place is definitely not worth the price. It is all sand and gravel and very plain. The cable channels were very limited but the Wi-Fi worked well. For the same price I have been staying in lovely parks with very nice amenities. This may be my last stay in an over-priced KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
The first time we stopped overnight, it had snowed the day before and had melted and their roads and sites were a mess of red clay and mud. It was obvious they had a drainage issue. Management was very friendly and apologized for the mess. On our return trip, weather was much better and water was no longer an issue. Clean and quiet, on the opposite side of town from the railroad tracks. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
Dust bowl park. They have horses so the flies are bad. The people were friendly and the sites are small. My biggest complaint was they filled my propane tank up as we left, and did not close the overflow. When I sent them two e-mails about it, they would not respond. Due to that, I would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$38
Typical KOA: costs too much, good signage, lots of plastic stuff around. There is a big pebble/dirt parking area with plenty of room. It has a basic cafe and very basic store. Friendly staff. It is not worth the price, but apparently better than the other choices in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Whoever owns/operates this campground cares about customer service. Everyone was friendly from the desk, to the escort to the site, and the little cafe. All the facilities were clean, the wifi worked well,and there were plenty of cable channels. There was no traffic noise. Van Horn isn't much of a destination but if you are in the area this is an excellent park to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Large sites big enough to comfortably get into with a 40 foot 5th wheel and truck and not have to disconnect. Nice distance between neighbors. Owner and staff very friendly. They even had a free Thanksgiving dinner buffet for campers. They have a pet walk but no fenced in area for pets like the neighboring RV park in the area advertised. There is an on site cafe where you can have breakfast and dinner. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This was a nice,clean,friendly park. The roads and sites were gravel. They had a cafe where the food was just OK. The restrooms/showers were old but clean. There was no road noise. They have free popcorn at check-in. The best park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
The Best KOA that you can spend the night at, no frills but the KOA people are extremely helpful and nice. This is a must stay place if you are on I-10. I would have given the place a 10 but the restaurant was closed in the evening and that is one of the reasons I stop here. Great place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We stayed here one night traveling from Dallas to Arizona. It is a nice park for a short stay. The managers are very nice and helpful. The sites are pretty much sand with some grass in between. Large pull through sites with all hookups including cable TV. The Wifi worked very well. I normally would not stay at a KOA because they are usually not very nice and overpriced, but this is an exception. Would stay here again for a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a very nice park, very clean. All the employees were very helpful and friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Great place for an overnight. Stayed here while en-route from San Antonio to San Diego. Neat, clean faculty. Gravel drives and gravel pull-throughs. Modern, neat, clean hookups. Close enough to the freeway to be convenient: far enough to avoid noise. Other reviewers have mentioned the cafe: apparently the owner's wife is the only cook and they were out of town when I stopped. Call ahead to confirm if you want dinner! All in all, a good overnight stop in West Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
A decent older KOA type facility. Nice easy pull through sites. A good choice for an overnight when going through this part of West Texas. Friendly hosts who helped when I had a question on cable reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
Stayed here one night enroute to NM. Cabin was very adequate except for mattresses which had to be double stacked for comfort. Dog slept on floor, no problems. Small cafe on-site that serves excellent breakfast. Bath house was older, but clean and functional. Campground was far enough from Interstate so that noise was not a problem. Campsites appeared well maintained. Will use this site in future trips to NM with new 5th wheel. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is a nice overnight park. It is close enough to the interstate for quick access, but far enough away so that you don't hear the traffic noise. Staff was very friendly, and it seemed like a nice atmosphere (kids playing, folks talking, etc.). Showers were a little cramped, but overall I would give this park a thumbs up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Level gravel sites; on site café serving breakfast and dinner; friendly staff; a few sites have trees; good views of mountains and cactus; bathrooms old but clean; convenient overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We stayed overnight on our way to El Paso with friends. We had a very quiet night rest. There was lots of room to walk our pets. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My friend had problems retracting his levelers. One of the staff worked with him for an hour to diagnose the problem and retract the levelers. They have a nice cafe on site and miniature golf and pool for the kids. Although this is an older park it has been well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
A quiet park on the southeast side of Van Horn. Sites are flat with grass and a shade tree; ours also had an ocotillo in bloom. The wi-fi was slow, but the cable worked fine. The bathrooms are older but clean. The showers were strong. Chickens roam around and there's an emu next door. The cafe appeared to be popular with other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Stayed overnight enroute from Arizona. Overall, the campground is a good overnight stop. Our disappointment was the WiFi Internet access. During the evening, the signal was strong but access was impossible. It would appear that there is not enough bandwidth to accommodate the number of campers. The park looked like it was perhaps 30% full. We finally got through at 5:00AM to send one email. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
We were very pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a park in Van Horn. The staff was exceptional and offered to guide you to your site if needed. The sites were very level gravel and we noticed that the staff was placing people in every other site so as not to be right next to one another. Which was very nice when they were not completely full. The cable TV and wireless internet worked very well, and we also discovered a very nice small restaurant right on the premises. We had a very good dinner from that restaurant for our overnight stay, and it was very good! We were very pleased with this park and would highly recommend it to all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
We over nighted here on our way to San Antonio. The park was more than adequate as a stop over. This is probably not a destination site for most people. The staff was friendly and the sites had easy access. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
A little bit close to the interstate for noise but very convenient for stopping overnight. Adequate space for larger rigs. Simple and clean; no surprises. Not upscale, but they don't pretend to be; what you see is what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Great overnight spot, but checked some of the other parks and was a little more impressed. Average for this part of the country as far as little grass, lots of gravel, however, fairly large spots. Van Horn has beautiful mountain views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
Nice over night stop. Typical KOA.. Friendly staff, good free wifi. Nice gravel pull thrus. Great little cafe. Open for Breakfast and Dinner. Would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
This is a great spot for an overnight stop. Wi-Fi works pretty well. Verizon card works okay here. They offer dinners and breakfasts at good prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Very nice for a KOA. Off the highway so it was quiet. Operators were so nice, helpful and friendly. There is zero shade, so for us, we would not want to be here in the hot weather. As always, compared to so many other parks, KOA is expensive from our point of view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
A very nice typical KOA with very friendly staff. The breakfast cafe (Kamper Kafe) was a nice touch, and a great way to start out the day. Very nice for a one-night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Sites were level. We were able to stay hooked up to our fifth wheel. But, we weren't able to walk outside without walking on stickers. Very difficult for our dog to go outside. Had to pick her up and carry her to a safe patch of grass. Not sure if we would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We got in late but had no trouble getting to a site. The sites are level and spacious; the restrooms and showers clean and secure. The cafe offered a really good breakfast for a reasonable price. This was our first night on our first trip in our motorhome and a great way to start the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This campground is only a one night stopover for us. We always stop here when in Van Horn. The management is super. They have a small cafe at the campground with excellent meals. They will even deliver to your rv site. Reasonably priced as well.The office has gifts,food items and rv items to purchase. There is a computer with high speed and/or wifi, and they will let you check your email or surf the web, as long as you don't abuse the use. We really enjoy our stay at this KOA. Peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Very nice KOA, used it as an overnight stop. The small cafe is nice for a great quick dinner after being on the road. Great view of the mountains and check out the ostrich in the fence at the back right of the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Nice park, clean and neat, wide sites and nice road to sites. On site Eatery for Dinner and Breakfast, great food at fantastic prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Good park with great management ready to assist you in any way. The 50 amp service showed a little low in voltage on our gauge but still adequate. Everything else is real nice for being in a real dismal place on a real dismal super windy day. We waited out the wind event for two nights. Chuey's Restaurant is a real good one in town; check it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Great overnight park when traveling I-10. Easy in from the freeway. Great free Wi-Fi. This will be my stopping place from now own. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This one seems to be under renovations or expansion. Good level sites with grass. Good restaurants in town. Quiet, clean place. Friendly staff. Easy on and off freeway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
This campground is very nice for an overnight stay. Sites are level and plenty of space between sites. The management provides a printed "Welcome" sheet which states that they are on the edge of the desert and sometimes the cable TV works and sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes the Wi-Fi works and sometimes it does not. Well true to their statement, the cable system provided poor reception on some channels and good reception on others. The Wi-Fi came in and then was lost. I guess that is ok because we are warned in advance? I find it an odd way to do business. After all: are they not paying for a service that they are not receiving, and then passing that cost along to their customers? If you are interested in cable TV or Wi-Fi, this is probably not the place to choose for your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Great campground with a friendly staff. We have stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We camped here overnight. The sites and view were great as were the hookups. The WIFI worked very well...We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Stayed here for a quick one night stop during cross-country trip. site was gravel surrounded by grass and was quite level, and long enough to stay hitched with 28' TT. Had an end pull-through which had a wonderful mountain view to the east. Far enough off I-10 that there was no road noise. Facilities at this exit to gas up, etc. Very small pool which we did not use, and mini-golf holes and playground. Office/store is open in morning, closed mid-day and re-opens from 3-7 pm. Check-in was friendly and efficient. would not hesitate to stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This is a good overnight park. The staff was friendly and the facilities clean. The sites are large, level, gravel,some grass and a few shade trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We just stopped for the night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were dated, but OK. One (of 3) shower stalls was out of service in the men's room. The view of the mountains at sunset was a nice treat. Furthermore, the location was about a mile off the interstate, which kept the noise to a minimum. Our only problem was an encounter with a fire ants soon after we set up. Having dealt with these little monsters when I lived in the South, I immediately un-hooked and requested another site. The management was most helpful and we relocated to a bug-free site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
This is a good overnight stop while driving through Texas on I-10. 50 amp, WIFI, and pull throughs make it a good stop for a big rig. There is a pool and a playground, but this is also in a very dry climate where dust blows frequently. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there is a little cafe on the premises with good basic food, such as hamburgers and chicken fingers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
We stayed overnight on our way to Missouri. Although I had called several days earlier to get a reservation, no one returned my call. On the up side when I showed up there were plenty of spots open and the staff was very friendly. The rate reflects my KOA Value card. Sites were wide enough for our 39' with slides and although there wasn't much in the line of vegetation it made a perfectly good spot for an over night stay. I would stay here again anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
A typical dry West Texas Campground with limited vegetation but it does have very long, level pull through sites, good ingress and egress, and strong free wi-fi. Better than the average KOA and well worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
We stayed here for one night. Everything was very good, although the shower units could use some fix-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$29
Great site. Everything available for everyone. People were very helpful and friendly. Spaces are very well marked with lots of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
I have stayed here two or three times a year since 2001. The owner is retired military from FT Bliss. I have watched him work this place over for 5 years. I have always loved the area and plan on staying at this park for a couple of months next year after I get straight with the VA. The place is always clean. The owner is always doing something. He was so proud when the wireless was put in. The cable sometimes is bad. But, that's life in the desert. No good grounds equal no good TV. Nice little camp store and the cafe serves some pretty good food. I love it when they bring dinner to your trailer. All in all, I cannot recommend this place any higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
One of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at. Really friendly and accommodating staff, great view of the mountains and a nice little restaurant to boot. If you're driving through Texas, this is a great place to stop for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Staff was very friendly and helpful. They offer an on site cafe that has a dinner menu and breakfast menu. Sites are large spacious and level. Propane is available. Very nice and well kept park. Easy off of I10 and park is quiet. Would certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Very friendly staff. Easy to get to. Fine for overnight. Grass and gravel sites are a little messy as you get grass in the coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Good for an overnight stay. Staff went out of their way to be helpful to everyone when an ice storm closed I-10 for part of the day. We elected to stay over even after highway opened. Small cafe is a bonus. Would use again when traveling in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$27
This was a "lifesaver" park, we had just left San Antonio and had to go to Tucson, but that was not feasible in one day. Van Horn was a pleasant spot to stop for one night. The Staff was really pleasant and helpful in getting us situated. The sites are easily accessible and adequate spacing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
This is a nice campground in a very small town. They have good weekly and monthly rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
Fairly quiet, off the main road. An older park but pretty well kept actually. Nice staff. Over priced like almost all KOA's, but we liked it there and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We camp at this park twice a year in June and August on our way to and from California. The owner is so helpful and friendly and the park is maintained to perfection. We esp. like the clean pool and watching the many rabbits which explore the area. The Wi-Fi works perfectly too. We were sorry the KOA kitchen was closed for the end of the summer as the meals in the past have been delicious. Looking forward to our stops next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
The park appeared to be clean and well laid-out, but we never got to explore it as it was infested with blood-hungry mosquitos. We got one jack down before our skin lit on fire and we dove for the repellent. We managed to get power and water hooked up (forget about sewer) and then dove into the trailer, where we spent the rest of the night taking care of indoor duties and swatting vampires. We dearly wanted to shower off the repellent, but didn't dare. It was a very itchy and uncomfortable night, and the morning departure was only slightly less uncomfortable. If the owner would spray his campground my rating would surely have been a lot higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
This was our very first camping experience and we had a great time - thanks to the owner. He went above & beyond - even to the point of getting his computer guy from town to help me get my PC internet settings straightened out. If we have the chance, we'll be by again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
I gave this park a 10, because everything advertised WORKED and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Owner is considering putting in a hot tub, as the pool was clean and cool. The wifi was excellent considering I was put in a corner supersite that had a fire ring and nice picnic table. There is little noise that you can hear outside, but inside the RV, we didn't hear anything. I would definitely stay here again. An oasis in the desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$00
This park was ok. It was definitely away from the road and railroad tracks, so the noise was down. However, it was really close to the city dump or sewage plant. Maybe the wind was just blowing in the wrong direction, but my wife and I couldn't sit outside the night we stayed. I might stay again...but would have to bring a nose plug. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Convenient to I-10, but very little road or train noise. Helpful, friendly staff at check-in. Long, level, wide pull-throughs, and wide interior roads; can stay hooked-up for an easy morning exit. Good voltage, and water pressure; and FREE, fast WIFI. Good stopping point between middle Texas and points West. A little more expensive than other campgrounds in town, however, to us, a much better choice and value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Quiet and Convenient. In the "middle of nowhere," but a good stop for overnight. Nice long pull-thrus. Quiet, yet close to HWY I-10. Free Wi-Fi with good access from all sites. On-site cafe was not open the evening we were there (a Monday) but was available for breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Found park to be a typical KOA. Sites and roads were gravel. Grass in between sites. Sites were large enough for any number of slides. Utilities were modern and well placed. Each site had a table. Found park to be big rig & satellite friendly. Park was fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Great overnight stop, restrooms immaculate, great little restaurant, salisbury steak and shrimp were great and the cucumber salad is homemade and yummy. Try the wine made in Ft. Stockton, TX., great/cheap. Great campground. Level sites. Owners very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
Very nice park for an overnight stay. Can't say much for the town. Chuy's restaurant comes recommended by John Madden and the food is actually OK. WiFi is very user friendly and has a strong signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
What a great overnight stop, near I-10 and no road noise. Had breakfast in the cafe...a real treat. Wi-fi worked great and every site is a pull through. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Very clean, staff was really friendly! They have a small cafe and served us wonderful Country Fried Steak right in our Coach! Road into campground is not paved, just crushed shell. Once you are there it is a really nice and safe campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
Great park with easy 1-10 access. Owners are very helpful, friendly, and seem to really care about their park. They have set up free wi-fi and also have modem in office. Sites are large, some shaded, and most have mountain views. Park is clean and well cared for. Owners also have a small restaurant. We did not eat there but the menu looked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
Nice park for a short stay. We used it for an overnighter between Dallas and Tucson. Park is easy to locate about 3/4 mile from I-10 but no traffic noise was noticable. Usual KOA gravel drive thru sites made for easy set up and exit the next day. Several truck stops nearby to tank up for you next leg. Not much to do in this area but I recommend it for en route overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$23
I came mainly for the free WiFi internet, which did function flawlessly. After responding during registration that I didn't have a KOA value card, the owner volunteered that they also accept other discounts such as Good Sam. I felt the owners were as interested in my satisfaction as they were in collecting my fee -- a trait rarely seen in my 14-plus years of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$23
We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations at this campground. We chose it because it was midway between two other stops and they had free WiFi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though they are a KOA park they still honored the Good Sam discount. It happened to be my wifes birthday so the catfish and shrimp dinners were a unexpected treat. The WiFi worked fine as long as I went outside the rig to get an unobstructed view of their antenna. I could not get a signal from inside the rig, but what the heck, it was free. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$27
Pulled in for an overnight stop from West Coast to Houston. Very nice cafe on-site with great fried shrimp dinner and all the trimmings delivered to our coach. After a long drive from Yuma in one day the delicious food was a wonderful surprise!! Quiet park, about 1/4 mile south of I-10, enough to dull the freeway noise. It was the dead of winter, so the trees had no leaves, but appear to be fairly large. Spaces are level prepared gravel, nicely spaced, and the one we had was long enough to accommodate 38'coach and vehicle. Roads adequate to manuever rig. Definitely would stay here again on east / west trip! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$22
Excellent campground in the middle of nowhere. We decided to stop while traveling from Houston to El Paso and we are glad we did. Real friendly folks, free wireless internet covers the park. The site we were in was over 120 feet long. The swimming pool was closed for the winter. They served dinner and breakfast. Thumbs up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
You know, this place is way out in the middle of nowhere! If you need an overnight stop in West Texas, it's pretty good, though. Very friendly staff. Lots of room in this park for "Big Rigs." Lots of room! Gravel sites and roads. Trees not a problem. Opted not to take Hwy 54 up to Carlsbad. Couldn't get good info on road so called fire dept. Contruction and mud from rains, so backtracked to Pecos (90 mi.) to take 285 north to Carlsbad (great road!). I'll give it a solid "8". Not a bad park. Stayed here in Oct. '04 with 42' motor home with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Best campground in the area - computers available for guest use in main building. Clean restrooms and showers. Large, level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com