206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocking A RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (940) 552-2821
CGID2930

Rocking A RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   10   5   1   6   6   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Overnight stay, rate reflects Good Sam Discount. Dirt / grass roads. Plenty of room for (37ft 5th wheel & truck) parking and between sites. Women's bathroom stalls clean, but floor and shower stalls needed cleaning. Did like the fact that it was air conditioned (outside temp was in upper 90's). Seemed to be a lot of resident RVs. Next door to Walmart with gas station which was convenient. Wi-Fi was a bit slow. Water pressure fair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
OK for an overnight stop. Road in, and interior roads very bumpy, so go slow. Site was long, grassy, mostly level. Cable and good Wi-Fi. No shade. Power fluctuated in the evening, must be when everybody is coming home and using the AC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Conveniently located next to Walmart (which by the way isn't well configured for overnights). Somewhat dated and pricey but perfectly adequate. I suspect because they've been there awhile without renovation, a site will be some mix of gravel, grass,and dirt. Ours was quite level. Trees need some trimming. Lots of long-timers. Interior roads gravel and OK. Pleasant, helpful staff. WiFi OK but slowed down at night as most do. It was actually pretty good in the early morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
We planned to spend six nights here, so the owner (whose husband was seriously ill and in the hospital) offered us the weekly rate, which was a savings. They also led us to our site, even though we have been there several times in the past. Instant and superb Wi-Fi and cable! The site had grass, which was sparing, but the site was level and clean with a picnic table. Very helpful when a sudden freeze came into the region and willing to refund nights when we left early to avoid a freeze. We will return here when possible and in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Interior roads were a little rough. The site we had was dirt with some ruts. The Wi-Fi was not always available and was extremely slow when it was working. Campground is very near a train line so we heard the whistles blowing several times during the night. We will probably not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
At the office we were greeted by the most discourteous gentleman I have ever encountered in an RV Park. Even though he had plenty of empty spaces, he acted like he did not want to rent us. He was so bad that we decided to drive on to Wichita Falls to a more friendly park. I will never stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
The last reviewer is right on. The man at the front desk, who led us to the site, couldn't even manage a "Hello" or any kind of a welcome. Very un-Texan like. The sites are ok, wide and level, but we detected a sulfur smell to the water. Noisy trains close by, but Wal-Mart is handy and within walking distance. We'll probably stay here again as it's the only choice in Vernon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Nice level grass sites. Laundry facilities and pool (still closed). Right next to Walmart. The Verizon phones and Wi-Fi worked well here and we got several TV stations on the antenna. The owners or managers that we met obviously do no enjoy their job. Neither could manage a smile, have a nice stay or thanks for staying with us. The man that led us to our site acted as though I didn't follow his directions. Not a friendly park. Someone should let them know that friendly translates to $$$. I will NOT be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
We stayed at this very old RV park in a 39' motorhome. The owner said that we could choose a site with EITHER Wi-Fi OR Cable, but no sites had both. He did not take us to the site, which was not level, not paved, and mostly dirt/mud (when it rained). Very little grass and lots of weeds and fire ants. The trees were more stumps and really in poor shape. Cigarette butts were everywhere and it wasn't safe to walk your dogs on leash because there were two loose dogs in the park. There was not an area to walk the dogs anyway and lots of traffic noise from the interstate. Very frightening experience and I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
This park is good for an overnight stay. We haven't found many advertised parks in this area of Texas/Southern Oklahoma along Highway 70 but this one is clean with wide flat sites. There is plenty of walking room for a pet on a leash. The Vernon Wal-Mart is just over the fence. The staff is friendly and we were guided to our site - that doesn't happen too often these days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Not a very scenic park, but convenient off the freeway for an overnight stay. Noise was not an issue. WalMart next door stays lit up all night, but makes shopping easy. Bathrooms very clean, with spacious showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
It's a former KOA, rather hard to get to unless you have been there before. Situated next to a 24 hour Walmart, not far off US 287. Check-in person was very pleasant and friendly. She did her best to accommodate our wishes for a shady site. It has a swimming pool, but we didn't use it. Showers are very clean. The big negative for this park is the train noise all night long. Bring earplugs! Okay for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This park is good for an overnight stay. It is right off HWY 287 and is next door to the Wal-Mart. Finding the entrance was a little confusing and there were 3 RVers in the Wal-Mart parking lot trying to figure out how to get into the RV Park. Woman working the desk was just learning, but was very friendly and helpful. She was kind enough to assign us a site with shade since it was quite hot that day. Sites are long and reasonably level, but nothing fancy. They accept Good Sam and Escapees which brought the cost of the site down to $25.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
This campground is right off hwy 287 and right next to Wal-Mart, in fact you have to pass by Wal-Mart to turn into the campground. We do overnights at many Wal-Marts, but it was in the 90's when we stayed, so A/C was mandatory and we had some washing to do. Great park and receptionist was friendly. Grass and gravel mix spots, fairly level. We would definitely stay here again if we passed this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a beautiful park and convenient to Wal-Mart if you need anything while on a trip. Our site #48 was a combination of grass and gravel, but level. We chose a site with Wi-Fi, vs Cable TV, (it is either/or as they evidently do not have sites with WiFi and Cable TV, which is absolutely fine with us) and the Wi-Fi worked very well. Our only complaint had to do with the people in the office. I assume they were the owners but can't be sure, because they were so "not" friendly. She checked us in, and then said, "My husband will show you to your site." Which he did. There were lots of picnic tables all around, several on some sites, but none at our site. We asked if we could have one, and the "husband" said, "I don't like for people to move the tables but I will get you one." He did a little while later, but, again, never said a word when we thanked him. I know that dealing with people is not easy, and some campers are very difficult, but we had not asked for anything that the other sites did not already have, and we had planned on cooking out. However, even though they were so grouchy we would stay here, again, if in the area, because it is a pretty park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a very nice RV Park. These grass sites are wide, level, and firm. We had plenty of room for our pop-outs and tow vehicle. The grounds are clean, and well maintained. There is a children's playground, laundry, and plenty of picnic area.The staff was courteous and helpful. There is plenty of well manicured lawn, and space to play or exercise you pet. There is a pool which we did not use, but it looked clean and inviting. Rocking A is located right next to a Wal-Mart, which I thought was going to be a "down-side," but this actually turned out to be great! We just walked next door and brought home fried chicken for a picnic supper, and purchased supplies for the next leg of our trip. A very pleasant experience for us all, and a reasonable price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Easy access from Hwy 287. Park was clean with gravel roads and sites. I had driven all day and needed to relax so the pool was a very welcome sight. Wi-Fi worked well. Check in was fast and I was escorted to my site. I stayed one night and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This was a really nice park. The spaces were super wide, grass, level, and solid ground. We had a site on the corner with a crop field next to us. It was easy to get into as we were led through one space into ours. Our only complaint was the men who worked there were not exactly the friendliest or most corgial. The lady in the office however was very personable and pleasant. We would probably stay here again if going through Vernon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice wide sites with plenty of grass. Was very close to level on very firm ground. Had been raining for weeks: lots of puddles and the ground was soaked, but it was still firm enough to hold my 32,000 pound rig on jacks. Had to pull to front of site to fit my tow vehicle in behind me or I would have been level without the need for jacks. Close walk to Wal-Mart. Office stays open till dark. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Friendly, helpful office staff. Escorted to our site. Located right behind Wal-Mart. Nice level pull through sites, mowed green grass. The park is well kept. We were passing through the area, stayed one night. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Sites are long and level. Some trees. 'Sand burrs' are in the grass everywhere. Spent couple of hours picking them out from my dog's paws. Park has Wi-Fi OR cable TV. Sites don't have both. You have to pick. I picked Wi-Fi and it worked very well. Location good: right next to Wal-Mart. Would stay again, but only because no other park around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Rocking "A" RV Park is a good place on Highway 287 to spend the night. The check-in was efficient, the site level, and the hookups fine. The bathrooms are clean and updated. We will definitely use this good campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
We stayed here two years ago for overnight and the construction is gone, making it easier to get to the park. Need to work on the road leading to the park. Sites are long and level. The Wal-Mart is right next door and you can walk over. Rate is Good Sam. Wi-Fi excellent. Great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
We come to Vernon quite often to visit friends, and always stay here. The park has come a LONG way since when we first started coming. The current owners have done a lot to improve the services. Our only beef now, is the interior roads are quite bumpy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Staff was not congenial. Bathrooms were only OK, but men's showers offered NO privacy. Staff acted like they were doing us a favor to stay there, and we would look for an alternate RV facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
This RV park is located right behind a newer Wal-Mart (think the park was there first as it has KOA-style buildings). Signage to find the park from Highways 70/287 was helpful. The sites were not laid out well; the manager led us to our site and it was a good thing: otherwise, it was hard to figure out their numbering. It was handy off the highways that run through Vernon, and there was a good catfish/BBQ restaurant within 2 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
For an overnight stay, this is a great campground. I did not smell sulfur nor hear a train while we stayed here either time. We stayed here last year on a trip. I would recommend them for overnight stops anytime. The only reason I say overnight, is I cannot envision anyone wanting to stay in Vernon, Texas as a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
The Park is fine but the location is really bad. The Wal-Mart store is right next door and the train is within 300 yards, and between the Wal-Mart security lights and all of the noise you are not likely to forget where you are. It is difficult to find decent campgrounds in this area of Texas and it is satisfactory for an overnight if you are just moving on- sites are level and hook ups are good- but don't expect to want to stay too long if you enjoy peace and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We pulled in during a rain storm so everything is soggy. However, the managers are wonderful, very helpful. It's right next to a super Walmart, which is nice. Not so nice is the rail road, but we were so tired we slept through the noise. One big negative is the directions on the web site are not decent, we had to phone and get directions while on Rt. 287. We would definitely stop over for a night or two if we were traveling through again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Nice CG: convenient, easy to find. I didn't notice a sulfur smell as was previously mentioned. Nor, did I hear any trains. I chose Wi-Fi rather than cable TV which worked very quickly. I was able to pick up a couple of TV stations with the cable box. There is a Super Wal-Mart next door that can be reached by walking through a fence. Spot was level. My rate reflected Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Very convenient easy on and off freeway, close to restaurants and shopping never seems to fill up, spaces always available we stayed for 2 months. Grass needs watering, lots of weeds, windy everyday. Managers very nice and accommodating. Could never get into restrooms to check them out, door were always locked, used laundry facilities clean and in good working order pool looked inviting but it was winter so it wasn't open yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$26
A fine place to stay for a night. Our rate was Good Sam and included a choice of Wi-Fi or cable. We went with Wi-Fi, which was fast. Clean, warm bathrooms, showers looked clean. Road and train noise. There are a lot of burrs in the grass, many of which we picked up on our shoes. The host led us to our spot and was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
An average stop over. There is a sulfur smell. Other reviews are pretty accurate, so consider what you are rating against. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
This was a typical RV campground next to the highway and close to train tracks. They had very level lots (we didn't have to use our jacks) and the hosts were very nice and helpful. The main negative to this campground is the trains that come through between 4:45 am and continue until about 6:30 am and it's right next to a Wal-Mart. We would probably stay here again for a one night stop but nothing more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
I must say that I have stayed here several times, and find the previous reviews on the owners a bit misleading. Quiet people sometimes are labeled as unfriendly, however, if one talks to them they find them quite the opposite. This isn't a destination park, however, it is as good as any for overnights and business in the area. It's clean, level and safe. I also have found that after engaging them in conversation, that the owners are as friendly as anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
I concur with previous reviews. Very unfriendly owners. Same experience with Shaun leading us to site. Didn't say a word...Just got on cart and drove away. Power in park low even though 50 amp. Noise from Wal-Mart parked trucks and reefers. Most notable was the lack of courtesy and borderline rudeness of staff (owners). Her only comment to us about the Escapees offered discount was that she hoped they wouldn't continue to accept this much longer. Soooooo...maybe Escapees need to consider not staying at this campground. We certainly wouldn't stay again unless ownership changes. This will probably happen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
I was surprised this is a high rated Good Sams park. This is more a permanent trailer park that allows RV's. Therefore the price is too high. When we checked in the lady told us her husband would guide us to the site. While waiting in the RV a person came out of the office, didn't acknowledge us at all, stepped into a electrical cart and took off. We assumed it was the husband so we followed to the site hoping we were following the right person. People living there are not friendly and several trailers are run down. You can either choose cable or wifi, apparently you can't have both! Sites are wide enough. Won't camp here again. Not even for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
Nice little park for an overnighter. Right next to WalMart and the freeway, so it wasn't very dark or quiet. We got there after midnight and self-check-in was easy. Sites were easy to access with plenty of room to put out the slides and awning. Nice shady areas with picnic tables. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Great size. Large wide lots. Right next door to Wal-Mart. Pool not open yet Host not very personable. Not very busy as park just opened for the season. Cold and windy. Near 287 but not much noise from highway. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$21
This is our 4th stay here, but our 1st since new owners took over 3 years ago. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleaner, nicer surroundings. It is a much more pleasant place to stay. Before we stayed here because it was the only place in town, now it's a very nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Be real careful with this park if Cable and internet are important to you, seems you can't get both. Owners were not friendly at all. Will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
20% discount for Escapee's. Quite pleased with the park. Well maintained and clean. Owner very friendly. We can hear the road noise but it is not excessive. The convenience of being near our exit is worth the tradeoff. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2005
$12
Overall the park was clean...there were a lot of permanent campers there...the park is good for an overnight stay but not much else...the park is located next to Walmart and a busy highway..noisy all night... We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
The park was clean, sites were for the most part level, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the access is easy. You are next door to a Wal-Mart but I didn't notice any undue noise. This is a very good park for stopping on the way through on US 287 and if you need to visit this area. I have stayed here two or three times and haven't had a bad experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
OK for overnight. Felt safe and train noise was not a problem at our site. Very friendly/helpful owners with anything they could help with. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$15
As tent campers, bathrooms and showers are important. They were quite well maintained. Staff very friendly. Ice less expensive at campsite than at adjacent Wal-Mart store. Noise from nearby Wal-Mart, US highway not too loud. An active rail track to the north of the campground did have a few pass through in the night, but again not too close. This is an enjoyable campground on the Great Plains on the way to or from the Rockies from the southeastern U.S. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com