215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Lazy Longhorn RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (361) 485-1598
CGID2931

Lazy Longhorn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   7   9   9   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Very few spots for overnight. I didn't find the check-in person particularly friendly or helpful. Crowded. Laundry room clean and reasonable: $1.25. Cozy rec room/lodge. Only one bathroom available after 9 PM. Clean, however. Wi-Fi not good. Cable TV good. And worst of all, TRAINS at night! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
No complaints about this park. Good roads, good sites. Nice small swimming pool. Great stop over. Very pleasant people in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$39
Mostly Winter Texans (snowbirds) and full time workers, a few overnight spots. The spots are really tight for a motorhome. A few pull throughs are ok for big rigs, but mostly this is a fifth wheel TT park. Spots are small and tight. Owners are very nice. Right off I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Internal roads are paved, sites are level and are not overly spacious as the trees are close, facilities worked well, site was satellite friendly. Staff were friendly, park WiFi worked well, but can be annoying as you have to log-in occasionally and sometimes that doesn't work, so go to www.wifigator.com and it works every time. AT&T cell service was good. The park was not quiet due to trains every 3-4 hours and you can hear them for about 10 minutes, otherwise it was quiet. Rate is based on the weekly rate + electric. They did accept my credit card as we reserved online. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This was a great spot for an overnight stay when coming from the Rio Grande Valley. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the park was well laid out with large/long concrete sites suitable for a big rig with car in tow. Nice landscaping. Easy to find and near the major through routes. Will definitely stay here again! They only take cash or checks, though, so don't plan on using your credit cards! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Nice overnight spot, clean showers and restrooms. The only concern was train noise at night. It was not horrible, but still there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
This is by far the best park in Victoria. All concrete sites, 30-50 amp,good water, cable tv,and fair internet. Beautiful landscaping at every site and pool area. All the permanent resident sites were clean and they were quiet even when leaving for work. Great surprise when the very pleasant folks in the office asked if we were Passport Members. Wow,Great park at a great rate.We will certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
This is a PPA park that is the perfect place to stop when in the area. The owners are super and the lots are paved and level. The rate quoted is with the $3.00 up charge for 50 AMP. Restrooms are superior and well maintained. Lots are a bit narrow, but they work. There are quite a few permanents, but they are well maintained. Dog walking area may be a bit far from you pad. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and will continue to use this CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Dismayed by number of "worker bees": they were all polite and quiet but you were limited in number of traveling RVers to talk to. Back in sites are tough to maneuver in big fifth wheel and had no shade. Pull through sites had shade but go early. Owners very helpful. Liked the security gate. Best private park in Victoria was our impression after touring the others. We stayed at the Passport America rate for 2 nights. Our first visit to Victoria. Gorgeous HEB Plus grocery store but restaurants not the greatest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
A nice enough park but was expecting a winter Texan park and discovered that it has become a park for oil field and construction workers. These latter were all well behaved, just didn't like the attendant noise from 5:00 to 6:30 every morning. EVERY vehicle in the park has to drive past your site if you are anywhere near the front of the park. I understand why the park made this choice from an economic standpoint, but it didn't work well for me. I would not come back here for that reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$13
Very clean and friendly park with heated pool. Many activities & tenants play cards in the club house. The owners are on site and very friendly. We spent two months here and we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
This is a nice, clean campground, and quiet, but if you depend on the internet, maybe not such a good choice. We were here a month and had a lot of trouble with it, and it is pretty slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Parks was clean but sites are small. Many long term folks with noisy diesel trucks coming and going late into the evening. Trains nearby blew their horns for, what sounded like, every single crossing all night long. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
We like this park, but last time we were here the short trees at each site made it impossible to drive into our site without scraping both sides. I was told then that they were in the process of trimming them. Now we are back again several months later and same thing. The attendant said again that they are in the process of trimming them. No credit cards, checks or cash only. I am sorry, but we will not return. We really would like to be able to give a better review, but our 42 foot motorhome does not work here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
If we could, we would give this park a 15. The park was very clean and taken care of. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We would have stayed here longer, but we had to move on. The park has many workers living there (don't blame them, it's a nice park). They leave early but that was never a problem. To sum up, This is a very comfortable RV park. We would live here if we stayed in TX. The rate is PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Staff and owners were great. The park is very clean. The park has a mostly oil field workers which create some problems. They leave for work a 6 AM. The look of the park is going down hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
This is a very nice park. Very friendly staff. Escort to site. A little tight for a big rig because of the bushes on the corner of the sites. Nice paved level sites. Could be a little wider, but plenty long. Nice pool and small hot tub. The park is beautiful, and each lot has green grass and small (4 people) picnic table. Close to restaurants and lots of things to do. Lots of long term RVers, very friendly. Wide paved roads in and out. All n all this is a good place to stay. Fair price too I'll stay here again. Gate closes at night but code opens when you want to come in or go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
Very friendly camp host and owners. Popcorn and soda every day at 3PM for social hour. Free coffee in the morning. The pool is heated. We played shuffle board and ping pong and played cards most evenings. Free movie night once a month. All concrete roads and pads. Rate is based on monthly rate. We will return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
This park has made some changes since last visit. There are more sites, but in doing this, the space for the pets to walk is now much smaller. The recreation room is nice but your time there is limited, as you must leave at nine pm every night, lights off, doors locked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Clean park and well maintained. Staff are all friendly. Park has over fifty percent workers and permanent RV folks and therefore lots of noise and traffic back and forth in the early morning and between 4 and 5:30 pm. (We were expecting a snowbird park.) Because of layout--no back exit--all traffic must enter and exit through the front gates. Also lots of train noises and noises from the trucking company next door. Spaces are quite close together, too. Also no dog walking area except on pavement and in other RV yards. Everyone cleans up after their dogs though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Nice place, clean and the folks running it are very nice. Sites are very close together but big rigs up to 40' will fit. Good services and level lots. Train noise is a real problem, they blow the horn several times during the night. We stayed a week and enjoyed it. We will stay here again someday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
The only reason we decided to camp here is because they advertise a covered and heated pool. The cover didn't exist. When we made the reservation, this was not revealed. We heard about it after setting up from one of the volunteer workers. The also advertise Good Sam members. They took my number but did not receive discount. It is a nice park, easy in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Great park close to town with wonderful owners living on premises. Maneuvering a little difficult because of lush tropical foliage everywhere. Activities every day, including pool all winter. Not particularly kid friendly but pets are fine. Escort to site, and they'll pull you in if you're hesitant. Snowbirds flock here, and we might have considered it had we known about it during our search. The city of Victoria has everything you could want or need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Easy access. Big rig friendly. Helpful staff. Great spa. Long, concrete pads with grass and very nice landscaping. Close to shopping. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable. A great place to winter! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This park is is easily located off US Hwy 59 and therefore suitable for an overnight stop. All sites are concrete and more or less level. Hook up connections are first class as is cable TV. Although the WiFi signal is excellent, the bandwidth is too narrow. The swimming pool is pretty small and needs some refurbishment. The hot tub is fine. Park staff is friendly. There is no ample social programe so we think this park is not very suitable for Winter Texans. We stayed here three nights. Rate is inclusive Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This is a Passport America rate. They are also Good Sam members. This is an excellent, well designed and maintained park that suits our needs well. The owners as well as all camp workers are all super nice. Restrooms are all super clean however the ones in the office building are inaccessible after 9 pm each night. The CATV and WiFi work very well. The owners live onsite and take pride in their park. There is some train whistle noise which occurs mainly at night, however in this town train whistle noise reaches everywhere. This is the only park in town with a security gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Clean park with lots of concrete and nice grass between sites. The sites are narrow but nice and long. The road through the park makes a loop with an in and out road. The road is right next to the sites so traffic noise is somewhat loud when you have your windows open. The $14 rate was Passport America. Very nice place for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Great park with concrete pads and picnic tables; very good Wi-Fi and cable TV. The park had a mix of full timers, workers, but mostly winter Texans. The owners and work campers were all very friendly. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Stayed here as a quick stop over between Mission, TX and New Orleans, LA. Has paved pull-throughs, cable TV with lots of channels and green grass with beautiful landscaping. Pet exercise area is convenient, grassy and virtually hidden by landscaping. Nice pamphlet with rules, conveniently attached cable channel listing and brief description of surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$31
Easy access from US-59. The sites are tight. Utilities good, cement pads and interior roads. It was full, mostly permanents and seasonals. Run down industrial area, but gated at night and fenced, did not feel insecure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This park was recommended to us for an overnight stop, which is what we did. The park is small and some of the turns are tight but it was fine for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
I would have given the park a better rating if the owners handled the complaints. We had neighbors who had fights all day and night. They allowed their dogs to do their business on our grass and patio. I gave the management ample (3) notices to deal with this. They didn't. With each complaint, they said it would be taken care of. Finally, I was told that I COULD move to a new site. We decided that the solution was for us to move on to a new park. The covered pool was only covered for 7 days. We couldn't use it. This was one of the reasons we chose this park. If these things were fixed, the rating would have been much higher. But when your children don't feel safe, it just isn't worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
Rate reflects our Passport America discount and includes $3 extra for 50amp service. This is a great newer park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is access code gated after 5PM but is not in a bad part of town. Park roads are paved and very wide giving great access to all sites. Some distant train noise but no significant road noise. Sites are very wide, level and private. Trees and shrubs separate the sites and give great privacy. Nice small pool and hut tub. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
We stayed here three month while my wife, a traveling nurse, worked at a local hospital. The park is small by some standards but, the family run park is the place to stay. Clean facilities and friendly staff add to the enjoyment of staying here. If we get back to the area we will make it a point to stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$11
Very clean and neat park. Owners try very hard to make all campers happy.Three sets of camp hosts that seem to run things.There is only 3 restroom shower combo's and when park is full it creates problems.Also only one is open 24 hours other 2 from 7:30 AM to 9:00 PM.Can not start laundry after 7:30 PM and does not open untill 7:30 in the morning.Also only 4 washers.The wifi only fair at best.We spent the entire winter here and even though there are some problems we would return for another season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
This is a great place to stay. Has friendly staff. Cement pads & paved streets. Fence equals security, but it's not in a very bad neighborhood ( I've seen worse!). Easy in and out for big rigs, 5 miles from major shopping and restaurants. I'd stay here again anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Now this park gets great TL reviews and I guess I understand that some people would love this place, but I felt uncomfortable every minute we were here. It is one of those parks with mostly motor homes lined up row after row, with a big high fence around it. There was very poor accommodation for pets. Very small patches here and there to do their business on. There are cameras posted everywhere with signs telling you cameras are watching you: including on the bathrooms, which raised a giant question in my mind. Mostly people seemed to be here for the whole season, and mostly there was a nod your way but no real warmth as we are accustomed to more often in the state and national parks. It was a little community really, that watched whatever you do apparently and didn't trust you. If you enjoy nature this is not the right place. I believe bird droppings would be against the rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Nice clean park. Managers very friendly and helpful. Spaces somewhat cramped. Not all sites had WiFi and half the sites had limited cable. Would stay again if passing through area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Very clean mid-sized RV park with a mix of pull-thrus and back-ins. Nice pool & hot-tub area. Friendly office and park staff. Lots are reasonable size concrete with grass separators all with FHU plus cable & Wi-Fi. Full security after hours. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
Very well maintained. Manicured grass and scrubs. No real trashy trailers. Young owner and family work real hard to do things right. Activities like bingo in the evening. Secured park. Nice hot tub with water fall. Heated pool very clean. Many real nice folks staying in park. Don't forget to get good BBQ at Mumford's by the park. No frills/good food place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$26
There are too few restrooms for size park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Good park. The sites a little tight but workable. Has tight back in sites for a forty plus foot motorhome. Stayed a month. Will stay again when in the area. Laundry room is small. Has good cable TV and Wi-Fi. The pool is a little small. This park is all concrete and grass, no mud. The security works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$45
This was the first park we ever stayed at and we are still comparing others to it. Everything you could want. New, clean, paved, great staff, indoor pool. What a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
We have camped at this park several times and have always found it one of the best campgrounds we have used and the best in the area. The manager is very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcomed. The rates are a little higher than most but well worth it for the good experience. We will definitely use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
Our 1st extended distance and extended stay with camper. Campground is not in the prettiest part of Victoria but has high attractive fencing that keeps away unwanted sights and sounds. Security measures are installed that provide safety. The website is accurate in its depiction of service and appearance. The cleanliness of this campground and the landscaping are most appealing. The central shower facilities are very high-end. Would highly recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
In over 30 years of camping, I would rate this park among the top five we have ever visited. It has huge pull throughs, some 73 feet long and very, very wide. All roads are concrete and landscaping is beautiful. The park offers free high speed wi-fi, a heated swimming pool, instant phones, and all the other amenities. This park really is big rig friendly. The folks here, both management and guests, are really friendly, and they escort you to your site. This is a rare find. You will love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$10
The $10 per night reflects the monthly rate of $290 per month. We were here for three months (Dec, Jan, Feb). The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The only drawback were the freight trains that could be heard every day and most nights. We recommend the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
Park is small 65 spaces, in fairly run down neighborhood but near town & shopping. (5 miles) Our rate reflects the weekly rate. This park is very close approximately 10 ft. between units and back ins not very big rig friendly railroad trains run nearby throughout the night, accenting the normal park noises from being so close. On the plus side people are very friendly both staff and residents and park is very clean for us a good place to stay for a couple of nights. Wi-fi at site a little slow and tv cable only 12 second rate channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
Very nice and clean, well maintained park. The Wi-Fi is free! Bonus! Adults are allowed to use pool/spa for 24 hours a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
Clean park with friendly people. They do not take credit cards. Cash or cheques only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Great park, Free Wi-FI, clean, clean, clean, neat, neat, neat! This park is brand new, immaculate and the owners are great people. The rate is 10% less for the regular discounts. We stayed here on the way to and from the Rio Grande Valley in 2003 & 2004. Would recommend anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com