206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Castaways RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (936) 856-2949
CGID2939

Castaways RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   3   4   3   5   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Rate reflects ROD membership. Directories show this campground with 2 different names: Bishops Landing and Castaways RV Park and Campground—so it is little confusing for GPS and finding reviews. All the staff were very friendly. Sites are very close together. Some sites have a concrete pad, the area we were in had a gravel area for RV—but we stepped out into mud between the sites. Beautiful views of Lake Conroe. There is access to the lake directly from the resort. They were working on utilities in the area we were camping, so there was a lot of noise, construction equipment and mud, however, improvements cause disruption. Sites were level. There were several large ditches and holes between campsites—which makes it difficult to find a level spot to sit outside. Good Verizon cell coverage and even with trees throughout we were able to easily get our TV satellite connected. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Nice park easy access. Lots of activities. The only thing that I did not like was the people drive thru there like it's a city street. You get a face full of dirt every time they drive by. Everything is covered in dirt by the first day. It would be a great park if they could get the people to stop driving so stupid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Checked into this place and could not get the RV level. The staff was nice, but the campground conditions were poor. The 50 amp had low voltage. Only stayed one night and left to find a better place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Terrible interior roads,full of potholes. Connections are a 30amp and 50 amp on same pole for 2 sites. Whoever gets there first gets choice ,next one gets what is left. Difficult if you both need 50 amps. Sites are uneven, out of level and nothing but holes and weeds. They say they are doing improvements but never saw anyone working. On a lake but those sites near lake are reserved for members only. Other shady sites will only fit small trailer or 5th wheel. If you are in a large motor home you will be in unshaded area . No cable, unreliable 2channels of local TV . Wifi for a fee. Nice big pool, pool area needs work,very old. Clubhouse is also very old with outdated furniture. Most of the staff is nice not overly friendly but nice. Don't think we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
This park was a disappointment. The staff was very friendly, but the sites were not level and our "yard" was not good. There is nothing to do in the area. We left earlier than we had planned. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
I did not see this in any previous reviews therefore it might be a recent change. This park is now part of the Coast to Coast RV Resorts. Which is basically a time share for RVs. To become a member of a "home park" like this one costs between $3000 to $6000, depending on the park; plus a $200 to $600 annual fee, again depending on the park; plus $79.95 for "classic", or $149.95 for "deluxe", or $189.95 for "gold" membership per year to Coast to Coast. Membership entitles you to stay at your home or other member parks at discount, which in my opinion, given the max length of stay requirements (7 days) the upfront fees and annual fees, you will likely not live long enough to break even. Nowhere is any of this mentioned on the parks website. They do allow non-members to stay at the published rate but you are required to hear the 60 to 90 minute "pitch" as to the benefits of membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$1
Some of the interior roads are bad but, the weather has been incredibly bad. The staff was very friendly and there were lots of activities. We stayed here with Resorts of Distinction membership. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This campground had a friendly staff: very helpful. Nice clean grounds. Bath house was nice and clean. Park has some concrete pads and some are gravel. Lots of nice shade trees. Beautiful olympic-size pool with twin water slides. Very family friendly park! We will visit this park again and often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
My husband, me, and my two kids came out to fish from the boat. The fishing was excellent. The kids love the water slides. The staff was very friendly. We plan to visit again soon. The park was well maintained and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Very friendly people and staff at this beautiful wooded park. We will return to enjoy the great pool area with slides. Grandkids loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$1
Sites were not level, with very little grass, if any. They are not well maintained. There were tall trees but rooftop TV did work. The office sent us to site that was occupied. Next best site had tree in front of it across the road making backing 37' Fifth Wheel in difficult. Only stayed as it was free ROD park, we will only stay for 2 or 3 days max. Not a destination park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$1
The layout of the park is quite confusing - utilities are all over the place and don't make any sense. People plug in all over and the office won't correct it. There was considerable damage done during Hurricane Ike that they are slowly cleaning up - - lots of mud moved down the hills and they lost several trees. Since we stayed under ROD it was $0/night for us - otherwise we wouldn't stay. Lots and Lots of permanent residents and some rigs really look pretty bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$1
The roads were full of potholes and the sites unlevel. Needs a lot of work done, but could be a nice park. They are building Condos next to the park and seem to take more interest in them than the R.V. park. You have to pay for wifi through Tengo and it didn't work most of the time. Some said it worked if you were close to the office. They had a lot of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$5
We enjoyed our time here. However, this is an older park that has not been kept up as we would have desired. You have to spend quite a bit of time to find a site large enough and level enough to handle your rig. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is a members only park. Since we're not members, we were required to sit in on an hour-long presentations which lasted almost two. We're new to RV'ing, we usually take weekend trips within an hour or so from home. Because my husband's work situation has very recently changed, we may not be able to use out RV much for the next 12-18 months. It is not a good idea for us to buy a membership in the near future, if at all. The first gentleman was very nice, trying to sell us on the time-share and giving us a tour. When the second gentleman approached us, we told him our situation. He asked if we would be purchasing a membership. When we said no, again, he said, VERY RUDELY, " Thanks for coming and you can't come back". There was no reason for him to be rude to us. We had already decided that even if it weren't a members-only park, we would not return. It was a big disappointment from the photos on their website. The "sandy beach area" is non-existent. The gentleman told me that the photo on the website is from "20 years ago" and they plan on getting it back to look like that. We were told they are new owners and they have huge plans on upgrading this park. If they do what they say, it will be a very nice place to stay. The basketball court and the RV sites are in disrepair. The first couple of sites we tried to park at were too high and the bottom of our RV was scraping. There was no way we could park there. The electricity didn't work at the site next to the one where we finally parked. If you plan on staying here, make sure you have a very long sewer hose. We were told that the playground equipment was recently put in. I DO NOT believe that for a second. My daughter & I played on it today and it's in good shape but by no means is it nearly new. When I called to make reservations, I asked if they had wi-fi or cable. They said no. The gentleman today said their wi-fi is down but they have it. The restrooms are clean and recently renovated. There is A/C in the laundry room. The park is very wooded with a pretty view of the lake through the trees. Canoe rentals are $25/half day and $35/full day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
Camp has 2 sections - one shaded, one not. Shaded sites were crammed together, VERY small sites. Roads not maintained or paved. Also the sites were not level. Bathrooms poorly placed and still under construction. Picnic tables there, no fire rings. We did have nice view of lake, and there were lots of trees. Dumpsters not very conveniently located. This will no longer be a public park as of Jan 2007. Memberships for sale. I would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$8
We really enjoyed the quiet this park provides. The park itself needs a lot of TLC and seems to suffer erosion problems from summer rains. We would definitely come back to this park. No free WiFi. The park is in two sections, one without trees and one with a lot of trees. There were 2 dumpsters but as far away from the sites that they could be placed. Bring your leveling blocks, long water hoses and long power cables. The park appeared to be full while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$5
Agree with previous reviewer's comments. We were supposed to pay, but a dollar less. No big deal, but this place is in such disrepair that we wouldn't return here at any price. This is our third member park since we bought our membership, and we're beginning to wonder whether we've made a costly mistake. It's a shame, too, since there is potential here. It needs lots of attention, though, and personally, we'd prefer a fenced dog park to a church service and "No Alcohol in the Clubhouse" signs. If that's for you, just be sure to bring a circuit breaker and lots of extensions for wires and hoses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$5
This is an older membership park. We camped here through Western Horizon and were surprised when we were required to pay $5 a day (our membership provides free camping at Western Horizon parks). This is an affiliate park for WH but WH doesn't list this in their web site or notify you when making reservations. WH's fault, not the CG. Roads were full of ruts and sites are not arranged properly. Need to make sure you have plenty of electric cord and water hose. Sewer connections at each site but water and electric are shared by three sites so it can be a reach to those. When checking in, we were told to just go find a site with no campground map or instructions. If this park wants longer stays, they need to do a lot of work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$13
This is a large ( 202 sites ) park with a nice pool and friendly people. They keep the grounds well mowed but their one male and one female bathhouse was marginal as they had a renovation sign up on both sides of the one house. Also the bath house and the one set of dumpsters were a lengthy hike from most (ours included ) sites. Lake Conroe was WAY WAY down so there was no beach and boat launching unless you wanted to wade through the weeds. Their boat dock was an eyesore but the low lake levels is nothing they can control. Nice pool, fair miniature golf and tennis courts but a good stopover park enroute to a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
We stayed here with our 3 children. The park is an older park, however they are in the renovation process. Once they have renovated, it will be nice. The lake is down, so there's no fishing hardly. The best thing about the park is the swimming pool, it's pretty big and has 2 water slides the kids love. They do serve breakfast and dinner for a cost of $5 - $8. It's pretty good. Once they are finished it will be a great place to stay. The park is very little, miniature golf is so-so. Overall a good place to stay with bored children! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Swimming pool was clean and had two water slides (kids loved it). Interior roads were badly maintained (washed out gravel) and very narrow making quite a few sites inaccessible with our 38' 5er. The camp sites were not level and the connections (water, sewer and electric) were awkwardly placed creating a long run for hoses and cords. There were quite a few full time trailers that were in bad need of repair, washing and general site cleanup; looked like they had been sitting there for a number of years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$27
An older park that is undergoing some expansion. The shaded sites are in the older part and some can handle the larger rigs, but is a bit tight. The open area and the newer sites, when finished, are very accessible to the larger Class A's and 5th wheels. It rained the time I was there and didn't get to use the facilities, such as miniture golf and swimming pool, but they are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com