214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Sand Island Recreation Area (BLM) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (435) 587-1504
CGID2947

Sand Island Recreation Area (BLM)

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   5   7   7   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$5
Beautiful spot. Cottonwoods were just leafing out so we had shade and privacy. Sites are large and mostly level. Loop road could use some work but it is not really a problem. A bit of noise from the road but the traffic diminished to almost nothing during the night. Lots of geological features to explore nearby, including Comb Ridge which is quite impressive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Rate reflects senior discount. Dry camping, but with water spigots scattered throughout campground. Sites are nicely spaced and with good foliage in between. Pit toilets were clean. Interesting petroglyphs can be seen on a nearby rock wall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Very large sites. Weak phone signal, but usable. Quiet except for the bridge noise on Hwy 191. Had no problem getting our 40' MH in. Water available at the sign-in kiosk. Take off spot for rafters near the main building. Loop A is for tents, loop B for bigger rigs. All dirt roads so the dusty got to be a problem when the wind picked up. We paid the senior price of $5 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
We were not able to stay at this park due to being full. I did not change the rating to "NO" on Big Rig accessible, but please note there is a large Cottonwood Tree on the loop turn that is low hanging. It took out a skylight on our 5er which is 12'9" tall. You can swing way wide to avoid it as long as the road is dry. There are only a few spots to accommodate a long rig. The "pull-through" spots are wide spots in the road, without a picnic table or easy access to "yard". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
A nice, well laid out BLM campground. Many sites will handle a medium sized rig and a few will handle a big rig. There is a fresh water spigot adjacent to the "iron ranger" fee collection pedestal, but there is no dump station. Verizon was a sometimes thing. If you have big iron, be sure to follow the signs to Campground "B". Campground A will work fine for tenters or small towables. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$5
Big rig sites are just OK. There are quiet and shaded spots. A water hydrant is at park entrance for filling tank. Verizon was weak but worked. A few sites would be OK for a roof mounted satellite dish. Golden Access price is what is shown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
This is a great BLM campground with some sites right on the San Juan River. No hookups or other extras, but who needs them in this beautiful setting. Pit toilets were clean and odor free. Since previous reviews the campground has been upgraded with many large sites suitable for any size RV. Most sites have shade. If you don't need hookups, this is the place to stay in Bluff. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$5
Great site for boon-docking. Primitive sites with no hookups. However, the isolation, view, nearby river access, and trees make this a wonderful place to stay for a night or two. The larger sites are limited. Get there early rather than later in the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
We almost stayed at Cadillac Ranch up the road, but opted to boondock instead. We weren't disappointed. AWESOME view of the canyons and along the river, you can't beat it for the price. We had no problem accessing it in our 24' 5er, but larger rigs might be tricky as there are only about 4 spots that can accommodate RVs, the rest are for cars. The only downside: it's very hot here in July, and the bugs, will come through your screens! Otherwise, fabulous place to hang out for a bit. Pump well water is available, that's it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$8
If you don't mind Boondocking this is a nice park to visit. Sits along the San Juan River and within 50 yards is a large Petroglyph panel. Sites a sand/dirt, some shaded. Most are relatively level and a couple could accomdate large rigs. Water is available but no dump station or showers. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com