221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Flaming Gorge / Manila KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (435) 784-3184
CGID2976

Flaming Gorge / Manila KOA

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   8   7   7   7   8   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
This campground is a typical KOA with very active managers/owner. The sites are all gravel, mostly level. There is grass at each site and while not yet fully mature, there are nightly sprinklers and TLC that is improving this. The all around feel of this place is that the owners are working hard to improve an develop the campground. It deserves a good rep. Tent sites are large and well cared for. Each campsite is raked and cleaned as soon as it is vacated. Maintenance work is being done on a daily basis. The pool is clean and pleasant. The bathrooms are not new but they are kept very clean. The staff are very accommodating, bending over backwards to stop us from having to move to another site when we extended our stay. WiFi is one of the better ones we've encountered in a while. Not a lakefront property in the Flaming Gorge region but when you're looking for a friendly and properly cared for full service campground, this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
We stayed here one night as a stop over. Typical KOA with level sites and good Wi-Fi. No cable TV. Otherwise, a nice place for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This KOA is easy to get into and can accommodate large rigs. Sites are gravel and fairly level, but there's not much grass. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We made reservations late and had to change sites in order to stay 2 nights. They tried hard to find a way to keep me from having to move. Most of the back-in sites have good shade trees; pull throughs are in the sun. Wi-Fi works fairly well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
The road that the campsite is located on is a little busier, heard traffic noise most of the time. Pool was nicely maintained, showers and restrooms were OK. Pull-through spaces were wider than in some parks, which is always nice. Pros: Staff was good, no problems with the electric, sewer or water hook-ups, play area for kids, ice on site. When we first pulled in, the picnic table by our site was split and the top was falling part. We did ask for a new table, and they switched it out the next morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
The rate includes taxes, which are quite steep, close to 10%. Although pets are allowed, this RV park is the most pet un-friendly we have ever encountered. There is a full page of pet rules. The only places where pets are allowed is either on your site or walking to the one pet walk area. All grass is off limits, so you are forced to walk or carry your dog on the gravel roadway to a 20’ x 20’ piece of grass in the corner of the park. They call it a ‘dog walk’, but with the park bench and bushes, there is not much space to actually walk. As to the park, there are some tight turns getting to the pull through sites, but nothing that some careful navigation can’t handle. The sites are gravel and sand, well compacted. The entrance to the pull through sites is angled which makes getting in and out much easier. The driver’s side of the site is lined with 8 x 8 beams with a setback for the sewer connection which is at ground level and about ⅔’s of the way to the rear of the site. The pull through sites are crosswise on a slight hill, so each site is a lower than the next with a light left to right tilt to each site. The sites also slope from front to back (which helps the flow in the sewer pipe). With the multiple aspects to the slope of the pull through sites, leveling can be a challenge. The back in sites are built the same, crosswise on a slight hill. There is a row of tall trees separating the pull through from the back in sites, providing the back-in sites with lovely afternoon shade. Each site has a concrete pad with a picnic table. The back-in and tent sites are set back from the highway, but the pull through sites have their rear windows facing the highway. The traffic is fairly light, so not at all intrusive. Water pressure is descent at 40-50 psi, but the water is fairly hard. The electricity is good and considering the current heat wave, a blessing as the A/C units kicked in about 11am and ran until sundown or later. The park Wi-fi is free, good signal strength and bandwidth, which is a blessing, as the Verizon coverage is just a notch above non-existent. If you are coming to Manila from I-80, towing a big rig or large Class A with a toad, do not take US191. There are a number of wicked steep sections of road. Use the directions given on the KOA website. Always consult the Mountain Directory West before traveling in this area as there are numerous 10% grades with tight switchbacks. We used this park as a base of operations for exploring Flaming Gorge National Recreational Area and surrounding areas to avoid pulling our rig up and down the worst of the grades. Previous reviewers have mentioned about the lack of grocery shopping. With a year round population of just over 300, the ‘Flaming Gorge Market & Mercantile True Value’ is just what you would expect for a small town. A combined grocery, hardware, ice cream and gift shop all rolled into one. You still need to come well stocked, but if you do run out of any staples, they will probably have it. The Flaming Gorge Cafe (Brownie’s) is right on the corner of Hwy’s 43 & 44. Good food at a reasonable price. I had the fried chicken and it wasn’t the pre-cooked frozen variety, but made fresh every day, juicy and very tasty with a nice light breading. For a small town restaurant, the food was very well made and very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
This campground is a little on the rustic side, however a very pleasant and helpful owner checked us in. Road and pad are gravel and do need some work, but it is the end of the season. Pull through was level but big rig access was just okay with a couple of tight turns to the pull throughs. Despite what one reviewer stated, the road which is a two lane country road, was never busy and never noisy. The view from our RV was distant mountains and water. Bathrooms were old but clean. Nice little dog walk with pick up bags. Wi-Fi and cell are great. Food stores are limited, so bring your own groceries and there are not a lot of places to eat but this is a great base for sigh seeing. We would stay here again. Rate reflects 20% discount for the end of season, this is a seasonal campground and closes on November 1st. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
Typical KOA, but tired in a nice setting. Some shady spots. No grass between sites ,but some here and there behind, etc. Office and laundry were closed off and on while owner did "stuff." I think that was just because it's late Sept., but don't plan on doing laundry until you see the managers on duty. Nice place all in all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Previous reviewer must have stayed at a different park. We always check on RV Reviews before making a reservation. Most of the reviews are accurate and we are pleased with this service. There is plenty of room between sites, and most of them seen level. Grassy areas in playground, tent area, cabins and and some grass between sites, but it is a gravel driveway and site. The road in front of the park is a two lane country road and never had a lot of traffic. We were about half way up the park, and never noticed any road noise. Pleasant owners, and there is a small dog walk at the top of the park. Follow the directions on their website and take SR 530 from I-80. US 191 has 4 or 5 8% grades and some with U turns. When we were out in the toad on 191, we saw a few motorhomes and 5th wheels on the road, but it is not for the fainthearted. Great base to see Flaming Gorge. Small general store in Manila, but best to come fully loaded with all your food, wine and beer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
This is the third time this year that reviews on this website have led us to terrible parks. This is a typical shabby KOA which is basically a dirt lot. The pull-through area is next to a busy highway so the traffic noise is unbearable. We cut our stay short because of the condition of this park. We DO NOT recommend it and would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is a nice KOA. Some of the sites are a little close together, but overall a nice place to stay. We were in row D and it was wonderful. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Nice staff, nice campground. Trailer spots are very close together. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Staff was friendly and efficient. There was a computer available for free in the laundry room for internet access. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Nice park close to Flaming Gorge. Get a shady spot if you can, it's hot in summer. Office staff is informative if you haven't been in the area before. Tough drive south on 44 if you're going that way. Eight percent grade up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Clean, friendly, Affordable with a great staff and a beautiful location. A must stopover. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This RV park is the really the only game in town. As stated earlier, the campground is very clean and well taken care of by the staff. However, that being said, there were several aspects that put me off. As stated earlier, the $10 pet deposit stinks. I really think they HOPE you will forget about it and leave it. The owners were put off when I asked for my $10 back when we were leaving. Also, there are signs EVERYWHERE that say what you 'can't' do. Laundry room had signs like 'don't touch the blinds', 'don't open the blinds', 'don't open the windows', etc. I felt like a small child being lectured everywhere I turned (there are a LOT of signs). They also give four pages of 'rules' to be followed while you are there (I have never seen such detailed rules). Upon check in I was asked to sign that I would read and follow the rules (again, I am not 10 years old). If the owners put a positive spin on the rules it would really help. The consensus among our group was that the campground was fantastic but the owners were far from courteous. BTW, please be aware that local children are allowed into the pool if the purchase a bag of chips in the office. It serves as the public pool for Manila. We probably would not return with the present management - just not real friendly folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This park is very clean and nice. It would have gotten a ten if it had cable. It is run by very helpful staff. The pool is also wonderful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Sites are level and ample is size. WiFi is free but marginal in strength. $10.00 deposit for pets put me off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This campground is as good as it gets. The owners were very nice and helpfull. The showers and bathrooms were spotless. The grounds are very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com