206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Goulding's Lodge & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 134 user reviews. Phone: (435) 727-3231
CGID2986

Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   4   5   8   7   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Yes, it is over priced and the Wi-Fi does not work, but it is the only game in town. Our site was small but it worked for the 3 days we where there. It is located in a beautiful canyon and the interior roads are asphalt, but there is not enough gravel on the sites and the red dirt is imposable to keep out of the rig. Laundry is expensive so might do before you get here. Monument Valley is stunning and the tour we took was great. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
The sites are not big rig friendly because they are so out of level. My wheels were off the ground. All of the other big coaches in the park were either on boards or wheels off the ground. Other than that it was a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$44
Note that some of the literature we were given there calls this "Goulding’s Camp Park", and lists the telephone number as "435 727 3235". This Good Sam RV and tent campground is nestled in among red sandstone cliffs, next to the Goulding Trading Post and Museum. Apparently, John Wayne movies are shown nightly at the trading post theater. There is a convenience store and gas station just down the road, the Navajo Nation’s Monument Valley scenic area, where many Western movies were made, is about four miles east across the main highway. I wish I could give this Good Sam campground a better rating than I am going to. The sandstone cliffs surrounding the campground seem to block most of the wind, which can be pretty intense in Monument Valley. The relatively level sites are compact red dirt, most with at least some shade trees. The asphalt access roads are narrow with tight turns, and may be tricky for bigger rigs. The staff person was somewhat harried and impersonal. I did not try the free Wi-Fi. There is no formal dog walk, guests are asked to have their dogs use “underdeveloped” areas; the only place we found to use was the side of the road in front of the campground. A previous reviewer commented on the unavailability of showers; the showers are actually inside the campground store, and are thus available only during store hours, which were about 7 AM to 8:30 PM when we were there; it would seem this obstacle could be overcome with a little planning. I have no further information on the showers. The restrooms are accessible at all hours from the campground by use of a swipe card, which you get when checking in to the campground. The mens restroom, which serves fifty (50) RV sites, has only two sinks, two urinals, and just one toilet stall. Although the restroom was regularly “cleaned”, a close look revealed various small blobs of debris at heights of up to three feet on the restroom walls. The one toilet was occupied when I needed it by one of those fellows who sit there to read and contemplate, rather than someone who was ready to do his business. I survived the long wait, barely, and then discovered that the toilet was not actually fastened securely to the floor. Later, as I walked to the office to turn in my restroom card, I noticed that the pay phone on the wall was out of order. Although I am accustomed to paying high dollar at campgrounds near National Parks (and the Navajo Nation’s Monument Valley area is equally of international interest, the rate of $44 with a Good Sam card seemed excessive given the level of the amenities present. We stayed one night in an Aliner, and are unlikely to stay again at the current level of service and price. If you are totally self-contained, have a modest-sized rig, don’t mind paying the high rate, and really want to spend some time in Monument valley, maybe this campground would work for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Park is way overpriced. Uneven spots, WiFi did not work. This park does have a great location for visiting Monument Valley. Overall I was very disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Rate is based upon blending Winter and high season rate ($23 and $40). Sites are gravel and dirt; generally level but I saw several fivers using a lot of blocks. Wi-Fi was generally mediocre at best. Note that when the wind comes up, you'll have red dust everywhere; don't leave for a day's sightseeing and leave windows open. Great tours of Mystery Valley (not open to the public) for Anasazi ruins, and for Mystery Valley (a little pricey but worth it). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
We arrived on a fairly nice day and liked the setup. Then it started snowing for several days. Staff was friendly & helpful. Rate is after Good Sam discount. Sites are long enough for 5er + truck, level, wide enough for slideout and awning, on gravel and dirt - and that became a little bit of a problem when the snow melted, it was wet, soft and that red sand really sticks to your shoes. Hookups are basic and working, WiFi worked, the signal strength ranged from good to very poor and the bandwith fluctuated from acceptable to nothing at all. If you need the Internet, bring your own solution. Verizon had a signal, Virgin mobile didn't. I got a 94% Satellite signal strength with Shaw direct. Restrooms are average and could have been cleaner when we were there, they weren't maintained every day. We stayed 5 nights and would return again if in the area. The view, the hiking possibilities and the proximity to Monument Valley are real assets here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
Good Sam discount. Sites are mostly pull-throughs and are tiered up a slope, with railroad ties separating sites. Decent amount of space between sites. Sites are gravel with a firepit at some and a picnic table. Many also have a small shade tree. Full hookups(50amp), also no hookup tent camping. Bathrooms are closed during summer at 7pm and do not open until 8am. On Nov. 1, they started closing at 5pm, closed all night until 8am. Laundry has the same hours as the bathrooms. Nice laundry, just a little expensive. Pets are allowed, but beware, there are a number of loose reservation dogs and cats around. They look to be fed, but many females seem to have puppies or just finished weaning. Very sad. The dogs are very friendly. We ended up taking in a loner that hung around us and just starving for attention. We will get her vaccines done and get her spayed and adopt her out. One less dog to have more puppies. Wi-Fi is free and most times pretty good. Sometimes from around 5-10pm it slowed down or cut off. Very slow Sprint Internet: No service Satellite: Plenty of open sky. Worked on Roam AT&T cell: Worked on Roam Book Exchange:. I think they charged for used books. Guided tours through Monument Valley for a price. Area/Town/Sights: Valley of the Gods, Monument Valley, Navajo life, jewelry. We really enjoyed our time here. The view was magnificent. The campground in late Oct/early Nov. was mostly empty. What a joy to just sit outside surrounded by huge rocks protecting our little area. They have garbage cans conveniently located throughout. They are emptied daily. So much nicer than dumpsters. Also security drives through (too fast) quite a few times per day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$44
This is a very nice park. Sites are a little narrow but level and well-maintained. Restrooms and showers are clean and in good condition. We stayed for 5 days and our only complaint was that the shower rooms close at 8:00 p.m. We prefer to take our showers at bed-time so it was a little inconvenient for us. The indoor pool was sparkling clean. We used the shuttle to go to the Lodge for the documentaries and the John Wayne movies shown in the evenings and it was much nicer than driving and trying to find a place to park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This is the place to stay when seeing Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park. The setting is surrounded by rugged red cliffs. Though the terrain slopes a little, our site was level. The resort has several attractions: museum, slide show, documentary video, restaurant, tours & trading post. The place was clean & quiet with a friendly staff. The tribal park is nearby and features spectacular natural rock formations. The road through it is very rough so a high clearance vehicle or tour is recommended. This is definitely a worthwhile stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
The great thing about this park is the view of Monument Valley. We stayed for three nights. Although the park technically has WIFI, to say it was spotty would be overly gracious. The roads through the park are very narrow but paved. Cable tv was "snowy" but then you are pretty much in the middle of nowhere. The spots were gravel and ours and our traveling companions were not especially level. The office staff was not particularly friendly. All this being said, the views of this magnificent valley make it worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Forty five with Good Sam's very expensive for what it is...but it is a monopoly especially with NPs closed due to partial government shutdown..tarmac roads and gravel sites not all very level...didn't see any staff "grading sites" after folks have left....did use restrooms on a couple of occasions and although clean they need to be refurbished/updated. Indoor pool, but did not use...souvenirs in office/shop very very expensive. Not value for money, but unless you want to boon dock, stay in NP or drive great distances then no alternative. Wi-Fi good, but we were next to office we saw lots of fellow campers with their devices sitting outside of the office to get reception... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Sites are reasonable, area is acceptable. Bathrooms, store, pool are all acceptable. This park is excellent for visiting Monument Valley. They provide (at extra cost) tours through the Valley area. They also have an on-site restaurant with frankly the best fry-bread I have had in years and years. They also have a store, a gas station (with the cheapest gas I've seen in all of Utah), a museum and theater (free) and a tourist trap-shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
WOW, it's Monument Valley and this park fits right in with the fabulous visual experience. The park is well laid out and offers spacious pull-through sites with full hookups. Some of the trees could use trimming and that is why a 9/10 score is shown. Be sure to allow at least 2 days here to take in the unique beauty of the area. Plan to spend $100 per person in extra cost tours, etc. This is a very popular park with RV caravan operators, so reservations are a must. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
This is the only RV park in town and it shows. The park is on a slight angle so sites are carved out to be level and most aren't. The sites are pea gravel with red clay under that. Sites are fairly short. Dusty and dirty in the park. Now for the worst part. The Wi-Fi is pitiful. When we got there in the afternoon and the park was almost empty I could stand next to the main antenna and get connected, but couldn't get it a couple of sites away. The antenna next to our site was dead. I used my Pepwave booster and it would work if no load was on the system. As soon as the park started getting more RVers the system is useless. They know about it, but don't do anything about it. Another words if you need Wi-Fi don't come here. Beautiful area to see on tours. Also this park has a beautiful well maintained indoor heated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Location is perfect. Sites are gravel and not too level. At $50 a night the WiFi should work and the cable TV shouldn't be fuzzy. Way too expensive, but they have a lock on the market so can get away with it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
We were disappointed in this park. Feel it was overpriced. The swimming pool was not in operation, the Internet was down. The sites need more gravel as it rained and we had red mud. We ate at the dining room and the food was good. This is the only campgrounds in Monument Valley, so they got you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a very popular park in the summertime--very crowded! We rated the park pretty high because we had what seemed to be the best site in the park--#12--an end spot with a view to Monument Valley. If we'd been in one of the tiny back-in sites crammed in between all the rental RVers, we would not have been as pleased. We liked very much the ability to book and take a guided sunrise tour right from the park--perfect. Not a great place for dogs, though. No good dog walk area, and lots of stray dogs and cats, so beware if you've got a reactive dog. (Our current one isn't--he had a blast playing with a little puppy.) And be sure to stock up on groceries/supplies before settling into the campground--the grocery store is a bit of a hike down the hill and the campground office carries very little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
This is a good park for RVs 30 feet or less. It is not good for big rigs. The 4 sites reserved for big rigs have trees that have not been trimmed. To get your motor home into the site branches scrape the motor home. The scenery is good. If you want beer you must bring it with you. Monument Valley and associated businesses are on Navajo land. There are no sales of alcohol on Navajo land. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
This park was not as bad as some previous reviews have indicated. Office help was nice and friendly. Sites were close but level. The park was well maintained. Showers and restrooms were clean. We would stay here again if we visited the Monument Vally again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This is about your only option for Monument Valley, and it's fine for a day or two. The sites are fairly close together, and the roads are a little tight; however big rigs seemed to manage fine. The grounds are kept fairly nice, but there's no grass at the sites, just red dirt. The free museum at the lodge is a must see. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
As folks have said before, some sites have a significant slope. We had to use lots of blocks to level. Side-to-side level was great. Everything else was really nice: good wi-fi & cable, some shade, very quiet. We didn't use any of the amenities (pool, laundry, etc.), but they looked nice. It's a beautiful place surrounded by red rock cliffs, with some views down into Monument Valley. An excellent base from which to explore the area. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
We loved the setting - simply beautiful. The park staff was fine but not overly friendly or helpful. The location was incredible for visiting Monument Valley and Valley of the Gods. We loved the museum on the property and especially loved the John Wayne movies that show every night. The culture in the area is great - we met two couples that we are still in touch with - everyone seems so friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$44
This campground is gorgeous, nestled in a red rock canyon with a view of the monuments. Hook-ups are great and trees are being cultivated. It was odd that WiFi signal was strong, but could not get proper responses on internet. Campground roads are paved, but sites are gravel & dirt. Some of the office staff were especially pleasant & others were less so. We took the open vehicle 2.5 hr tour & loved it. Yes, it was windy and sand was blowing, but it's the desert. The red dirt road into the park among the monuments is very steep at times, with large pot holes & ditches, so we would not take our vehicle in. All tours entitle you to return the same day (on paved road & without the extra $5/person fee) to visit the tribal inn/restaurant/gift shop area. The view from there is a must see, so go back. We loved it here and would give it a 10 except for the WiFi problem. The rate was Good Sam. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
In a beautiful canyon with stunning views. Sites are reasonably level laterally, but tend to have a slope fore and aft. We couldn't get level in our 45' motorhome using hydraulics or air. The people manning the store/office are not the most sociable and don't make you feel very welcome. However, the tour to Monument Valley through Goulding's makes it worthwhile. NOTE: The shorter tours (we took the 2.5 hour tour) are in open air vehicles. The seats are reasonably comfortable. However, on the day we went the wind was really blowing and we got "sandblasted". It is possible to drive your own vehicle through Monument Valley, but the "road" is extremely rough. If your car has minimal ground clearance I wouldn't recommend it. Our neighbors did it in a 4x4 pick-up and wouldn't try it again. It is a place you won't want to miss, though. We did note a Goulding's tour on the road that was in an enclosed, air-conditioned vehicle, perhaps the "all day" tour. That is the only way we would recommend anyone taking the all-day tour! Cell phone reception good, and the WiFi was strong - we were parked right behind the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
We were there in a 25' travel trailer. Our site was 17 and we never could get WIFI. I mentioned this to them the first day and they said it was because so many people were using their WIFI. I tried to access the internet at 4:30 AM and it still would not connect. We use the internet for email and receiving and paying bills. I was very disappointed. I also noticed that there was no showers available from 5:30 AM to 7:00 AM. When I called the office to inquire, they said their employees use the facilities at that time, but if I knocked, they would let me in. They use badges to access all facilities. Showers were clean, but cramped We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Saturday/Sunday – May 11 & 12 Goulding’s Monument Valley Camp Park, Utah This is expensive ($46 ) but if you want to camp in Monument Valley this is the place to be. There are tent sites, back -ins and pull-throughs. 66 sites in all with full hookups, cable and internet plus tent sites. At the campground there is a store, pool, showers and down the road the lodge, movie theater where John Wayne movies are shown, shuttles to the lodge and tours, hikes, museum, food court, gas station, restaurant, grocery store and a gift shop. The road into Goulding’s is right across from the Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park. This campground sits on a hill in a canyon with the opening looking out towards Monument Valley so the pictures at sunset and sunrise are stunning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Very picturesque campgrounds between two mesas just outside the Navajo Monument Valley Park. Pleasant and friendly staff, fairly level and wide sites, good 50 amp service, water, and sewer. A great place to stay when visiting Monument Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
As they say in real estate "location, location, location." This campground has it! Closest campground by far to Monument Valley, though there are no views from the campground. In terms of amenities, no issues but no real superlatives (aside from the location). Well kept, and well run, no issues. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We stayed here for 3 nights. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We found our site to be a level, easy pull through. We were able to book tours at the office. Verizon worked good and Mi-Fi. Their Wi-Fi worked well also. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
This is really the only campground in the area, so it is overpriced. It is clean, and the restroom/showers are clean. The sites are tight and on an incline and close together. Views are pretty, and it is quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$46
A mix of pull throughs, pull ins, and back ins. Each of the pull ins shares a common driveway with a back in. The entire campground is on a slight incline, and this is reflected in the individual sites. Sites are sand and gravel with ruts; mostly level, but some sites have enough drop off to make leveling problematic for a longer rig. Patio areas are in some cases sloping and composed of sand with a touch of gravel mixed in. At some of the sites, the sewer connection for the adjacent site is in the middle of the patio area (instead of in-line with the utilities for the adjacent site). Access roads are narrow. Power was slightly low - 116v w/no load; 114v with AC running. Water pressure was low at 30psi. Wi-fi was very slow and unreliable. Cell service is OK. The only real redeeming factor is that it is the only choice for full hookups in Monument Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
This park is way overpriced. Lots of amenities in the lodge are prized in here. Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount already. The park is 2 miles off the highway, no noise whatsoever. Beautiful surroundings and a nice little trail in the back of the park leading to a rock arch and a gorgeous view of Monument Valley with the two Mittens. Our side was very difficult to level, sloped from front to back and side to side. Some looked way better level wise, maybe you should have a look before you accept an assigned site. Also, our site was too short to park our truck in front or behind our 34 RV. Little privacy. The staff was not friendly, not polite, and not very helpful. The electric and water hookups were good but sewer too far in the back for us. Wi-Fi was reliable but slow. Our Verizon MiFi did not work though we saw other Verizon hotspots when checking for available networks. Overall value for money average at best. Next time we would try one of the dry camping options in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$41
As others said LOCATION, LOCATION. The park Wi-Fi was strong. Verizon OK sometimes. Nice bathrooms and showers. Semi-level spots. Dog walking best across street from the office. Best shopping at Highway 163 interchange for Indian arts and crafts. Gouldings also has supermarket and Trading Post. Indoor pool. John Wayne movie theater. Nice spot. VIEWS VIEWS everywhere. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
The sign posted on the main road listing all services this park provides is somewhat misleading. Yes, there is a laundry IF one is there before 3 p.m. when the last load is allowed to be started; there is a pool, but it was empty when we arrived; Internet is available IF one arrives before the office closes at 5 p.m., which closed the day we arrived before the posted time. We were charged more than the price posted on the door, which was not honored when my husband pointed it out (but at least they did take the sign down). The current rate is $30.06 with tax (we were told on the phone when we called to check rates on the day we arrived that the rate was $40, but that wasn't given to us until we told them where we were at the time we called). It is also unfortunate that long term guests are allowed to stay in a prime site, which blocks the view to some extent for other guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$48
We stayed three nights in a pull through with full hookups. Interior roadways are paved. The site was fairly level and gravel. Beautiful surroundings at the park, but it is the only game in town. It was windy when we were there with blowing sand, but it is the desert. On the positive, grounds and facilities were well kept, but as a previous post stated, stray cat and dogs sometimes made it difficult to walk our dog. I reported this, but staff wasn't too concerned. Sites and roads tight for larger rigs. Fairly good restaurant down the road at the lodge about a half mile. Adequate. We would stay again as there is no alternative but to dry camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
Location/scenery of this park is nice. Stayed here in a small (21') motor home. Sites in our area of the park (upper area near the tenting sites) were dirt, most fairly level. Seems our site was originally a pull-through that they split into two (had another MH directly behind us). Dogs and cats (local residents? collars but no tags) wandering loose made it very difficult to walk our dogs or be outside with them. No designated pet areas. Large rig sites seemed rather tight. All hook ups functioned properly, did not use any of the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
We stayed here on a Saturday night in October. The park was a little more than half full, so it did not feel crowded. We had a FHU, pull-through site near the office and bathrooms so we were able to get the WIFI on site. The cable TV is only 25 channels but they are pretty good without all the crap like shopping channels, MTV, etc.). They even had 2 HBO channels. Most sites are satellite friendly, but some may not be. Sites are decent size and the roads and sites are basically red dirt. Laundry was very expensive so I put that chore off.. Although, the tenting area (not included in the listed 66 sites) has its' own bathrooms, the bathrooms and showers at the main office are inadequate for 66 RV sites. People in small van and popup campers are not being well served. We would have considered a second day but the major amenities (restaurant, grocery store, museum, theatere, etc. were almost a mile (both downhill and uphill) along a busy road with virtually no shoulders walk on safely. If they had an all day shuttle (rather than just a couple runs in the evening), it would be more convenient for people in the Camp Park to shop and dine at any time of day. I'd return if I returned to the area wanted to take one of their tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This park is the closest to Monument Valley. The staff was friendly and helpful. All the services worked fine. The park was clean and well kept. The spaces are a little close but not bad. For big fifth wheels and motorhomes it is a little tight in some areas but you can get in and around, you just have to pay attention. Goulding's has a full service available including fuel, grocery's, restaurant, and guide service. We enjoyed our stay and would camp here again even without visiting Monument Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Gouldings is a well organized and well run campground. Reservations are a must in season. The pull-through sites were easy to access and plenty long and level. Not much shade, but some. Not my preferred type of campground, with sites within feet of each other and no separation. However, it's the only game in town and it's good at what it does. Good Internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Wi-Fi was very weak all over the park. The cable is basic and the lower channels were fuzzy. Some spots are level and OK but others are very tight. It's the only place in this area so come and hope for the best. Roads are very tight for rigs longer that 40 ft. Views and history are well worth coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
This was a much nicer park than we had expected based on previous reviews. It was in the middle of no where, but the views were spectacular. The amenities were great. We took the local tour which picked us up at the CG. The only issue we had was the shuttle to the dining room only ran at night even though they served 3 meals a day. The walk was about .5 miles away. The food was good and the Gouldings site offered a grocery, gas station as well as gift shop, museum and dining room along with CG and lodge. Don't do laundry here: it is $3 a load. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Only park close to Monument Valley, nicely kept, some shade, pretty location in a canyon. Roads are paved, gravel sites slope a little front to back but not bad. Cable TV can be fuzzy depending on weather, Wi-Fi is OK. Pool is indoors, decent store and laundry. Fills quickly in season, make reservations. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Park is right outside the entrance to Monument Valley. Overall a nice park but very, very dusty so be prepared for a lot of red dirt on everything. Park has all the amenities and free John Wayne movies every night. For access to Monument Valley this really is the only game in town. Four Corners is approximately 92 miles from this park. Stayed 3 nights. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
A nice park set in a valley surrounded by red rock mesas. This is the only park in the Monument Valley area. It is well maintained; however, some campers were having difficulty getting adequate 50 amp service. We did not have this problem. We found the Goulding Restaurant to be good and their guide service excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
The only campground in Monument Valley is part of a complex of Gouldings enterprises. A primitive campground at the Navajo visitor's center is closed for a year for rebuilding by Goulding so I was told. The $43 was supposedly with a Good Sam discount, but not shown on my receipt. Expensive. The bathrooms were generous in number, very clean with a remarkably beautiful stainless steel wash basin counter. But, weirdly the showers are accessed only through the main registration/gift shop and open only 7:30 am to 9 pm. This slows down early starters. We were in a class B van and were put in a red sand strip right by a fence adjoining the entry road, only 25 feet deep though fairly wide, but difficult to back in to by location of the hook ups and an upright grill. There was a light level of gravel on larger RV sites. The red sand/dirt really gets into every thing especially with strong wind gusts we were having. So a nice complex, expensive, and RVs in rather tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$51
The price reflects the location, not amenities. Showers are only accessed by going through the office/store. Men's restroom was clean but only had one toilet for a rather large campground. If there were other options, I would explore them next time. But you can't beat the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$43
We stayed at Goulding's for years on our treks north in the spring and south in the fall but won't again. The last two years the staff has been surly and rude and the sites available were very unlevel. I had to try three sites before I got one my hydraulic levelers could handle. The view from the park is beautiful though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$53
This is the only game in town. Sites are tight and un-level. Very poor Wi-Fi. However; tours of the valley are excellent. Grocery shop before you go as the local market is expensive and closest grocery store is 25 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
We are here for 3 days to see the Valley. We are in space 24 with full hookups. Water is verging on hard, but OK for a short length of time. This space has 4 bar free Wi-Fi and even our Verizon has 3 bars. Sites are OK size for our 40 footer and our toad to fit. Only downside is the red clay. It rained as we got here and you have to be careful not to bring the sticky stuff in your rig. We use a mat plus a mat on our step and manage to keep most of it outside. Great views of the surrounding rocks. Worth the drive. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Surrounded by amazing geology, this is a pretty unique park. Decent hookups, but the sites can be a bit of a maneuver to get into if you are not on the first level. The sites are dirt, on the side of a hill, so plan on doing some leveling. They have a pool and store, propane, gas/diesel, and an awesome grocery store on premises. It's the only game in town in Monument Valley, still worth the trip. Would stay again, but wonder why the Navajo Tribal Park has not capitalized on building an RV park on all that flat land they have between their park and Gouldings. Be sure and visit the Gouldings Museum to learn about the history of the people that built this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Nice place, great hiking all aroung. Down side motorcycles and other vehicles flying up and down the road next to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
We have camped here 2 times and each time have found the staff very friendly and helpful. Don't let them sell you their extras as in tour of Valley. Instead use Monument Valley Safari located in Green shopping complex across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Only park near Monument Valley. Dirt sites. Wi-Fi only worked if sitting outside. Buy groceries prior to arrival; local store very overpriced ($18 for container of coffee). Park rules regarding pets not enforced: several large dogs running loose in park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
We stayed here during the very busy tourist season. The campsites were fine. Laid out in rows, but not too tight, so that was good. There is a lot of red dirt, but that's Monument Valley. Our only disappointment was that it was in a canyon and there were only a few sites (mostly the tents sites) that had a view down the canyon of the monuments. I had heard about the wonderful views from the hotel, but hotel is outside the canyon, and Monument Valley is all about the view. I think the only good thing about it is that if bad weather came up with some very strong winds, the campsites would be protected there. Otherwise, there is not much choice in campgrounds that have full-hookups in this area. So besides that lack of view, it was a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$57
Only RV park in the area, as far as I know. That's why it is a little pricey. Red dirt, red dirt, everywhere. A little wind blew up overnight and I had a red (40 footer) RV and toad the next day. I certainly did like the beautiful scenery. I took the self guided tour, and I would not do it again. I would take the guided tour and save the entry fee of $5 per person and the wash job for your car later. (Goulding's happens to have a car & RV wash on site.) My site was not very level, but not awful. I peeked into the pool, but it looked very busy: it was inside and hot. Close trees on each side, so we could not put out the awning. Good power and water and I think I remember there was cable TV (not sure). I will want to see that part of the country again and I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Hmm, the highest priced park we stayed in, the entire trip. We paid $70 for one night with a Good Sam discount!! Add filthy bathrooms, a lousy Wi-Fi signal, cramped quarters. I rate this place a 2 of 10 and only deserving points for the close proximity to the tribal park. Without question, these rip off artists need some serious competition! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The only choice available at Monument Valley. The more we explored, the more guilty we felt about staying at this Anglo-owned monopoly in the midst of Navaho-owned scenery. It was fine, but it still doesn't seem right. The locals even have to buy water from them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Our second visit here and one of our favorites. Campsites are red, packed dirt, level and various lengths. They do an excellent job of putting the right size RV in the correct site. Hookups are convenient and sites include a picnic table and either a nice charcoal grill or a fire pit. Nice enclosed pool, restrooms, and showers. Also a well stocked store. We will be back again to take more tours with the Monument Valley Safari in their 4 Door Jeep Wranglers with a guide/driver and room for only 4 passengers making it intimate and informative. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
The park was good enough - hookups to run the AC, nice views, etc. But the staff was not very helpful; they made a mistake on our reservation (and I had their confirmation e-mail to prove it), but they gave us attitude when we asked them to correct the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Great place. All the amenities a camper could want plus a museum and old trading post right in the middle of Monument Valley! Don't miss Gouldings if you're traveling through southern Utah/northern Arizona. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
If this park were anyplace else we would probably rate lower than a 9. But, despite a remote location you get a swimming pool, nearby grocery and fuel and, of course, Monument Valley. Do not bother to clean your RV before arrival. Red rock becomes powdery dirt. Your steps will be red as will your shoes. . . .and of course your floors/carpets if you don't remove your shoes before entering your RV (we always do). But it is worth it for the location. There is no 3G access (1x only). Because everyone tries to use the camp internet it is no faster than 3G. But what the heck, you're surrounded by red rock and should be outside anyway! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
The views from this campground are awesome. Roads paved but sites are dirt which wasn't a problem because it hadn't rained in some time. Our pull-through was adequate for our 40 foot 5th wheel with easy entrance and exit. Be sure to take a tour of Monument Valley. Staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Great park in the middle of nowhere in a scenic canyon! Accommodations are clean and up-to-date. Kids loved the pool and hiking around the park (there's a cool arch a short distance from the campground.) Very nice laundry room as well. Monument Valley tours take you to places that you can't get to by car. I'd recommend the 3.5 hour tour. The Stagecoach restaurant (associated with the Lodge) was disappointing as the food quality was subpar. I'd come back to the park in a heartbeat but would avoid the restaurant. Visit the Cameron Trading Post near Cameron, AZ if you're in route from the Grand Canyon area, it was worth the stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
The campground was in a lovely setting and the sites were paved and adequate in size, although they could have been a bit longer. Our issue with the park is the dust. Perhaps we were just unlucky with the weather, but the red dust gets everywhere! The wind is relentless and the coach was coated inside and out with fine red dust. Otherwise, the park is fine, and located in the heart of Monument Valley. The staff was professional and helpful. We would not stay here again, based on the chance of hitting wind and dust, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
The check-in experience was easy and the pull through site would have been a 1-shot deal for me if I had just listened to my wife the first time! All kidding aside, the pull-through was level and had plenty of space for our site with young cottonwood trees on either side. The hookups were well placed and easy. The surrounding landscape is nothing short of awesome. You can sit in your site and listen to the birds and take in the beautiful red sandstone all around or hike the many trails around the campground. It is a central location to the many day trips in the valley. The only reasons why I gave it a "9" instead of a 10 was that the showers were somewhat difficult to move around in, however, all of their restroom facilities were very clean. Another reason is that they are repaving the road, much needed, but made it difficult (long waits if your timing was off) to get in and out of the campground during the weekdays. We stayed here for 6 nights and would stay here again. The staff is extremely accommodating, cheerful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
An unbelievably beautiful park, the camp sites are nestled into a canyon above Monument Valley with red walls rising almost from the edge of the campground. The amenities are crisp and immaculate and everything that one might need can be found on site or close at hand: laundry, propane, fuel, groceries, car or camper wash, etc, but no alcohol as it's on the Navaho Reservation. One has to watch the cats though, they are very friendly and fast! They like to get into campers and vehicles, we gave one a 17 mile free ride before we spotted her and had to take her back. We highly recommend this place to all travelers of all ilks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$48
We LOVED this campground. Beautiful red rock setting with a view of Monument Valley from some sites, but a short stroll from others. Hook-ups were great and the park was very quiet and clean. The only issue we had was that a street lamp on one side of our site kept us from enjoying a pitch black, night's sleep. There were two adorable cats who visited us as we were getting read to leave. This is an ideal spot for full-hookups. However, if we decide to dry camp next time, we will stay at a campground with an unobstructed view of Monument Valley. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Price reflects AAA discount. Very easy check-in. Site was fairly level. Low water pressure. Electric was good. WiFi was weak at times. A little pricey, but it is the only gig in town. Took the afternoon 3.5 hr. tour and it was well worth the money. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
We were happy with this campground. It is more a campground with amenities than an RV park. Our site, 23 was long plenty long and wide for our 40'er and car; and not too out of level. Plenty wide too. We put blocks under our jacks and the tires on one side were off the ground. But it was fine. We had 2 trees which was very nice. It is all red sand as one would expect for this area. Probably a mess when it rains. Price includes tax and 10% discount. Would stay here again for sure. You are surrounded by red rock which we love. Indoor pool looked good too. Small store has some convenience items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Location, location, location! Beautiful with soaring red cliffs all around. Not a mega-resort with the red dirt sites but shade trees, picnic tables, grills, level sites and well thought out hookups. Wide enough for slides and awnings and a lot of pull thrus. Staff was polite, helpful and very informative. Pool nice and small grocery/gift shop handy. This place is immaculate with trash cans being dumped twice a day and sites checked as campers pull in AM. Would stay here again in a NY minute and already planned it for next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This campground is over rated for what you get. It’s pricey. Staff has a problem assigning sites. We booked online in February for a pull through since our 5th wheel and truck are 54 foot in length. When we arrived, they assigned us a 30 foot site even though we showed them our confirmation for a pull through and full hookups. After 10 minutes, they assigned us to the “only” remaining pull through site. The site was unlevel and so close to the next site that we couldn’t open our awning. Speaking to other campers, they were told the same thing and were assigned a different site. We saw a lot of campers trying to squeeze into sites that were too small to accommodate their rig. Many had to park their vehicles in a separate parking lot because there was no room on the assigned site. If it rains, sites flood. The red clay on every site becomes mud. Make sure you take your shoes off before you enter your rig. Otherwise, the red soil will be all over your trailer. This campground has the monopoly because there are no other campgrounds within 25-30 miles. Staff needs an attitude adjustment because they feel take it or leave it. They’re right because every night we were here they turned people away. If you decide to stay here, call ahead for reservations because the park is full by 4:00 p.m. Both their Wi-Fi and our Verizon wireless card were extremely slow. The few pros are extended cable TV, clean showers, bathrooms, and laundry room. They also give Monument Valley tours that originate from the campground. If you want to visit Monument Valley, suggest you get to the campground early morning and take an afternoon tour with Gouldings and leave next day. During our stay we took a Monument Valley tour and visited Natural Bridges, Gooseneck State Park, and Navajo National Monument. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
I have a problem with a CG which claims to have a service and then goes 3 days without providing that service. In this case it was WiFi. They had some sort of DNS issue and no one was able to fix it, thus the 3 rating. The park is old and they probably make a ton of money each year, so some sprucing up should not be out of the question. The park is the only place in town to stay and see Monument Valley which everyone should see just once. But it would be nice if Gouldings would fix issues and stop resting on their past glory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
This is definitely a big rig friendly campground and there were a lot of big rigs there. Great showers without water saver heads!!! I love that. Sites are a bit too close together, but the scenery is great with towering red rock all around you. This is a very well maintained campground. Monument Valley has a LOT of activities and is worth more than a single night's stay. There is bus service to take you where you need to go too. I'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This is a nice park and the only negative is that some of the office people display a real attitude. They know they are the only game in town and you can take it or leave it. Their cable TV service is almost unwatchable and they really don't care if you report a problem. They supposedly run a shuttle to the other parts of the complex, but its schedule is more a suggestion than a schedule and don't expect the people in the office to help you. The pool is nice and grounds are well kept. With an attitude adjustment they might get a 9 or 10. Would only stay here if I had no choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
I pretty much agree with July 2010 reviewer. Goulding's is the only hook-up in the area (free non-hookup inside Monument Valley Park) and they do a good job of it. We had the best Wi-Fi in weeks at Goulding's and the park was pretty full. Laundry was clean and not overpriced. Our site was level but not many were. We were in #55. Glad I read the reviews which stated that one day was enough in the area and it was. Fantastic afternoon and then sunset on the terrace at the Park Visitor Center. Every language you can think of spoken, Americans in a minority. Busloads of Italians and Japanese. Do NOT drive your RV on the park loop. It looked smooth from the observation deck so we started down (people in rental RVs were doing it so we thought we would too). Nope. We got to the first pullout and parked for an hour to take pictures and then drove back to the top. Road was so bumpy we didn't even want to take a guided tour in THEIR vehicle. Beautiful location and Gouldings is surrounded by the giant red rocks too. Just amazing. I gave Gouldings an 8 although the amenities deserve a 6 just because they do a decent job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Goulding's has done a great service to traveler's in this part of the country. A great RV park, grocery, fuel station/car wash, motel, museum, gift shop and more, all located within a mile or two of each other. RV Park pretty much fills by sunset and is virtually emptied out again by noon. Every imaginable type of rig here from small tents to motor mansions and a high volume of rental class C's passing through. End row sites have great view down the canyon toward Monument Valley itself. Level sites, some tight for bigger rigs with toads. Good power, water and sewer. We had sporadic Wi-Fi, but it is included. Warm indoor pool, but very crowded and being indoors, it was loud. Good laundry. Clean grounds. AT&T cell and Verizon internet good. DirectTV had a clear shot, despite the high canyon walls on each side of campground. Navajo tours of Monument Valley leave right from campground office. I highly recommend the sunset tour. I don't recommend driving your own vehicle onto the dirt/dusty and potholed road into Monument Valley itself. Save your vehicle, take a tour. Courteous, professional and informative staff throughout all of Goulding's properties. The 'Spirit Show' media presentation at Goulding's lodge is free to campers and well worth the hour or so. Good Sam and other discounts apply at RV Park. A great place to park for a few days. We definitely would come back if we were passing through again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This is a spectacular park! Has great staff and nice slots. Would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
The other posters were right about the views. However, if you have been to Brice Canyon, Zion, or Arches parks, this is more of the same, and the others offer more activities to do and see. We found the park nice, but you are far removed from anything else here. There are facilities here, stores, gas, and the like, but all are pricey because you have no options. A tour of the valley is offered for $40 a person. That gets you a ride in the back of an open pick up truck with bench seats. We chose to drive it ourselves for $5 a person. We have a Jeep, but we saw many Class "C" rental RV's on the trail! I wouldn't recommend it though, there are some pretty rocky rough spots. The park is OK, the roads are narrow but passable. Larger rigs may have issues making the turns. There is little vegetation, so wind creates monster dust storms. This is not a bad place, just not a great one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
This is a beautiful park with nice sized sites that are level, located beneath gorgeous red rock buttes and with a view of Monument Valley. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The showers and laundry are superb and there is an indoor pool. There are a nearby grocery store, another laundromat, gas station, restaurant and tours right from the RV park. We took the all day tour and it was fabulous: we highly recommend it. We would stay here again if in the area. You get a discount on the tour with your Good Sam membership too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We stayed here only one night to see Monument Valley. The park is very unique and we enjoyed it very much. You cannot beat the view! The huge rocks surrounding it are gorgeous. Our site, #36, was very easy to get into. The sites were pretty close together, but it did not bother us. The showers and restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. The park is on red sand and my white westie came away with red feet from his walks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Sites were very small and the red sandy dirt just stuck to everything. But the dirt issue was the whole area, not just campground. WiFi signal was not strong, used my Verizon card here. We stayed here 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
This is a beautifully kept campground situated on the Navajo Indian Reservation. Though the campground has everything to offer; beautiful views, indoor pool, patio, laundry, small store, small hiking trail, grill and picnic table at each site; there isn't much else to do besides the Navajo tour of the valley. The campground offers guided tours. You have to remember you are on an Indian Reservation and be careful where you travel. The campground fills up every night and pretty much empties every morning. Sites are small, some turns are tight for big rigs and almost all are pull throughs. There is a small grocery store, gas station/convenience store, the Goulding Stagecoach Dining Room and a strip mall offering handmade Indian wares at reasonable prices. I would give this campground a higher rating if it weren't so isolated, and there was more to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
It might be a little difficult to write a good, objective review of an RV Park when most of the time you spent there was during a severe sandstorm, but I'll give it a try. Our site at the end of a row was of ample size and fairly level. The utilities were quite good, and well situated. The surface of the park is, of course, sand. When the wind isn't blowing, this doesn't cause much of a problem. When the wind is cranking up 50 knots and more, you'll find sand in everything. The park area itself is somewhat protected by the bluffs (very picturesque) surrounding the site, but there's a notch in one end, and we were right next to it. The coach was rocking like we were at sea. The rest rooms and showers were impeccable, and the store was well stocked. It's obvious that the management takes its job seriously, and do a good job of keeping the place well maintained. And, I should point out, it's the only game in town! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
The only reason I gave this campground a 9 was because the WiFi was very, very slow and the TV was next to unwatchable. I know you don't go to Monument Valley to watch TV, but you do want to catch up with the world. The campground is in the nicest setting I've been to, settled in a canyon, it's just great. Site's were more than adequate for big rigs: all gravel, but level with a view of the valley. We took an all day tour and the service was just outstanding, including the burgers made in the valley. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Nice, well-maintained RV park in a beautiful setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
We had a large level pull-through site right next to the office building. Some noise but didn't affect us. Cable reception was poor. Wi-Fi worked quite well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
This is a very nice clean park. Very accommodating. I would recommend it to any and all travelers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
This park is the only thing available near the Monument other than extremely primitive camping in the tribal RV park so take it or leave it. It is in a pretty location at the top of a red rock draw with views of the valley. The access road is narrow and steep in places but is in good condition. Interior roads are paved. The sites are terraced into the hillside and some have views. Sites adjacent to the office/store building are subject to equipment noise and bright lights. The sites are large but the one we had was badly bent, requiring a combination of blocks and hydraulics to get level. They are not paved and the red dirt seems to cling to everything so leave your shoes at the door. Wi-Fi is available but was practically useless even though we were parked near one of the antennas. Our Verizon Air Card worked but was very slow. I would have rated this place higher if it was not over priced. As an aside there is a 15 miles public loop road through the Monument. It is drivable in a standard passenger vehicle but is extremely rough. Group and private guided tours that include roads not open to the public are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
A lovely setting in a red rock canyon. Sites are a bit on the tight side. Bathrooms OK. Staff not overly helpful. We ate at Gouldings Restaurant, very busy place, food not bad, but way overpriced. From talking to other people this was a one night stop, see the sights then head back out. Once you have been here, you probably would not return. It is very dusty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
Shore Services: 50amp, Sewer good, Water 40 @ psi - Wi-Fi: Strong, but slow at some times. - AT&T Cell Phone: Good Signal - Sprint Air Card: Poor only 1R - Verizon Air Card: Poor indicates only VRGlobal - Cable: Poor So snowy that it is difficult to watch. Only clear channel is the the Campground and lodge advertisement. - Site: All sites are red dirt. That is understandable. It would have been nice to have some gravel to level the sites. Few are level. Our site has a large tree root where all the dirt has been washed out. The site in front has tree branches that barely missed an RV that pulled into the site. Site Size: Our site was long enough to park TV in front of 5th Wheel. Not all are as long. - Site Closeness: Sites are terrace to some extent but wide enough to put out awning. - Roads: Red Dirt - Restrooms: Locked did not use - Laundry: Locked did not use - Directv Satellite: Good at our site - Discounts: Good Sams or AAA - Payment: Credit Card - Additional Remarks: This could be a great park. It is open all year. The price is to high for the quality of the park. It is the only park in this area so they have no incentive to improve. They messed up our reservations buy miss spelling my name and insulted me when I insisted that I had made a reservation. If there were another park in this area I would not have stayed here. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
I sort of have mixed feelings about this place. While the setting is just spectacular (red, towering cliffs surround you - plus views of monument valley from right in the RV park), it is just too darned busy. It was busy when I checked in - European tourists EVERYWHERE. I don't think I heard anyone there speaking English. It was soooo busy in the pool - we had to leave and come back several times to see if it was empty enough for us to swim. The sites are rather narrow and slightly unlevel. The way the park is set-up, people cut through your sites constantly to get to the bathrooms. I personally didn't find it any more sandy or windy than Arches or Bryce - and besides, that adds to the appeal of the area. It's really the only place to stay if you want to tour Monument Valley, so you just have to make the best of it, I suppose. My advice would be to visit off-season, mid-week - since the loads of people there is what made it so unpleasant for us. I think on a quiet day, this place would be like heaven on Earth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$54
Truly an awe-inspiring setting with the red cliffs towering above us. Grandpa and the boys hiked to the hidden arch at the back of the campground. Staff were courteous and helpful. Shower and toilet facilities were excellent. Ice cream sandwiches were a bargain and welcome treat. The indoor pool was very clean and large. The free shuttle took us to the lodge where there was a trading post, museum, and movies telling much of the sacredness of the area to the Navajo. We found this to be a most excellent experience--even though the price was high. The lodge rooms were so much more expensive that it helped put the campground charge in perspective! We would stay here again if in the area. There is also an air strip there and we met people who had flown their own plane in for their vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
The saddest words of men, "What might have been". I agree with the last writer that this is a perfectly acceptable campground. But with a little wider street; very tight for or 38" motorhome; a patio pad, the red dirt will track all over your rig and lose the trees to see the view, this place could have been great. Yeah the shower thing is a problem for people who are not self-contained, but the staff was nice and I don't see a problem with Native Americans charging $5 to enter the Tribal Park. Ever try to get into Yosemite without paying? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
Too dusty, watch out for the dust storms. We had two while we stayed here. Dust got everywhere. We are still finding dust in the weirdest places a month later. Laundry room to small especiallly if locals are using it also. Sites are dirt, no asphalt, gravel or concrete anywhere. Gets muddy when rains. Price too high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
We had a perfectly acceptable time here. Our experience with the office people was positive, our site was large enough for our truck and trailer and everything worked acceptably. The power was a bit worrisome, as the voltage dropped during the day to a dangerously low level, but we didn't have any damage and we just waited until overnight to charge computers and things that might be voltage-sensitive. The views are awesome and the location is great -- within a short drive of several attractions. Our major complaint wasn't with the campground but with the Monument Valley park itself -- be aware that there is a $5 fee to enter the park, even if you just want to go to the Visitor's Center for information. Also, the site access is a bit tight for big rigs, but we had no problem, although we watched a couple of large motorhomes and fifth wheels (38') having to maneuver carefully into sites. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
Although this park had an amazing view, that was the only redeeming grace that we could find. Please be aware - the campground and the reset of the Gouldings facilities are completely separate. We did make a reservation ahead of time, yet received basically no services. We did not realize that you had to ask ahead of time to get the password for the wireless internet. We called the main number, which is the check in for the hotel, and were told they could not give us any answers as they are completely separate. If you arrive late, you do not get to use the bathroom because there is a password to get in. To get to the shower and the laundry, you must go through the store, which during off season - closes early. Yes, there were hookups, so we were not completely out in the cold; however, we were quite dissatisfied by the services provided here. When I went to the front desk in the morning with our concerns, we were told that things were the way they were and there was no flexibility at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Overall the campground is okay. The scenery is exception. The roads are paved and a little tight for a big rig, but can be negotiated. Sites are dirt and not exactly level. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
The previous review brings to mind the old adage "you can please some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time, but you can't please all the people all the time." We have stayed at Gouldings several times and have always been very pleased with the accommodations. The setting is second to none and the office staff have always been friendly. I guess some people expect to be spoon fed and pampered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
The scenery in Monument Valley is so amazing, it's hard to even care about the campground. That said, here's what we found in October of 2008. Pros: reservations available online; campground and restrooms very clean; view of the world from the upper campground sites; lots of campground kitties who come around to visit. Cons: the showers can only be reached from insdie the store, which means they are only available during store hours, starting at 7am. As you may imagine, during the morning hours it is almost impossible to shower due to the crowds. We got smart and showered late in the afternoon, otherwise we would have been two dirty campers! The spaces are narrow and have no privacy. But since the view is so amazing it's hard to care about any of the above. We put our camp chairs up facing the valley and had our drinks while the sun went down. Fabulous. The next best thing about this place? Go over to the actual lodge and have breakfast - it's the best breakfast we've ever had on a trip - huge portions, great cooking (homemade biscuits and sausage gravy that is a miracle), and a view of Monument Valley while you are chowing down. Hard to beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
Site #27 was barely long enough for our 40-footer and car. Also slightly out of level. No Verizon cell signal. It is a beautiful area. There is a full service grocery store nearby. Several Navajo-guided tours available. Wi-Fi is $3.00 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$43
Yes, there is a lot of blowing red dirt here. And the staff is not the friendliest ever. But you sure can't beat the view, it's really quiet and it's really the only option around Monument Valley. I don't think I'd like to spend a week here, but a couple nights would be just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
We had an enjoyable stay for three nights at Gouldings. Conveniently situated to Monument Valley and had all of amenities. Sites were clean and good size and the only negative was the red dirt and dust, but the dirt is everywhere. Restrooms and showers were neat and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Neat park surrounded by amazing rocks, hills and a beautiful view at end of the RV park. Sites were nice, but you need to be careful about the red dust. I covered my rugs with throw rugs so they were not damaged. Very popular place for campers traveling in rented RV rigs, about 80% of sites ... mostly from other countries exploring the USA. It was neat to see them so excited about Monument Valley, cameras were clicking everywhere. You have to pay for your WiFi in the store. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
As others have posted the dust is the big downer, but this is located in one of the Earth's most striking vistas. You are in the monuments. Service is on Navajo time. We could not use the pool, it was full with kids from around the globe who tour in tents traveling in large vans. But they were very respectfull of quiet time. There is poor quality electric (meter) 110 volts or less. Has pull through sites. They charge for showers ($1.50) with that many tenters, and it is in the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
Scenic park in a scenic location. The spaces were a little tight, short, and dusty. While it didn't rain when we were there, I could see how it could be a mess if wet. There are shuttles that take you to the Gouldings hotel where a restaurant is available as well as tours to Monument Valley. There are a couple of trails that can be accessed from the campground. Dog walking is limited in the park but off park is fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is an excellent park with absolutely spectacular views. Yes, there is red dirt everywhere but that is to be expected. The paved interior roads help a lot but you still track in the red dirt. The sites were pull throughs and we had some shade during the day. We wish the pool had been a few degrees warmer. The laundry was clean but a little pricey. We enjoyed the 10 minute hike to the arch. The location and views make this park an excellent choice when you visit Monument Valley! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
Great place to stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Monument Valley itself is just awesome and the Goulding RV park is nestled in at the bottom of a couple of beautiful buttes. We took their full moon tour of the park and it was a wonderful experience. Park personnel were very friendly and helpful. My son locked the keys in our truck (while it was running), and the Maintenance crew had us unlocked in about 5 minutes. That's service! We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Nice Park. Pleasant staff. Loved the INDOOR pool (no dust). Facilities clean and modern. The tour into Monument Valley with the Navaho guide was quite special. Wi-Fi worked well and worth the $3. Interesting museum and movie. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Nice park. The only draw back are the red dirt pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Very nice campground in great location. I was there in mid Dec. and practically had the place to myself. Cable TV wasn't working, not sure why, didn't bother to ask since the office was closed. (check in was at the store down the road) WiFi worked well at my site #22. Site was level. All sites appeared to have picnic tables and BBQ s. If you need propane, the gas station had it for only $1.95 a gallon (Dec. '07), the best price I have seen in several years. Be advised, some amenities are closed in winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Very nice park in a great canyon setting. Beautiful vistas. Sites are dirt with paved access roads. Modern and everything works well. Good Wi-Fi ($3 extra). Good satellite access. Nice shade trees. Best improved campground for miles We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
The sites are very narrow and unlevel. There is nothing but red dirt, blowing dust, and usually the wind is terrible. The stores and facilities are fine but I would never stay here again except for the fact that if you want to see Monument Valley it is the only place close by to stay. Very expensive for what it is, plus they charge for WI-FI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$46
Friendly staff, very slow registration process. Everything above two people per unit is extra, kids 7 and under are free. There is a Good Sam discount if shown prior to registration. Nicely equipped cabins are available, about the same price as RV sites. Tent camping available in separate areas. Some of the spaces need trees trimmed for pull thus. Ads state no slideouts, not the case, but some sites very tight. Beautiful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
We were disappointed. The scenery is okay but the campground was hot and dirty. The road was pot holed in places and very narrow in places. All in all the desert is pretty but it seemed to be lacking here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
The park location is a 10. Asphalt paved streets, level red clay site. Patio is the same red clay. No grass - we are in a desert. Small trees offer some shade. Pull thrus face north affording afternoon shade from the coach. When it rains all sites and patios become red mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
One of my favorite parks on our trip thru Utah. Maybe because of the Indian culture. Site is beautiful in a canyon that overlooks Monument Valley. There are trees that help to shade although the high canyon walls also block a lot of sun as well. Shuttle in the evening takes you up to the lodge. Tours available are also well worth the cost to get a good feeling for the area and cultures. Staff are Native Americans and all very friendly. Only complaint I would have is that the pool is indoor, (probably due to the desert fine red dust), and is more like a bath house, but our grandson didn't care. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Wonderful park in a spectacular setting. Well maintained facilities and efficient staff. The WiFi, which was $3.00, worked well for us. We used the nice indoor pool. The nearby Goulding's restaurant had good food and very efficient service during our visit. As mentioned in previous reviews, be aware that the grounds are fine red dirt. Be sure to wear old shoes because the soles of the shoes will stain. We enjoyed the two nearby hiking trails recommended by the manager. The sunrises and sunsets are to die for. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Nice park. Kind of dusty with red sand so be careful not to track it in to your rig. Wifi was not working when we were there so had to use the computer in the laundry room. Problem was young kids spending a lot of time surfing the internet. Had to tell them to get off. Tours are good but don't try the day long one unless you are really into Monument Valley. 3 hour tour is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Very nice facilities in historic trading post area with pull-through sites though they are a bit narrow and unpaved. Beautiful canyon setting with spectacular Monument Valley across the highway! Staff was courteous and competent; full grocery store nearby and nice indoor swimming pool. Wi-fi costs $3/day extra and was out for a several hours but then worked well. A bit pricey for what you get, but only other choice in this remote area is primitive so we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
This is the only campground in "town" now that the Native Americans are redoing theirs. The office/store staff were efficient and helpful. They arranged for us to have two WiFi access codes, $3 per day each, so we could each download over 300 messages. The campground has dirt roads and dirt sites and a great view of Monument Valley through a rock "Window." Sunrises would be great if you get up early enough. The pool is indoors, which in midsummer and mid-winter is great. I have been here in August and at 104 degrees the pool was enjoyable to watch the grand kids swim. The campground also arranges tours of Monument Valley and has a very nice museum at the Trading Post next to the Lodge. They also run a restaurant, gas station, grocery store and small airport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Gouldings campground is beautiful. The views are amazing. The Goulding tour bus conveniently picks up at the store next to the campground. We took the 3.5 hour tour and had an excellent time. Bring extra cash to tip as the area otherwise is not that commercial and they are trying to earn a living while maintaining and sharing traditions. The pool is indoor, clean, and great for the kids. We walked down to the restaurant and had an excellent meal. I had the traditional mini-taco on fry bread. It was fresh and delicious. We left for the Grand Canyon but wished we had spent more time here. We may return and do a longer or overnitght tour. There is red dirt. Just dont bring fancy white cotton shoes and you should be fine. Also, the laundry was nice and there is a PC in the laundry room. Enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
I read the reviews on this place and I don't get it. We love this place. It sets in a canyon between two huge rock spires. No, its not real fancy, but this place exudes the essence of Monument Valley and they show a free John Wayne movie every night. We will stay here again. There is no cell service but the WiFi works well. And make sure you take the drive thru the valley from the visitors center. Best thing going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Beautiful setting for somewhat mediocre RV park. Limited number of big-rig pull-through sites available so reserve ahead if you need one. Interior roads are paved but sites are dirt & gravel and not very level. Park very noisy one night as tenting area was occupied by large group of young people in a tour group. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Ya wanna go to Monument Valley, ya gotta stay at Gouldings. That is just the way it is. Gouldings is good but it may change. It was recently purchased by a larger company and you can already see the changes starting up. Tour operators (other than Gouldings) can't even pick you up or drop you off at your campsite anymore. They've been banned by the new parent company. What next? But it is a pretty campground, and it is the only game in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2004
$26
Offers a very close-up view of a long range vista. Staff was nice to us. All dirt sites, dusty at most times and mud if it rains. This is more than adequate for the time needed to visit Monument Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$27
Well, put me down as disappointed. This place has small sites, plain old dirty dirt, and trees that make pulling out of pull-thru's difficult for "Big Rigs." Staff was friendly. Narrow roads throughout. Lots of sites are not level. Other than that, it's all there is way out here in the "Boonies." If you want to spend some time around Monument Valley, this is where you have to stay (unless you want to drive for miles). Five is an accurate rating as far as I'm concerned. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
All of the above reviews are correct. Take the half day tour, it should be enough. Location is everything here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Generally a nice park. Most of the downsides already mentioned above. Many sites require extra leveling and are cozy for larger rigs. One of the biggest negatives is the road noise from reservation residents driving up and down the roadway outside the park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$32
May be our favorite campground of all time. The setting is spectacular, the staff friendly. Our pull-through site was very spacious. It rained a bit and the indoor pool was a blessing for the kids. A word of caution: Don't try to walk down the hill from the campground to the restaurant/museum. It's further than it looks and is not a good place to get caught in a downpour. The campground does offer a free shuttle service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
A well maintained campground overlooking a very special area. The park has a "window" with a vista of Monument Valley. You need to ask for a site with a view when making reservations as they will not let you pick a site after arrival. Campground does slope a bit, but leveling was not difficult at all. Nice store. Helpful and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Beautiful setting in heart of Monument Valley. Sites are just graded with no fill material such as gravel. It rained all night leaving a red sticky clay mud to walk on and track all over. Friendly staff. Would have been a lot nicer if it had not of rained. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
This park is located in a canyon that opens onto Monument Valley. At the lodge there is a store, gas station, car wash, and tours can be arranged. The RV park has a small store in the office along with showers, laundry, and swimming pool. The interior roads are blacktop with dirt pads that are 29x54 ft. Be prepared for wind that will move some dust around. We found this park well maintained by a friendly staff. Also we were picked by a tour bus in front of the RV park office for a Tour of Monument Valley. We camped 2 nights in June We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Was not really happy with this campground. The "pull through big rig site" required me to back out. Impossible to pull through because it was only about 15 feet to the side of the class A parked directly in front of me. The sites with 50 amp service are in the lower part of the campground and are quite narrow. Forget about your awning. Our site was nowhere near level. Took several blocks to approach level. Interior roads are more like foot paths. On the plus side the staff is very friendly. The facility is very clean. The area is beautiful. Over all it was an adequate stop, but did not live up to the review given previously. I was quite disappointed as I based going to this park on the review in this forum. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$24
A DEFINITE MUST STAY!! We stayed one night in this park which is in a beautiful area with some sites actually looking down into Monument Valley itself. (Site 54 is great as are some tent sites.) The people were helpful, the pool is inside and was clean, the sites were level, but the best was the 3-hour tour we took of Monument Valley itself...unbelievably beautiful. You can tour some of the valley yourself, but take the tour given by the Navajo Indians that goes into private areas where the public is not allowed. (The campground has the tours that seemed to be the best.) Make sure and take some dollar bills for "tip money" for some of the local Indians you will see demonstrating things on the way. We took the sunset tour which was wonderful. I would have liked to have spent another day going back into the valley on our own. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com