206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (435) 648-2800
CGID2987

Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   9   7   10   9   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Monday, April 29 – Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park, Utah This park is in the southwest section of Utah to the east of Zion and near Kanab. If you come out of route 9 heading east from Zion, you head south on 89 for about 4 miles than pick up route 43 for another 12 miles south. There are plenty of signs posted along the roads and the drive into the park is very nice. The park has juniper and pinion pines and steep red cliffs. Once you drive in and stop at the visitor center the ranger or hostess that checked us in was very nice and informative. The campground is just down the road and there are twenty two sites in one loop. No hookups, but water can be found at the dump station and bath house. The bath house is one of the best that we have seen in two months of traveling-very clean and updated. They do take reservations. If you don’t reserve you may have to check in every day to see if your site is still available. Our site was a nice pull through, level and shaded. What this park is known for is 1200 acres of pink sand dunes – beautiful. We even took the OHV tour offered in the parking lot through the sand dunes $$ with one other couple and a nice guide. It was a great time. I am glad we were there on a Monday, because on most weekends this park fills up with campers and day visitors, most with their own OHV’s and we heard the noise can be loud. Quiet hours start at 10 at night until 9 in the morning. When we left Zion, it was in the mid 90’s and I thought it would be unbearable here without hookups, but it wasn’t. It was cooler than Zion with a nice breeze blowing through all day. This was a one night stopover for us and we were so glad that we decided to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
The ride from Kenab to this park is one of the most beautiful I've driven. The park is a gem. The colors in the area are amazing. Sunset is the high-point of the experience. Trails over the dunes are good and there is an ATV trail network available. There is absolutely no communication available, but there is a pay phone at the Visitors Center. Staff was friendly. Restrooms/showers are new and great. The road into the area is narrow, but really worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Only two of the showers were functional which caused some wait times to get cleaned up. These are located at the dunes and so it would be difficult to keep sand out of the showers (bring shower sandals). Sites are large and provide much privacy compared to the cramped sites of the cookie cutter resorts. Note: there is one site near the bathroom with hookups. Much ORV traffic, but quiet hours were respected. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Very clean facilities, but would benefit from a camp host to enforce traffic, pet and quiet hour rules, especially on weekends when full of ATV's. Worth a visit to see the sand dunes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Unserviced "pull-off" sites in a beautiful location! Great if you want to motorbike or ATV in the dunes; otherwise rather noisy with all the off-road vehicles roaring through the campground. Try BLM Ponderosa Grove down the road if you want something quieter and cheaper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
We stumbled onto this park because it was in the right location for an overnight stay and discovered one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The pink sand dunes and cliff are fantastic. The park is spotless and all sites are pull-throughs. We even rearranged our schedule to stay an extra night and would love to come back for more hikes in the dunes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Beautiful park. Huge sites. Try for a site at the beginning or end of the loop--there is some road noise toward the back of the loop. All those diesel trucks pulling their OHVs, you know. But that's minor. Found the park to be very clean and well-kept. Can't beat the price, either. Walking trails on the dunes (with interpretive plaques) very nice. Nice picnic tables and fire rings. Great place for a dog, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
We don't have ATV"s, but we enjoyed our 1-night stay on our way to Bryce. The coral (pink) sand dunes are a sight to see. If you have ATV's, you should definitely put this campground on your list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
First off, if you don't like ATVs and/or off-highway vehicles this park is not for you; OHVs are allowed inside the park and traverse back and forth to the dunes within the campground. Positives are the park has strict quiet hours that are enforced, has spotless restrooms/showers, staff is very friendly, and has a new visitor center. If however, you're looking for the following you won't find them: hookups, cell phone coverage, and wide spots made for larger mohos and trailers. This campground was designed/built prior to the modern explosion in RVing i.e. tents and small RVs. I do not recommend anything over 30' total length, not saying it's impossible I just wouldn't recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1998
$13
The name aptly describes the color of the sand dunes surrounding the park. The dunes are formed from the wind erosion of the sand stone bluffs and mountains from as far away as 100 or more miles. As the wind blows it hits this valley and deposits the granuals. Over thousands of years those deposits have left some fantastic dunes. CG has level, paved sites with some pull throughs that may be accessable to larger RVs. A number of hiking trails lead to the dunes and a couple of interesting "Nature Walks". Showers are clean but expect sand deposits on the floors on a busy day. If one is so inclined, a consessionaire will take you for a ride in the dunes on a dune buggy or jump on your own buggy or motorcyle and challenge the sand yourself. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com