219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Watchman Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 84 user reviews. Phone: (435) 772-3837
CGID3001

Watchman Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   10   10   7   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$9
I rated this a "7" because I expect a perfect campground for a "10". This has no pads, patios, it's dusty. That said, it is in the perfect location, and, well-priced. We come here every time we are near. Don't be put off if online they say there are no sites available. We called the www.recreation.gov site and got a site for a day later due to their requirement for a one-day advance notice. We came anyway and found a note on the entrance gate that there was a site open in Watchman, and we got it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Nice NP campground – sites were far apart, with substantial foliage between each site to give privacy (we stayed at site B37). Road and site is paved. 30 amp power is available at each site. We tried to run the AC (it was 100 degrees in the afternoon in June) and our electric water heater simultaneously and blew the main circuit breaker in a panel not accessible to us – but a park volunteer reset the breaker. We switched to gas for the water heater and refrigerator and everything worked fine. Note that our AC lost ground over the afternoon - even starting it in the morning. Initially the RV was cooled down to 76 degrees, but it gradually crept up to 82 degrees by the evening because of the 100 degree heat. Your results may differ (our rig is 10 years old). Of course Wi-Fi is not available in the campground – it is also not offered in the Zion Visitor Center (some National Park Visitor centers offer this). AT&T cell voice connection is very weak – 1 bar or so. Various cell data symbols show up (E, G, 3G, 4G) from time-to-time, but I was never able to get data through any of these connections. The Brew Pub just outside the entrance to the park offers Wi-Fi. You can also ask the market next door how to get onto their Wi-Fi. If you plan to hike the Narrows, we recommend that you rent a set of canyoneering shoes, neopreme booties and a walking stick. We rented from the outfit just past the bridge into Springdale (next to the BrewPub) for $23. Other outfitters are available in Springdale and may be cheaper - we didn't check. Many people do the hike/wade in normal shoes/boots – but the rentals keep your feet warm and give you better footing. We hiked a little over two miles up the Narrows (three miles from the Temple of Sinawava shuttle stop). Dump station is convenient on the way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
The sites are large and most are shaded. The bathrooms in the 'B' loop have been newly renovated and are nice and clean. The river was nice and clear and the water cool and refreshing. By the end of July it can get a bit muddy when the thunderstorms bring in the red silt. The only real negative is the lack of showers. After several days of hiking in near 100 degree temperature a shower is almost a necessity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$9
This campground inside Zion NP is clean and neat, with spacious level sites including a table and fire pit. We were happy we had reserved a spot because the campground was full the entire time we were here. There are some walk-in sites available, but they go early in the morning. Watchman is an easy stroll to the Visitor Center where you catch a shuttle to all stops up the canyon. What a great way to manage a very busy park. We hiked, we enjoyed the river that flows right by the campground, and we made a day trip to Bryce Canyon. It was so nice to be able to have a real campfire at night. The campground was quiet and the restrooms were very clean. There are no showers, but there is plenty of water available at several sites inside the campground. For a National Park, we were surprised how many long level sites there were to accommodate big rigs, in the A Loop, but the other loops didn't have so many. Ranger programs were available and interesting, and rangers were present and helpful throughout the park. There are several easy hikes, and lots of wildlife to observe, often up close. We would definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
We stayed in the Watchman Campground 5 nights. We had a spacious, level site for our 30 foot RV. A sanitation station with water and a dump is at the entrance to the campground and is easy to access when checking in or out. Sites include electric hook ups. Dogs are welcome and must be on a leash at all times. Dogs are only allowed on the roads or on the Pa'rus trail. Dog boarding for overnight or just for the day is available at the Doggie Dude Ranch in Rockville (only about a 5 minute drive from the campground). Our dog loves it there during the day while we enjoy hiking the trails. The park in Springdale has a dog park across the river, too. Springdale is a full service community with lots of good restaurants within walking distance from the campground. Park Service employees were very friendly and helpful. Well worth $19 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We had a riverfront site the first three nights, then a standard site for two more nights. Very clean campground and restrooms. Fire rings in each site. Most sites have shrubbery between them to offer some privacy. Easy walk to the Visitor Center, which is also stopping point for the in-park shuttle buses. In-town shuttle buses can be boarded just across the Virgin River pedestrian bridge adjacent to the Visitor Center. The only word of caution would be about low hanging branches in some of the sites. We were told the park's goal is to keep branches trimmed to about 12' above the ground, but some of the sites did not look like they fully meet that goal. Our coach is 12'-10" high so we pay close attention to height restrictions (so, no, we did not enter the park from the east via the tunnel!). There is a water fill and dump station after passing through the gate but before entering the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$9
I agree with the previous reviewer - as a CAMPSITE I would say it is just so-so. Some sites are level, some are not. Electric hookup only, and while the sites aren't terribly close to one another, neither are they as spaced as you will find in many BLM or NFS campgrounds. But as a PARK, Zion is certainly hard to beat, and the free shuttle (a 5-minute walk from our campsite) makes it very easy to reach the various hiking trails and scenic vistas in the park. If you enter or leave the park from the east, you will also encounter a $15 tunnel access fee, which covers 2 trips through the tunnel. And there is also a park entrance fee unless you have one of the various national park service passes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
I can't really disagree with the other prior reviews. BUT, here is my take: Ok semi-primitive campsites. A little grass around, mature trees, next to visitor center, just a couple of minutes from Springdale. Sites separated ok but not really private. Dry and a bit dusty this time of year. Compared to other campgrounds I have rated a "10", this is not a "10". Our Verizon phone and hot spot worked great here. Rate was with a Golden Age Passport. (What comes after "Golden"?) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
Wonderful campground at the base of The Watchman mountain in Zion National Park. Large back-in, level sites. The campground was full, yet did not feel crowded. The restrooms are all recently built and perfectly clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Staying in Zion NP relieves the need for a transfer between the Springdale shuttle and the Park shuttle. The location made our visit to Zion extremely easy and hassle-free. Price reflect Golden Age Passport rate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
We stayed in the A loop and our site was quite large with vegetation between our site and the others so somewhat semi-private. The location of this campground is fantastic with 360 degree mountain views. The campground was full but Zion NP was not that busy. It's close to the Visitor's Center and the shuttle bus stop that takes you to all the great trail heads. There is also a nice 3.5 mile round-trip paved bike trail nearby. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Zion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Friday, Saturday, Sunday – April 26,27 & 28 Watchman Campground, Zion National Park, Utah This is one of two campgrounds at the southwest entrance to Zion National Park and the only one with electric (no water only at the dump station). Watchman Campground is now reservations only. All campgrounds were full when we arrived at 11am so we were glad that we had reserved an electric site in the B Loop right next to the river. Our site did not have shade but it still was quite comfortable even with the temperature hitting 90 degrees and the river for swimming was about 5 yards away. The A and B loops bath houses were upgraded just a few years ago so they were nice and clean. There are over 61 sites in this campground laid out in A-E loops and another walk in tent loop. Some sites are private and others are right next to each other but just being in the park within walking distance to the river, visitor center, shuttles, amphitheater and the shuttle for Springdale was great. The last time we were here we had to drive our RV down in the valley and it was bumper to bumper and hard to find a place to park our camper. Now there are shuttles that start at 5:30 in the morning until after 8 or 9 at night. They come every 8 minutes and it made our stay here so much better than last time. You can get on and off at all the stops for hikes, walks and ranger talks. I have always loved Zion National Park and it still is my favorite canyon to visit with the rocks, mountains and the beautiful Virgin River flowing through it. Entrance Fee is $25 for seven days,but with a pass it was free and the cost per night camping was $10 with the pass. We only stayed three days but should have stopped here for at least a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Love this campground. Beautiful views, easy access, right by the visitor's center, modern restrooms and power! One of our favorite campgrounds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$9
This was one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. The large spaces can accommodate a tent, the scenery is spectacular, the restrooms are new and kept very clean, nice fire pits and the campground staff is helpful and courteous. We stayed in B38 and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$9
The plus is location! Convenient for visiting the NP. Some narrow asphalt paved roads, but in poor state of repair. Sites are dirty and dusty plus lots of ants. Brush, weeds, and tree limbs not removed or pruned to extent that RVs can be scratched. Access to dump station and fresh water is "one way" with no convenient turnaround area for motor homes. This park suffers from neglect and lack of grounds maintenance. We will not return, but will stay in one of the much better privately run RV parks that require a short drive to the NP. We departed early, but because of the circumstances, the unused days paid were refunded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$9
We were in site B09 in a motorhome. New restroom facilities were being constructed across the road from our site. With the traffic raising dust in the construction area, contractors radio blaring all day, saws, hammers, etc. it was not a quiet area. Only restroom available was in A loop since both in B loop were under construction. Campground full for all six days here so we couldn't change sites. While the scenery was beautiful, this was one of the worst National Parks campgrounds we have visited. But you get what you pay for, I suppose ($9). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
The sites are nice, level, and large. Even the back-ins have lots of room. Stay in A-loop which is the closest to the visitor center. The new bathrooms are very nice but still lacking showers. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Watchman Campground is a large national park campground. Some sites have 30 amp electricity with water nearby. There are no full hookup sites. Many of the sites are on the water and you can select particular sites when you book online. Reservations are a must as the campground is generally full. There is another campground in the park (South Campground) which doesn’t take reservations but is often full during peak season. Watchman has lots of shade and spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. It’s convenient to the Visitor’s Center and the shuttle buses that run up the canyon. There is a nightly Ranger Talk at the amphitheater on a range of topics such as CCC Workers in the Park, California Condors, and Star Watching at Zion. It’s a great campground at a great park! There is no Wi-Fi at the campground but the 3G signal was strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
This was our first night of camping in USA and we thought the site was terrific. Nice welcome, shady, quiet, scenic, sheltered, handy for village, and buses into Zion NP. We'd pre-booked it, which was just as well, since it was full. Amazing good value at $18 per night. We never had it so good in the 40 other nights that followed. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$9
Excellent sites, private with plenty of room. Wonderful views, Restrooms were immaculate. Walking distance to Visitor Center for shuttle. TV available with antenna. Good AT&T and Verizon reception. Rate reflects senior discount. Definitely the best spot we stayed in for location. No showers on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Beautiful park. The sites were well set up with areas for your tent or whatever and an area for table, fire pit etc. Loved the shuttle, and hiking was terrific. I hope to be able to return again. We had a great time. Would have given a 10 if showers were available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Stayed in B25 which was level; some were not! Great location and views. Did not have to disconnect. Only shuttles are allowed on the road in the park. Fire pit on site. Electric only. Would stay here again. Reserve early or you will miss out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$9
We camped for the first time over Thanksgiving holiday. Met family for dinner at the lodge and stayed at Watchmen rather than pay the $200 a night at the lodge. Our rate reflects a Senior Pass. Great campground with 50 amp hookups. No water or sewer but we can boondock it for 10 or more days on one tank of water. Quiet, clean and the host kept everything in order. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
Great campground with big sites, privacy, and beautiful views. Shuttle very convenient at the nearby visitor center. Our back-in site was angled perfectly for our 35' fifth wheel. Love the park & love the campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
This was such a beautiful campground. Large private sites, electric available, clean restrooms and a dramatic view of the canyon walls from your campsite! We were able to use Verizon cell phones and internet. We only stayed one night as we didn't make reservations. We wish that the park put the tenters in the non-electric sections, didn't see any of them using electric, but we did need it. No showers and a dump station is typical of national parks, no problem. Everything looked well maintained. Make reservations! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Pleasantly surprised by the amount of shade and trees. I was afraid that the only campground with hook-ups in Zion or Bryce would just be a parking lot, but the campground was beautiful. The river that runs through the campground was a wonderful place to cool off and I would highly recommend this area for campers with children. Floating on the river is a great place to relax after touring the park! The shuttle comes to the visitor center within an easy walk of the campground, so there is no need to move your camper once you park. No showers, as is the norm for national parks, but we had no problems with electrical hookups. Attended ranger talk at night and that was very interesting, too. I do recommend that you make reservations, though. The park was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Given the location and scenery we loved it here. They have rebuilt the bathrooms in loop A & B, they are nice and clean so far, I hope our fellow campers keep them that way. Campground was full all three nights we were there in the middle of an August heatwave and didn't have any power issues (30 Amp service). Place is pretty booked up through Thanksgiving, and we felt lucky to have been able to stay there this summer even with the heat. No showers, but that's part of why we have the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$9
We stayed in Loop A, site 022. Rate reflects our senior discount. Sorry for prior person's experience. Ours was good. We had 30 amp service and ran AC most of the day (96 degree days) and evening with no problems at any time. Restrooms are all new in the "A" loop. As with most national forest campgrounds there are no showers available. Dump station was clean and checked by the rangers. Rangers were great. Zion is a WOW place. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Electricity only sites. Sites are fairly large but little shade. They had just opened up new toilet facilities when we were there. Had bathrooms and a place to wash dishes. No showers. Were I going back to Zion, I'd probably check out campgrounds in Springdale (just a mile down the road). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We were in site B034 in a motor coach. The outdated 30 amp service kept popping the breaker at the main service box even when we only ran one air conditioner and the host had to reset it. After the 3rd time, we gave up. The temperature ranged from 100 - 107 so we had to open the windows to survive. With the traffic going well above the speed limit, dust came through the windows constantly. Children were playing where we had to get water. People were walking their dogs and not picking up after them. The only good thing was that they opened a new restroom so that we didn't have to go to the old one which was filthy. While the scenery was beautiful, this was one of the worst maintained Nat. Parks we have been too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Great campground. This was our second trip to Zion. Sites are great, some backed to the Virgin river, all with great views. It does look like restrooms with showers are being built, which will make this park a "10". Get there early in the summer, we came in August 2005 and fire pits were closed. The only draw back this year was the closure of the Narrows due to water volume as the hike is a must do for all. If you have time check out town just outside the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We wanted to be in the National Park of Zion so we chose to stay at the Watchman Campground. Sites are spaced nicely but it was very hot this June and no shade. We were in loop A, Site 7. We actually walked around to see if there were any sites with shade and we saw only one, that was site 5 (next to us) and it was only in the corner. The park has just finished brand new restrooms and they opened while we were here. Very nice but I did not see any showers. We had a spot on the Virgin river but you cannot see the river from the sites. Nice park for the price and convenience. Free shuttles are right next door and they will take you anywhere in the park. We will camp here again but in a cooler month. No cell phone service in the site we were in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
This is a very nice campground with 50 amp service. They are remodeling the bathrooms this summer. There are no showers available. The campground is very convenient to the visitors center, where you catch the shuttle up the canyon or into town, so no need to drive once you're parked. We stayed in a pull through site B22 that had a nice view from the front porch. Do not leave any food outside and make sure your coolers are secured. The squirrels WILL get into it & your tent! Be sure to fill with water prior to parking. Dump station is to the left of check-in booth and is a two way station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
We camped at Watchman for four nights while touring Zion National Park. Entering from the east, we purchased the $15 oversize vehicle permit for passage through the tunnel. At the tunnel, traffic is stopped to allow oversize vehicles to drive down the center of the tunnel. Check-in at Watchman was quick and easy. Water was available at the dump station to fill tanks. No water is provided at individual sites in the campground. Restrooms are the Park Service standard design and were clean. There are no showers. Roads in the campground are paved, while campsites are gravel/dirt. Our site, #B032, was large and had beautiful views. However, an infestation of tent caterpillars was at its peak and they were crawling everywhere. Watchman Campground is adjacent to the Zion Visitor Center, and it is just a short walk to access the shuttle buses to ride up the Scenic Drive or into town. There is no WiFi in the campground, so we used the facilities at the Springdale library to check mail. While at Zion, it is worthwhile to take the short ride up I-15 to see the Kolob Canyons. Watchman campground is very busy and reservations are necessary. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Overall, this is a nice campground with minimal services for the RV. I would stay there again. We actually enjoyed South Campground at Zion much better. But it is first come, first served and does not offer power. I like the ability to know I have a spot when reserving a site at Watchman. Some of the positives of this campground were the pure beauty of the surrounding cliffs and the river itself. We stayed in B048R, right on the river. It is a small site but large compared to other campgrounds. This site had trees and shade. On the negative side, tent campers were taking the RV pull through sites, which were quite a bit bigger. And in spring, when we stayed, there is an invasion of caterpillars that devour all the leaves, resulting in a complete mess including a constant rain of caterpillar droppings so intense one could not eat outside. The river was also flowing very strongly and was quite loud (this can be good or bad, depending on your taste). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
This is probably one of the most beautiful spots in the US that we have had the opportunity to visit. We stayed in the no hook up campground our first night for 16 dollars, and then in the electric only campground for 5 nights at 18 dollars a night. It was definitely worth it. Even though it snowed, we loved the place and will go back. I have a Nanostation Wi-Fi antenna and was able to pick up Wi-Fi once in a while!! Loved this place We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
Location, location, location. This campground has it. We stayed here a week and enjoyed every minute. The shuttle, the visitor center and the town are all nearby and in walking distance. Many sights have trees and greenery growing around them. The park service has roped much of this greenery off in an attempt to get it to grow lusher but we saw lots of campers walking over this roping. Our site was level, had a picnic table and was big enough for our 35' rig. Camping inside a National Park is a magical experience: we watched the rising sun move down the mountains on our West and the shadows of the setting sun creep up Watchman, the mountain on our East. Can anything be better? The tunnel and the construction on route 9 coming into the park from the East make driving a sticky wicket. We would not feel comfortable driving anything larger than a 35' rig in to the park from this direction. In fact, we left the Park to the south and curled under to get to Page. Much more relaxing drive this way during the construction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The narrow campground road and sites have not been updated in many years and many sites are uneven, some even with potholes. Some sites have shade and some very hot in summer in the 100 degree range. There is a dump station with water fill. There are no water hookups and the electric is 30amp. There are no showers. Reservations are a must. Our 40' motorhome and Jeep fit fine but many sites are much smaller. The other campground in in the park is South Campground and the sites are not good for big rigs. There are many overhanging trees. South Campground has no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Nice campground overall. Located close to the visitor center and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Stayed here for 3 nights. Dump station and fresh water available. Campground very close to visitor center where the shuttle picks you up to take you to the trailheads. Campground close to market and restaurants. Nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We were very satisfied with camping at Watchman. Very private sites, fairly level. Be sure to fill your water tank on the way in. At the time of our visit, the road from the tunnel to the Visitor's Center was horrible (10 mph max)! I expect that within a few weeks, re-paving will fix that. The tunnel itself was a fun experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We love Zion NP and have stayed at Watchman several times. The sites are large, even the back ins. The only negatives are a lack of water hookups and no showers. Which after a day spent hiking in 100 degree temps is an issue. There is the river. Tubing is fun and you can rent or buy in the town of Springdale, which is right at the park entrance. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
Great campground, we had a pull through near river. The only downside is arriving from the East, thru the tunnel, we had to remove tow car to get through switchbacks. We took alternate route to the West on departure. There are no water hookups but you can fill rig at dump station at entrance. We stayed three nights. You can walk to Visitors Center, Springdale town from campground. Ranger talks were informative and fun. Verizon Mi-Fi worked great. Favorite campground and National Park on our two week trip through Utah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
A very nice park, as many in Utah are. The road in is paved, the sites are dirt. The electric at the sites works well, no water or sewer at the site though. The biggest negative with the park would be the dump station. There are two dumping spots, but the drains are only in the middle of the two sites. Therefore you would have to reverse direction to effectively dump two units at one time. There are no signs to indicate this so in the busy morning hours when several people are trying to dump there can be confusion. Patience is a virtue here. Ranger programs were offered every night; some were better than others. Still a nice effort by the staff. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
This park is beautiful! I reserved online months before to get a site large enough to accommodate our motorhome, and it was wonderful. The red rock scenery is awesome and there is a nice walk along the river to walk pets. You can walk to Sprindale via this walkway also. Nice to have electric for the warm days and cool evenings. Hubby used the bathroom once and said it was clean but lacked hand soap, warm water or hand blower to clean hands. We entered the park via the East Entrance and had to disconnect car from motorhome to handle the switchbacks. If you are unable to disconnect you will have to use South Entry. We loved our stay and would camp here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Beautiful campground located near the main visitor center. The campground is well laid out and for the time of year, was very comfortable. The temps were 80's during the day and 50's at night, much better than the higher elevations all around the area. As noted by others, there are no showers in the campground. You must travel into Springdale which is just across the river and accessible by free bus service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
We spent Christmas Eve here and it was spectacular winter camping. The ground around the campsite did get pretty muddy and sticky as the day warmed up, but at night and in the morning, all the mud is frozen! We had a beautiful spot under the Watchman peak and near the Virgin River, and were able to get AT&T cellular and data as well as a clean Directv satellite signal. 30amp power is provided but no other hookups. Dump station and fresh water are at the campground entrance. Zion was amazing to see in the snow! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$9
After dealing with the private campground in Springdale, we were most please with the facilities at Watchman. Sure, you only have electric but that is all we really need. There are no showers in the campground so you need to shower in your RV (though several private places in Springdale advertise showers for a fee, none were open on Sunday November 1st or, in the case of Zion Canyon RV Park, were closed for the season. Being in a national park, Wi-Fi is also not on the menu but you can get internet access at a decent speed if you have a Verizon data plan (I don't know if ATT serves this area). For the location and price, you can't beat Watchman Campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
We only had one night at this campground, but I wish we had stayed here a few more nights. We had the greatest site right on the river and the views were spectacular. You walk just a little way from the campground to get on a bus and tour Zion National Park. What a gorgeous place. There were kids playing in the river and the whole atmosphere was joyful, relaxing and family oriented. Very clean and very nice place to camp. We will definitely try to get back to this campground and stay a few days next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
In a nutshell...Large sites, clean restrooms, convenient to visitor center and shuttle systems. Park-it and forget it. Huge, huge sites with electric. A convenient dual dump and water station at the entrance to the campgrounds. Clean flush toilets in the rest rooms. The best thing about this campground is the location in the Park. It is just behind the Visitor Center and you can park it and forget it for the length of your stay. An easy walk to the park free shuttle system, and the town of Springdale shuttle system. The shuttles run til late in the evening so you can ride them to dinner in town with plenty of time to shop and get back. Ranger led talks at night in the amphitheater. All of the National Park goodies. There is a very nice market near the boarding area for the town shuttle, only a short walk from the campgrounds. Because of the small diameter of the tunnel leading into the park from the East, all RV's are charged a $15 fee for 2 passages through the tunnel. They make it a one way road and you drive down the middle of the mile long tunnel. We paid $9 a night for camping; half price for seniors with Parks card. We used the reservation system to book in advance. You will love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
We love Zion and this campground is no exception. Plenty of space between sites and most have at least partial shade. We stayed a week and used a blue tote to empty gray water conveniently at every restroom. Hosts were efficient and friendly. It was great to have electricity for air conditioning as it got into the 100 degree range a couple of times: even in September. Site was level and spacious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
A beautiful setting inside Zion NP. Very hot in August (no surprise there). Nearby river was great for the family to play in and cool off. Access to the shuttle was nearby so we could see the park without moving the RV. Best place we stayed in our entire cross country trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We stayed here in a 31-foot class C motor home and a separate full size SUV (both fit in the site). Absolutely amazing! Incredible scenery. For electrical hookup the sites were especially beautiful. We needed the air conditioning. The spots are spread apart nicely with foliage in between. You feel like you are in a national park! Staff rangers were incredibly kind and helpful. Deer were strolling through the campground. Make sure you bring your inner tubes! If you bring the ones used for water sports they are a little too big, but they work. Tell the kids to get out at the bridge by the Best Western. You can go pick them up or they can take the shuttle back to the visitor's center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This has to be the most beautiful park we've ever stayed at. We had site A19 which was very shady - so a nice site in the summer. There were lots of pretty flowers and big trees - just lovely surroundings. One of the best things about this campground is it's proximity to the visitor center and shuttle. To have the convenience lumped into the serenity is quite a unique experience. We had some bad luck and there was a power outage in Springdale Virgin (I think due to a fire) so we were without AC for a while. Yikes! We took a dip in the river (which wasn't that pleasant due to lots of little bugs) and when we returned to our trailer it was back on. Not sure you could stay here for more than a few days because of the lack of water and sewer, but a lot of people could make it work, I suppose. This is one of those special places we will have to visit again before we visit that big campground in the sky! Such a great treat! Remember to reserve early. I think everyone else feels the same way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This National Park campground has unfortunately become a police zone in one of the most beautiful settings in the southwest. The camp hosts, instead of welcoming you to the park, patrol with a clipboard writing down "violations" and then dispatch Armed Police Patrol Cars to each site to force compliance. Sirens can be heard throughout the day as well as police lights at night. The "violations" include - washing hands or brushing teeth in campsite, stepping on vegetation, hanging trash bag, tying up a closeline to trees, along with a myriad of other normal camping functions. We were forced to move our tent on the last night after being at the campground for 1.5 days and receiving an OK from the hosts. An armed police officer came into our campsite with a mandate as our families were sitting down to dinner and night was falling. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, this is not it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
Our site inside this National Park was the most beautiful site we ever had, with wonderful views and near total privacy. The Virgin River offered a useful alternative to no showers. Drinking water readily available. Visitor Center within easy walking distance; free shuttle service inside National Park as well as into adjoining town of Springdale. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
I rate this a typical NPS campground except for the electricity. Sites were adequate but not private. There's lots of dirt and dust. Those are the negatives. There are beautiful views from campground. The staff was wonderful. There's plenty to do in a lot of different directions. Restrooms were very clean, considering the use they received. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$9
Very pretty, good-sized site; deer came to nibble on the shrubs in the evening. Convenient to the visitor's center and shuttle bus. But there are NO showers in the park, so be prepared to use your own. There is electricity at the site, but for water you've got to go over to the dump station and fill up your tank. Rate is half-price senior rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
What can you say about Zion Watchman that hasn't been said 100 times before? It is in a glorious setting smack dab in Zion National Park. It has the worn and comfy feeling that makes it easy to relax and soak in the views or walk to the river or the nearby town of Springdale. Deer frequent the campsites. Only electric hookups, but a convenient dump station is at the entrance, and the rest rooms are clean. But most of all is the pleasure of being in this very pretty park. A tip: if you don't get a river site, try the B Loop and if by chance you get site B31 you'll have an unobstructed red rock view right from your front door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
The location makes this campground great. It's at the base of the Zion Park Canyon, and the view surrounding you is stunning. However, you do sacrifice some amenities - Electric only hook-up, no water or dumping hookup at the campsite. There is a dump and drinking water station at the park entrance - so this is only a small inconvenience. We camped in a 28' RV (first time renting), and reserved a pull through site, but was given a site that required backing into. This was not a problem - the sites are plenty big. The rest rooms were relatively clean, but no soap or blowers to dry your hands - you had to bring your own soap and towel. There are no showers available at the campground, but there are some in town for a fee - this is a big inconvenience - so plan accordingly! We were in Loop B, and the walk to the front visitor center for catching the shuttle was very short. I overall loved having access to the the town and Zion park via the shuttle. Our overall experience was very good, and we would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Stayed in the Watchman Campground for 4 nights and loved it. A very comfortable size campsite, everyone is not jammed together. I had water, bathroom and trash within 100' of me. The only downfall is that there's no water or sewer hookups, but a dump station is nearby. I would stay here again in a heart beat, park staff was great. One complaint is people who bring dogs and let them bark non-stop! Park is strict about animals and will deal with any non-behaving animal. I love it and the campsite! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Stayed for a week. No pole lights to block out the stars. The trees in the park provide enough shade that the air conditioner is only needed in the hot part of the day. This is a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$9
I have rated this park lower than I might have primarily because of the problems we had with their reservation system. We first called in early May asking for 5 nights immediately after after Memorial Day. We were told that Watchman was "fully booked," every site, for EVERY day between Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day. We accepted this at first, but then thought about what we were being told, and called again. This time, the reservation service admitted that there were "some" days during the summer when the park had vacancies, but that the two weeks after Memorial Day were "fully booked." So we made reservations at a private park in nearby Glendale and drove over to Watchman on the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend and drove through the park. Little departure date slips were posted at each site. Sure enough, nearly everyone was leaving on Memorial Day or the day after. So we went on-line, confirming that many sites were indeed available during the week we wanted. So we called reservations again. We BATTLED (!!!) our way through to a supervisor, who confirmed that there were sites available during our week and reserved one for us. Although asked, she could not explain why her staff basically lied to us on the two previous phone calls. In fact, the electric sites at the park were not full during our entire stay here. And this is how our tax dollars are being spent? And I say this as someone who made a major $$$$$ donation to the National Park System last February. The park is beautiful. And we had a great stay. Good luck with the reservation system. Don't placidly accept their "No-room-in-the-inn" scenario. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
Golden Age rate. It just doesn't get any better than this. Even without the electric I would still give it a 10. Incredible views in every direction. We spent 5 nights and loved it. This park in the opposite of the Grand Canyon or Bryce Canyon. Here you are down by the river and look up at everything, versus being on top and looking down or into the canyon. We took a day trip to Bryce Canyon, appx. two hours. It was a good 30 degrees colder at Bryce than at Zion that day. You go from 3950 elevation up to over 9000 so it is a big difference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
This campground in Zion National Park is really nice for a park service campground. The sites were big, we didn't feel cramped at all. We paid $24 per night with electric, and could walk to the visitor center and shuttle. There are 2 dump stations so there was minimal waiting. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Zion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
The roads in the park are good, and the interior roads in the campground were wide enough for big rigs. We had a 50 amp site, but most sites are 30 amp. The scenery is, of course, magnificent, with plenty of hiking trails for all levels of hikers. The campsites themselves were level and large enough for any rig, but you can see dozens of other sites from wherever you park. The weather in early April was wonderful, but it gets extremely hot in the summer. The central water and dump stations were roomy and well maintained. No showers in the park; you have to go to town for showers and laundry. Shuttle buses run all day throughout the park. What a great place for $18/night. Next year I'll be 62 and can stay there for $9/night on the federal "Senior Pass", formerly the "Golden Age" pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Great location, right on the Virgin River with majestic views all around. Shaded. Bathrooms only have toilets and sinks. Great place to have a campfire. Some low-hanging trees. Little TV and radio service available. Walk to Zion shuttle, deli and convenience store. Loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$9
Spent the first night in A7 on the river. This was right across from the gravel/cement plant and was noisy till 7pm when they finally quit work. It was quite dusty as there has been little rain/snow. The weather is great for late march. We would recommend staying away from the low numbers in the "A" loop due to the noise. We moved the next morning. The site was level and deep, but very difficult to back into due to several large rocks. As it was the week following Easter the park was crowded and there were few if any ranger led "activities" such as talks, hikes, or children's special events. The park is magnificent and despite the limitations listed above, a great place to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Camping here in winter is the best bet! We had the CG almost to ourselves for the 6 nights we were here. The "B" loop is the only one open in winter. We were towards the end (B-50) in a pull through (banana shape) right on the river. The ONLY drawback was the gravel yard across the river on private property. The sound of cement trucks loading and churring sort of spoiled the tranquility (but it wasn't all the time). The Park was completely uncrowded and it was fun getting to go through the tunnel all by ourselves (due to our dually's width). There are water spigots throughout the park and some sites are close enough you could fill your tanks without moving (spot B-44 was one of these). The sites are fairly level and the park is very well maintained. The CG host was very nice and helpful. We are 56' long when towing our 42' trailer and were able to get around okay in the CG. We highly recommend this park, especially during the off season! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
The scenery between the mountains are very beautiful and we enjoyed our stay in this campground. The sites big and we had enough space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$9
Although most reviewers have mentioned the shuttles, it should be emphasized that this park is perfect for RVers without a "tow", as the shuttles take you not only throughout the park but into the small town nearby. Even without showers, the price can't be beat! Plan a two-night stay to fully enjoy the park's walks and scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$9
Nice campground but with very limited amenities. Bathrooms have no lights and of course no showers or even soap. Loop A is very close to the shuttles and to the grocery store & visitors center. Site was very large and close to level with a barbecue pit and table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Nice campground, but our site was a pretty long walk to the shuttle area. We were thankful for the electric hookups for our air conditioner - temps were over 95. We would stay here again to explore the park more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Staying at Watchman was the highlight of our two week trip! The kids loved playing in the nearby Virgin River and the view of the Watchman was spectacular! The campground is walking distance from the best grocery store in town. It is also walking distance from the visitor's center and central shuttle pick up/drop off area. We stayed in site A8 and the site was spacious and level, but offered little shade. Can't wait to go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
In our opinion this is the best place to stay to explore the park. The sites have electric only but there is a dump station and fresh water close by. It is a short walk to the visitor center and the shuttle buses. The park is great from hiking for all fitness levels. The site we had was a horse shoe shaped pull through. Plenty of space between the sites. A great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$9
We had site B60 with no water but 30 amp electric. The site was a a little sloped from side to side but fine for our 30 ft class A with some shade, no one behind us and decent spacing from our neighbors. We loved the site and the park, our nightly rate reflects the the Interagency Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$9
This is a great National Park campground where you can experience nature at its finest. The park is quiet with lots of space between sites. Even though it was the off season, the campground completely filled by Thursday afternoon, so plan accordingly. Zion is scenic and beautiful and should not be missed. We will be back often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Site #B14 30 amp electric only but we were thrilled to have electric in a national park campground. Loved the location so close to the visitor center and shuttle stops as well as some restaurants and stores just outside the park. We have a 30 ft class A. Everything was great, wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$9
Typical for a national park campground. Very busy park even at the end of the season (October). Park could use some maintenance with the roads and sites as many had large mudholes since it had just rained and mgmt could care less. Has nice dump station with fresh water also to fill tanks. Rate was for Golden age pass otherwise $18 night. Shuttle buses run until end of October then you can drive your car anywhere into park. Zion is a great place to visit, spent 3 days there hiking and touring the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Stunning scenery. Professional, courtious staff. Wide, private sites. This is a great campground. There are no showers, and as new campers, this was a challenge for us, but we survived. The river sites are nice, but don't sweat it if you're not on the river. We were next to the restrooms and the dumpster and it was still a great camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$9
A beautiful setting! Large, level campsites with table and fire ring. Lots of trees (cottonwoods). shuttle bus stop at visitor center within easy walking distance. Only drawback -- no water hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
This gampground is still one of the best in the NPS system. Great scenery, generally level and well separated sites, and walking access to the shuttle. One change occuring is that many of the mature cottonwood trees in the CG loops are being removed. In some areas shade will be at a premium for years to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
OK, this is now on my all time favorite list. Beautiful large sites in wonderful zion. Only potential negative is lack of both hookups and showers. Was well worth the effort of using the tote tank for grey water. Stayed here for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
Typical National Park camp. Great views in a fun setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
This is a wonderful campground - the only reason it did not get a "9" or "10" is because there are no showers in the park. The sites are well spaced; the sites along the river are shaded and roomy - there are some sites in full sun, so ask for a site by the river. The views are spectacular, and it's only a short walk to the Visitor Center and the shuttle. The electric hookups also help by eliminating generator noise, so all you hear is the wind and the river. Loved it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com