218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Running Bear Camping Area was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (802) 674-6417
CGID3003

Running Bear Camping Area

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   2   10   1   7   8   2   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Nice location. There is a very steep driveway to get up but other then that it is okay to get through. Road is a bit bumpy but not bad. Had a big pull thru. Lots of seasonal people, but all very friendly. Well worth the stay. Nice area well worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
There is a rather steep hill to climb to get to the office and another one to get to the campsites. After backing into our site, we decided we were not at all happy with this park so we pulled out and left. Even though other reviews indicate there is cable, the only cable TV you can get is if you contact the cable company and set it up for yourself. We could not get satellite reception either, but the road noise is the reason we left. Most of the short term sites back up to the interstate with only a narrow line of trees separating you. We really hate campgrounds with loud road noise. The exit road had a couple of narrow turns and the campgrounds look like they could have been better maintained. When we left, we were told that we would be charged for one night. That's OK with us and worth the extra money for peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
I have stayed at Running Bear many times over the past few years and let me tell you, this campground is by far the most exciting campground I've ever been to. Weekends are always filled with activities for my kids and myself alike. I have seen many live bands at the campground along with a hypnotist just a few weeks back. My kids especially love the snack shack, which serves cotton candy, popcorn, and fried dough. The owners are both very nice people and have worked magic on this campground. As for the comment below, the so called "waste wagon" is actually a brand new Phelps Honey Wagon which is used to pump RV campers not on full hook-up sites who stay for longer periods of time. Far more expensive and sanitary than the "vat" described below. This is a common practice at many campgrounds and is actually very convenient for people who can not manage to score a full hook-up site at a great campground. Trash was far from strewn across the campground, and if the flies are a problem, then you are probably in the dumpster yourself. The 5$ visitors fee is well worth it for a days worth of nonstop fun and entertainment. The live entertainment is far more than last explained. This campground has brought in many different live bands, including Nashville recording artist Tammy Jackson. The DJ is also very entertaining, taking requests while playing a wide variety of music from his laptop. Drinking is allowed at this campground, but what is camping without a few drinks? I noticed no unruly behavior during my stays at the campground. The dogs are always on leashes, and the the noise from the highway is obsolete. I felt very safe with my children at this campground, and you should too. Ten out of ten for the hard working family at Running Bear Camping Area. Also, don't let the disgruntled campers below fill you with false information and deprive you of a great time at a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Unimpressed by the "waste wagon" that goes around all day sucking waste from RV's and being placed into a vat pulled by a small tractor. Unsanitary. People should be dumping their own waste into the sewer drain. Unimpressed by the bags of garbage strewn all over the campground that people are forced to leave basically anywhere because the dumpster was always full. This was a holiday weekend, why weren't things taken care of? Again, the swarms of flies the garbage attracts was unsanitary. The cold manner of the man checking us in and lack of smile made me feel more like I was taking up his time rather than providing him necessary business. The "live music" that visitors have to pay extra $5 for, consisted of the manager's son blasting cds of his choice, until well after 10pm. I thought lights were out at 10pm? I noticed a lot of drinking going on at the permanent dwellings located at the campground, and I also noticed that locals from the next street over, felt free to jog through and to walk their dogs through the property. I did not feel safe or welcome here. At night, once people finally quieted down you may be kept awake by the constant noise of the interstate directly behind the grounds. I suggest that your money may be better spent elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
We camped here from October 2008 to May 2009. This is the only campground that offers full hook up during the winter months in the area. The owner is a very nice man; he's continually making improvements to the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Wi-fi access free. Nice spot in the open for the satellite. Many sites in the trees. The entrance is quite steep and when exiting the camping area there is a sharp turn and a steep slope but other than that it is easy to get to. There were many things to do in this park during the season but we were there when things were closed so don't know how good they were. Our site did not have a sewer hookup but some may. There is a dump site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Campground is situated on top of a hill. Office is located halfway up the hill and camp sites are located on top. Many permenant type campers, some with really junkie site's. One way in and out for mtr homes because you will scrape bottom on the way out. Friendly individual in office. Would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
Park was clean, sites were spacious enough. Not a fancy park, but the kids had a great time riding bikes and playing in the field. Free pingpong in the rec hall was great. The owners were on site and always very friendly and ready to help with any problems. The seasonal campers were also friendly. The store was well stocked and items were very reasonably priced. We did not use the pool due to cool weather, nor the bathrooms since we had a sewer site. Some downsides were the highway noise and the unreliability of the WiFi..it was free, but had a hard time staying connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$29
The owners are extremely nice and willing to help. If we were only rating owners, they would get a 10. They gave advice on hiking in the area, they opened up a site before the season officially started and made it a semi winter site for us. Some sites are close to the highway, but trees are separating the highway from the sites. They also had a great potluck dinner weekend for spring clean up, where we met some great campers for a small amount of work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Year round camp ground in Vermont, owned by a very nice couple. Large open recreation field with separate and large playground. However, some sites are close to the interstate and can get noisy. Some sites are relatively large but have minimal trees between sites, if any. Somes sites are wooded, others you are on top of your neighbour. Oveall, very nice and I would definitely return again and again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com