206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Champlain Adult Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (802) 372-5938
CGID3007

Champlain Adult Campground

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   10   8   9   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Adirondacks, dressed in blue, Lake Champlain, a lighter hue. Sailboats turn to catch the breeze, my vantage point, framed by the trees. Ferries passing on the lake, a hundred times before daybreak. The seagulls cry, the loons dive deep, I close my eyes, and soon I sleep. To dream the dream of yesteryear, bygone days, I've found them here. Hypnotic trance, perhaps it's true, I'll stay awhile, I love the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Awesome location on the shores of Lake Champlain. Gorgeous sunsets. The campground is beautifully maintained and very quiet. The sites are grass-covered (no mats allowed), spacious, and most have views of the lake. Some seasonals, but they keep their sites clean and very neat. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've visited over the past several years. There are many seasonal residents but everyone is so friendly and welcoming. While the sites are large and most can accommodate larger rigs, we were tucked into site #17. Overlooking Lake Champlain, it is still a very private site with trees on three sides. Despite being without cable (antenna TV was good) and Internet (which will be coming), there are no downsides to this campground. Moreover, the owner is always around and more than willing to help in any way he can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We have been seasonal for many years at this place. This is clean, very quiet, and very nice with all the apple trees. Owners are very nice too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
We stayed here a week. The campground was spotless. The owner was present and actively worked to keep things running smooth. There were lots of seasonal campers and all were very friendly. We had a good view of the lake and the ferry. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
Although the name is Champlain Adult Campground, we saw no indication that they refuse families with children. About half of the sites are seasonals, mostly older adults. Many seasonals come just for weekends, and they seem to know each other well. Sites are well separated, about 30 feet. Laundry has one washer and one dryer; there is a good laundromat in town. There is a place for recycling. Lovely campground, level grass sites, quiet and peaceful. Owner is friendly, good humored, and helpful. We would come here again. No credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
We stayed her for five nights. Campground caters to adults, and most guests seemed to be retirees. Sites are spacious and level, and access is easy. The sites are on grass, so there is little dirt and gravel to track indoors, but there are grass clippings to deal with when the grass is mowed. Outdoor carpets are not allowed so as not to harm the grass. Our site had an amazing view of Lake Champlain. Staff escorts you to your site to ensure that you get maneuvered in OK, and both they are exceptionally friendly and helpful, although they are always so busy it was sometimes hard to find them around. No Internet or CATV, although we managed to receive a few English speaking stations with our antenna and a few more in French. They charge extra if you plan to use your AC (we didn't need it), and they ask that you don't use electric heaters, reasonable requests given the high cost of electricity, I suppose. The campground is like a small community of friendly mature adults; on the Saturday night we were there we were invited to bring a dish to share to a potluck dinner, even though we weren't well known to the regulars. And a large group usually headed down to watch the sunset together on the lake's edge most evenings. There is a small beach area (stone, not sand) with a pier for swimming or launching a canoe or kayak. The campground is within a two hour drive to Montreal (maybe less if you can make it through the border crossing quickly and there's not much traffic). If we were to return to this area of Vermont we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Almost all the lake front sites are taken by seasonals. The first site they gave us did not have enough voltage to run our AC. We moved to another site and could run it, but not at the same time as the water heater and/or the microwave. Sites are very unlevel. This was not an inexpensive place to stay and they charge for showers, which they do not say on their website. We had a full hookup, but the sewer connection was located so far to the front that we could not use it. The ferry is one half mile down the road and runs all day and all night: charming, but noisy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
A fantastic view of Lake Champlain and the ferry boats passing by the campground is down at the end of one road in the campground, many of the shaded sites are occupied by seasonal campers. A great off road bike trail is within a short driving distance. The trail is level and on an old railbed. You take a two minute bike ferry to get from one part of the trail to the rest of it. The campground is very quiet with many shaded areas. The "beach" is a rocky ledge, no sand, water shoes recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground even though it was only for one night. The campground owner was very pleasant and managed to get us a beautiful site overlooking the lake. Other campers next to us were very friendly which always helps. One of the nicest campgrounds we stayed in during our three months of traveling through New York, Vermont and eastern Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This campground is on the very top of my list. Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The sites are large and grassy, seasonal neighbors were very nice, not intrusive. I have no problem with children, I have grandchildren myself but it was wonderful not to be disturbed by kids yelling, children on bikes or playing ball. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing weekend, please check this campground out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The park was beautifully maintained, the owner was friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed watching the ferry and the 4th of July fireworks from the lakefront. Will return as soon as we are able. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$43
Beautiful park, well maintained with friendly owners. Sites are laid out in a free form with no rows which gives the park a casual, park-like feel. Only a few sites on the water but great water access for canoes and kayaks and beautiful sunsets! Swimming is possible but bring your surf shoes as the beach is all rock, not sand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
We absolutely loved this place. So peaceful and beautiful. The sunsets are breathtaking. Seasonals were very friendly, but not in that "pushy" way. The only warning I'd give is that we had a hard time getting cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Very quiet campground,friendly people, owner very busy helping campers. The owners are conscious of environment and the need to protect it. We found this to be a great place for adults who want quiet and friendly neighbors. Not at all for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Clean and well-kept - owners are constantly working but always take time to talk or help campers. Nice spacious grassy sites, plenty of flowers, trees and bushes. All have fire pits and tables. There's a centrally-located pavilion with laundry room, bathrooms/showers, and a covered porch with picnic tables. This is the quietest campground we've ever stayed in - no children (not allowed), no motorcycles (not sure if they're allowed), no barking dogs (dogs are allowed, but you must have to prove they don't bark because all the ones we saw did not). The ferries run all day and all night, every 5 minutes it seems. It's nice to see them from the sites along the lake, but if you're a light sleeper you might prefer a site in the orchard, a little ways away from the waterfront. If you want to take a ride on the ferry, you can walk to the terminal - it's less than 1/2 mile from the campsite. Or take your vehicle on the ferry with you and spend some time in NY state - for 2 adults and a pickup the rate is $22. There is no camp store, so get your supplies at the awesome gas station/market up the road in South Hero - they have wonderful steaks, beer, wine, soda - all kinds of supplies - a great place. Children are more than discouraged. I asked about having our son's family rent the $600 a week lakefront cabin - 2 adults with a 10 month old baby - and he said no, the baby might cry. He also said he turned away a group of 10 adults one of the days we were there - and the campground had plenty of spaces empty. I'm guessing he thought they might be rowdy. There's a gravel/stone walkway down to the lake, where there's a dock and flat rocks to sit on to watch the fabulous sunsets. You can get a temporary fishing license nearby and fish from the dock - we saw a fisherman catching lots of perch and a couple of bass. We took a ride up route 2 thru the other Champlain Islands - it's only about 50 miles round trip and the scenery is just beautiful. I'd have liked to have WiFi, but this is a great place to relax and unwind and get away from it all! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
This is one of the nicest and CLEANEST parks we've ever stayed. Owners make you feel very comfortable. All of the seasonals were very friendly and well mannered. Our site was within sixty feet of Lake Champlain. Very relaxing watching the ferries chug past our site. Sunsets were spectacular! We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
The "adult" in the name isn't what you think...it simply means children are discouraged. There are NO activities, which seems to suit everyone who stays there. This is a very quiet, small, friendly campground. Several sites have views of Lake Champlain and the Plattsburgh ferry. A great base for exploring the beautiful Champlain islands. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com