223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Champagne Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (802) 728-5293
CGID3013

Lake Champagne Campground

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   9   10   10   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
This was our second stay at this lovely campground. It’s located in Central Vermont farmland – a very bucolic atmosphere, peaceful and beautiful. All hookups worked perfectly, as did the cable and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are immaculate, as is the entire campground. It’s a wonderful place for dog walking through lush meadows. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
This is a real nice campground. Our second stay here. Lots of grass and open space which was nice. The views were great. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were able to put up a tent on our site for our son and we were able to leave the trailer for an extended checkout while we moved our son into Vermont Tech College. Nice location to the college. Not a lot to do in the area but central to a lot of Vermont sites. Will stay again as our son has a couple more years here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Stayed at the campground for two night while visiting the area. Lots of seasonal folks, but there was plenty of room for any type of equipment. Open field concept, but we managed a site with some tree shade. The office help suggested places to visit and provided maps. The only negative I have is the remoteness. It's a 30 minutes drive to any where for resupplies, etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
If you're looking for a peaceful, quiet place to get away, you'd have trouble finding something more peaceful and out of the way than this beautiful park. Centrally located in Vt., you can get to other attractions without too much of a drive. Stowe, Texas Falls and Montpelier are worth a trip, all less than an hour away. The park is clean, spacious, and the owners are friendly and helpful. Although there is a recreation room, volley ball net, basketball hoop, and small playground, I don't think this is a destination if you have a young family. There isn't a lot to do (one of the reasons I like it so much). We came here a week or so past peak color, but it was still beautiful. This is our 3rd trip and we will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
A very nice park. We were here during the height of the 2013 fall leaf season and there were a lot of people here, but nowhere near full. This is a big park. It is kept clean and well attended to. The Halloween decorations at the gate were whimsical and well done. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Most of the sites here are in an open field setting, but there are several in or under trees. Ask the staff when you check in for a shady site if you want one. The area around the park is rural and great for walking. Vermont's National Cemetery is nearby. No dogs allowed inside the gate, but there is a chapel worth seeing. Just adjacent to the park is Vermont Technical College. Small, but nice campus also worth a walk. Downtown There is a small General Store adjacent to the park that has many essentials. The owner is a bit of a character.The Post Office is next to the General Store. The town of Randolph is abt 4 miles away. There is a grocery store and two pharmacies. Village Pizza in the middle of town has great pizza. Just a couple of things on the negative side. The laundry has only two washers and dryers. There are two laundromats in nearby Randolph if you seek more capacity. It's a bit of a drive to get to the places where something is happening. The capitol at Montpelier is about 30 minutes north, and Burlington on Lake Champlain is an hour away. All in all we would return without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
If you like wide open spaces this is the park for you. Don’t let the short bad section of SR66 keep you from enjoying this farm turned RV park, it is worth the stop. Most campsites sit looking out into a large grass field that is kept mowed. There are some large trees scattered about the field and between the sites. The gravel road coming into the park is hard packed, smooth and sites are mostly level grass, but some may prove challenging with the slope of the hillside. If you’re a big class A with toad you should unhook at the office as you might be driving over a slight slope to get to your campsite that has a picnic table and fire ring. There is lots of open sky so no problem getting a satellite signal. Sprint has no service in the area, but the free campground WI-FI worked well. Bathrooms at the office were clean, but the bathhouse and laundry at the lake are in an open style building and are very buggy. There is a swimming area at the lake, but no life guards. This park is very quiet and there is no road noise. Seasonal campers keep their sites clear of a lot of garbage which gives the park a clean look. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
One of our favorites. Sites are terraced up from a small lake with lots of open space front and back, and comfortably wide camp spots. Everything worked. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Price reflects Good Sam/AAA discount. Lovely campground in central Vermont - close to Interstate although still expect to drive to attractions (Maple Farms, Ben & Jerry's, etc..) Every site on grass - although you'll have neighbors on right and left. There are vast amounts of grass in front and behind every spot. Very clean campground. No activities, although a lake to swim. Nice owners, seasonals and transients. Very relaxing place to sit and enjoy quiet and far reaching views. Would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
This campground is wide open on gentle sloping hills. Lots of grass. The area where we were, sites were close together but still adequate room. While there isn't a lot to do, it is great for day trips and relaxing when you get home although the roads getting to the campground could use some attention. Were so rough our sofa shifted positions! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
This was a very nice campground. Office staff was good while making reservation and at check in. One thing we liked is there is open space. They did not place a campsite on every inch of the campground. If you like grass this is the place for you. Plenty of grass, the sites, the open space, every where, even some roads are grass. If you like the woods, then this is not the place for you, everything is wide open. There is no pool here so we cannot give a 10 and a few more trees would be good. The area is beautiful. There is not a ton to do in the area, there is a grocery store about 15 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
This is the most beautiful campground that we have ever stayed at. Staff was friendly and helpful, all connections worked perfectly and site was level. Lots of open space to walk the pups. Centrally located not far off the interstate. Perfect for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
This is one of the very few independent campgrounds I stay at. It is well maintained and well managed. Whatever they promise you can be assured it will be there and in full working order. I, as well as so many others, return time after time. The garden maintained and managed by the seasonal campers is a real plus. Hope to see you there someday. Safe travels! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Wonderful wide open spaces. Very clean, neat. Super WI-Fi, excellent 4G LTE phone service. Excellent views from most sites. Responsive management. Plenty of room for our 45 foot RV. We'd highly recommend this campground when in Vermont ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Beautiful setting, nice grass, nice lake. However, the road leading to our site was so rutted that everything inside the RV was rearranged while traveling to our site. We were way up on a hill in the back of the campground. Level sites, shaded and quite large and private. However, the water pressure from the pipe was only 16 psi, not even enough to flush the head! We were concerned that they had a leak or a malfunction, so we notified the owner. We got ,"the last rig had no problem." He continued to be defensive. We filled our tanks (very slowly) and used the pump to get pressure. Also note in hot weather, there is a daily surcharge if you use the AC. That was not told to us in advance, nor is it in the book. Just a sign in the office! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This is a beautiful campground. The sites are grassy and fairly level. Lake Champagne is a well-maintained and well-run campground. Seasonal campers keep their areas neat and most have flowers and decorations that add to the beauty of this area. We stayed here a month and totally enjoyed our stay. If ever back in Vermont I would want to return to this campground. Our price reflects a monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
If you prefer your campgrounds to be secluded, quiet, large sites, friendly people, and private with brand new bathroom facilities tucked away in the Green Mountains then you'll like it here. My wife stayed here as a kid lots of times and we stayed right across from the site she used to come too. This is your typical small town Vermont, when we called and made reservations the owner remembered my wife's family from those days. There is a small general store just outside the entrance, a Cumberland Farms ten minutes away and a supermarket 15 minutes away for those last minute items. Looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Prettiest and best managed park we have ever used. Great views and nearby attractions. Swimming pond nice but water is cold. Easy pull-through sites that are mostly level. Very quiet. Definitely would stay again. We stayed for one week and got the last night's fee free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Pleasant, grassy sites overlooking a small pond and open pasture across the valley. Shade from the evening sun. Level, treed, nice office staff. Cold water laundry, so went to Randolph for wash day. Floyd's General Store (next door) is a must visit. Wi-Fi excellent, we used our own dish for TV. Close to the Montpelier and Burlington. We stayed a week and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a beautiful campground set on the side of a hill overlooking the rolling hills of Vermont. The campground is designed in a terrace style maintaining beautiful views. The grass is lush and unbelievable. The best grass at any campground we've been to. We rolled around in the grass on the side of the hill with our dogs and stared up at the clouds. We sure do miss that grass! There are a number of covered bridges in the area to see. Burlington and the Ben & Jerry's home office or a short trip away. The little pond at the campground makes for good swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
OMG...what a great campground! By far the cleanest and best kept campground that I have been in my 35+ camping years. The campsites are very spacious and clean. The bathrooms are sparkling clean. Wi-Fi on the campsite...love it! If campgrounds would have stars, I'd compare it to a 5 star hotel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Our rate is based on a week long stay and W/E only. No swimming pool but really nice lake to swim in (no pet area designation). We loved our site, long enough for our 60' rig, faced into the woods which gave us a lot of privacy. Gorgeous park, extremely well maintained. Large and well spread out with seasonals in one area. Had good Verizon cell/air card access as well as satellite reception on our dish. Perfect location for riding Vermont roads on our motorcycles. We'll be back for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is a beautiful, well maintained campground in the mountains of Vermont. It was easy to find with only a short distance on a bumpy road from the interstate. Our site was level and looked over a wide grassy area to the little lake with the mountains behind it. Quiet, beautiful spot with friendly campers and staff. If we hadn't been on a schedule, we would have enjoyed staying here a couple of days so we could explore the area. They do charge for AC/heater use but the temperature was wonderful so we did not need either. Being from Florida, that's the first time we've experienced the extra fee to use the AC. We would return if we get up this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Spectacular in every respect. Immaculate grounds. Views that are the best we've seen. Large, clean recreation room. Very spotty Wi-Fi. Owners were accommodating and friendly. Washer/dryer right on lake. Gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This large park is just off I89, about 20 minutes north of White River Junction. Access to the campground and sites is very good. Interior roads are gravel and well maintained. Sites are level. Wi-Fi is great. The name refers to the on site lake which has a beach and swimming. This was previously a 100 acre dairy farm, and is beautiful, with surrounding forested hills, mountains in the distance, and rolling meadows which look like golf course fairways. There are seasonal campers in certain areas, but every site is neat. The entire campground is very clean. Sites are quite far apart and there is lots of privacy if you want it. In many cases you cannot see any other campers. There are miles of paths for dog walking. Despite being near the interstate, it is very quiet. A farmers stand is across the street and a very good restaurant (3 Stallions Inn) in Randolph. It is near King Arthur outlet and Cabot farms. It is a jewel. It even smells good, like freshly cut grass and pine trees. We would spend the entire summer here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Great park, the views are the most notable positive of the campground. From every site you have a view of the mountains and rolling hills, or the pond. All utilities worked well, including the cable TV and Wi-Fi which was free. Game room had a pool table which we took advantage of. All sites are grass which I thought made the park look very clean, all though when it is wet, it can make it hard to back up your camper in a site. The sites have more than enough room. Friendly and quiet owners. Great location for exploring Vermont, about an hour to White River Junction and to Burlington or Cabot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This is one of the most beautiful commercial campgrounds that we have stayed. It is in the center of Vermont making it a wonderful location to visit the state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Great people, great views, and a concerned and helpful staff. The seasonal campers even grow their own garden, some of which they were kind enough to share with me! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We are full-timers and this park in Vermont was the best we experienced in New England. Lots of space to enjoy and the views were awesome. The park was very quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is worth our return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is the second time we've stayed at Lake Champagne, and it's our favorite central Vermont campground. The views are beautiful and the campground very peaceful, at least from what we experienced in the full hookup section. Great open sites, huge grassy areas between rows add to the experience. We would love to have given the campground a "10" but couldn't for one main reason. The connections for the full hookups on the top row are set too far back (close to the road) and the sites slope just enough that your sewer hose runs uphill. This made emptying tanks a challenge if you park far enough forward to pull the towed car in behind you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
It is a very nice campground. It was not crowded, and sits on a hill with a nice view of the mountains. There is a small lake with swimming available. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was because of the access roads, which are very bumpy and dusty. But the roads certainly would not keep me away. It has very friendly staff and a is nice place to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Only stay a week, will be back for a longer visit. Friendly staff, beautiful campground. Nice small lake for swimming. No full timers but several seasonal long units - ALL are very neat and in a separate area. Owner on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Pretty campground. Clean but limited showers and restrooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Fabulous views of the surrounding countryside from most sites. Lower sites can be iffy for satellite. Sites were narrow, someone next to you seemed rather close and blocked the views. Despite making reservations months in advance and asking for 50-amp, we were given a 30-amp site and had to power-manage using only one appliance at a time or we tripped the site breaker. Note that the campground also charges for A/C use. We would definitely come back and give them another try if we could ensure a 50-amp site or if they improved the power distribution. There aren't any grocery stores or other major shopping nearby (that we could find), but it's very centrally located for tourist activities in VT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Beautiful setting. Sits on and overlooks the hills and a pond. All grass except for interior gravel roads. Well manicured. We were in site P which was pull through on the grass. We had 50 amp, a table and fire pit. Good Verizon phone, satellite internet and TV signals. Site width good. Campground requires extra pay for use of air conditioning, heater, and WiFi. If in the area, we would stay here again. Lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Very nice campground,easy in and out from I-89. Nice view of pond and mountains, sites grass and level, very clean. Made a great base for exploring Vermont. Would definitely stay here any time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Most sites are grass with 30 amps electric and water. The sites near the office are full hook-ups with parking on gravel. There is no pool but the pond is good for swimming. The showers are free and reasonably clean. We have been there several times and will continue to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
This is a really clean park. All transient sites are pull through. All sites are also grass so there is not dirt to sweep out of the trailer. They have a nice little pond for the kids to swim in. The area of this campground is nice being on top of a hill but be sure that you can pull up a 10% grade to get to it from route 89. This campground also had a nice playground and basket ball area. This park is near to many Vermont attractions and a great base camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com