218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Shelburne Camping was rated 5 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (802) 985-2540
CGID3015

Shelburne Camping

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   7   8   6   9   8   4   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Rate this as a 0. Place is a dump. A seedy trailer park with overflow as an RV park. Weeds were ankle deep. Trees not cut back. Electric was marginal at best. Had to look in the bushes to find electrical box. No security. Woke up to find an old man searching thru sites for cans. And was there with a Tour Group. Would not stay there. Walmart parking lot is a 10 compared to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This is camping in a mud hole. The campsites are cramped with electric and water on the wrong side. We had to run our electric and water hose under our rig. The Wi-Fi worked OK and the cable TV was fair. It was raining throughout or stay and water and mud were everywhere including just outside our door. We could not exit without walking in the mud and water. I expected this in Alaska but not in Vermont. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This was a nice RV park; easy in and out. WiFi worked most of the time. The staff were very helpful . I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Nice park with friendly and helpful staff. Good power, cable and WiFi. Sites are compact but large enough to be comfortable. We had a heavy rain and the site and roads dried up quickly. Convenient to area attractions and the staff was helpful with information and discounts. We will stay again the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Trashy motel up front, but campsites are very good. Power good, water good, sewer a little far off to the side, took 10+' of sewer hose. Showers dated but very clean with plenty of hot water. We would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is the second time we have stayed here. The first was in the fall one year, and this time it was mid-July during a heat wave. On check-in the person told us we had a choice between two sights, and he told us which one had the most shade. I don't know how he thought this one had shade, and the one we didn't take was completely shady, but once we were hooked up, we didn't want to move. I will say the people here are very nice, and I like that now they will let you leave your pets in your RV while you visit the area, as long as you leave a cell # with them. So many parks do not allow this, and I don't know how they expect you to visit their area and contribute to their economy! Our site was wide enough for our big rig with three slides, and we had enough length, too. The pool looked very nice, although we did not use it. Lots of people seemed to be enjoying it, though. The roads here are some kind of white dirt, and it is always extremely dusty. This also tracks in not only on pets' feet, but also on their coats, and then it is all over your floor and furniture. Everyone here was very nice and friendly and it is such a short drive to lots of things to do and even into Burlington, VT. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Shelburne Campground, Shelburne, Vermont Site 11. Stopped here while camping in Vermont right after the floods closed many of the state parks in the central part of the state. $36 for water,electric, Wi-Fi, cable TV and full hookups are available. There are two pools, play area, volleyball, tether ball, horseshoe pits, store, restaurant, motel, fire rings, firewood, propane, laundry, showers, store. This is an older park with over 60 sites and our site was a backin with some gravel and grass. Chick-in was quick and the owners are very nice and informative. They will give you discounts for the Shelburne Museum which is worthwhile. This is located right on route 7 just a few miles below Burlington and on route 7 with all of it’s attractions. Museums, winery, shops, gas, restaurants, breweries etc. Great location. We would return because of its location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
All the parks in this area are way overpriced. We were going to stay a week but left after two nights because our back window backed up to an old rusted out trailer with flat tires. Buildings were old, many dilapidated trailers and motorhomes, and generally very rundown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
Really have a problem giving this campground a rating. We had a pull-through, 50amp, nice size, level site right in front of the office. But coming in to the park, you drive by a very seedy looking motel, some vacant RV units just parked helter-skelter and then some charming cabins with unsavory looking characters sitting on the steps. The campground does have a lot of seasonals. But the real problem was vehicles in and out all night long. Our site gave us full view of the only ingress and egress to the campground. I had a sleepless night so was up reading and couldn't believe the amount of traffic at 3am. A vehicle would come in and a few minutes later leave. One car came in and obviously saw me looking out the window, slammed on the brakes, made a U-turn and sped out. Then around 10 that morning, 2 police cars are at the office with a lot of paperwork and then go in different directions into the campground. And every day after for the week we were there, a police car was driving through the campground. Our thought of course was illegal drug activity. Who knows? The workers there were pleasant but not overly friendly. The laundry was 2 old rusted washing machines ($2 a load) and 2 dryers (10 mins for $.25). Real small loads for $2, but they worked. Really feel this campground is way over priced. Even when we just pulled in and hadn't experienced the traffic we felt it was over priced for what we were seeing. We just did not feel safe there and made sure we left nothing sitting out. Not sure if we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
An older campground that is conveniently located near a lot of attractions. This is not an RV resort, it is a campground with a lot of tent campers on weekends and older travel trailers parked as seasonal campers. That being said, the management had workers out trimming trees, bushes and the grass. The sites were maintained and the campers were quiet, even over the July 4th holiday weekend. Road noise was minimal. We were given a 50 amp pull through site after having to change the date of our reservation but the back in 50 amp site we were originally assigned was spacious and clean. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We just came back from a four night stay at this campground. The site we were on was extremely small and by small I mean that it was hard to find an area to set up chairs that was not along side the neighbors sewage pipe. The sewage hook ups were not like anything I have seen, they did not include a cover or cap on the hook up but instead they supplied a two liter bottle that was filled with water and stuck upside down in the hole to seal or plug the sewage hookup whole. Our nights were spent smelling the terrible gas that was seeping from the sewage pipe of our neighbors. The campground has allot of seasonal and/or year round residence that reside in extremely old campers which are an eyesore. The campground must store some campers as well as there were several vacant campers scattered about our site. We encountered several dogs that run free which tormented our dog who was leashed. Out site was next to a pool which seemed to be relatively new and the pool was clean however, the entire pool is 3 feet deep so getting wet is pretty difficult. The picnic table is so small that a family of 4 would find it difficult to sit at. The local area is a nice place to visit but I would not stay at this campground again, it's is the worst place I have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Per earlier review, this place is better than some reviews indicate. We paid $27 for a 20 amp and water site. The 20 amp was the only negative for us, the site was in back in the tent area. Nice and private, this was Memorial Day WE and we called a day ahead. Our site was about 45' deep and very wide. I am not sure about the pull thrus here, I didn't not notice any. Park is OK for up to 40', but call ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
The previous reviews were so low we decided to drive our car over first to check the place. We were staying on South Hero but found the area too far from our points of interest near Burlington. As we drove in we had a negative first impression because of the shady hotel. As we checked out the RV grounds we found mostly seasonal lots--some trashy. We decided since there are so few RV parks around Burlington we would be able to tolerate the place since we would be on the go most of the time. We were allowed to pick our spot. Our first night the seasonal neighbor kept us awake with their loud TV or radio. A previous reviewer was right about snarling dogs. One tried to attack our tiny dog but fortunately the dog was tied up and did not get to our dog. Most people seemed to have very large dogs. FYI - we had to prove up-to-date shots for our dog upon check-in. We were most disappointed with: 1)the WIFI was pathetic. I wish places wouldn't state they have WIFI when it doesn't work. We could never get reliable internet here. We gave up. 2)A major negative for us was the fact that you cannot turn south to leave the park and we had to drive approximately 3 miles up the road to get turned around with our RV--a car can make a u-turn in a shorter distance. Traffic is heavy during rush hour so give yourself plenty of time if venturing out at that time. We would never want to stay here again but if back in the area we probably would because of the convenience to the attractions and relatives. We would consider checking out North Beach again but we found the city traffic too much with a 40ft motorhome. FYI - not sure why a previous reviewer indicated Shelburne Museum was not nearby - it is within a mile or two of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We used this campground as a home base while visiting family in the area. It is nothing special but has the necessities and we did not have any problems. There are a lot of seasonals but most are well-cared for and the older folks who seem to live on site are quiet and friendly. It was not noisy (but then again we were only there to sleep) or dirty. We had the first site right behind the store, so its lights shone brightly in our windows, but we had plenty of room, hookups were fine, and we enjoyed the many birds who visited the bird feeders at the double wide next door. Showers (free!) and bathrooms were adequate and clean. You do drive by some rundown cottages and storage areas, but they're not back where the camping is. The man at the desk was helpful and efficient, and we have no real complaints. It is very convenient to all the things we wanted to do in Burlington/Shelburne, so we would probably stay here again as a base, but never as a place to hang out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
It tells you how bad this campground is when I paid for 5 nights and left after 4. I knew I made a mistake as soon as I turned off the highway and drove into the campground. Potholes everywhere in the dirt road. Junk campers full of trash and shacks that were once cottages line the road. We had a back-in site next to a seasonal that had insulation board covering all the windows. Behind us was a camper with flat tires full of old mattresses and other junk. Our water supply was in a pit full of vegetation with the nozzle barely above ground. I was told this was a winterized site. My cable box was smashed so we had to use a splitter and get a signal from my seasonal neighbor. Sewer opening was marked with an inverted soda bottle. I never felt comfortable there. I never put my awning out or my patio carpet. Dogs everywhere barking and snarling. I wanted to visit Shelburne Museum and Shelburne Farms but the points of interest rated highly by Woodall's were too far north to suit me. Mega mistake! Shelburne Camping is rated a 2 out of 3 by AAA but it is definitely over-rated. Shelburne is a beautiful area but this campground is a blight on the community. I rented a car from the local Enterprise site. Another disaster! I would visit Shelburne again but I would definitely not stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We were there for 3 nights and had we not prepaid, we most likely would have left early. I was told several times that we were "close" to the WiFi antenna but could never get more than 5.5 mbps on a 2 bar signal...also was told when I made the reservations that the site we were going to be put in was a good spot to get a satellite dish signal, but that was not the case. We were also told that the park would be full, but there were several other spots open we could have been in that would have given us 30 amp power and cable TV...not to mention sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$31
This park is ok for a few days to visit some area attractions. We feel it is a bit overrated (TL and Woodalls). There are many, many seasonal/permanent setups ranging from travel trailers to motor homes and at least one single wide mobile. Unlike most parks, the seasonal/permanent sites are spread out throughout the park and the short stay sites are located right among them. There are a lot of shared hookups and most of them are back to backs. Interior roads are ok and turning space around corners is decent. There is a motel and a restaurant associated with this park. There are two swimming pools, one in the center of the park and the other up by the highway. The sites are decent size (30x50) and most appear to be easily accessed. The showers and restrooms are average (clean, but nothing spectacular) and the laundry facilities are adequate, but at $2.50 per load, more costly then most we've encountered. We would probably look for another campground if we returned to this area for more then 2 or 3 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com