218112 User submitted reviews online!!
Holliday Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (434) 248-6308
CGID3019

Holliday Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   10   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Wonderful park in beautiful setting. The park was nearly empty during our 3 day stay with only about 5 campsites occupied overall. Very quiet, great hosts and fairly level sites. Don't count on any Internet or cell access during your stay. Depending upon where we walked we had up to 1 bar on both Verizon and AT&T. Using our rooftop antenna we were able to get a perfect HD picture on the local NBC station and one other. The roadway into the park is narrow and we had to move over for an oncoming car to pass. I wondered how 2 RVs would manage to pass each other. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
We are big fans of VA State Parks in general. We loved Holliday Lake. Very quiet. Paved roads. Well kept. Clean bathrooms/shower houses. Beach area clean. The kids loved swimming in the lake. Lots of activities--boat rentals, fishing, hiking, interpretive events. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
This park is new or recently redone. For state parks, this is the best of the best. Roads are good to and in the park. Laurel Ridge area is for large rigs. Sites are gravel and level, but not many of them. We were here in early April and there was only one other site occupied. Bathhouses were the best. No laundry facilities so if your neighbor is wearing dirty clothes you know why. The main attraction is the dump station. Easy access in either direction. This one is by far the best I've ever used. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
This was our first visit to Holliday Lake State Park and we really enjoyed our visit. This park is very clean and maintained along with the restrooms/showers. It's 10 minutes from the 4-H Education center where my oldest girl went to fishing camp while we were here for the weekend. We camped in the new section "Laurel Ridge Campground" and we've noticed that this is for the bigger rigs ( up to 38' ) where the tent campers are in the other loops. All the roads are paved and the sites are very level. They have a double stall dump station is was very NICE with a water faucet at each stall. Nice to see this feature. The dump station is very convenient to the newer section. They don't lock the gate so you can come and go as you please. This park is located 15 to 20 minutes from Appomattox NHP and downtown Appomattox. We'll be coming back to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Another great Virginia State Park. There's so much to do in the summer and so many great family activities. Check out the owl calling on Saturday night and the group campfire on Friday night. The lake is great to swim in and the beach is kept up. We stayed over Labor Day weekend and the campground was packed and at maximum capacity. It isn't a huge campground and was very nice. The staff was helpful and the bathrooms/showers were kept very clean. I saw a crew come in and clean them at least 3 times each day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This park is in Appomattox and only 12 miles away from Appomattox Court House Historic Site. The park is huge with over 20,000 acres of National Forest surrounding it and that is why you can’t get cell phone service at this park. It is a pretty park, but it is not big rig friendly. We camped here with a RV just 25 feet and we could fit in about half the sites, but many are not level and a big rig would have problems driving around some of the campground roads. We stopped for just one night and you did not need reservations midweek even if you wanted one of their water and electric sites. The manager of the park stopped to talk to us as he was checking on the campers later in the evening and told us that they are quite busy on weekends and that they are developing a big rig friendly campground just up the road from this one. The new park will only have about 10 -20 campsites for big rigs with 3 way hookups and a new bathhouse. He was very friendly and informative. There are Interpretive Events happening every Sat night in this park and on Memorial Weekend they have a big campfire with stories on Friday night, canoe tour and owl call on Sat where they go out in the canoes and call to the owls at night to fly over, and finally on Sunday night a Civil War slide show plus guided hikes and educational programs throughout the weekend. The bathrooms are old but very clean and it was peaceful. There are hiking trails right from the campground down to the lake and around the lake which are very nice. The lake is huge over 150 acres. Just down the road (.1) there is a swimming beach, boat dock, playground and off shore fishing. Gasoline power boats are not allowed on the lake. The tricky part is getting into the campground. We saw signs but the drive in is about 5 miles going up and going down There are trails for horses as well as bike trails and during the weekends and in the summer there are historical and educational programs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
We only stayed one night after driving all day to buy our used pop-up camper. We had some difficulty leveling our camper on the site but that could be attributed to driving all day and never setting up that camper before. The area was just lovely and clean. The staff was very helpful as well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Great park. Beautiful lake with great swimming. Numerous Life Guards keep rules enforced. Rangers patrol the park regularly, and do a nightly walk around to ensure that quiet is maintained. Well off the beaten path, so bring what you need! Would have given it a 10 except for the condition of the bathrooms. They were not disgusting, and were not clean by any means. One toilet in mens' room was clogged. I also took off for the unlevel sites, though we were prepared with "Lynnx Levelers", and it took 6 on one side. We loved the park and will go back, just hope bathrooms are in better shape. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
This is our Favorite state park. It has a great lake swimming beach with life guards and a kids swimming area. Hiking trails are well kept and the rangers are very nice. Campground is small at 30 sites. The sites are not very level, it took me 4" to get level. All sites are paved and clean. All things considered we like small quaint parks that arent crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
I go there every year. 2007 I will return in August for 4 nights, bringing 10 other rigs, for a group get together. We all enjoy it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
Beautiful park and well-kept. No swimming pool but there is a swimming beach. Our only problem was the sites were not level and that was a shame as they were paved and large. A major concern was the entrance road which was 7 miles of narrow road. I have no idea what would have happened had we met another TT entering the park. Would return here anytime if the road had been wider. We camped here in a 30' TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
Small campground with only a handful of sites big enough for our 30 ft class A and many rather sloped but the park is very neat and pretty. Close to Appomattox Courthouse National Historic Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
We really enjoyed this park. It is quiet and clean with only a short walk to the beach area. The swimming area has a snack bar, playground, bath house, pavilion and canoe rentals. You can also fish from the bank or small dock area. Our two small kids liked it as well. We are looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Relatively small, very nice. Good separation of campsites -- we find that typical of Virginia State Parks and prefer that to what seems to be, from our admittedly limited camping experience, a tendancy for private CGs to cram as many sites as possible into their acreage. Clean bathhouses, hot water, helpful staff, secure, lake nearby. The only reason we didn't rate it a 10: Several sites are less than level. We had to hunt around a little to find one that was level and the right size for a small popup. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$15
Nice park with lake activities including swimming, boat rental and launch (no gas motors), great fishing from bank, well groomed hiking trails and clean picinic areas. Sites are paved and are semi level. Park is well guarded and supervised. Great family vacation spot with Appomattox Battle Fields within 20 minute drive. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com