219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Parkview MHP & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (434) 352-2366
CGID3021

Parkview MHP & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   7   9   9   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
This is a RV park with a mobile home park in the back. There are quite a few permanent residents in the RV park area as well. The grounds were clean and the staff friendly and hard working. We stayed here two nights while visiting Appomattox Court House which is just down the road (driving). The power was as advertised and water pressure good. The sites are all pull-through and the interior roads are easy to navigate with the car attached. The place is a good place to stay while visiting the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This "park" was not all that we had hoped for. It is simply a large open field with paved roads and level paved sites which we had expected, but we were surrounded by long-term residents in trailers that were in less than stellar condition. They have no facilities (bathrooms, showers, laundry) and no amenities. There are no tables or firepits. There is no store or laundry on the premises but there is a Walmart, laundromat, gas and fast food 5 minutes away. This is a place for a one or two night stay while visiting the Appomattox Courthouse National Park and the excellent Museum of the Confederacy which is directly across the street. We stayed here in a 33 foot fifth wheel and the rate quoted was with the Good Sam discount. Be aware that credit cards are NOT accepted. You must pay with cash or check. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
The park is conveniently located if you are enjoying the surrounding activities of Appomattox and the Museum of the Confederacy. However, the RV park is a no-frills park. There are no bathroom facilities or anything else for that matter. The park is very simple with three rows of 10 sites each that are all very level. We stayed here for several nights enjoying the local activities and visiting our daughter in school in Lynchburg. The RV Park was only half full and the owners allowed us to park a separate vehicle and pull behind trailer on the site next to ours. My only concern with the RV Park is that it is not fenced and while there were no security issues of any kind, I felt somewhat uncomfortable as I travel with four children. Also, there is some road noise from the nearby highway, but not as much as my children make. We paid extra for 2 people above the standard rate of 4. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This park is near the highway and easily accessed but plagued by road noise. Interior roads and sites are paved. Sites are generously sized, pull-through and level with grassy areas between sites. There is only minor shade, no landscaping and no privacy between sites. Basic utilities were good, wi-fi was reliable, AT&T phone reception was good but AT&T data was very weak. This works well as a stopover but no activities are available on site. The price reflects the Escapees discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
We planned to visit the civil war museum and Appomattox Courthouse sites on our way to Virginia Beach and decided to try this location based on previous reviews. The sites are very open and level, and access into and out of the park was easy. There was quite a bit of road noise as VA Rt.24 was very close. This is not a monitored facility, so if you need help with your camp site you have to rely on cell phone contact. This also seems to be operated on the 'honor system' if you arrive after hours as far as payment is concerned. There are no facilities or recreational activities - it's a campground and nothing more. The owner only accepts cash or check - no credit cards are accepted. They do recognize Good Sam and other clubs so be sure to ask when you call for reservations. We will probably use this place again on our return trip home, and any other trip in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This park is in a great location for visiting Appomattox and the area. The staff are very friendly. Spaces are level, wide, paved, and very long. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Centrally located for exploring the rich heritage of the area. Plenty to do for history buffs. All pull through sites, full hook ups. Cable available for an extra charge in one of the four rows of sites. A fair amount of traffic going to and from the trailer court located behind the campground. No shower or bath facilities. If you need a base of operations while exploring and are self contained, I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Rate reflects nightly cost on a monthly rate. Nice park with great owners. Wide open access from highway and easy maneuvering once in park. All pull throughs, very level & paved. Each site has residential trash bin. This park is completely separate from the MHP at rear of property. No bath house or recreation of any kind on site, however, their location is excellent. Across the street from the new Museum of the Confederacy, and this RV Park's property borders the Appomattox Courthouse National Park. Great stay and would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This is basically an open field next to an mobile home park. The sites are some what level and has paved pads. Plenty of room between sites. Wi-Fi was good. There is no store or facilities. We came here from DC to avoid Hurricane Sandy. Perfect place, no trees. This ia a good location to tour Lynchburg, Appomattox and surrounding areas. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This is a very clean park with all long pull throughs and 50 amp service. It is a Passport America park, but they only allow discount for one day. It is the nearest RV park to the Appomattox Battlefield Park which starts about a mile down the road. The sites are very level hard gravel sites. There are no other facilities, but we camped there in a motorhome and did not need them. There are a few small trees, but for those of us with satellite dish's, that is a good thing. The lady in the office was very friendly and stayed until after 6:00 PM to check us in. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
First off, don't let the name fool you: this is a real campground! The RV section IS NOT within the trailer park, but they are run by the same office. Even though this is a bare-bones, no amenities park, (not even bathrooms! Self-contained units only.) it is clean and easy to use. We didn't need a swimming pool, playgrounds, etc! That simplicity makes it cheaper than others in the area, we found it a nice place to stay for a few days. The place is well marked, easy to find, very easy entrance with paved roads through-out. Large pull-through sites with correctly located hook-ups. Good water pressure and power. Easy sat. TV reception: open field, no trees. Every site has it's own LARGE trash container on wheels. No problems. It is sort of next door and in front of the mobile home park, and alongside the highway, but we were not bothered at all by either one. Great location just down the road from Appomattox National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Clean park with friendly staff. Essentially the campground is a very large parking lot surrounded by large grassy area. Wi-Fi, cable TV, and full hookup were very satisfactory, and pull-through access very easy. The park's primary appeal is price (many discounts available) and proximity to this historic and lovely part of Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
This is a nice place with level spots and full hook ups. It is completely separate from the Mobile Home Park and is right across the street from the new "Museum of the Confederacy". Rates are $33/night with $2 for cable and they offer discounts for Passport America, Good Sam & Escapees. No laundry facility, but friendly staff and convenient to historical sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Park has large pull through, gravel leveled sites with full hook ups. Nothing for additional amenities but the park is well maintained, offers close by shopping and sight seeing of the surrounding Appomattox historical area. Quiet and peaceful park. Would recommend and come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Wide open pull through sites on soft blacktop. Somewhat level. No shade but lots of room. It's a couple miles drive to the Courthouse so we stopped before we camped. They will park you on the grass if you have an RV. Nothing fancy here just the basic FHU and very few RV's when we were here. We would stay here again if in the area. Rate reflects PA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Rate included cable. Wi-Fi and cable were great. Level sites - little shade. Right on highway. Trailer park next to site had lots of traffic in and out. Didn't feel like a typical campground. We were going to stay two nights, but decided not to. Only good for a night's stop rather than a place you want to stay for awhile. You can't see the historic park from here, so don't know why the name. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
Basic park with few amenities but REALLY GOOD WiFI! Passport America rate for first night. $32 per after that. We ended up staying four nights waiting for parts for a trailer repair. Lots to see and do in the area where we had only planned on spending one night: mostly Civil War history stuff. Convenient to Appomattox Court House National Park. Close to highway, but quiet. A fair number of long term residents in new looking trailers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Clean passport America park. A great value with good utilities and level sites. We would stop here again when visiting Appomattox Courthouse National Monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Very nice, clean park. Large paved sites. Price includes cable TV, Wi-Fi, and 50 amp service. Wide access roads. Only downside is no trees. Recommended park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is a basic, self-service, RV park that has large easy access sites with full hook-ups. There are no trees so satellite service is easy to receive. The sites are gravel and they offer plenty of width for slide-outs and awnings. The park is conveniently located just a few miles down the road from Appomattox National Historical Park. As mentioned by others, there are no amenities at all. No bathrooms, nothing. There is WI-FI, but with no one around, you cannot get the password for the secured network. This was not posted where you check in so for reference just consider this a no WI-FI park. This in itself is not bad, but for a very basic, self service, park I felt it was somewhat overpriced for this area. Can't comment on the friendliness of the staff since there was nobody around. There was a slot to drop the envelope in with your money. I would stay here again if all of the other parks in the area were full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Nice little campground right off US460 in Appomattox. No amenities except full hookups but a very convenient place to stay to tour the historic area. Easy in – easy out sites. Cable is available only in the front row and is $2 extra. Mostly seasonals but no problems. Grass could have used some cutting. We would recommend this campground to those who don’t need all the frills. $17 is the Passport America rate with cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This park is just as advertised by other reviews. Since we are self contained, the lack of showers and restrooms was not an issue. Nice quiet park. Management was very helpful as we found out we had a reservation with the EXACT same name, but in West Texas. The manager of this park actually called the number we had to verify the discrepancy. She was very helpful. Since this was the 4th of July weekend, I was worried that we would not have a spot. The park here accommodated us. I would highly recommend this park for that reason. Only negative is that the voltage in the park is around 110 at the 3 sites I checked. I have a voltage booster, so it was not a problem for me. Mostly 5th wheels are here that look like they are fairly permanent residents. Great place for staying for a few days to visit the surrender place for the civil war. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
This park rates 10 in friendliness, cleanliness, vehicle maneuverability, and space in and between campsites. The rating is lowered because of a lack of amenities (no store, bathroom, playground, etc,) and an almost useless Wi-Fi. This is one of the best laid-out campgrounds we’ve seen. Easy access from highway and easy to enter and exit campsites. No obstacles such as trees and sign posts to maneuver around. It’s an open field with wide paved driving lanes, paved parking sites with plenty of space for toads or tow vehicles, and plenty of space between sites. Lamp posts at each site for light after dark. Front row has cable TV hookups. Some highway truck noise, but for us it was tolerable. We were parked close to the office and the Wi-Fi was almost always unusable. When available, the signal strength and speed varied widely and frequently and the connection frequently broke. We stayed 9 nights and would definitely come again. It’s a central location from which to visit historic and scenic sights, although some are about an hour’s drive away (Appomattox Court House National Historic Park [10-minute drive], Patrick Henry’s home, Thomas Jefferson’s second home [Poplar Forest], Natural Bridge, Peaks of Otter, etc.). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Good place to stay if you are visiting the Appomattox Civil War site, but other than that, it is only suitable for an overnight stay. Price is right, but there are absolutely no amenities. In addition, they advertise that they have Wi-Fi service, but even though it is there, the bandwidth is so low that you cannot connect to the internet at all. If you really have to get on the internet, the visitor center in town has a free Wi-Fi connection that you can use inside or out in the parking lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
This campground is in an open field with the camp sites well away from the mobile homes. The roads and sites are paved and level. It is next to the Appomattox Courthouse historic military park. We were not bothered by the road noise but it is present. It is a good 1 or 2 day place to stay while visiting the tourist areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
This campground is a great no frills overnight stopping place. There are no restrooms, but the park is clean and has reasonable rates. $22/night with an additional $2/night discount for Good Sam members. Passport America members can stay for one night at a rate of $11/night and then must pay full rate for additional nights. Cable TV is available on the first row of sites and is $2/night extra. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
Good over night park. Rate is a Passport America rate. Only 1 mile from Appomattox Court House Civil War site. Long pull-thru with adequate space between sites. Very clean. Our site was very level. No rest rooms or showers. No WiFi. Very clean and neat with east access from highway. Close to town and services. A little highway noise but not bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
We full-time. Our order of importance is: internet satellite ability; site large enough for 40' rig & toad; cellphone coverage. This place met them all. There is a nice mobile home park at the back of the property. The owner is a former motorhomer who had to give it up because of age, but still has the gleam in his eye. Nice people. There are no amenities - no swimming, no restroom, no clubhouse, no extended office hours, no gift shop, etc. The highway traffic noise is noticeable, but the location and open space made up for it. Apparently the Lynchburg area doesn't believe in RV parks! We've stayed at nearby Paradise Lake park back in 2000 - 2002 and had no problems (the reviews aren't great in here. We drove thru it just to see & it looked okay. We'd stay again, but they have too many trees. ) But these are the only parks within visiting distance to Lynchburg that we could find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
I was hesitant about this park prior to arriving because normally an RV park located in a mobile home park usually leaves something to be desired, however this is the exception, it is 1 mile from the Appomattox Court House National Park entrance, the RV sites are located away from the mobile home sites (which are very neat, well laid out, paved streed, street lights, etc) the RV sites are FHU, plenty of space, are very neat and the owners are really good to work with, they keep a personal hands on approach to everything, the owner gives you his cell phone number in case you need any help. We spent 3 days here in a 5th wheel in 2003, (In overflow because the 10 regular sites were full) Overflow had FHU, but located away from the other sites. No rest rooms or showers, Would come back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com