224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Acres Family Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (804) 633-7592
CGID3024

Hidden Acres Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   8   8   5   2   5   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Rather of stayed at the near gas station. Pool was green - so bad couldn't even see a foot deep and tiles were stained with black stuff, what tiles were still on. Bathrooms did not have toilet paper most of the time and very dirty, toilets had rings in them. Grass was allowed to grow up to your knees. Complained about your pets a lot. NOT PET FRIENDLY. Electric for the site ran almost $4.00 a day for a 29ft camper. Sites are narrow and dirty. And no such thing as quiet time when dark. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
We arrived after dark. Our reservation was left taped to the door. Our site was marked, but not very easy to see. Once we found it, we had a slight problem. At one end it was muddy. All of the hook ups except the sewer was hidden in large evergreen bushes, with the sewer connection 10' forward of them. A very narrow site, we could not use our awning. The camp store is small. The staff is nice. The bathhouse/showers were ok. One had no TP, no handles on the sink to use the water, and no power. At least there was hot water. The other shower did not work at all. But the lights in that one did. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Spent the better part of the summer here and loved it. The whole staff is friendly and helpful. We originally chose this because it was close to the grand kids, but found ideal for more than that reason. There is plenty for kids of all ages to do swimming, miniature golf, a play ground for the younger kids and the best part the ice cream stand. It is close to Brattleboro yet it is still in the country. There was work being done on the state highway during our stay and the sites are far enough from the highway so noise was never a factor. It is great place to stop if you are just passing through either with or without children. There is plenty to do in the way of site seeing. We really enjoyed Brattleboro; it has great selection of restaurants from cheap to pricey. The best inexpensive restaurant is Chelsea Royal, on Hwy 9 in West Brattleboro, and the two best pricey restaurants are Fireworks and Peter Haven’s in downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
We loved this place because there was nothing going on. It was very, very quiet and peaceful out in the country. Only thing there to do is sleep,walk, watch TV, go on line, have a campfire, cook out, or nothing! Sometimes this is what we like! The lady that owns this place treated us great. Her whole family lived and worked there. If we are ever up that way again we will stay there a few days for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Needed to stop but would rather have found a Wal-Mart. The sites here were not level, and the amenities not great. The bathhouse was fairly clean but grass was grown up around the entrance. Was definitely not worth the $40. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Enjoyed our first stay at Hidden Acres, however our last stay in July, was not very good. This campground seems to be having more and more inappropriate people camping here. So beware and keep safe eye on your children. At our last stay, someone with long hair was driving a white and purple Ford with a bed-shell, while drinking and smoking dope. Not the kind of people I want my children around. It seems to be turning into a party place for pot heads? Sorry: just very disappointed as we really enjoyed our first stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
This campground has the potential to be a great location except for the fact that it needs a tremendous amount of remodeling. The lady that took my reservation over the phone really needs to work on her customer service skills. When she arrived at the office to check us in she did not even greet us at all. We greeted her but she just looked at us like we where aliens from another planet. While inside the office she would not talk to my wife and I about anything. I asked several questions about the campground but she just looked at us like we where crazy. The game room was in terrible condition. The only game that worked was the ping pong table. All of the other games where old and broken. The room also needs major cleaning and painting. The furniture in the game room was nasty. I will never come back to this campground ever again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
The front desk at this KOA needs customer service/social skills training. We stayed upfront by the road, but it was surprisingly quiet. Walked the dog to the back area, it looks like it was really nice at one time, now it appears to have permanent campers. Pool and miniature golf looked alright. More than half the machines in the game room were out of order, and it had a very mildew smell. Not a destination campground, but not bad for a night of rest while traveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
A well planned holiday weekend with lots of fun activities for children. Facilities were clean and staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely return with my grandchildren! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
After reading previous reviews we were nervous to try this campground. We were pleasantly surprised. The woman who booked us over the phone and checked us in was confusing and slow, but don't let that scare you away. There was a great guy working here the whole time and he was AWESOME! The pool was clean, no lifeguard. Putt Putt golf was good. Not a fancy courses but everyone enjoyed it. The sites were a little small and could have used some weed whacking. They were nice and shaded. One thing that surprised me was the activities they have for the kids. I hadn't expected that. We had treasure hunts, bingo, free root bear floats, weinie roast and fireworks. I want to note that great guy was here for all of that too. He was awesome during the treasure hunt with the kids. My kids really enjoyed "Ranger Mike." The pond was stocked with a lot of fish. Kids caught a big catfish among other smaller fish. It was a great experience and we would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We were a bit worried about our stay at Hidden Acres / Bowling Green KOA from reading the previous reviews of the campground. By the way this is not a KOA. It was at one time but all of the KOA signs had the KOA logo removed. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the daughter of the owners of the campground. She was very nice and polite. She told us where our site was and handed us a map of the campground and an activities schedule for the weekend. We proceeded to our site and found a level, wooded site. Upon setup we discover minor inconveniences such as the knob on the water hookup was broken so I had to get a pair of pliers to turn on the water, and I had to modify my sewer hose to a short 2' length because the hook up was 8 inches above the ground. I just shortened my hose to go from the camper directly into the sewer hookup without laying on the ground. Once we were setup and starting to relax the owners son came over to make sure we were hooked up and if we had any issues. I was impressed by his concern and hospitality. We enjoyed the wooded and relaxed atmosphere or the campground. We were able to take the kids fishing in the pond that was about a 3 minute walk from the site. It was loaded with sunfish, bluegill, and catfish. There were even a couple snapping turtles. The playground was dated but was safe for the kids to play on. The pool and hot tub with clean and well attended to. There is a small mini golf course setup by the camp store. It wasn't the greatest mini golf setup but it was free and the kids enjoyed it. Trash was picked up at our site several times a day. Throughout the weekend they had planned several activities for the kids and adults, such has treasure hunts, ice cream socials, fire works display,and a hot dog social. We had a group of people with us that had some other campsites that were not as level as ours and/or had less room to hang outside the camper. Some of the tent sites were not very level, but the tent campers were able to make due. Overall we enjoyed our weekend and Hidden Acres, Bowling Green, Va. The setting was relaxing and amenities were sufficient. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
Family-Run, Not Family-Friendly . This campground COULD BE, and probably once was, very nice. The family that runs it is very nice, but I don't think they have a clue what goes on. The main problem is all the permanent campers-many people who actually live at the campground. And they are not just in one place-they are scattered throughout the campground. One night we were there, we had a domestic disturbance going on for several hours in the middle of the night right outside our camper. The other problem is that the place is not well-maintained. They have some electrical wiring issues at some site. When we arrived, nothing had been mowed (including the area around the upper playground). They had just overhauled the pool but it failed inspection. Very few of the games in the game room actually work. The mini-golf, though free, is very run-down. As for the fishing pond (with paddle boats listed as an amenity)- it is full of algae, and there are no paddle boats (not that you would want to go in the water anyway). The playground equipment in the back is rusted. The rental units look very run-down. If someone would take the time to really clean up/clean out the place, it would be wonderful. The sites are large, and there is a lot of shade. However, the people who live there don't make you feel welcome or comfortable-we were more intruders than weekend vacationers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
Another campground that we use a lot because its close to home. A little run down and could use some help. But, very nice people and a very quiet campground. Very close to Kings Dominion amusement park and other attractions. They have one of the nicest bathrooms I have seen at a campground. Its the one way in the back...NOT the one near the lake. If you want to get away and relax this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$37
Dirty, extra charges for everything. Electric kept going off. Only pull through sites are up front. Unless you have a small camper try to stay up front. It is still difficult. Not good, won't be back ever! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$29
We stopped by here, checking it out for a future visit. The campground is no longer a KOA and I can see why. It's not a bad campground, it just needs some updating and maintenance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$32
This is an adequate little park. The management is friendly and helpful and the restrooms are very clean. The drawbacks are the playground equipment which is old and the pond which is small and stagnant. If you're looking for a nice, clean quiet spot, it's fine. Be sure to ask for a spot in the back area where it's shady and pretty. The sites up front are much too close to a busy road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$40
About your "typical" KOA. Supposedly $36 a night, but by the time they're done totalling, more like $44 Everything costs extra. Quiet location, nothing for amenities open at the time we went, but certainly no discount. Sites were tight, with slide 4" from tree on one side, couldn't open awning on the other. Was a quiet location, have to give it that. Wouldn't avoid the place, but wouldn't go out of the way to stay here either. Tight maneuvering if you have a larger rig, not for the nervous. Never saw the "90 foot pullthroughs" they advertise, we're 60' and about too big for the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com