218680 User submitted reviews online!!
North Bend Park COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (434) 738-0059
CGID3025

North Bend Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
244
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   9   8   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
This is a large COE campground, on John Kerr Lake. Campground roads are paved, with gravel on the sites, but some are a bit muddy. Sites are mostly overgrown and need clearing to allow more breezes and a view of the lake! C & D section have some turns where you have to watch-out for the leaning trees – the bruises show. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathhouse is very good and was kept clean. There is a lot of boat noise that starts early on weekends. TV reception was mediocre with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. This year for whatever reason, the chiggers (red bugs) were simply terrible. Everyone I talked with was bitten many times. We camped here for 6 days, in a 5th wheel and will stay here again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
I wanted to like this campground, but it was too removed from anything. It's a minimum of a half an hour to get groceries, pharmacy, or anything. The hosts were friendly and the park rangers were a constant presence (which was fine). This is a heavily wooded park. No grassy spaces anywhere and sites were gravel. Cell service (AT&T) would come and go, mostly go. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
This is a large COE campground, on John Kerr Lake. Campground roads are paved, with gravel on the sites, but some are a bit muddy. Sites are mostly overgrown and need clearing to allow more breezes! C & D section have some turns where you have to watch-out for the trees – the bruises show. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathhouse is good and was kept clean. Unfortunately there is much boat noise that starts early, especially on weekends. TV reception was mediocre with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. We camped here for 7 days and will stay here again. Rate shown is with a senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
Very pretty COE campground with gravel sites, electric and water hookup and new bathhouses which were clean on our weekday visit. Some sites are hard to get into with a larger rig or have trees in the way, but many work just fine. Many sites have a view of the lake. Work has been done to eliminate trees which helps. Sites are large, typically with a spot (at least nearby) to park a boat. Rate was with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Clean and well maintained park. Sandy beaches to enjoy. Lots of lake front sites. Just went through renovation and upgraded sites to 50 amp service. One of the best parks we have visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
A COE campground, on John Kerr Lake. Still has some turns where you have to watch-out for the trees. Campground roads are paved, with gravel on the sites. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathhouse is okay. There is boat noise that starts early, especially on weekends. Maintenance of the sites could be improve for more views of the lake and allow more breezes - sites need to have the underbrush cleared! TV reception was mediocre with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. We camped here for 5 days, in a 5th wheel and will stay here again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
We camped here in the B loop (site 96) for the July 4th week. This is a great park, our site was easy to back in and had a path (kind of steep at the bottom) to the beach. TV and cell reception was surprisingly good for such a shaded and remote location. Bath houses were not air conditioned, but very clean and in good shape. There are several boat ramps in the park and kayaking/fishing was excellent! We stayed for 8 days and will definitely return. We did not find the boat noise a concern and it was a holiday week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
A COE campground on John Kerr Lake. We stayed in section “C”, which does not have many sites that accommodate larger RVs. Most sites in this section have views of the lake. Campground roads are paved, sites are gravel. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. The bathhouse for “C” section was completely rebuilt 2 years ago, it is very nice. Very little noise from roads, however there is some boat noise, especially on weekends. Nice swim areas and playground for kids. TV reception was okay with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. We camped here for 6 days and will stay here again. Rate is with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
A COE campground, on John Kerr Lake. We stayed in section “D”, which has many spacious RV sites. Some trees have been removed since the 2011 season, but some of the turns are still tight for large campers – watch the trees! The campground roads are paved, but sites are gravel. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathhouse has seen repairs, painting and addition of solar water heating panels. Very little noise from highways, however there is boat noise, especially on weekends. To improve views of the lake and allow more breeze, sites need to have the underbrush cleared along the shore. TV reception was okay with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. We camped here for 5 days and will stay here again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
We came to this park when evacuated from tidewater VA during hurricane Irene. So happy we came. This is by far the best COE park we have ever visited. We were in B136 which was a huge site. At least 100 feet long and very wide. Lots of open area on both sides and a path down to the lake with a small private beach. The roads are paved and wide. There is a paved bike path that goes about 4 miles and with all the other roads you can get in about 7 miles. The bathrooms are new and spotless. The morning after the hurricane the bike path was cleaned off of debris by 10:00 AM. This is a huge park with three swimming beaches. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Great Park. We stayed a week and would have stayed longer but the weekends are pretty booked up already for the year. Had a great site with access to the lake for our kayaks. Quite week until later part when weekenders were coming in, lake became noisy with boat engines. Kind of reminded me of NASCAR. Clean restrooms and showers. Only issue I had was tents were allowed to occupy RV sites that had 50amp service while RV's are too large to use the tent sites that were sitting empty (section D). It would help if trees were trimmed down and brush cut back. Hopefully we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is really a hidden gem. Many of the sites are spacious and most are wooded. Our site (D236) was a short walk to the beach where we launched the kayaks. Within the park, we rode about 10 miles going on the bike path and riding each of the 4 camping areas. Amazing, there were no mosquitoes at night. The staff was excellent, dump station clean and convenient. There are probably sites with water view, had we reserved earlier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
A COE campground, six miles south of US-58 on John Kerr Lake. Park Ranger was friendly; but definitely need a few new hosts. A very nice campground where roads are paved, but sites are graveled. We stayed in section “D”, which has many good RV sites. All sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathhouse works but needs a renovation. This campground is located so it has virtually no noise from roadways. Many overhead limbs on roadway in section “D” are low and drag your RV: need to be trimmed. Also, some of the turns in section “D” are very tight for larger campers. Campground needs to have underbrush cleared to improve views of the lake and allow more breezes! We camped here for 5 days and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
This COE campground on Kerr reservoir in VA. is one of the finer campgrounds you'll find, the sites are gravel, with a picnic table, food prep table, fire ring, & lantern pole. Some of the sites are set up a little strange, with the elec & water pedestals right at the rear of the site which would preclude hanging the rear of your rig over the back, but our site was plenty long enough without having to do that. The new bathrooms were a little different, but very nice, 6 doors, each one is a separate room with a sink/toilet/changing area & shower. There are several swimming areas playgrounds, & excellent paved bike trails. The $12 rate reflects the Senior Pass rate. The weather didn't co-operate for a couple days, but we enjoyed ourselves, We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
A COE campground, six miles south of US-58 near Boydton, VA on John Kerr Lake. Nice location without any highway noise. Hosts and Park Ranger were very friendly and helpful. The campground roads are paved, but sites are graveled. Most sites are narrow, but workable. A number of sites get quite muddy in heavy rains from the run-off. Some sites are not very level and some others have picnic tables at an elevation different than camper pad! Most all sites are at least partially shaded and have tables, fire-rings and lamp posts. Bathrooms were renovated last year and are great! There are a few sites in section “C” that have lake views, section ”D” has more sites with lake views. Both sections need to have underbrush cleared to improve views and allow breeze! We camped here for 3 days this stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Golden Age Pass $12.50 a night! This is a beautiful campground with over 249 sites in three big areas and many right on the lake. 94 of the sites have water and electricity. They just built three new shower buildings with Chinese money. The park has a dump station, restrooms, showers, interpretive hikes, bike trails, boat dock and swimming in a number of places. The reservoir is a great place to fish! The visitor center at the dam is opened during the week. We enjoy this campground so much that we returned after staying there last spring. Many people come for a week or two week vacations here. There were spots available but not very many in the B Loop, so reservations should be made. Many sites could hold the big campers but read the descriptions of the sites before you book to make sure! There is a bike trail in this campground and this year we rode all of it – nice ride. The trail went over to the A, C and D loops of this campground, which last year we did not even know they existed. Some beautiful sites in the A & C loop and many with electric and water. There are also many sites right on the water for those who don’t want any hookups. The best beach and brand new shower house are in the C loop also. Great campground and can’t believe all the recreational facilities that are on this reservoir! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Our first camping excursion of the 2010 season and we had a great time! Early spring had the trees blooming and the weather was extremely warm. Kids went swimming in the lake and I joined them (it was cooold!). Very nice large sites afforded decent privacy. Restrooms are dated, but fairly clean (new ones were being built while during our stay, some construction noise present but expected). Nice bicycling paths throughout. Stores not terribly close, but Boydton has what you'd need in a pinch. Excellent value considering the price ($20/night). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to booking several days this summer. Beautiful !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Nice, shady sites, some waterfront, love the fact that all of them are in the shade. They are large, private. However, there are not very many bathhouses and to substitute they put outhouses that are not kept clean near sites. The bathhouses were also not the cleanest either. Beach was ok for the kids, the water was not the cleanest for swimming but the kids enjoyed it. Has a nice playground. Good camping for kids. Had good swimming area across the road but didn't have a good swimming area in the campground however, needed a better one. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This is a Federal Corp of Engineers Park. If you have the "America the Beautiful" Senior Pass (Age 62+) the camping fee is $10 for a W/E RV site. If no pass, $20. If you plan on coming here and want electricity and water you must book early. Booking window is six months in advance. Non-electric sites are usually available on a walk-in basis. Walk-in W/E sites are as rare as hen's teeth during summer months. We reserve on "B" loop. Our site had 50 amp power and water. No sewer. Nice dump station close by. We were a short walk through the woods to the lake and beach. Plenty of parking for camper, TV and our boat on trailer. Pets are not allowed in designated beach swimming areas. Kerr Lake is BIG at the dam and water can be rough due to constant summer wind. Water may not be fun for PWC or small boat except in sheltered coves. Great boat launch ramp and parking. Either VA or NC fishing license good on both sides of Lake. Sandy shore line great for swimming and wading. Most sites are not satellite friendly -- too many trees. Verizon 3G coverage was available. We love NBP and go every June. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Me and the wife love this campground. The lake is beautiful and nice beaches. Sites are huge and very clean. Campground is part of the Corp of Engineers. We return every year. No cable hook-ups but the trees and water make up for it. It is a have to visit, very quite and relaxing place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
Like most COE CG's, the sites are spacious and most are on or near water, with shade. CG consists of four loops with different amenities and sandy beaches vs. rocky shoreline. Walking/biking trail, fishing, boating and visitor center available. Only complaint was the site booked online did not mention backing up a long loose gravel drive. Had trouble getting traction and leveling. Almost would have fared better parking the 5er and scoping out the 1st come/1st serve for flatter spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
THIS is what camping is all about. 30+ years ago, I recall private sites being like this. Lots of space between sites, sites were level and large (at least the ones for motorhomes) and water and electric in good shape. The electric boxes even had a date and intitials of the last inspection, is it was only a year ago, so bravo to the maintenance crew. We were also impressed with the rangers and their constant patrols; saw the ranger drive by at least every 2-3 hours. When there was a problem one evening, rangers were there on the spot and quieted a group of visitors down and made sure we ALL had a good camping experience. For us, the delight of being able to swim when we wanted and where we wanted was wonderful. Now, if you have a tent, some of the sites are not so level. If you have a chance to look first, I'd advise checking out the site before settling on one. Which leads to the reservation system. It can be confusing and frustrating. They said ALL electric sites were booked, yet we saw a number that weren't used this past weekend. In talking with a ranger, he said that has become a problem and even though the reservation system says all sites booked, they have open lots on the major holiday weekends and they are unable to cancel and issue those to folks arriving and hoping to stay. Moral--reserve early in the season for the weekends you want. We will definitely return and bring bicycles for pedaling the bike/hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
I agree with previous reviews. I've stayed at North Bend a few times and will continue to do so. The park is exceptional. Clean, facilities are maintained, great path system for walking and riding bikes. The sites are large and nicely spaced to offer some privacy without feeling closed in by vegetation. Lots of swimming access and the lake is clean. My rating would be a 10 if sewer hookup was available. Phone service (trac phone) was available as was over air tv reception. I didn't try satellite due to number of trees at my site (site 86) but I did see other sites set up with dish. This is a wonderful place to stay for extended as well as overnight. I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Sites 139 – Site 88 B Loop – Cost with golden age $10 This is a big reservoir with over 50,000 water acres which stretches between the VA and NC state line. There is a visitor center next to the North Bend Campground which is close to Snow Hill off of I85. Actually there are 5 COE campgrounds and 2 or 3 state campgrounds on this reservoir, but not all of them have sites with electricity and water. North Bend has many sites with electricity plus showers, interpretive trail, swimming, boating, and a playground. It is a beautiful campground with some outstanding non electric sites 115-124 looking out over the reservoir and a constant cooling breeze. It also has some great electric sites looking out over the reservoir near the beach area and where you can put in canoes or kayaks. Our site was like being in heaven it had plenty of shade, right near the beach with a great view. It was 94 outside and we did not have to put on the air conditioner at all amazing. We would definitely come back here and spend a week here great place. One of the most relaxing and enjoyable campgrounds we have ever camped at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Last summer, we met a camper in Maine who upon learning we lived in Virginia highly recommended we camp at the Corps of Engineers managed campground at Kerr Reservoir. The reservoir borders Virginia and North Carolina, and there are several campgrounds on different shores. After exploring a few, we decided to camp at North Bend, the largest Corps campground. The campsites are spread around several loops and many offer lakeside camping. The access roads are well paved and the RV sites pretty level (some are gravel, some are paved) and all sites seem very generously sized. Water and electricity are provided April 1-Oct. 31, but one loop remains open year round (sans those services, at a $5 a night rate). There are lots of nice bike paths connecting the various loops within the campground, and a visitors center and nature center operated by the Corps are located nearby. This is one of the best maintained state/federal campgrounds we have stayed at. If you have a golden access card, the rate is discounted 50%. Cell service is decent, and with a booster antenna and a Verizon WiFi card, fast enough to work on. There's a small country store/BP gasoline station about 5 minutes away by car for basic necessities (milk, bread, sodas) but a real grocery store is about a 30 minute drive. There's also a pizza restaurant across the street from the country store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This army corps of engineers park is very nice. The park is very large with about 250 sites. All sites are gravel with 8x8 timbers for borders. Each is generously laid out with a picnic table and campfire pit. There was PLENTY of room for everything. There are several sites on the lake but all are just a short walk to the beach. Some of the bathhouse were in need of some serious cleaning. There were bugs and spiders all over the place. Overall this is a real nice place and we will return but I will try to avoid those certain bathrooms. :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$10
This is the third year there--I love it there i had site #98 it's big but watch out for big trees when you back in. I was there with Loners on wheels group and we all had a wonderful time I will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Concur with the other comments. This is a GREAT place...we'll go back a lot! You can get some very wonderful waterfront sites if you can do without hookups. Staff there told us that it is hard to get into during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is our favorite campground. Very large sites and the lake is a great recreation area. Well maintained and run. At $18 a night with electricity or $14 without, also a great value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$18
A great place on Kerr Reservoir. It is layed out generously. The sites are clean and well maintained. The bath houses are dated but clean. The rangers were friendly. We like the opportunity to reserve specific sites through Reserve America, without the 7-day minimum requirement on the NC side of the lake. There are numerous sites we would have liked. Fortunately, we only live an hour away. We will be back often. We may have found our favorite spot close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Nice large, level sites, meal preparation table, picnic table, fire pits, landscape timbers, outing parking area. Five swimming areas, two boat launches. Great Saturday dinners at nearby Palmer Springs volunteer fire station during summer months. Antique shops in Clarksville. Dark skies for stargazing. This park provides more bang for the buck than others. Get reservations for summer weekends. It is a popular place. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Great Park, if you like camping on Clean/Clear water. Provides access to Kerr Dam Reservoir for fishing/boating/water sking. Facilities has 2 large dumping stations upon exiting campgrounds. Some sites are really wooded and large. Our family loves to visit this campground frequently. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com