218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Kiptopeke State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (757) 331-2267
CGID3027

Kiptopeke State Park

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   9   8   8   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
RV sites in an open field, but full hookups and nice. Tent sites very nice. Wonderful walking, biking, birding. Great beaches and fishing pier. Nice staff. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Park is really one big field (except for the lane with the shaded sites) with an enormous width to the sites between the power poles. We could have parked our Itasca Navion three times over! Grass, so no tracking mud inside. All good, except for a lot of privacy. The beach is a comfortable walk away, and Wi-Fi is free at the camp store, about half way there. I really liked the park and will be back. One exception however; our neighbor gave us a bag of crabs (great, thanks neighbor!!) and we wanted to dispose of the shells etc. after dinner.... no trash receptacles.... anywhere! Finally asked the camp host and to my amazement they referred me to the camp entrance over a mile away! At one point they had recycling bins and trash bins, but they did away with them because "people made a mess". Sorry, but taking the trash bins away is not acceptable to me. We always dispose of our trash on the way out, but we were hooked up and didn't have a toad, and a 2 mile walk for crab shells was just too much to ask! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We camped here in July 2013 in a motorhome. It was my first experience camping in a state park and probably my last as the bathrooms were very dirty. Showers needed to be cleaned badly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
The electic/water sites are all on one big area. Some places aren't very level but it should be possible to get leveled up. There is one restroom for all of the electric sites, but it's large with plenty of showers. There is also a laundry facility. There are plenty of trails, a nice swimming area, and lots of beach for fishing. It's a long ways down the Delmarva peninsula to the park and the toll to cross the CBBT with a trailer is prohibitive. We will find an alternate route next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
This was a great place to stay. The sites are not all that level in some spots but we were able to get level pretty easily. They have some nice trails, beaches, and fishing. They also have my second favorite shower that I've come across in 2.5 yrs of travel. Pretty good pressure, great hot water, and a big shower enclosure. They even had cable TV. We had OK Verizon MiFi reception but it was slow. Roads were paved and sites were sand. We would have stayed longer than 1 day but Hurricane Sandy was head this way so we hit the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
A nice state park with a great fishing pier, a nice swim beach, good trails and a competent, pleasant staff. The campground is one of very few and may be the only VA state park with sewer hookups and cable TV. Unlike many Virginia State Parks, the camp sites for RVs are close together and not very private and there is almost no shade. The tent area is much better shaded although the sites are still close together. There is a lot to do in the park but not much close by outside the park. Because it attracts a lot of boaters and fishermen make reservations particularly on the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We camped here one night enroute to the Outer Banks. The office staff was courteous and helpful. We had an electric site which was available on a first come first served basis. The weather was horrible with heavy rain and storms throughout the night, so we did not do any exploring. The wife and kids advised the women's bathroom and shower facilities were dirty. Otherwise, our site was reasonably level and the park looked pretty nice. No issues maneuvering our rig, which is 53 feet long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is a very nice park. The site we had was level and large. The pier was very nice. The only complaint are the dryers in the laundry room. I dried one load for an hour and they still were not dry. Would have liked to stay here longer than 14 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
Big rig friendly, open and very spacious grass sites. Our rate was $35 for FHU, plus $1.50 tax, and $5.00 reservation fee. We did not make a reservation and we only stayed one night so I don't know if that applies each night or just the first night. Once you pay they give you a map and you drive in and pick your site. Very convenient, just off state highway 13. Very nice staff. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We've been camping at this park for years. Started off tent camping and now camping 2-3 times a year in a popup camper. Camp site was clean and level. The beach area was beautiful and the water was just perfect for our week long visit. The kids loved the daily activities scheduled by the park rangers and AmeriCorps volunteers. We did miss the Kayak tour to the cement ships. (Make your reservations early for that one). You can catch all the crabs you can eat right here next to, or on the pier. We got ourselves a nice bucket full in about 45 minutes. And steamed them back at the campsite. Total cost was $5 for bait. You can't beat that. My only suggestion for this park and for many other parks is to have a camping with pets section. Other than that this is absolutely our favorite park in VA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
The Kiptopeke State Park Campground is basically several large fields with Water, Electricity and Sewer hookups. Sites are poorly marked but it's not a major problem once you realize it relaxes the regimen found in most campgrounds. Swimming in Chesapeake Bay in the park is nice and is an easy walk from the sites. The park is clean and grassy areas are well maintained but the roads are narrow with many potholes. This was the highest cost I've ever paid for a state park and on top of the $41 for the site, there was another $5 for each dog. Although the location directly across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge is ideal and the staff very friendly, I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is a wonderful Virginia State Park. Electric/water/sewer and cable TV channels 2 through 15. WiFi is available at the campstore. The sites are grassy and fairly large, some are shaded some are not. The sites without shade are grassier. Nice swimming beach on the Chesapeake bay with concrete ships to block a lot of the waves, this is in easy walking distance of campground on a couple of different trails. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Many times we have passed by this park on our way to the Bay Bridge Tunnel. We always said that someday we would try it out. Well, we have to say, good job state of Virginia. Clean, quiet, well laid out. Good hiking trails. Lots of attention evident to keeping everything immaculate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This was very open camping: full circle of sites are open to every other RV camper. But was a nice place and the beach was nice even this late in the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
The sites in this lovely park are spacious. It is quiet. There are laundry facilities. The $5 per pet per night charge may explain the relative absence of undomesticated barking dogs. On-site recycling is in planning stages; at this time, campers are referred to off-site recycling center. We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
This was a nice campground, sites were large and level all grass. We were at site 76, had good satellite reception. There is a pet charge of $5 per night. There was NO trash bins close by, had to take it to park entrance, a long walk. There was a fishing pier and swimming and a small camp store with limited items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Just returned from another wonderful weekend at Kiptopeke State Park! Great place to get away, but there are a few things to know before you go. First, you cannot reserve a specific site. This may not be of a huge concern unless, like us you have a large (>35') unit. I recommend getting there on Thursday, if you are a weekender. Some of the sites (esp even numbered sites 2 thru about 30) are quite short and not level. These are great for truck campers, pop-ups or tent camping. Most sites are level and out in the open, typically with a good breeze. About 1/3 are shaded, nice too. The beach is a GOOD 5-8 minute walk down hill, but is a fairly short bike ride or even shorter drive (with close parking). The playground is across the access road from the campground itself and we found that adult supervision or an older kid was necessary for our comfort. Bathrooms are generally clean - depending on the clientele. The campers are typically extremely friendly and respectful, the opposite is definitely the exception. We will of course return given the proximity. New for this year is free Wi-Fi - only available on the camp store deck. The store is small and has the basics - bait, tackle, ice-cream, snacks, and very basic camping supplies (fyi - no milk or bread, or other groceries). Overall, another great weekend at this wonderful park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We really liked this campground. What a treat to have full hookups and cable TV at a State Park. We spent 4 days here, on the cool windy side, but had a very pleasant experience. The campground was about three-quarters full Saturday, and by Monday, the last night they were open, there were 5 of us left. The walking trails are well marked and maintained, the playground nice for the children, and seemed as if the fishing was good also. I knocked off one point for the $5/night/pet fee, and although the bathrooms were extremely clean, I didn't understand why they needed to close them for cleaning between 8-9AM? It seemed an odd time to me. It was a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This park is a solid 8. $35 plus tax and a $5 reservation fee for a nice big 50 amp, water, sewer and limited cable TV site is a good rate when compared to the commercial parks along the Delmarva coast. We do not boat or fish, but there are some excellent walking trails here, a butterfly garden and lots of bird watching opportunities here. Also, there's about a mile of coast just inside the mouth of the bay. The bay bridge can be seen from the coast. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This is one of the places that I love to go to get away. My kids love the swim beach and there is another beach where I can take my dogs for a walk. I knocked off points for the pet fee ($5/pet per night), the additional charge for fishing (was free with camping last time I was here), and the bath house was filthy during our entire stay. There is also an additional $5 administrative fee added. Overall, our experience was great and we plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
We had a wonderful time. Our grand kids were able to enjoy the beach as there are concrete ships used as breakers, so the waves were not too big. There is a great pier fishing and even lit a night for use. Large playground and wonderful nature trails. A small store and level large campsites. Mostly shaded. Has boat ramp and quite a few people come for fishing. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be going back one day. Also the tunnel bridge to get there was an adventure you do not get to do every day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
One of the largest campsites I have ever stayed in. This is the best state park in Virginia. The only downside is that there is not much to do in this are if you don't do any boating or fishing. If you do, this is for you. There is some of the best fishing in the Chesapeake Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This was our first visit to this state park, and we enjoyed our stay very much. The park is neat and the staff was on top of maintenance. I do agree that $5/pet/night is a little steep. If you have pets, especially multiple ones, you are paying "resort" campground fees, and although the scenery is beautiful, this is not a resort campground. The sites are grass with no gravel, and when we arrived, it was raining, and had been doing so for several days, so we had trouble with traction as we were backing our rig into the site. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
The park was well maintained, the facilities clean and the staff friendly. The rate included a charge of $10.50 ($5.25 each) for our two dogs which I think is quite high. While some parks prohibit pets, we have never been charged extra before. Having full hookups and cable TV is unusual in a state park. Based on what we were told by the staff and other visitors, the camping fee no longer includes access to the boat ramp or fishing pier which have a separate fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
We stayed in this park one night as a stopover along the way north. The park was neat but, in my opinion, overpriced for what it is. We were charged an additional $5.00 for our dog but because of burrs in the grass all around our RV site, I had to carry our 90# dog to another area to do her business. The grass was mowed and I would have never realized the problem until I stepped out in my bare feet. Big mistake. The rest of the park's amenities may be worth the expense, but as a place to park a coach for the night, I would go elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We spent Mother's Day weekend here and had a wonderful time. The sites are level and were well shaded. Each site had a picnic table and fire pit. There are several paths to the private beach which are very convenient. The bathrooms were very clean with great water pressure. All the shower stalls had multiple hooks for towels and clothes. Wildlife was abundant and we even saw several deer. The "concrete ships" were an interesting site in the bay. Ask the park rangers for their history. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
As one of the previous reviewers said, the main part of the campground is just a field. The campsites that back up to the main road have more privacy. Our campsite was fairly level. We really enjoyed the trails and the pier. We saw lots of wildlife, including a baby fox. The park is on a major bird migration path - we can't wait to go back when the birds are passing through. Camp hosts and park rangers were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
If you are in to boating/fishing and beach swimming this is the place for you. If you are not you are probably not going to like this park much as there is little to do other than that...We loved the beach, it was clean and the low water was great for cooling off and for folks with small children. I was not particularly fond of the sites, best way to explain it, is one big field with full hook ups, the sites are only marked off by posts and the sites are all grass. The sites are wide enough but you still lose any sense of privacy as everyone is out in the same area. The 2 weekends we were there the park was completely packed full. The roads were dusty, needed work, but were okay as long as people didnt drive fast up the roads. This one boggles me...The security is very tight, however the 2 weekends we were there, there was a lady wandering the campground asking for money, she carried luggage with her and the park security never seemed to ask her to leave which I found very odd. However they will let you know if your vehicle limit is exceeded although there were boats, jetskis and tents everywhere.. All in all we liked the park, and would return if in the area...However;I think they have a few things they could improve on, but what park doesnt? Some have said this is Virginia's nicest park...I think that is a stretch, but everyone has their opinion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Our visit was Labor Day weekend. We love, love, love this park! We discovered it by accident a few years ago, when our reservations at Cherrystone were canceled due to a hurricane. We have never been back to Cherrystone since. True, Kiptopeke doesn't have pools or game rooms or a cafe, but the kids in our group, ranging in age from 4-14, have never seemed to care. The bay here is so much better and the kids will swim for hours. We always ride bikes on the trails and create scavenger hunts. The sites are huge, and this is one of the few state parks with on-site sewer. You won't be disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Kiptopeke State Park, Cape Charles, Virginia -123 sites- $31 with electricity and water and cable April 21 I had heard good things about this state park just before you go over the Bay Bridge in Virginia to Norfolk. The rangers were very nice at check in and we arrived on a semi rainy day during the week so had no problems getting a site during the Spring. The bathrooms were big and clean but the showers have no place to hangup your towels or clothes or changing area. There is a number of walks to take and a beautiful beach with soft sand. A fishing pier that overlooks the bay with shipwrecks lined up and the bay bridge in the distance. This is a migratory bird flyway stopover for a number of birds on their way south or north. In the fall there are thousands of birds who land here of all types including butterfly's. There are over four miles of trails or hiking, bird watching and biking. We enjoyed our stopover here but would really like to return in the fall for the bird migration. I was told you need reservations for that time period and it is a good idea to have them for the summer and weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Nice level sites. Staff very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
This is a beautiful state park right on the Chesapeake Bay. However there are no water view or water front sites. The campground is just a short walk through a wooded area and across the dunes to a very nice beach. There are 3 boardwalks with stairs down to the beach with one being accessible for those with disabilities. This has to be one of the top state parks we have ever stayed in, with full hookup sites, trailers and cabins for rent. It has a large fishing pier, boat launch ramp, and miles of trails. They have a large bird banding program located there, we didn't have time to see it, which we were told is very interesting. They also have interpretive programs available. The main campground area is a big open area with sites in the open and some in the trees at one end and along one side. Those in the open can get a view to the south for satellite. They even have a laundry room with two washers and dryers. The beach is a wide white sand beach with great swimming but no surf since it is on the bay. There is a large breakwater several hundred yards off shore made up of old ships. The sunset over the bay was spectacular with the Bay Bridge Tunnel in the distance. We will definitely stay at this park again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$33
We enjoyed our stay at Kiptopeake State park. It is great for young children. The beach was not crowded at all and the water was swallow with no large waves. The sites were very level and a good size. It has a nice play gound. Our only complaint were the bathrooms were very dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
We enjoyed our visit to Kiptopeake state park on the eastern shore of VA. The beach is very nice and not crowded at all. The sites are a little close together, but I've seen closer. The full hookups were nice as well as the cable TV. This is the only state park in VA with cable tv and sewer hookups. We will return here for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$80
I am always looking for places to take young children and Kiptopeke was great. The waves were small and we did not see any jellyfish though it was the first week of August. We rented one of their onsite RV's. It was a 1999, 29 ft. Prowler with bunk beds, bathroom with shower. The only thing you need to bring is towels and sheets. The RV was very clean and a ranger showed us how to use everything. Typically the RV's are rented only on a weekly basis, but if you call 30 days out of when you want to visit and there is no reservation then you can rent it on a nightly basis for $80.00. Quite a few of the sites did not have shade, so make sure you ask. Saturday night my husband took a shower at the bathhouse and said it was very dirty and stunk. Sunday night it had just been cleaned. Minimal mosquitos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
The park was nice, especially the beach. Since the water was fairly shallow it makes it really kid friendly. We arrived after the park office had closed and we were at a loss of what to do. The map did not indicate which areas were full hookups and which were not. And we did not know that it was a free-for-all/honor system when it came to what site you choose. Overall it was a quite campsite with limited shade. The hiking trails were somewhat lacking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$31
Great state park on the Virginia Eastern Shore a few miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel. Sites are open, grassy and level. Short walk to the beach on Chesapeake Bay. Park also has a nature trail and fishing pier. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is one of Virginia's best State Parks. The sites are grassy, mostly level and well-drained. Being fans of state parks in general, having full hookups and cable is a real treat. The staff is friendly and not at all intrusive. The facilities are very well maintained and clean. The beach is first rate as is the fishing pier and boat launch. We camped here one week after Hurricane Isabel came through and, while you could see where there had been some damage, the staff had made great progress in the clean-up. Since this area is right on the East Coast migratory fly-way, it's a great place for "birders". On-site educational activities include bird watching and banding by 1st rate volunteers and staff. Though it is expensive to get to - $24 each way on the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel for a motor home and toad - the trip is beautiful. We are kayakers and the paddling is excellent in the Bay off the park or, if the water's rough, in the nearby wildlife refuge with miles of paddling trails (check with the folks at the outfitters just outside the entrance to the refuge for tide info). The park also has several trailers for rent, a "yurt", large pavilions and an excellent playground for the kids. All-in-all, a great family campground with lots of outdoorsy-type things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Very nice state-park. Great fishing. Rangers were very nice. No public display of alchol. Nice sites some were a bit off level but very nice. Will be staying there again (soon). Only draw back is crossing Bay bridge tunnel 10.00 each way for cars, and even more for pulling campers. But it is worth the trip. Town is very small and "mayberry-ish" We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Have stayed here several times in the last 3 years and every time was great. Frendly staff and a nice beach. Great walking and biking paths. Nearby Cape Charles offers antique shops for rainy days. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Kiptopeke is one of the nicer state parks we've visited. Spacious, super wide sites, full hookups including cable TV, beach swimming on the Chesapeake Bay (with lifeguards). Fishing pier, boat launch, nature trails, minimal camp store selling bait,ice, etc. Nature programs for the kids, a hayride and bonfire on the beach. All for $25 a night! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Stayed there in both 2001 and 2002. Nice beach on Chesapeake Bay ideal for young children. Clean restroom, showers, coin operated washers and dryers, activities for children. The Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel is awesome, I love it every time I have crossed it. Cost for Motorhome to cross $14 (6 wheels) plus $10 for towed car, total $24 each way and a bargain. If you don't believe that, check out the alternative route for anyone living southwest of Cape Charles! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$28
Nice area for peoople with a boat. Has good boat ramp and fishing pier with a cleaning station. Nice family beach with guards. Very laid back area. Not a commercialized area. Very peaceful. The only drawback is crossing the bay bridge to go to VA Beach. It's 10.00 each way per car We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com