218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Pocahontas State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (804) 796-4255
CGID3031

Pocahontas State Park

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   8   9   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
What a gorgeous park this is! The sites are very well separated from each other and Virginia's system is that you get to choose your site after you check in. The only drawback is that many sites are not level which is more of a concern for motor homes than for trailers. The hiking around the park is excellent. Don't miss the CCC museum and the delightful 85 year old ranger posted there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
I really liked this park. It was spacious, has lots of biking/hiking trails and was big rig friendly. My site was 86, level, sites 88, 92 and 95-98 look like nice, private sites as well. There is a dump station (2 can dump at once). They allowed fires when I was there and the staff was quite friendly, helpful. I will come back here again, likely pre-registering as they say it gets busy once the pool was open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Fabulous campground. Well designed with huge sites nestled among tall trees. Surprisingly, many of the sites have satellite access. No sewer but good dump station at park entrance. You can make a reservation online or by phone. They will not assign you a site until you get there. You check-in and pick out the site you want. We were there for a week and had no trouble getting a nice site because we arrived on Wednesday. The park was full by Friday night. Weekends fill up in summer. So if you want a good site in the summer you might want to make a reservation and get there Friday morning. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
We were in this park 2 weeks and would have stayed longer if it hadn't been for park policies limiting your stay to 14 days in a 30 day period. The restrooms, showers, and laundry rooms were clean and park hosts friendly. We enjoyed the well maintained bike trails as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We were very happy to find this state park! The RV park options in the Richmond area are very limited. We arrived after hours for our first night. We unhooked the tow vehicle and drove around looking at spots. Make sure to check out the front and back sections. The front sections appear older and less level than the ones in the back. We found some long, wide, private pull-throughs in the back. Most sites, if not all, include a small camping area as well. The interior roads are good, and there are no obstacles such as overhanging tree branches. It is, for the most part, very quiet. There seemed to be some kind of event happening every weekend. The front desk staff is helpful and efficient. The downside is no WI-FI. Verizon worked fairly well, and we were able to get satellite. We stayed for 14 days and will most definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This was our first time staying at Pocahontas State Park so we decided to try out the park from a Wednesday to Sunday stay (5 days ). We got there at 4pm and was able to pick a site and call the office to let them know which site we chose. We picked site #118, which is a back-in site. I have a 30ft travel trailer and was very easy to back into our spot on the first try. The spot was level and very spacious. The campground is laid out in two sections with both of them having pull-thrus and back-in spots. They offer firewood for $5 a bundle of 6 pieces near the bath house in the second section. They also have a camp store in the same section that has ice and other goodies. This campground is ideal for pop-ups all the way up to motorhomes. This park has two pools with water slides and a separate kiddy splash zone with lifeguards. Staying at the campground gets you free passes to the pool for everyday you camp. Otherwise, it's cost money for the public to use. The park had scheduled events like S'mores campfire and reptiles feeding at the Nature Center with the park staff. The woman at the CCC museum was very interesting to listen to her stories about the area. All in all, we really like this park and we would return without a second thought. It's also very close to I95, so it's an easy off and easy on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Cost includes $5 "transaction" fee. Whatever that is. I agree with the last reviewer though. This is a beautiful park. There is plenty to do for the whole family. The CCC museum was very nice. The bathrooms were clean. The showers were of the newer type with 4 separate units on the end of the building. Unfortunately there isn't any ventilation in them so on hot humid days they get pretty steamy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
One of the nicest state parks we've stayed at. In the new section where we were parked were several pull through sites. Most sites look to be easy to level on, and could handle big rigs. The old section wasn't as well laid out, and sites looked out of level and short. Lack of full hookups only reason for not getting a 10. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Nice park located about 20 miles outside Richmond, VA. Rate reflects 50% discount for Disabled Veteran. Water and electric services worked well. Must use dump-site for sewer disposal, as no sewer hookups at sites. Didn't use the showers, but seems like all Virginia State Parks do a wonderful job providing nice facilities. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This is a large, wooded park fairly close to I-95 and the city of Richmond. Campground is in two main sections. The lower one with sites 1 to 65 was heavily wooded and we found the sites to be unlevel, so drove on to sites 66 - 129, which has paved pull through sites and has been cleared more. The park has several buddy sites where three RVs can stay together, which is a nice idea. It's a nice park and I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
We found the check in process a little interesting. Pick your site and call back and tell them the one you selected. We arrived on Thursday and for the next 4/5 days it was a conctant traffic flow of people looking for an avalible site. Other than that?? the park was very nice for a Labor Day weekend crowd. We would go back for a shorter stay. 29.00 is a lot to pay without sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This was our first campground to visit in our pop-up which is unfortunate for every campground that will come after it. We had a great time. We stayed for 2 nights and twice visited the water park which was awesome. Our 3 school age children (and us) absolutely loved the water park. The park is very clean, the site was shaded, and felt very private due to the trees. The bath house was clean and close to our site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
Very nice campground. We picked a pull through site in the back of the campground. Noticed a lot of tents and pop ups in the pull through sites in the front section, though they ask people to only use them if you have a larger trailer. Playground was nice, restrooms were very clean. The highlight of the campground was the water park for the kids. Very clean and staff was very attentive. Nice spray park and smaller area for the younger ones. Two pools: one 3 foot deep and one 5 foot deep plus a kiddie pool. Staff through out the park very pleasant. If you plan to go to the water park, get here early. Not a lot of chairs and they go fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
This is such a nice campground, it is clean, quiet, spacious, plenty to do. With gas prices at almost $4 a gallon we plan to camp here a lot this summer. We can camp here for 1/2 the price of privately owned campgrounds, it is extremely clean and we do not have to worry about permanent sites and golf carts!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Real nice state park. Would be nicer if it was full hookup. Had trouble with our 50 amp breaker but called and it was fixed within 15 minutes. Wildlife all around we saw deer every day we were there right next to our camp site. Nice playground for the kids in the new part. I would recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We enjoyed staying here. We arrived at noon even though check in is at 4pm. We were told to go pick a site and let them know what site we picked. We stayed in the older section with trees. It was nice and shady and a large site. You don't even see your neighbors. The pool was great, but did get a little crowded in the evening. We did have a car to drive to the pool. If not it is a 20 minute walk to the pool. We did the twilight guided canoe trip and it ran from 7 - 9pm. It was great! You get to see lots of animals and birds. We also went to the nature programs for the kids and they loved to see the snakes, fish, birds, etc. The bathrooms were clean and security and the camp host patrolled the areas all the time. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Interstate 95, exit 62 to 288 North to 10 East then about a mile to Beach Road turn right. Going this way is a very easy drive from interstate 95 without going through town and traffic signals. This park can accommodate any desire for a pull through, shaded, no shade, privacy, or near your buddy in the buddy sites. The sites without shade are very level, some of the pull through sites are level and the sites in the woods are somewhat level. You can pick your site when you arrive and call in your site number after you select your site. Most of the sites are spacious and provide some privacy. Water and electric only, no sewer. Paved interior roads and gravel sites. Nice grocery store, Food Lion, at the intersection of 10 and Beach. Limited restaurant selections nearby but there’s a very good Mexican restaurant, El Patron, and a good Chinese take out or eat in, Hunan Garden. Further down 10 toward interstate 95 is a plethora of restaurants. This park is a good place to stay and visit downtown Richmond and see the Museum of the Confederacy, the American Civil War Center, and the Edgar Allan Poe Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
One of our Favorite State Parks. Was able to park our 40' Motorhome, with room for the Towed. Area was Clean and Quit, as we enjoyed the weekend or Nature Trails. We will be back again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
A beautiful oasis after a wild day driving from the Outer Banks. We picked site 4 at the recommendation of a friendly host at the office. Nice and private with shade. The do charge a $5 "transaction" fee for the first night, but so it goes. The walking trails are decent and also open to bicycles. The staff was friendly and helpful. We got to pick our own site and then call in your location. We'd stop by again. It's a very nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We loved our site #91. We did drag our tow hitch but that happens often. Not far from home and well worth the money. We just stopped in on our way up to the Blueridge and stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Rated this state park campground a 7 because a lot of sites in the 1st section are not level. The showers and restroom facilities are a little dated and could use some upgrading. A nice mixture of shaded and unshaded sites. We camped in the 1st section, lots of shade but, difficult to find a level site. There are planned activities on the weekend. Staff was friendly and nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Great park, level sites. There is a huge pool complex here, but it is a public pool, and even when there are a lot of people here, it is not crowded. For the price you cannot beat it. Miles for hiking/biking trails. We have stayed here a few times and will be returning very soon. It is close to Richmond so that you can sight see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Our cost for camping for one night was $31, but we also paid $5 for one night for our dog. (Total cost was $36) I hope that they discontinue pet fees at the VA state parks, it's very unappealing. We were told to drive through the park and pick our site, there were several open because we arrived mid week. We picked site #100, this site was open, no shade. At this time, there is a firewood ban, and you are not allowed to bring in any firewood for fires. Firewood was available for purchase at check in. Most of the campsites in this area of the park are spread VERY far apart, so any worry of bothering your neighbor should not be an issue. We were able to bring in many TV stations with just the small antenna, with out issues. Sprint cell phone coverage was good, but no 4g yet in this area, even though Richmond is supposedly updated to 4g. Bathrooms and showers were kept clean, but the lights do go out in the restrooms at night. There is a motion detector on the lights at the doors, and if there's no motion by the door and you are still in the restroom, you will be in the dark, so bring a flashlight! The showers are individual rooms with just the shower, which is nice for privacy. There are no fans for ventilation though, so can get steamy inside, especially when its already hot and humid outside. The pool was closed when we were there, but we did arrive in the evening and were only there while traveling though the area, so this was not an issue for us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pocahontas. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because the pool was not easily accessible and is open to the public. We were actually warned by the desk clerk that it would likely get very crowded. However, our spot in the second section was very easy to access, fairly level, and right next to the playground and a camp store. We had two wonderful nights here, and hope to return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Great inexpensive stopping off point, for the trip down I-95 if you do not need to be right next to the highway. Sites were nice sized and well spaced. For a state park, the showers and bathrooms were cleaner than many private parks I have visited. We are actually planning a longer stay at this state park in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
Excellent camping cabins: in the past we have always camped here in tents, but since the remodeling they have one-room camping cabins now so we decided to try these. I really enjoyed these and they were very convenient for myself (being a single mother of three children). They were located right across from the bathrooms which were very helpful. I just wish they had been more shady. They were great and well kept (of course they were new)! I have always enjoyed this campground, as well as the kids, the best part being the pool. The only exception is I wish they would close the pool to the public. IT gets VERY crowded during the summer and the campers CANNOT enjoy it because of this. Honestly, this is the reason we have shyed away from this park. Other than this, a great place for fishing, pedal boating, and swimming. Great playgrounds for the kids. Great trails too! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a local park for me and is a great getaway for the weekend without traveling far. We stay in the newer section where the sites are more level, however they don't tend to have as many trees as the older section. The bath house does get hot (the temp was near 100 while we were there), however it is cleaned regularly. There is a playground for the younger kids to play on and a small camp store with laundry facilities. There are many other activities that the park offers for free or low cost such as: guided hikes, a nature center, kayak rentals, as well as the pool that is a .75 mile hike. The only reason for a deduction is due to the pet fee that VA State Parks charge. We had a great time and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Overall nice park. Sites are decent size, but must hunt for one with shade. Can handle most rig sizes. Roads are paved and entrance to sites angled for easy back-in. Has a pool, but it is a public pool and is VERY crowded. It is actually 3 pools (kiddie, 3 ft, and 6 ft) and the kiddie gets closed often due to floaters. We left the pool after 45 minutes because it was too crowded and could only walk around and bump into people. Have been here camping before and is always the same. There is actually an armed Sheriff there to handle the lines and crowds! I must include that in the lower rating since my 7 yr old loves a pool as part of camping. Bathrooms were relatively clean, but could have been better. There are no fans so the restroom and showers were unbelievably hot. We will come again but hopefully can avoid the horrible pool situation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We really enjoyed this campground. Our favorite part was the pool of course however it gets quite busy on the weekends. The camp sites we had (2) were pull throughs, relatively level, and in good condition. It was a very quiet and peaceful camp. The water and electric hookups were great. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a wonderful Virginia State Park. Will accommodate large rigs in both the pull throughs and back ins in the newer loop. Camp hosts were wonderful. Verizon Air Card service was good. Shopping and restaurants were nearby. Beware, there is a $5.00 per night per pet charge. Will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
7,625 acres with two lakes, but not for swimming. 20 miles south from Richmond. This campground will take a reservation, but it is a Virginia State Park and it is not site specific. You drive around and select your own site. This park has an amphitheater, boat launch area, camp store, fishing, hiking, bridle and bike trails, laundromat, museum, nature center, and playground. The bike ride is not easy as there are a lot of hills, dirt, ruts more for mountain bikes. The boat area and swimming pool are at least a 20 min hike away from the camping. Some sites have no shade, but many do, and there are a number of sites that are pull-throughs for big units. Each site has a table, lantern holder and fire grate. This park is easy to get to off of I95 and there are stores and gas stations on the way to the park. It is huge and a good stopover for one night or more. Lots of battlefields and history surround the area of Richmond (the state capital) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Big and modern for a state park. Not much to do in the off season (when we stayed). The big attraction is the pool in the summer. It was hard to find a level site. The "newer" section was more "big rig" friendly. This was a nice camp ground for a weekend get away, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time there. Kids liked the playground and the paved roads for bike riding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
This park was a great park with plenty of hiking/biking trails and nice canoeing. Staff was extremely friendly and our site was great. Plenty of stores within a few miles to get whatever you need. However a few problems bring down there score from what should easily be a 10. The bathrooms were usable, but not as clean as I am used to at other parks. Showers were same way. The biggest problem area is the pool. The design and layout are beautiful. One of the best and most fun pools you could ask for. It is actually 4 pools, each with its own attraction. The issue is the number of times any one of the pools was closed down to remove excrement or vomit from children. Pools are a big draw for local day care and I cannot believe swimming diapers are not required. Most pools I know of require them, but not Pokie. So what should have been a 10, is a 6 because of cleanliness problems that should be easily remedied. If you do not want a pool, then we can call it a 8 if perfect bathrooms are not required. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Our 1st time here and it was great. We camped in the older section, to take advantage of the more wooded sites, and were allowed to pick our site and just call the office to let them know which we picked. Camp Host greeted us before we even unpacked! New playground. Pool was wonderful, though really busy on the weekend. Lifeguards were very attentive. The bath houses were in good repair, but could have really used a good spraying down with bleach. We had a great time, though and we'll be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We absolutely love this place! A new playground has been built in the new campground area since last season. The grandkids loved it. We camped in the new campground for six nights. The sites are spacious and all facilities are very clean. The park staff is very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool area is wonderful and enjoyed by all. The honeybees seemed to be really bad this year at the pool though so if you're allergic, beware. It's quiet and the paved roads offer a great place for bike riding. We'll visit this park again on Labor Day weekend. We highly recommend this treasure and you can't beat the value for $25 per night which includes the cost of entering the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We camped in the "newer" portion and sitges were large, level, and well tended. I did notice the 30amp plug on my site was a bit cracked, but it worked. Pool passes (1/person/number of nights of stay) were provided. Pool is a car drive away, but large and well guarded. Biggest complaint is one of SYSTEM: we requested site next to friend and were not given one. We had to provide OUR reservation #, their reservation #, names, and dates. Then when we pulled in, were told, "We don't do that." Funny, they did it at a different state park. Pocahontas has "buddy sites" that accommodate 3 RVs in one grouping. We were not offered those because only 2 of us. Yet the sites went unused this weekend. That seems counter to good business sense! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stay here a couple of times a year. Great park with a very nice pool facility. We were in the newer section this time with huge level, sites. The roads throughout the CG have been repaved making a great improvement. The staff (mostly summer help) were very much in evidence during our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Camped here based on friend's recommendation. It was early spring and not many campers. Grounds are wonderful with lots of biking trails and the pool (summer only) looks like fun for the kids. Our concern was lack of staff or attention. Dumpsters were full on Thursday night and fuller on Sunday when we pulled out. Showers are large and reasonably clean, but the hooks for hanging your clothes leave clothes exposed to shower spray, so they still get wet; they need a shower curtain or divider to protect the clothes. They have a nature center and CCC Museum, but no staff, not even on weekends. Sites are not all level in the older section. Road signage is difficult to find at dusk (though park entrance is very clear once you get there.) On the plus side, rangers we talked with were very helpful and friendly. Addition across the road will be great. ALL roads recently paved and the newer section of campground had level, paved pads. Campground is convenient to sightseeing in Richmond or Petersburg. Woods are lovely, dark and deep; stars at night are big and bright. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
When in search of a 50amp campsite with sewer in the Richmond, Virginia area, I found Pocahontas State Park and was very excited to see a State park had these. Unfortunately, I called to make reservations and confirmed with them that they DO NOT HAVE SEWER OR 50 AMP. They do have a dump station and 20/30 amp service. This is just for everyone's info. Everything else is awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
A fine State Park; easy to find, easy to park in the pull-thru sites, spacious and privacy. Very much in touch nature, if that's what you like. No action for kids, just a nice campground in the woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Another very nice Virginia State Park. The sites are large and both back-in and pull-thru, sunny and shady, are available. There are lots of trails, a CCC museum and a nature center. It is about 20 miles from Richmond and we used this as our base to see the Civil War sites around the area. We could not get WiFi in the park. Even with the crowd that appeared on the weekend, the campground was quiet (and dark). The sites in the new section have 50 amp and ours was very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Very Nice Huge State Park about 20 miles south of Richmond. The park sites are nice, some are new and are still in the tree growing stage, but other than that pretty nice. Minimal leveling on our site. Only downside...people put chairs and other objects in the nicer spots, so you have to pick elsewhere, but most of the sites are nice, just have to watch out for the unshaded spots in the heat of the summer. The water park at the park is very nice and the bathrooms were nice also. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Overall a beautiful park. Nice large sites, but in newer section there is little shade. Activities are spread out - campground is far from the large pool complex. We found the pool very crowded during the weekdays before 3pm and on the weekends. We enjoyed the Nature Center. Found that the trails were not well marked and the trail maps are poorly done and outdated. Enjoyed the community outdoor movie. Staff was generally pleasant and helpful, but not necessarily knowledgable about the area. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This is a terrific state park with very quiet, shaded sites. It seemed that the majority of the sites were occupied by owners with families in tents and camper trucks. The sites remained quiet throughout our stay and our dog (English Cocker Spaniel) found it to be the most comfortable (i.e., nice hiking trails, lots of trees and bushes, etc.) of our trip. The park is patrolled regularly and the site hosts at the time, were very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and had a choice of many sites. By Friday night the park seemed to be about 85 - 90% occupied and the site choices were more limited. There was a surprisingly lack of mosquitoes and flies. A movie with free popcorn was shown in a common area on Friday night. We stayed here for two nights and will be sure to come back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
A great place if you want a scenic, peaceful weekend. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This state park is very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a very nice visit with the camp hosts. The shower rooms are separate and we did not use them because we use the shower in the trailer but they appeared clean and neat when we looked at them. The rest rooms were good, not perfect. We camped in the older section where the roads are not as well maintained but the sites are more wooded. The newer section has better roads, 50 amp service, but is much more open. The sites are large, well maintained, and a good distance apart. There is a nice pool/water slide but it was not open yet. We did rent a canoe and paddle around the lake. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We agree with the other comments that this is a hidden gem of a campground. Very enjoyable experience, nice large sites, well maintained, and clean. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This is a hidden gem. It is very quiet and all sites are spacious. We stayed in the older section and it was somewhat level. When we return we will opt for section B, the newer section, where the sites are paved and more level than the A section.We travel with our dogs and this is a wonderful campground to go with them. The location is wonderful for day trips to Richmond or if you just want to go to Chesterfield for a meal. Our cell phones worked for outgoing and incoming calls. There is a dump station at the entrance/exit of the campground entrance. As for television we were able to pull in 3 stations. We will return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
A nice place with ample space. Great pool, though someone left a floater on the day of our visit. Friendly people. Watch out for people traveling too fast down the roads. Other campers were not so considerate of kids on bikes. We visited Labor Day weekend 2006. We would return again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
The campground has two areas - an older area with lots of shade trees and a newer area with better roads. We chose the older area and enjoyed the huge campsites and lots of trees. There is one road in the older area that is pretty rough, but we were warned about it, and you'd be able to avoid it unless the campground was very full. I liked the fact that there wasn't a lot of light pollution, but we felt very secure. The showers are individual rooms, and it is kind of hard to use them and keep your clothes in a dry place in the room. We loved the proximity to Richmond and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
The campground has just expanded and almost doubled in size. The newer area has nicely paved roads and larger sites that are easier to get in to if you have a large RV. It also has a new bathhouse and large pull through sites. The only thing it really lacks is shade - a lot of the trees were cut down to accommodate the sites. The older area needs some work - especially the roads - they were terrible. You would have thought that they would have redone the roads when the did the roads in the new part. The pool complex is fantastic with the numerous pools and water slides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
We have been to Pocahontas several times, as my son lives only 5 miles away. The sites are large and all have a fire ring and a place to pitch a tent. We stayed in the new section, as they more than doubled the size of the campground in the last year. They have a waterpark in the park, and the price of admission is included in your camping fee each day. Needless to say, the three grandkids we had with us loved it. The water park is about 2 miles from the campground so you might want to drive there. (this is a very hilly area). The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 is that there is no cable or wifi. Even though this was a couple of days after the 4th of July, there were stll sites empty on Sat. & Sunday. We definitely will be back. Also, there is fishing, canoeing, hiking, bike riding and more to do there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Very nice state park. Campground is very far away from pool. Nice bike trails. VERY nice sites. Camp host was great. They had pull-through and back-in sites. Get one in the back, they are great. The pool was excellent. It has 2 slides and a huge pool. It has a kiddy pool with an activity center in the middle of it like you would find at Kings Dominion. Very quiet campground, the sites are spaced very nicely. We camped on Father's Day Sunday for 2 nights and there was noone there. Very easy to find. Recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$23
This was our first time at this park, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The park is nice and big, and the sites are huge, with plenty of space between sites. There are plenty of trails to hike or bike on. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
We stayed for 10 days at this campground. It is a beautiful park. We stay here regularly to visit family. On this trip we did run into a problem. Several tree limbs fell on our 5th wheel. 2 went through the roof. The park rangers were more than helpful. They stayed late to remove the branches (after insurance adjuster took pictures). They cut the branches and blew off the trailer. They also loaned us ladders and tools to make temporary repairs. We can not say enough about how helpful and understanding the staff was. I recommend this park to anyone. Only draw back is no 50 amp service or sewer, but the staff and cost make up for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2004
$25
Many sites not very level but mid-week there were quite a few available so we found a nice site that had a level spot at the top, we have a 30 ft class A. The road in the open campground loop was horribly rutted and filled with deep potholes. Some of the other roads in the park looked freshly paved so hopefully they'll get to this one soon. Dump was easy in and out with two ports, one each for coming and going. Bathhouses were OK with four individual shower rooms that were heated and not super clean but well configured. We visited the Petersburg and Richmond National Battlefield sites from the park and saw the Triple A Richmond Braves play at the Diamond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We stayed here in March '04. We found this to be a very, very nice campground. Spacious sites, very well maintained, very clean bath houses. The park offers beautiful hiking, bike paths, pool area for the summer and lake access for boating. A very good place for anyone to stay close to Richmond. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is a very nice state park, the pool and small water park, make it a cut above. The site are very nice but a bit unlevel on some. Every site has a flat gravel pad for tent camping or whatever. The picnic tables were anchored to the ground, a first for me, so you had to set up around the table. Great for families that like pools. There are many walking trails also and some biking trails.A must campground if you live or are driving thru Virginia. We stayed in a travel trailer in 2003. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Nice Virginia State Park. Stayed over July 4th Holiday weekend and park was full. New swimming pool with small waterpark opened that weekend. Pools were very crowded due to day use from local community. Sites were a little difficult to level. Shopping areas are close to the park. Park is located in outskirts of Ricmond and locating the park was a bit difficult. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Really Great Va State Park Campground. We enjoyed the Large Sites, with the Fall Colors. This is a Highly Recommended campground near Richmond Virginia! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com