206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Maddox Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (757) 336-3111
CGID3032

Maddox Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
550
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   7   7   3   5   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Very nice campground. No problem from making reservations to check in. Office staff was very friendly. Park was very clean; trash pickup four times a day. Quiet at night. Close to National Park . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This is an older campground close to the national seashore. The website states that there is cable hook ups, but it is only at the seasonal sites, no Wi-Fi. Our site was fairly level pull through in the G section. Staff was friendly in the office and trash is picked up a couple times a day. The facilities were old, but clean. This seems to be the case with all the campgrounds on Chincoteague. The bug guy comes to spray nightly. I would probably try to stay elsewhere if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Great location. Quiet just the way we like it. Staff very friendly. Bathrooms could be cleaner, but that-s hard to do when some of the campers make the mess soon after they are cleaned. Would like to see sewer hook-ups for J row. Skip the cable. Overall very nice place. Been there every year for the last 6 years and will be there for many more I hope. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Clean campground, close to National Park entrance. Lots of seasonal sites but good sites with marsh views for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Over one hundred seasonals which made the campground feel more like a trailer park. Didn't seem as though any of the other campgrounds on the island were any better though. The people were very nice and helpful. Didn't like the fact that the campground was over run by cats though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Maddox Campground is exactly that A Campground. It is unpretentious, reasonably clean and quiet. It is not a destination campground. For those who need to be entertained and pampered this is not the campground for you. We stayed there from 7/24/2010 - 8/7/2010 The pool is small but usable, store is OK Laundry facilities are adequate and operational. Game room, not really a game room. Sites are reasonably sized however those with large rigs with slide outs and an add a room that also require an additional parking spot and a place for a screened in pavilion and a spot for the kids’ tent, one site will be a bit tight. Many nice shaded spots for both RV’s and tent campers but there are quite a few non-shaded area too (which are generally filled with the Johnny-come-lately's). The restroom/bathhouse facilities are not fancy, they were cleaned once daily while I was there. No bears or raccoons but there are gulls that are just as bad and much noisier. Don’t leave your trash out unless you want to wake up at 4:30 am, trash is picked up twice daily. There were lots of people with pets (dogs), we left the dog at grandma’s because dogs are not allowed on Assateague, they did not charge me for the parakeet who does not mind being left alone for the day in the motorhome. Chincoteague Island Mosquito man visits daily in the evenings but still bring lots of bug spray or bug clothes. This year was a dry year so mosquitoes were not much of an issue. We had one really big rainstorm. It deluged for a good hour straight. The staff kindly warned the tent campers that they would get flooded (puddled) out and they did. Power flickered for about a minute, I was very surprised that there was no problem with sewage back up; talking to the permanent site holders they said that is usually not an issue unless they get more than 3 or 4 days worth of straight heavy rain. They do not allow unlicensed vehicles in the campground so if you rent one of those scooter things you can’t bring it into the campground. But you really won’t need them anyway, bring your bikes. Big plus, Maddox is close to everything. We spent two weeks there and we went everywhere by bike. Chincoteague Island vacationer friendly and touristy type stores and restaurants just head left up Maddox Blvd. The beaches on Assateague are easily reached by bike. The pace was set by my 8 year old son on a 16” bike, I followed with my mountain bike and child-trailer full of beach gear. The unguarded beach is a leisurely 15 minute pedal on a flat paved path through the refuge. The guarded beach at the end of Assateague is about twice as far about 30 min with about 1/3 of it on the busy beach access road. I was nervous about my son traveling on but we made it there several times without incident. We liked Maddox camp ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This park is built on a swamp marsh. The mosquitoes will eat you alive. We were unable to sit outside without covering in Deet spray. We literally had to run from our car to our motorhome when site seeing. There are not many transient sites available during the pony swim and they make you pay for 4 days in advance. We were put in the tent section with a "weak" 30 amp service. I don't know why anyone would want a permanent site at this park. The only reason we stayed here was because the more popular Toms Cove park was booked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
Bath houses were closed. Lots of messy looking seasonals in the front of the campground. Roadways were narrow. You can drive though but it is difficult to pull out of the pull through due to the decks that the seasonals put in. Ground is grass and sandy dirt. Not a bad location but it is just a place to stay to go to the National Refuge not a destination park. I find it hard to believe people would seek to have a seasonal site. Also drove through Toms Cove and it is similar though the sites were shorter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
This is a very nice park. They do not take credit cards. It is very close to the wildlife refuge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
My wife and I have visited this park for the past four years. The staff is friendly, and unobtrusive. We find the park a good place for a late summer getaway. The spacious sites were clean with picnic tables, fire rings and convenient full hookups. At night the rotating beam of light from the nearby Assasteague Island Lighthouse is something to see. We typically visit during the week before Labor Day and find the park very quiet since most folks with children are either back home with the kids in their first week of school or preparing for the start of school. Chincoteague remains a quaint town and the park provides a good base from which to visit the local shops, rent a small boat and fish the many tidal creeks and sounds or to spend time across the channel at Assateague National Seashore. Mosquitos are a challenge but this should be expected since you are on a barrier island surrounded by massive amounts of tidal marshes. The rest rooms are old but the staff makes a consistent effort to keep them clean. The park is on a prime site for condominium development so each year we hear rumors of an impending change. We will continue to return as long as the park is there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
We've stayed here twice, primarily because of the park's proximity to Assateague Island. It is an easy bike ride from Maddock's to the National Park on Assateague, which is beautiful. I can't say as much for the RV park. The bath houses are very old and not that clean, as well as inadequate to handle a full park. Over Memorial Day, I stood in line for 30+ minutes waiting to get a stall. There are a number of year-round trailers in the park, some of which are not very attractive. The park is situated on a beautiful salt marsh but oddly, the front row sites for RVs REQUIRE that you park with your back to the marsh. We selected an end-of-row site that we backed into so that we could see the marsh from our trailer and while under our awning. After getting set up, the staff came roaring over and made us turn the trailer around, so that our view was of the old, rusting, in-park trailers. Why anyone would lay out a park this way, or enforce such a rule, is entirely unclear to us. I think we have stayed at Maddock's for the last time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$00
Disgusting. Upon entry it strikes you immediately, signs. Do this, don't do that, everywhere. The rules are just short of unbelievable. Check your "fine print" when you check in. If you leave your pet on your campsite alone, they will have it removed by "local Authorities". What if you go to the bathroom or the pool? Much less see the sights where animals are not allowed. They conveniently have the number of a local pet sitter. Probably a cousin or something. Of course they don't tell you about this ahead of time. Very short pool hours. You can buy propane at twice the going price but at very limited times. Bathrooms and showers that are wood, rotting and ancient with many coats of paint. Probably less than a dozen fire rings in the entire campground. They tell you "steal one from another site". The campsites are so small that we couldn't fit our car and pop up in at the same time. Had to park partially in the driveway. Utilities centralized to cover 4 sites at a time (couldn't even get close). Problems with those utilities. Our particular area of campsites were very well lit at night, and we were not close to the check-in area. We left early so they kept our money and gave us a raincheck (doubt we will be back). I don't usually complain about campsites, but this was bad. We stayed at a real nice one in Pennsylvania earlier in our trip. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$45
361 utility hookups, 100 sewer, and the rest are tent sites. We love this place. It is our favorate place to 'get away' for a weekend. Easy bicycle ride to Asseateague Island National Park. This place fills up quickly so call for reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$33
We travel to Chincoteague every year for a quiet vacation. Usually we stay at a hotel; this is the second time we went in our RV. Maddox is the closest to the Assateague Beach. You can drive, bike or rent a moped over to the beach. (By the way, you can bring your RV over to Assateague Island, but because Assateague is a National Refuge, dogs are not allowed-not even in your vehicle.) Assateague has some nice walking/biking trails. Lots of wild-life to see; a good chance that you will see some wild ponies! Maddox is a pretty level campground, with security at the gate. They have a pool,a mini-golf course, small playground and a little store. There are good eating places within biking or walking distance and some nice shops to browse. Bring your bug spray...the area is known for their mosquitoes. I will be back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com