224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Interstate Overnight Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (540) 382-1554
CGID3034

Interstate Overnight Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   2   5   5   5   4   5   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Take Note! Campground has no facilities. Bath house was not cleaned. Three of 4 toilets in both restrooms not operable. Plywood covered the deteriorated floors. Okay for overnight, if only using on-board facilities. Expensive for what you get. Payment is cash or check only. Stayed here plenty of times when kids were students at VT. No upgrades done in the last seven years, at least. Bulldoze the bath house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
When we plugged in our Class A we got an error code of "reversed polarity" and therefore couldn't use their electric. We spent the evening on the generator which we hated to do since we were mere feet from the buildings of an extended care facility. We did not hook up the sewer or use any part of the facility. We merely parked as you would in a WalMart parking lot. When we reported the problem the next morning, the lady at the desk went off on my husband. She dissolved into a long diatribe about "us people in big rigs wanting something for nothing." Bottom line - the wiring is screwed up and will potentially damage your rig and/or appliances if you take the chance of staying here...even just overnight. I am reporting this as a service to other "big riggers". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This is fine for a 1 night stop if all you need is hookups. The bathrooms were cold and dirty. The sites had snow on them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
This campground is exactly as advertised - an easy off/on "Interstate Campground". If you expect anything more you will be disappointed, but if that is what you want then you'll be happy. Note this is your basic gravel lot type of campground. There are two basic areas, one in front of the mobile homes (about a dozen of them) and another located behind the mobile homes. Additionally for us it is right down the road from Virginia Tech and offers utilities while attend football games and other events. Frequently there are a number of other RV'ers in the park also attending VA Tech events. I have yet to find it filled to capacity. I have stayed here about 1/2 dozen times during the past year and expect to do the same for the next three years till our son graduates from VA Tech (hopefully or I'll have the sell the RV to pay for him to continue). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is what it is, an overnight campground. It was quiet and the owners pleasant. It was basically a parking lot for campers. We were satisfied with it for a one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
There is no cable available. I'm not sure the previous poster stayed. Didn't see the owner, but that is OK. Noise was VERY present, but it was somewhat dimmed. This is strictly at place to stay when you have visiting to do - no amenities of any kind. There are really only 3-4 sites available for traveling public. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Never again, except to just stop for the night when nothing else is available. There was a 50 amp receptical, but did not work. Had to settle for 30. No pull thru sites that I saw, had to disconnect the car and back into a site. No one around to talk to, just left the money in an envelope and went on my way. I will drive a few extra miles before staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Unlike others, I had not problem contacting the very warm and helpful owner/manager. Perhaps it was difficult to reach her in the recent past as her husband was ill and has since passed. This is an older campground intended for overnighters and a few seasonals. It was clean, quiet, convenient, and reasonably priced for a full hook-up with cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
As mentioned, it's an overnight stop, and that is all. It is about a 1/2 mile off the interstate, so it is convenient. No problems checking in, just bring cash. Denny's and Cracker Barrel are close by for your dining needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Gravel parking lot with working full hookups. If we didn't need to get closer to our destination I would have stayed at Ft. Chiswell. This is overpriced. I did manage to piggyback onto an internet signal from the hotel next door from which I'm writing this. Make sure you turn into the upper lot before the white house or you will find yourself going all the way to the back where there isn't room enough to turn around without dropping your towed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Strictly a place to sleep for the night. No frills with easy access on and off I81 (exit 118). It works somewhat fine for us as we can leave after work and get 3 to 4 hours down the road before nightfall. We are located in Hickory NC. The complaints regarding the managers not answering the phone and door are well founded. I spoke with one of the seasonal campers who stated that it was difficult to speak with anyone. I was concerned about leaving without a receipt (cash in a envelope at the front door) since it left me without proof of payment. I may stay again but would like to find another easy spot to jump into for the night around Roanoke VA. Denny's is within walking distance as it is located pretty much at the entrance of the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
Not much, but the only alternative within 50 miles. Basically a gravel parking lot where you register youself, pick any vacant site, and leave your money (cash only) in an envelope. People who run it are hermits, won't answer their door, and never come out. But, again, it is better than parking on an interstate median strip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Okay for a one-night stopover. Dusty and absolutely no recreation or amenities other than the basics. Not for longer than one day. Office is almost always closed, with a note at the door to fill out the front of a provided envelope and put your money inside. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com