219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Occoneechee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (434) 374-2210
CGID3035

Occoneechee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   10   8   7   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
It's a nice park with well-maintained, but tight roads. Most of the sites are ample in size and relatively level. The bathhouses are generally clean, but not exactly sparkling. I guess we are spoiled by Disney and their pest control regimen, but I found this park to be quite buggy. The other major problem was that there was virtually no cell phone or data service available. This might not be a problem if you're trying to get away from it all. but might be if you want to extend your stay by mixing in a bit of work. All of the staff were very helpful and the camp host was very friendly, as well. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Very nice park with a great staff. It was early in the season, so many of the sites were closed. There are not very many sites that will handle big rigs, so get there early to get the best sites. The Orange sites are waterfront on the lake and several have excellent views. There is not much in the surrounding area, but this is a great park if you are a boater. There are two boat ramps and a concession that rents pontoon boats. While we did not use a cottage, they appear to be very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We stayed here during the July 4 holiday week ( 3 nights ) in the B-Loop since we wanted a bigger spot. The B-Loop is for up to 35ft rigs compared to the C-Loop. The C-Loop is good for tent camping and small pop-ups up to 30ft, but it's tight. The B-Loop is the green spots, but some of the sites can be tight getting a big rig into since the space is tight for an RV, tow vehicle and boats lining the drive into the loop. The waterfront sites (orange) are in the C-Loop and are only about 10 of them. There's two grocery stores in downtown Clarksville, VA ( 5 mins from the park ). They have a Food Lion and a Dollar General Market that carries most grocery items. There's two big things I did not like about the state park. The first one is the dump station is a long way from both B and C loop. It's on the main park road near near the Visitor Center. The second one is there's no pool and they have no area to swim. They don't allow swimming from the banks inside the park since it's so steep and rocky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$99
We stayed at a 2 bedroom cabin at the state park. Let me just say that these cabins are absolutely beautiful and look just like the pictures on the website. The cabin was new, very clean and had everything we needed. They provide towels, sheets, new appliances, silverware, plates, pots, pans, etc. They even had tongs and a flipper for the grill. We were so impressed we will be going back very soon. This is a very, very quiet place. If you want to go for some quiet time, it's the place to go. There isn't much to do in the area unless you bring your boat and go fishing, since the campground is on a lake. We basically just hung out and rocked our nights away on the wrap around porch. There is no TV and no phone. We actually brought our TV and antenna and were able to pick up four channels, but we rarely watched it. Great place to relax and catch up on reading. Clarksville is a cute little town with a few restaurants and antique stores. We ate at Gino's because we read a good review but we would not go back as it smelled funny and wasn't very clean. Stay at these cabins as you will be pleasantly surprised. We couldn't believe the price for a brand new cabin with everything you need. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Camped in a travel trailer to go fishing on Kerr Lake. Very clean and quiet state park. Sites are definitely limited in size, and amenities are limited. However, Clarksville is 1 mile away. Stayed in B loop. There was a bass tournament that weekend so a lot of boat traffic on the lake. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$36
This is a nice park, but sites can be difficult. No one over 30 ft should consider staying here. Some sites were very short. This is a nice location. Clarksville is a nice community and is just a few minutes away. There is no laundry facility at the campground so I used the laundromat there. There was boat traffic on the lake which was sometimes loud but only during the day and not unexpected. This is a popular lake for fishing and recreation. My biggest complaint is with the VA Park system in general. The pet fee is excessive ($5 per pet per night) and should be lowered. The nightly rate reflects the additional $10 per night fee I paid for my 2 dogs. This was an additional $70 fee for the 7 nights I was there. I know my dogs did not use $70 worth of electricity and water! I'll rethink staying at VA State parks in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
It was supposed to be a cold, rainy weekend but we took a chance and unwinterized the trailer and went camping. Loop C was the only loop open for camping but we figured that would not be a problem. We arrived Thanksgiving day at 1 PM and all the waterfront sites with electric were full. Don't people stay home and eat turkey with the family any more? LOL. We took site C16 and got settled in. The restroom and shower house was closed for repairs. The other restroom and shower house was open but we did not use it because of the distance. It was nice to have water and electric this late in the year. I understand the camp closes on 12-3-07 for the season. The water in the lake is down so it was fun to walk along the shoreline. You could walk for miles. This is a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$21
We camped here in April and the weather was great but the park was absolutely deserted in the middle of the week. We actually had our loop completely to ourselves 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed there. Many have commented on how narrow the sites are and it did make it a little difficult to back in and get our slides out (Campground C - Orange sites) but there are a wide variety of sites available and on another loop (Campground C - Blue sites) there were much wider sites that would not have been difficult to get into; though they weren't waterfront, they were more level overall and a little more secluded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
With friends and family being in the area of Clarksville, Virginia, we spent five nights here in mid-October, 2005 and enjoyed it a lot. Occoneechi State Park is on Kerr Reservoir/Lake in Clarksville, Virginia and it is a beautiful park with great views of the lake. There is a museum/display in the Visitors Center/Office with artifacts from the Occoneechi tribe, as well as books, gifts, and a few camping supplies. The personnel are nice and helpful. We had pets, and it being the 'off-season', we were able to get a nice site (#29) on Camping Loop C which had water and electric. Entry roads are well paved within the park, the camping loops are fairly narrow but paved, and some big-rigs may have had some trouble negotiating the turns on the loops as the inside has a rocky ditch for drainage. Some campsites had trees almost too close to the driveway and those with motorhomes may have had some difficulty backing in. The picnic table/campfire ring/lantern hanger pad placement varied from site to site. Ours was on the drivers side and with our glideout dinette on that side, and an add-a-room on the other, we filled the driveway and were unable to use the 'steps' to the pad. The driveway was pretty level at our site, but to open the rear bunk end, we had to pull up in our driveway, which left little space for the tow vehicle. In addition, the ground slopes down towards the lake, but the pads are elevated, so there is a drop off at the end of the driveway. The park features a number of fantastic boat ramps, and there is a playground past the Visitors Center. There are hiking trails throughout the park, and an amphithetre. The park is vast all with a beautiful view of the lake and bridge into Clarksville. Nearby at the interesection of Rts. 58 & 15, is a gas/convenience store "Uppy's" with icecream parlor, bait shop and eatery. Very clean and well maintained. In Clarksville, there are a number of nice restaurants, reasonably priced and we ate at The Lamplighter twice. There's also a mini-mall on the main street (Virginia Avenue) and many little shops. Further through town is a Dollar General on the right, and further up is a well maintained coin laundry, and a Food Lion Grocery Store is on the left. We had pets, and accordingly paid a pet fee of $3. 00 per pet per night PLUS TAX. That was a drawback for us. The other drawback was that there is no wading or swimming allowed at the park as there are underwater hazards (fishhooks) and numerous drop-off's. We did prowl around the area, and checked out a Corp of Engineers park, which we may try on a future stay. We've been tent campers on the North Carolina side - County Line Park and Hibernia. We did enjoy this park - very clean, well maintained and spacious. During the season this is a fishing mecca so reservations are recommended. Most of the campers when we were there were tent campers with boats and boat trailers. There were a few motorhomes and a few travel trailers. (Camping Loops A & B were closed during our stay). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is a very beautiful state park that we stopped at on the way to the east coast. The sight was a little tight to get into. Still, the scenery more than off-set this little inconvenience. Some of the roads are a little tight. So, if you have a big rig, beware. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Nice state park. Campground is located on Bugg Island Lake (Kerr Dam Reservoir). Lots of trees with level sites. Lake was very high from too much rain. Fishing, biking, and hiking activities available. Hiking trails were average. Park officials provided a wide variety of activites for a small fee during the weekend. 30' RV limit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Great setting, hardwood/evergreen forest, near or next to Lake Occoneechee for boating, fishing, swimming, etc. Sites are level and really well separated with fire grills, terraced tent pads (where necessary). Park has playgrounds, recreation room and cabins. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com