219021 User submitted reviews online!!
Misty Mountain Camp Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 108 user reviews. Phone: (888) 647-8900
CGID3037

Misty Mountain Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   8   9   7   6   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Great Campground. Our 33 foot rig had a nice full hookup, very level site. Pet friendly. Nice fenced pet area. Great staff. Lots of places to walk the dogs. Very pretty place. We had a great 5 days there. Nice laundry. Fully stocked store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We were parked in the upper portion of campground. Very nice although no grass at trailer, just gravel. When park fills up, the trailers are really close together. Very quiet. We had a couple of issues and they were addressed right away. Very nice staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Review applies to lower level of the campground; upper level is a dump and deserves a 1 or 2 rating. Well kept but oddly arranged physical characteristics (lower level bathhouse up a hill away from sites). Big dog running loose on day of our arrival (office said "It's OK, its owner said he's friendly"), pool was closed during our stay with no explanation and certainly no offer of a discount, landscaping timbers and an RV in the site in front of us made it impossible for me to negotiate the turn from our pull-through site; had to back up / turn out of the site to get out with our larger sized fifth-wheel. Better spots were available and I explained our needs ahead of time but like other reviewers said, that did no good. I would only stay here again if the nearby park was full and I could be assured of getting one of two or three specific sites to make arriving / departing bearable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
This was a pleasant campground. The turnoff into the campground was difficult to find because the signs were small, poorly located and partially hidden in a flower bed. Staff provided escort to site and parking assistance. Site characteristics (configuration, hookups, shade, level, length, room to maneuver, etc.) vary considerably. Consult staff before committing to a site when making reservations to make sure you get what matters to you. Upper restrooms were clean and showers got the job done, but lower restrooms were considerably nicer. Roads were in good shape. It was very quiet at the top of the hill in the back. My biggest complaint was all the guests, including kids, driving around on the golf carts. Price reflects a Good Sam discount on a water/electric site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Price reflects 10% Good Sam discount for 30 amps and water hookups. This campground also offers other options from no hookups to 50 amps/water/sewer. We’re not big fans of commercial campgrounds but did enjoy this one. We came here to be close to Charlottesville for a few days. The laundry and bathhouse are very clean. They have a fenced off-leash dog park, which we also enjoyed. Lots of stuff for kids to do which is not important for us. We stayed at site 29 which is right by a running stream. Our dogs enjoyed wading in it as did many of the kids in the campground. Some sites are shaded, others are in full sun. If satellite TV is important to you, make sure you ask for a suitable site, as ours was blocked by trees to the south. Roads and sites are gravel and all are level. Our site came with a picnic table and fire ring. Free Wi-Fi worked reasonably well. Good Verizon and AT&T signal also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This is a pretty little park conveniently off I-64. Our site was right across from the office and had good fulll hookups. We had a little trouble getting level and the site was a bit tight. Cable had limited channels, but reception was strong. Wi-Fi signal was good, but simply dropped off every now and then. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We visited this campground 2 weeks prior to our visit to reserve a site and see the facilities. We left with a paper where we had reserved and paid for our first night on site 31 along the creek. We were looking forward to camping on this site with the creek running behind us and were disappointed when we got there and were told we were on site 39. On getting to the site they sent us it was a small site and we were not sure about our trailer fitting on it. I walked back to the office and was assured that it was a 40 foot site and was given a second option for a site to choose. When returning and looking at the second site the hook ups were on the wrong side it was set up where you almost had to pull in and not sure how you would get your tow vehicle back out. So we stuck with 39 which our 30 foot trailer completely filled. We backed up as far as we could and still had very little room for the tow vehicle. This was a very nice facility with several trails to hike, a lake and a creek we didn't get to camp beside. There were 2 campground loops one up on the hill and the one below that we were in. Where we were at the bathhouse was on a hill. There were 6 different bathrooms and they were always clean when we used them. They were nicely decorated and very homey. The 3 on the left had little water pressure but the ones on the right were much better. They had various activities for the campers to participate in and on Sunday they offer donuts and coffee. Not sure about returning to this campground or not. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
Really attractive park nestled in the mountains along a babbling brook on a quiet road. Very good WiFi, very good Verizon signal, very good water pressure, convenient utility connections and friendly staff. Would love to come back in the better weather. Had to bail with a power problem in the RV and no service facilities anywhere nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$38
Stayed in site 89, upper level. It wasn't level and a little short. Check about you rig length before checking in. Bring all your leveling blocks or stay on the lower tier (camp sites by the office). There are pull-throughs on the upper level, but I don't think there's a single level site up there (sites 40 through 91). Cable TV a little fuzzy, but tolerable. Wi-Fi a little slow, but we didn't get dropped and streamed movies without interruption. Bath houses were locked for the winter, so I don't know about them. Grounds were clean. I was glad to see a couple recycling bins. We don't camp for roasting marshmallows or for socializing. We camp because we like to travel and we HATE motels, so creature comforts and convenience are high on our priorities list, with a little tree-hugger thrown in. This place is OK. Nothing to write home about, but it's not a wreck, either. Our picnic table wasn't new, but it worked just like a picnic table should. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Wonderful. Well maintained. Great dog area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We stay here as often as we can. Fully staffed. Well kept. Picnic tables are all new this year. Laundry has 4 washers and 4 dryers, 2 of which were out of order, which is why I gave it a 9 instead of a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Nice park. Our site was on the lower section and not up on the hill. Pool was fine when we were there. A couple broken machines in the laundry room. Has a nice rec. area and rec. room. The fishing pond was a funky color for some reason; the stream was nice enough. Store was above average. Had a decent signal(Sprint). Close to the beautiful Blue Ridge parkway. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We had reservations for the month of June, but only stayed for 3 weeks. We were given credit for the remaining days. We hope to be able to return sometime in the fall. We did enjoy our stay while we were there. The pool and the pool area were always clean. The restrooms and the laundry room were also very clean. Every day they had someone cleaning. We did stay up top in the trees and they do need to level the sites. They were also installing new picnic tables while we were there. It looks like the owner is trying to improve the RV park. We did enjoy our stay and there is a lot to do in the surrounding area. They were also kind enough to forward our mail to us after we left. It is a very nice park and we would recommend staying there to everyone. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there is a lot of activities for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Nightly fee based on a month's stay. The park is two parks in one. The lower park is level and close to all the planned events. It is easy in and out and has some large sites. Across the creek and up the hill is a different campground. The sites are not level. It is not fully paved, and the red clay and gravel roads are rutted and in poor condition. There is nothing level about the back woods campground. The sites are in need of grading and leveling. Some sites have decks that were installed by seasonals who had stayed in them previously. If you don't have a deck, you will be rolling down hill in your lawn chair. All the metal framed picnic tables are bent sideways from being on the slopes. Google earth does not show you the 150' elevation change from the lower park. The swimming pool was unacceptable. It was cloudy and needed to be shocked and properly treated. There was a big chart on the wall (visible to guests) showing it had been tested for chlorine, but that means nothing when it comes to real sanitation and safe clear water. You would not be able to see a child on the bottom due to the heavy cloud. We stayed on the upper park. Many people seemed to have issues with their sites upon arrival. We saw many making phone calls and then moving to other sites or back to the lower park. We felt very lucky to have a site with a deck, but our site did not readily support our 40' coach. Our landing gear had to be reset a few times the first week. If you camp on top of the hill, you will need a rake, blocks, and chocks. Services need to be checked by the park periodically. Our service was browning out. We complained, and it was confirmed, but it never got fixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We called and made a reservation. Were told that we could have site 51, but when we got here, we are told that the girl forgot to put it in computer. They then gave us their "last site" with only water and electric. It had rained the last couple of days, and our site was full of water and red clay mud. To get into this site you have to drive into a side street and then back up past 3 other sites. The road is narrow so if you turn wrong and get off this tiny road, you can get stuck in the mud as our neighbor did. The sites are very narrow and short so there is no room for your car. I called the office and left a message to see if they could find us some scrap wood so perhaps we could make a bridge across the mud to get into our coach. They never called back. Site is not level and because of the conditions, we have to keep adjusting our levelers due to sinking. We will never be back. We were on site 39a in the lower level We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Excellent park, the best we've stayed at. The bathrooms and showers were brand new. The sites were all level. There was a nice mountain stream onsite. There are rustic camping sites as well as nearby sites for easy access or overnight stays. They also have a nice Country Store. Would definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Campground is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Quiet time on weekends is extended one hour and that's nice. The sites are a little close to each other but maintained nicely. All the other campers I met were very friendly. We will definitely go back. We had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We were generally pleased with the campground itself. However what others have said about long hikes to the bathroom and the sites being on top of each other is true. Our main complaint was that no one is onsite at night to enforce the quiet hour rules. There are no camp hosts. We had 10 rowdy 20 year olds next door to us. We complained and management assured us the problem would be addressed. The next night the problem continued. Others near us also complained. We left at 9 pm on the third night when the noise started again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
The site we were on was level and open from trees for the most part for travel to our site and our dish. The roads were gravel, but the traffic was minimal. The place was worth the price. Travel to Charlottesville was about 15-20 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Given the time of year, we were able to get a spot on the creek with hardly anyone around. Would have plenty of space and privacy even if full. Got to know the owner and the philosophy for improving this place. Awesome bathrooms/showers - individual rooms just like home. Has a well equipped camp store with very reasonable prices. The rec hall is clean and a great gathering place. Karaoke setup is top notch. Pool wasn't open, but looked nice. They are putting in a kiddie splash pool area and adding a mini-golf. There are breweries and wineries within a 15 minute drive. In warmer months, they have a shuttle for canoeing and tubing - definitely one of the more reasonable prices. We will be back. The only downside, is the uphill walk to the restrooms and the rec hall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$46
Very tight getting in and out of our site (#2); we have a 40' fifth wheel with 4 slides. After some jockeying back and forth, got the rig parked so I could open all slides (no awning) and avoid the trees. Needed neighbors to vacate first to exit the park. If I had another site (one that was more forgiving), I would have given this park a higher score. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Lots of pluses here including the location, very close to Monticello and Michie Tavern in the beautiful foothills of the Blue Ridge, not far from the Skyline Drive entrance. Our site #28 was right on the street. The grounds are nicely landscaped. The minus for me was the long walk up to the restrooms and showers, which weren't cleaned during our stay. But overall it is a nice place in a great location for an autumn trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Enjoyed my campsite. Roads a little tight, but looks like an older campground. Very kid friendly. Only had one small bathroom for lower section and wasn't very clean. Needs updating. Good location for seeing the sights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Very pretty park, with a stream and pond flowing though it. Walking trails on site. No problem for our 39' rig. Hookups are at the rear of each site. Parking on the grass is allowed and required for longer rigs like ours. Needed 1 board for leveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is one of the nicest, cleanest and prettiest parks I've stayed in. We just wanted a base camp for visiting the Charlottesville attractions but also got a pleasant and quiet place to stay. The fenced-in dog run was a bonus for us and our two Cocker puppies. Our only complaint is the narrowness of the pull-thru sites. Our neighbor's sewer connection was in our front yard next to our patio. If we return, I'll opt for one of the more spacious sites over in the back-in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We stay at this park often when we want a quick getaway weekend from the DC area. It is clean and quiet with some great lots backing up to a stream. Privacy hedges make it even more quaint. They have a new dog run which our dogs enjoyed. This campsite is fun even in Fall and Winter as the weather gets cooler and the park clears out. Worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Very nice campground located close to I-64 and Charlottesville. We arrived Friday evening and was put in a pull through site located in section directly across from the store. Sites are a little close together but still have room. The back in sites across the road near the field looked nice and had plenty of room. Campground well kept and clean. Staff was very friendly. Hosted a bunch of activities on Saturdays. Good size pool and kept clean. Playground area very nice. Not sure if its new or not, but it is not listed on the website or their map, they have a fenced in dog run area. Good size dog run with benches to sit at. They provide doggie bags through out the campground to pick up pet waste. Everyone was very friendly. Campground has two sections, we were located in the lower section. The top section is up a long steep road. If you don't want to move your car while here and are camping up top, you can either hike down the stairs, or the road, or have a golf cart. Top area of campground looked nice but would not want to camp up there with kids. Will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
A clean and well-kept campground. Staff is very accommodating and extremely helpful. The park loses points because they tried to squeeze us into a tent spot. Plenty of open and grassy big rig spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
The site we were in was very nice. The other sites were very close together and short. Inspect where you are being put before paying. Our only complaint was the constant skunk smell at our site. You could not sit outside at all. Taking the dogs out was difficult because of the smell. The restrooms were clean, and they are constantly making improvements at this campground. Trapping the skunk for relocation should be their next project. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$36
This was such a cute place, decided to stay two nights. Rate reflects Good Sam rate. Restrooms were closed for winter, except for a shower near the laundry room, and restrooms in back of the office. The section I stayed in was all pull throughs, nice! If you stay here, site 4 is the best, it's right next to a wonderful little stream. Laundry is $1.50 to wash, $1.50 to dry, not bad. Water faucets are heated, so no problem leaving hose on all night. Campground has nice woodsy feel. There are separate sections to the campground. There is a great clubhouse for parties. Office has a neat store. Worth the $36 in wintertime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Small, clean campground with two sections. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lower section is great for short stays with room for big rigs. Hill section is steep but fine for longer term big rigs. Many seasonals in hill section. Lots of trees but satellite was fine in a few of the sites. Make sure you request a satellite site when you make your reservations. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Very clean and friendly park. Sites are a bit small, but each has gravel parking and a concrete patio with a table. Easy access to I-64. Free Wi-Fi and limited cable. AT&T cell and wireless was weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
We came here during Hurricane Irene to get away from the storm. This campground is very easy to find directions. We checked in after hours, this was very easy. A map and instructions for the gate were attached to a very visible board at the office with our name on them. Sites were fairly level and restrooms were very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Some of the posted operation times were incorrect however, these are very minor things. Overall this was a wonderful experience for a very bad weekend. Thank you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Small, closely packed but generally well-kept park. Only some of the sites are FHU. We had just water/electric. Backing the 30' Airstream into some of the sites is a challenge. The dump site is interestingly located with a narrow road approach. Those waiting in line on Sunday morning have to pull off on the grass to let you out. They claim to have WiFi, but it never worked, not even in the main building. OK for a "place to park" while doing other things in the Central VA area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Interstate 64, Exit 107. Easy access from the interstate. Very pleasant and well maintained park. Sites and interior roads are tight but can be negotiated carefully. We were in a 38 foot motor home and managed fine but we did need to unhook the tow vehicle before proceeding to our site. Interior roads are paved, sites are gravel. Our site had a picnic table sitting on a small concrete pad with grass between sites. The park has many trees. Power and water pressure were good, no problems. Free Wi-Fi and Cable TV and both worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
If you like being in a site close to your neighbor, this is the place for you. Kind of like being in a sardine can. After our slide outs were out we could not access our storage areas due to the camper next to us. Looking around the park most of the sites are very close. Wi-Fi was very slow. Cable with only 12 channels? Park was very crowded with lots of children running around un-supervised. The lady that checked us in was very polite & that part went smoothly. Our mistake was not checking the sites prior to paying. It had been a long day and we were just glad to get off the road. We would never stop back at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This campground has two sections; one is fairly level with a stream running through it. The other section is on “the mountain.” To get to this area you have to navigate a steep paved road that has some pretty good curves in it. There were numerous large rigs that camped up there, so it’s not as difficult to navigate as it looks. Based on amenities, this is not the worst campground. However there were some serious draw backs for us. I suffer from MD. When making reservation I discussed this with the person taking the reservations and told her we needed a site close and easily accessible to the bath house. She agreed and suggested a site on the mountain just across the drive from it. This was agreed on and the reservation was confirmed. When we arrived, we found that they had already rented this site and assigned us a site on the opposite side of the campground from the bath house. After some serious discussion they finally put us in site two rows from the bath house but we had to walk up a step, poorly maintained gravel road to get to it. I still had to drive. This CG gets its water from a well. We found after we hooked up that water was brown, probably from recent heavy rains. That’s understandable but we were not told about this at check in. It did clear up over the next day or so, but we still didn’t use it for drinking water. The bath house is fairly modern but not cleaned during our 3 day stay. When this was brought to the staff’s attention, they wanted to argue about it, claiming they had been cleaned every day. Unless the same bugs died the exact same spot as the previous one, the same paper was dropped in the same spot and the same exact mud streaks, (I think and hope it was mud) were left, it was obvious that no cleaning had been done. They also didn’t have any handicapped facilities in the bath house on the mountain. As stated, the lower level had the more level sites. This area also appeared to have quite a few seasonal campers. The sites on the mountain are very small: the area that you would park a camper were pretty close to level. Many are not much more than area you can pull of the road. Ours did not have a fire ring. We did not have enough level area left over for a 10x10 tarp. We used it, but had to make adjustments to get it close to level. We were told upon arrival the cable TV was not working. Wi-Fi did work, even on the mountain, but it is a weak signal and slow. I think the price that is charged for this campground is very high. We visited some other CGs in the area that where better kept, looked nicer and where about ½ the price. If they charged $20 to $30 a night this would be an average CG. At their premium rates, it’s well below average. For us, this is a campground that we will use only if our first, second and third choices are not available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
We arrived about 2:00 pm and no one was at the front office. The door was locked, and we didn't have a reservation. We called both phone numbers listed on their sign and had to leave messages because no one answered. About 15 minutes later, another camper pulled behind us, and he also tried calling with no avail. Eventually, an older gentleman showed up around an hour later to open the front office. I guess he must have been taking a nap. :-) We never did receive a phone call back. We paid and were assigned a site number. When we tried to park, someone was already there. The gentleman in the front office said that he shouldn't have been there because he was scheduled to leave that morning. We eventually got another site. Sites are pretty close to each other. We could hear the neighbor's generator running and their dogs barking (dogs were inside the RV). Hook ups were fine except the cable post was located towards the front of the site. We had a longer cable so it wasn't an issue for us. If you need to do laundry there, be prepared to walk up a hill. The boys looked forward to the game room, but it was locked and all you could see was a couple of video game units and beer cases. Looks like they were installing something in the room. We camped here because it was close to Wintergreen and Monticello. Also, it's easily accessible from I-64. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Great location, beautiful setting. We camped here during the Crozet Music Festival and had a great time. Our site (#48) was in the "mountain top" section and was perfect for listening to the festival music. Some spots looked cramped, others had plenty of room. We used the "mountain top" bath house and is was clean the entire weekend. The staff was very attentive and was available throughout the campground, throughout the day. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
OK campground for a overnight but not long term. Sites are very close and your neighbor's sewer connection is right alongside your picnic table to the point of tripping over the hose! Electric and water were good. Wi-Fi did not work well.The campground was full for the holiday weekend, and the smoke just lies in the camp. Really overpriced for what you get. It’s the only campground in a area with lots to do. Maybe we will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
WARNING!! Great location with some amenities - but that is about the only positive thing I can say. We were part of a rally of 15 coaches. Made reservation for FULL HOOKUP 50 AMP space 4 months ago. Space reserved for me was only 30 amp and no sewer. Moved to an "overflow" space - no sewer and the 50 amp plug was wired wrong and had an open neutral. Nobody around to check it or correct it. Moved to another space; electric was OK, but no sewer. The sewer dump station is on a far corner of the property on a very tight circle. Bathrooms appear to be early 20th century and were very dirty. Granted, this was a weekend, but isn't that when many people arrive at a campground. The only staff avail. was a NEW teen clerk at the reception desk and a work camper couple emptying trash cans in the park. We will avoid this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Great location and friendly folks. We happened to pick Jeep weekend, and get a free BBQ pot luck dinner, a bluegrass band, and entertainment watching folks put Jeeps in/out of the creek. Even so it was relatively quiet. The lower level looks level although sites might be small. We were in the upper level, and the drive up/down is frightening in a fifth wheel. Bathrooms needed cleaning. Good location for southern end of Skyline Drive and wineries close by. Minimal snowy cable TV (includes weather channel), good WiFi. We might stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We stayed here two years ago and really enjoyed it. It is a quiet CG but we were very disappointed with the filthy toilets. It looked like the workampers had given up for the season and were simply biding their time until time to leave. The crew and visitors running around on the 4-wheelers paid NO attention to the speed limits and dogs were free to leave droppings wherever they wanted to. Freezer foods were frosted over and not very good and they had no charcoal lighter fluid - which seems pretty basic. We stayed for a week visiting the president's homes, Charlottesville, Orange and other sites. We still like the location but we were really disappointed in the cleanliness of the place. Maybe a different crew will be better next time-we plan to visit Virginia annually but we will probably look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
I called the day prior regarding a pull thru site as we are 45 foot pulling a car. Was told no problem and a reservation was not needed for a Wed. night. We arrived on Wed. and were put in a pull thru that was not long enough to accommodate us not unhooking. Were told at the office no bigger sites were available. We had electric problems as our coach would not accept the power as it said low voltage. Asked to be moved to check for acceptable power and were put in a much larger site that was long enough for coach and tow. How was this available when just 15 minutes earlier we were told all the longer ones were taken? Wi-Fi was a joke.. too weak signal to connect. Very close tight sites. Would not stay here again due to the site problem we encountered with the front office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
This is a nice park that seems to be very busy, especially on weekends. I think a lot of clubs use it to do winery tours and college football games. We stop here frequently to visit family in Charlottesville and to attend the many music festivals. We camped in a 41 ft. motorhome and did not have trouble maneuvering the campsite. There is an upper level on top of the mountain that is very nice for smaller campers and also has log cabins. There is a pool and a game room. Their camp store is very nice, and the people are friendly and helpful. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is that quite a few of the sites are small and too close together, and you end up with your picnic table too close to the next camper's sewer hookup. We used Sam's Club discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
A great, family oriented campground where adults can enjoy themselves as well. The mountain location makes it perfect for a summer camp and the nearby wineries and trails make it interesting and fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We stayed one night in our 38 footer along the stream. Nice spot, easy in and level. Great when you are only staying one night. Looks like a nice park. Has an awesome camp store and very friendly management. I would like to stay longer the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site gravel pull thru and level. Utility posts well behind the sewer connection and may require a power cord extension. Cable TV posts are not close either. Cable TV service is not major as shown in Trailer Life directory. It has around a dozen channels and some of them are snowy. WI-FI shows strong signal, but my Skype phone signals were poor. I suspect the Internet Service Provider uses a satellite connection. Private phone no longer in office. It has been removed. I have to question how a fairly expensive campground that does have some nice surroundings ignores something like not having a phone available. Not everyone has a cell phone yet! Also the laundry is far removed from the campsites. For a large campground, three washers and three dryers doesn't seem enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We moved to this campground after finding we could not fit into any available sites at a campground at Louisa. We found the location to be good for visiting Monticello and other central Virginia sights. As others have said, the sites are very tight for big rigs. Our 5th wheel is 40' long and has 3 slides. We could squeeze our truck in at the end of our trailer, but not easily. The site was level and the facilities were good. The campground is recovering from a hard winter with lots of downed trees limbs and flooding in the meadow area. The laundry was dirty and ill-kept, but we felt that the staff had been distracted from routine cleaning to address the larger winter cleanup in the campground itself. We would expect things in better order after they've caught up on the outdoor cleanup. We thought the rate was pricey for what still was clearly off-season, but could find no better pricing in the local KOA's. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Nice park, but it loses a few points: the sites are in three distinct areas (right in front of the store, the meadow and up the mountain). For all the land this park has, the sites are on top of each other. You can access the mountain sites with a big rig - we were up there and saw several huge rigs. It's nice and wooded up there, but the squirrels throwing hickory nuts on our roof woke us up every morning. You do get a little road noise from I-64, but it's not bad. The bathrooms also need some work - the mountain bath house had a bad smell and only two showers worked on the women's side, and they had poor water pressure. The men's side was fine. On the good side, the staff was very friendly, the Sunday breakfast was delicious, and the park is quiet and well-cared for. We would return, but only as a home base and not a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The sites are pretty close together. The number 4 site is the "prime" site and is by the stream. The Crozet Music Festival was going on, and was fun because the music could be heard at your campsite. It was orderly and ended promptly at 10 pm. Location is good to Charlottesville, and wineries. We come because we visit our family. The upper level is nice and wooded but not accessible by big motorhomes. They have a nice office/store and a little deli called Greenwood is just down the road & has some wonderful items. I can't locate my receipt so I might be wrong about the rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
I'm not sure how to rate this campground. It's not a bad campground at all but it just seems like it's not polished off. I saw "workers" riding around alot in golf carts but I never saw them doing any work. The sites are very, very close and we had to park our truck in an auxiliary parking area because there wasn't enough room on our site which I feel is a design flaw. Ours was not the only one either. Several larger rigs were at the very edge of their site front and back and the roads although asphalt were very narrow at best. You had to be very careful driving down the roads. Upon check-in, we were greeted by a very pleasant older lady while a younger man sat behind the counter stuffing a sandwich in his face; what can I say to that; it speaks for itself. Tacky!! Even though it's very close to area attractions, I'd be hard pressed to return simply because the sites are so narrow. Friends of ours put their three slides out on the road side of their 5th wheel and it intruded into the neighbors site quite a bit. I would have been most unhappy had I been that camper. I did not use the Wi-Fi but they have very strict terms if you do use it. Cable was probably satellite due to the fact it only had 12 channels - total. Just know that if you have a large rig with 2 or more slides, or are camping next to one with multiple slides, the sites are tight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
The good first: campground sites and grounds were very clean and landscaped very nicely. The little pond and stream are clean and pretty. The tent sites are level and spacious. There are a few that are fairly private with big shrubs on both sides. It is a long walk to the restrooms, though. The bad: Despite making our reservations a month ago and requesting a site, we got moved, which was very inconvenient, as we were camping with another family. It made it difficult to share meals at night. The lower sites are much nicer than the ones up the hill. I thought the permanent sites up there were an eye sore. Having said that, the first row of the lower sites (site 25) is along Route 250 and sometimes the traffic is pretty loud. The pool is small and the sides are very slippery. I think the staff were very rude. They treated us like complete outsiders, or maybe a better choice of words is "intruder." We would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Our group of 6 camped here for a week in July. A couple of members had a problem with their reservations (made 8 months before). The staff worked to correct the problem, and still keep us all together in the same area. They ended up with nicer sites than they had reserved. We were in the full hook up sites on the stream (nice view). The sites are close together, but worked well for our group. The kids loved the pool and the playground. The game room was nice, but the few games they had usually did not work. The contractor who owns the games needs to do a better job on upkeep. The WI-FI worked well (a little slow, but not bad). The cable channels are few, but worked well. There is a new grocery store about 3 miles down the road from the campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us. When one of our group asked about a gas station where they could check the air in their trailer tires, the staff brought a portable compressor to the site to air the tires. The sites up the hill are more rustic, and there are some permanent sites also. Most of the permanents are grouped together. While they were not "resort" type set ups, they were well kept and clean. The road to the hill sites is gated, the lower sites are not. The staff said they have plans to gate the lower area. They are trying to figure a way to do it with out having traffic back up on the main road to get in. This location was great for sightseeing the surrounding area. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful. Absolutely will return for longer stay. Only downside was inaccurate information about surrounding area about roads leading to historical sites in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The roads are narrow and the turns tight on the lower section where we stayed. Sites are tightly packed; pull thru sites are rather short. Cable channels are limited, satellite signal is chancy due to the trees; select your site carefully if you need satellite. Some sanitary connections are much higher than gravel parking pad requiring sloped drain pipe assistance to avoid "packing" of sanitary drain line. Cable TV connections are quite a way from the normal pedestal location. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet park, but some road noise. OK for an overnight, but would not want to stay here for more than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
I was disappointed with this campground. I stayed in the upper part of the park. The sites were really close together. I was in a pull-through site and I would say that my travel trailer was about 3 feet from my neighbor. The pool was in really bad shape. The kids kept falling because the area around the pool was covered in a slippery slime coating. The store was nice, and the general atmosphere was good. It was easy to find and the grounds were well kept. In summary, it is OK, but not great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Very nice campground for older people. Very unfriendly to children, especially little boys. They do not have any of the events they advertise on their website for weekend. The fishing pond was very bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
Very nice park with friendly staff. We were in the lower section which was very quiet despite being full. Sites are fairly level and shaded. Wi-fi worked fairly well and cable, though limited, was fine. This is a great location for sightseeing Charlottesville and the wineries in the area. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Roads are paved, sites gravel and most are level. There is a section at the bottom of the hill that is close to the office that seems nice. There is another section that goes up a long narrow winding road. There are several long term RV in this section and some are very junky. So if you camp here stay in the lower section. Not sure I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is a nice park. Sites are rock and fairly spacious, but roads are somewhat narrow but paved. Wifi and cable is good. The meeting facilities makes it an excellant site for rallies and other such gatherings. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
We stayed here two nights to take a full day to explore Shenandoah National Park (NP). We were given directions to our site through a narrow area with low hanging branches and had to find a way to back up and turn around in a very tight area. Although we paid for 50 amp service, their installed circuit breakers would only provide 35 amps (measured) before tripping. Office personnel were not sensitive to our concerns so the breakers weren’t changed until late the second day after additional complaints. The back-in sites are tight with cars/trucks parked on both sides of the road. There is an extra charge for pets per day with no designated pet walking areas. We don’t plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
This was a very clean park with a friendly staff. It is near the Shenandoah National Park and convenient to both Waynesboro. The park is very quiet with no traffic noise. The paved roads and concrete pads make pulling in here an easy task. We were pleased with all aspects of the park and we would not hesitate to stay there again. They are a Good Sam's park so a 10% discount is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
We stay here 3-4 times a year to visit family. We always reserve 3 months ahead of time. We never get what we request, even though we are assured at time of reservation it is available. They promise you what you want, then move you around into more undesirable sites. This has happened the last 4 times we reserved. At 40' with 4 slides and 2 satellite systems, we want specific sites, which they have. Staff has no desire to accommodate once you are here, because if you cancel then, you have to pay for a night. We are parked next to the site we want, which is empty, but we cannot have it. We are going to the KOA from now on. Nice people there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is our second stay at Misty in recent years. We find the staff to be friendly and helpful. It rained the first night, so our site was a bit muddy in spots, especially near the road. We had noisy neighbors one night and the staff addressed and solved the problem immediately. WiFi connection is low, but usable. It did not work the evening it rained. As others have said, the cable stations are limited, but we only used the TV to get the weather and other news. The grounds are well maintained and improvements continually made. From our site creekside, we could watch our 5 year old play across the field on the playground. Restrooms are a plus. Always clean and spacious, other campgrounds call them family style. You have a large space with your own shower, toilet, and sink with a locked door. My husband and I can take our 5 year old in and have plenty of room to shower and dress with a child along. We used the creekside restrooms, so I don't know if this is the style in the mountainside bathhouse. The campground is nicely located to the nearby interstate so that day trips to Charlottesville, Staunton, or the Blue Ridge Parkway are within easy reach. Suggestions for improvement: increase WiFi connectivity, gravel on sites prone to mud, and a bench in the showers for sitting to dress/undress We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This was a very good camping experience. Site accessibility is very good, utilities are in good shape, our site, though gravel, was fairly level. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, and the general ambiance was excellent. There is a very healthy creek running through the park, and a fishing pond. A group of sites further up the hill provides more solitude. And we should point out that this is the only good campground in the area, midway between Waynesboro and Charlottesville. If you're visiting Monticello, this is the place to stay. Don't neglect James Monroe's home, either, just a few miles from Jefferson's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
Good location for visiting Monticello, etc. We stayed in upper section. Appeared to be three trailers with people who are residing there. They went to work at same time each day and came home at same times. Two were apparently construction workers and one operated a tow truck. Internet signal was weak, but worked similar to old dial up speed. If we came back again, we would probably request lower section to see if we liked that environment better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
We have mixed feelings about this park. The location is excellent. It is close to Charlotte (15 miles) and it is in the area of Virginia wine country. We were there in the winter and the hills are still beautiful with vineyards littering the countryside. The staff wasn't as friendly to us as other reviews have said. They had a flat effect, not unfriendly but still not going out of their way to be friendly. The cable connection was extremely limited. It was like they selected the lowest package of cable just to say that they have it. Wi-fi connection was poor. There is a portion of the campground that is up on a hill. The sites seem nice but we took a walk up there one night and heard some domestic fighting between a couple that made us want to leave. Another night we were hanging out by our fire and heard some shot gun sounds coming from that direction. We were concerned to say the least. The staff was nice enough to let us run our golden retriever in an open field next to the office. We stayed over three weeks, but probably won't do that again. I would recommend staying in the lower portion of the park and only for a short period of time, just enough to visit the sights. This RV park is going to be the best you will find in the area. Our rig was 40 Ft. long and we had no issues getting in or out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$36
Rate is a Good Sam discount rate. I feel the need to review this campground again since a year had passed since my last review. There are many positive changes here. The junky permanent sites are gone. There are now cement patios at all the sites in the downhill section. Landscaping has been done and looks nice. They added a beautiful deck to the clubhouse. We'd definitely stay here again, and would now prefer it to the other local campgrounds that we've experienced. It's a great location to visit Montecello and Charlottesville, P Buckley Moss Museum, Stauton's attractions, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. My compliments to the management and owner on upgrading this park over the last year. It looks terrific! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$44
This is our second visit here. The owners run a nice RV park with good amenities. The interior roads are paved with level gravel sites. The water faucets are set up for cold weather too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
The staff is friendly and helpful. I asked for and got a site on the stream as we did not need sewer for two nights. Our site (I picked it looking at the map and got what I asked for) was a little tight. I had to back in so the utilities were on the wrong side. As we have plenty hose and electric cable it was not a problem. The cable hookup (12 channels) was on the other side. Other than making us look like a train wreck of wires and hoses it worked fine. This is a very neat, peaceful place. We would rate it higher if there were not issues with the placement of the utilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
We spent a weekend here and stayed in the back section on top of the hill. While I preferred the setting up there as well as the less road noise, sites and roads seem a bit tighter than down in the lower portion. We had one of the few sites that haven’t had cable TV installed yet, and in that area your antenna won’t pick up much. When I checked the restrooms for this review I found they were clean but rather outdated. The lower section has a more modern facility and a decent coin laundry. The few campgrounds in this area tend to fill up with parents and alumni when the local university has a home game, so make reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Park was well groomed and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Lots were gravel but roads were paved. Decent amount of space between big rig lots although the roads were narrow. Very nice breakfast on Sunday morning. Pool was closed. Not really a bad word can be said about this park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Clean park and friendly staff. Attractive rural location with lots of trees. Trash pickup at your site. We liked this park and stayed several nights. The park has a lower section around the entrance and an upper section at the back which is located on top of a substantial hill, probably a quarter-mile from the lower section. My comments pertain only to the lower section. We recommend this park, even though the following comments describe shortcomings (but they‘re not show stoppers). The trees, narrow lanes, sharp corners, and some toads and tow vehicles protruding into lanes made maneuvering our 35-foot 5th wheel difficult, both parking and leaving. We observed other campers having the same problem. The park’s cable TV hookup is near the RV‘s front while our RV‘s connection is near the rear--you will need at least 48 feet of cable. Bath house with showers and toilets is located approximately a city block from most campsites. If you don’t plan to hook up to the sewer (which we don’t for one-night stays), it’s a long walk if nature’s call is urgent. After having said all this, we would definitely stay here again. Would have rated this park a 9 except for the difficulty maneuvering our vehicle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
There are two campground sites, we stayed on the lower level although the sites at higher elevation are nice. The lower level sites are a bit tight for big rigs. That could be alleviated with street signs and clearly marked site numbers. By the managements own statements some big rigs have sustained significant damage by not avoiding large boulders at strategic turns. Overall, however, the campground has lots of open fields and indoor facilities. Several sites have long term RVs residing but they keep their lots clean and tidy which can only be because of the managements enforcement. (888) 647-8900 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. A wooded, family park, quiet and relaxing. Lots of vineyards & orchards in the area, and close to Charlottesville. Most roads were paved, and sites are gravel, and fairly level. A small stream runs through it, and two small ponds. The owners were friendly & helpful, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Very nice park in a wooded setting. Roads were well maintained and with a few exceptions paved. Office staff friendly and helpful. Bathhouses were clean and set up as a bathroom at your house would be, toilet, shower and sink in its own separate area, providing a bit more privacy than your normal bathhouse. Fires are allowed and fire rings provided. Level sites well spaced apart. At site trash pickup. Very little road noise from the highway. Although we experienced no problems, there did not appear to be any sort of security at night. Overall, a nice stay, we would use this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
One of the nicest CGs we've stayed in! Office staff very hospitable and accommodating...grounds staff most helpful. Very clean everything. Gravel sites and some roads but no problem getting into or out of sites. Laudromat has 4 washers/3 dryers for $1.50 each! Close to I64 which gets you to several attractions for day trips. Staff put together a nice brochure which gives directions for 7 day trips with mileage...very helpful! Great place...will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Delightful location convenient to the Charlottesville/ UVA area. We only stayed one night to visit friends but wished we could have stayed on. The campground is divided into an upper and lower section. We stayed in the lower portion which is easy in and out and big rig oriented. It’s convenient to the swimming pool and other campground services. It borders a little stream which is quite pretty. The upper section is more treed and scenic and would be appropriate for longer stays. - which we will do next time. It was a bit of a hike (drive ?) up another hill to the spotless shower house but the panoramic view from there made it a non-issue. The surrounding roads have wide shoulders for biking and lots of little antique/curio shops to stop at. Great vineyards too. The town of Crozet is charming with a number of good restaurants. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
Nice campground but the sites are fairly tight. Wifi works if you have a site close to the office. We stayed in the section close to the office. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
We've camped at MM quite a few times now. We've stayed in the cabins on site, and also camped in tents by the stream. We love their cabins, they are reasonable and clean. We recommend spending a few extra dollars on the large cabins as they have showers and small kitchenette. Camping in tents along the stream is very nice and relaxing. It is not a deep stream at all, kids will be ok there. The RV sites seemed to be paved and clean. There are usually activities on the weekends for the children. We've always enjoyed ourselves there. I do have to comment on the staff, they are great. Very friendly! And they usually will remember you. There is one negative comment I have for them though. They have recently cut a small Jeep trail and a mudhole on the grounds. Which in itself looks to be very fun, and they have a wheeling event every so often. But one of the employees lives on site and has an old red CJ, he likes to get drunk after dark and take that loud Jeep on the trails at night. I mean late at night, like 2:00 a.m. That has to stop. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$32
A very nice park and somewhere that we would like to stay again. Very scenic, clean, and quiet in a beautiful area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
This campground has wooded sites up on a hill and open sites down near rt. 250. Each section has a totally different feel. Even though the road is noisy we preferred the lower section, which is nearer the pool and store. We had a fine stay, but there are some permanent residents living in rental trailers here. It's an easy on off of I64. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
We spent two nights at Misty Mountain Camp Resort, on the tail end of Thanksgiving weekend. We called the afternoon of our arrival and were able to reserve for a late arrival that night. Getting in to the campsite at night was a bit challenging despite the highlighted map that was left for us on the bulletin board, given that it was hard to read the signage and campsite numbers in the dark. However, once we found our site, we were able to settle in quickly (with a slight tilt, which we put up with for the duration rather than try to level off in drizzly rain). The free WiFi worked well, which is important for us. There was a row of what seemed to be 10 permanent (or very long-term) RVs about 40 feet away from our site, along the upper boundary of the camp ground. We would stay in this campground again. Also on the plus side, there's a nice little gourmet wine/cheese/deli store about 1/3 of a mile down 250 toward I-64, which is worth a stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$69
We stayed in one of their cabins. Nice, except no heat in the bathroom, and the kitchen did not have a sink (as shown in the picture); so make sure you ask about that before reserving if that is important to you. We utilize this campground as a mid way point from WV to Virginia beach. Beautiful area: the mountains are amazing. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Roads are very tight and narrow for the most part, We have stayed at this park many times due to closeness to our daughter's home. We would rather stay elsewhere, but have no other choices, and the owner knows it. Some improvements have been made by cutting down some trees and leveling many sites, but more are needed since water flows through the best big rig sites. We'll stay again, but would like another choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
This is a great park--large grassy areas for people to walk on and for the kids to play on. Laundry room was very clean. Nice shady spots. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The grounds were clean and appeared well kept. We stayed in the upper area and were a good distance from the bathhouse. The children had a blast playing in the stream and at the playground. The store has mostly tourist items but there is a small grocery/convenience store about two miles away. The staff was very nice and very helpful. It did not affect us but it appeared a number of sites, particularly those by the stream have the hookups on the "wrong" side making it difficult to get sited. We enjoyed our stay and will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Extremely nice, friendly, and helpful staff. Lots of activities for children. Very clean. Lower bathhouse is the best of anywhere we have ever camped. We have already made reservations for two additional weekends. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This was a nice park. It did not have lots of kids activities, but it did have a pool and playground. We camped right in front of a stream, so our three kids had fun playing in the stream. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This is a nice park close to Charlottesville, right off of I64 on 250. Easy access from interstate. The campground has all the amenities and is big rig friendly..The only neg we can say is that the sites are waaaay to close together for us. The sewer connection is right next to the next space's picnic table. If they would re-arrange their spots and take out a few, they would have an excellent campground. All the utilities worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$37
Pretty park in great location at the foot of Blue Ridge Mountains. Staff great-- friendly and helpful. Will come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
This is a decent campground. It's hard to find at night (we passed it and had to turn around a few miles down the road at the gas station). Sites seemed pretty tight. Most of the sites up front are under full tree coverage, good for Summer heat, bad for satellite reception. Wifi was decent, but not as fast as others. Sites and most roads are gravel. For some reason the sewer did not drain well. It was a bit high compared to the rig, but still didn't drain quickly when I lifted the hose. The staff was very nice and the park was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
OK campground. Upper area is a bit far from the office/store. Sites by the creek were very muddy from recent rain and had the water/electric pole at the left front of site. Could be inconvenient. Halloween hay ride was excellent!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
The park is very easy to get to just off I-64. Once you get to the park you will find the 50 amp. Full hook-ups very close and near Hiway 250, very noisy from traffic. The laundry was closed due to painting being done and they had only two washers and two driers and they were not new. The staff in the office were nice and cordual. I would stay there again for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Not a bad campground. We stayed on site 14. Had to level the trailer and most sites were tight. Wi-Fi worked well as did cable. Stay in the lower section of the campground the upper is even tighter and a big hill to get to sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
The workers were very friendly and helpful. Sites by the stream were very un-level and muddy after a rain. The weekend was very crowded and a little loud but the week days were nice and quiet. The bathrooms and showers were so-so clean and are going to need a lot of work this winter, paper dispensers and towel racks ripped off of the walls. Overall a decent park if you're going to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Nice, shady campground. Somewhat steep access road to the upper level sites but not a problem. Clean, tiled bathrooms. Sites relatively level but not perfect. Picnic table, fire ring. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$36
Excellent campground. Facility was nice and clean, sites were a little hard to get into but the faculity made up for it. Nice pool and fishing pond. Highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$31
Nice campground at the foot of Afton Mountain. Sites were spaced a little tight in the lower section but we could still put out all the slides and the awning with room to spare. We toured the upper section in the Jeep. We're very glad not to have gotten a site up there! Very steep hill to climb with tight turns. Once you are up there the sites looked a bit tight. Some would have been a challenge to level on. This area is mostly for the Class C and smaller trailers. The staff and campers were all nice. This was definitely a good base camp to tour Skyline Drive from. The WiFi worked fine at our site (#18) but we could not use the satellite dish due to trees and other obstructions. The campground does have cable with 13 channels with fair reception though. The playground equipment looked brand new. The pool was a little small and very crowed due to the HEAT! Thats was to be expected. The gameroom was fun. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
This campground is a bit too primitive in its care of the facility. The overall look is disheveled, and somewhat dirty. The personnel were not the friendliest. Campsites are not numbered, at least where they might be visible. We have no idea if we were in the right site or not. We will not return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$25
No problem parking our 37.5 foot Damon, the sites are tight, but we had no problems. Charlottesville is about 12 miles away, with easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Campground was small and personal. Office staff was Friendly. The Sub and Pizza shop was Great! Freshly Mulched flower beds and patio pads was Nice Feature. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We stayed here in 40' motorhome during winter/spring 2002-2003. Campground is open all year. The owners were very accommodating. Quiet hours were observed. Propane is available on site, you can rent large cylinders for long term stays. Snowplowing was always done very early AM. The well water tasted fine. Open and wooded sites available. Pull through sites in front area are level with table on concrete pad, 50 amp service, fire rings at all sites. Owners have plans to add cable TV. Until then, bring your satellite dish. Local stations are very hard to receive with just antenna. Well behaved pets, large and small are welcome. Sites on the back hill are accessible but I would not want to attempt with large/long units. The hill is steep but the road is well maintained. Some camping cabins. Hours maintained by staff during winter months are slightly erratic, probably due to there not being much activity during winter. Nice little hiking trail. Video game room for kids. Sub and bakery shop closed during winter. Activities are scheduled throughout the spring/summer/fall months. Campgrounds were always kept clean. Easy access to Charlottesville - great place to stay for UVA games. We will definitely go back again to enjoy the summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$24
The folks running the place were nice enough, as were our neighbors. However, there wasn't strict enforcement on the quiet hours, and our site was close enough to the road that the trucks rumbling up and down were disturbing. Also, someone had one of those Dukes of Hazzard horns, and thought it was charming to blast it about 50 times a day. Also, the bathrooms are new, but b/c there are so few of them, they needed to be cleaned more often b/c every time I used one of them, they were filthy. It was nice to have the creekside site, though. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Campground was clean and attractive. The staff was professional and friendly. We enjoyed our visit and will go back in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
The campground was very clean and the staff was extra friendly.I think it would be better if it had cable and fishing, then it would be a 10. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Campground was clean and attractive.The staff was very friendly. The sites we were in had concrete pads for the picnic tables. If it had some type of cable hook up and a pond for fishing I would give it a better rating. We enjoyed our visit and may go back in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com