221730 User submitted reviews online!!
King's Dominion Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (804) 876-3321
CGID3040

King's Dominion Campground

Camp Information
Sites
244
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   7   8   8   2   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$50
Newly remodeled campground, brand new level concrete sites with 50 amp full hookup, pull-throughs, fits the biggest. Marine pedestal connections. Brand new bath house, camp store, cabins. Feels like RV resort. Downside is that current construction is super noisy, nonstop, dusty, and on Saturdays too. Our new water spigot did not work; campground provided long hose for us to connect to next spigot. Workers are super friendly. Trash pickup from site. Walking distance to park. Shuttle every 30 minutes. Free Wi-Fi super strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
We chose this campground for its convenience to Kings Dominion. The price was very affordable. The campground is well tended and has trash cans readily available around the park. What a great way to keep the grounds clean! The bathrooms were immaculate: A/C; super clean; smell nice; well lit; conveniently placed; good shower pressure. We had bees nested under our concrete pad. We notified the desk and the Manager came out immediately to inspect. He sent for the appropriate staff, and an Assistant Manager and a woman from the Facilities Dept came right out. They got rid of the bees and the Manager came the next day to ensure that the bees were gone and we were satisfied. We were impressed that some staff were wearing ties. We've already recommended this campground to others and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
This was our first time camping at the Kings Dominion Campground for a weekend stay. We got there at 7 PM and was able to check in at the office. I asked if they could switch us to a pull-through site since the web site had none available at the time I placed the reservation. They had a site open up which was a lower rate so they put us in site # 233. I have a 30 ft travel trailer and it was very easy to make the turns into our paved site on the first try. The spot was paved but sloped which put the front of rig downhill. That took a lot of leveling blocks to make bring the front-end up and level. The campground was laid out well with lots of trees for shade behind the office and some sites in a open field in the side nearest to the park. I have small kids so the pool at the campground was a nice treat. The odd thing was the rules at the pool. The life guards are very strict about kids wearing life vests, no goggles with a nose piece or other float toys. The Wi-Fi is strong near the office but gets weaker on the back-side of the park. The shuttle comes every 15 to 20 minutes to and from the park which is an added bonus of not having to pay $15 for parking and it drops you off at the front gate. During the day, you can hear the screams from the riders of the roller coasters and the fireworks at night. The campground is next to the train tracks through the trees which has scheduled trains coming through. We liked this campground since it very close to Kings Dominion and for the shuttle so it’s a good choice when visiting the park. With that in mind, I still think the prices of the sites are a bit high. We’ll be back with it comes time to come back to Kings Dominion for another visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$56
We have stayed here before and had a site to the right side of the main road. That area was paved and the sites were mostly level. This visit was a last minute call and we ended up in rustic area behind the office/swimming pool. It took a little work to get level because of the many roots. The water and 50 AMP service were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This campground is in the midst of a renovation, with a well stocked, renovated camp store, newly renovated bathrooms and showers, freshly paved interior roads and renovated big rig pull-throughs. Brand new cabins were being installed toward the back of the campground. With that said, we stayed in the water and electric sites that have not yet been renovated, though work has begun there. Site had a level concrete pad, water and electric worked find, though pedestal was old. Nice pool, free Wi-Fi throughout the campground that was strong enough to upload photos, and a free regular shuttle to Kings Dominion. Close to I-95, with little road noise, but an occasional train coming down the nearby rail line did wake me up at night. Very good for an overnight stay off the highway or if you are going to the park. Price reflects a 10% AAA discount, they also take Good Sam or discount if you have a Cedar Fair season pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Site we had was gravel and level. They also had concrete pads in the wooded area for smaller trailers/popups. Bathhouse was clean & maintained. Nice pool. $60.90 a night with taxes, a little high, but if you are going to Kings Dominion, they have a shuttle, so you save on the parking fee. They do have some Discount Prices (10%: Good Sam, AAA, Military, AARP, and Season Pass). If your are going to Kings Dominion it is a good location (you can hear the park from the campground). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We've stayed at this park twice in the last couple of years, only because there are no other campgrounds in the area and this one is right off of I-95. This is a large campground but not well taken care of and expensive. The help is horrible and not helpful. They sit in a little hut behind glass and act like you must be a bad guy. You have to ask many questions to make sure they are charging you the right amount. They have many various rates and don't explain them to you. They just charge you what they think is right. We questioned them and then had to get a refund for their errors. The first site they assigned us was only 30amp. We went back and told them we needed 50amp and they gave us another site. When we got to the site, there was no way we could get our 40 foot RV into the spot. We just decided to find our own spot (there were plenty of empty ones), which we did. They have no cable and poor TV reception. There are too many trees for satellite, Wi-Fi at the office only (which is not close) and they have a 13% tax. There just isn't anything to say good about this park. If you can plan your trip so that you don't have to end up at this campground, you will be much happier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This campground is operated by Cedar Fair Entertainment Company and has the potential of being an outstanding location, IF the parent company would invest in upgrading the facilities/RV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
The campground is now dubbed "Kings Dominion Camp Wilderness." We camped here to visit the amusement park and were very pleased with the park. It is a very clean campground and the restrooms were well maintained during our stay. The campground maintains a well stocked campstore with various RV items and other commodities that are sometimes forgotten and needed on arrival. The campground staff was friendly and professional. The campground offers regular shuttle service to and from the amusement park, saving campers the normal $12 parking fee at the park. The campground is a little noisy due to highway traffic, the distant screams from riders on the "Dominator" coaster and the occasional train and whistle from the grade crossing just west of the campground entrance. While this campground serves as an excellent base for visiting Kings Dominion, it can also serve as a base for many other excursions to points of interest in the greater Richmond Area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
GOOD: Very nice park, right next to the park (you can hear people scream on the roller coasters right from your campsite), clean bathhouse, nice hot water, nice staff. BAD: No cable TV (please add cable: digital receivers get no picture off the air!), Wi-Fi only available at the office and pool, most sites have no sewer, and the prices for firewood, etc. were too high. Had to complain twice about the campers across the road who brought their yappy dog, penned him outside, and left him to yap constantly at least 100 times an hour day and night. (To all campers: PLEASE be considerate. If you have a yappy dog, leave him home, at a kennel, or locked INSIDE your RV. No one cares to hear it!! That's my 2 cents). All in all a nice place. I would go back if I was going to Kings Dominion again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
A nice, mostly shaded campground conveniently located near Kings Dominion theme park. Campground only half-full this weekend. Great price for full hook-ups - discount for AAA members. No information about campground on the internet, including no map, which was annoying. Thankfully, many sites are of a good size and when we checked in, the friendly greeter said we could basically take whatever site was open (we arrived shortly after dinner on a Friday night). Some pull-through sites are too close however. Free shuttle to park runs every 20 to 15 minutes. Wi-Fi only available at lodge, not throughout park. Nice-sized pool, large sandy area for volleyball and clean clubhouse. If you're visiting Kings Dominion, it would be difficult to find a better place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Our family traveled to Kings Dominion campground so we could visit Kings Dominion amusement park. I was hesitant to book a site since there really is no website to view a site map or photos. But I spoke with a really kind man on the phone and I decided to take a chance. When I booked my site I was informed that it was Kingsfest: a Christian rock weekend. The campground was packed when we arrived. We got a nice flat lot with plenty of room with full hook up. Pool was OK, a little on the cloudy side but it was extremely hot out. Didn't use the showers so I can not comment on their condition. Shuttle bus from the campground to amusement park was great. The first night we were here and the last night of Kingsfest the music was very loud. But after that, the campground was quiet. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Have camped at the King's Dominion Campground many times due to having season passes. I really like this campground because they do not offer anything they cannot provide. The sites are decent size, bathhouses are always clean, people are always nice and the shuttle to the park is fantastic. This is a very nice family friendly campground that I would continue to visit. Especially for a weekend or longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
Camped here during King's Dominion Halloweenfest and had a good time. I was very worried about this campground after reading the other reviews but it wasn't as bad as I thought. We received a nice large level site close to both bathrooms and office. (Campground is not that big so you will be close to everything no matter where you are.) The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting with mold on the shower curtains. The best part about the campground is the shuttle that takes you to and from Kings Dominion all day. This convenience alone was worth it. Not a bad campground at all. I have definitely been to better, and much worse as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We have stayed at this park several times because we are season pass holders to Kings Dominion. The bathrooms and showers were clean. They don't have cable here, but TV reception is fine. If you want to hook you satellite up, you should get a pull through below the restroom, on the park side of the campground. The train noise has never been an issue for us. The free shuttle to the park is great, but they do not allow you to take pets on it anymore. We usually drive to the park w/ the dog and drop her off at the kennel. During the day we use the shuttle to go back to the campground. Friendly staff. Just wish they had cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Great location: can easily walk to Kings Dominion Park and Burger King and Denny's. Truck stop here too with diesel fuel and truck wash available. Propane fill available at campground. Large pull-through sites. Not perfectly level, but level enough for auto levelers to work. Full hookups are available. Reservation desk gave us a site without sewer at first, which was corrected when I called the day of arrival to confirm again. Not sure why they made the mistake since I asked for sewer several times by phone and email confirmations. Worst website of all the campgrounds I have ever been to: basically the campground does not have a website. Wi-Fi is only available at the front building, not on campsites. TV antennae reception was good. To earn a 10, this campground needs concrete level pull-through pads for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
As previous reviews mentioned, this is a large park associated with Kings Dominion amusement park. (Try to find a "real" campground map; all you get is info on the amusement park.) It is less than a mile from I-95, but we did not hear road noise; roller coaster was not bad, and the trains did not run often at night. There are a lot of shade trees, and the tenting sites are large and shaded, though most were as far from the one bath house as you could get. Registration was easy and fast, our Good Sam club having made reservations in advance. However, the bathrooms/showers definitely needed attention. Shower floors and walls were clean, but don't look up. Gunk in ceiling vents was not encouraging. Also, they have no changing area for the showers so there is one bench and 6 hooks; it's like back in junior high. Toilets were clean, but one stall had minimal toilet paper on Saturday and by Sunday afternoon still had not had new paper added. Were they 'really' cleaned? Or did they just pass a mop over the floor? But my biggest complaint is with the hidebound, rigid rules and the lack of common sense displayed by management. My wife and I went to the pool with a couple of foam noodles to use for exercise on our arthritic knees and joints. We were told, no noodles. Why? Because it's a rule. I asked to see management. The manager showed up and said we could not take the noodles in. Why? Because he had to support his life guard. But WHY no noodles? It's the rule. I pointed out it wasn't posted. That's when the lifeguard said it was posted: at the water park in Kings Dominion. Ahhh there is the issue. The rules for the water park: super slides, surf machines, crowded floating rivers. Are the same as for the relatively small swimming pool at the campground located over a half mile from the park entrance. Where is the common sense in that! And the manager, rather than challenging the lack of common sense, or requesting a waiver for the park, backs a young life guard who feels he needs to keep to the letter of the rule posted far away. Add to that, there were a total of 4 other people in the pool at the time. Bad enough, and enough to make us not want to go back. But in checking with our club, one member took her grandchildren to the pool on Sunday morning and the pool was closed. Why? Because the swimming pool at the campground has to have the same hours as the water park at Kings Dominion. Apparently management is only interested in getting the money and people into the amusement park and doesn't really care about campers. Now, if you want somewhere close to stay to go to the amusement park, this might be an OK spot. But if it is camping experience you are looking for close to Richmond, this is NOT a good place to stay. And if you are traveling I-95 and looking for an overnight, you would do far better staying at the Flying J a few miles north or the Bass Outlet a few miles south, both with better bathrooms and both at NO charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Nice park, clean, easy access on and off 95. Shuttle to and from the park was quick and efficient. Bath house was clean and seemed to be well maintained. The roads are a bit confusing and tight for larger rig's but pretty level. Pulling into the sites are a bit tight in the pull thru's due to some ill placed poles marking the site but if you plan it out right you're fine. Staff was very friendly. Overall quiet wooded park, no golf carts whizzing around. You can hear kings dominion but it isn't bad and we only heard the train while outside the camper. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
We loved this park. The shuttle to the amusement park was fast and brought us quickly to the park and back. Our site was clean and the employees were very friendly. The bath house could have been cleaner, but generally everything was well maintained. We read reviews that said the park was loud, but we did not find that to be true. You can hear the roller coasters and their riders and I did hear the train before I went to bed, but it was in the distance and never woke me up. We are already planning our next trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Very nice wooded park. Stopped in March on way back from Florida. Staff was very friendly. Water available year long which is nice at that time of year. Easy access off the highway. Roads are a little tight for big rigs but were flat. Would use it as a stop over again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We stayed here to go to the Kings Dominion amusement park. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle over to the amusement park. Site was pull through but not very long. Sites were close together, we were at 172. Campground can be noisy because of the amusement park and nearby railroad track. Pool was already closed for season but we were told they have life guards when it is open. Campground is showing its age, could use some upgrades. There are very small signs with no lights, very easy to miss at night. Close to I95 for overnight stays. We do plan to stay here again when going to King Dominion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
We live nearby and use this campground for dumping and taking on water as we come and go on trips. They only charge $10 for the service. It's less than a half mile from King's Dominion and less than 1 mile off I-95. We haven't camped overnight, but from driving through several times it is a nice setting. The sites seem large and nicely wooded. The layout is generous with plenty of maneuvering room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We stayed here during Kingsfest. The campground was full beyond capacity, but the campground maintain the facilities great. The shuttle was full at all times, that was the only drawback. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
We stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday & it is a nice campground. Check in was a little slow & you have to follow the map to your site (which proved a bit confusing for some other guests). Our site had plenty of room. Restrooms were very clean & staff was friendly. There is a train that runs at different hours, but honeslty I hardly noticed it after the first day. It wasn't continuous, so not that bothersome. The campground was actually pretty quiet, considering it was full. Shuttle bus is great because it takes you back and forth to the park. All in all, not a bad campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$29
We stayed here for one night on our way home. It served that purpose. Sites are very close together. We barely fit in the pull through with our car attached. You need to be a deep sleeper because there is train traffic all the time. Restrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
Excellent campground. Stayed here 30+ times, very nice if you are going to KD. Has a great shuttle, always been very clean, employees are always nice. Only thing negative is the train tracks, plus they get very booked up early on Holidays and Race weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
We stayed 4 days and had a great time. The campground got pretty busy over the holiday weekend, but the way they have it set up it was pretty spaced out. The shuttle to the park ran every 15 min. or better. You can also take your pet on the shuttle to drop off at the kennel. They honor season pass, and Good Sam discounts. Both are the same. Restrooms were very clean, even during peak weekend. Staff was friendly, and they have a good store and lodge w/ game room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
As other post have stated good campground if visiting Kings Dominion, but also as stop on long trip north or south as it is right off the highway. Shuttle a plus if you are patient. The workers were pleasant to us during our stay. Restrooms were just OK, big pool but could use a vacuum and a little less chlorine. Good store and game room. Some sites were actually fairly large. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We camped here so we could go to Kings Dominion park. We loved this campground. Very simple, nothing fancy. But the people who work here are very friendly. The shuttle to the park was a very nice convenience. Never had to wait more than 15 minutes. We camped with our 2 dogs and they were allowed on the shuttle also. We took them to the kennel at the park while we went on rides...another nice feature. The camp store was well stocked and the pool was refreshing. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
We were here for the last operating weekend for Kings' Dominion. The shuttle to the park ran all day both days. It was very convenient. It was a really cold weekend, (22 degrees F), so we were glad to find a Wal-mart at the next exit south on I-95 for warmer supplies. Restrooms were clean and heated. We did hear the train a few times but were so tired from our day in the amusement park, it did not affect our sleep. The big attraction is the amusement park next door. The campground was not crowded but looks as if it could be during summer season. Easy acess off I-95. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
We had a great time, i found the employees very friendly. I didn't like the first site they gave me (by me i mean the female in the marriage, who decided to take the family camping without the husband LOL) so i requested one that I wanted and they were excellent about changing my site. Paid a small fee the next day to leave our 5th wheel for the day and run the bus to Kings Dominion and back. WE WILL STAY THERE A LOT MORE NEXT YEAR! Also rumor has it Kings Dominion has been bought out and the "new" company is talking of upgrading the camp ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$42
Nice park. We have been to PKD many times but first time in the campground. We were there last two amusement park operating days of year. I think CG is open year round. Hardly anyone in the CG. We had very nice sites back near the cabins. It got really cold (22 degrees) at night but shower room was heated and water was hot! Looks like sites with pads near office could get a bit crowded during busy season...otherwise a nice CG for a park visit or overnight on I-95. Shuttle to park was nice and ran regular schedule even though it was last day of the parks operating season. You do hear the train. It did not bother the kids after long days in the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
We were going to the theme park so we stayed at this campground. It was nice. They had a free shuttle that took you right to the entrance of the park, which was nice also. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
Sites very small and close together. Full of dog droppings. Staff clueless. Advised staff on resvervation how long my unit was and was told they had sites big enough..No way!! Pull thru barely fit my 27 TT.Hooks up mid site bring 2 water hoses and and extension cord. Site next door was 2ft away. Staff gave me wrong spot number and directed to another site down a road we could not fit. Not clean and poorly run. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
We just got back from a very nice weekend. We camped in the pop-up area where all the sites have cement slabs making them very level but some sites have bigger drop from the slab to the ground making them more prone to tripping then a need for bandades. The entire staff was friendly. It's so nice to have firewood delivered to the site and trash pickup at least 4 times a day. The shuttle service to Kings Dominion Amusement Park ran about every half hour. The first day we just missed the shuttle but didn't mind the cool wait in the game room till the next one showed up. The life guards were great, making sure no floatation was used with the exception of the free use of the pools life jacket. We camped here 4 nights with 2 grand daughters. We plan on coming back next year with 4 grand kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$36
Outstanding park. Sites are level and easy to get in. The park even runs a shuttle to the frnt gate of the amusement park. Nice pool and Kind people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$36
We stayed here two nights while visiting the amusement park. We were lucky and were given a shaded campsite. There are some sites without trees. The campsite we were given had the electric and water hookups on the opposite side of the trailer (the door side). When we asked if we could move over one site, we were nastily told no. When I said that site was available, they said it would be too much trouble to change. I had to buy a longer water hose at their campstore just to hook up! Trash pickup several times a day from the front of your campsite was convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. Very close to the park and the shuttle option was great, just wish there was more than one bus (that is shared with the hotel down the street - made the closing runs long and crowded). The pool wasn't the cleanest and if you have small children they are not allowed to use their own floatation devices - must use provided life preservers for insurance reasons. We were in the front of the park close to the bath house which was convenient however there are only 2 so it could be quite a hike depending on where your site is located. The road noise didnt bother us; neither did the train that runs parallel to the campground. The camp store was well stocked, and the kids enjoyed the game room and the television/lounge area provided great little resting place since it was 100 degrees out. The mini golf course isnt worth the $2 they charge per player but they do have a nice playground and volleyball pit so there are other activities. Well be returning again since we have Season Passes however unless we were going to the park, I dont think wed visit. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
Stayed twice this year. I would not recommend this campground for more then a 1 night stay. It is right on Kings Dominion which makes it a great place to stay the night before going to the Amusement Park and that is the only reason that I will stay there. The toilets were for the most part clean put the showers both times I was there was not clean at all. Alot of the W/E sites are really small and difficult to get into. My 6 year old liked splashing water on me and his sisters when he was in the pool. The Pool Nazi would not allow this. I would understand if some people were in floats reading books and trying to relax, but floats were not allowed and people were trying to keep cool and have fun. With a little site clean-up and updating of the facilities this would be a real nice campground if they got rid of the Pool NAZI!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
This is a professionally designed and built campground. Great game room (no pinball !?!), pool and registration, sites are huge, lots of pull thrus, level sites & roads, separate tenting, group tenting, and pop up areas, large play ground and pool, clean and well lit, only 3 cabins. The camp store is a bit small but they had what I needed. If you are visiting Kings Dominion (KD) this campground is a mile away and has a continuous running free shuttle. We spoke to a couple of campers who were camping for other reasons then KD, but I would have to pass this camp by if I were looking for a destination campground since there is little to do. Though it is very quite during the day since everyone is at the park. We will definitely be back for our next visit to KD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
We like this park but if you're planning on going on a holiday - be prepared. We were at the campground for Memorial Weekend and it was full. While the campground itself is nice (the shuttle to/from the park is great and the staff is very friendly), the restrooms are inadequate for the number of sites. They have over 250 sites and only two bathhouses with about 8 showers and 12 toilets total for ladies. They tried to keep it clean, but with that heavy usage, it was impossible. There were many tent and pop up campers (ourselves included) who had to use the restrooms and had to stand in line - no matter what time of day we went. I-95 road noise is also a problem in the pop up end of the park. If you're looking for an overnight park, this would work too - spots were pretty level and they do a good job of separating pop-ups and tents from larger units. It's much nicer than Americamps down the road in our opinion. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Great place to stay when visiting the amusement park or for a stop over off of 95. The sites are a little unlevel but manageable. The store has very little and closes early but there is a 7-eleven and Burger King right there. Good playground and gameroom. The pool was closed because it is after season but I was there last July and it was very nice. They take Good Sams so it was lower than the quoted rate.They have a shuttle to the park but we didn't use it. Parking was $8. We liked the freedom to come back to the camper for lunch and dinner and return to the park. We will definatley be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a great campground to stay at when visiting Paramounts King's Dominion. They have a shuttle that takes you to the park and runs all day long from an hour before park opens until an hour or so after it closes. They also allowed someone to take their dog on the shuttle so they could put it in the kennel at the park. The campground was nice. We got a pull thru site and although it was in the area with all the tall pines(which I love) we had no prblem with our 30' Trailer and slide-out, the site was big. The interior roads were gravel, but riding our bikes around we noticed a lot of potholes. The pool was nice and they had a life guard. There was a store which was moderately stocked (could be better), a lounge area with couches and TV and a nice size gameroom(which is the same room). Laundry facilities were adequate for this campground with all new washers/dryers. The restroom/showers could have been nicer and cleaner. The shower especially wasn't very clean...glad I don't have to use them! One other plus about this campground is that it is only about 1 mile off I95, so it makes a great stop over for those traveling up and down the east coast. The staff was very nice. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com