224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Natural Tunnel State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (276) 940-2674
CGID3042

Natural Tunnel State Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   9   9   9   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$19
The new lover's leap area of the campground is among the nicest you will ever see. Just a delight. Huge level sites with plenty of open space, laundry available in the clean rest rooms. The older RV campground has more uneven sites. After you check in, you must go up a very steep hill with a turn up a steeper hill. We disconnect our tow car both going up and coming down. You are camped on top of the Natural Tunnel, which is an amazing sight to see. After the busy summer season, the chairlift to the bottom only runs on weekends. we heard train whistles but they were pretty distant and didn't keep us awake. Ten years ago, there were many more trains, but now, since the coal business has dropped off, there are just a couple of trains a day. A nearby town will even deliver pizza to the campsite, which was fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This is probably the prettiest Virginia State Park. The people working within the park were very friendly and the landscaping was beautiful. There was a really good wifi signal available at the campstore which had rocking chairs and tables with umbrellas which made it very nice to use. You could also get a wifi signal at the pool and visitor center. Our site was very long and we were in the newer section called Lover's Leap. The water and electric area had a patio type area around it and the sites were huge. Was able to receive some stations over the antenna but after programming television never turned it back on due to all the things available to do in the park. The boys loved the pool with the diving board. The chairlift down to the tunnel was a lot of fun, rode it on 2 different occasions the Saturday night we were there they had the tunnel lit and a 9 year old very talented fiddler playing. Lots of trails to hike and scenery to see. There is also the wilderness road blockhouse there. So much to do and so much to see that we can hardly wait to go back again. You are at a higher elevation here but it wasn't a problem for us and our 30 foot travel trailer. We came in the dark and had no problems we were just a little surprised at the road up to the campground but no problems getting up it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$120
This is a wonderful state park. We stayed in a cabin and really did not explore much since our focus was on the Bristol Night Race and visiting family. The cabin was clean, tastefully decorated, and filled with modern amenities. We had wonderful views and saw all sorts of wild life. We did drive through the campgrounds and I would say most of the sites are not big rig friendly and are not level. There is a wicked turn onto the campground/cabin road that might cause a 5th wheel to hit the rails of the truck bed. This is an easy drive to Bristol Motor Speedway and a much cheaper option than staying in a hotel. We would stay here in a cabin again but would not bring our 37 foot 5th wheel. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This was a great camping trip for us! The pool and slide were AWESOME. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and the site was great. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again and again. The ice machine was not keeping ice frozen well: they were in the midst of fixing it while we were here. We paid for 2 bags of ice, they would give us 4 to make up for the melting. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
NTSP is a fabulous park - 2 campgrounds located adjacent to each other. Cove View is older with 16 sites, 5 rows of 3, then a single. Close, but do have grass and shade. Bathhouse is clean, but old and needs some upgrades - gravel roads. Lover's Leap is new with large pea-graveled sites, limited shade, 50/30 amp w/water. Great new bathhouse with 4 individual shower rooms, great laundry ($1 per load), asphalt road. Great camp hosts and rangers in the park. Pool is about 1 mile from campground - large with water slides and food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We live less than 25 miles from this park and we LOVE it. They have opened new campsites this spring, so it is now big rig friendly. The bath house is wonderful and clean: there are 4 separate shower rooms, one which is handicap accessible and then the bathrooms, which are on the other side of the building. They have laundry facilities available also. The sites are gravel/pea gravel with fire pit and concrete pad and paved roads. If there was sewer, it would be PERFECT!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
We stayed in the new campground section. The sites in the new section are large enough for big rigs and are spaced out well. The new bathhouse is really nice. The older section has more shade but is not as roomy. The park offers several activities and we really enjoyed the chairlift ride to the lighting of the tunnel with entertainment at the tunnel. Natural Tunnel State Park has done an excellent job on the new campground section and cabins (unlike the VA State park we live next to). Peaceful park, friendly staff. We would have gave it a 10 if it had full hook ups & a bike path. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
A typical Virginia State Park--well maintained, orderly campground with camp host tending the grounds. The road is very steep, paved access into the campground. A sign at check-in station instructs Motorhomes to drop toad at bottom of hill and drive up separately. There is a chair lift available to access the tunnel for additional charge. Overzealous park employees cleaned grounds around restrooms with leaf blower each night shortly past 8:00 pm--we found that mildly annoying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This is a nice place for small motorhomes, 5th wheels, tents etc. This campground is not big rig friendly. The sites are way too small in size and clearance. Nice family camping area with lots of outdoor things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
Agree with the previous review. When trees mature they will provide more shade. Entire family enjoyed this campground. All sites are gravel and grass, but who really has to have pavement??? Weather was warm, wish I'd have had A/C on this trip, also has pool across main road from the entrance to campground. As far as big rig access: several 4dr trucks pulling large 5ers got in no problems. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$15
20 sites have hookups, all of which are pull throughs. Sites are a bit close together but not terribly so and are level with long and wide gravel pads. Access to the park could be difficult for larger rigs as the last 1/4 mile is up a significant grade and road is sort of narrow. Park has great hiking trails, a visitors center and of course its focus is on the Natural Tunnel created over the eons by water leaching through lime stone -- it's huge, the Atchinson Topeka RR uses the tunnel as a, well, tunnel for its trains Comment, Virginia charges $3.00 per dog. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com