219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (800) 545-4248
CGID3045

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   4   6   7   9   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
This park is all about expectations. If you're looking for a 'kid-mania' Jellystone park like Luray, this is NOT it. We feel it's a bit on the expensive side for what we got. With that said, it's a well maintained park but it's an older park. It looks like it's caught in a late 60's early 70's time warp. Kind of a throw back but a very nice throwback. There are quite a few permanent residents that have the best spots in the woods and they put the short-term visitors in the open sunny spots. The pool is great but the playground is dated. They have a large bounce pad for an extra charge although they waived the charge for us.. The Mini-golf is an extra charge as well. The wi-fi is terrible. As others have commented, the worst part is the trains. They come at all hours of day and night. There was one at 3:15AM blowing it's horn. Overall a nice quiet park but not the typical Jellystone that we've seen before...and for some that's not a bad thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Nothing terribly wrong with our one-night stay, but we felt it was overpriced and the service at check-in seemed unprofessional and unfriendly. Our campground guidebook had a nice discount coupon, but they quickly grabbed most of it back with extra charges for using a credit card, as well as a few extra dollars for tax. The bathhouse was so-so, and some of the sites were not at all level. And the nearby trains were loud and near-constant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
We stayed here as a one night rest stop, the pull-thru site was wide, 30 amp power, table fire ring etc. We used the laundry room, was very nice, this is a park for family's with kids, the site was not very level, we had to stack 2 boards under one side, the big complaint is starting at 5:30 am the trains start blowing there horns, the tracks are very close, this goes on every 45 minutes up to about 10 pm, a $40 a night park after Sam's discount with that noise is a problem, a $22 park you expect that, next time we will travel farther to another park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Older but clean park. We camped here overnight; overnighters were put in a sunny area. Wooded sites seemed to be available for others. Pool and mini-golf available. Good as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
This was a nice park. It was very convenient off the I-95. Coming in late was easy. The sites were easy to access and there were lots of trees around for scenery. Loved the crisp Fall air and the crackle of leaves under my feet first thing in the morning! The bathrooms were clean. The only hiccup with the shower was something with the valve - needed to have 2 showers running in order to get hot water. I wish I had known that before I showered that morning! There is Wi-Fi, but I found it totally impossible to use. Slow, and extra logins were a big pain to get through. Overall, it was good value and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
First time there and I was impressed with the cleanliness, and friendly staff. I stayed overnight and would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Family friendly with lots of activities if you wish to participate. This is what camping is all about. Would return for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Campground is nice and clean. The shaded pull through sites (30/50 amp) will take two or more sewer hoses to reach. The facilities are really clean, staff is friendly, activities for the children were great. Yogi Bear was present. No golf carts allowed was a blessing!! Overall, the campground was a typical Yogi Bear facility, charge extra for everything. Paying extra for children is really too much. Before long, I am sure they will start charging extra to use the bath houses. The train does come by, but it is at a distance and didn't pay much attention to it. We probably would look around for another place to stay if in the area, that didn't charge extra for everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
This was our second visit to this campground. We stayed here for the long 4th of July weekend in a 50/30 amp pull-thru site number 10. The pull-through sites have ample space with shade on this side of the campground. The right-hand side of the campground has no shade and more for one night stays. They've added a 9-hole mini golf course which was nice and it's $2 a person. Yes ... The campground is near two different train routes and their schedules seem like they come through every hour with their horns blowing. You get somewhat use to the train noise but if you don't like that ... then it will get on your nerves. Things that I don't like: They charge per day for each child and for cable. It's $2 per day for cable per day and ages 3-11 is $2 per day and goes up to $4 a day for 12 and older. The rate covers two adults only! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
This RV park is okay for an overnight stay and is average in ambience. Good Wi-Fi and nice staff. Sites were level. Only downside was the noise from nearby train and whistle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
It was OK for an overnight stay. It seems like it's the owner's 2nd year and they want to fix it up. It needs a lot of maintenance. There is a train next to the campground, and that was my biggest peeve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Great pull through sites. Nice store. Fair amount of permanent looking guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
My kids love Yogi Bear Campgrounds and this one is nice but it's a small one compared to the others. The owners are from New Jersey and work onsite at the park. They "seem" stand offish but maybe my southern perception of them. They were nice but just reserved. The staff were locals and very nice. They had events scheduled for what I thought was every hour. The bathrooms and showers were some of the cleanest ones I've seen and we visited on Labor Day weekend. We stayed here in our 30' travel trailer and the back-in site was nice, level and shaded. The only thing that would prevent me from going back is the train schedule. The park is right next to the tracks: enough to hear the whistle and the clanking of the wheels. There was a train coming by every 3 hours all through the day and at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
What a nice little park. Level shady sites with full hookups. Cable TV is extra. Free WiFi needs access code from office. Nice pool. Gravel road and gravel roomy sites. Friendly staff. Would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Nice CG with a nice staff. Large clean pool and laundry. The train mentioned wasn't bad and if it ran at night I didn't notice it. If you are north bound and your GPS tells you to exit off ramp 13, don't do it: take ramp 17 or you will need to make a U turn. Easy for some rigs but not enough room for mine. Good WiFi but the cable TV didn't have some channels I would have liked. No speed bumps. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$41
This is a nice campground close to the highway. This was our third time stopping here for the night. The rate reflects 2 extra kids and a GS discount. Nice pool, clean bathrooms. Nice playground for the kids. Wi-Fi worked great. As mentioned in other posts, in the evening trains come often and loud. Seemed to be less frequent as the night went on (with the A/C on it was not an issue). Rating would be a 9 without the trains, but we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
We only stayed here 1 night on the way to Pennsylvania, but it was very easy to find and get to especially late at night. The manager on duty was actually still there and lead us to our spot. We had requested an easy accessible one since we weren't getting there until late at night, and that's exactly what we got. The grounds and bathrooms were very clean. They had a pool, horseshoes, and a playground area for kids. We're not big on RV parks because of the closeness and not many trees, but this place did have several areas in the back with trees and more privacy. The camp owner was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again on our travels. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
My daughter picked this campground as a schools out for summer camping weekend, we had a great time, the pool is wonderful. The campground and facilities were very clean. Our site backed up to the woods was spacious and private. I camped here in the 70's with my parents, the current owners have made a lot of nice improvements. WiFi worked great. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This park is really a 10 and I would stay here again. But, if trains running nearby every 30 minutes all night bother you, than you would want to stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
The CG is large, clean and beautiful. But the trains running by the CG are loud and they vibrate ground. The pool is large and very clean. The CG has everything necessary to keep the children occupied. The campsites are large, Wi-Fi was excellent and satellite reception was great. We would love this CG if not for the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This is really a great stopping off point. The people who work here are very friendly. This park has nice shaded spots. One problem with the park, the sewer connections are at the back of the site and you probably will need more than one hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Great campground: has friendly staff, great pool, excellent restrooms, is family run, has great planned activities, and a small, family feel. The train does sound some, but it's not bad. It's shady, clean, well kept. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
We stayed here as a stopover on our way south. It is easy to get in and out of and I think all of the sites are pull-throughs. The camp host was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Had a great conversation with the new owner, John. Personable guy as well as one of the "workampers", Ed. CG was clean, great wi-fi even towards the rear of the CG. Sites a little close if I were staying more than a night or two. And the train...The train keeps this CG from getting a higher rating. Runs right behind the CG and there must be a crossing close by because the engineer lays on the horn, even at night. We stayed here on the way to Myrtle Beach and then again on the return trip. First stop, we received a discount for having the MIL with us (over 60), but when I mentioned that on the return trip, no go. Different girl checking us in. Didn't see John to ask about the difference. We will consider returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
We stayed here overnight on our way to a vacation destination. Fine enough for an overnight. This is the second time we have used this campground for a stopover. I wouldn't stay here to relax and kick back as a vacation, but nice enough for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This campground was recently purchased, and the history of the campground is on their brochure. The campground appeared to have many recent improvements, and was clean and well kept up. Level, pull through sites by the front as well as farther back in the campground. No road noise. We would stay there again. Wireless Internet worked good at the site we had up front. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Park is well taken care of, graveled sites many shaded. Need to leave a day early and asked for a refund, seeing that the Park was less than half full. The owner would not give me an answer and made me come back when a young girl was in charge and she told me she was told to tell me the policy was no refunds. Very disappointed in the character of the owners. Makes me wonder how they would handle other issues ? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
We stopped here for only one night en route to DC. The park has been here for a long time but everything was in good clean order. We would stay here for a weekend with no problem. The staff was real nice. We will stop again when going Northeast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Nice campground. They were doing some improvements while we were there to the landscaping, etc. We had a level gravel pull-thru site and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
It was kind of an "if-y" place just by reading other reviews on this place but, we had no other place to stay over night. However, it turns out to be a great place. The owner so nice & polite and the ranger was so great!! Very polite and works very hard. I could tell he was so thankful to work there. There were many over nighters when we were there and none of them seems like they have problem with the place. Wide and long enough site so, we didn't have to unhitch. Bathroom/Shower was an old facility but, spotless! I don't know how it would be during there peak season with many many children running around, however, we had great time staying over night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Apparently there is new ownership here but it is important that someone be present in the office during business hours to answer the phones and help guests. I do not like staying near railroad tracks either. The trains kept us up. We will not come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
I understand this is under new ownership but could not get anyone on the phone in my numerous tries to call prior to our arrival. That is a problem for us when you cannot reach a campground during their business hours at different times. We need to know if they have spaces available and their rates prior to making a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We usually stay here as we pass through Virginia. The only downside was we did not get our Good Sam's discount because the young lady checking us did not put down her cell phone while we checked in. I think that this is just plain rude in a business situation. Even though she told me we had received the discount, I just checked the rates online and found that we paid the full rate. That will not keep us from coming back, but it was clearly unprofessional on her part. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We stayed overnight. The site was very shady and quiet. The men's shower was closed because they had painted the floor that day, so my husband had to use the ladies' room. It was inconvenient, but acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
This is kid friendly place. Restrooms were very clean as were showers. They did have a nice game room and TV/movie viewing room. The small grocery store was pretty well stocked. They do sell propane here. There is no cable TV and no WiFi. We regret our planned 2 night stay because there is a nearby major North to South railroad line and the trains come through every 10 minutes day and night. The south bound trains hit their whistles just as they reach the park so you get jarred awake quite frequently each night. We will not ever stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
Our first stay at this park, and was very good. Like others have mentioned about the trains, 2 an hour but less than 5 min long, but you do get used to it. This time of year a lot of transient folks. No fire wood was available, supply man did not yet arrive. Restrooms were well stocked and cleaned, Plenty of "Hot" water. Friendly staff especially the owner. Will stop there again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
The park is nice as an overnight stay, but is not a destination. The pool was closed for the season, which we expected, but it did look to be a good sized one. The playground was very small. The gameroom was all pay-to-play and the video games were dated. The "movie" room was cheesy, with benches made from old van seats. They did have a good selection of videos to rent or view for free in the theater though. The sites were large and very easy to access. The picnic tables and fire rings were all in good condition. Everything worked very well, and the staff was very friendly the whole time we were there. Not sure why they are so expensive, as the campground is no nicer than ones we have stayed in before that were much cheaper. One BIG WARNING. They have a train track directly behind the park and trains go through all the time, even in the middle of the night. They are only a few hundred feet from you, so it is quite noisy. Walmart and the growing city of Emporia are relatively close, but they don't have many entertainment venues (no movie theatre, putt-putt, bowling, etc). Everyone drives to bigger areas a distance away for that sort of thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Very friendly staff. Lots of planned activities. It looked like there were some long timers there but their site was tidy. Pull through site was a little snug and we could not open the awning. Bath houses were clean but very small and busy in the morning. The camp store was a little lean. They were out of bread or lunch meats so be sure to stock up before going. However, the kids enjoyed the video game room, the ice cream social and the story telling time. The train takes a little getting used to. Overall, good overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
A good stopover park. We stayed here on a return trip from Florida. Restrooms are clean but the showers are not very private. The train whistles were not disturbing to us. We found it to be a fun and friendly place. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
This is a great stop off campground. Easy to reach from I-95. Pull through sites were large and fairly level. We have always been treated in a very friendly fashion. It is not a resort but a very acceptable campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$38
PAssing through coming home from Disney with two kids (2 and 4). Spent one night over Easter weekend and the staff was very friendly and accommodating especially with the kids. This campground is definitely not a resort and would probably not stay more than 2 nights. It was clean, convenient to I-95, quaint gift shop and pool was not open yet. I would recommend this campsite for families looking for a kid-friendly environment with plenty of activities - especially coming to/from Disney. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$26
This park is a little better than average. Some pull throughs but the best sites are back-ins in the trees. We stayed only for one night as we were passing through, but would consider staying longer on a future trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
The pull thru sites were very easy to navigate at 10:00 pm when we arrived. We stayed overnight on our way to Disney World. They trains were enough to keep my wife up for a good part of the night but I slept through them. We had an issue with the electric hookup, the breaker kept popping. Easy access to I95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
Stopped here on the way down to Myrtle Beach. After a tough day on I-95, this was good way to end the days driving. Very good host, nice level pull thru site and nice refreshing pool. Able to stay hooked up and get the early leave next morning. Just a fine place for that overnight stay while heading south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Very nice campground, nice 1/2 way stop off, easy off/on from rt 95, plenty to do with kids, only complaint if any is way too many bugs, besides that good stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Not a "Resort" as advertised but a good "Stop-and-Go" overnighter. Not a destination campground. This was our second visit. Arrival reception has always been pleasant and friendly. All campground facilities were organized, clean and tidy. Very clean pool and sunning area. Our pull-thru site #132 with 50 amp service was level and large enough for our 38' motorhome with no problems. The frequent train whistles may be annoying to some but we find it to be a novelty. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Very rude owner/operator. They claim to be big rig friendly, but we could not fit our 40' motor home into our assigned site. The owner at first refused to refund our fees. She eventually relented, but told us never to bring our "!*&#!" motor home back to her park. The campground itself looked like it would have been fine for RV's shorter than 35'. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We used this park as a one night stay as a travel through. TRAINS: about two per hour go right by the park. If you can tolerate the noise it is a clean, easy access park, especially for passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Good overnight park. Long pull through sites. Road and sites have good gravel on them. Better than your average overnight park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$31
A very nice campground. The sites were large and well stoned, especially the shaded sites (an no problem getting in out of these sites with a 40 ft motorhome). The staff was friendly. The area was very clean. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Easy access from I-95. About 50 sites are pull-throughs, some shaded and some in the open. The campground is clean as are the showers, restrooms and pool area. There is a RR track nearby and the trains can be noisy. Otherwise the campground is quiet. We stayed here for a few days as a rest stop and would use this campground again. For the few days we were here, most of the campers were overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$24
We stayed here in Feb passing through. The people where very friendly and helpful, but this campground looks old and outdated. Fine for a night but I wouldn't want to spend more time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com