218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Fancy Gap / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (276) 728-7776
CGID3047

Fancy Gap / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   9   8   8   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We stayed here just overnight traveling from Pittsburgh to Myrtle Beach, and again on the return trip. This campground is beautiful, very wooded and rustic looking, and very peaceful. They have some kids' activities, like "gem mining" in a mock mine and catch/release fishing in a tiny pond. The campground is very hilly. They do have a note on their web site to call them if using a GPS to access the campground. We used the directions on their website and it did differ from the GPS route. Sites are roomy and level, each site is surrounded by trees. The second stay, we reserved one of the three sites that include a large fenced dog yard. That was a great bonus. The yard includes a small fire pit and separate areas of mulch and stone. There were a couple of piles left from previous visitors, but they were easy to miss as it kind of blended in with the color of the mulch. There is a step-open trash can in the yard to make cleanup easy. Yard area surrounded by pretty wooded areas just like campsites. Camp store is nice, KOA staff are super nice, as we have come to expect at KOAs. Didn't use restrooms or showers, but grounds were very well kept. There is a restaurant/diner just down the road called Lakeview Restaurant that had wonderful home cooked meals and desserts. Very nondescript in appearance but great homemade food. The campground is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and there are some pretty views just a short drive down the road. This will be a regular stop for us on the way to points south! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Outstanding campground. I would highly recommend if you will be in the area. We used it as a one night stay on our way to Myrtle Beach and it would have been nice to stay a couple more nights. They had a small pool but the staff was some of the most friendly I've encountered. Their restrooms were terrific. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$70
The WiFi is really weak once you're away from the store, understandably being the CG is on a mountainside. Clean and supremely well kept as always. They could probably use one more bathhouse on the upper end as they were in use quite often and it's a long walk down to the office one. Everything was just as clean and nice as always. Super clean and nice little cabins. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This park was a surprise. The office, showers, and restroom were all spotless. The laundry was very modern. Parking sites were fairly level for a campground in such a hilly area of Virginia. Every site was well shaded. Utilities were nicely located in one grouping which is not always the case. Access to the park is fairly easy, being just a couple miles off the interstate. I would have no problem camping here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
Good wi-fi. Very clean bath house, but terrible "misting" showers, and bath mats that are so sharp they nearly cut your feet. Camp is near Mt. Airy (the town that the Andy Griffin show was based on). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
I must confess, I don't generally like KOA's because the sites tend to be so small. However, we just spent a week here and it was great. A little early in the season, so there were not many people there, but the sites are fairly large and have fire rings and picnic tables. Our unit is large, but still had no trouble getting in and out. Sites are covered with p-gravel and are pretty level; nothing the leveling on our RV couldn't handle. People were very friendly as we checked in. All in all, I couldn't have been more pleased. Close to a lot of the "Crooked Road" blue grass action. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
First and foremost, it's camping. This is a great little park. Very pretty and nicely treed. We had the GPS on but followed the highway signs and got in just fine. It is convenient to I-77. It is a little tight and hilly but with care it is very doable. Our pull thru site fit our 40' RV and truck without having to unhitch. Most sites are on the small side but for those with smaller rigs they are very nice. They even have sites with pet yards behind them which would be very convenient but those sites are for very small units. We did not hook up to cable so I cannot attest to that. AT&T signal was not good but their WiFi worked very well. The store is on the small side but has all the basics for those just in case moment. This campground is in a great location to lots of local things to do. We would definitely consider stopping here overnight for our regular north to south and back journey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Roads are steep and tight, but doable with care. They have a nice little fenced dog run that my little girlie really appreciated. Wifi is free and fast - NOT Tengo. Gorgeous, heavily treed sites on a hillside, so everyone is on a different level and no one is in anyone else's way. Staff is friendly and everything is clean and neat. Nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Excellent camp. Clean washrooms including showers, accommodating staff. Pool was closed - as are most pools this time of year. Good Internet signal and speed. Only reasons not to give "10" are the sites are tight and the camp is a bit of an off road trip from the Interstate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
The Internet access was excellent in the back of the park, but in our opinion the nicer sites are more in the middle, with more shade, grass and privacy. We were assured that those sites should have good Wi-Fi strength, also. Cable TV was a plus. The laundry room is very clean and reasonably priced. The dog park was a big hit with our cat! The owners are very amenable and friendly. The park backs up to the Blue Ridge Parkway with access to hiking trails, etc. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
No complaints about this campground. Very clean bathrooms and nice staff. We stayed here as a base camp for geocaching in the area. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This is an older KOA with relatively narrow interior roads. Tight turn into and out of the park. Our 40' did OK but longer rigs may have problems. Our site was gravel but not very level and somewhat short as we just got the toad onto the pad. Nice park with trees in the cool of the hills. Restrooms were nice and modern. Staff was great and helpful. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway with lots to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
We stayed here on the way back from Myrtle Beach as an overnight stay. We used to stay at another campground, but it has fallen into poor condition, so we gave this one a try. Glad we did. This is our new overnight stopover. The place is immaculate. Bathroom/showers are impeccable. The staff was super friendly, but not pushy. It did take all of our 2 sets of legos to get our coach close to level. The sites are not level, but it was probably exaggerated by the fact that we were attached to our toad, and I didn't want to unhook so I couldn't get the coach in the best position. We found the cable to be excellent as well as the WiFi. If they could take a box blade or landscape rake and level off the gravel in the sites, this would be a 10. This is our new layover when heading to the East coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We stayed here for one night on our way home from 3 weeks on the road. Had stayed here many years ago when campground was under different ownership. Was very impressed with all of the improvements made by the new owners. Leveled gravel sites, newly remodeled store/showers/restrooms. New dog play area. Only service that needs improvement is their cable TV. It was unusable. Others in the campground had the same problem, snowy picture with no sound. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
The good- quiet wooded campground, nor far from I-77. The bad - unlevel camp site , terrible cable reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Beautiful well maintained campground with lots of shade. Located near the parkway and Mt Airy. WiFi was fast and free, cable was satisfactory, cell phone reception was spotty. Privite clean restrooms/showers. Sites are not the most level so come prepared. Very friendly staff. No mosquitoes during our stay. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Price reflects full hook-up site with cable. Owners are very nice. Decent size off-leash dog park. Cable isn't great nor is the water pressure. Poor WiFi (free). Not very "KOA like" which we like. It is not full of kids stuff, although there is a pool and a few kid activities. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Again, they have upped their game at this CG. They now have a fenced in dog area and several sites with fenced in back yards. The bathrooms and showers are the standard by which I judge others. Still appear new years later. You won't find better owners anywhere. They were flexible on checkout and let me borrow a ladder to work on my roof! I don't recommend site 6, as it's beside the pool and is the passageway to the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Overall this is a nice CG but, if you have a big rig, be aware that the sites are tight and have a lot of slope. The CG itself is nice: good facilities, lots of shade and very quiet. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. We would stay here again but would be a little more selective about our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Destination campground located in idyllic wooded rural Virginia adjacent to the middle of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Well marked access from Parkway. A well maintained park with terraced sites, a pool, a small catch and release fish pond, and kid activities. Pet friendly for friendly pets. Gravel interior roads with generally level gravel sites. Better than average space between sites with grass and lots of trees between sites. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. Lots of room to maneuver for big rigs. Sites are well spaced with good access to utilities and all worked properly. Good cable selection . Wi-Fi worked well. Verizon voice and data coverage was weak. Showers/restrooms are modern and spotless and laundry is fine. Very quiet with no train, plane or traffic noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Park has a small store and lots of activities for the kiddos. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Great campground and wonderful mountain setting. The owners and family are all so nice and helpful. I was in site 13, really liked it. Good space on side of trailer, fire pit, picnic table, and concrete pad. Not quite level. Great Halloween activities for our kids, we come every year at Halloween. They now have a few sites with a fenced in area for dogs behind your site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is our second visit here. It was just as nice as our first. The CG is in a beautiful setting. Our site was on the lower tier and fairly level. Water pressure was good. Park was clean and well maintained. People running the CG were nice. Ice cream social on Friday night. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Mt. Airy (Mayberry) Small catch & release pond, clean pool and nice game room. Easy access to I-77, but far enough away where the noise is minimal. Lots of shade. Overall a great campground. Good Wi-Fi reception. Poor AT&T reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This is the most beautiful campground that we never meant to visit. Our car broke down in the mountains and actually got towed here. The people are great, they went out of their way to help any way they could. We want to come back sometime for a real stay. Very steep roads getting here and in the park. Most sites are very shady and the Internet is the best we've had. AT&T cell only has a small area near the office where there are bars. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Our only disappointment was we could only stay one night as we were traveling to South Carolina. This place is clean, well laid out, and well cared for. The bathrooms could not be cleaner: and that is an understatement! You will not find nicer people, and after staying here you can see why they have won so many KOA Awards and Honors. Excellent Wi-Fi service and easy in and out for bigger rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
This KOA is a delight! Lots of space surrounded by woods and lots of trees. A very friendly staff that go out of their way to be helpful. Located far enough from the main highway to be VERY quiet. A good pool and free Bluegrass live music on the weekends. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway; its on the east side of the KOA. We are staying almost a week to enjoy the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Access is down a narrow but passable road. The interior roads are a mix of paved and gravel. The pads are gravel. This park is pretty hilly so bring extra blocks. It looks like the current owners are putting in new pads, bathrooms, cabins, etc. The park is well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Park is very close to Blue Ridge parkway. It is very quiet. Wi-Fi is good. This is a nice place to stay overnight or to tour the parkway. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We were desperately searching for a campground just to spend the night on our way home to Ohio from Florida when we found the Fancy Gap/Blue Ridge Parkway KOA. We pulled in just around the office closing time and found the staff to still be friendly and helpful. This campground was the most beautiful campground we stayed in during our entire trip. It was very quiet and the restrooms were absolutely the cleanest we'd seen. We are going to plan a trip around this campground in the future so we can enjoy it longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We first camped here about 3 years ago in a tent. The next year we had bought a 19 Visa trailer and now we're in a 28ft Kodiak. We love this CG and have made this an October tradition. Nicest bathroom/showers of just about any CG we've visited. The owners are very nice and accommodating. I checked in after hours and they left two bundles of wood for me as I called ahead the request. It's a fairly wooded CG, we love the first sets of spots just behind the office. Plenty of really cool places to go and shop or visit nearby. The Hungry Farmer is a great breakfast restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Nice little park with a great staff. I originally called the morning of our arrival day to cancel due to the inclimate weather. Later that day the weather turned out to be real nice. My wife called to see if we could still come and they said yes and reversed the cancellation fee. The sites are decent. We were in site 22 I believe. It was a pull through. A little unlevel from front to back, but no major issue. The park is right next to the BRP. So if you are traveling it, this is a great place for you to stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Very nice clean and wooded park. All other campground restrooms/showers should be judged against this park. Larger sites than most KOA's but some were still rather small. Pool, game room, firewood, laundry, propane, etc. This is also very much a transient park. Lots of over-nighters so choose your site wisely. Stay far away from the pull through sites 52-58 unless you are a one nighter and moving on the next morning at 6AM. An unbelievable amount of units were in and out of these 7 sites during our 3 night stay. Site location is extremely important at this park. Unfortunately, we were not in a good one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
Very clean and neat near the Blue Ridge Pkwy. I only stayed one night and left the next morning (never unhitched), but would consider it for a longer stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Very welcoming and helpful staff. Stayed in site 54 and it was lovely. Beautiful trees. This place is well maintained with nice touches everywhere. Adorable bear benches, a "critter hitch" area for pets while you visit the camp store, reasonably priced firewood. And it is so close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Would definitely stay here again. Good free Wi-Fi signal. Staff helped with fax needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Nice, shady sites in the forest of the Blue Ridge about 1.5 mile off I-77. The roads to and within the camp are hilly and winding, but we had no problem towing a 30' trailer. Sites are a little larger than in many KOAs, but our gravel site required several leveling blocks. We stayed overnight while passing through. Staff was very courteous and friendly. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
We arrived at 7:00PM and the staff was friendly and courteous. They offered to show us to our lot, but we declined and used the map they provided us. The lots are pretty level and in good order. The grounds are very clean and kept as are the bathrooms, showers and game room. We didn't give a 10 only because the playground could use a few more things for our 4 year old being coupled in the truck all day to burn off some energy. Would stop here again on the way through, very convenient to the interstate, yet secluded and quiet. Has a nice pond up front, but didn't get the chance to fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
We found the site to be large and easy to level. Had good cell phone coverage, satellite access, and the WiFi worked very well. Even though the park is built on the side of a hill, most sites seem to have easy access and are pretty level. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful with local activities and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again when in the area. Great place for either a short or longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
The selling points are the location: immediately off of the BRPwy. It's also a KOA, so you've got some certainty of its amenities. We arrived at 7 pm; the staff showed us the campsite: a pull-through. We can't say much about the campground because the weather kept us inside (cold, wet and very foggy). The sites were close together (15' - 20' wide by ~40+' long), not our thing as we like more privacy. We appreciated the dog park, however with the rain, the ground was pretty squeeshy. We left early in the morning. We would consider staying here again because of the location to the BRP and would be more attentive in selecting our site; the weather just wasn't cooperating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
This CG renewed my faith in KOA. Nice staff, nice sites, nice CG. Sites could use some freshening up with new gravel and light landscaping. A most nice CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
Arrived after dark and after office hours so we found a site on our own - #11. The site was not level but we managed OK. Had we been able to arrive in daylight, we would have seen that some sites have concrete pads. Very friendly manager with knowledge of surrounding area. The bathhouses seemed very new so they were very modern (tiled floors) and clean. Cable TV service was good as was cell phone service even though this is a remote campground. Definitely plan to come back when we visit Mt. Airy, NC again. Price reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
This was just a stopover for us at a time of year when the park is mostly closed so the comments should be taken in that light. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The park and the sites are small and hilly. Wi-Fi was easy and worked perfectly. If it is a good park for a longer stay that was not apparent for our one night in early November. However, it is close to I-77 and makes a more than adequate one-nighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
This is a nice park and very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our site was pretty uneven, but the size was adequate. Facilities looked to be in good shape, and the people were very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Great for overnight stay. Very quite, it is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
Just ditto for the previous reviews. This a top notch RV park. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Sites are basically level and spacious, beautiful location right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, definitely in the country but close enough to major towns for supplies. This place even had propane and air for tires. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is our 2nd stay here and we LOVE it. It is so PEACEFUL here. We stayed on a totally shaded site with a deck and there was a constant breeze. The bath houses are spotless, so we opt to use them and not our camper. The office staff are very friendly. There is a restaurant about 1/4 miles away that serves a great breakfast. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
Pleasant park with many sites. I down rated a bit because we had a back-in site that required 4-wheel drive to back up hill while turning! WiFi kept tossing me off, forcing re-connect, but worked well while connected. Camped on Labor Day weekend and four-day minimum was in effect because of nearby Hillsville Gun Show and Fleamarket (huge)! Many shady sites. New, up-hill showers / restrooms nice but not of sufficient number. Not many choices for camping near Fancy Gap makes this KOA a likely spot to return to. Received a 10% discount for Vets. Staff friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
We were given a map to our pull-through, FHU, 30/20 site at check-in. It required 4-5 blocks in front to level in our rocked site. Very pleasant, professional, and informative staff had preprinted handouts for area attractions and restaurants. Very nice clean and modern restrooms and showers. Really excellent and fast WiFi (non-Tengo and easy to join network) and free cable TV. Nice store. Very few bugs. Sewer connection was not threaded and didn’t accept standard sewer donut. Pool at 75 degrees was rather cool for daughter and husband’s taste. It was a little hard to find this campground, but it is truly lovely with majestic tall pines in a valley. The pines did drop some sticky pieces. Pride of ownership is evident in this lovely and quiet peaceful campground. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This campground was one of the most beautiful parks I have stayed at. The sites are large, well shaded, and well manicured. You are not atop of each other like other parks, this park is very spacious. The bathrooms were clean, and well maintained, lots of hot water and good water pressure. The staff who happens to be one of the owners, was friendly and helpful. WiFi was available at no charge and was very fast. We highly recommend this park! A 10 all the way! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We stayed here over the 4th. Very nice CG. Our two sites were level and easy to get into. The staff was friendly. Lots of shade. It was clean and taken maintained. Playground for the kids and on-site mining available. Small pond for catch & release. Nice clean pool, great in the summer heat. Camp store had neat stuff. Water pressure was good. CG layout is neat with multi-level sites. Good base for touring the local area. e.g., Mt. Airy. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Stayed here while making the trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is literally 1 minute off the Parkway. The staff was extremely friendly, the sites were level and clean and we had plenty of shade. The restrooms were some of the cleanest we have ever seen. This is a must visit while on the Parkway. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Stayed over Western Days weekend and had a blast. Wonderful staff checked us in and took us up to our site. Lots of planned activities to keep us busy. Sites were large and fairly level. Bathrooms were some of the cleanest I have ever seen at a campground. We've been camping here for years and it just gets better every time we return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This park has nicely spaced large sites and friendly check-in. Some of the roads were a little tight, but manageable. We used this campground to do day trips in the area. This is our first time here but we would definitely come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Small, very pretty campground in a wooded setting. Campsites are spaced nicely so you are not on top of your neighbor. Had friendly, helpful staff. A clean campground. The sites are close, but have ample room for awnings, etc. This was our first visit here in this area. We will stop here again if traveling through this part of the state. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is definitely a destination park in the summer as we stay here several weekends a year and love it. The pond as stated by previous review is a lot of fun and the owners stocked it with blue gill and bass. A nice campground to unwind in and enjoy the cool mountains. Why some see only the negative is beyond me. This is a wonderful campground and when you visit bring your pole. Any campground that is only stayed at one night would not be a destination for any camper We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Pleasant folk in the office and very helpful. Would not consider this a destination campground based on others we have visited. Sites do not appear to be level, ours certainly was not. No trash pickup. The pond was very small, glad I didn't bring any bait. Pool was closed due to time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
The owners were real nice and friendly. Nice clean campground with no riff-raff. Clean bathrooms, beautiful little pond, and easily located to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
A really nice place to camp. The owners are wonderful, the staff is friendly, and everything was clean and neat. They had a "Fiesta" theme the weekend we were here, and everyone's kids had a good time trying to break the 2 pinatas. Sites are fairly level, and most all have some shade. The campground was quiet and family-oriented. If you have a larger trailer, it may be best to use I-77. The other access highway (US 52) is curvy and steep. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Spent two days here on our way home. Excellent campground with spacious sites. Owners were very helpful and very friendly. Campground was spotless. Can handle all sized rigs. Would recommend Fancy Gap to anyone with or without children. Very quiet and relaxing. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We camped here three nights. Beautiful, clean campground. We were in a nice large pull-through. The owners were very friendly and willing to help in anyway. They have a very nice laundry area and a wonderful screened in porch. Beautiful little pond. Very easily located to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Very nice family campground. Good variety of shaded and suny sites. Our site was not perfectly level, but one board took care of it. Most of the other sites seemed to be a little more level. Plenty of activities on the weekends, and peaceful during the week. Easy access to I-77 and less than a mile to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Beautiful mountain setting and cool temperatures. Bathhouse was sparkling clean everytime I went in. Free wifi worked well. Owners and staff are very friendly, helpful, and willing to guide you to the local attractions and eating spots. I had a slight electrical issue in that one prong of my shore line appeared to overheat in the three days were there. I'm not sure if the problem is with ny rig or their hook up. I notified the owner upon leaving and he went to check on it. We usually stay away from KOA but we will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Great park with lots to do. We stayed during the Wild West Weekend and had a great time. The pool is clear and inviting. They had alot of activities going on. The shaded sites are great when the temps start rising. The bathhouse is very clean and well maintained. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We spent a week here. It was our home base to enjoy the part of the Blue Ridge Parkway in this area. Camping at 3000 feet above sea level makes for different weather in the flat lands, very interesting. This is a nice campground with everything necessary for a nice stay. Very convenient to I-77 for over nighters. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
Our first time out. Owners very helpful, guided to site. Shaded, room for slide and awning. Exceptionally clean and well maintained. Very friendly, sampling of all ages. Helpful to direct us to local attractions. Will stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
What every park should be. If the sites were a little more level, I would give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Nice rustic C.G. Laid out on tiered levels, fairly good width sites, will probably need some leveling. Good Wi-fi (new this year). Quiet with easy access to the Parkway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
There was very nice staff that led us to our campsite. Site was not too level, but close enough. There are gravel sites, but wide enough for awnings and slideouts. This is a very wooded area, but DirecTV worked fine. Some sites have wood decks. Owner is making many upgrades. Some tight turns, but a 42' RV can do it. Entrance to Blue Ridge Parkway is nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We stayed here for two nights while traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway; the campground is right off the parkway and easily accessible. This is one of the best KOA's we have ever stayed at; the sites are larger when compared to other KOA's and are organized rather uniquely on a hill. It can be a little challenging getting into some sites. The entire campground is very clean. The owners/operators are very friendly and truly helpful; they will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This campground has undergone a huge change in the last 5 years. The new owners are very friendly and they have done a lot of work to this campground. Probably one of the cleanest campgrounds I have stayed at. It is family owned and operated which is another plus. The pool is new and very clean as well. Just a beautiful campground right off the parkway and 10-15 degrees cooler than down the mountain. The only things that kept me from giving a 10 were the sites are very unlevel in some areas. My friend and both have TT and we were over 4" out in 8ft. It is difficult to level sites on a mountain side, but some more effort needs to be addressed in this area. Next the internet service is very weak. If you are closer to the front pull thrus the signal is much stronger. I only saw one repeater and it was located up front. If internet is important to you choose one of the front pull thrus. Although they have pines covering them, and if you are like me and won't camp under pines, then get as close as you can. Last is water pressure. The campground is on well water and when it got crowded over the weekend there was a big difference in water pressure. It took almost 12 min to back flush my holding tank. Other than these things this park is one of the best I have stayed at and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a wonderful campground. We loved the mountainous feel, the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff, and the quietness of the place even on the 4th of July. We wish there was more to do around Fancy Gap, but that is not the campground's fault! We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This park was easy to find. We found the road to the park in good condition, and camping signs well placed as indicators which way to turn. Friendly owners, and hard working. Many trash cans near sites, some incline to roads and levelers needed at our site. Wi-fi is easy to connect to, as well as cable is available for the TV. Clean restrooms and showers. Great walking areas for both people and pets. Tree shaded spots are available with easy hook ups. Nice cool water flows from your faucets with a great taste. Roomy spots with nice big trees on the properties. A good straight exit driveway to check/hook up your tow car prior to leaving, also near dump station is an air machine if needed to add air or check the pressure in your vehicle tires or RV. This KOA is close to gas stations and eating spot. Wonderful place to stay the night or longer. Clean pool with deck for sunning bathing. There is a catch and release pond, plus geese that know the sound of breaking bread. Less than a mile away is an entrance to the Blue Ridge parkway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Nice campground, pleasant owners. Very clean bathrooms and laundry. Some seasonals who are separated, for the most part, from the rest of the campground. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We have stayed at this park multiple times over the last few years, and it just keeps getting better and better. The people working are very friendly and the sites are well taken care of. The sites are on the uneven side but nothing that a little leveling couldn't take care of. We were in a 38 Motorhome towing a truck. Total length is over 50ft and I have never had any problems getting into or out of the sites. People who have a hard time getting into these sites may want to consider purchasing a smaller rig that they are capable of driving. We love this park and will continue to come back to see all the wonderful improvements they continue to make. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We stayed here twice on a recent trip to Florida. Very friendly staff leads you to your site. Tight turns and steep hills within the campground but my 37' motorhome handled them easily. My site (no. 25) was a little uneven but levelers could compensate. Great cable and Wi-Fi. Water pressure was very high but no trouble. Fire ring was close to the RV but it rained both times we stayed so we never had the chance to use it. Utilities well located. Trash cans located near each site. Shower rooms were very clean. Public roads leading to the CG are narrow and winding but little traveled allowing you full use of the road. Would stay here again without question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
It's hard to say negative things about this park, because the staff is so helpfull and friendly. However, big riggers should be aware that this is, in spite of KOA's claim, NOT big rig friendly. The exit transition is so steep that you clearly risk bottoming out or hitting your 5th wheel on your truck sides. Negotiating the campground turns to the pull through sites is very tight. None of the pull throughs we saw were level. Aside from those negatives, this is a nice woodsy quiet campground. It is simply not big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Much nicer than usual KOA. Spacious sites, some nicely made on hillsides, good pull-throughs, nice overall arrangement with thoughtful details. Great area for touring Blue Ridge Parkway. Call ahead for directions. Very friendly management. None of the usual KOA junk (rental toys, etc.) laying around or in evidence. Sites much better than usual KOA style. Not an "all kids, all the time" type KOA. Garbage can at almost every site. Will return happily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We stayed here with 4 other families and their camping rigs. We had sites 23-27. These were the 50 amp pull thru sites. I had found this campground on the internet as we were looking for a campground near the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia. This was the perfect place to camp. We stayed four nights and we had a great time. The campground host's, the Manning's, made our stay very nice and pleasant. They are working hard to make it a family campground with lots of things to do with kids or without. I would stay here again, and plan too. If you want a place to stay that wants your business this is the place. The owners are working hard to make your stay pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Follow the map and directions given by KOA or you could easily miss the entrance to this pleasant campsite. We were given a shaded site on a concrete pad, full hookup. Neighbors fairly close but never a problem. Nice clubhouse, spotless bathrooms, well-stocked store. We wouldn't hesitate to return if we were traveling up or down I-77. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Great park for staying and seeing the sites. Close to "Mayberry" and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Trees are kept trimmed, roadways smoothed, lots a little uneven, but owner is trying to fix that. New owners are committed to making this park the best in VA. We have stayed here 3 times and plan to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Stayed two nights at park. Somewhat hard to find. Clean park! CG is set up on 3 elevations turning in upper two can be tight, clearance to my TV bed did give me concern! Was taken to my site and owner helped with back-in. Friday night CG showed a movie, and Sat. had ice cream for guest. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
A very nicely maintained park. The new owners were only there a week when we stayed and they could not have been more helpful. They included the entire campground in a family birthday celebration and made everyone feel right at home. We would surely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Very nice park. Passing through area and stayed one night. Very quiet and peaceful. Wifi worked great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Very tight turn getting into the campground with our 40' rig and tow. Very steep exit road. I went out the in since no one was coming in. Had a lot of wind when we arrived caused trees to block the satellite signal. Okay when wind died down. I would rate it good for overnight but not for a destination. Narrow road from interstate and narrow drive not great for big rigs but doable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Good place for overnight or several days. The new owners are young, hard-working, and friendly. They are trying to make the facility more family oriented to serve as a destination. This place is immediately off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Watch the signs carefully or you'll get a tour of Fancy Gap. Also, read the "Rates" section of the web site carefully, especially if you have a large party or need 50 amp service. The bathrooms are very clean and reflect the owners' commitment to excellence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Great Park, great new owners, very scenic. Would stay again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We've camped here several times in the last year and have been completely won over. The sites were wide and most were pull through. Bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have seen. I hate to see people rate a campground from years ago as so much has changed here in the last year or so. The only way to find out for sure is to come by yourself and see all the great changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
My family camped here on October 24, 2006 which was the campgrounds Fall Fun weekend. The new owners are great and have remodeled the bathhouse and the roads are grate and in good shape. Our unit with 3 slides would have easily fit in most all of the sites. The previous post is old and should not be considered as reliable. These old posts should not be allowed as this is just incorrect information. We will be back many times this coming year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
One of the nicest of dozens of camp grounds we have stayed in. Immaculately clean and well kept. Campground is terraced, giving you a feeling of being in the forest. New owners (since last year) are great to deal with and talk to. Sites are graveled with grass. All have fire rings and picnic tables, parking sites are fairly level. Lots of space to walk the dog. Easy entry and exit. It's hard to understand the poster that rated this CG a (1). They apparently don't read this web site much. They either have no idea of the change in ownership last year or have some kind of an axe to grind. That type of post is counter productive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This park was clean and well managed. The sites are all on different levels so you never have anyone in front or behind you. All in all a beautiful park. However the real reason this park is so special is the staff/owners. Even though the park was full when we arrived they still stopped by and took the time to chat with us and made sure that we were taken care of. We will deffinitly be coming back to this park soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
This park is a gem off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We found the park clean, manicured and well managed. New owners have done so much to make this a great place to stay. The WiFi makes it perfect to stay a few extra days. We will definitely be back in the fall to see the leaves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Great mountain setting. Well maintained campground with great owners. Bathhouse was clean and water pressure was good in the showers. Large camp sites with fire pits and picnic tables( could use some new picnic tables as ours was a bit wobbly from age). A great place to get away and relax with cool mountain breezes. We will br returning in the fall to enjoy the fall foliage along the BRP. If there was a pool I would rate this campground a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Great place to spend a week or few relaxing. Sites are unusually wide and well laid-out. Sites are teared and either shaded or mostly sunny, back-ins or pull-thrus are available. The new management has put in a lot of work fixing up the campground, trimming the branches and fixing the roads. Restrooms very clean. Site trash pick-up every couple of days. Plenty of room to walk the dog and for exercise. Managers very friendly and obliging. They even walk the park a couple of times each day to check and see if everything is OK. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
We camped at Fox Trail this past Easter weekend and found the campground most enjoyable. The campground now has new owners who are friendly, outgoing and very enjoyable. The new owners have made huge improvements to the campground and are working hard to make it the #1 camping facility in the area. If your looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind, you will find it at Fox Trail campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
We actually stayed in the rental unit. It was a park model RV, permanently set up in the park with a large screened in porch and additional bedroom. Our stay was very enjoyable. There is catch and release fishing in the pond. We caught 2 large catfish and many largemouth bass. The sites are tiered, shaded with many large trees. The bathrooms were very clean, showers included. The owners were very friendly and made you feel welcome. There was an on site laundry, game room, and playground for the children. We will be staying at this campground in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
The park is now under new management and they are wonderful people. They have been doing alot of work on the campground since they became the owners. We don't live that far from this campground and it is a great place for us to get away for the weekend. If you are going to be in the area of Fancy Gap Virginia you should give them a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Good park for a overnight stop or a couple of days while touring the area, however it is a old campground and the sites are very tight with lots of trees to consider when parking and setting up. Under new management and the young couple that own it now are working hard to improve the campground, and they are very nice and friendly easy to deal with. Do not plan on using a dish at this campground due to the many nice and mostly old trees. Very shady campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
This park has new management and they are very friendly and are in the process of improving the facility. This will be a great camp in the near future due to the location. We will go back to this camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
This park is under new management as of Sept. 2005. Things had somewhat run down, but not bad (parts of the sites and roads were a little rough). New management is great to work with and are improving the park. It is very convenient to I-77 and the Blue Ridge parkway. The spaces are among the larger we have visited. Most of the roads are paved, spaces are graveled. It was nice and quiet and good security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$24
Avoid this camp ground at all costs. There is a nice camp ground called Utts Campground 1/2 mile farther north on US 52 in Fancy Gap, VA. The main problem is the owner who suffers from a rage or anger management problem. He, in an uncontrolled rage, shouted, cursed, berated and threatened me over a minor problem (where he was in the wrong) to the point that I feared for my safety. I left immediately before I suffered physical injury. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$24
We stayed there before the owner change. Had a great time and enjoyed talking with owner. Campsites were big and had a great time. Need to go back since the owner changed. Will review it again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$21
We really liked this campground a lot. It was clean and well run. I don't understand some of the other reviews at all. We have NEVER had a bad experience there. The sign-in persons were friendly and courtious. The bathrooms were very clean too. We have been stopping there for about 10 years now and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2004
$25
Poor interior roads. The park has narrow sites. It has some steep grades getting to the sites as it was built into the side of a hill. The restrooms were okay but not clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2004
$18
We found this CG on the internet and camped before 2004 but form only went back that far. WHAT A MISTAKE! Could be improved by giving staff some manners, mowing more often, "lake" was snakey looking, campstore was maybe a dozen items on about 3 shelves in the office/check in. Our site was at back in the woods on a hill (maybe site 49?) Bathrooms all the way up at the check in booth/office It was in a nice area, lots of shade, near the BRP and close to attractions in Fancy Gap We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$23
We found this CG on the Internet. It looked okay from their site. The site listed a fishing pond, but I don't think anything could live there it was very overgrown. The so-called camp store was a shelf in the camp office with a few dusty items on it. The bathrooms were located at the entrance and were a long walk from our campsite. The site were shaded, but very small. We were very close to the next site and our fire ring was too close to the next camper. Although listed as a family campground, there was nothing for the kids, with the exception of a playground that was really just 2 swings. We found the owners to be rude and offensive, especially the husband. We will not stay there again, and won't recommend it to friends and family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Close to the New River Trail and Blue Ridge Parkway. Campground is adequate. The owner smokes a cigar and the odor is quite strong in the registration office. The buildings are old. Game room is basically a pool table and some old electronic games. The sites are shaded and mostly level. It cost $2 per 5 minutes to use the payphone to get online. You also have to find the owner to do so.There were a fair amount of fulltime campground residents, however they were mostly kept in the upper part of the park. Overall, this CG could be better, but will do for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Very nice appearance,location, privacy and well shaded lots. Poorly maintained, electricity surges,large mudholes. Many permanent campers. Owners are not in the least friendly toward customers and regard every camper with suspicion. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$20
A pretty multilevel shady park with a clean laundry. The low rating is due to the unhospitible attitude of the owner (Mrs.). The 50amp was broken at our site and she claimed in was our trailer's problem. The office internet hookup could not be accessed without her presence plus a charge of $2 for every 10 minutes online. A very strange person. Plus her house is adjacent but up a hill and when she in needed to for anything in the office, she must be buzzed and you can expect at least a 5 min. waiting period. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Spacious shaded sites. Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Quiet campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
$22
This is a lovely campground in the pines that backs up to the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway. The rows of sites are tiered so you have nobody in front or behind you (in most cases.) Nice playground for children and a small fishing pond. Laundry room was clean with nice looking machines. Rec room has pool table. Office has a small store for camping gear and food, but limited supply. Our stay was very pleasant and quiet. (We have a 40' that fit fine in many sites.) I would definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting to be near this area. There's an excellent golf course about 30 minutes down the Parkway in Laurel Fork( Old Mill Resort). We camped here in a 2001.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com