220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Fredericksburg VA / Washington DC S. KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 114 user reviews. Phone: (540) 898-7252
CGID3048

Fredericksburg VA / Washington DC S. KOA

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   9   7   8   8   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$49
I stayed at this campground as base camp to see the Civil War battlefields in the area and Washington DC. My campsite was a bit unlevel, but I was able to park the trailer at an angle and it worked out well. The pull-through site was really long. They have a pond with a fountain in the middle. As far as the smell that some others have posted, I didn't notice it until I walked right up to the bank of it and then it wasn't that bad. Most of the interior roads were in good shape. Staff were working on the ones that were rough. Road leading to the campground was a bit narrow and curvy. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with anything I needed. If in the area again, I would stay at this campground, but would probably get one of the back-in sites with the patio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
Really nice wooded, clean campground. Our site, 26, had a nice area for the picnic table and decent space between the site next to us. However, other sites, like the one on the driver side of our camper, had their picnic table 2' from our sewer connection. Do your homework and try to request a nice site if you are staying for a few days. Having said that, I would say 80% of the campers were just overnighters in transit to somewhere else. Overall a nice campground for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
We loved this park. We were in site #93, a long pull through with no trees for satellite access. The price reflects $6 a day for 2 grandkids. They had a great time at the fishing pond. It's the best we've had at any KOA. The store is stocked well. Nice laundry room, $2 a wash and .25 for 7 min of drying. The pool was very nice. Very friendly people work here. There's great signage to get you to this quiet park in the wilderness. There are trains off in the distance but they weren't annoying. My husband suggests some of the pull-throughs could be situated for motorhomes to be facing the pond. We received a lot of history lessons by visiting Fredericksburg and several other battlegrounds. I would have rated this park a 10 but their Wi-Fi was weak and our Verizon signal was 1 bar. Also the picnic table was small for 4 people and a grill. If we are ever around this area again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$63
Good interior road, nice wide sites, even had some patio sites with a fire pit, and patio furniture. Nice pool area and a fishing pond. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
We were greeted and escorted to our level pull-through site extremely efficiently. The staff was friendly and helpful and anxious to please. The laundry was air conditioned and clean, and the upgraded shower/restrooms were most inviting. Their store was very well-stocked. This campground offers lots of entertainment for children (gemstone panning, paddleboats, playground, and pool). Overall, we would say this campground is a great credit to the KOA foundation. Our only criticism is the signage on Route 1 South which we found confusing as to where to turn. When you see the KOA sign indicating 2 plus miles for the campground be prepared to turn at the next left and then proceed on Route 607 the 2 miles to the campground. Keep an eye open for the campground entrance sign on your right as you come down the last hill. It is an abrupt right turn.We would definitely return. The price we paid reflects the rate with the KOA discount card. Our trailer is 33' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$50
Typical KOA. Shaded pull-throughs. Clean facilities. Close to restaurants and Fredericksburg. Road to park is narrow and twisty. Good for overnight, or weekend. Pool was dirty and laundry room was not clean and smelled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
This is a nice campground. The access road is very windy and hilly, but we had no problem in our 36' motorhome. The sites are large and well-maintained. We were near the road, but didn't have any trouble leveling. The big drawback to this campground is the sound of the trains all night and all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
A very good campground. It is a few minutes out of town, but it is also very quiet and peaceful. Cable TV was limited, but excellent quality. Wi-Fi worked very well. Verizon cell coverage was poor. Our campsite was level and hook-ups were appropriately placed and easy to access. Sites were close together. Both sunny and shaded sites were available. Lots of things for kids to do. We will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
We chose a KOA park because they are usually convenient, clean, and have excellent cable and Wi-Fi. This park is out of the way on a narrow winding road. Trees along the route to it hit the roof of our rig. Sites farthest from the road were level, but were supposedly reserved, and we were given a site next to the road with about a 4' drop from road level to site. We hooked up and found cable was very poor (3 lower channels were viewable, rest were too grainy to view), and there was no Wi-Fi. Satellite was not available due to trees, and our hotspot did not work. Office staff repeatedly told us they were full all weekend and had no complaints. The person parked 2 rows behind us came out and affirmed to the staff person that he had no internet and cable was very bad. We were offered a refund of part of our payment; we took it and left. If you need the services that were advertised (internet and cable), and do not want to have potential damage to your big rig getting there, find another campground. The charge ($57 without KOA discount) is not consistent with what is provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
It's a few miles from the interstate but worth the stop. Definitely follow the signs. I would suggest not arriving at night as there are a few rolling hills and some low branches. The moment you drive into the property you feel an inexplicable peace. The check in office very friendly and the mini store stocked well for emergency items and gift items. Gravel sites. Our satellite nor the air card worked at our site. The cable the campground provided was fuzzy. The pool was refreshing and clean. By the pet walk there's this beautiful area leading up to a small creek. At night, the campground is quiet and very dark. Bring flashlights. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Wonderful in every way. The young people working there were special. We could not have found a better place. Beautiful park. Nice store. Excellent clean bathrooms. Stay. You will love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
This park is located a few miles south of Fredericksburg. We used it as a base to visit DC and other attractions. It worked well for this purpose. It is fully functional and very pretty. Lots of trees make the place feel like you are "camping out". Utilities all worked and spaces are of adequate size. Our site was not very level, but the jacks handled it fine. Hand leveling or using boards might be a little tricky. Cable works well, but is pretty limited. Wi-Fi worked fairly well. Good laundry. Nice pool. Our Sprint phones and hotspot were not very useful in the park because of trees, terrain, or whatever. They worked fine when we went out and got on some higher ground near town. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$52
They say that it’s four miles off I-95. It’s more like eight, and some of them down a narrow winding road to the middle of a mosquito-infested nowhere. They charged over $50 for a substandard lot. First, after asking for 50 amp service, they put us in a 30 amp lot. After disconnecting everything I went back to the office, and they charged me another $4.96 for the 50 amp change. The lot was lopsided, WiFi did not work and the cable television was terrible. Next time we would go elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Easy to find and friendly staff. Just gearing up for the season and working hard to get things back up and running! A little tight coming in but certainly not a problem. Just have to slow down and be aware of your surroundings. Small store but had everything you could need in case you forgot something. Pull though site was long and accommodated our 40' fiver and truck, but it was a bit unlevel and quite a slope to pull out of when leaving. I bet it is a beautiful park in the summer with the trees and plants. Worked fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$36
Not a bad campground. Was in site 101 down by the lake. It rained that day so water collected around our site with puddles. The Wi-Fi was down. Bathrooms and showers were really clean. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$37
What a beautiful campground! This campground is nestled around lots of trees. There was a small pond next to our pull-through site. The campsite was quiet and friendly and only 5-10 miles from the civil war attractions in Fredericksburg. Full hookup, very big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Clean Campground. Close to Wash DC and good stop over traveling on I-95. Pull through sites are not level. Stayed here three times. Have had to use several leveling boards everytime. Cable does not work either. Internet is weak but useable. Would probaly not stay here except for the parks location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
My family stayed here for 4 days. The place itself is very nice, clean, and well kept to the point that it does feel a bit commercialized but still relaxing. The staff we dealt with were very nice and helpful. Plenty of clean bathrooms and showers. The biggest plus for me is how large the laundry room was, most campgrounds have two washers and dryers a piece and very hot rooms. This place had a big laundry room with a/c, a folding table, working change machine, and even set a hanging rack inside. The pool is medium sized. The playground could use a little updating. The small paddle boats are a nice feature to the little pond. The sites are easy to maneuver into and the road is paved. Town is very close so it is easy to go out for dinner or get groceries without a long drive. My only problem was the internet. Although they advertise fast service it actually is horrible. The Wi-Fi is incredibly slow if you can even get connected at all. Verizon cell phones pick up not service, and Sprint while getting somewhat of a signal, still is slow so make plans to be pretty much cut off from online or making any cell phone calls since they will get dropped. Also in my own opinion, I think children 5 and under should be free yet we were charged +$3 per night for my 3 year old. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
We looked for a campground near to Fredericksburg, VA and this one is close and not hard to find. The road in is good with one or two twists and a hill. Easy driving. It is maybe 10 minutes off Route 95 and is very quiet. Staff is helpful and cheerful. Sites are level and not stacked on top of each other. We are in a pull through that is plenty long enough for the rig and the toad. Water, electric, sewer and cable all easily accessible and placed right. Inside roads are mostly paved. The sites are stone and a bit of grass. Although where we are under the trees, it is more leaves and stone than grass. The lake is down about three feet due to the lack of rain. The pool is clean albeit a bit smaller than some. The store is mostly souvenirs and RV supplies. Seems well enough stocked and clean. There is a major shopping area maybe four miles away. There are many places to eat, a Walmart Super Center, Dick's Sporting Goods, Lowe's, and many more. I read where others think the price here is high. $50 a night is neither cheap nor expensive. We have paid more and we have paid less. Like all real estate it is location and your are near to DC, Quantico, and a lot of Civil War and Revolutionary sites. Get further away from it all and the prices drop off. I only rated an 9 because the game room is small and activities are few. For us, it was not a deal breaker because we are here to see the area and also have some other business nearby. But it may have bearing on others. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
We've stayed at this campground previously when visiting the DC area. It's starting to show its age. Overall a decent park, out of the way, but still within an hour's drive of DC. The bathrooms were spotless, but the rest of the amenities could use updating. A little pricey, but considering the proximity to DC, overall good value. Would probably stay again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
This was our second year staying at this park with extended family. We were in Site 41, a pull through and family members were in cabins right across the street. Park is very well maintained and clean. Staff is very friendly. The pool is very clean and well maintained. They have a lake for fishing, but due to the lake of rain VA has received this year, the lake was quite low. There were quite a few bees, think someone called them sugar bees. They don't bother you unless you swat at them and hit them or step on them. Management came around and sprayed ground for bees. Did help some. With lack of rain and heat, not surprised to see the bees. Management very friendly. Learned the names of all 4 children and would great each of the children when they saw them. My youngest got stung on the foot by a bee. The store had a first aid kit and applied bee sting stuff to his foot. He went from crying to smiling in less then a minute. The campground does offer Wi-Fi for free, but the signal strength is poor. Even close to the office. The store does have a computer that is available for guest use. Campground is close to I-95 and RT 1. There are plenty of shopping areas near the campground. We will return again next year for our annual family campout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We stayed here in a 30 amp spot because they didn't have a 50 amp lot available because we were staying over Memorial Day weekend and they were well booked. The spot was in the sun and not shaded. The management offered to have us move to another spot but we really didn't want the hassle of moving so we just kept the spot. We had some RV problems not related to the campground and had to extend our stay longer than anticipated. The folks at the front desk were more than helpful and friendly. Yes, they are a bit expensive but you are near Washington, DC and you can expect high rates. The bathrooms were very clean - I used them on occasion but not the showers. One of the times I was using the facilities one of the employees was there and they were cleaning the already spotless bathrooms. The pool appeared refreshing although we didn't use it - we were there for other reasons than just camping. Last year we were here and stayed in a shady spot and loved it. I would recommend this campground - it's easy to find your spot and the staff is very friendly. The laundry facilities were clean and neat also. The only negatives were the cost for visitors (that happened last year and we just had folks over for dinner and they were charged about $8.) and the cable TV stations were really limited and reception was poor. Still, a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Our check-in process was swift and the staff were very friendly. We were escorted to our site which was nice. We camped at site # 68 which was a water/electric site. Wi-Fi worked great there and the ground was level. The bathrooms and showers in the bathhouse were clean and air-conditioned. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
This park is old and shows its age. Entry roads are a bit rough and bumpy. The county road coming in is windy & hilly about 5 to 6 miles off I-95. If you have confidence in your driving both roads are passable and adequate. The camp personnel seemed not to communicate with each other and the basic maintenance of the park was lacking. Grass was not mowed, paddle boats were left along the shore of the pond as an attractive nuisance to small guests, dangerous. We asked for a satellite friendly site and were told to use site 100 backwards which put water and sewer on wrong side and unreachable with 20' hose. I used the facilities from the unoccupied site adjacent to 100. Initially this was a problem but then I was given permission as the park was nearly empty. Then the night before we were to leave a travel trailer was assigned to the site next to us where we were connected to the water & sewer. Those folks were upset and an employee we hadn't seen came over with an aggressive attitude and accused us of taking 2 sites and seemed that she'd take her frustration out on her fellow employee(s). The travel trailer was moved to another site. The campground is convenient to Fredricksburg and DC. It also rained and the area around site 100 had standing water like a swamp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Spent three nights here. The sites are gravel and dirt. The cable TV has limited channels. A satellite dish can be used on several of the sites. The power and water pressure were good. Found some trash around our sight, but it was mostly clean. The interior roads could use some work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
The campground was easy to find but the access road (Guinea Station Road) is very narrow without a shoulder so be careful or you could lose a wheel. The campground is in the bottom of a ravine with all sites wooded with shade trees. All appear easy to access and somewhat level (Space 83 was very level). They pick up your trash and staff was easy to work with. Campground was very kid friendly. They would have earned a higher rating but the pool was a mess, green with bugs living in it. They advertise Wi-Fi but limit its use and most often it did not work. In addition, if you have Verizon iPad, you get one bar and will not work. The TV was good but with limited stations. We had a big storm blow through and lost power and wished management would have passed on status, etc but eventually power was restored. We visited all of the Civil War tourist areas and parks which were great. If we come to Fredericksburg again, we will stay here again as the price was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Friendly staff, neat and clean campground. New gravel big rig sites (at $5 more) weren't level so set-up was unnecessarily time-consuming and frustrating. We were told they planned to put down more gravel and fix the problem. Very quiet. Access is a bit tricky for big rigs with narrow winding road. Nothing to do at campground unless during pool season. Convenient to Fredericksburg and all surrounding Civil War sites. TV reception was poor...it's satellite rather than cable and we weren't able to get it dialed in. Wi-Fi has improved over our previous stays. Rate includes KOA membership discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$49
Friendly staff but way too expensive. It is quiet and near shopping, restaurants and Civil War battlefields and the town of Fredericksburg is very quaint. We would have liked to stay longer but it was out of the budget! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
We were looking for a campground with easy access to Northern Virginia and DC with full hookup. This KOA is unusual in that it is way off the beaten track; you drive several miles down a winding, hilly country road to get here. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing camping experience, or Fredericksburg and Richmond are your destination this could be a great place. Unfortunately, we needed easier, quicker access to grand kids and the DC area. If you come here, staff is very friendly and accommodating, cable and Wi-Fi are good and if you pick your site carefully leveling is not a problem and you can get satellite. Laundry is small but adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
This a nice park with a great staff. It is not handy to I-95 and about 2 hours from Washington because of the traffic on I-95. The access road from Route US 1 to the park is narrow and winding. Most of the sites are level. The Wi-Fi and cable tV are good as is the voltage. The pool is old but OK and the store is very well stocked. The is a KOA and the price is a bit steep. We would stay here again but not to commute into DC. It would be great to explore Fredericksburg from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We've used this park before; it's a good stop closed to Washington and other historical sites. WI-FI has improved, we had a strong signal at all times. Air card and cell phones don't work well. Nicely wooded; most spots are fairly level. The longer pull throughs have some dips to work with -you'll need blocks. Getting to it; and driving in it are no problem. It's about 4 miles on four lane Highway US 1 and two miles on a narrow country road, which wasn't a problem. Large new shopping area about 4 miles away. If you want a quiet and convenient campground - check it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We camped here with extended family members. We stayed in a travel trailer and extended family stayed in the cabins. Sites were decent size and shaded. No fire pits at trailer sits. Just build a fire on the ground and at end of stay employees will come around and clean up any ash left over. If you cook over a campfire as we do, you need to make sure you have a campfire grate with legs on it. Otherwise store sells one. The cabins are on the smaller size, but normally camping you are only inside to sleep. They have a double bed and two twin bunk beds. Were clean and comfortable. Employees were all very friendly. Hayride on Friday night and ice cream social on Saturday night. Decent sized pond with stocked fish. Campground is kept very clean and store well stocked. Only real disappointment was lack of activities for kids. They did have the hayride, ice cream social, bingo and a picture scavenger hunt. Other KOA's we have been to have had at least one craft activity on Saturday. A lot of campers pulled in for just over night through out the entire weekend. We would go back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
We so disappointed in this campground. The good stuff first: sites were reasonably spaced; good tree coverage for shade. Now the bad: the sites do not look like any money has been put in them in years. It was hard to determine where exactly the camper should be placed because the gravel is covered by weeds and grass. What this means is that when it rains (which it did) everything outside is dirty. The hookups were old and worn. Although there is cable TV, none of the channels were without snow which shows that the cables and boxes haven't been serviced for years. It is quite a hike from I-95 but they seem to get alot of overnight travellers. BTW, the grass had not be cut in awhile and there was an obvious dead tree hanging over our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
I love this park. It has shady sites and open. A pretty pond on site with paddle boats, a nice pool and many, many other things to do. A free hay ride in the evening as well. Employees are friendly and the fellow campers are terrific. Very friendly people. A very nice park, but it fills up quick. It has WI-FI at every site and cable TV. The camp store has everything. Over all this park is a 10 and you will love your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
There are a number of tent sites right along the edge of the campground. We got a spot that had dense woods behind our tent--lovely place! The view across the front of our site was of the big-rig area, but the campground is clean and pretty, with tall trees everywhere. Camp staff were very friendly and polite! The Wi-Fi worked for general surfing and email, but was inadequate for streaming anything. The only "neg" I can give is that water pressure in the showers is a bit on the low side--a very minor matter indeed! We'll definitely be back here. We stayed two nights, and I would gladly have stayed longer. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Love Love this campground. This was our second stay & it was better than the first. Very comfortable, clean & the staff is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Very pricey for our experience. We were looking for a place to get off the road for the night, hoping to keep the tow car attached for a quick out in the morning. They assigned us to one on their newer pull throughs at the front of the park, their longest sites, they said. Yes, they are long, but very steep slopes to exit the sites. Didn't even want to attempt the first site they assigned to us, so we asked if we could switch to one of the others in the same row that looked a little less steep. The young man in the office was very nice about it. We pull into the second site only to realize that there is no way we will be able to hook up to the sewer connection with the car still attached. Hook-ups are towards the back of the site. Probably would be fine for a fifth wheel or trailer, but not for motorhomes with tow cars attached. Had to unhook the car, back the coach up to the hook ups and park the car in front. They might be new sites, but they are very poorly designed. Power hook up was not working correctly. Was only giving us 30 amps out of a 50 amp connection. We have had no problems with power at any other campgrounds. Owner and another staff member showed up, tested the power, moved some things around inside the outlets and we got our 50 amps. Walking around the campground, noticed many uneven sites. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Pretty basic park. Paved roads with gravel sites. Cable TV was pretty good and the staff was very friendly. The roads getting to this park are very narrow and it's off the beaten path even though it appears to be right off the interstate. Not bad for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Dodgy cellular service (AT&T iPhones + Verizon Mifi). Basic RV camping, wooded, convenient to Monticello. Good staff. Quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$54
The staff was friendly and helpful and the park was well maintained. Our prime concern was the excessive cost for this out of the way campground and most of the sites were not level. We stayed one night and would bypass it if the rates were not brought into line with the average campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
Nice campground and very accommodating staff/owners. To echo the previous review, this campground sits in a valley below I-95. Air card and cell phone service vary, limited to non-existent. The campground Wi-Fi is low band width only making it only good for light email service. You're better off traveling a few miles north on US Route 1 and sitting in the Starbucks for internet service. Price posted reflects a 50 amp FHU site with KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Chose a 30amp site: no sewer to keep price down. FHU/50 amp was more than $55 a night. The local chain hotels offer $39 a night! Good size pull through site in woods and away from any main road, so very quiet and better than most typical KOA's. Staff friendly and helpful. Verizon cell and air card only worked outside of MH. Cable TV ok, but not excellent reception. Neat, clean facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
What was the greatest asset of this campground? It was the staff. We were towed to the campground when our truck became disabled on I-95. We spoke to the lady at this KOA, over the phone and she offered the use of her truck without ever laying eyes on us. The owner was accommodating and all went above and beyond to make our three days here bearable while our truck was being repaired at a local Chevy dealer 7 miles away. I just wish I was as happy with GM as I am with the Fredrucksburg KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
This was a desperation stop because we had problems with our motorhome and were delayed in Ashland, VA for a four hour repair job. By the time we got away it was too late to make our original destination so we picked this place. We think in this case that KOA stands for Kompletely Overpriced Again!!! The cable TV reception was beyond bad and the Wi-Fi was down most of our stay. The interior roads were some of the worst I have seen at any KOA with little gravel left and potholes galore. If you have a choice avoid this place. Bad, bad, bad!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
Typical KOA in that it is way overpriced. There is a pool and a fishing pond. The pool is ok but the pond is something out of a third world country. Geese have polluted it to the point that any fish in it would be contaminated big time. Utilities worked and it was a safe place for for 8 hours of sleep. Cheaper to have stayed at a Motel 6 if they could handle a parking spot for a MH. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$63
We'd stay again because it's a decent campground, (aren't all KOAs). But our opinion is that it costs way too much for 2 nights of camping. $124.65 for 2 nights: 4 adults, 1 child, in a 30 ft travel trailer, water/elect/sewer and 50 amps although we requested 30 amps. Because they did not have any 30 amps left, we had to pay $10 extra for the 50 amps. What made me mad was I had reserved a PULL-THROUGH site on-line a week in advance, w/30 amps and got confirmation. When we got here, we were put in the smallest back-in site they had. It was way too close to the neighbor, because we had 2 opposite side slide-outs and an awning, and although the site was deep, it was too narrow and the sewer was in a set place so we could only back our camper in so far. The site backed up to a recently dug up partial of ground that was muddy and half blocked off. Once here, we could not fit our trailer and truck, much less a 2nd car, so we had to move to a bigger site and pay that extra cash for more amps, which we did not need. They have a nice pool, and it's a clean campground. Bonus: you can have campfires. You can bring a dog with a leash and they have a few nice pet walks. When we moved to the bigger site, all was well as everything fit nicely. The cable TV was full of static, but so was our neighbors, so they came and fixed it straight-away and the static cleared. Good internet service: however, my kids, spouse and I have different cell phone companies and between the 3, none of us had cell phone service until we got in the car and drove out of the campground. We would definitely stay again, but only with written assurance of our desired specific camp sight. I just got out my receipt and double checked the price before submitting this review, and see that they charged $45 a night for the camp site, $10 a night for the extra (unwanted amps) and even though 2 people "should" be allowed per site, they actually changed me $20 for 2 nights for 4 people (so people are not counted in the campsite price which is a bit ridiculous). We had 1 child and were charged $6 for 2 nights. So KIDS are NOT part of the camp price either. I am thinking we might not come back after all. I am shocked they did not charge us for the 3rd car when it pulled in, but it is not listed on the receipt and they did give us an extra car pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$54
The road leading to this campground is a little narrow, but okay if you go easy. The rest of the area is nice: level, dirt sites, decent width, but no privacy between most sites. A little pricey for this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
It was our second time here. It's just the right distance from our NY home for a 1st or last night stay on our way down or up I-95 although it's not a really quick off-n-on from I-95. There are ultra clean facilities. I'd like to return here and stay longer during warmer weather months. It is a good base for touring an area rich with Civil War history and the Nations Capitol. I'd expect the lower section to be sloppy in a wet season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
The route to the park was clear and well marked. The park was clean and the access to the site was good. We did not have a site with a sewer hookup, they were all taken when we were there, but getting to the dump station when we left was easy. I would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This is not too bad a campground, but I give it a low rating mainly because they are way, way overpriced. We stayed here three days because we were visiting friends in Fredericksburg and nothing else was available. Our son and his wife and three kids stayed two nights with us and we paid an extra $21 per night for them. We like to have Wi-Fi and, although they say they have it, I couldn't get on. The place is clean and the staff is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
The staff is very accommodating and helpful. The park is clean, and located in rural setting, yet minutes away from shopping and restaurants. The Wi-Fi is weak as listed in other reports, but we found cell service with AT&T throughout the campground. The cable is 25 channels from Direct TV, and sites are available for your personal satellite systems. Prices in the store are not out of line, and are far cheaper than Kings Dominion charges for things. The park is convenient to Fredericksburg and I-95 and we used it as a base for our District of Columbia and Richmond trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
I called the day we wanted to camp, which was the weekend of the fourth. Had no problem getting a site with full hookups. Staff was very helpful & nice. Planned on staying 3 days, but had a family emergency & had to leave early. Staff was very accommodating & refunded our money with no problem. We found the site clean and easy to get to. Note to self, bring lots of bug spray cause the bugs eat you alive. This campground is convent to our home, so we will camp here a few times during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This park was not bad, but also not one that I am likely to return to. The wi-f reception was pretty bad, and the cell reception not the best although I was able to make and receive calls most of the time. The campground staff people were very nice and very helpful, and everything we used was clean. However, I returned home with about 25 mosquito bites incurred while sitting around our campfire. They have a small pond covered with a kind of film so it was not too appealing. It is also not terribly convenient to Washington, DC, more than an hour away by car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
First impressions were great. I was set to give this KOA a strong 9 - but they are so technologically challenged that I simply can't do it. The Wi-Fi is intermittent at best, and one of their employees actually challenged me to diagnose the problem and tell me what was wrong, when the answer is obvious: their sub-par satellite system simply cannot take the load. Cell service was simply non-existent and cable TV was snowy. Welcome to 1980! Conversely, the staff, store and bath house were top notch, and the sites were acceptable. Overall however, grossly overpriced for the services (not) provided. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
This is a pretty campground with lots of big shade trees (we had no problem negotiating them with our motorhome) and curved roads that make it aesthetically very appealing. It was easy to find off I95. Trash was picked up at our site during the morning. The internet took VERY long to use so we just gave up. The sites are a little narrow but we have found that typical with KOA campgrounds. We only stayed for one night on our way to DC but would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
This park is very pretty with a courteous and friendly staff. It is kept scrupulously clean -- trash is picked up continuously during the day. The public services (laundry, bathrooms, game room and meeting room) are competent and well-kept. It is a perfect site for a weekend getaway. The park has some drawbacks for longer stays: Despite its location a little over a mile from I-95, cell phone coverage is spotty for most users. Verizon seems to get the best coverage. The AT&T signal was weak and prone to disappear at inconvenient moments. The cable hookup is a low-tier DirecTV satellite feed with about 2 dozen channels, including local channels. Like all satellite TV, it is vulnerable to drop-out during thunderstorms. Other than that, and the limited available programming, we found the quality of the images to be good. The wireless system appears to be a Starband-based turnkey satellite service marketed by NomadISP under the brand "Hotspot". The park advises that it is to be used for checking weather and email. This is very good advice, as the system's limited capacity and restrictive fair access policy make it only marginally useful for other purposes. Even checking bank balances or ordering products over the internet can become tests of endurance. I once waited 15 minutes for the system to load an account balance page at my bank's website. Happily, for visitors with a need for more bandwidth, there is an excellent free public library wifi service available about 7 miles to the west of the park in Spotsylvania Courthouse. In fairness to the park, I talked with the owners about the wifi. It turns out that the isolated location that makes the park so attractive also makes a low-level market for hard-wire communication services. And there are a half-dozen satellite-friendly sites available for folks with their own dish systems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Not sure what the actual rate was - with KOA discount. We stayed a week, we were put back in the back row under a row of trees which when it rained was muddy. Obviously one has to asked specifically for a site near the lake and not off the round-about under the trees if one has satellite or datastorm. If we stay again, will definitely ask not to be put there again! I think they put us where those staying a week or more are sited. Not good! Other than that - the staff was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$43
We love staying here when visiting the Fredericksburg area. It has a lot of things for families...a lake for fishing and a swimming pool... and hence the higher KOA price for that. It has many wooded and clear sites and is very quiet and beautiful. The WiFi is free but doesn't work real well so that dropped the rating. We've stayed here about 4 times and will continue to do so when visiting this part of Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
Spent the weekend to visit Fredericksburg and DC. The pull through site near the lake was not very level and the sewer hookup was back close to the road--we didn't use it until it was time to dump. The wi-fi worked just fine, but the cable hookup had pretty poor reception. The bathrooms/showers in the main building were immaculate and very modern. This campground is located just far enough away from the business area to still be out in the woods. Will go there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
Have stayed here several times. Nice quiet shady park away from I-95. Great staff and nicest rest rooms and showers I have ever seen. Most sites are level, but a few are hilly. Some back in sites are tough to get into. Great for a long stay to explore the area or just an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
Two miles of narrow road lead to this wooded, very clean and quiet park. We were just passing thru but liked what we saw and will return when the weather is better than it is in late January. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$37
This was just an overnight stop on our way home. It is a nice campground with good facilities and a small lake. The staff was very helpful and led us to our site, which was large and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
A very secluded campground in the woods, but conveniently located to Fredericksburg. Battlefields and lots of history are nearby, and the nearest DC Metro station is about 45 minutes away. There were no planned activities at the campground, so visit the attractions nearby. Interior roads were mostly paved, but need some maintenance. The showers and store are both new and very nice, and the store is well stocked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cable TV reception is very poor, you'll get a much better picture with your antenna, but the Wi-Fi signal was very good. We look forward to staying here again, and seeing the friendly squirrels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
Great campground, conveniently located near Civil War battlefields and Washington DC. Used CG as base for visit to both locations. Site number markers could be more visible for campers arriving after dark. Super restrooms and showers. Pool was nice but not heated. Camp store was stocked with basics and plenty of souveniers. The only negative was the lake which has a foul order due to, we assume, lack of water supply. The road into the campground is curvy so be careful. Sites are nice size and wildlife (squirrels and rabbits) were plentiful. We would definitely camp here again, and use as a base for Washington DC visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
Friendly staff. Small, but nice, pool. Although, it was too close to the dump station. Playground was a little outdated. Site was nice, large, and level. Cable service was not so good, but our antenna pulled in all the networks with the exception of NBC. Close proximity to Fredericksburg. On-site store was very well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Nice park. Fairly close to D.C. We stayed over Labor day weekend. Family campground. Lots of kids and plenty for them to do. We do not have any children traveling with us, but still kid friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
First of all the rate I listed is just an estimate because I am not completely sure what the rate was. This campground is well shaded and is convenient to civil war battlefields. Cable was not working on our site, but the workers/ staff were very friendly and fixed it for us. The "cable" offered is 24 channel DirecTV that had a kind of fuzzy picture. The Wi-fi was a little slow but worked better than the year before when we stayed there. The pool was nice. I would stay here again overnight or for a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Great campground, the management was very helpful. The campground was very clean, nice and clean restrooms and showers, heated pool, and nice big sites. The game room could use a little up dating. They do receive a good amount of off road traffic from I- 95, but this causes no problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
Not our type of park. Narrow access road to park which is located in a valley in the woods. Great park store, office and restroom facilities. Planned to stay three nights but stayed one. Good family park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
WOW! We stayed here for a night as we were passing thru...wish we could have stayed longer. Nice park all around. Lots to do for everyone-pool, pond w/little boats, great dog walk & more. Clean park, pool, restrooms and showers. Nice store on grounds. Easy to get to-just off I-95, easy in/easy out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
I am going to have to give this park a mediocre rating based on several factors. For one thing, it is definitely in a "hole" as far as satellite TV, or regular TV is concerned. We were given Site #85 in the shade, which was ok since we were only going to be there one night. But the cable TV reception was lousy and almost unwatchable. The office staff came to the site, examined it and said, "it is what it is". No other means was available to us for watching TV. WiFi was mediocre too. On the other hand, the pool looked nice. The office has been remodeled and the lake was nice too. They need to update the shaded sites and make them more level. The office staff was friendly and check in was sufficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$49
We had a nice long, fairly level shaded pull through site. The Wi-Fi was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Although a little distance from Fredericksburg, the campground is a good base for touring the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
We loved this park! Very clean, neat, not crowded when we went. We were allowed to switch sites to a great lakefront site, and the night sounds were wonderful. In the middle of lots of historical sites, there was plenty to do. Very nice people. We would camp there again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$47
The campground was clean and well kept. The folks at the front desk were helpful. My site was large, and all of the services worked well. I brought my kids to the lake (more like a pond) to fish. They each caught their first fish that day. This is a well run campground. My only complaint is the price...$47 per night...wow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
Easy check in and very well organized. Site layout gives plenty of room between sites, however, limited privacy in most. Though it was just my wife and I, the campground appeared very family friendly with a game room, playground, pool, and lots of open space. Trash pick-up at the site every morning was a perk and quiet hours well respected. If visiting to tour the Civil War Sites or tour DC, bring a vehicle - it is further away from the attractions than we expected. The "lake" is really a small pond so don't plan on water activities. The grounds are clean, sites are gravel but level, and the entire operation very well run. A good base for civil war buffs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
A little off the beaten path. The check-in staff was very friendly and had a escort to the site. The site we had some trees that were too close so we could not put out the awning and was a little un-level. We stopped here early in the season so not many activities were scheduled, plus it rained most of the weekend which made a mess in the RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$48
Unimpressed w/this campground. After getting out of the truck, my first remark was, "This is what we're paying $50/night for?!!?" Our site was full of exposed tree roots to twist your ankle on, and we almost ran out of wood blocks to put under the stabilizers to get the unit level. This is not the place to take children, either. We had 3 bored kids w/us (11, 8, and 5 yrs old). The game room was locked tight; the playground equipment had to be at least 35 years old, and the area was filled w/orange sand (that's always nice to have inside the camper); and there was no area for the kids to play ball away from the RVs as most campgrounds have. This campground's claim to fame is its location to Washington, D.C. (an hour+ away). The office/campstore/bathroom building was the only modern facility at the campground. Oh, and they've got cable TV so if you're bored (as we were) you can pay $50/night (in the off-season) to sit in your RV and watch TV. There are better campgrounds at better rates within an hour's drive from here. I would not recommend this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
As in the past, we had a wonderful weekend here and are looking forward to at least two more this camping season. The camp store was stocked, the bathrooms and laundry were immaculent, and the campground was neat and tidy. Noticed they were clearing some dead or fallen trees. As always, the staff were helpful and friendly. The shopping area about 6 miles from the campground is expanding considerably offering shoppers a wide array of choices. You can never be bored in this area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
Not many campgrounds in the area around Washington DC if you can not access the Military Famcamps. The park had the basic facilities and was well maintained. Our site was long and level enough to stay hooked up to the tow vehcle for a one night stay. The park is several miles from I-95 and other major highways so there was no highway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
We used this park as an overnight stop while traveling on I-95. It is a few miles from I-95 over decent roads. The park is very nicely laid out and maintained. However, the site we were assigned was so far out of level that the front wheels on the motorhome were completely off the ground. Because the park is so nice, I might give them one more try to see if we just got a bad site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Very nice experience. Campground was easy to find. All facilities were in very good repair. Very nice new store/office and restroom building. Camp host escorted us to our site since we arrived after dark. Camp hosts throughout our stay were very nice. Our rate was for W/E and includes 2 kids. Be sure and ride the trolly in Fredricksburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Very nice, clean campground. We had a nicely shaded spot which was quite large. It was very quiet as it is a good distance from the interstate. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$43
What a wonderful & clean campground. Very helpful staff. The sites were more like a state park than an RV park. Tons of trees and big sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We actually camped here in May 2006. We chose this spot because it was one of the closest to Washington, DC. We stayed here for 1 week and drove into Springfield to catch the subway service. It is a bit of a commute but not really a lot of other campgrounds closer. We stayed near the back of the park. We did have an issue with our water but it was fixed within 1 hour. They have a staff member that is right on site all the time. Staff was friendly. We will stay here again if we come up this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
This campground was just OK for us. The good first: camper sites were spacious and level and the kids enjoyed the playground. I'm not sure exactly why we didn't like this campground that much; it may be because it was hot as heck and our site was in full sun the whole time. Our kids are used to romping around barefoot, but there are stickers galore in the grass so even sitting under the awning, w/ a large mat, you are still guaranteed to get a thorn in your foot. Our friends stayed on tent sites and their tents did not even fit on the tent pad. I thought the fees for tent campers was outrageous: $32/night and that is no electric and no water on your site. Don't be fooled by the words "heated pool." It's only heated by one of those plastic pool covers. The pond is pretty gross and murky looking, but they did catch a couple fish. No campfires allowed on a lot of the sites either. I am not really sure why they won't put in fire pits at all the sites. We took our portable fire bowl w/ us, which was OK w/ them. I doubt if we would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Nice Campground. Best for overnighting. Not much for my teenagers to do. Smallish campground. WiFi internet was slow but worked. Good access to local Civil War historical sites. No fire ring or pit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$48
The park is a few miles off the beaten path but was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly. We could not hear the interstate, which was nice; more like camping. We were there in the off season so there were not a lot of other campers there when we arrived, but several transients pulled in through the evening. The sites were fairly large toward the back of the park. Some of the pull throughs were a little narrower but certainly adequate. We had full hookups, including wi-fi and cable. I think the price was a little high for what we got in a off-season period though. We were there only one night as we were on a southbound trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$38
Campground located about 8 miles off of Interstate 95 and down a small very narrow road. Large amount of trees located throughout the campground. Very new, clean tiled bathrooms. Some of the sites are pull thru by the lake. Cable TV was very snowy and had a limited number of channels. My only other complaint would be was the cost of the campsite, especially for off season! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$40
Stayed at this campground one night before returning home after purchasing a new RV that day. It was 20 degrees upon departing the following morning. In our hurry to pack up to leave we forgot our dog's lead with all her tags. After arriving home I received a call from the manager of the campground stating someone had turned the lead into the office. They offered to mail it back to us with postage paid. Now I thought that was most considerate and generous. This is just one small detail that makes the Fredericksburg KOA a must stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$34
We are here only for an overnight stop in the dead of winter, but this is a really nice campground. Heavily treed and quiet, it looks like it would be a great place to stay if you want to see the sights in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2006
$38
Very, Very expensive park. Water, 30 Amp Electric, No Sewer, No cable, Fee WiFi - one night $27.00 Will not be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$36
You won't believe this campground is a KOA. Nestled in a beautiful area surrounded by lovely large trees everywhere, you'll have a very large site. Beautiful, quiet campground to walk around. Friendly staff. Close to many interesting sites and excellent shopping. Adult oriented. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We loved this campground! There are a lot of tall trees and the area is secluded and quiet. There are sites for any taste - flat open sites for large RVs and the more rustic areas for people like us. Many of the sites are huge, but size varies considerably. The new building is wonderful - showers and restrooms are clean and roomy. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The campground is only 10 minutes from a brand new shopping center. We found lots to do, and followed the advice of staff to not tackle I-95 until after 8:30! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
This is a very nice park with beautiful trees and a lovely lake. The new registration office, restrooms, and showers are extremely clean and inviting. You might want to bring your own drinking water as theirs tastes a little odd. We had no problem maneuvering our 40' motorhome around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$37
Very nice CG. The shower/rest room almost brand new and the shower room are secure. They supposably have free Wi-Fi access, however, during our 2 days stay the staff told me the wi-fi were not available and the boss was on vacation, they can't help me or do anything at all. Since we don't know when the internet can be fixed we left after the 2nd day and moved to different CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
I have stayed in this CG a number of times. This was the first time in a few years. For everyone who thinks KOA's are just ugly and overpriced, visit this. It is just a beautiful place in the woods and very well run. We always comment that some day we would like to just stay there for a while, even though we always seem to use it as a stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
Clean campground, nice and quiet of any road noise was a big plus. Small, but had excellent and extremely clean restrooms and showers; I was impressed. Only negative was no fire-rings were available and the camp "headmaster" gave me a hard time about picking up rocks around the woods edge to make a fire-ring. His idea was to just build a fire anywhere on the ground which looked ok. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
We stayed in a tent trailer and had friends go with us in a fifth wheel. The facilities were clean. Usually every other time I went into the rest rooms there was some one cleaning them. They would step out long enough for you to use them, and then they were right back at it. The pool was clean and the kids really enjoyed it. A few sites were a little small but the staff was cordial and always willing to assist. The website says they have a camp sink to do dishes, but that has not been installed yet so doing dishes was somewhat difficult. I made the mistake of sending my kids to do dishes thinking there was a outside camp sink. The staff was nice enough to invite them into the back of the camp store to do dishes, but when 3 girls and 2 boys together were loud while doing the dishes, instead of notifying the parents there was a problem, the staff was somewhat rude to the youngsters. I expect the kids deserved it, but they should have talked to the parents instead of being rude and using inappropriate language with the kids. That said. Very nice campground and would recommend it. One last comment: bring wood with you wood is $4.00 a bundle which consists of 6 pieces of wood. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
2nd Memorial Day weekend in a row that we have stayed here. The cg continues to be well maintained and staffed by very friendly folk. The new office/bath house is complete and is a very nice addition. Would not hesitate to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
What a lovely place! A little further from the highway than most KOAs, but that was a plus for us. Well-kept grounds, friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere. This is a place to bring the family and stay awhile -- but it's also convenient when you're on your way somewhere else. Honestly, can't say enough good things about this place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
This is a well-maintained campground, and our stay was good in all respects. The site we got first had a TV cable flaw but we easily moved to another. We were impressed with the emphasis on cleanliness, but only wish that those who live in and govern the surrounding countryside had similar concern. The lovely Virginia scenery, especially the road leading to this campground, is too often disgusting to look at thanks to the litterbugs. Why can't the offenders be rounded up and made to clean their messes? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
Excellent park about 50 miles from DC. It's close to I-95 making travel to DC fairly easy, unless you want to go during rush hour (which could be any hour of the day or night) in which case it becomes difficult. The park is isolated from highway noise and is very quiet...but it's a good seven miles or so off the main road. The access road is narrow but I've been on worse. There's lots of shade and a small pond in the park. The sites are gravel and relatively level. WIFI is excellent and cable TV is acceptable. My wife and I like the park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Somewhat off the beaten path and some sites are tight, but overall a decent KOA. Not a great deal do to in Fredericksburg unless one is in to Civil War things. We stayed here in a 45' Prevost and had room; albeit most are 40's or 5th wheels which would have more room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$39
Very nice campground set back in the woods. They are building a new office etc., so there was some construction - not a problem when you know they are trying to upgrade their campground. Staff were friendly and helpful. Did not use many amenities except swimming pool and laundry room - both were fine. Stayed here mainly due to proximity to DC, drove to the "Franconia" Metro station and took Metro right into downtown - about 1 3/4 hrs in total to get from campground to Smithsonian/Capitol area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Overall the campground was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. A little to far out for a primarily Washington DC visit for us. I-95 can become a parking lot during rush hour adding significant time to the commute from the campground to the metrorail at Springfield. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
Very nice and clean. The site we were on was very roomy and well shaded. The staff was very pleasent. Plenty of things for kids to do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$38
Nice little campground. Very wooded. Only a few sites have enough of a southern exposure to enable the use of a dish. The cable provided (24 channels) was sufficient though. We had no problem with the access roads to the campground with our 35' motorhome. You do need to pay attention to the speed limit and caution signs on 607 from Rte 1 to the park itself. Some of the turns are a little sharp and come up on you quickly. Take your time though and you'll have no problem. Interior roads are fine. Some gravel some paved. Sites go from flat to a bit of a challenge. Staff was friendly and helpful. Even with the park completely full the park was quiet and relaxing. We had a VERY nice time. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$36
Good campground and the staff was very friendly. Probably not a good choice for anyone looking to overnight while traveling N/S on I-95, but an excellent choice if staying for more than a day. Wife enjoyed running off to the local shops and the fishing pond provided some good fishing: plenty of bluegill, a couple bass. Access road seems to have gotten bad press...no problems on our trip. All paved and plenty of room for the experienced RVer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a beautiful campground in the woods a good way off the interstate. We stayed here on 2 separate 1 night stays. It is truly in the woods and worth the effort to get to. That having been said, the site was rather unlevel and a bit narrow for my rig. Seeing the place you will see why - the CG was truly cut out of a forest - every inch of space was a tree that had to be cut down. As I said, a bit hard to navigate and a bit unlevel, but a beautiful CG - worth the effort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Beautiful little campground in the woods. Little lake stocked with fish, ducks and paddleboats. Camp store, game room, playground and paved roads. It was a great fall weekend get-away where the kids played in the leaves. It is close to Belvedere Plantation which is an excellent day's activity around this time. The camp folk were real friendly. Will definitely return in the summer to try out the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We were pleased with the location of the park, it was out of the hustle bustle of the city. Nice dog walk but bring tick repellent, never seen such an abundance of ticks. Cable tv stations very limited. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall not a bad park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Great Campground away from highways and train tracks. I prefer my campgrounds away from the highways and major traffic. Some say it's not recommended for overnighters, but they came in all night long. selection of shady & open sites. Our site was large and roomy. We had a pull thru site with full hook-up and cable. With our Slide-outs extended and awning out we where still on our site, and not our neighbors site. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$33
Access road is long and narrow road. Some sites are very unlevel. Some lack room for slide outs and awnings. Price is a little high, and they like to charge for everything possible. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$33
A bit out of the way for overnight traveller's. A minimum of 7 miles from the freeway ( I-95 ), the last two miles on a VERY narrow 2-lane road. Very unlevel sites. Price is much too high, especially in the off-season. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com