223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Rockahock Campgrounds was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (804) 966-8362
CGID3056

Rockahock Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   2   6   9   9   7   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We attempted to camp here on 10/9/13 but due to the very sloped, steep road entrance we were unable to do so. In fact, the road drops off so severely that our rv hit the back bed of the truck. We had to back up on the main road to keep from damaging our truck or trailer even more. We were headed west to turn on the road to the right when this happened. I had read that the entrance had been repaired at the railroad tracks thinking that was the problem but it is the extreme drop of the road before the tracks that causes the problem. I would never recommend anyone try to make this turn with a long rv. Therefore I can't comment on the campground as we never got down their road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Rockahock Campgrounds is in the midst of a major upgrade which will place it high in the ranks of destination campgrounds in the Williamsburg, VA and Tidelands area of Virginia when it is complete. It is a very large campground with a variety of kinds of sites and amenities. We stayed their for a week in September during one of its semi-annual bluegrass festivals. Internal roads are mostly gravel and sites are level and well graded. They are pretty tight, and sewer connections from your next door neighbor my be very close to the patio pavers laid out for your site. There are much larger and more isolated sites available at a premium price. Park Wi-Fi is inadequate and in need of serious upgrade, especially when there is a crowd there, and access to cell service (Verizon) is weak, but present. Park cable is available, but limited. The towers for services are a goodly distance from the pavers, so hooking up for many rigs may require extensions on hoses or electric cables. The Park is in the midst of building a resort quality mini-golf and already has a very nice bouncer and playground. We understand that a lazy river is in the planning stages. Showers and rest rooms are large and clean with plenty of hot water. Any kind of shopping beyond basic requires a fifteen - twenty mile drive toward Williamsburg. Despite the reservations expressed here, I'd keep an eye on Rockahock as it extends its amenities and continues development. There are a number of sites with permanent residents in them, but they are carefully separated from transient sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
Enjoyed our visit to the park; the staff were friendly and helpful. The entrance to the park has been redone so there was no problem going over the railroad tracks. We will return to the park if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$67
Overall this is a nice place to stay, everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful. Nice campground along the Chickahominy River, with boat launch and fishing docks on site. The entrance to the camp ground is a major concern, for this reason, we will not return to this camp ground, the back of the camper bottoms out before you go over the railroad tracks when entering and after when exiting the camp ground which scraps the back of the camper, we were camping in a 5th wheel along with the others in our party. Our group attended the Hawgs, Hosses and Hineys festival this past weekend, small bike event, but fun. Wasn’t aware of the requirement that each person (over the age of 12) camping in your party had to purchase a $45 bike festival ticket, this wasn’t conveyed when reservations were made, nor was it explained how our camp sites were set up, “Tandem Set-Up”, they have newer sites that aren’t Tandem set-up. Another concern are the fire rings, they are set flush in the ground, this is extremely dangerous. The Rockadome and Road House Bar ran out of beer and alcohol by 10:00 Saturday night, with that, our party left the facility and missed the main event in the Rockadome, this probably saved our group a couple $100 dollars. All in all, we had a good time and enjoyed our weekend at the Rockahock camp ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Very nice park. Great view. Was there for three days for blue grass festival. One of the best facilities for such an event. Sites were mostly grass and not real level. Not much to do close by but park most everything you may want. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This park is very large and has access to a beautiful river. We camped with a group in an area designed for large groups. My only negative comment are their fire rings. They are set flush in the ground and can be dangerous by falling in one at night. Also, they allow any age child to drive golf carts. We found many of them from the permanent area, racing through the transient areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Nice campground, we meet some very nice people. The bathroooms and showers were clean. It does get loud with the concerts. The only thing we did not like was there's not enough shade, not many trees in the campground. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Overall it is a nice place to stay. I only have two problems and one is major. There is an overwhelming smell of sewage most of the time, BUT PARENTS BEWARE!!!! Keep an eagle eye on your children because my 11 year old was followed around the park by one of the Mexican workers. It was later in the afternoon and she was by herself. She was a little nervous after that of course. The man kept asking her personal questions that is no strangers business. We talked to the management and they said they would take care of it. We will not go back there for as long as there are workers that scare my children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We stayed here with a rally group. Had a great time. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Would give the campground higher rating if it had Wi-Fi and if it did NOT have a railroad track very close by. Paved streets would also be a nice upgrade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
We enjoyed our stay at Rockahock Campgrounds. They had entertainment for both the adults and kids. The pool was clean, but not open very late. The kids rode their bikes all over the grounds which they seemed to enjoy. There is a restaurant and a bar with music for adult entertainment. The camp store was small and didn't have much in it. Like others have said, the permanant residents do get loud and ride their golf carts all over. Way to fast if you ask me. But overall we had fun and would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We camped here during the off season, so there weren't any activities for the children. The pool was not yet open, so we can't review that area. Bathrooms were reasonably clean, staff was helpful. There is an adult lounge and bar, stage with live music at times and a boat launch. It was convenient to the Williamsburg attractions including Jamestowne, Busch Gardens, etc. We would stay again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$44
Very nice. Tons of activities for all ages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
We really enjoyed this campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great restaurant on site. Golf carts rentals, great pool, activities for kids. We reserved a campsite for one of their music festivals and we are looking forward to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
Just passing through but very unprofessional guest relations. This is NOT our idea of a safe, family environment and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. A lot of long terms but openly drinking, garbage out, etc. We have been in parks that have long terms that keep their spaces nice and neat-not the case here. We won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Was very disappointed after reading such positive reviews. This is a very rough park! Not the place I would recommend for my family and friends. No mistaking the long terms, trash around and wasn't greeted friendly in the office. I will not return and would not recommend this park to anyone that wants a clean, decent atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
The park was clean and quiet. It's our second visit, and again the people were most friendly and accommodating. We always enjoy sneaking off to this campground. Looking forward to the summer time activities and festivals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
We really enjoyed our first RV experience at this campsite. As soon as I pulled up, an employee ran into us and showed me exactly what to do. They were very friendly. Part of the grounds is occupied by seasonal (or permanent residents) but no matter to us. The facilities were very clean. The campground is known to get a bit rowdy (but it's always safe for everyone) and has an excellent authentic Italian restaurant. There is also a bar. There were no silly additional charges for our kids. The woman even took the kids names down, just in case something happened or they wandered off and got lost. That spoke volumes. We will definitely return many times in our RVing future. We could not experience the amenities such as the pool, as it is October and too cold. But we look forward to our future visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
We really enjoyed this campground although we were a little disappointed that the beach area was no longer usable. The pool is nice but be warned the water is from a spring and VERY COLD even on the hottest day. The daily/weekly sites are in view of the Chickahominy River and are very nice. This park is quite during the week but the weekends can get a little wild. There is a nice Italian restaurant and a bar on the premises. They have built a nice pavilion and bath houses in the club camping area. I would stay here again. In fact, we are considering renting a monthly spot for the season next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$67
Rockahock Campground is much improved! The new owners are investing a lot of money into the campground. They have several festival weekends scheduled throughout the summer. The entertainment is very good on festival weekends. Some people may not like the on-site "road house" but other will certainly appreciate both the road house and the restaurant that are located right on the campgrounds. They also have about 50 new sites coming on line in the near future and are building a section to cater to club events. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$23
We had the misfortune of stopping at a campground on the Chickahominy River just south of Richmond Virginia. This campground is between Providence Forge and Williamsburg on SR-60. The CG has a fairly good restaurant on site and a road house (biker/fisherman bar). It is in the small area called Lanexa, VA and boasts of a good clean campground with good services. Since we are self contained we generally do not use the bathing facilities but one of the rigs with us had a pop-up and were amazed at the conditions of the shower areas. The road house has a band on Fri & Sat night that stops playing around 1:00 AM. They are loud and roudy. One of the shower/bathroom facilities for the CG is located at the rear of the bar and is used by the bar partons. Filthy would not describe the interior. The shower stall had three sides finished and the fourth side was open wet wall studs with mold on them. The management said that this are was last on their list for improvement. A large percentage of the Cg is made up of seasonals that are there for the fishing and beer drinking. So there isn't much emphasis placed on the CG facilities. Our electrical was limited to 20A service due to an electrical outage in other portions of the CG. Since it was hot that made for an uncomfortable night. By all means DO NOT GO to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com