223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Pohick Bay Regional Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (703) 339-6104
CGID3058

Pohick Bay Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   7   10   9   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$47
Nice campground. Very shady sites, lots of trees throughout the park. sat reception is difficult. Many activities including disc golf, water park, boat rental. Small store at ranger station with firewood for $5. Good location for visiting Metro DC. Can only stay there for two weeks at a time. Then you have to leave for four days before you can come back in. Have stayed there several times and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
We have camped here twice. Once for 3 days to access DC and the most recent stay as a one night stopover. It was not very busy either time. The park is easy to access and pretty. My kids like the huge grass area and the playground. It's pet friendly too! I was not impressed with the restrooms. I do not like the 11 AM checkout. Overall a nice campground, we will be coming again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Nice park. Good sized, very shady sites, and lots of trees throughout the park. Miniature golf, disc golf, water park, boat rental (canoes, kayaks & paddle boats) & golf course available, although spread out enough that it's a bit of a hike from one activity to another - might need to drive, especially to the golf course. Small store at ranger station with firewood at 6 pieces for $5. Good location for visiting Mount Vernon, but to do downtown Washington, DC, you'd have to start early, drive ~25 miles & fight the commuters for a parking spot at the METRO station. We were there mid-week and the campground was maybe one-third full; it might be busier on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
Great park with a lovely campground. This is one of a series of Virginia parks along the Potomac and it has everything: water park, marina, camping, hiking trails, disc golf, etc. Perfect for dog walking. Hook-ups all worked ok, but water pressure was poor even with almost no one in park (October). Lots of deer and squirrels and birds and other wildlife. Wonderful place to stay but here is a warning: plan your route and arrival time carefully. Highway 1 in particular and I-95 in general are horrible. Do not drive through DC in rush hour and try to avoid construction if you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Rate is for electric-only site. Park location: -- Great for exploring Washington DC (22 miles) and the surrounding area yet very quiet. -- Nice trails from campsites to the Potomac River and pool areas (closed after Labor Day) of the Regional Park. Sites: -- fairly level. Large sites with privacy from your neighbors. -- Most are electric only but there is an easy to get to dump station/water fill. -- Hard to get satellite reception as it is very woodsy. Amenities: -- Mostly paved roads - easily passable for our large Class A. -- Restrooms clean and good water pressure for showers. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Very nice park. It's kept very clean; the bathrooms were small but clean. The showers weren't the best but few campground showers are like home anyway. It has a playground and Frisbee golf and there is a small waterpark mostly suitable for younger kids just 1/4 mile out of the campground (just $4.00 per camper -- $8 if you aren't camping there). We enjoyed the short walk to the bay just down the hill from the campsites at the end. They have kayak and canoe and paddleboat rentals there also. Their rates are for families of 4 -- additional kids are 2 or 3 dollars a night extra. I'd definitely stay here the next time I'm in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Nice state park, rustic setting, attentive staff. Good access roads with relatively level sites. Only a very few full hookup sites with rest having electric only. Sewer hookup risers are about a foot off the ground making dumping difficult. Water pressure low and no Wi-Fi except for sites close to office. In mid-April park was sparsely occupied, but with water park within walking distance park will probably be packed in summer. From our door to Smithsonian exit of the Metro was 90 minutes, doubt you can do better from anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Stunning setting. Beautiful walking trails. Quiet and spacious sites. Be sure to mention if you are in a motorhome as some of the sites are not level. Rate only included electric - no water or sewer. (Fill-up station and dump available.) Friendly staff. Used laundromat - clean and reasonable price. Wi-Fi access at some sites (but not ours). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$46
This is a nice regional park with spacious, well shaded sites and provides a great location from which to tour Mt. Vernon and other Washington D.C. attractions. Our site was somewhat unlevel and we had difficulty hooking up to water due to a broken faucet part on the park's hook-ups. The camp is very quiet at night and frequently patrolled by park staff. Some maintenance and cleaning seemed to be overlooked (trash left behind in some sites, soap dispenser empty over several days). One other nice benefit was the bike trail that connected the campground to Gunston Hall and Mason Neck Wildlife Refuge. Overall, we would definitely stay here again while touring in the area. Our rate reflects $2 per night surcharge because we are not residents of Northern Virginia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Nice campground, good hiking trails. Boat rental in park, WiFi only works near office. No cable but lots of over the air stations. They are in the process of adding full hookup sites. Good CG for kids and grownups alike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$43
We were in town visiting family and spent a great fall weekend at Pohick Bay. We had a full hook up site. The site was level with a picnic table and fire ring. The interior roads were paved. A camp store stocked with the basic even in November!! They have a very nice pool (closed when we were there) It seems to be a well run park. The mini golf was closed for the year, but asked at the ranger station and they allowed our kids to play. The park is also close to the Metro. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
A nice regional park close to DC and an easy drive to the metro into the Capital. Pohick Bay has plenty to do other that visiting DC. There are walking trails, kayaking and a state park on a migratory bird route. Campsites are wooded and quiet. We had plenty of room for a 37 footer. We will visit again on our way by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Nice park, secluded but still close to the D.C. attractions. We had a full hookup site (there are about a dozen). Easy to back in to site and level; showers are typical for state/local parks: not the best. Great playground for kids. Water park close by. Close to D.C. and Metro for local attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Nice State Park. Showers & bathrooms cleaned 2x/day and generally clean except when rainy and people track in mud. No problems with water pressure, electric, or sewer. Quiet park, mostly families during our 7 day stay. Staff helpful. Firewood expensive and not totally dry. Some sites close together, but many have some spacing between sites. None are what I would consider private with screening. Stayed at site #50 which was convenient to bath/showers and kids playground. Only reasons not rated a 10 were dirty bath/shower houses when raining no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Very "remote like," even though it's located in a metropolitan area (Northern Virginia). Excellent 4-mile multi-use trail nearby that ends at another state park. Showers were very clean with good privacy. Very nice for families; well kept playground and hiking trails. Sites were a little close together but there were a few that offered good privacy. We selected an electric-only site, which worked out well because the bathrooms / showers were relatively close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Campground entrance was tight because employees vehicles blocked a lane. Wooded sites, many unlevel. Low water pressure forced us to use the camper pump. The sewer connection to our site was higher than ground level, forcing us to go buy something to raise the drain pipe above the connection for proper drainage. That did not work right and we were forced to use the dump station after paying for full hookup. The electric connection was located a little distant from the water and sewer. On a positive note: The campground is located 11 miles from the Springfield Mall where we boarded a shuttle bus to connect to the Metro Train to go to downtown Washington D.C. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
We were first time campers in a Cruise America rental motorhome. We stayed here as it was close to the RV return point. The site was well wooded and the staff were very helpful. We had no sewer but there was a dump station easily available. The comfort station was clean and fresh. The "Water Park" was essentially a large pool with some small slides for the children, although our teenage boys enjoyed it. We would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This could be an excellent campground with a little work. It appears that maintenance budgets are tight as the park could use a little work. Also, the website shows no full-hookups, and there are some full hookups in the park. Many of the sites are extremely sloped. Our site required every board and leveler I had to get the trailer level. Bath houses were cleaned mid-morning, but became rather dirty through the day from use. Make reservations over the phone and ask for full-hookups if you want them and be sure to ask about the slope of the site. Most full-hookup sites were relatively level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Park has large sites (huge); friendly host and staff; heavily shaded/trees; and a beautiful water park. You do hear kids having fun. Has paved streets with gravel sites. Stayed in site 71 (full hook-up): fabulous. Stayed in site 63 (electric only): fabulous. Park is convenient to DC Metro with free parking available. It's 15 minutes to Mount Vernon. Fire rings, grills, picnic table, firewood, ice and propane are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
The management, staff and atmosphere in this Regional Park should make Virginians proud. This is a gorgeous setting, lots of shade, a very family-friendly environment a short (half mile) hike or drive to the historic Potomac River in her lush coves and bays downstream from DC. I camped alone here and felt safe and secure the entire time. They fill up quickly with Virginians, which says a lot about the park's caliber. Can rent boats or hike around. This is the best park I have stayed in in many years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
Good park for a spring shakedown trip. Limited full-hookup sites and they are significantly more expensive than elec-only sites. Full sites are grouped together a little too closely, but other elec-only sites are well spaced and provide good privacy. Sites were not very level so bring plenty of blocks. Facilities were well maintained. Full service regional park with kayak/canoe/paddleboat rental, swimming pool, frisbee golf, horse trails, etc. Great location close to DC. Would recommend for a future visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
I would have rated this park higher had it not been so expensive. Full hook-up is $45.00! We went with an electric site and paid $25, still high! Great location, good facilities and nice people made for a pleasant week. The main roads are paved, the sites gravel and level. You can dry camp, electric sites, or full hook-up. Plan ahead and make a reservation if you must have the full hook-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
We visited here for a weekend. What a nice little gem so close to DC (we stayed here to visit the regional park not DC but if we didn’t live so close it would be a great place to stay while visiting the DC sites). The sites appeared to be spaced nicely although some tree placement made for some maneuvering when trying to back in – it wasn’t impossible by any means. The park was clean and there was lots of security presence, though we never saw anything to warrant concern. The water park was a nice little treat for the kids and the mini-golf was fun – very dated but fun just the same. We were in site number 65 and loved how it backed up to the play field/playground/open area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$43
A nice park on south side of DC. Facilities are part of a larger park that includes a marina, hiking trails, pool complex, and general recreation and picnic areas. We saw wonderful wildlife at the campground and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
I was staying in the DC area for 2 days of business, so I only slept there. For that, it was adequate. I had site 29, which I could back into very easily. Lots of space for my slideout. Good separation from adjacent sites on the sides but when a diesel pusher backed into the one right behind me, they were very close! I've stayed there twice now, for work, and found it adequate both times. It's right off I-95 about 5 miles south of the junction with the beltway, and traffic can be very troublesome. Also be aware their local directions for how to get to it from the I-95 exit you'll use won't work. A small local road is now closed where it used to cross the railroad tracks. You have to take a couple mail streets but it's doable. If you can manage the local streets, you can get to the Franconia-Springfield Metro station, for easy access to/from DC, but driving in northern VA is tedious in the best of times, and a PITA in the worst of times! All things considered, I think the 8 I'm giving it reflects the traffic issues and the cost, which I consider on the high side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We stayed here for a week while we were sightseeing in Washington, D.C. The campground is public, so don't expect cable or WiFi. It does offer a water park and a nice marina. Our site was not level, but we did have plenty of trees and sufficient room between our site, and our neighbors, so as not to feel crowded. We couldn't get a site with a water hookup because those sites apparently get reserved very early, so we had to hitch up and go to the potable water hose halfway through our stay to refill our fresh water tank. The best part about this campground avoiding the D.C. traffic. It is easy to get to the Franconia/ Springfield Metro stop to journey into D.C. However, be prepared to spend one and one-half hours driving, and on the Metro, from the time you leave the campground to the time you arrive at the Smithsonian or other popular tourist attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This is a very nice park in the spring. There must have been a change in management and employees, as the staff were all friendly and helpful at all times. Very nice playground and meadow for children and adults. Close to D.C. and Metro in Springfield (a must if you want to enjoy D.C.). Most sites are electric only. This was great for us as we have a motorhome. The water pressure/volume where you fill your tanks is very slow, so be prepared. Restrooms and showers were older but well maintained and clean. This is a mature wooded park so forget satellite TV, Radio and GPS except in sites 47 and 48. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
I stayed over the Columbus Day holiday Weekend. I requested a site close to restroom facilities. The first site they put me in was a bit too far to restroom for me and required me to back up a small incline. I'm a new trailer owner and that would have been difficult. I asked for another site, I opted for electric only to be closer to the restroom and it was perfect. Its was very level and shaded. Restrooms were clean, they are hosed down so be careful about slipping after they've cleaned it. Quiet time was quiet. Staff was very friendly. There is plenty to do, if not at the campground itself, but the rest of the park; fishing, Frisbee golf, and canoe/kayak rentals. Lots of information about the area and Washington DC. Just watch out in Fall for acorns. Park full of oak trees and if a wind picked up my trailer sounded like it was being bombed. Overall quite pleased. Reserved same site for next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$41
This is a lovely place, but it is not well run. The staff at the reservation center does not have a clue! Also, whoever decided to put the full hookup sites on this pre-existing, narrow, one-way road when many of the entrances are angled the wrong way for backing in, must not have been using any common sense. We would never have been able to back into our site if the one across the street had not been empty when we arrived. As it was, it took me and a neighbor to direct my husband through the trees, posts, and low-hanging branches into the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Heavily wooded county run park. The check in did not know their campground very well. They tried to put me in a site that required me to back around about 100 degrees of turn. I drive a 40' MH and there was brush, trees, and signposts in the way. Since they were not crowded I put it in the next site which was angled properly for back-ins. Then I went and told her what I had done. They should have known I would have trouble getting into that site. The only reason we were here is that it is close to Manasses where we had some repairs done. The sites are heavily wooded so if you like that you will love this place. About 20 miles south of Washington, DC off of I-95. We will not go back due to maneuvering difficulty. I thought the price was high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
Excellent campground just outside Washington DC. We loved how close it was to the Springfield-Franconia Subway rail to get into DC. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was exceptional with directions in helping us learn our way around. I will definitely stay here again and look forward to my next reservation in August! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
I have camped here several times and always find that the worst part of the experience is the bathrooms. They are usually clean but in order to clean them, the staff hoses them down. Therefore, when you enter you track in mud all over the floors and find that there is water dripping from everything. This also tends to make it very humid in the bathrooms. The sites tend to be large and wooded. The campsites are within walking distance to the bay and marina area which is scenic. It is surprising to find such an area so close to the metro area and close enough to visit many of the historic sites around. I would recommend it only if you don't mind the moisture! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
We camped here Memorial Day weekend 2006 and have camped here about 10 times over the past few years. The park is very clean and convenient for folks who want to site-see in Washington and the surrounding areas. The Metro access has been discussed by others. We are kayakers and enjoy photographing nature which Gunston Cove had in abundance. The Northern Virginia Regional Park Agency has, sadly, decided to nickel and dime paddling campers out of the park. The park has an extraordinary boat ramp area which caters to power-boaters and jet-skiers, but discourages canoers and kayakers by charging folks launching 2 kayaks from the shore more than it costs to launch a 30 foot powerboat from one of the excellent ramps. Eagles, herons and osprey used to be very common on Pohick Bay and Gunston Cove, but this weekend we saw very few in over 5 hours on the water. Happily, Mason Neck State Park is just a couple of minutes down the road and welcomes paddlers for $4 which includes admission to all facilities. It seems the birds have found more suitable habitat there. For the family camping trips, the state parks offer pool passes (where pools are available) for everyone in the family with the camping fee - also, no added charge for launching boats of any sort. Pohick has a wonderful pool, but allows one free pass to the camping party and a small discount to the others. Lastly, Pohick has recently added converted 12 sites to full hook-up - including 50 Amp service. This weekend, we were assigned an electric-only site (which we were happy to take) only to find 5 of the full hook-up sites occupied all weekend by 2 pop-ups, 2 tents and one used as a parking spot for 2 pick-up trucks. One other site remained empty all weekend. Poor management of these new resources was clearly in evidence here since the sign at the front entrance read "Campground Full". Our best guess had it at 70% full. Bottom line - this is a good campground from which to base an exploration of the Washington area. If you are looking for the usual amenities offered by a regular commercial campground or state park, don't be surprised when you are asked to pay extra here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
This park is great for visiting Washington DC. The sites are spacious. There is a nice fishing pier and plenty of trails for hiking. Mason Neck state park is only a few miles away. The Springfield-Franconia Metro station is the closest, however I-95 is a nightmare before 9am. If you travel during rush hour, try taking route 1 north and catching the yellow line at the Huntington station instead. It is a little farther but it might be faster. Overall a great park. Nice open field for the kids to play. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Camped at Pohick Bay for a week in Mar 06. Very nice campground! A couple of notes: Parking at the Franconia-Springfield Metro station was not a problem, tho note that we were not there during the high tourist season. A large part of the deck is not open for parking until 10:00 AM, which prevents comuters from filling it up early in the morning. The campground has installed water & sewer hookups on a few of its most level sights. At this point they are waiting for certification from public health officials, so check with them if this is important to you. For Class A owners, there were not that many sites suitable for 36' or greater -- most were too short or very uneven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$26
We used this campground as a base while visiting relatives nearby and also as a stopover while on our way to and from FL. It was one of the few campgrounds in the area open in the winter. It was quite cold during our visit and the very friendly and helpful staff instructed us to disconnect our water hose during the night. The sites are large and well arranged. Considering the time of year and the temperature, there were a considerable number of RV'ers there. This large regional park also has a boat launch and a very nice public golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Campground is near Washington D.C. and is very near a large bay the feeds into the Potomic River. Fresh water tank fill-up is possible at the check-in station and at one other location in the park. Very heavily shaded, too much so for my liking. Park and facilities very clean. They claim to have the largest swimming pool on the east coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We spent our first weekend in our new travel trailer here. Nice, private shady sites. Close enough to the river and the marina. All facilities and campstore/office within a short walk. great hiking trails. Beautiful looking pool. Not open yet (early may). Nice open area for kids to play. nothing fancy, but all you'd really want or need for a quiet weekend getaway, and hard to imagine a nicer place this close to Washington D.C. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Pohick Bay Regional Park's location allows campers to enjoy the natural beauty of the Mason Neck Penninsula and Pohick Bay as well as the numerous nearby attractions of Washington, D.C., and Northern Virginia. Convenient to Interstate 95, 11 miles from the Springfield Metro Station, 22 miles from Washington, D.C., and 11 miles from Mount Vernon. Mason Neck State Park, Mason Neck National Wildlife Refuge and Gunston Hall Plantation are Pohick Bay's neighbors on the penninsula. A network of trails leads walkers to the waterfront, mini golf and outdoor pool. A one-mile trail connects the family campground to Gunston Hall Plantation, home of George Mason. It also has a boat ramp to the Potomac River. This is the campground closest to us. We camp here often and have always been satisfied. Nice and quiet wooded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Simple yet pretty and private. This campsite offers nice wooded sites. It is along the Potomac River near Mt. Vernon. Pohick Bay Regional Park's 1000-acre family campground features 150 shaded sites--100 with electric 30-amp hookups and 50 tent sites. All sites are pull-in and include a grill, fire ring and picnic table. A network of trails leads walkers to the waterfront, mini golf and outdoor pool. A one-mile trail connects the family campground to Gunston Hall Plantation, home of George Mason. Visit Pohick Bay Regional Park's web page to discover all of the park's amenities. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Located only 15 miles south of DC, easy access to I 95, with DC Metro staion located in Franconia. Nice shaded park, great staging area if you are going to visit DC. You need to fill your water tank on arrival. It served our purpose well.. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com