224269 User submitted reviews online!!
Small Country Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (540) 967-2431
CGID3059

Small Country Campground

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   2   4   1   6   8   4   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
The staff were very accommodating. The first site they sent me to was supposed to be a pull-thru but at best could be described as a "pull-around". It was not straight and was both down hill in the front-to-back direction and the side-to-side direction. Would have been impossible to level my travel trailer. The only other one they made available to me was a back-in site described as being nice and level. Still had to use 2-inch boards under one side to rig to get almost level. Utility connections were so far apart as to make it necessary to use an 30-amp extension chord to be able to reach the electric and the water at the same time. Very little grass so it was very dusty. Cost $5 per day to have internet at your site. So if none of the above bothers you the great. They have a great pool and playground facilities for the kids including a huge (think the size of a large home pool) bouncy pillow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Stayed 12 nights. Passport America price. Big campground. Gravel interior roads and sites. I recommend to check their website on what you want and call for a reservation, rather than stopping in without one. We were in what they call a Super-site. Site was Gold 4. Site includes a straight pull-through, which was 80 ft long. 50 amp, water, sewer, satellite TV with a receiver and remote control and Wi-Fi. We were in the trees. Was an adventure getting into the site with our HDT and 5th wheel (60 ft. combo). Had to pull up the side of a graveled hill and turn sharply to get between a couple of trees to get into the site. Site unlevel side to side by 2 ¾ inches. The satellite TV usage was excellent. Wi-Fi worked excellent. Very quiet park except on one weekend when they have a loud band and events going on until 10:30/11 PM. Has recycling. There are campfire pits, but was to humid for us to have windows open during our stay, so no smoke smell invading our home. Has a hiking trail. Lots of things for kids to do (if you have any) pool, lake, etc. Getting out of the site and park, had to be watchful of trees on corners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Ridiculously expensive for a park with dirt spaces that are not even close to level. Pus WiFi is NOT free and there is no cable TV. We would not stay here again under any circumstances. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Made a reservation for a one night pull through w/ 38' RV. Arrived to find no one at office and a sign saying to use provided maps, find an empty spot, and check in come morning. Not a problem so far, but the map didn't show spots that I could pull my rig into and through. I walked around the area near the office and found none I could get into without a spotter (and I'm being charitable!). And, I was by myself. Campground looked well maintained and clean, but I couldn't find anywhere I could even back into alone. Nothing on the map indicating any new spots as previously reported. Ended up leaving and spending the night at a truck stop. At least I didn't run into any trees! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Price reflect a Passport America discount. Good thing too as it certainly was not worth $36 a night. Sites are narrow and downhill. After setting up, we walked around and discovered an entire section in the back of newer, larger, level sites. Cannot figure out why they were subjecting everyone coming in to the horrible sites up front. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
On the positive side, this campground was well maintained; had nice recreational facilities including a playground, pool, boat rentals, and a beach; offered well shaded, waterfront tent sites as well as a hiking trail around the lake and into the woods; and was relatively quiet at night. Negatives, though, included an indifferent appearing office staff (our check-in guy was clearly more interested in his personal telephone discussions than in dealing with customers); an abundance of unlevel sites; dusty, unpaved, and uhlighted internal roads; and irregularly cleaned rest rooms that were situated quite a distance from the tenting areas, i.e., farthest from those most likely to use them. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Pleasant campground. The area we stayed in had no shade, though many of the sites did. Not a lot of planned activities for kids, but a lot of things for them to do - bounce pillow, lake, pool, etc. Good Wi-Fi. Bathrooms were older, but clean. Our only real complaint was the "pull-thru" super site - there's a median down the middle rather a road, meaning you can't truly pull thru if you are the second unit in the "pair" of sites. It can also be hard to get your vehicle out after parking. We would camp here again, though maybe not in the super sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Rate reflects PA discount. The roadways through the campground are not marked in any fashion. Some places it was hard to determine if you were on a roadway or a camping site. Many of the sites were very unlevel. Our site was considered a premium site because it had satellite TV, but the view to one side was of their work/junk area. Had we been paying the full rate for a premium site, we would have been extremely upset. The bathrooms were nice, but a pretty far walk from our site. We stayed here for 11 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This is a fun little campground. Near many Civil War battlefields. Cable only on supersites, plenty of channels with antenna. Wi-fi worked well. Staff was very pleasant. The only confusing part was the $8 fee for use of lake, trampolines, etc. Would loved to have seen the Blues Band that was playing, but felt price was over the top as we don't use the pool or Lake area and came back only for last set. Rate was Passport America. Will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Price reflects PA which makes it about $25 a night, not a bad deal for the area. Decent place, easy to find from all directions thanks to their excellent signage. Not too far off I-64, even for just an over-nighter. We would stay again. Stayed there twice this year, two weeks the first time (in early June) and a week in August. We came to really like the place. The facilities are decent, some sites are sloped but manageable. The 'super-sites' are perfectly leveled sites and have newer hookups (including a satellite TV dish you can get into) but they are in complete sun all day long. During our first stay we found it to be much too hot up there in 100+ degree weather, so we moved down into the trees. The shaded site we were in also had a cable-TV hookup. It's really their own DirecTV dish, but they will give you a box if you need it. Or use your own and hook to their dish: it's already set up, etc. We had ZERO problems with the staff, in fact they went out of their way to help us with a couple of things. The only real problem we had during our stays were with losing our Dish-TV signal due to lightning hitting the dish, and they came out and fixed it as quick as they could. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We liked it here. There was a nice bouncy balloon for the kids and a nice pool. Everything was nice except the staff was not too helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
We have camped here several times and have enjoyed everyone of them. I would rate it as a 10 but the trees prevent the the use of satellite TV except on the the premium sites. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$46
I found the "super sites" not worth the cost.The only difference is 50 amp service versus 30 amp. They were on the top of a hill and were totally gravel/stone/crushed rock. Not a blade of grass on these sites. Some sites were hard to access. Most will require you to back up to get out since you can be blocked by the coach in front of you. Also, bathroom by the lake did not have soap or towels. Campground has great internet service on top of hill. I am not sure of access down in the trees. They have good camp facilities for family camping. Access roads are a bit narrow with trees overhanging roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We used Passport America, super site w/50amp,w/s for $25 per night, no limit to # of PA days. The roads to the campground from I-64 are narrow, but manageable. Check in was OK, but we were not given any info about Sat TV or Wi-Fi. The big rig sites are a gravel parking lot, nothing pretty about them other than good utilities. If you have a Sat dish, this area is where you want to park. The campground layout can be confusing, site access is ill defined, some sites are way out of level. Some of the wooded sites are not big rig friendly, but suitable for smaller units. Family friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Our rate was based on Passport America (1/2 price). Wi-Fi is very important to us, even though they advertise Wi-Fi and the lady who checked us in gave us a spot that was going to have good coverage for all practical purposes there is no Wi-Fi. There is a strong Wi-Fi signal but the speed is at best dial up and not even that. Happily they have good AT&T 3G coverage. Big place with what seems to be lots of activities for kids, nice looking pool and a HUGE jumping ball full of screaming kids. The site was nice, under a large oak tree with good water, electric and sewer. Firewood is sold at a low price and they allow open fires on site, no fire rings but lots of stone fire pits have been built by previous campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This campground would have been even better had we been able to use the pool, game room or other areas that were off limits due to a large group coming in, but it is overall, very nice. Definitely kid friendly. Laundry was small but clean. Internet, even close to the main building was just completely overwhelmed with too many people to have any sort of connection. Used AT&T instead (which had good coverage there, but not necessarily in the area ) ... In the super sites, you get a loaner Dish receiver and then plug into that. Rate was PA for a super site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This campground is OK if you're looking for a small, rustic, backwoods campsite close to the lake. However, if you have a large RV or trailer and want something a little more refined, this is not the place. We had reserved our site months in advance. When we got there, the only sites available were nothing more than "clearings" in the trees. All were very uneven, and virtually no clearance to maneuver our rig between the trees. A couple sites didn't even have driveways showing how to get in. We went someplace else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Super Site rate for PPA. There are 17 Super Sites with full hookups & 50 AMP, plus Dish TV & converter included. CG host was friendly and helpful. We arrived two days before the passage of Hurricane Irene. Many people fled the Barrier Islands and Outer Banks inland and CG took all that came through the gates. Interior roads and sites are firm packed gravel and crushed rock which drains well, even in torrential rains from Hurricane Irene. The Super Sites are level and access is wide open. We found the restrooms, bath house, laundry and buildings to be clean. The pool is clean but you can use the lake, too. The CG is family and pet friendly. The kids will find a huge air pillow to bounce around on. No highway noise to deal with here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Campsites not quite level, but were wooded and large. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Narrow back roads to get to this campground with a long dusty gravel road to the actual campground. Sites are poorly maintained and too many trees to maneuver around in a motorhome. Owner doesn't seem to be aware that larger RVs need more space to turn, etc. Voltage was also very low at the site we stayed on. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Sites are decent size and fairly level, but we did have to unhook the fifth wheel to level front to back. We were in a shaded woody site with FHU at PA rate. Lots of places to walk the Golden Retriever and to let her swim in the lake. No cable but all network stations from Charlottesville and Richmond over the air. It looks like there are lots of activities for the kids, so it might be busy on weekends. Staff was very friendly. They also have large nice sites in an open field that look good for big rigs. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
This park has shady, wooded sites that let you know you are in a forest - not a parking lot. Our site, like the substantial majority of sites at this park, was level and had easy access to full utilities. The office is friendly and prompt. There was a nice group meal offered, as well as evening fellowship fun. The pool and in-ground bouncer was popular. Some people were also swimming in the large adjacent lake with a floating slide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$23
This a great campground. Second time we've stayed here, first time in the winter. We normally don't make a habit of traveling north in the winter, but made an exception this year to be with family over the holidays. It is advisable that you bring a heated or well insulated water hose with enough heat tape or insulation to take care of the campground stand pipe as well. Otherwise all utilities worked very well. WI-FI signal very strong. As mentioned in other posts, with the exception of a few sites in the clear, satellite reception is nearly impossible in wooded sites. Direct TV hookup is available. Hosts were very gracious and accommodating as usual. We will definitely stay here again. Nightly rate reflects weekly rate prorated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Great campground, we were there for the Halloween party, and they truly went all out with a haunted forest (by hayride) and a haunted house set up in the game room, apple cider and cookies by the bonfire, nice family atmosphere, very clean, our site was not level, next time we will choose a different site, but we will be back, we had a great time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Nice campground, great road signage, away from road noise, nicely spaced sites, good rates. The above rate is Escapee's rate, but they have Good Sam & Passport also. Friendly staff. TV is DirectTV and you need to use one of their boxes to get it, which required us to put the cable thru our kitchen window to our TV. Did not use their Wi-Fi, but Verizon cell and air card worked fine. On our visit they had a major problems with dog owners. Several dogs were running free during the day and one was left outside in a fenced in area all day and night. The dog owners were seasonal and I was told they worked crazy shifts, but this is not an excuse for leaving the dog alone outside. The dog barked loudly several times each night and usually set off other dogs, too. The manager said he would check into it, but I would advise you to ask if their dog problem has been eliminated before making a reservation or checking in. It could be a nice quiet campground without this problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
This park offers open or treed sites. The sites are semi level gravel and offer Direct TV, instead of cable. The park is quiet. Activities are many within 30 miles in any direction. We would stay here again. We had an open site in the back portion which faced a large green field. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
It has been 4 years since we were last here, and we noticed a significant improvement. 1)The beach is open and has a dock and raft as well. 2) There are more sites available along a bank of trees (W/E only) and several sites right by the lake (W/E). 3) A group of 18 "super sites" with W/E/S is up in the meadow with great satellite reception. 4) A new bath house with toilet and shower for 8 "family" units is available near the meadow. 5) A new bathhouse for the lower camping area is almost done. 6) We saw fewer "older" RVs on blocks as seasonals. What has not changed is the best part. It is still quiet, very friendly people and extremely helpful staff. The campground clientele were respectful of the grounds, quiet, and very friendly; both the seasonal folks and the weekenders. We had a site near the lake and were able to swim and canoe with no problem. (Bottom was a bit mucky, but once we waded out, it was great.) We are upset with ourselves for not getting back here sooner. So, why a 9? A number of sites are not real level so for some that could be a drawback. And some sites are narrow (i.e., they didn't whack down all the trees). You have shade, but may be a tight fit. If in doubt, have them drive you to check it out first. Everyone should be able to find a site they will fit in and be happy with. We WILL go back, several times, this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This park is situated on a lovely piece of wooded property in central Virginia, well away from any highways yet convenient to the town of Louisa (8 mi). Park roads and spaces are gravel and are large and level for the most part. With the exception of a dozen or so spaces out in a field, all sites are heavily wooded in white oak and hickory. Electric was ample and steady, water pressure good and sewer port clean and accessable. The campground does offer free Wi-Fi now, but the signal was so weak as to make it virtually unusable. Verizon broadband signal was adequate. They also offer "cable" TV of a sorts. If you have Direct TV, you're in business in the "Super Sites." If you don't have a Direct TV receiver, one comes with the cost of the Super Site (plus deposit) but you have to install the thing. We tried a Super Site (kind of pricy). Other satellite service is very difficult due to the trees. Local digital broadcast signal is good otherwise. All in all, we had a very nice stay here for a week while visiting family in the area. The campground owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
We used Passport America; no restrictions of use for our 2 week stay - excellent. Stayed in the "red" section for satellite access. Site was level, gravel/stone, pull through, with no trees. There is red clay dirt below the gravel, be sure to wipe your feet - you don't want that in the RV. Staff was friendly, laid back since it was the off season and the campground wasn't very crowded. I can see where this would be a family favorite- pool, lake, small playground. Most sites are in a more natural setting; there are sites suitable for everything from tents to big rigs. There is no cable or wi-fi (that I'm aware of). We had a strong Verizon signal. Hookups were in good working order, the laundry was a bit pricey, $1.75. The roads in are narrow and lots of curves, but OK even for big rigs. The signs to the campground are plentiful and very helpful. We would return when back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
This was a wonderful campground with a very nice lake setting. The campsites were very spacious and level; although all gravel and dirt. The lake has a nice walking trail with several rental boats along the shore (oars rented). We would have given this a 5-star rating but felt that some added effort was needed in maintenance and cleanup – nothing ruins a beautiful lake setting than finding trash around the shore. Regardless, the campground is definitely a keeper and highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
This was a nice park, with a friendly staff. There was an escort to our site. Some of the RV sites are heavily wooded and some of the old RV's there are permanent fixtures. Some are pretty rundown. We were given a space out in an open gravel lot that suited us fine. The sites were a little tight, but adequate. We had good electric service, plenty of water pressure, and good clear access for our satellite, since there were no trees at all in this part of the park. It might be a little hot in this area during the Summer months since there is no grass at all. We used the Passport America discount, which is supposed to be 50%. Posted on the board as you check in, the most expensive site, at regular rates, is $35, which means the PA rate should be $17.50. Apparently they do have a special "add-on" for PA users. Other than this discrepancy, I found the park nice, quiet, and well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This park is definitely a keeper. The sites and facilities are well maintained. Most sites are surrounded with trees but appear to be plenty clear for even large rigs to fit. We parked in the red area: a flat, clear area with easy pull-throughs and a good view of satellites for those desiring that access. This one is a Passport affiliated park so we parked here for half the daily rate. The exception is for holiday weekends, which are at regular rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Picked this CG because it's close to home & was a last minute thing. I drove by a few days prior to our scheduled dates to take a look. I found a site that was recently vacated from by a seasonal person that was a nice big level-lot with a deck & very clean. I asked if we could stay there for the weekend. Not a problem I was told. When we arrived, the staff were expecting us & said if we had issues with our motorhome being too low with the deck & couldn't open our door they had a few other sites open that they thought we would like. Everything worked great. The staff was very accommodating & pleasant. I did ask about taking over the site we camped at seasonally & I was told that the owner wanted to use it as a permanent site. I will camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Price reflects PA rate. Very nice campground. Long level pull thru (Yellow #1). Nicely spaced lots. Lots of kids; lots of golf carts. Well-stocked store. A lot of seasonals but most people very friendly. We would have liked to been able to stay longer but all full hookup sites were reserved for the BBQ contest. We would definitely recommend this campground to others and would definitely stay here if in the area again...preferably next year during the BBQ contest! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
The roads were gravel, but not bad. We camped in the red section. It is a fairly new section that does not have shade. The other sites around the campground are shaded. Our site was level. The sites are pull through sites if you are in the front row, otherwise you are likely to have another RV in front of you. The staff members were helpful. We were escorted to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We stayed in a tent. We were told that they would provide a fire ring, water and electric, and a picnic table. We did not bring a grill for this reason. There was no fire ring. We asked for one, but were told that they wanted to discourage the use of a fire ring because it was difficult to clean up. They said they prefer to start the fire right on the ground. I pressed them on this issue stating that we were located right next to the perimeter where woods were located and that we were concerned about the wind picking up and starting a fire. The person responded like a deer in the headlights. So we ended up eating out. Real camping experience. The picnic table was suitable for firewood only, so we didn't utilize it either. Pool clean, gameroom a joke, private lake a joke. Don't stay here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
We parked in the new red section with large, gravel pull thrus and full hookups. We had a view of the lake from our site (16). Sites are not quite level, with some better than others. The gravel is still loose and the jacks may sink at some sites. Most of the sites in the red section are satellite friendly but the older section has lots of trees for those that like shade. The staff was very helpful and let us pick out our site. The rate I posted is the Passport America rate. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We loved this park. Stayed there in July. Shaded sites, pets allowed, child friendly. Pool was clean and in good repair. Staff were friendly and helpful. Park was in good repair and was clean. We are planning to return there in 2009! We stayed in a large back in site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Friendly staff, great large site. We are in a 50amp full-hookup site and it is really nice. Our site is a gravel pull-through with picnic table, fire pit and our own bench swing. The site is very large and we have plenty of room. Our site has lots of trees and shade and right behind us is a large open field which is great for walking the dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The owners have been doing a lot of renovations to improve the campground. We stayed in a site that was about 40 yards from the lake. The site had brand new water and electric connections. The sites were level side to side, but there was too much of a slope front to back to get perfectly level. The sites were good sized, but need more gravel to help hide the mud from all the recent digging. We found the staff to be very friendly. There was a free Fathers' Day breakfast on Saturday that was delicious. With a little more tender loving care, Small Country could be a very nice campground. We will definitely visit again, and I would recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Poorly maintained, although it looked like improvements were in progress. Campground had full timers that did not maintain their sites and therefore detracted from the overall experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
Office was closed when we arrived however the managers we're quick to re-open the office and get us settled in for the evening. A bit off the beaten track but friendly unique little place. We were only there one night and had to move on but will keep this place on our list for the future. Our satellite didn't work here but they did say they were working on getting Wi-Fi. Seemed to be a few locals camping at the same time, very friendly place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
We met some exceptionally nice people while staying here. The seasonals and the permanent residents were a pleasure. It makes it difficult to criticize the campground. We stayed on lot 11, a very difficult lot to level on. After one night, I had to request some help from the other campers. Finally we got it. Make sure you check the dates on the food in the store. Some mac and cheese was dated for Feb 07. About 9 months expired. It was fairly quiet and everyone is respectful. The kids were not tormenting anyone while cruising the golf carts around. If you're use to RV resorts, this is not your place. If you are a back pack camper, you'll get along fine. But don't get a tent site near the lake. I could not see how anyone would camp in a marsh. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
Prices were raised as of Oct 1st, although both their own website and the signboard in the office reflected the old price the women at the desk would not relent on the NEW $15 higher price. The site (gold 3) was narrow, very unlevel and next door to a junkyard. The grounds are not well kept and the many permanent/long term residents were in old run down rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This camp is mostly populated by long-term residents. That being said, there are a number of open sites for short-term guests. I went to camp (i.e., in a tent), and found there to be about 20 available camping (or "primitive" as they call them) sites. I was informed upon arrival that the "good site" was taken, but any of the others were open and to pick one and report the next morning the site number. Most of these sites are on a hill with paths leading down to a lake. Being on a hill, they are not at all flat. An attempt was made to level them with gravel, but you can imagine how that works with a tent. It is impossible to stake your tent, and you will be well aware of the gravel when you climb into your sleeping back. The sites were on such an angle that I found myself rolling downhill when not properly aligned with my head uphill and my feet downhill. I got out in the middle of the night to turn the tent as it was difficult to sleep at such an angle inside the tent. The "climate controlled restroom" near the sites were simple pits with wooden seats. There were normal toilet seats, but they had been ripped up by other campers. Some of the stalls were really nasty, and the rest were so foul as to be useless. This is far from the "beautiful restrooms" as described in the camp guide you are handed upon arrival. The bath house at the office was decent. The toilets did not flush well, and as such, many of the guests simply left behind remnants for the next user. The showers were decently clean, but they come to a complete stop the moment someone flushes a toilet or turns on a sink. The pool was decently sized, but constantly crowded. The water was green, leaning toward yellow, with a strong odor. There was no sign of a pump, and the normal chlorine smell was absent this pool. There was a decent amount of refuse in the pool, such as clumps of hair and band-aids. There is a boat rental option available. You can rent for $5/hr or $20 for a half day (four hours), or $30 for the full eight. I chose the half day deal, as I expected it to be an enjoyable experience. They give you a rubber plug and two oars. There are two boat options. One large V-hull boat, and a smaller flat-bottom fishing boat. Life jackets are not available. The plug we were given did not fit the larger boat, and the flat-bottom was progressing toward decay. The boat was so worn that the oars would not stay anchored to the boat, as the holes were quite well expanded from use or abuse. This boat started to take on water after a few moments on the lake, so I returned to shore and went back to the office for a refund. A younger lady was going to refund me, but the older lady, who I assumed to be the owner, gave me a different plug and said they did not issue refunds. This plug worked, but the bent oars did not provide enough drag to effectively move this much heavier boat. So, $20 was wasted, and we returned the oars and plug to the office. Our campsite lacked a fire ring, which would be considered standard at most facilities. Fortunately, I had packed a small grill, but it would have been nice to have had a campfire. Overall, the guests were nice, but this campground is overrun by permanent residents, and the facilities are in need of repair. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
We camped here for Memorial Day weekend and our first trip in our travel trailer. Everything was great. The sites were a little close. The owners were very nice. There was a lot of activities for kids. Hayride around the campground nightly. All of the other campers we met were very nice and helpful. The pool was clean. Pool was open from 9 AM until 9 or 10 PM. Owners were around a lot and were available for what ever was needed. We will be going back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We camped here on Memorial Day W/E. We were put out in a field where the water line supplying the campers is above ground in the sun with the water being so hot that you could not use it in the camper without running it for about five minutes, which, of course, fills up your gray water tanks quickly in a no sewer hook-up site. The power is supplied by number 6 Romex residential wire to regular outdoor receptacles...so your adapting from 50 amp plug in down to 30 amp plug in down to regular 3 prong adapter. (They charged an extra 3 dollars per night for us to use A/C.) I complained about this before I even hooked up and was assured it would be fine. I was told that the line was backed up by 60 amp service and would cause no problem. The first afternoon, with about 8 campers on the line the power tripped, on the line, about 4 times. By late evening there was approximately 20 campers using this totally inadequate service.It stayed on all night, thank goodness, but started tripping at 8:30 and tripped several times, before fire started shooting out of the side of the building where the power was supplied. We lost power immediately and, though the utility company was called out quickly, it was apparent that the problem was going to exist even after they repaired the severely damaged equipment. I worried the entire time that my A/C and other equipment might be damaged. The management did not want to hear about the problems and were not very friendly. In my opinion they were obviously trying to make as much money as possible without spending what it takes to be sure that campers are getting what they paid for. I got my money back for the remaining two nights of my reservation without any hassle and left in search of another place to stay on Memorial Day W/E. Also, many of the sites throughout the rest of the campground are very difficult to get leveled up on. There are about four showers in the somewhat clean rest room and about 5 toilet stalls. You had to hold the handle down several times to flush the toilets (which many people obviously had not done) and when you did this the water in the showers cut off almost completely. What a mess...they must have about a two inch water main coming in. These folks are trying to get by on a shoestring. I will never go back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
The campground is old and in general poor repair, the store is never open. There is no night lighting anywhere in the campground. The campground is almost full of fulltime residents, with very few sites for short term use. The reason for the lowest rating is site access, we have never had a problem getting into a site, but were almost not able to park here. After looking around we found all sites have poor access. We will not use this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Wow, this is an old CG with MANY permanent residents in old trailers. I was disappointed but, we did stay for one night. It appears that there is an attempt to make things better, but there is a long way to go. I will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
The previous reviews made us a bit nervous, but we tried Small Country anyway. It is a pretty nice place. There seems to be ongoing improvements to the facilities, which aren't bad to begin with. We stayed in orange #1, a pull-thru with water and electric. The site next to us had some loud local families, but the remainder of the CG seemed to have quieter types. I won't hold that against the campground owners. The playground is great for our little one. We enjoyed ourselves this weekend. The drawbacks...dusty roads (If the owner reads this, Please do something about the dust. It is a big turn-off to many rv'ers), and less than level sites. If we're in the area again, we would definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Sites--some of the best tent sites I have seen. They are along the lake, in the woods or in a meadow, take your pick. All seemed to have a table and fire pit and plenty of space. Cars could be parked near by or on the site. RV sites were problematic. Approximately 15-25 seemed reasonably level. Most others needed some to a lot of leveling. We saw one RV up on 2-3 cinder blocks under the rear wheel. But the meadow was much more level. Down side was no trees (it's a meadow!) OK in spring or late fall, but hot in summer. Water and electric available many places, sewer added in quite a few. Most sites in the trees were quite close together, though all had picnic tables and most had fire pit. Facilities--Main restrooms were clean and well kept. Even with lots of kids there were no problems. However, for tenters, there is a "temporary" facility. Showers, yes, but also pit toilets. Some looked less inviting than others. Three dumpsters, all located on the way out. A bit of a hike, but hey, it's camping. Pavillion had tables for groups or for rainy day cards, a video game room, books to swap, pool table. Swimming pool was reasonable, though with large crowd might lose it's appeal. Lake had some growth, gut note said they were working to bring back the beach. Fun place to swim or fish or boat. Camp store well stocked with food, supplies and fun items for kids. Atmosphere--very relaxed and fun. No hassles or loud rowdy crowds. Yes, a number of seasonals there and some of the rigs look a bit long in the tooth. But no "wrecks or junkers". And the seasonals we met were friendly and helpful. The weekend we were there they had a 60's band with good music in the pavillion on Sat. night. But not so loud that we heard it at the campsite. We found staff friendly and helpful with some tourist information available. Lots of birds in the area for bird watching. We would go back under certain conditions: can we get a level site? Can we get the PPA rate again? Has the beach been improved at the lake? Biggest drawbacks are the minimal level RV sites (this could be fixed) and the pit toilets for tenters (though they could walk a bit further to the main building and flush toilets.) Don't discount this campground without checking it out. If you just want to get away and enjoy the outdoors, this may be a good choice for you and the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
This is a rustic campground located approximately 25 miles east of Charlottesville, VA. This campground has lots of fulltime and seasonal campers. A few of the campers are old but not junky. The dump station was difficult for us to get to because there are so many trees. Bathrooms were clean, at least the ones by the office were. We would stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
It was an old CG that needs a lot of attention. The site we had was so far from level that we had to block our wheels even though we have built in levelers. The other sites we saw were not any different. Like most places I could and did spend a night there, but no more than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We went to Small Country this past weekend. Man what a dump! There is a bunch of permanent units set up there with junk all around them, a mobile home on site with a wrecked, engineless car sitting out front, I saw what looked to be a grey water hole at a site that was conveniently covered with a couple of boards, they wanted $3.00 for an armload of green unsplit 10"-12" pine for firewood and there was all of ten to twelve pieces available. The store is advertised as being open 8am-8pm but you have to ring the doorbell on the mobile home to get someone to open the store. The chlorine odors in the bathroom will make you sick and I noticed that right after cleaning and throwing the "Clorox" around the countertops at the sinks were still covered with dead insects from the night before. All this for $68.00 for (4) people for (2) nights. Never again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com