219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Shenandoah Hills Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 62 user reviews. Phone: (540) 948-4186
CGID3062

Shenandoah Hills Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   9   3   9   9   5   6   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$44
We came back for the fun in October. They have Halloween for 3 weekends and you can go to a nearby Apple Harvest Festival that is loads of fun. They deliver firewood when it's paid for and are great with directions to get places. Used to be a KOA, but it seems to be more outgoing and friendly now that they are private again. Whatever their reasons were, we like it! Site was awesome, Bathhouse was really clean, and Wi-Fi worked great! Absolutely plan to come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We were told by the person taking our reservation request via telephone how much she hates this park and KOA! During our stay her comments about KOA were verbally reinforced by the owner. This place was more like a residential park then a campground. Very few campers on Customer Appreciation Weekend which is when we camped. It needs updating and owners who care! The grounds are over grown. The road is in dire need of resurfacing, etc, etc!. All in all not a good experience. Will not stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
The owners work very hard, you can see it in all they do. They just finished a new roof on the restroom (hence the tarp), cutting branches and twigs, mowing, building a new ship for the playground, and more I expect. Pool was wonderful and so refreshing! Owners couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Neighbors dogs kept barking the whole time, but that's not the campground's fault. Will definitely come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
The roads are in horrible shape. I just got my wheels aligned and feared that I may have to do so again. One of the owners is rude. On arrival there was no power at the pedestal. Another campground worker called, but this owner showed up. He didn't answer questions, told me that the dogbone I'd connected to change from 50 amp to 30 amp to see if there was power to either connection would burn up my electrical system, stalked off, came back, and yelled at me to turn off my generator. We finally got power turned on, and it was uneventful after that. The pool is so old and disgusting that we would not get in it. The bath house roof leaks and has a tarp covering it. The campground has far too many rules (no bike riding in the park without a helmet; wash your feet before you go into the pool area). The general feeling is old, worn out, unfriendly, and unkempt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$51
Stayed here Memorial Day weekend. Overall a nice place. The children in our group enjoyed the jumping pillow and the planned activities. Stocked lake was nice for fishing. We didn't get to enjoy the pool because it was early in the season, but it looked very nice and inviting. Wi-fi wasn't the best; that is the only complaint. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
We camped with a group and had a wonderful time. Owners and workers very pleasant and accommodating. One worker even stopped by our group fire and sang campfire songs for us. Campground was well kept and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$42
Sites are somewhat level, roads are full of holes and very narrow. CG looks like it hasn't been worked on in several years. People are friendly, host lead us to the site and made sure we got set up. As we were unhitching a wild turkey flew in and landed in the site next to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Reserved a pull through with full hookup. Got there and the site was long enough, but not very wide. Neighbor's fire pit was about 10' from my bedroom slide and my fire pit was almost under the main slide. They say pet friendly, I'd say pet tolerant. I had 3 Chihuahua's that never left the camper but was charged $2 per day for extra dogs. This was hidden in the middle of the ticket. Nothing said about it, nothing posted on web site. When I questioned at checkout, I was told some people bring big dogs. That was the total explanation. Might use again as there is not much in area but will have to think hard about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Didn't see any of the problems in previous posts. Grass was mowed, trees were fine, roads are a bit rough, but still driveable. Folks are really helpful and friendly. Our guest paid a fee too, but swam, had supper with us and enjoyed a campfire. Had a great visit and will return for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Campground roads very rough. Huge ruts in road at dump site. Trees not trimmed so could not go into pull-through sites. Controlled access and charged our niece $5.00 just to walk a few hundred feet and tell us she had arrived to take us out to dinner. Ridiculous greed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Internet not functional. Electricity at our site failed. Steady rain got both. Staff willingly adjusted price in half because of electric failure so we paid less than $48. No one present when we arrives and no late check in procedure. We had no reservation and staff was at a meeting. We picked our site and settled next day. This park has plenty of space between sites. Our pull through site was level. Water connection leaked. Bath has pleasing single temperature setting. We will return when in area. We caught them on a bad hour in a bad day. From 10, -1 internet, -1 water leaking, -1 paths need fresh gravel, -2 no one present at check in or system, -2 electricity at site failed. +1 price adjustment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
We camped here for a long weekend. The campsite was super quiet and sooo peaceful. The bathrooms were clean, and the sites were easy to maneuver in and out of and pretty level. We had a pull through site. We checked in early without difficulty. The campground had plenty of shade. The people checking in and out were really nice and friendly. The pool was clean and a good place to relax and read a book out in the sun. The paperwork we received at check in said not to leave pets alone in the trailers. We saw a few people do it, but their dogs were mainly quiet, so I don't imagine it was a huge deal. I wish that it had stated that policy on the website so you know in advance. We will absolutely come back here again and are looking forward to our next weekend there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
Stayed at this park because it was convenient to family. Nice location, pretty, treed park. Bathrooms old and did not give a clean feeling. Owners unfriendly and rude. Made experience unpleasant. Will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We had a great few days staying over at this very beautiful, clean, and peaceful campground. The owners were extremely nice and took our kids to feed the catfish one day at the pond. They were very helpful in helping us find what attractions were in the area to visit as well. This campground had a state park feel and was very quiet. The owners even "first class mailed" our son's race car that he forgot at the playground. We will definitely be staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Do not come here; the owners are not friendly. The bathrooms were dirty. Had problem with the electric, and the owner said it had to be my trailer, not his electric, but I have not had a problem before or after this campground. Owner was rude and defensive about the problem. It appears that the owners do not like children from what we witnessed. Roads are in poor condition. Water quality poor. Poor lighting around the campground at night. Was told when we made reservation that you could not hear the traffic; this was a lie. Games in game room in poor condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
The park is fine, but a bit expensive for us. Also they were very restrictive about guests. The only way our daughter could visit was if she left a $25 deposit at the desk and would stay less than an hour. But the location was good for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
It is a nice quiet place. The sites are stoned and most appear fairly level. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is roads are in bad need of repair. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
VERY buggy, like we've never run into before. Couldn't have a campfire due to the brown, flying cockroach-looking bugs that arrived after dark. Kids liked the pool and jumping pillow. Roads are bad; however, we've seen worse. Stayed here last minute in an effort to get closer to Skyline Drive. Very small campground that needs some attention. Sites need trees trimmed and new stone. Fine place for an overnight stay. Any longer and you will be bored. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
I feel maybe that people are being a little to hard on the owners of this campground. I have stayed here a lot over the past year and have had nothing but excellent experiences! I have two small children that are treated wonderfully. If I ever have a problem they are quick to resolve the problem. They have functions for the kids all the time. Halloween was so awesome here. Sites are all pretty level (keep in mind, this is a wooded campground). The roads have some pot holes but nothing major, they try hard to keep the holes filled with gravel. I think if you treat the owners with respect you will get respect in return. Just because you have read bad reviews here, you should give them a chance. This truly is one of the best CAMPGROUNDS (not RV resorts) I have stayed at! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
First I will make a couple of comments about the previous reviews that we found different. We were there for 4 days and do not have children but saw playground equipment, air pillow, swimming pool, game room and planned activities for the weekend that required a fee. The gate card deposit is only $10 and that is fully refundable when you turn the card in. We agree that the roads are in poor shape. The entry road does have large "pot holes" in the paving and the interior roads also have some rough spots. The sites are not level and after months of camping we had to purchase some boards to level the MH. We did notice that almost everyone had something under their tires no matter if they were a trailer or a MH. There are lots of trees so no satellite but there is good cable service, good Verizon air card, and AT&T cell phone. The park and site were easy to get into and out of. The park was filled on the weekend with many families and apparently it is that way most weekends. We noticed there were several trailers that were not occupied once the weekend was over. The following is the reason we could not rate this park any higher than we did: We had 50 amp service and when we turned on our heat pump our Voltage Monitor kept jumping from 110 to 132 and back down. We called Monaco to ask what was wrong and they told us it was the power source at the campground post. They advised we unplug and run the generator to confirm that the heat pump and our MH did not have any problems. Everything worked properly. We then told the office and they immediately sent someone down who checked both legs of the 50 amp plug in our spot #22. He was not able to check the plug with a "load" so was unable to see what was happening when one was put on the plug. He told us we had a "cheap" monitor and there was nothing wrong with their power. "You have a Surge guard so you will be fine." He told us our MH was just adjusting and not to worry. We only used the 30 amp hookup and never used the 50 amp plug. Sorry campground owners as you read this but after over 30 years of RVing and using this MH for 7 of the last 9 months we have never had a power problem like this. We are now at the next park and everything, including the Voltage Monitor, is working like it always has. Without this electrical problem we would have rated the park a 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
No activitiy for kids; quite campground. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
This was a one-night stop on our way to our final destination. It was not a bad experience (I'm giving it an 8), but there were a few things I found somewhat unsatisfactory. First was the charge for a gate key that I did not see mentioned in any of the website or reservation information. It is unavoidable, as you have to have a gate key to get to the campsites, and it was automatically charged to my credit card on the day of arrival. They charge $20 but then refund $10 of it when you return the key. The other frustration was that I called ahead to see if we'd be able to fill our propane tank when we got there, and they said it would be no problem. I told them our anticipated arrival time (which they said was fine), and when we arrived at that time, the office was already closed. It would have been nice to get that information when I called ahead. Other than that, the site was fine, roomy, electric was sufficient, and we had a peaceful night. Easy pull-through site too, for a big rig, too. I'm not sure what it would be like to spend more time here, but for a brief one-night stop, it was more than sufficient for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
I really enjoyed this CG as it is close to a few attractions I wanted to see. It is more of a state park setting with many trees, grass and gravel. I was in a level pull through. Sites are a bit close but the one I was in was adequate. Since I was touring during the daytime I cannot comment on daytime activities. I found the others posts interesting. The staff was very friendly, however upon my arrival the desk clerk insisted my RV was a 50 amp. I assured her it wasn't but she needed to concur with another to see if I could be assigned a site with 30 amps. If I say my RV is a 30 amp then that should be the end of that. There are no speed bumps but the pot holes take care of racing through this park. A little TLC to the roads would give the CG a better rating and lay off assessing RV AMP's from afar. I didn't mind the $2.75 charge per day for cable TV, but they have limited channels and one I like wasn't available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Booked three days, stayed only two. This campground has sort of a run-down atmosphere. Places not well maintained, restrooms and showers under construction. The only bright colors come from the 'KOA' sign. Playground and pool are nice, though. Staff is a bit fussy. Wouldn't come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
This campground was just OK. Not great but not horrible. Roads are not well maintained and had many potholes and very little gravel. Extra charges for children, dogs, cable, TV, etc. But we did receive a generous amount of firewood for the cost. We don't plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We were hesitant about staying but it was the only place available. We got the last assigned site in the campground for the Labor Day weekend: a pull through with water and electric. The site was narrow but the people assigned to the next site did not show up so we basically had a large private area to camp in. It was a shady and cool spot. We enjoyed our time here and did not see or hear any of the problems stated in previous reviews. A hay ride was provided two of the evenings. Friday night was dance music and Saturday night they had a Clogger demonstration in the "Buffalo Barn". Basically a small, quiet, cozy campground in the foothills of the Shenandoah National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Quite campground, nice level sites, owners friendly. Bathrooms and showers need to be remodeled, however they were very clean. We plan on camping at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We camp here several times a year. Contrary to a couple of reviewers, the owners have always treated us great. Its a very clean and quiet campground. The Wi-Fi is free and exceptional. The cable TV also has alot of digital stations available. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We camped with 3 other friends (4 total) over the 4th of July, and we all enjoyed our stay. The bad reviews, for me, come with lots of questions. There is always two sides to every story. Campground is clean and well run. Owners do keep control over the campground, but I don't blame them. Remember, we are THEIR guests...They own the property, pay the insurnace, mortage, etc. When you act responsiblly, you won't have problems with the owners. Again, we had a group of 8 adults, 2 children and 7 dogs. NO problems at all. We will definently return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I too, after reading the comments of the other campers was hesitant to try Shenandoah Hills Campground. We went over the 4th of July holiday. The staff workers were pleasant and the shady space we had was terrific. The pool was clean and the kids liked the campground. It is a relatively small place but nonetheless it worked out just fine. They had activities, all of which you had to pay for, which was kind of a downer. We did experience for the first time a camper getting in trouble and getting asked to leave one night around midnight. Not sure why, they didn't seem to be a bother to us. Anyway, it was a nice escape. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
After reading all of the previous posts on this campground (after I had already made my reservation), I was worried that I was going to be "stalked" by obsessive camp workers all weekend over minor rule infractions. Fortunately, this was not the case, and actually left me wondering what everyone else was talking about. The owners and workers were all extremely nice, and seemed to go out of there way to make sure that my family was having a great time. The jumping pillow is great, and let my 6, 5, and 2 year old boys burn off all of their energy. The WiFi signal was strong from our campsite. A full recycle bin of wood is available for purchase for around $3, and is delivered to your site and stacked next to your fire ring. The pool was extremely clean. You have to pay a nightly rate for cable TV, as was mentioned in other posts. We were in site 31, which is a back-in site. The site required minimal leveling, and had a thin layer of gravel down. One thing I did notice was that the pull-through sites appeared to actually have more room between the sites than the back-in sites did. I will definitely be returning to this campground again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Our group of 8 families stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and, despite the many bad reviews, we decided to give it a try especially since it just became a KOA. The managers are VERY rude and uncaring about customer service, and seem to just look for a reason to confront people (especially kids) about rule infractions or things that just don't meet their approval. The campground itself is pretty nice... sites are a little small and not level but offer nice shade and they have a pool, playground, jumping pillow, tennis/basketball court and fishing pond. They also offered weekend activities such as a DJ, bingo, crafts and hay rides. Being a smaller campground, there was not a lot of traffic to worry about either. But, the many run-ins we had with management put a damper on an otherwise enjoyable weekend. Sorry, when we're paying $40+ a night for a campsite, we should be able to run our A/C units. Also, the water coming out of the spigots was brown... we were all very fortunate that we had filters on our water supply. And, we had to pay $2 extra per hour to check-in before 2PM. So, this could be a nice little campground if it were managed properly but, until that happens, we will not be returning. We will also be notifying KOA of our experience in hopes they can bring about some changes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
The worst camping experience we ever had. The management is very rude and mean. Do not take children there. They followed our kids around watching them and yelling at them. They posted Easter activities and then decided not to do them. This campground has had a very bad reputation for a while but we hoped that since it had become a KOA that things had changed. They didn't. I strongly recommend that you do not go here! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
We were most disappointed during our recent stay. The roads were in poor shape, bathhouse not clean, owners not friendly, rules too rigid, and extra fees for almost everything. We checked in 1 hour early to an almost empty campground, and were charged $2.00 for an early registration fee and a charge of $2.75 for cable. The second day, our daughter and family came to visit. They were in the campground for about an hour for lunch, left to go fishing at a local lake, and returned to drop off our grandchildren, ages 2 and 4, who spend the night. My son-in-law wasn't allowed through the gate and had to park at the registration/store and walk in carrying their personal items. My 2 year old grandson was so excited that he fell on the road (tripped over a pot hole). We were charged a visitor fee of $ 3.00 for the 3 adults, and a 3 dollar fee for my 4 year old grandson spending the night. Fortunately the 2 year old was free. We were also charged a $2.00 x2 recreation fee as they visited the playground with the balloon pillow for 15 minutes prior to lunch. Shouldn't the visitor fee have covered this? Upon returning from fishing (they had fun falling in the stream) they were soaking wet and grandchildren unclothed. My husband begged for them to be let in to drop the grandchildren off without having to bring them in naked. They were granted access but only after guaranteeing they would leave immediately. We will definitely cross this campground off our list and I would advise you to do the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Park charges for everything showers,tv,50amp,and acc card for gate. Problem is the park is the only one in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This was our first trip here. I had read mixed reviews about the campground but decided to take a chance. We found it to be a nice campground and the staff was nice also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We stayed here over Labor Day Weekend 2008. The campground was terrible, the roads were great need of repair, the grass hadn't been mowed for weeks, they charged for showers. The campground had workkampers employed, that must of not been allowed to work fror any other campgrounds the were terrible, noisy, and tried to control everything. The management was non responsive to any anything. Would never stay here again or would I recomend it to anyone We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$80
Small park. The sewer was in the middle which was a stretch for our rear connection. The staff was friendly and during a propane refill the owner cautioned of the bugs clogging up exhaust (refer, Hot water heater). The 30A site (pull though) was level. Pay showers were a first for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
I stayed at The Shenandoah Hills Campground cabin and cannot say enough about it. Clean, cool and comfy. I have read many reviews about the campground and was a little confused... Have you people ever wondered why the owners put so many rules into effect??? It's due to the constant abuse of the campground and it's surroundings. Putting a deposit on the gate key encourages campers to turn it in. As far as chopping down trees there are trees that are protected in the forest and should not be cut down... this rule eliminates that abuse. Should I go on... As far as the pay showers... these help cut down the waste of water that would otherwise go on - not to mention I am 38 years old and the campground I grew up camping at as a child also had them... I had a great time... Lots to do in the area and the owners were so helpful to us in finding it all. I can't wait to go back with my three children. They also had the time of their lives and want to go there every summer. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
I don't know how this campground earned 4 stars from Woodalls. Convenient to Rt. 29. One loop with sites right next to each other. The woman who checked us in was a sourpuss. We had planned to stay two nights but just didn't feel comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
Did not find other folks comments. We found a quiet, clean campground. Owners do have rules they won't bend, but there is a reason for every rule. If you ask them why they do things, they will tell you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
The campground had a real stench in our campsite area. We Later found it was coming from the Bath Houses! Yes, it was so bad, that it could be smelled outside and down from the sites. They have TONS of Goofy Rules, and make you read them upon check in. They provided FREE WiFi, but charge you for basic Cable. Some people where asked if they wanted it, others where not. Don't even ask me why they need a gate key system for this campground, I guess they hope you forget to return the card for the Deposit. Also, they provide clean up bags for the dog owners, but no trash cans to deposit them into. So everywhere to go on the trails, they are scattered around on the ground. We will NOT be visiting this Campground Again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is a quiet place with a very nice pool, clean bathrooms and shady sites. We did not run into any rude people. This is a nice place to go if you are looking for a relaxing place with not much to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
Two inlaws, wife, and 4 year old stayed here during a local wine festival. The owners were very nice. The camp store stocks Bison. We did not have the same problems that the other posts had. Sites had plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We stayed for 3 mos, so paid the lower monthly rate plus electric. Park has many shade trees and has been quiet. Quite a few seasonal spots and a few fulltimers, like us. Nice pool, nice playground on site. We didn't experience the rudeness of other posters. We are used to paying extra fees and didn't find anything unreasonable at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$49
This camping experience was not good. It was a shame that my kids had to witness rude people, and have the feeling of being watched every move we made. From walking in the door to check in to checking out was a challenging experience. Every question that was asked of them was answered in a harsh tone or they snapped your heads off. They rode around in a golf cart and monitored every move that was made by all 18 of us that were camping there. I rented a cabin which was really pretty inside, and was give a very small heater, which the lady told me we would be hot with it on. It was 42 degrees when we got there and it was raining. The heater was doing nothing. It was freezing in that place. We drove to the nearest Target and bought a heater and that immediately warmed the place up. The bath house was just disgusting. It was very old and not heated. You had to pay 50 cents to take a shower. I am happy that the group that I went with made our stay enjoyable because the people that owned/ran the place were nasty and rude. We will never go back there again and I recommend anyone considering going there not to. I feel it's more for older people to camp that are quiet and stay in their campers most of the time. It was Halloween weekend and they had very poor activities, plus you had to pay for everything that you did. Never again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
This was the most horrible campground I have ever been to!!! We had a group of 27 people (including an infant) which consisted of four campers and 2 cabins. As we all arrived and checked in each one of us was treated very rudely by the two ederly women at the registration desk. One of our members asked if the campground office offered discount tickets to the local attraction "Luray Caverns". The response we got was "That is something you should have requested earlier, not something you ask for now. You should have requested discount tickets before coming." I felt this was a very rude and unfriendly comment to respond with. When I challenged her response and asked how would we know to ask ahead of time if you didn't offer it to us over the phone when we reserved our campsite, she responded with "We don't have discount tickets, you need to call Lurray and make arrangements with them". What topped their rude and impolite service was the campground workers communication with us the following day. We were all unloading the items we brought since the rain had moved out. Our friend who was camping next to us brought their fire ring over to our campsite. We placed the fire rings side by side and poured charcoal in them. As we waited for the charcoal to get hot we stacked our fire wood (at a distance) in a U shape around the fire rings to block the wind. I noticed that there was a campground worker (elderly woman) watching us from the pavilion near by. She was watching us closely. Our wood stack kept falling in toward the fire ring, so we walked the wooded area looking for large stones and found some old cinder blocks partly covered with dirt. We carried 4 cinder blocks over and leaned them on the wood so it wouldn't fall. Next thing here comes a golf cart speeding up. An old man ask where the cinder blocks come from. We told him and said we would be putting them back. He left with no comment or acknowledgement. Next thing we know he returns on the speeding golf court with an elderly women. She gets off the court hands on her hip and demands to know "What is that?". Pointing at our U shaped stack of wood. We told her we were cooking meat with charcoal on the fire rings and were trying to block the wind. She again was rude and I finally spoke up and asked what was the problem, we are not breaking any rules. The old man and her both jumped out and said because you got the blocks out of the woods and you have two fire rings at this campsite. I replied back with the fact that we weren't hurting any thing and hadn't destroyed any thing and when large groups camp together they always cook in one spot and put things back before leaving. Needless to say they continued with their rude and impolite communication. I HAVE NEVER IN ALL MY CAMPING YEARS COME ACROSS A CAMPGROUND AND ITS WORKERS SO RUDE AND UNFRIENDLY. This is not a place I or my camping group will return to. There bathhouse is outdated and needs major renovation. They wanted $.50 for 5 minutes of water in the shower, $3.50 for small stack of wood, $10.00 for a pass card to get thru the gate. They gave you nothing. They didn't come thru and pick up the trash each day you had to cart it to a dumpster at the entrance of the campground. As a business you should want to make people return and not discourage them from returning. We felt like the moment we checked in we were being watched. It was as if the campground employees were on a steak out. Might be in the best interest of the campground if these ederly people retire and let someone else take over since they don't show an interest in serving the public that comes to them as a customer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Worst campgrond my family has ever stayed in. Anti-children. Rates are based on 2 adults so that should tell you something. This campground is elderly owned and elderly run so children are not allowed to be children. Campground planned minimul activities over the 4th of july weekend and charged extra for every one. Pets are extra, each child is extra. Wi-Fi is not campground wide and very poor reception where you can get it. Pool was dirty allweekend and NEVER cleaned once in the 5 days we stayed there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
This is a very pretty cg. We were here in the fall and it was beautiful and quiet. Only complaints were the bathrooms. They were clean but they really need updating. Charlottesville is about 20 minutes away and Monticello is close by. So is Shenandoah National Park. The owner gives out a list of resurants in the area. Do try the pizza place. I can't remember the name, its right down the street. I had the best Shrimp and Broccoli there. Do not try the Porpoise Cafe! It was horrible! We would definitely go back to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
We had a very enjoyable time in the campground. The campground was clean and the people were friendly. My family enjoyed walking the trails, swimming in the pool and playing in the arcade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$75
This is THE WORST camping experience my husband and I have ever had!! We choose this campground because it was a good half-way point to meet my mother-in-law and our youngest niece, and they had what looked like nice cabins! My mother-in-law and niece arrived an hour or so before we did and went into the camp store. They were FORBIDDEN to enter the campground to even look at the cabin before we got there. In addition they were told it would be unlawful for them to use the playground or pool while they waited for us since they were not registered guests. It was suggested that they meet somewhere off their property and all come back together. (All that mess to a 50-something lady and 10 year old little girl!) Well, when we got here, we checked in and before we could do anything else, a copy of our credit card was made (even though the number and expiration date was already in their computer system from my call for reservations). I got really uneasy when she made a copy of our credit card and I asked about it. I was told that they would hold a $200.00 deposit in case the cabin was not returned as we found it. I asked if it was necessary to have a copy of the card. She said it was. When we checked out, if the cabin was found to be in good condition, it would be shredded. Although, still uneasy I felt somewhat better. When we went to sign the bill I noticed that my mother-in-law and niece were being charged a separate rate EACH night as guests, even though the cabin is equipped for 4 people. I thought this was OUTRAGEOUS since we've NEVER been charged per person before! Anyhow, we paid our $10.00 fee for the gate pass and THOUGHT we were told to take both vehicles and unload them and then put the extra into the overflow lot, but apparently that was not the case. No sooner than we pulled both vehicles up to the cabin a gentleman on a golf cart threatened to have us removed if we didn't put one of them in the overflow lot immediatly. We were stunned. Soon after we were all discussing the lack of a fire ring at the campsite and were wondering if there was anywhere to build a fire. When all of a sudden the lady from the store pulls up in her golf cart and informs us that we can purchase wood from her and and build a fire in the gill. It was as if she had been listening to our conversation. It was quite strange! We went back with her to the camp store where we purchased a tote full of wood for $3.50. She delivered it in her golf cart, which was the only kind thing she did the ENTIRE weekend. When we checked in we noticed the cabin was quite small, although on their website it was advertised as a 12x20. My mother-in-law whipped out her measuring tape and we measured. The actual cabin was only 12x12 with a 4 foot front porch (adding it all still only made it a 12x16). If you measured to the tip of the front step it was BARELY 12x20. Sounds like false advertising to me. But we all fit and we were pleased with the cabin itself, so we ignored the fact that we had been lied to about the size. On Saturday morning we were relaxing on the porch, reading over their rules. Like a previous poster I must say MANY are unreasonable. (No hachets? My husband NEVER camps without one.) And the speed limit is a RIDICULOUS 9 1/2 miles per hour. Make it 9 or 10, but 9 1/2??? Anyhow, all was well Friday evening and Saturday, but it went WAY downhill on Sunday! My husband, niece, and I were relaxing at the pool when my sister-in-law pulled in. We had not been expecting her to join us until the following day, however she was able to get here a day early. We were all estatic to say the least: what a good surprise. Not knowing the visitor policy, we had her park in the overflow lot, took her to see the cabin and surprise her Mom. We had barely gotten to the gate when the woman yelled that my sister-in-law had not been registered as a guest and if she went through the gate would be trespassing. We were informed that it would be $3.00 for her to visit. We turned around and went to register her. In the mean time she dropped by her car and got a few of her things, so she could change and freshen up after a 6 hour drive. She handed the lady a $10.00 bill and the lady gave her 2.00 back. When questioned about it, we were told that we were being charged $5.00 for her to use their pool, since she noticed my sister-in-law had a bathing suit with her. My sister-in-law said she didn't intend to swim, but layout and the woman told her if she had a suit she'd have to pay. When I mentioned that she would be staying the night I was informed that was IMPOSSIBLE. No reason was given and no options were given. (Rent another cabin, a tent site or the rental camper they have.) There wasn't even an apology, just: no she can NOT! We were informed that she could stay until 10PM and if she stayed any later she would be trespassing. When I mentioned that we all may have to leave, she informed me that we would not get our last night's rent or our deposit back (a total of $285.00). We tried to make the best of a bad situation and enjoyed ourselves as best we could. At 10PM we walked my sister-in-law to her car and low and behold we were being watched. I have no doubt that had her car not been gone at 10:01, there would have been a deputy arresting her for trespassing. The next morning we were all fed up and couldn't wait to leave. We made sure the cabin was spick and span and marked off EVERYTHING on her checklist. When we arrived to check out a $10.00 bill was SHOVED in my face for the refund on the gate key. When I asked if she could inspect the cabin I was told she didn't do this and the lady who did was not here. I told her I'd like the copy of my credit card before I left or for her to shred it in front of me. She refused saying the cabin hadn't been checked and wouldn't be checked until after we left. I even offered to stay until she could check the cabin and she refused saying after we left she would check it and shred our credit card copy if all looked good. I told her I felt this was unacceptable and she told me she didn't care. My husband or I never once raised our voices and were as polite as we could be under the circumstances. We finally just gave in and went to head home. On the way out, I turned to her and said, "Thank you for the weekend, and we do not plan to return." Her reply to me was, "Good, now GET OUT." DO NOT waste your time here! Family time is much too valuable to waste with these people! They are inhospitable and just plain RUDE! They have NO business dealing with the public and without the public they'd have NO business. Do NOT support these nasty people! As of today they have not charged our credit card for anything we did or left undone. However, should they choose to charge my card I will be disputing it. Please take this post to heart! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$32
I admit when I stayed here it was with some hesitation due to some of the posts. In making this post I will try and keep it factual. At check in I was asked for number in party and found children were billed at a separate rate from adults. When Sandy asked if the kids had bikes, I wondered why I was aasked such, but since we did not have any on this trip, it was not a concern. I was issued a card for the gate and charged $10 for it, refundable on return of card. First time I have stayed at a camp like this. After paying I was directed to a "pull through" site. Oddly enough, the site I was directed to was perhaps the only site I could NOT pull through. Fortunately the site beside was vacant and I was able to pull through it and then back into the one provided. At electrical hookup I noted the hookup had the usual 50 and 30 amp hookup, with a lock over the 50 amp connection. However, since I had no need for 50 amp and had paid for 30 amp, this too was not an issue. Since I had an unexpected visitor one night, I went to the office to pay for this. $5 seemed a bit steep but those are their rules. Since I stayed longer than originally planned, I went to pay and asked about the rate being charged and reminded Sandy we no longer had the guest, but I was still charged the extra $5. At final check out I asked for an itemized bill and was told it could not be done for some reason relating to the computer setup. I started querying further about the rates and finally Sandy acknowledged she had overcharged me, and did refund the overage. I found the park comfortable, clean & relatively quiet with what appear to be grounds improvement underway. That is the factual, non-human involvement report. I like to interact with people and develop a rapport, even if just for a short period of time. I also like to feel welcome. I felt none of this with Sandy, who I believe is one of the owners, but am not sure. Some could argue since it was clean and safe, they had done their job. I also felt I was at Stalag 13 with the gate and the impersonal approach to the customer. Sandy, if you or another rep from your campground read this, lighten up, smile at your customer and thank them for coming. Remember, we may need a place to stay for the night, but you need us to WANT to stay with you. You have a decent location with a clean, functioning campground. Make us feel welcome! I guess I can understand the gate system since some cheapskates feel it is ok to drive into a campground and then leave without paying, I don't like it though. Had there been better human interaction, I would have given this a high rating based on what I used here, keeping in mind I did not use every service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2004
$35
Most unfriendly people at a campground I've run across in 35 years of camping. They charge you $10 for a card to get in and out of the place and watch every move you make as if you're a crook.The sites are close together, unlevel and other peoples stuff left there. Not clean in other words. I made two trips there,my first and last all in one. Will not go back and do not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2004
$30
We had been coming to this campground for a couple of years for Labor Day because of the Fall Festival that was held in Madison. The last year we were at Shenandoah Hill Campground for Labor Day weekend was the worst weekend we have ever had. Like others have stated they wanted money for everything. We had another couple come for the first time and they had 2 dogs. One time the dogs got to barking at other dogs and the owners came zooming up in their golf cart within 2 minutes and started raising cane with the couple, they were saying very ugly things. The owners actually told them they were the worst family to ever camp there. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. The owner told them if they didn't shut them dogs up he was going to kick them out of the campground with no refund. I WILL NEVER GO TO THIS CAMPGROUND AGAIN. What is very odd was we had to go to Indiana to get some work done on our camper and low and behold guess who comes out of the waiting area? Yep the awful owner of the campground. He recognized us because of our camper and immediately came over to chat. We spoke and he said he was on his way back home with his camper and asked us to take some of his camping brochures inside and leave them on the counter in the waiting area for others to see. We said sure. I walked in the waiting area and dropped the whole stack in the trashcan! The Better Business Bureau should look into this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2004
$40
Sorry for the late review. Just found this web site. We camped here with friends. The owners seem unfriendly. We had trouble with campers around us smoking marijuana. Including some seasonal units. I went to owner he said nothing he could do about it. What a crock. We wont be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is a campground that I would not recommend. Although I was greeted warmly when we arrived and given directions to the site with no problem, I thought it strange that we were charged per person and not as a family. Two people per site, children are extra (we have one 15 and one 2 yr old). Usually I am charged for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) for a site. We found the site and had no trouble getting set up. We did notice that the pull through sites were very "tight", but we were down near the end in the back in sites, which were a bit more spread out. We had about 30' between campers, which was no problem for us. On the first visit to the restroom is when I thought things were a bit "Out of Sort". There was a notice on the wall to the bath house that said: "In order to conserve water we have installed Pay Showers". What a Farse, what they are doing is making their clients pay for something that should have been included in their daily rate. I have been to quite a few campgrounds in my life, ranging from disgusting to exemplary, and have never had to pay for taking a shower. The only place I have seen pay showers is at Truck Stops, and I can understand that (at least there they let the drivers shower for free if they buy $xx amount of fuel). I also was reading over the "CampGround Rules" and got to the banned items. I expected "No firearms and fireworks", but "No Hatchets, Axes or Saws allowed?" Is this a safey issue, or is it the owner trying to corner a firewood market? I don't think there will be many assults with a saw, just can't get the victim to stay still long enough. OK, I agree I am not going to go cutting trees down in their campground, but for those that don't know better, shouldn't this read "No cutting Trees for Firewood?" I mean a hatchet is a standard camping tool, I see a hatchet and I think of camping. I guess I just don't like people telling me what I can and cannot have, call me a non-conformist. I also found it irritating that the staff drove around in a golf cart just after 12:00 each day to gather firewood left on the sites. I try to be considerate to the next camper and if I have any wood left over, will leave it on the site for them rather than drag that weight back with me. I don't do this so the owner can come by and resell the wood over and over, or do the same with wood I bring with me. Well between these and the 2 times I needed to go to the office/store, I have to say that the staff is not the most pleasent I have seen. These were not confrontational or any kind of comments to be unpleasant. Just trying to buy firewood, and checking out. The staff had an attitude that I just found irritating. When I check out almost felt like they were scolding me as a child for not meeting checkout time. I knew checkout time was 12:00, and we decided not to rush to leave. We were staying past check out time, and we were aware that there was a late fee involved. I was willing and offered to pay the late fee before they even mentioned it at the desk, and was asked twice if I knew that checkout was at 12:00. I think the lady just could not believe I was not ashamed of myself for not meeting their 12:00 time frame. All in all, The next time we go camping in that area, we will be trying other campgrounds. My recommendation is to avoid this place and try the other camp grounds in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
The owners were friendly, and seemed willing to help with info and directions to the surrounding attractions (Graves Mountain, Lurray Caverns, ect). The park looked to be well kept and security drove the campground quite frequently. There was little recreation in the park, although it did have a tennis court, pool, gameroom, and small playground. The hiking trail lacks in the hiking department but made for a nice stroll in the cool morning air. The campground is about a 25 to 30 minute drive from Skyline Drive and would be probably a better stay during the fall with the color change, but overall it was a nice secluded weekend getaway. I did make the mistake of not bringing my own firewood, and ended up buying ($3.50) a recycle box full of rotten wood that went up like gunpowder (lesson learned). Overall we enjoyed our stay, and will probably come back again in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$38
Shenandoah Hills Campground is not the place you would expect it to be. Besides having to pay 50 cents for hot water in their coin operated showers (with no way of getting change for the machine) I was also charged $20.00 on my charge card for leaving wood on the campsite. The wood they refered to was a couple of sticks left over form the night before that I used in the grill. The grill was the only place we could have a camp fire, due to there being no fire ring allowed at the cabin site and this information was not disclosed to me untill we got there. Had I have known what type of campground this was I would have stayed somewhere else, I am writing this to inform others of my misfortune so as their camping trips will be more enjoyable if they do not stay here. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This was our 4th visit to this campground and we will not be returning. The facilities are fairly well maintained, but the owners are quite inhospitable. This particular weekend was very quiet and we had some friends visiting for supper. We let the owners know when they would be arriving and asked that their visitor's fee ($3.00 per person) be deducted from our gate key deposit. The owner agreed. Upon arrival, our 2 guests were told to park at the camp store and hike into the campground. One of our guests is recovering from cancer and we didn't realize that guests were not allowed to drive vehicles to the campsite. The person staffing the desk was very disagreeable and our guests were very surprised at the treatment they received. We were purely embarrassed. The next morning I went to the showers and found that 5 minutes of hot water would require 2 quarters - my wife and I have been RV'ing for 5 years now and this was our first encounter with pay showers. Upon departure, the owner was fairly civil until I stated that we would not be back. Rather inquire as to the reason, she opted to become insulting and quite loud. We strongly recommend avoiding this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is a small quiet campground that's good for a quiet weekend. They have a pool and rec. room with a few games for the kids. Not much else to do for the kids. Shaded level sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We started camping at Shenandoah Hills a couple of weeks after the current owners bought the campground in 2000. It is nicely laid out and we enjoyed going there, meeting friends and just relaxing. However, in 2002, we noticed a change in atmosphere at the campground, with the owners and a couple of the seasonals. On one trip, a camping group was complaining that their campsites were moved around in order to accommodate a couple of units (not with the group) who made last minute reservations. On another trip, the owner confronted me about a barking dog, thinking my two month old puppy was the source. While talking, when the bark occurred a couple of sites down from us, he left without apologizing. They also have a rule that taking wood out of the forest will be cause for dismissal from the campground. I can understand that for live trees, but dead wood? We haven't gone back since 2002 and would recommend going over the mountains and camping in Luray at either the Yogi Bear Jellystone Park or the Country Waye We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Very nice small family type of campground about 30 min. north of Charlotsville. Very clean and very well maintained. Some seasonals but all where well maintained. The owners really do care about their campground and it shows. Very nice people to talk to. I would give it a higher rating but for me to do that they would need a pond or small lake for some fishing. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com