218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Christopher Run Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (540) 894-4744
CGID3066

Christopher Run Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   7   10   9   8   3   6   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Sites were very small and had a severe slope. Dirt sites, no gravel. One shower facility with 3 showers for a 200 campsites. Second bath house had no hot water and was very dirty. No fire ring. I had to go searching for large rocks to make a fire ring. Dump station was overflowing. Dog droppings all over the place. I wouldn't stay here ever again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Super crowded over memorial day weekend - to be expected - playground very packed all weekend. I met some nice people there though. The boat launch is available for 10 dollars for the whole weekend. They have a small swim area on lake for the kids - crowded, but still okay - fairly safe. Sites for non-seasonal are a little too small for campers longer than 25 or so feet. Our friends could not open their awning and one guy across from us had to stick out in the road to open his slide out. I had a golf cart and since I am handicap and had proof, it was allowed. another fellow was told to put his cart back on his truck without handicap proof. I don't know what their issue is with gold carts. the staff use them and I saw the lady who owns it driving around on one too. My mom had to pay $5 a day to visit, and her truck was hit in the over fill parking lot - of course no one left a note to claim responsibility. We had sewer, but could not hook up to it because of the position of our camper on the site. We had to angle it so we did not stick out in the road. Sites are kind of crappy when it comes to length and width. we do plan to return for labor day because it is a good place to launch our boat, close to my son's home, and we are meeting friends there, but we reserved a spot on a hill in the open so we won't have problems fitting our 40 foot travel trailer in the spot. There are a ton of seasonal sites, some very old campers, but the sites are actually well kept even though campers are old. They had activities like music each holiday weekend night. They had a nice stocked store. I went night fishing; caught a lot of catfish. If you like people, boats, water, kids, nice people, lots of activities, this campground is for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Gravel sites, not terrible, but be sure to bring lots of lumber for leveling. The sites are pretty doggone tight. The bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean, most of the time. We really liked the little beach area for the grandson. Biggest complaint was the water service. They did some maintenance work while we were there and didn't bother to notify anyone that the water would be turned off. When it was turned back on, it flowed absolutely black for a while. If it was me, I'd let people know. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Some spots were right on top of each other, but we got lucky and had a nice big one. The playground was a little dated but was still very functional. They let you pick the spot for your fire pit so that was cool. There is a beach area and swimming area on site, as well as a boat launch. As far as fishing goes from the shore, the kids had a blast. If we caught one we caught 100 brim and bluegills. Small hooks, small bobber, light line and nightcrawlers; you can't go wrong. This was a great campground and had it not been Memormial Day weekend, it would have not have been so packed and there would have been a lot more room. One of the best parts was there were no golf carts except for the staff's. The store is well stocked and the staff was very friendly. We will be going back here again this summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
I was very happy with this park. When we arrived at our site, we were confused as to where we should park, the staff came to the site immediately (turns out someone was in our site). We were offered to have them move or to use the site next to ours, which was just as good if not better. There are several seasonal set ups but plenty of very good, non seasonal sites. We were very happy with this CG and plan to return with our family next year. They had a boat launch area with rental jet skis and pontoon boats nearby. The store was well stocked, they had evening security and enforced the quiet time (we were with the neighbors who took our site when they were told by park staff to turn down the music). The staff was great and we had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Friendly staff. Looks like there are a lot of permanent sites, but everyone is friendly. There's a marina, camp/marina store and a chuck wagon that serves food. We've camped once, but live close and almost always use the marina to launch our 22' runabout boat ($8 to launch and park for the day). They have a beach for swimming and a large quiet shoreline for fishing. They rent boats and jet skies also. Nice place, very "country". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Reserved 50amp full-hookup, was put on 30amp site, called office and was told they don't have 50amp full-hookup sites. They have 3 50amp sites on the lake but they are water & elec. only. Office is run by kids and they don't seem to care much about customer service. We left and went to a different campground. Rate is based on the quoted monthy rate of $700. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
This park is close to our home so we thought we would give it a try. The lake is very close by with a swimming beach and boat access. Our site was fairly flat and very wooded. It was very scary getting out 29' trailer into the spot but we managed. I would have prefered a pull thru. The sites are fairly large. There were a lot of seasonal sites which is fine with us. I did like the Lake Anna State Park much better but they do not have full hook-ups. This is a great place for a short visit, we will probably use this as our "shake down" location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
An older campground in dire need of an upgrade. Dump station is the worst I have experienced. Sites are small, mostly dirt and and a real mess if it rains. Bath houses are old and have green slime growing on some walls. Playground is rutted and not really safe. Electric is inadequate. Water comes from numerous shallow wells, some with openings at top to allow contamination to enter. Nice store. Great launching ramp for boats. Nice waterfront. Motivation by owners to upgrade is possibly low due to being the only waterfront campground on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
We made a last minute decision to try this campground with the motorhome and the boat. From the previous reviews, we were a little concerned, but decided to try it for ourselves. We didn't have any problems at all. Our site was a level pull-thru. Very quiet, clean campground, although I can only imagine what it is like during the summer. The seasonal sites around us were kept up with. The staff were very nice, even letting us park the boat and truck in a vacant site. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
Asked for a Level full hookup site and was promised it was level. Got there and the hookups were on the wrong side! I thought they were standard! My fault, I should have ordered the European version of my trailer. Oh yeah, I forgot, sewage flows up hill too! Asked for another site and got an electric and water site. Parked trailer and the hookups were 50-60 feet away. I parked as close as I could but it was still that far away. Oh, the neighbors had taken over our picnic table and were blaring music and partying (they were about 17-18 yrs old and there with a 65 year old man as the chaperon). So we moved back to the original site (all that was left near friends). It was so unlevel that we had to scavenge for boards just to put my Lynx levelers on. Also, had to dig a hole for the tongue jack to be low enough to level. You have to be careful as not all sites are trailer or RV friendly. Only some will take trailers and RV's but there is no way to tell without looking first. There was a mean man driving a lightless golf cart around yelling at everyone after 10pm. Where is he at 8 am to stop the seasonals and their power tools! The place was filled with big partiers and when we asked some to be quiet because the little ones were asleep they asked is it 10pm yet! We said you can go be loud back at your own site! We were there with friends that rented 8 cabins and had been going for 10 years. One guy had his tackle box stolen from the porch of the cabin. They decided this was the last year as the place has gone down hill. One bath/shower house for the whole campground that was not very well maintained. Not to mention the Boy Scouts, Indian Guides and YMCA groups! To put that into perspective, about 85% of the campground is water/electric! The positive is that the lake is great! They should sell to a corporation that would put some money into it and make it really nice. If you have a boat and tent this place is great! I hope Lake Anna State Park puts RV sites in! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$28
My husband and I camped at Christopher Run Friday, June 25th. The campsites are too close together. No privacy at all. Campers were packed in like sardines. We brought our boat and kept it in the water by our campsite, tied up to a dock. The dock was so old, it was falling apart. It shook and boards were loose. I was afraid to walk on it. The port-o-potties were filthy. The campground has about 200 campsites and only ONE shower/restroom facility. About 10 p.m., my husband went down to our boat to make sure it was still tied up properly and he caught two young boys in the act of stealing flares from our boat! We couldn't report the theft since no one was in the office. We decided to leave the campground since we didn't feel we could leave our belongings behind safely while we went fishing the next morning. The campground has a rule about quiet hours beginning at 10 p.m. The rule is not enforced. Children were running around our campsite yelling and screaming still at 11 p.m. when we finally finished packing to leave. Several adults at the cabins were drinking alcohol and being extremely loud as well. Again, no one was in the office at that hour, so we couldn't report it. Unless you're into the loud, party scene, I don't recommend Christopher Run campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We live in Fredericksburg, VA and went to Christopher Run in March 2003 to check it out for possible future use -- NO WAY. The place is a dump to be quite honest, this is mainly due to the garbage-quality RVs stored and/or permanently camped on the property, and to the lack of area maintenance. Other than the physical space, it looks nothing like the brochure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Located on Lake Anna. After reading the review in a camping magazine, we were expecting more than we found. Review said that this was a gated campground - not so. The sites are fairly small again contrary to review from magazine. Be extremely careful not to ask for a site close to the water! There are two sites that border the boat ramp (we had one of these sites and these sites in particular are very small with absolutely no privacy!! We finally pulled our van in front of our camper as much as possible to try to give us a little privacy. This campground caters to fisherman (which is not a bad thing - we like to fish, too), and boats are come and go at all hours. The bath house nearest the lake has no hot showers apparently it is there mainly for the boaters, but the other bath house (can't remember if there was more than one more) is a pretty far walk, uphill. There is no pool, however there is lake swimming with no lifeguard. Canoes are available for rent. Camp store is expensive (we were overcharged for a couple items that we purchased - money was refunded when the error was pointed out). The no on the clean restroom is based on the restroom closest to our campsite. Restroom ran out of toilet paper on Saturday morning and wasn't replaced until Sunday. Personally speaking, we won't go back even though the kids had a great time fishing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com