206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Lynchburg NW/Blue Ridge Parkway KOA (formerly Wildwood Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (434) 299-5228
CGID3067

Lynchburg NW/Blue Ridge Parkway KOA (formerly Wildwood Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   6   5   6   8   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
Pretty spot in the woods. Fairly level gravel sites - some are tight others are fine. Be sure to get sewer site since dump station is tough to get to. Less than 2 miles to Blue Ridge Parkway. About 15 miles to grocery/gas/Walmart. Lots for kids on the weekend, nice and quiet during the week. New owners are very nice and continue improvements. They have taken down quite a few trees and done a better job of marking roads/sites so it is much more navigable. They have also tried to level sites and have put down lots of new gravel. Only a couple of over the air TV stations. Weak Verizon signal, no AT&T signal, and slow but free Wi-Fi. Great location for visiting the Parkway, Natural Bridge, Lynchburg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
New owners are hard at work and it shows. My complaint is that is too disconnected from the world. Satellite TV is a no go and there is no cable TV. We are not true campers and I want all the comforts of home. The park is very quiet and has everything you would expect from the Blue Ridge Mountains area. If you are a down to earth camper you will love this place. If you have a class A motorhome for a reason, then maybe not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
This is a beautiful park only one mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. The new owners have and are making many improvements to the campground, and we enjoyed our stay. They have goats and chickens. The pool was beautifully kept and clean and we enjoyed playing shuffleboard on the newly painted court. There are some seasonal campers and several cabins. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
New owners, new to KOA. Looks like they upgraded prices to KOA standards without much other upgrades. It's an OK campground and the main attraction is that it's close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Narrow gravel roads, but sites are level, no cable and satellite is pretty much impossible through the trees. Only got two networks on the Jack antenna. No cell phone coverage. They have Wi-Fi, but it's glacially slow! Maybe the new owners will get it in shape, but now it's not there. In short, if you need an overnight near the Parkway, it's OK. If you expect amenities, find somewhere else. One caution. The stop sign at the exit to the parkway has a blind view to the right, and we almost got t boned by a car coming around the curve at about 70 mph. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$42
Location. Location. Location. Right at the base of the Blue Ridge Parkway. New owners are friendly. Site is a bit rustic. Has mini-golf course and small lake. Hard to get satellite but they do have numerous dishs around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
This park just changed ownership. Owners were nice and helpful. Quiet time enforced. Needs better signage from road because some GPS directions were incorrect and if you miss it then must go 10 miles of mountain road before you can turn around. Lead-in signs would be helpful. Very family friendly with good activities at Halloween. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Very clean and neat small campground. New owners appear to be making positive changes. Site 17 was level and the utilities were easily accessible. No cable or internet, but some local TV channels. Very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway (1 mile) and not that far to Lynchburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
After a long day on the road, there was a bit of a mix-up while checking in. However, the new owners were apologetic, very friendly, and helpful. Wooded campground with plenty of pull through sites with concrete pads, including ours. Beautiful pond with ducks looking for a hand-out! On the weekend, a couple times a day, the owner drove the kiddies (and some parents) around the park on the “train” ride which is a tractor with 3 trailers decorated like a circus train. The owner was quite helpful and answered all of my questions, and then some. We will be back! Facilities include the old bath house with 2 toilets and 2 showers in each and a new bath house which has four separate doors. Each has a shower, toilet and dressing area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We stayed at Wildwood as our base while touring the area and exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway. It was very convenient (1 mile from the parkway). The campground was very clean and in such a beautiful area! They have new owners this year that are so friendly and helpful! It was a great place to relax and kick back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Friendly owners. Nice camp store. Rustic setting. Great area for hunting, fishing, hiking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Older family style wooded campground, friendly staff, and many pull through sites with concrete pads. The water connection was in a small pit and the valve/connection was covered with soil. Only two showers and two toilets in the bathhouse, but we were there during the week and the campground was not crowded. Being just an overnight stop for us the campground was entirely suitable. Conveniently located close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, it appears to have a lot of family related activities on the weekends. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Very friendly owners. Mix of small and large sites in a wooded setting. Lots of permanents. We stay here to visit family in Lynchburg. Only 1 mile to parkway, 20 minutes to Wal-Mart or grocery. FHU sites are larger/nicer and dump station hard to use. New owners continue improvements: we saw roads graded, new gravel, trees trimmed, new tile in bathrooms, new mini golf. Tight to maneuver. No cable TV or WiFi. We will probably stay again for the location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed on a non-event weekend so the park was quiet. Pool was slightly cloudy but otherwise clean. Poor cell phone (Verizon) service and no WiFi. Park was kept clean. Area around catch and release pond was well maintained. Campstore and office hours are limited. Easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. Also within driving distance of Natural Bridge and shopping in Madison Heights. Park is gated at entrance and exit. We enjoyed the quiet weekend and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The campground owners were helpful and restrooms were clean. Many shaded sites. A lot of activities for children. A lot of the campers are here permanently. This weekend was noisy and crowded. One camper near us had chickens in a cage. We probably will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
We were lead to our site that was wide and level. The only lake front sites are for tents. There is one bath house for campers, but there is another one for cabin renters only. The fishing pond is catch and release only. Most of the sites are permanent. The camp store was not open during our stay. The mini golf was not open - open only the same time as the pool. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This is a rural, wooded, family owned and operated campground in a scenic area about a mile off the Blue Ridge Parkway. There were many activities for the family including a pancake breakfast for Father's Day. The level, graveled sites easily accommodate big rigs. Many of the camping rigs seem to be placed permanently. There was spotty cell phone coverage and no wi-fi, just dial up service at the office. The staff was very helpful and operated a good campground store. The nearest Wal-Mart was 15 miles away. A live band was allowed to play past 10 p.m. on weekend nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
It is a small, but pretty campground. Things are kept very clean here. They have plenty of activities for all ages, and there is live music every Saturday night. Only problem I really saw was the restrooms. There are only two stalls available for women and two stalls for men. The same goes for the showers. There is another bath house with one more shower for men and one more for women, but only the three cabins are allowed the use of those facilities. If they will add another bath house with three stalls each, I would rate this one much higher. If you have your own facilities, then this wouldn't be an issue for you. But for those of us in popups and tents, it is an issue. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is a nice campground and we enjoyed our stay. This campground has two areas to camp. Upper and lower by the fishing pond. The upper section is by far the better of the two. The owners have done a pretty good job of fixing up the campground, but there is still plenty to do. The pool is not large, but very well kept. The bathhouse was very clean, but it is kind of old and small. The men's has two showers and two toilets with two sinks. I can see that on a busy weekend the bathrooms would not be large enough. The campsites are fairly nice. The pull-throughs with the concrete pads are level and fairly large. The other sites are not real level, and need some tender loving care.(as in new gravel)The roads into and through the campground are narrow and have lots of trees close to the roads. The owners try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The music on Friday and Saturday nights was great. I would have given this campground a 9 or 10 if the campsites would have been a little better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This was a wonderful location for a campground. The site was very easy to access and it was a pull-through. They also had a nice size store and a playground. It was quite busy and crowded, but it was still nice. Great location for easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This is a very family oriented campground. This was our first visit and will be back very soon. The owners work very hard in making every guest feel like a part of their family. We were here for Kid's Weekend, which had lot of activities planned during the day. On Saturday night we had the pleasure of listening to the owner's mini concert. The concert was worth the trip there in itself. Thank you for a great weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
Great campground, staff was friendly and pull through sites were nice. Campground is gated which is good for safety, but not good if you forget the entrance card. Limited supplies in store. We were there in November when the season was ending, but it appears they have many activities during busy season. Facility is quite and traffic to a minimum which is good for children and people riding bikes. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
I liked the place and if you are going hiking it is the best. I am not sure if we will drive to the top of the mountain to stay if I were not a hiker or woods person. Great staff, lots were good size and we loved the fire rings. It is a gathering place for woodsman and the folks are nice who help you get to the site. Not a bad place to come off the parkway and stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Very nice campground. Our site was a nice wooded site, with plenty of room. The park was very family friendly and quiet, and the owners and staff were extremely nice and helpful. There was enough recreational activities to keep the kids happy, including Blongo Ball, horseshoes, a playground, and a fishing pond. The small camp store was pretty well stocked with most anything you might need, including RV supplies. Overall a very nice park with friendly owners and a great atmosphere. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
This campground has the most friendly management we have ever encountered!! They were very accommodating even thought we had no reservations. Everything was in order at the site 50amp,water,sewer.. we had our first concrete pad and liked not having to level very much. We had no neighbours so it was like being alone. If the campground was full we may have had a different experience. We had a great time here and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
The new owners have too much family involved. This I suppose will lead to their down fall. Halloween at a family campground should be for kids. They had an Adult only party in the pavilion on Sat night. What do you do with your teenagers will you're at the party. They can find a lot to get into. Loose family and Adult only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
"A gem in the Blue Ridge mountains!" This is a wonderful campground. The owners are the friendliest that I have met in 37 years of camping. I would reccomend this campground to anyone. It's a great base camp for exploring this region of Virginia and the Parkway. Also the campground is very dog friendly. I will definitely return here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
The park is under new management and is more friendly than in the past. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They now have activities and entertainment We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Great campground adjacent to Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia. If you are traveling on the blue Ridge Parkway, this would be a very convenient stop. We went to this campground on our "maiden voyage" and the staff/owners were terrific! Everyone checking on us and helping us as questions came up. All the facilities were clean and well maintained with shaded, level gravel sites. Very family friendly with pool, fishing lake, volleyball court and great bike riding around campground. Everyone associated with the campground was knowledgable, very friendly and helpful! Each campsite had fire ring and picnic table. Small store was well stocked. We will definitely return to this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$26
This campground has been sold. Hopefully it will stay as nice as it has been the last 7 years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Wildwood Campground is one of the best I found in Virginia and makes you question just how Trailer Life does their ratings. Almost all of the sites are shaded and well maintained. This campground is one mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway and has easy entry and exit. Campground was very quite with pool and playground near the front, next to office. Kids loved the fishing pond. Owner lives on site and is friendly and helpful. I will stay here again when I am traveling I-81 or the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Wildwood Campground is located 1/2 mile off of the Blue Ridge Parkway East on Route 130. Definitely a family campground to be appreciated. Though small with around 70 sites, the owners, are planning more sites and have the ground marked off already. Sites were mostly stone and some dirt but mostly level. Nice pool about 20 X 40, small store, clean bathrooms and laundry room. Sites have fire rings. Great place to be. There is a nice pond to fish in. It is a fish for fun pond only, but you will get some nice catfish out of it. I wish them "Good Luck" on their expansion of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com