220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Grayson Highlands State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (276) 579-7092
CGID3069

Grayson Highlands State Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   5   7   8   10   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Called to arrive during the week in mid July, no same day reservations, told to drive the winding mountain road on up to be greeted with a drive up reservation fee, tourist tax, pet fee, price jumped from $24 to $38.50 for water and 30 amp electric site. Choice of 3 remaining sites. Tried all 3, very unlevel even for 31' motorhome. Ended up with front wheels off the ground to level. None on the sites are big rig friendly. Small sites very close together, no privacy or quiet. No TV, satellite, due to heavy tree cover, or AT&T cell phone. Many low trees hanging over roadways rub the RV from top and sides. Dirty restrooms and showers. This place was full of family campers. Many vehicles jammed into small sites. Not a nice restful escape we were seeking. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Second time staying here in the last two years. No complaints. Very clean bathrooms. The trails in this park are wonderful. 78 degrees in July, fresh blueberries to be picked, great wildlife and views! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This review is about the campground itself, not the park. We were disappointed in this Va. state park. The sites with electric/water were for the most part small. Most were on the outside of the loops with the back of your camper on the road. The sites don't look like they have had fresh gravel put down in years so when it is dry, it is very dusty and dirty. If the camp host drove by once, they drove by 500 times a day on the loud gas powered gators. Very annoying when you are so close to the road. Also, when we arrived we found that it was acceptable to save the best sites for your friends with lawn chairs, who knew? We enjoyed hikes inside the park but we can now say we've been there and done that. Virginia has too many parks with much better sites to be squeezed in like that again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We camped at Grayson Highlands in a 33 footer. Arriving late in the day we were left with a pretty narrow site, however there are many nice sites to choose from and almost all are shaded. The camp store was well stocked with gift items and snacks, not much on staples. Being at the highest elevation in VA, the ten degree cooler temperatures made a nice change from the East Coast heat wave. Bring jackets even if you think you will not need them. We did not miss a swimming option, we biked the Va Creeper trail two days. Lots of hiking trails, at all different levels to view vistas, waterfalls and the wild ponies. We will return, park is located in a beautiful section of SW Virginia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
This is a beautiful campground. The bath houses could be a little larger (1 shower stall) but other than that, no complaints. There were wonderful trails in the park. We used this as a basecamp for riding the nearby Creeper trail. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Beautiful mountain-top state park. Long winding road to get there with fantastic scenery. No shopping or restaurants nearby. If you want serenity, cool temperatures, and lots of trees, this is the spot! We enjoy relaxing so this was the right place for us. Hiking and wildlife watching is about all there is to do. They are having water problems and cold showers soon became all that was available. We used our travel trailer for showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Grayson Highlands has beautiful scenery, friendly and helpful staff, and a very clean campground. The showers and bathrooms were extremely clean and always stocked with soap and paper. If you are into hiking, this is a great destination. The AT runs right through the park, as do many other connecting trails. The wild ponies are a treat too! Sites vary from small to large, some shady, some not. Some are a little more private than others. This is one of the few places I've been that is on my list of "come back for another visit". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Beautiful campground with unbelievable views. Some sites were tricky and hard to get our camper into. The road in 58 is a bit curvy and winding but with time and patience it was well worth the trip. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
We spent 4 nights here over Memorial Day weekend. It is a beautiful park, with superb hiking trails. Some of nature's wonders that are a moderate hike from the campground are wild ponies, waterfalls, and 360 degree views. The elevation makes temperatures cool here. Our campsite was along the outside of the loop, overlooking the trees and mountains beyond. On Monday the campground cleared out and it became VERY quiet. Our trailer has VERY low ground clearance and we had a very difficult time getting to the park because of the switchbacks on Route 58. We were riding on our rear dolly wheels half a dozen times. Most RVs sit higher than ours, but if yours rides low and long you'll need dolly wheels to make it. Even with the drive we'll go back if we get down that way again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
The park and campground are beautiful. The nights are cool with a campground elevation of 4,500 feet. The sites are not the largest, but they are in a beautiful setting of hardwoods, perfect for the mountains. The bath houses were immaculate. The hiking trails are plentiful with some really nice scenery. There's an amphitheater with occasional music performances and other programs. There's a large play area for kids, complete with playground. We loved this campground and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
We camped here in July 2004 and rode the Virginia Creeper (Whitetop to Damascus). This is a nice family campground. There isn't a lot for the kids to do (only a small playground), but there is a nice large grassy area for running, kicking soccer balls, etc. The sites are small and close together (we had site 49), but there is plenty of shade. Sites 17 - 29 were nice pull-through sites (small pull-throughs) that backed up to the woods. I highly reccommend hiking the Twin Pinnacles Trail (~2 miles). It is an easy trail (our 2 year old did it) and the older kids loved climbing over the huge rock outcroppings (be careful, don't fall off). The tow from Damascus to the state park (Hwy 58) is slow going. It is steep and curvy (but rather fun, too). Overall, this is a nice state park. Don't forget anything because it is a long drive to the nearest store and the camp store in the state park doesn't stock much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Va state park. Very nice area. Access to the AT and close to the Va Creeper Trail. No sewer but has a dump. Some sites are for a small rv but a few can take a large rv. Will go back and camp again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
One of our favorites. Do not go to this park if you do not enjoy hiking, mountain biking and relaxing. There is absolutely nothing else to do at this campground. That is why it is so wonderful. It has been a hidden secret for a long time but recently more people have discovered it. The temperature is always cool. The Virginia Creeper bike trail is nearby. When you go take everything you need because you will not have the opportunity to buy anything close by. They do have a small playground area for the smaller kids and our kids always start some sort of ballgame on the grassy field in the campground. We always see abundant wildlife and the weekend ranger talks/walks are great. They usually have entertainment on Saturday evenings. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Very mountainous campground located in the Mount Rogers National Recreation Area of Virginia. If you like hiking and beautiful scenery, then this is the place for you. The campground is very family oriented with lots of scheduled events on the weekends. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com