218572 User submitted reviews online!!
Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 119 user reviews. Phone: (540) 291-2770
CGID3070

Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   8   5   10   8   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
Good on-off for I-81 and for visiting the Natural Bridge. Had a coupon for $10.00 off the first night so, we stayed 2 nights due to our driving schedule. Neat and clean. Cable TV was static prone with limited channels and WiFi was sporatic. Sites are very small and very tight. Angle on most sites require leveling MH and using some type of additional step system to exit the side door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Convenient on/off hwy, gas station close by. Tight maneuvering but we managed with our 36 and a toad. Quiet place, level gravel site, full hookup. Overall a decent place for an overnight in a wooded setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Typical KOA with helpful staff. Good overnight spot that is easily accessed from highway. Gas station at entrance. We only use 50 amp service and cable. Pool was clean and looked inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
This is a KOA and for me is an overnight and not a destination, and I will rate it as such. Having said that, it is very easy on and off I-81 and very close to the highway without a lot of road noise. Just outside the campground is a nice RV friendly name brand gas/diesel station with prices less than truck stops for diesel fuel and a big rig friendly pump. Campground is very hilly, but they have terraced their 50 amp pull thru sites sufficiently. They are doing some site work there, but our site still ended up with up being wheels in the air on one side. We have auto level so not a problem for me, but ask for a level site if you have to level the old fashioned way. Sites were close. Power, water, sewer and cable all good as was WiFi. Site had two options for sewer connect. Nice clean looking pool. Worked very well for me as an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Typical KOA with high prices for the area, tight sites, and the worst cable TV of any KOA. Only 5 or 6 of the 20 channels are somewhat viewable. Sites are gravel and not very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This is a nice and quiet campground, right off I-81N. A little hilly but were able to maneuver easily with a 40' RV and toad. Grounds are well maintained with really nice dog park. Owners were very nice and helpful. Close to Natural Bridge. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
We have stayed here before, but they are putting a lot of improvements in. It's a little tight getting around (we're 65') but their escort checked all the clearances carefully. Cable is poor and Wi-Fi limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This is by far the cleanest campground I have ever been to. The restrooms and showers are spotless. The sites are wide and fairly level. They have plenty of activities planned throughout the week. The staff is very friendly. Plenty of room for Class A's. I camped here in a Class B. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
One of the most un-level sites we have had. The step out of the coach was dangerous. The park is right off the Interstate for an overnight stay, but once inside the park the road are tight with sharp turns. The office check-in was great, the bathrooms where clean. Not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Great campground for visiting the Natural Bridge / Lexington area. Easy access off the Interstate although I would not attempt setting up after dark / late night check in. Lots of trees and some extra blocks might be needed for some of the sites. Very friendly staff and very clean. They escort you to the site when you check in and ask if you need any help. We stayed in site #90, it was enough room for our 33' motorhome and car, but a little uneven. If we were to visit again we would ask for site #3 or #5 (30 amp). All utilities worked great and our AT&T service was 4G with three bars, plenty good for data. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$47
Check-in was quick (I had called to reserve since it was a Saturday and almost full), a golf cart showed me to my site. Wi-Fi was good – speed test showed 3.4 Mbps down and 0.5 Mbps up, one of the fastest I've seen. My site was only about 100' from the office and antenna. Signal stopped at one point; I went to the office and they looked and found they'd run out of their data allocation and needed to add more data (only took about 10 minutes). Sites were small, mine was significantly slanted. I didn't have enough plastic spacers to build a single ramp to get one side high enough. I had to pull up on one set of spacers, use the first part of the ramp spacers to build the next level, pull forward, etc. A bit precarious. My space was a pull through, but the exit side was so tight and narrow, I didn't think I'd be able to miss the trees and still make the turn (I only have a 19' trailer), so I backed out of the site. Lots of kids running around, but they weren’t noisy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is a nice KOA. The only negatives is that the main sites slope severely to one side - but the campground is fixing that by adding retaining walls, then filling in. They should have this finished by spring of 2014, then one star should be added to this review. The WiFi can be very slow, but they have to rely on satellite for now. There is some noise from the interstate. The pool was open through September and they had lots activities for the families on the weekend. Bathroom were admirably clean although not modern. The people were extremely nice. Because this is the nicest RV Park near Lexington, VA; Natural Bridge, and near I-64, it can get crowded on weekends. There is overflow that lacks sewer connections. Our price was for 30A. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$51
We normally don't stay at these "corporate" campgrounds, but because of several unrelated circumstances we ended up here. First, it was convenient to the interstate. The sites were on hills, but very level and had nice area next to each site with picnic table, fire ring and room to sit and enjoy the area. Heavily wooded so no satellite TV reception, but Verizon cell phone was strong! It was under new management and improvements were noticeable. The new owners, a young couple, were enthusiastic and energized and we would stay here again, especially if our grandkids were traveling with us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Even thought the park was clean and staff friendly, there was no control to keep the noise low after 10PM. We had tenting neighbors who were partying until after midnight, other neighbor whos kids were screaming until after midnight and not to mention our other neighbors who kept locking and unlocking their vehicle with their remote which in turn chirped there horn and flashed their lights. The sites are small, dirty, root covered and just not very friendly for tenters. I do not recommend this to others who want a quiet tenting campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
This is a beautiful campground, set among the trees, with lots of grass.  We have stayed here before with no problems, but it has gone down through the years.  There are new owners, and they seem to be putting money into new laundry facilities, etc., rather than working on the sites.   Campground owners should realize that most campers are only looking for a good site where they can settle in quickly and relax. This time we were assigned #6, and it was more than 8" out of level side to side.  We asked to be moved, and finally found a site we could live with.  We had to watch our truck bed carefully pulling up to it, but we made it work, with our boards.  Everything else worked fine.  We had no problems with the water pressure, electrical, or cable.   The WiFi is underpowered, but site improvement should come first.  The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. KOA's are typically overpriced, and this is no exception.  There's a lot to be done before this becomes a $40 park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We stayed here for Father's Day weekend. The hosts do a fantastic job of making the place lively and engaging. There's the giant checkerboard, the water soaker ride, the rustic pizza, and karaoke, just to name a few. It is clean and comfortable. The Virginia Safari Park is right next door and so exceeds all expectations. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This was an overnight stop. We wanted something close to I-81. There are lots of choices along I-81 and some are convenient, some are too far off the highway. We knew we'd pay top dollar for this place and we did. But we had full hookups and a guide to direct us to our site. The staff was friendly and helpful, the connections were all good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Very friendly folks and campers! Very clean, rural, natural setting that is lovely and quite. Although the freeway is less than a mile away, due to the trees, you can't hear the traffic. We stayed in a site with water and electric only. They offer a dump station; we used it. Probably the nicest KOA I've ever seen! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
Site: #80, pull thru - 50/30amp full hookups, limited cable TV, Wi-fi Included old wheel fire pit and picnic table Review: What a nice park, hidden in the woods just a mile off the interstate, alot of trees, with alot of shade. The park appeared very clean, easy to navigate with part of the roads paved and parts of them still gravel (they were paving another section as we left Monday). They had morning trash pick up at each site and the dumpsters were outside the park area, so no foul smells anywhere. I do feel there could have been some landscaping done to make the place look a little better, new mulch, weed eating, some trees trimmed, etc etc. But it is the beginning of the season so I'm sure they'll be working on it. The park amenities seemed on par with what you would expect, 2 play areas for those with kids, an enclosed dog park, swimming pool (they seemed to be getting ready), and very clean restrooms. Our site included cable TV, limited with about 20 channels, Wi-fi, we did have some connectivity issues but overall it worked well. There is a game room and pavilion which we didnt check out but will on any return visits. Our site itself was on the backside of the park behind the office/store, a pull thru site that was level from side to side but I did have to raise the tongue to level from front to back, nothing extreme though. The utilities were well placed, everything was within 6-8' of where I parked. There was plenty of space for both slide outs without having to navigate any trees. The park power was very consistent on the volt meter with little to no fluctuation, water pressure was good and steady, no problems showering. The door side was very roomy, plenty of space to fully extend the awning, build a fire and grill. Overall we had a great time, I love spending time with my wife on these trips, sooooo relaxing to get away from "life", we loved the shade from the trees, it was mostly quiet and we had good weather, afternoon showers two of the nights but we both love going to bed with rain hitting the roof. The camper performed almost flawlessly, the air conditioner worked great (first time trying it out). There is something broke inside the kitchen faucet that we noticed allowed a small slow leak but i patched it together to stop the leak and will get fixed before our next trip, its under warranty but probably not worth taking somewhere to get fixed when I probably can, we'll see. Area Attractions: We only live 45 minutes from this campground and the main reason we planned this trip was to get the camper cleaned and stocked for the year and to visit the Safari Park which was basically right next door to the campground. If you love animals you have to visit here. http://www.virginiasafaripark.com/ It's sad we live so close and have never been there but it made the trip even better to be able to "live" next door to it for the weekend. They have over 1000 animals that you can get up close and personal with driving thru or taking a wagon ride, touching them, feeding them, and taking pictures. Deer, camel, bison, buffalo, zebra, llama, ostrich, pigs, wildebeest, yak, rhino's and much much more including a walk thru part with a bird enclosure, kangaroo habitat, tigers, tortoise, monkeys, snakes, flamingo's, and more. It took us about 3-1/2 hours to see everything, a great trip for all ages. I would suggest paying the 6.50 more for the wagon ride, if you drive your car thru it you risk damage from the animals and you only have one animal at a time sticking their head into your car for food, with the wagon ride, you have multiple stops along the way where you get a chance to feed and touch multiple animals at once. (HINT: Sit on the right side of the wagon to get up close and person with the camels, they have their own habitat that the wagon pulls up to and both camel habitats are on the right side of the road!!!!!) We also spent part of one day in nearby Lexington, a small town that has a laid back eclectic feel, which is also home to VMI - Virginia Military Institute (a LOT of history here!) We spent a few hours shopping downtown and enjoyed some time in an outdoor art show that was going on. There are a variety of local restaurants here to choose from. We mostly grilled out this trip but we did try out the Pink Cadillac Diner which was close to the campground, the atmosphere was better than the food but we enjoyed it overall. I'd like to tour VMI and a local brewery I've heard good things about on our next trip. There is plenty more to do in the area, outdoor drive-in movie theater, hiking, fishing (rivers and lakes), wax museum, toy museum , caves and of course visiting one of the natural wonders of the world, Natural Bridge itself! http://www.naturalbridgekoa.com/local-area/ http://www.lexingtonvirginia.com/ http://www.naturalbridgeva.com/ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
Very hilly park with tight turns and dips through heavily treed paths/roads for large rigs. The tiered sites could be problematic as mentioned in previous reviews with heavy rain. The staff was pleasant. The young fellow who lead us to the site went to get blocks for us because when auto leveling our rear (D/S) dually was an inch off the gravel. Not what you want - especially as it brakes the coach. Not sure if we'd return. It was ok for an overnight -- albeit with several challenges. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Great KOA park! This campground has spacious, shady lots. The owners were friendly and helpful. We had our three dogs with us, and their big fenced in dog play area was so welcomed. The park is neat and clean, and the roads well maintained. The only thing we didn't like was it was a little hilly on some sites. The wi-fi was good, and cable had plenty to choose from. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
The staff was very friendly and escorted us to our site, it is in a very lovely location in the hills of VA. We requested a water and electric pull-through. Reason for the low rating was the site; it was not level and not much wider than our camper. Extreme care had to be taken when stepping off the camper steps due to the slope of the hill; one would find themselves at the next campsite stopped only by your neighbors rig. The picnic table could not be leveled without some major work. And the extremely low water pressure. I would still recommend the campground due to its convenience to the interstate and the natural beauty of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$43
We haven't been here for several years. They have added some paving on some of the steep grades. The owners are great and very much involved. I had one of the best sites in the park. This a good park for stopovers and short stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Not worth the high cost. Site was not level. Place looks ratty, probably because so many spots were hacked out of the hillsides. Needs a dozer and several trucks of gravel to bring it back up where it should be. Cable was unusable on lower channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We stop along I-81 on way home. Friendly staff. Didn't uses the restroom, but checked them out (Clean and nice). Well stocked store. Hooking up and unhooking the camper challenging due to the hilly and narrow campsite. Wish we had change sites. Not sure why they assigned our camper to site as it was not suitable for our rig. We could hardly walk around the RV due the steep slope. Door was next to tree. Other sites were available and easier to park. Pool looked good, though we didn't use it. We would stay again for a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel Trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$56
Pricey, but typical for a KOA. Well maintained gravel interior roads with level gravel sites. Slow but good signal on the wifi. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Good stop along I-81. Friendly staff. Restrooms were clean. Well stocked store. Leveling the camper was challenging, had to change sites. Pool looked good, though we didn't use it. We would stay again for a stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very hilly campground. Most sites not anywhere near level. Difficult to level our motorhome. Some sites were very muddy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Not being into or needing the bells and whistles of KOA's, this park was typically overpriced for our needs. I'm sure the families, and there were plenty of them, were enjoying their stays. Uneven sites were haphazardly located throughout the very hilly and wooded area. We would try to find another place for future trips just because the amenities were wasted on us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very friendly, helpful, and accommodating staff even though we called at the last minute for a one night stay, and that their electricity had just come back on after a week without power (not their fault – the entire mid-Atlantic was without power due to a violent storm). An older, but clean, campground, easy on-off I-81 – wooded sites - leveling required – spotless restrooms/showers – small off-leash dog enclosure. Didn’t use the small pool, but it looked nice. We’d stay here again for a night, not as a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Well we had high hopes for this park. Unfortunately it does not handle bad weather very well. Its a dirt track on a hillside. Heavy rain washed the place out. Lost power. No internet. Overall for the price, this was not a good stay. Typical KOA format. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
This is a nice park although the layout indicates it is an older campground. Most sites in the front are somewhat small and graded out of the hillside, sometimes making leveling difficult. Sites in the back of the campground are a bit larger but still on a slope. Some interior roads are narrow. Management keeps it clean and there were no noise issues of any kind. Restroom & shower facilities very clean. Well-stocked store. We would stay here again. Base rate of $40 is for two adults only and reflects KOA discount. Extra persons are $3 each. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
This is one of the most beautiful RV parks we have stayed at. The staff was great, the store was well stocked and you could tell the owners took pride in the park. I was initially concerned about how level my site would be after driving up the road to the office, however once on my site, #79 all was good. I have a 40' rig with 4 slides and had no problem parking or opening the slides. We will be back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Nice stay here, echo what most of the previous reviewers noted in the hills/tight turns. Nothing that was impossible or even that problematic, just be prepared. Decent price for a KOA and convenient to I-81. Sewer hookups were elevated about 14 inches above the ground that made that less than optimal, but again, not a show stopper. Friendly and helpful staff, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
We've visited this park in the past and had a pleasant stay, as we did this time. Staff guidance to sites, free coffee, good Wi-Fi, strategically placed and frequently emptied trash barrels are appreciated. Gravel sites are terraced and fairly level, and midweek was quiet and peaceful. We appreciate the way they separate campers when they aren't busy. We reserved a water/electric site but they upgraded us at no charge when they saw we were repeat guests and knowing they would have the space. Facilities are not new and modern, but are clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$41
This campground is very hilly and the roads are very tight with plenty of trees to avoid. Depending on the site you're assigned, getting in and out can be a challenge. Despite the hills, the actual sites are pretty level & roomy. It's just getting to them that's a little tricky. Close to I-81 but far enough that there isn't any noise. Standard cable TV (no HD stations). The Internet signal strength is good, but speed is slow to extremely slow. I would have rated it higher if it weren't for the tight roads. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$48
Nice overall campground. Very hilly terrain. Needed two boards to somewhat level out. Escorted to site. Friendly/helpful staff. Cable signal weak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$46
We arrived for an overnight stay and asked if they had pull throughs for a 37 ft motorhome with tow vehicle. The staff said they did. When we pulled into our site, it required a 30 ft sewer line and our toad was still out in the road. We moved to the next site, and eventually had to disconnect the toad to reach hookups and have toad parked in front of the RV. The new site only had 30 amps. When we asked the staff for a possible price adjustment, they said there wasn't any difference in the charge. This could be a good destination spot if hookup improvements were made. Also, greater accommodations for motorhomes and tow vehicles. Lots of trees and rolling terrain. Staff was pleasant but seemed to be "new on the job." We felt it was overpriced for what you got in return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
This park was very nice. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The location is not far from the highway, but far enough to avoid traffic noise. The grounds are well-kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$41
Great campground. Sites are tiered, we were escorted to the site. Store is well stocked and staff is very helpful and friendly. Immaculate grounds and facilities. Definitely worth a repeat stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
Well maintained park with level sites. They are a little narrow but OK. Very friendly staff. Handy to I-81 but no road noise at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This was our third time to visit this park as there are not a lot to choose from in the area. As other people have said the sites are narrow and hilly. The hookups are good but the premium sites with decks are a disappointment because it leaves no room for dog pens etc. The park can get very crowded in season which is why we try to stay in the off season. Overall its a decent place to stay to visit the many local attractions in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Wi-Fi is very slow in this park. Assigned site 88 which was very unlevel, as was site 89. Only stayed one night so maybe that is why we were assigned a bad site. However, we did notice that a number of other sites adjacent to ours required substantial leveling. There is a minimum of distance between sites and they are by and large quite narrow. Campground is hilly, but 'fivers and smaller RV's can navigate the hills. Large motorhomes likely to have a problem with some of the sites and curves. Some of the sites have little decks which were nice. Nice pool and game room. All in all, we would not return unless we couldn't find another campground nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
If you need shade to keep cool in the summer, this is the place for you. Natural Bridge KOA is centrally located for several very interesting must sees. Do not omit seeing Stonewall Jackson's home or Robert E. Lee's mausoleum both in Lexington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
We stayed here overnight on our way to Charlotte. We were greeted by a very nice couple and escorted in by a gentleman that really understood big rigs who towed, i.e. told us if he swung wide we needed to as well and he was right on target. Our site aloud us to keep our Jeep hooked up which was convenient. The site we stayed on was tight but again sufficient for the night's stay. It is a pretty little park with nicely shaded sites and the area seems to have tons to do. We set out for the Natural Bridge and Caverns in the morning before heading for Charlotte. We plan to come back to the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Very friendly cg owners, very tidy. They offered us a site with a deck at first (even though the rules state no dogs on deck sites), then when we asked for a bit more seclusion (since this was the dogs first camping trip) they happily obliged. Guided us up the hill and helped us park. They are very very dog friendly. There were many dogs of many sizes - even great Danes. My two large dogs were welcomed openly. Never a complaint that my puppy was occasionally barking (she was in training), in fact the staff usually waved at the dogs when they drove by on the golf carts. (I would say that the gas powered golf carts are a bit loud). The sites are rather narrow and our site had a walking path thru it - but they had no issue with us putting a rug out on that path and using it as part of our space. There is a nice dog park (small) which has agility equipment. The dogs are allowed everywhere but buildings and playgrounds. Refreshing to take them for a walk on the nature path (most parks don't allow that). There was a horrendous torrential rain storm - flooding the park out for several hours, but as soon as it stopped raining they were out in full force tidying up the debris, filling the holes from the flooding, and getting it all ship shape. I was amazed how fast they got it all back in order. The lanes are a bit tight w/ a big rig (our rig is 36 feet) for turns due to lots of trees. The cable is free, as is the internet. And they don't charge a cent extra for the dogs (again refreshing). On a side note - there is a great Korean diner south on Hwy 11 on the way in to Natural Bridge - we highly suggest the gal-bi (Korean BBQ). We will visit here again. We right behind the main house - a bit busy in that site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Went with the reviews and stayed here versus the local Yogi park. This campground has very few activities for the kids. There are very few areas for the kids to ride their bikes, the playground is small and basically there's not much going on. The "nature trail" is a path cut behind a few camp sites. Blink and you'll miss is. My site was not level at all! So much so, that I had to borrow additional lumber from my friends to level up the RV. My door handle was roughly 7 feet off of the ground once we were done. Want to hang up lights on your awning? Need and extension ladder for that! Also not impressed that when sitting around the campfire at night you can hear the highway traffic from Interstate 81. The Wi-Fi here was so darn slow that I used my cell phone instead. Why bother? The positives were: The staff was nice and the camp is wooded and somewhat rustic. Seemed like a lot of people stopped here for a short overnight stay on their way to somewhere else. I'm pretty sure we wouldn't come back. Not that it was awful, but also that it wasn't great either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Stayed here for 1 overnight in late October. Just the two of us. Not many folks around. But it looks like a great place for family with kids vacation. Has a nice rec hall and small pavilion. Staff is friendly and helpful, took us right to our site. The grounds are nicely wooded and a bit rolly (?), but our site and most others were quite close to level. Bathrooms and showers modern and clean. Full hookups and cable TV worked well. WiFi signal was weak. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
The sites are a little small on the sides, and to far down forward to level, but was what we need for the 3 nights. We stayed right behind the office in space 81. That space was little better than those down hill from us. The WiFi worked ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
The only reason we did not give a 10 was it was gravel sites but we had a great site and it was pretty level. We stayed in a pull-through site. The staff here are exceptional. They were always courteous and helpful and the most cheerful staff we have met in a long time. Our stay was great: we sat outside at night in our lounge chairs with the breeze blowing through the trees. Large, shaded sites and very private with the way they were placed, so you weren't staring in someone else's camper. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
Why with all the high scores did I rate this at only a 7? First of all, it was dusty. Secondly our site was on the side of a hill, and I do mean a hill. The spot for the coach was level, but when you stepped out of the coach you literally had to step up. They did furnish a small "deck" which was the only level place on our site (#85). No place to put our chairs to kick back and relax. The Wi-Fi signal was very strong, but extremely slow (even at 4 AM). Never heard of a dial up router, but this must be what they have. Very weak AT&T signal (but what else is new?). Cable had a limited (for $43) selection of channels, no ESPN for example. For the price the Wi-Fi, cable and sites should be better. But if you are looking for a CG where you have lots to do, this might be for you. We will look for a quieter, flatter place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We found this campground pretty much as advertised by the previous raters, with only 2 exceptions. One rater stated “WiFi is a joke”, we found that not to be true, we had a strong signal and response time that is typical for most campgrounds. Our complaint was with the sewage connections: ours was more than 1 foot out of the ground, as many others were, as most of you know liquid does not run uphill, we had to hand drain our hose, but we survived. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$73
We had late check in. Quite pricey, but everything was in excellent shape. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
Great park very friendly and office stayed open till 9 o'clock. Laundry room was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
What a wonderful park. Staff was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. It was terraced. We liked it so much that we stayed one night on our way to PA and two night on our way home. It was clean, pleasant and had great dog walks. The sites were large and all pull-throughs. That was an extra added bonus. Hook ups were easy. The playground for children was huge and very clean. The bathrooms were spotless as were the showers. It was so private because of the terracing, that we sat outside and enjoyed the evening, the stars and lightning bugs. They had Christmas in July, so the park was decorated with lights and blowup Santas, etc. This will be a regular stop when going north through VA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Nice place, especially for families and pets. Lots of dogs, most people picked up after their pets. Some sites have sewer hookups, ours did not. We stayed 3 nights and had electrical problems throughout, with the circuit breaker tripping off, at the pole outside. Staff said it was because we were running our A/C and water heater at the same time. We didn't have the problem at the campground (also a KOA) before this one, or at the campground after this one, and we ran both units continually. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
Very nice park. Clean. A little hilly but the sites are level. Wooded so you have a little privacy. Good cable TV and cell but WiFi is a joke. They need to do something about it. You're lucky to get online and when you do, it takes forever to download/upload. If that is not important, then this is a very good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
The people and the campground were outstanding. Our visit was memorable. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$43
Gorgeous campground, lots of trees and amenities for everyone. The price reflects the KOA discount and still the most expensive place we've ever stayed. Our site not level. The work-teams here are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We love the place but will not come back due to the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This KOA is really nice. It needs to be updated a little but everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful! The bathrooms were okay not as clean as I would have liked them. The kids had fun and we enjoyed the Natural Bridge! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
This is my favorite campground on I-81. Our Coach is 50 ft, plus our toad makes us 75 ft long. We are always directed and escorted to a pull through site. The staff could not be more helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$43
This is one of the top KOAs we have stayed in. Not all KOAs are alike and I would rank this one a "10". The owner was very welcoming, cordial, and informative. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, the restrooms/showers were super clean, and the employee who helped us with our spot was great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
You have to hold your motorhome and tow on an uphill slope to check into this campground and getting to your site can be a bit of a challenge to avoid hitting trees. We spent an hour trying to level our motorhome before giving up. Thankfully our stay was brief. Exiting the park could be facilitated with some minor maintenance. Proper culverts insted of ditches and chunks of concrete on the narrow access ramps. Only that really bad KOA at Butte, Montana is worse than this one. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
Another example of KOA's love affair with trees. etting in and out is somewhat challenging, and would be greatly facilitated if some well positioned trees were eliminated. The staff is very helpful and gave us an "easier" site as we were having engine problems. We had a pull-through, which was level and gravel. The sites are very close to one another. It must be said that this campground is extremely easy to reach, as it is directly off the I-81 exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Nice park but sites are unlevel. Had two different sites and could not level either. I was there one night and decided to stay another and was asked to move up one site for their ability to rent that site later? Never had that happen before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
The park was pretty, staff friendly. We asked for a pull through and got one right across from the office based on other reviewer input. We had to put 3 inches under our tires on the passenger side to level it and to keep our car attached for the night, we had to pull forward so far that we couldn't hook up to the septic. We were told they have a dump station. We would not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
What a lovely park! Sites were well maintained level gravel, and roomy, with large trees affording privacy and shade. Restrooms and showers were clean but dated. Lots of room to walk in the park and on a short nature trail. Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. When we had problems with the cable hookup the office quickly sent someone to help us resolve the problem. Free coffee was available in the office for early risers. We wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
The managers were friendly, the showers and restrooms were clean. The store was well stocked with supplies. There were activities for kids. The sites were roomy but were not level. It was a quiet area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
The wireless internet was not working. The TV was out most of weekend. It is satellite so maybe the rain had something to do with it. The Campground has nice, easy pull through sites. The only issue was the activities were not run at times given to us and I thought the staff was a little unmotivated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a very nice KOA: well kept, friendly and with helpful staff. It is close to I-81 but is set way back so there is no highway noise. The campground is set on a hill, wooded with many terraced sites. The main road into the campground is wide and paved, interior roads are gravel and are a bit narrow in some spots and it is hilly. Although we liked the campground very much, we did not like our site. We have a big rig and they did give us a pull through but it was at the top of the hill, behind the office. It was a multi-level site, we had steps from our parking space to our picnic table and fire ring! There was barely a spot to put your foot on the ground when you stepped out of the rig before there was a steep hill down. So, if you go in with anything over 40' with toad, ask for one of the pull-throughs across from the office, they are much nicer. The park is pet friendly, lots of places to walk, even a little nature trail. There is a large open field near the group camping area which was vacant when we were there, so we had some nice off leash time with the frisbee. Don't miss visiting the town of Lexington which is nearby, it is a beautiful colonial town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
Very good experience with this overnight site, traveling from FL to NY. Probably not a destination, but it would qualify due to all fine amenities. Nice shady sites, well separated. Two check-in clerks on duty all the time, helpful escort to site. Large, clean restrooms, private shower stalls, good cable, Wi-Fi. Close and convenient to Interstate 81 exit, but not so near that noise is a problem. Would recommend highly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
The campground and restrooms are very clean and our site was level. Their level of customer service was outstanding. They go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is enjoyable, whether it's delivering firewood to your site, or just checking in to make sure that everything is OK. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This was our first time camping ever, and this was a great place. We really enjoyed it, and our 5 year old had a blast! The playground was in our 'back yard' and he spent all of his time there. It was a very clean place, the staff was excellent and the owner even came to help me with my grill. I highly recommend this place, and we will be returning. It's a very short drive to Natural Bridge, the Natural Bridge Zoo and museums. The Safari park is next door but very overrated and expensive. I highly recommend going to the Natural Bridge Zoo instead. The Pink Cadillac Diner is next to the campground and they had excellent food as well. A+ to this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This campground is the best! We love the people working here: they are so very nice. This campground is a great place for children and pets. A very clean and pretty place. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Outstanding management shows at this campground. Level sites, clean bathrooms & pool, gameroom, campstore, laundry, firewood delivered to your site, pet-friendly, full hookups, cable, and quiet. No problem with our 32' TT. Price seemed a little high but well worth it to stay where people care about the customer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
When we made our reservations (online) we asked to be close to bath house because we were traveling with my in-laws who are elderly. The staff couldn't be helpful. They took us to our site, which was right behind the store/main bath house. They had lots of family fun activities all afternoon. My in-laws, who have never camped before loved it. They were very impressed with the facilities & staff. A staff member even came by the next morning to make sure everything was to our liking, another reason we love KOA's. The store has pretty much anything you need. It's easy to get to off I-81 and close to Natural Bridge. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This park is absolutely excellent. Very friendly people running the park, and they were exceptionally helpful to us, new RV'ers. The park is very clean and well kept, the sites are level and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This Park represents the reason we never have any misapprehensions when booking into a KOA. The people were friendly and helpful, the place was well-groomed, the restrooms were well maintained and clean, and all the site utilities were in good shape. This Park is on a hillside, with lots of trees, and you should probably unhook your toad at the office. One of the hosts will help you get spotted. There are nature trails for dog walking, and the place is very pet friendly. The big bonus here is the location; you're close to the Natural Bridge (a must see), Blue Ridge Parkway, Poplar Forest, and a lot of other atractions, not the least of which is the town of Lexington. The Washington and Lee campus and VMI are each beautiful, and the Lee Chapel and Museum is also a must see. We planned to spend three days here and wound up staying five. In general, a remarkably lovely area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$43
The owners of this campground are the nicest people! I know others have mentioned the sites not being level; however, we didn't have a problem. The owner will help you get into your site and tell you the best spot. Campground is in the mountains so I didn't expect a paved parking lot. If you have younger children, I would recommend this campground over the Jellystone near by because the Jellystone is split into by a county road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
It was our first camping experience. The sites were mostly shaded with lots of trees, a bit tight as far as the roads, and the site we were at required quite a bit of leveling. Campground was full, but quiet. Lots of kids activities for Halloween; trick or treating, site decorating contest, pumpkin carving, hay rides, and a ghost walk. The store was fully stock and the staff was friendly and helpful. Gas station right outside the gate that could fill propane tanks and Lexington was within a few miles that has a Wal-Mart and several restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$46
We spent one night at this park. We thought the price was a little high for a dirt pad with no sewer. While we were able to get to the site with the car attached, but it was a little tight with all the trees and curves. There was a little diner (The Pink Cadillac Diner) within walking distance that served typical small-town diner fare. It is rare to find a KOA that is not woodsy and rustic, so we got what we expected. Not likely to stay again. The staff was very friendly, the wi-fi worked for the few minutes I was on, but the cable selection was poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
Feral cats in campground. Close to Natural Bridge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Slightly above average for a KOA, but must have absentee owners because the staff doesn't really care if you stay here or not. Our only request at check-in was for a level site. To get our motorhome level both wheels were off the ground on the curb side. Published rates look average, but then there is an extra charge for cable, etc. By the time we got a level site and paid for the extras, we wished we had stayed somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
There were friendly, helpful camp hosts. The park is convenient to the interstate. We wouldn't really recommend this for big rigs - the largest sites are like threading the needle through the trees and aren't terribly level; it taxed our leveling system. Campground seems to have removed as few trees and leveled as little as possible. Aside from the space for the rig, the rest of the site was unusable. We would not recommend pulling in past dark due to the challenging drive to the site. There are very limited cable channels, and it is tough to get a satellite signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
The sites are all on a hill and tierd. The staff was helpful and guided us to our site. The price is pretty steep for nothing very special. There was really nothing wrong with the park but we have been in much nicer cheaper parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
Our site was of an adequate size and required minimal leveling. However the area around the site was rather hard to navigate because of tree roots and uneven ground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Internet connection was good. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
This campground is built on a hill. All the sites are gravel. They are laid out in a tier fashion. We have a class C motorhome and rely on leveling blocks. We simply do not have enough blocks to get our motorhome level. If it were not for the fact that it was a long day traveling in heavy traffic, I would leave here and move on to somewhere else. The fact that we are being charged $42 for this site is quite irritating. I would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$39
We have stayed here several times over the last three years. The owners a quite helpful, I needed a piece of wood cut to make a repair and the owner helped out very willingly. They are making numerous improvements...paved a very steep road on the back side. We will continue to use this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
We camped here two nights on our way back home. Campground was basically empty. Asked for a site with just water and electric. They said they didn't have any and we would have to use a pull through site at $40 a night in November. A little steep I thought. Also, they were feeding wild cats near our trailer. Meowed all night and picked garbage all day. The only nice thing I can say is that is close to Natural Bridge and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Sites in vicinity were unpaved but mostly level. Arrived at night, and partially missed level portion. Only bad mark was that I didn't get a refund for leaving one day early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
Lovely park, easy off and on the freeway. Stayed only one night, but would definitely return. Site was nice and long, so didn't have to unhook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
Pretty tight. Sites are not very level. Staff in office could not take credit card presented and insisted that our friends credit card be charged because it was used to make the reservation. Cited "The Computer" as the reason we think it is just because they were too lazy. Not much else in the area so I guess we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
Real kid friendly campground, wooded site with nice, helpful people. Not far away from caverns and natural bridge. Paved roads to sites and good level sites. Relaxed atmosphere and easy access to highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
This is a very woodsy campground. If you like trees this is the place for you. All sites are terraced and narrow with a grassy/weedy strip in between. There are a lot of turns you have to maneuver to get to your site. The laundry has 3 newer machines with 2 large older dryers. There is no air conditioning in the laundry room. The pool area is very nice. We had no problem getting our satellite however looking at the rest of the sites I would say no way. The office staff were ok. They do escort you to your site however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
Sites are kind of close together, but this is a real nice place. Used it for 2 overnight stays and really enjoyed it there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a very beautiful campground and the staff are very friendly, as a matter of fact, they went beyond the call of duty to help us as our truck had engine problems. The landscaping is great and the sites are level. We even had entertainment on Friday night. Would highly recommend this campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Very nice family oriented park. We were passing through and stayed one night. Would have been a 10 but the wifi was terrible. When it worked it was slow but most of the time it was not working. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We camped here for three nights. The owners were very nice, helpful and friendly. They had all kinds of fun activities planned for the family. They had live music, karaoke, ice cream social, puppet show, and bead making class. The camp store had very nice and reasonable priced. Our site was on a 30 degree slant and made using the picnic table tough. We were escorted to our site. We had low water pressure. We had a wooded site but you could hear the interstate traffic at night. The fire pit was within a foot of our awning and was useless. One bathhouse for the entire campground. We will most likely go back again because of the owners and the activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$65
Super, very clean facility. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of poison ivy in the area which is unfortunate for someone like me who is allergic to it. I would have preferred the dog area to be fenced in and a little bit larger. They charge extra for having dogs in the cabins. Despite the downfalls mentioned, I enjoyed the experience. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Not good, not bad. Place could use a lot of work. Not the friendliest staff. Bit disappointed in the entire trip save for the wildlife park you can drive through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
You pay $$$, right near interstate, VERY EASY TO FIND. Wooded but seemed to lack a sense of friendliness We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We camped with extended family for two nights. The three sites we used were next to each other and except for being a little uneven were just what we needed. The staff was friendly and helpful making reservations and at check-in. Our only complaint was the copious amounts of mosquitoes. The staff sprayed but to no avail. We will return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
Nice people but our confirmation was for a full hook up site and we were given a water electric only. Kind of hilly but manageable. We give higher marks to the Yogi Bear at Natural Bridge Station where we stayed on the return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is not your typical KOA campground. It is hilly and wooded. The owners were pleasant. We were escorted to our site. Bathrooms very clean and nicely decorated. Our only problem is that we couldn't gain access to the internet at our site. When we called the office they said it was probably because everyone was using it at the same time. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
A very well kept and friendly park. The managers were extremely polite and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Nice park off the interstate, so it was quiet. Friendly, helpful staff. Sites seemed to be mostly level with plenty of trees. Cable and WiFi available at no extra charge. Would highly recommend this campground. Plenty to see and do in the area. Even the fact I hit a tree leaving the site (my bad) does not diminish the enjoyment of our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
This park is over charging. They bring almost every camper up a 33 degree hill. not all sites had cable there is a 15.00 charge for the honey wagon. We were there 4 nights with very little water they kept the water running into the pool to keep it full so that left us to a drip most of the time.We were in a pull thru site on the hill with a tree at the end so we couldn't pull the camper out had to back out on to the hill. This campground needs to be up dated. Its not big enough for newer RV's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Great park, friendly rangers, clean restrooms. The walk to the river was nice. We had a very sunny site, so had to use AC a lot. Would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
We camped here for a week and it had it's good and bad parts. The owners were very nice, helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They had some great activities for the kids. They had live music every night and they had karokee which was a lot of fun. The owners have only been at this CG for 2 years and are making changes. They went above and beyond to help us with some problems that we had. The camp store had very reasonable prices on most items and had everything you could need. The complaints that we had would be about the sites themselves. Our site was very long but very narrow. There was a hill as we came out our door so it made using the awning impossible. The fire pit was within a foot of our camper and was useless. Some sites were not this way and had plenty of room. The restrooms were clean but they only have one bathhouse for the entire campground. There was an issue with the showers for the last couple days. The hot water either didn't come on or only trickled out. With the right site we would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
I simply cannot give this CG a rating over 5. While it has a great location, nice staff and wooded site's that are great for travel trailers and tenters, I believe the pull thru's for the big rigs are over stated and worthless. This is NOT a big rig site. The sewer connections are located at the back of the site making it extremely hard to connect. We simply had to resort to visiting the dump site on our way out instead. Our neighbor accidently dumped his grey tank on the ground after the stretched out hose from his rig split open trying to reach the sewer. The WIFI has a very poor signal and we were located right behind the office on site #83. Most of the time it didnt work. The pull thru sites are very small width wise. We stepped out our door and had to jump over to the hill. The picnic table sets on an incline and really couldnt be used and getting into and out of your basement compartments is extremely hazardous due to the drop off to the paking pad. This place is a $22 - $25 dollar a night CG that is trying to justify its rates and pass itself off a a resort. It surely is NOT worth what we paid. We wont be back unless they adjust their rates and do something with the pull thru sites. Word of the wise - Disconnect your toad before driving up the gravel road. It will get completely covered in grey road dust. Also be very careful winding through to the pull thru sites. Those drop off's next to the road can hurt your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This was our first campground camping experience, and it was great. It was a holiday weekend, and the place was packed, but did not feel crowded. We had trouble with our refrigerator, as we did not know how to work it, and the Work Camper came to our site, and showed us how to work almost everything on our new trailer. There was a nice bluegrass band at night, and ice cream socials where all proceeds went to benefit the KOA charity. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
This is the friendliest park we've stayed in since leaving the western states. The owners are very friendly and do a great job in organizing fun activities for the weekends. The sites are a little tricky to level your RV but the hilly countryside is part of the beauty. Just make sure you have your levelers. We didn't mind the leveling problem at all because the activities and friendliness of the owners made up for it. It's a beautiful, shaded park. We hope to go back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$27
New owners are starting on their second year, very friendly and helpful. The campground is in need of maintenance on the toilets and showers, half of them were closed for repairs. Showers very small. Camping spaces were made with an effort to preserve as many trees as possible, making the park quite beautiful, but challenging to get a big rig in certain sites. Nearby restaurant will deliver, menus available in CG office. Excellent playground for children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Enjoyed ou stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
The people running this park have an interesting management style. The nights we were there, the park was only about one-third filled. And everyone was all crammed together in side-by-side sites, stacked in together like a cord of wood. When we asked if we couldn't have one of the 60 or so sites that were unoccupied in other areas of the park, we were told we had to take the site assigned to us. Then there is the swimming pool, which is nice enough, except that it is used by many people in the community that are not staying in the park. Thus, it was filled to overflowing with kids doing canonballs into the water. Not a place for an adult to even swim one lap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Only spent the one night; however, found the mens shower room to be clean but no A/C. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$24
Nice campground close to Lexington and many historical sites. Great place to stay while enjoying the area. Road into park needed work but we were there early in the season while maintenance projects were underway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We stumbled across this CG with no prior research and were pleasantly surprised. The hosts were very kind and sympathetic since we were supposed to go to VA Beach, but Hurricane Isabel drove us inland. The CG was mostly empty during the day, and our kids (ages 10 and 6) gave the playground two thumbs up. Also, the owners were VERY accommodating by keeping their pool open a few extra days for us. (HUGE bonus for the kids). Their game room, though musty, was another hit. The CG is hilly, but felt more private, since nobody could look directly across into another RV. Its also shady, and the views of the mountains are beautiful. The bathrooms were cleaned on a regular basis. We would definitely visit again. The drive through safari park down the road was too much fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Family and I stayed at this CG Memorial Day Weekend 2002. Campground is generally run down and unkempt. Most sites are relatively small and "hilly". CG has a water pressure problem. One bath-house. Intermittent hot water availability in the showers. Will not likely return. Pass this one by, unless you're simply passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com