214822 User submitted reviews online!!
South Forty Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (804) 732-8345
CGID3076

South Forty Campground

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   2   4   4   5   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This is one of those woodsie parks; nice swimming pool, nice people, but no internet at your site, therefore, the "no" for internet. I was close enough to their clubhouse, but still no internet. We had a clear lot so the dish worked for TV though. Lots of ant hills, but it was clean area, no rubbish around anywhere. Full timers were parked behind the office while people staying one night were parked out front, easy on; easy off the campground. Nice walks for dogs and hikes into the woods. I thought for the price with a discount, it was a little too much so I think I'd find a different spot next time. Nice Italian restaurant, home made food, within walking distance. Good pizza. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
Old KOA campground, OK for overnight stop, convenient to I-95, pull-through gravel sites are not quite level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
We originally registered for one night as we had read some bad reviews of this campground and were not sure if we would extend our stay to visit family. Well we were very happy with the site, the staff, clean restrooms, very quiet. We did extend our stay for a total of six nights. Everything was very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
It is hard to rate a park in the winter when everything is shut down and the place is devoid of people. The staff was great and our site was just fine. Lots of space to walk dogs. We only stayed one night, so cannot add anything else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
South Forty explains how far the hookups are from your rig. If you intend to stay here (I wouldn't) be ready for extensions for your hookups. There is an EXTRA charge for EACH hookup you will require. Wi-Fi is ONLY available in the office and not at the camp sites. This is an old, defunct KOA and no improvements have been made except the rating in the Good Sam's directory. I would pass on this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
This was a descent overnight campground in the past, but is really in poor condition now. Office staff were friendly and professional. Pool was maintained and a welcome relief to the 106 degree heat. Campsite was long enough, but terribly unlevel. Wi-Fi was outstanding from our site in the front of the campground. Cable was not available when we were here due to Comcast switching over to digital. Park is WAY OVERPICED for the condition it's in. Should be $20 a night. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Hopefully someone buys this campground soon and fixes it up as there aren't that many campground choices around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
We paid the Good Sam rate. This former KOA park appears tired and very worn, with much deferred maintenance. Just after we signed in, two people (a male and a female) came to the office to report a lack of hot water in the shower rooms. Office person was attempting to find someone to work on the problem. We were charged for cable, but it simply was not working anywhere in our end of the park. After being assigned our site, we were told WiFi probably wouldn't reach that end of the park, but that the lounge was open 24/7 and that it would function there. We apparently did have one of the few level sites in the park. We believe this park is definitely not worth 50 percent of their charged rate, and we will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Mostly open campground conveniently located less than 2 miles off I-95, with seasonal pool & restaurant, propane ($), free cable TV and fast Wi-Fi, clean washrooms, showers, and laundry ($1.5 & 1.25). Sites are a good length, but as this is a private campground, they tend to be narrow with RV’s lined up side-by-side-by-side. Each site has picnic table and fire pit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
We have generally made this park our first overnight stop on a trip south from Baltimore. As we've been off the road for more than two years, it was quite a shock to see it this time through. According to the man in the office, the property is in foreclosure, in the hands of the bank. He told us he is employed by the bank, in an effort to revive the place sufficiently to make it sale-able as an RV park. This is good news because there are so few choices in this part of the state. As previous reviews from this season have mentioned, the place has gone downhill from its peak days as a KOA. We ate at the restaurant on the property on at least one prior trip. It has long been closed, and even the owner's residence on site is vacant. However the people managing the place are friendly enough and seem to understand what they are doing. On Halloween night 2011 there were perhaps a total of five occupied sites, and the pool was still operating and appeared to have been maintained. The only caveat with the park is that the sites in the sections between the office and road all appear to be 50 Amp hookups with no 30 amp outlet. There is a 20 amp receptacle on each power stanchion and we were able to use that, with an adapter. We will continue to use this place as an overnight stop as long as it's operating. I've stayed at far worse parks that are NOT in receivership, and been treated worse. Supper was available at a Denny's eight miles down the interstate. I'd recommend that people continue to overnight here, in the hope the place will be brought back to life. Otherwise the property is sure to be redeveloped into something else, and one more east coast campground will have been irretrievably lost. As RV campers, we all bear some responsibility for keeping our choices alive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
This is a forgotten campground in need of upgrading. The sites are sand, many have overgrown, and have not been used for a while. Only 4 campers in the whole park counting me the night I stayed. It used to be a KOA, and apparently was very nice with playground for the kids, swimming pool, and fishing lake. It has seen better days. The lady working there was either new or in a trance. She took over 18 minutes to check me in. There is nothing around the campground i.e. restaurants, shopping etc. You have to go into town to find a restaurant. The traffic on I-95 keeps you awake at night. Truck stop near by; do I have to say more? I will search for another place next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Very easy to find off I-95. Quiet, peaceful campground with gravel, mostly level sites. We were led to our pull through, which was long enough to leave the car attached (40 ft. motorhome + car) but a little close to the neighbors. We stayed overnight but might consider a couple of days for rest while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
The site we had needed long electrical cord and water and sewer hoses extra long, services were way to far from the RV. Stayed only one night, the lady at front desk was very friendly. Nice pond people were fishing don t know if permit is required, good cable selection Wi-Fi signal very slow from our site We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
This was our second night in our rig. We arrived right around 6pm. The staff on duty, was very friendly. Checked in with no problem, and was escorted to our site. The site was sandy, but clean. Surprisingly, we were level. The campsite was clean, the grounds quiet. My only slight complaint is that after a long hard run, there is no take out /delivery food in the area. But there is a small truckstop, that does serve good fried chicken. We liked the fact, that the showers were very clean. The overall look of the campground is nice. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
Called two hours ahead of arrival and the office was closed prior to 6:28pm. The posted office hours are until 7pm. It took us an hour to get checked in and propane. The Wi-Fi had been out for several days according to another resident. I was not impressed that we had to go find the off-duty manager to get someone to assist us during normal business hours. It would appear that we paid more for arriving during off season and were not afforded any discount which we may have been entitled. Maybe they had a bad day, but I do not think I want to try this park again, just in case it was not a one time thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$36
We are here one night. The campground has potentials, but unfortunately it is not very well maintained. Very bumpy road to come in, a lot of pot holes. The pull through sites are very close together. Since we are going home 'up-north' we are all winterized and we were hoping for a nice hot shower. Too far to walk in cold weather from our site: very far! There is a shower nearby, but that one was closed. Too bad, because we payed $36 and couldn't even do what we came to do. Internet access is zero. I was told that the hotspot is in or near the office. Again: too far to walk at 27 degrees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Many sites in a wooded area. Is well shaded, and has good hook up facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites were sandy. Ours was about 3 inches off level: had to use blocks. Dump station was well maintained. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Love this place. Easy access from I-95. Peaceful friendly setting. Perfect for a good brisk walk and nature watching. Office staff is knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating. Store, Laundry Area, Rest Rooms and Showers very clean and well stocked. We enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return. They even had a Blue Heron visiting the Lake. Read a previous review that confused me, they must have been trying to deter people from visiting. I can't imagine why. Don't miss such a nice place to stay. You will not be sorry. Good people work here, stop and see for yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Very nice park, use to be KOA, so it is set up pretty much the same way with lots of pull though sites. We stayed here on previous trips when it was a KOA, and twice since it became privately owned. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
It's only 1/2 mile off the highway but far enough that there were no traffic noises. Has long open sites for big rigs. Could have been more level. Staff were nice and helpful. Would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This place was a ditch along the side of the road of interstate 95. I would recommend to keep on driving no matter how tired you are, or stay in a rest area! The ants were awful, grass unmowed, office dingy, staff weird, store overpriced, golf cart guy is just creepy as all get out. The "lake" okay we will call it that! Place made me feel like I was in a Friday the 13th movie, especially the staff. The woman greeting you in the office was in serious need of a tissue. Totally grossed us out, I had to walk away. Could not wait to leave this place. The ground maintenance is horrible. As much money as they make on people passing through, this place could be better. They are perfectly content on just getting by and getting your money. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Very nice park with great restrooms, facilities and CATV. WI-FI was awful: strong enough signal, but as slow as a dial-up, resulting in drop-outs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Great campground. It is operated efficiently and the staff are friendly. The bathrooms have a daily checklist and smells of disinfectant. They have a nice book exchange, pool table, and arcade games. Lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Store and staff was nice. Sites are all gravel or grass and dirt, with trees. Nice touch was the trees were being trimmed while we were there so they take care of low branches, something I wish more campgrounds would do. A small restaurant at the entrance to the park was very good; prices were good also, open 5-9 pm. Fuel stop just down the street with diesel and other restaurants within a short drive. Campground was clean and we were shown to our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Terrific campground. Staff was outstanding. Clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
I wouldn't recommend this campground.They are supposed to pump your grey and black water out every couple of days but we always had to go to the office 3 or 4 times to get ours pumped. The sites are nothing but sand and are not level. We were there for almost a month while my husband is working in the area. We found another campground that offers sewer hook up and left 4 days early and she would not refund us for the 4 days we left early. She gives all of the sewer hook ups to the people who stay there year round. I would drive another 500 miles before stopping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
The park is located about 1/2 mile off of I-95, and is easy to get into and out of. Restaurants are located on adjacent road within 5 miles with excellent food. The staff was very friendly, and store had the usual stuff, nothing fancy. Sites and roads were gravel, sites nothing fancy either but fairly level, we needed about 1 1/2" to level our RV. We did not have sewer and are not sure if any are available other than to full timers. The cable worked well but we could not connect to the Wi-Fi at all. This is a good overnight stop and we would stay here again. The site was plenty long enough for our truck and RV. The price might be a bit high for electric and sewer and would be my only negative comment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
The rate quoted was with a Good Sam discount. The highlight of this "resort" (I have no clue who decided this should be referred to as a resort, was that it was close to the interstate and easy to get into with little highway noise. The electric "pedestals" were falling over, the grass needed to be mowed. It is mostly permanent residents, many of whom leave between 5:00 and 6:00 am for, I assume, work. The best part of this place is the fact that at the interstate on/off ramp there is a gas station with very clean and easy to maneuver diesel pumps. We would never, under any circumstances return to this place - I would continue on the road for five more hours rather than bother with this grossly overpriced place. It seems that it is just a cash cow for whomever the owner may be and they have no intention of upkeep or improvements. The check in and people on the phones were very very friendly, but that is certainly no reason to bother to even pull off the highway for this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
Decent park for a home base or overnight stay; would not make this a destination. Office staff was extremely friendly and helpful (although the store was out of milk!); nice book swap in the game room. Pool table was in great shape. Site was not terribly level (gravel/sand/dirt) and hookups are a little far away from your trailer if you're trying not to unhitch overnight, but we managed. Lots of seasonals on site, mostly well cared-for. Would stay here again on the way to somewhere else. Its about a mile off I-95 and although you can hear some road noise it was not too loud. Bathhouse was clean and in working order. The place could maybe use a little TLC but overall a nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
It was a bit off from I 95 but once we arrived it was worth the overnight stop. Friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This rate is with an FMCA discount. I don't think they take Good Sam any more. You do have to have an FMCA card with your expiration date on it. The full hookup sites for short term are not very shady. The sites are more dirt than gravel with a picnic table and fire pit. It was hot while we were here and the sites in the trees are either long term or w/e only as there were many that were empty. The staff is friendly. To use the pool you have to go to the office and get a wrist band. The color changes everyday. Laundry is nice and there is a/c. $1.25/load and $1.25 for 45 minutes in the dryer. The game room and laundry are attached and open 24 hrs. The hot spot for Wi-Fi is in the game room. It is a fast, good connection. The store seems pretty well stocked. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This place is excellent. We went there two times (May 2006& August 2006). It is right up the street from where i live. We come here when other campgrounds we want to go to are full on holiday weekends. Its a nice little place just south of Petersburg,VA in Prince George,VA. It is just minutes off of I-95 and very easy to find. They have a really nice pool and a lake for fishing. there is alot of peace and serenity but unlike other places that offer this, this place is actually fun!. There are so many attractions in the area and you are just minutes from major cities(Colonial Heights,Petersburg,Hopewell,Richmond). Overall this place is great and i recommend it to everyone that comes in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Wow! Wi-Fi is in. Hot spot is in their 24 hr game room and laundry rooms. What a friendly group of people, nice pull-thru sites for overnighters. We thought this park was exactly as described by others recently and a perfect fit for our needs. We were pleasantly surprised to see rigs from a Prevost to a class B here. We received a AAA discount and were told they are going to be a Good Sam and FMCA park soon. We were recommended to come here by our friends and are so happy that we found this place. The improvements are visible and you see the people working everyday. They made each of us feel special and we left feeling like friends. They have a saying on their name tag-"come as guests, leave as friends" how true it is! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$36
We thought this park was exceptional-so natural, clean, woodsy, wonderful nice workers, with pull-thru sites for all overnighters. They separate their longer staying guests. Very clean restrooms, nice store and working on installing wifi presently. We have been here many times but the new owners improvements are exceptionally noticeable everywhere. We will be back, recommend this park highly! We stayed 2 days in our Motorhome. On one last note, when you are escorted to your sight, asked if they can assist you in hooking up and are welcomed with a smile in their office-this is a place you know you will always return to, what service!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$34
We stayed here overnight. We checked in with no reservations after hours and had no problems finding a site. The sites we stayed in only had 50amp service. Staff was friendly and sites were good. Water outlet was heated which was a big plus in the cold weather. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$31
New owners are wonderful! Love this campground, is spread out not to close to neighbors and has everything I need to go camping! Great place to stay and see all the historical sites, stay for one night or longer. Well kept and working on making things even better and Wi-Fi will be coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
A "lake" is an overstretch, but there is fishing in the pond. The sites are dirt, but OK unless it rains, at which time they become mud. There is a little Italian restaurant just outside the gate - owned by the same people. Very friendly and a treat when getting off from a long I-95 haul, but do yourself a favor and don't order the chicken marsala. If there is nothing else available, this is an OK place to spend the night. As for us, we plan on taking a different route in the future, so that we don't keep finding ourselves in this sorry and under-maintained place as it gets time to leave the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This was a one night stop over for us on the way to Hatteras. Campground, was clean, had gravel roads and pads. We were on a pull-through site which was nice as we didn't even have to unhitch. Our site was shaded, which seemed to be the norm - lots of mature trees. We arrived late and found our reservation information taped to the window at the registration booth. We didn't use any of the facilities. Staff was friendly upon checkout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Spent two nights here. Had a nice laundry room, but bathrooms need some fresh paint. Otherwise, very comfortable. Good Italian restaurant within walking distance. Quiet setting and easy drive to historical sites in Petersburg. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
It's another old KOA that needs an infusion of money. Not a bad park, just tired and in need of spiffing up. Office store had few items, most expensive. Game area had pool table with ripped covering, broken Pacman game and a couple other old electronic games. Laundry was mostly clean but washers didn’t wash or rinse long enough to get clothes clean. Bathrooms were as clean as possible considering their age but it’s time for a remodel. Playground area has a few swings that need an overhaul. Pool was closed but in need of paint and cement deck fixed. A few sites have 50 amp, water and sewer. The majority is only 30 amp with water. Most long term/permanents are in back area by small pond, a few in wooded area. Overnighters are put in front. Sites need to be better marked but are roomy enough for putting out awnings. Rain almost flooded some sites by pond. A couple old trailers by pond need hauling away. Staff was friendly but seemed ill trained to handle registrations. The lady in office said she was only temporary as the regular managers were away. Dump station can be accessed on both sides and you can get propane tanks filled. We checked out other private parks in the area and this is probably the best and safest. Good for overnight when stopping to see the Battlefield but not a destination park. Easy access to I95 and Richmond. Nino’s Restaurant at entrance to park was okay and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$37
Agree with Jul 06 post. We also could not get a sewer site even though the park was not crowded. People are very nice. Thought it was over priced for its current state (KOA price but not the KOA quality). No wifi, a dial up connection is in the office. Sites were gravel at one time but most of it is gone now so may be muddy in rain...there is a lot of grass between sites. Our restaurant experience wasn't as good but that is because there was not enough staff and the one waitress was pulled everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
First of all, I'm not completely sure about the nightly rate. We had no problem getting a full hook-up site. The site we were on was kind of close to the site next to us because we were on a site directly across from the lake. It was pretty to see the water out of our mountain view windows. The sites in the front part of the campground are spaced better and offer a lot of shade. Most sites offer cable tv. There was around 70 cable channels available through Adelphia. We just stayed at this campground for one night. The people working in the office were very friendly. I would recommend this campground for people looking for a decent overnight stop or a nearby weekend getaway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
This campground is fine for an overnight stay. I reserved a full hook-up site, but when I arrived I was given a water/electric site. Nothing could be done to change this since all full hook-up sites had already been given out. They do have a nice dump station for those without sewer hookups. The layout of this campground has a lot to be desired, especially for larger rigs. We made out okay (40' fifth wheel and truck), but that's only because we arrived early and didn't have to navigate around a lot of campers. Others that came in after us (5:00 p.m.) didn't have the same luxury and had to weave through the wooded area. The current managers did everything they could to help us and were very friendly. There's a lot of potential with this campground. Hopefully, some improvements will be made to bring it back up to par. The restaurant on the premises is excellent! I highly recommend it...large portions for a very fair price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Stayed here for six nights. Very friendly staff. Mostly overnight and weekend campers. Some monthly sites available. Campground is kept very clean. Campstore with limited supplies and pricey. Quiet atmosphere with very little noise from I-95. Would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$29
This park is now called "South Forty RV Park". It is no longer affiliated with KOA although they still provide the KOA discount if requested. Roads are narrow, sites are not level, but there are lots of trees and a nice pond. The park is laid out well--not in a grid but in a manner that accents the natural curves of the land. Staff was pleasant and trash pickup was at each site. South Forty RV park appears to primarily cater to daily travelers--there were only a few RVs that appeared to be full time. I recommend it if you have good RV levelers and are just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Older KOA campground. Arrival reception was pleasant and friendly. Escort service to your site by personable staff member. Our pull-thru site with 50 amp was level but sites are very close together. Older type bathroom/laundry facilities but were always clean and tidy. Pool water looked green and in need of attention. Not really a destination campground but good as an over-nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
Nice stop off Intersate 95, really quiet at site; got a good night sleep. Would stop again if on 95 again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
When we arrived we could see evidence of recent digging and work on the sewer line. Raw sewage flowed "big time" from our neighbor's sewer and across our campsite the last 2 mornings we were there. Other campsites also had sewage flowing out of the ground sewage connection pipe. The management claimed to be working on the problem, but continued to fill the sites around and uphill from us. We complained loudly and were given a refund for one night. We had so much extra work when we arrived home to sanitize our rig. This was our first and will be our only visit to KOA campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$32
Park personnel friendly and our teenagers enjoyed the pool. Easy-on, easy-off I-95. Very quiet campground. Campsites mostly dirt with some tree roots and little gravel, many are not level. Okay for dry weather, would be messy when wet. We stayed heading south and liked it enough to stop again heading north. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice park, overpriced compared to others I have been to. Easy access to Petersburg Battlefield National Park, Petersburg and Colonial Heights. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$24
This was a very quiet and peaceful location. It appears to be primarily an overnight type stop just off I-95 as our neighbors were changing everyday. We spent 3 days there during our visit and found this to be a neat, tidy, clean campground. There were some long term campers but they were located in areas away from the RVers. There was no road noise, no trains or planes. Level sites and shade was available. The staff was working hard at keeping things neat and clean and presentable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Campground would be rated higher, except for the price (typically KOA and overpriced). Nice restaurant on-site with very good Italian food. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com