220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Cozy Acres Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (804) 598-2470
CGID3077

Cozy Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   6   7   9   8   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
We have camped at this campground for about 15 years. We go every Oct. and enjoy the wonderful Halloween weekend they offer. Family run campground and very clean, friendly, and safe. We have a large group of fellow campers who join us and we always have a wonderful weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
We stayed for a couple of nights to check out our 5th wheel before heading out on a longer trip. It's hard to rate the campground as it seems half way between a campground and an RV resort, but without really being very good at either. Restrooms have stalls that are too small, old showers, and are too few for the number of people if the campground is at all full. For a camping experience, the campsites are too close together and there isn't much else to do except wander around some ponds. For those looking for resort amenities, you have to put up with campfire smoke coming from right next door, gravel sites, no good restaurants nearby, and contrived activities that seem very dated. It is also very expensive. If it had been half the cost, then it would be a good value, but at this price we've come to expect more. For camping, the state parks are a better deal and have a lot more space between campsites along with hiking and more outdoor activities. Satellite signal is very difficult to acquire. For an RV resort, better to head somewhere else to get your money's worth. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
This is a nice campground, super quiet at night, but pretty expensive for a rural park near no attractions and without cable and internet. AT&T cell service very poor, if any signal at all. Pool was nice, but dirty during our overnight stay. Easy access to and in the park with our larger sized RV, if you follow directions on their website. Would stay again only if we had to be near something specific in the area, otherwise its way too expensive for a campground with limited amenities and no nearby attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
The park is in the country on a farm or family owned land, so not many campers. Roads and sites are gravel and tight for a Motor home. Plenty of shade and utilities are up to spec, but bring your water regulator. The park is on a hillside and sites are mostly level, but I had to block the front tires. We weren't there long enough to use the facilities. I didn't feel welcome from the staff, but that could be the personality of folks in these parts. Wifi didn't work, no cable, cash/checks only and it's hard to find a satellite thru the trees. Someone said it and I'll reiterate NOTE...your GPS could direct you the long route. It's much easier to stay on 60, go west of HWY 13 and turn south on Ridge road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Just got back from staying at this campground this past weekend. Very nice, family owned campground. The staff in the store are very friendly. Campground does require a $10 deposit if you would like a key card. You do not need one if you will not be going out after the store closes. You do get the deposit back at the end of the stay. Sites are a good size and level with a brick patio. Very nice playground area, pool very clean. Not a lot of campers this weekend so park was quiet. The kids enjoyed fishing in the catfish pond and caught a 7 sunfish and a trout. You do have to pay to fish in the pond, but you will catch fish. They also have 2 catch and release ponds. Sunday they hosted a pancake breakfast for Father's Day. Very nice and organized. Make sure if you did get a key card to not leave until 10am when the store is open to get your deposit back. Looking forward to returning to this campground later this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$41
Clean campground, nice club house, bathrooms were not too clean, store was good, employees unorganized but friendly. Credit card was accepted for deposit, but not for final payment, if you were with a camp group. Only cash or checks were accepted. Have never heard of that by a campground before. Good thing we had some cash on us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Pretty, well maintained campground. Long level gravel sites with patio on super sites. Catfish ponds where our Golden enjoyed a swim. Clean bathrooms. Lots of facilities for kids: pool, playground. Camp store well stocked with RV supplies. Good over the air TV reception from both Charlottesville and Richmond. Long walk to bathroom and Wi-Fi hotspot at the office. Slow Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Several campers were here because of no power at home after Hurricane Irene. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Nice campground with a good play area for kids and a pool. Good level, shaded sites with nice brick patio areas and a fire ring. Close enough to Richmond for good antenna reception on TV. This is a great place to just get away and fish in the ponds or read and relax. Liked it well enough that we are planning to go back Labor Day weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Stayed for the holiday weekend. Very friendly staff. Very cute camp store & little cafe. Sites were clean & spacious. Nice & quiet mom & pop type campground. The boys had fun fishing even though they didn't catch many fish! The pool was adequate be sure to take a chair with you. Fireworks were great and the firetruck ride was a big hit. Bath houses are dated, but clean & adequate. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Very nice, family oriented campground. Very nice owners were outgoing and willing to help your stay be as enjoyable as possible. Large site, mostly pull throughs. Enough space between sites so you are not crammed in like other campgrounds. Like the 2009 review, not much has changed, except they are adding some more sites. Those will possibly have gazebo's on each site. A wonderful campground worth checking out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Cozy Acres campground is in Powhatan Virginia, just off of Route 60 on the south western side of Richmond. With the new I-895 bypass to the east of Richmond, it is extremely convenient to I-95 via I-295 east and directly off of I-64 east of the Capital City. The RV sites are level left to right and provide enough length to assure easy leveling front to back - even though the site entrance and exit may be inclined. All of the sites are long enough to allow on-site parking for both a 40 foot trailer and the disconnected tow vehicle. Most of the sites have flagstone patios, full hookups, shade trees and a beautiful view of the rolling farm land and ponds. Some of the sites include special amenities, such as one with a covered deck and swing. But, the additional cost of these features can add as much as $20 to your nightly camping bill. Cozy Acres is smack dab in the middle of a working farm, so you can expect farm animals to grace your view of the scenic pastures. There are three ponds around the campground, two of which are fairly large. The smaller pond is a catch and release fishing spot with an island complete with an access bridge and gazebo. We noted numerous children delighting in catching Sunfish and Bluegill around the banks of the pond. The two larger ponds require a permit for fishing, which can be bought at the camp store. One of the ponds features an old steel bridge across the creek at the mouth. I was told these ponds are regularly stocked with bass and catfish. The weekend we camped there was their annual Oktoberfest celebration. The campground provided a huge pot of delicious home cooked chili and beverages. The campers each brought a side dish. There was enough food to feed an army. There was a bluegrass gospel group, Glory Road, which entertained us during our dinner. It was a really fun event The “club house” is a huge pole barn complete with kitchen and gobs of antique farm equipment on display. All over the campground the owners have displayed an array of antique equipment typical of the farm community during the past century. Cider mills, presses, copper tub gas powered washing machines, old saws, bottles and even a nearly perfectly preserved Ford Pinto. The camp store is well stocked with RV accessories and often needed food products. They even have a late 50’s era fire truck that they give both oldsters and youngsters alike a ride around the campground. Sometimes we don’t go camping to do something – we go so we can do nothing. It was an extremely enjoyable and relaxing weekend. We will go there again. We were sitting out under our awning around a campfire with some newly found friends as darkness arrived. The sunset over the little pond in front of us was awe inspiring. If you are coming through Richmond, Virginia, and want a camping spot for a night or two you might want to check this one out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This has got to be one of our favorite campgrounds by far. We only stayed two nights while visiting the Richmond area and wished we could have stayed a little longer! After camping in the hustle and bustle of the DC area this was a welcome break! The grounds are very well maintained by the owners and it's obvious they take pride in the facilities. It is very quiet as they are not close to a highway. We were there during the week so it was not crowded at all. The sites are very spacious with brick patios and fire rings. My kids loved the fishing ponds which were beautiful. The owners son brought us along to feed the catfish and the kids still talk about it. We also learned how to talk to the cows in the pasture! I had a nice conversation with the owners on our second night and really enjoyed their company. The camp store is very nice with loads of antiques and collections. The only thing that would make this a ten for me would be Wi-Fi and cable right at my rig. Other than that this has been our favorite stop from Arizona to Maryland and we will find a reason to return. Highly recommended for relaxation or visiting Richmond/Appomattox area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
We have been going to this campground a long time with friends of ours.We really enjoy camping here until this past weekend. I was very disturbed by the behavior of 1 member of management.He was very loud and rude to several of the campers and did not act in a professional manner.I have discussed this with our friends and they feel the same way.We have decided not to go back due to his actions for the time being. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We came here with our Good Sam chapter. As stated before, the location is off the beaten path, and there are no attractions in the immediate area. We wanted to relax, and it was perfect for that. The campground was clean, well laid out, and attractive. The campstore is adorable, decorated with antiques. They have a small cafe in the store, and we got the milkshakes, which were yummy. Made the old-fashioned way. (Try the chocolate/kahlua shake: non-alcoholic and delicious!) I took points off for the high price and lack of some amenities: Wi-Fi, cable, and there is poor cell service at the campground. They also charge $10 for a security gate card, which is refunded upon departure. There are no discounts offered, except for FMCA, and you need to pay in cash to get that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is a nice park just outside of Richmond. It is a reasonable 18 mile or so commute but very quiet. There are no trains or planes or highway noise. They DO have wireless internet, and it is free, but you have to get the login username and password from them. They say it's only at the camp store which is where I used it from, but I'd be very surprised if you couldn't get a usable signal from much of the CG. It was very slow, though. The camp store was the nicest campground store I've ever been in. The staff and campers were also friendly. There is a gate at the entrance, and that gate is closed at night. You will need to get a key-card if you need to get in after the store closes. They charge a $10 deposit on the key card but gladly give it back when you give back the card. I did have to deduct a point for the flies and mosquitoes. Part of the property is a farm with cows; perhaps a little too close? There are also a couple of ponds so be prepared for that. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
This is a nice, wooded, quiet park. The campground was only half full, which contributed to it being so quiet. The playground equipment is nice, and the pool looks to be in good shape (although not yet open). The camp store was really cute. The staff was very helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
Beautiful secluded park. Sites are well laid out and easy to access. But for this price, no Wi-Fi, no cable, extra charge for guest per day, extra charge to fish, office closes early and opens late. FMCA discount only. Not our cup of tea, but it is a nice park, just a little expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
The CG is well off the beaten path. Very well kept property. Not a whole lot in the area but if you are looking for a place to relax this is it. Items in the camp store are over priced but I guess you pay the price for convenience. Very nice playground. No events or anything until after Memorial Day. I will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and had our best RV trip all year. The campground is a bit off of the beaten path but is worth the trip. Nice size and well equipped sites and VERY quiet. The owners are all family and were there every day. They were some of the friendliest hosts we have ever had... they would always stop and chat whenever we saw them. Very nice shaded playground and very clean and well kept pool. Office/store has almost anything you need including a cafe with home-cooked food. They also have a very large pavilion building where they hosted a excellent band on Saturday night. I would give this CG a 10 if they had WiFi. We have already booked back-to-back weekends for next year... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Wonderful. We stayed over two months visiting family; everyone was friendly, everything worked or was fixed nearly immediately. We've been RVing over 30 years and this is one of, if not the best park in this size range we have stayed at. If they had WiFi and more paved roads I'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We camped here overnight on our journey from Virginia to Michigan. The staff is wonderful. We had a small problem with our toilet and one of the owners came out to help us with it. It's a family owned and run campground. The pool is very clean, and the playground is great. Plus, the store and kitchen are a great plus because it is rather off the beaten path. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because they do not have wi-fi, and we had no cell phone signal or satellite. We will definitely stay here again! The sites are great, level and wooded. Nice pull-thru's for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
For the location and amenities this site was over priced. The staff was not very friendly and they overcharged for a small spaghetti dinner ($10.00). They charge $20 just to dump if you are not a guest there and charge $3 per additional "day" guest and $6 for an "overnight" guests. They also run or lease farmland surrounding the campground which kicks up a lot of dust when the tractors are running from field to field across the campground roads. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
We stayed here for the weekend and seems like a nice place to stay. While there is a working farm as noted before there was no activity. One downside to this CG are the small roads getting to the CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Very clean and quiet campground, off the beaten path. Very roomy and fairly level sites so they can be considered big rig accessable. If you are looking for quiet, this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This campground is well maintained and clean. It's still early so not everything is ready to go yet. I was a little surprised that one of the bath houses was still closed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The sites are easy to get in and out of. Our only complaint was some all night partiers about five sites down. We plan to return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
Our second time at this campground. They have made numerous improvements since last year. Everything was excellent condition. Rained like heck the whole time we were there yet the water drained off quickly. Wish more campgrounds were like this one. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This is our third year camping here and we just love it. It is family owned and in a rural area with plenty of wooded sites. In fact, most of the sites are wooded. We are able to receive our satellite tv with a portable dish. They do have seasonal and monthly camping and some of these sites even have phone access at the site. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and keep the grounds in excellent condition and they also have a lot of fun activities on the weekends. The sites are pretty much level and well groomed. For us, the best part, is that the owners and staff are always visible and we feel really safe here and our grandchildren can play and we don't have to worry about them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
The owners were fantastic with a couple of situations that we encountered while staying here. Very friendly staff, prestine campsites, and the evening adult swim was fantastic. If arriving from I-95, the drive out Rte 60 is about 18 to 20 miles. Not a bad thing, just unexpected. This is a great family campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We stayed there a month from mid June to mid July in 2006 and felt the park was well maintained and they had many activities for the campers. On the Fourth of July they had a nice fireworks display in the evening. The swimming pool was clean but they didn't open up the office or the pool until 10:00 each day and we thought that was a little late. On the day we checked out we had to wait for about a half an hour till someone showed up to compute our final departing bill. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
This is a very clean and quiet campground. We stayed here just before the busy season and found it to be pretty empty. The sites are fairly level and have plenty of room for big rig access. The playground was nice and had plenty for children of all ages. There were a couple of fishing ponds and some friendly cows for entertainment. If you are looking for quiet, this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$32
We did not stay here but decided to check it out while driving thru the area. We were very impressed by how well the grounds were kept up. Interior roads are gravel but in very good shape. Roads were laid out well so big rig access is not a problem. The sites are all good sized. Most are shaded. I did not see any that looked as tho it would be difficult to get level on. The catch and release fishing pond was a bit muddy. Did not see the catfish pond. The pool was closed but looked to be of good size. The road the campground is on is a little narrow with some sharp curves that sneak up on you. If you take your time, you won't have any problems tho. Overall we really liked this place and will be back to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
We really enjoyed our Labor Day weekend at this Campground. The owners where very friendly, and sites were in prestine condition. The Saturday evening band was great, and pancake breakfast was good also. They put on a good holiday campout! We will Return again next Labor Day! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Excellent campground. Wide sites. Nice large pool. The owners/people who work here are extremely friendly and accommodating. The park is very clean. One of the previous reviewers complained about the cleaniness of the bathhouses. Well we thought they were the cleanest bathhouses we've ever used anywhere. They also have a unique bi-level shower head apparatus which is very nice. Store could be better supplied, particularly with foodstuffs, and the store/office closes at 7pm, this is particularly important as it's a significant drive to obtain groceries, etc. The only things I can think of that they could do to improve the campground (other than my comments about the store/office) are as follows: a satellite system for TV reception (if that included a Wi-Fi network so much the better); a hot tub would be nice, particularly outside of the hot summer season. Note, we did have to level out our motorhome a bit, so come prepared with a few leveling boards. Note to those using the dump station, my husband was very impressed with the construction of it. Another note, cell phone reception ranged from 1 to 3 bars, with 1 to 2 bars being the most common. By positioning my cell phone near the window of the motorhome I was able to connect through the cell phone to the Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This is a very shady campground, which was helpful as it was very HOT during our stay. We didn't participate in all of the activities, although they seemed well attended and popular with the kids. We did enjoy the fireworks show. The campstore is large, but doesn't have any food staples or newspapers which is a pain, since the nearest store is pretty far away. The pool was huge and clean. The showers were ok, but the bathrooms needed better cleaning. Other than that, this is a beautiful and very quiet campground. The catfish ponds were fun (nice bass in there too) and we never heard any noise from the construction of the newer sites. If you're looking to "get away from it all", this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
I choose this CG over others in the VA area because of reviews I read on this website and I wasn't disappointed. The CG is a small area outside of Richmond and not hard to get too. The campsite was clean, on gravel and level, with picnic table and fire ring available. CozyAcres is expanding, although during our stay there was no intruptions or noise. A walk around the CG and you would find fellow campers that cared for the CG and no area was messy or needing attention. The only reason I wouldn't rate this CG higher is the bathhouses. There were alot of tent campers there and the bathhouse was not cleaned the entire stay we were there. Although not filthy, it could have used a daily cleaning. I believe if they paid alittle more attention to the bathhouses, this would be a top notch CG. We would stay at CozyAcres again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
We camped here for Memorial Day W/E and truly enjoyed it. We were with another couple and we able to be together. The weather was a little cool so the kids really couldn't use the pool. However, they got to fish and ride bikes so they were happy. The owners were wonderful and very helpful. This was our first camping trip with a new camper and the owners son was great at helping us get in and set up. Fire engine rides and kaereoke provided entertainment for the w/e. We already made a reservation for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$49
We took a chance and decided to visit Cozy Acres solely on the ratings that were posted on this site and we were not dissapointed. We arrived and were quickly registered and went to our campsite, the campground is one of the best maintained I have ever seen. The staff were very friendly, in fact one of them offered to skin a catfish which I caught in their pond. They are constantly patroling the grounds on golf carts so they are never far away if there is a problem. I told the staff that my brother-in-law would be arriving late and they said they would stay open untill everyone that had made a reservation had arrived to make sure they were settled in ok. The pool was clean and the bathrooms / bathhouses were immaculate. They had allot of activities including: a fire truck ride, a DJ on Saturday night, a pancake breakfast-(excellent), and a newley-wed game. They have 3 fishing ponds which I was able to catch bass and catfish. Just across the road is a couple of state fishing areas. They are pet friendly as long as the pets are controlled. We had so much fun that we are going back this weekend to try it again and made reservations for October-fest and Memorial day in 2006. By far this is the best campground we have visited, its a nice break from the dust filled sites of VA Beach and Myrtle Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$30
We store our camper here. We have camped here several times over last summer. We find this campground to be very quiet, family oriented and natural wooded setting. Family owned and they are very helpful to newcomers. This is our first Motor Home and the owner helped us set up and instructed us on the use of necessary equipment. Staff very Attentive. We find this to be one of the most relaxing places to camp. Perfect get away and back to nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$29
One of the most enjoyable weekends we have experienced. Owners where very friendly and accommodating. Their sites where large and shady, as well as landscaped! They have two large fishing ponds, and lots of play equipment for the kids. Their General Store is more like a Camping World plus hardware store combined, if you need it they got it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Friends recommendation. Actually nicer than expected. Almost pristine with landscaping, upkeep, interesting farm implements places near the wooded areas. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful and have owned the campground for 30 years. Brick patios at some of the sites, which kept the rugs cleaner and lots of foliage separating campsites. Very pretty place, just quite a bit off beaten path. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com