220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Dixie Caverns Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 65 user reviews. Phone: (540) 380-2085
CGID3079

Dixie Caverns Campground

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   9   7   8   6   3   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Compared to some other parks a bit farther north on I-81 this was a bargain. Full hookups, strong WIFI, pull-through sites, lots of cable channels and a discount for the cavern tour convenient to the interstate are all a plus in our book. Some noise from the interstate until after dark and as others have mentioned the sites are a bit narrow but for an overnight stop we thought this was just fine. Very friendly, professional staff. We would make this a regular stop in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
First time staying here. Careful when pulling in off the highway as the CG has a stone sign in the center of their driveway. CG office is in the gift shop. Female staffer was friendly. They take credit cards. We had pull-through site 54. Nice long site but low in the rear. Not a problem if you are unhooking but we stayed hooked up. 50 amp power, water, and sewer were all fine. Site 54 also worked for my rooftop satellite dish so long as I was parked at the rear of the site. Site 53 would also work for rooftop satellite (again, stay to the rear of site). I'd stay here again for an overnight or if I was visiting the nearby Dixie Caverns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This is an easy on and off interstate 81 near Roanoke, Virginia. We stayed here twice once in July for one night and then in August for 3 nights. The sites are pull-throughs and the power is sometime a little low. There are not a lot of choices in the area, and this one is acceptable. Staff was friendly. There are quite a few permanent residents. Interior roads are gravel and easy enough to maneuver with a big rig. Easy to get into Roanoke. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
I'm sitting here on my shady site writing this review. We're staying 3 nights while attending a convention in Roanoke. Yes, I hear the highway noise but I also hear the many birds of the area and it is otherwise quiet and peaceful. Yes, the sites are smaller than we are used to, but the park isn't full so we have space on either side of us right now. Staff was very friendly and helpful at check-in. We are definitely used to more forest like camp sites, but with full hookups,very reasonable price, and proximity to Roanoke it can't be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This CG has some potential! Looks like they only seem to cater to the Cave crowd. Sites are really tight-the guy next to us had to pull his awning in for us to get parked or we would have hit it. Unlevel gravel(not alot of gravel) sites. Site was pull through and very long (had car in tow to MH) but amenities are at the very end of site-so had to back up in order to use them.Stayed here overnight only. Needs alot of TLC before we would go back. Didn't bother with the Bath house either-one look and decided to use on board facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We stayed here for 2 weeks and I wish we had more time. The staff is friendly, sites relatively level, with the only complaint being that the sites are very close together. Outstanding Wi-Fi here and that's very important to me. Another small problem is the lack of access for a satellite antenna but they have good cable. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Good for a stopover, close to I-81. Internet is bad, very slow. Most sites are not good for satellite reception. Not the most friendly people staffing the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Rustic, rustic, gravel/dirt/mud driveway and parking sites, most unlevel. Located in a valley below the freeway, so there might be noise tonight as heavily traveled truck route. Sites close together. Camp just 3 minutes off the interstate. I can see the interstate and cars from my front seat. But folks are very nice at check-in, which is located at Cavern, pottery store. We were here in a 36' rig. Looks like many full time residents. Before you park check out the water faucets. Quick for a one-nighter. Do not expect much.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Nice place. Not much in the immediate vicinity, but the Caverns are right there. Office staff very polite and helpful; sites ez to park and hookups no problem. Cable works great and is included. I'm sorry we didn't spend more time there. Huge gift/souvenir shop. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
The staff was very nice but this is an old campground that certainly shows it's age and neglect. Most of the sites appear to be occupied by full time residents. The interior roads and sites are gravel/dirt. My site was a pull thru and I was hemmed in between a large tree and the trailer beside me. I did not put my slide out because I felt it would hinder my neighbors entry and exit from his trailer. The site utilities are located at the head of the site and you will need long cables and hoses to reach. The bath house was small, outdated and not very clean. They did give us a $5 per adult discount on entry into the caverns which are on site. The tour of the caverns made the stay worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
We stayed here 9 days and didn't feel unsafe or unhappy to be there. Yes its old..site was unlevel...bathroom & shower were old but it was 7/8 percent clean (corners not completely clean, etc). Sites are close together (we had a pull thru site). Most of the people next to us were just staying one night on the way to someplace else because it is convenient off Interstate. Noise from Interstate was loud. The stink bugs were all over this time of year but that isn't the campground's fault. Not a great place to stay but not the worst either for the price and convenience. We were also amazed that we were able to get satellite reception, even with the trees and big hill on one side of park. WiFi was okay...a little slow but manageable. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This park is part of the Dixie Caverns attraction. Clean and tidy but old. First site assigned had a faulty electric pedestal. No problem relocating, and the maintenance crew was working on the problem within 15 minutes. No amenities, but good for an overnight stop. Convenient to Roanoke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This was a nightmare for us! Park was very run down. Grass was high, barely made it into site because a power panel to the sites was blocking it. Site was not at all level, so had to use pads. Permanent or long term trailers there were very junked up. Unsafe feeling. Restroom was filthy, need we say more. Only stayed 1 night and could not leave early enough. Will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
Spent 1 night here on our way to FL. Called for reservation on the road. Arrived just before office closing. Friendly office staff. Park was adequate for short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is pretty much as others have described. It isn't really a campground. It's a parking lot for RVs providing all the basics: water, electric and sewer. Lots of cable TV stations and WI-FI is excellent. It is literally right off the highway making it easily accessible for any size unit! You are parked right next to each other with little room for privacy, and you can't put out your awning, but then again you are only spending the night here. It's perfect for the overnight stay. All pull through sites, we had no trouble with a 40' fifth wheel. There is a picnic table and a trash can. No fire rings. It certainly serves it's purpose for a good place to park for the night without frills or excitement. Not much to choose from in the area, so this is a great choice to get to your final destination north or south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Grass and weeds were too high, muddy holes in some of the sites, gravel needed. Restrooms were horrible on the outside so I didn't go in. Full time residents were living in the most run down pickup campers (without the pickup). We did not have any issues while visiting, but. The power was out for 5 hours which was not their fault. This place is in serious need of some cleanup. I would not stay here again and that's the first time I've said that in a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$62
The site's needed a little gravel repairs, but overall the roads were well graded. We were on a pull through site in the middle of the park. We traveled in a group and ended up having a 20' car trailer behind our 1ton crew cab 8' bed truck and our 43' fifth wheel on the pull through site, so several of their lots are very long. Nice people, fun store of knick-nacks, rocks, and antiques. Don't forget to tour the cavern, discounted for campers with a unique cave path layout. We stayed 4 days, but were gone most of the time. I would recommend it for an overnight, or base camp setup, other than the shop and cavern there's not much to do onsite, but even with the closeness to the highway it was quiet. Will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
An older park with many permanent residents. Lots of noise from I-81. Site was fairly level, electric was good. The grass needed attention. The June storm knocked down trees by the natural entrance to the cave. If you take the first tour of the day you will see a spectacular site never seen before the storm. The cave has many formations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
This place is a dump. Sites are crammed together, somewhat level pull throughs. The utilities are placed at the end of the sites requiring long hoses and electrical cables. The only good thing was a reasonably fast Wi-Fi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Very convenient to I-81. Park is run down, behind the grubby Dixie Caverns and Pottery shop. Sites are tight and hard to get into. Not a destination park but an okay one-night stopping place. It's the only campground available for big rigs in the Roanoke area so if you need to camp in the Roanoke area this is it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Lot of permanent RVs, some quite old and not well cared for. Lot of equipment sitting around; night manager office a mess. Use this only if you need a site near Roanoke. Keep your stay short as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Not a resort, but adequate for transient use. Site was fairly level, and the park is convenient to I-81. Adequate roads within the park. Sites are packed earth as are the roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
OK for a quick overnight. Agree with other reviewers: expensive for what you get. Wi-Fi was fast when I could connect, but was frequently unable to get and hold a connection. Suspect that it was saturated with too many users and needs more capacity. Pull-through spaces are narrow and relatively short. My 49' trailer plus tow vehicle barely fit. Manager was friendly and helpful. The night check-in desk was filthy with dead bugs and dirt. Payment envelopes were stuck shut. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This park is ok for an overnight but nothing more. Cave tour right on site but we did not go. There is no RV Store, no restaurant, etc. Tired park with many older long term units. Good electric, friendly staff. A little high priced for the amenities. Should be around $24-$26. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We agree with the other reviewers. It is good in a pinch for an over night. The sites are way too close to each other, if one of the big rigs has its slides open, the next one can't put their awning out. It's an older campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
OK if you are in a pinch and need a place to stay for the night. Expensive for what you get. Old permanent trailers in park. They do have excellent cable reception and AT&T cell service available. If Wi-Fi is available we did not use. Definitely big rig friendly. Gravel, mostly grass and dirt sites. Not well kept. I would only stay again if I had no other choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Some of the sites are too narrow. The rig next to me could not open his awning after I pulled in. The sites on the north row are unlevel front to back, requiring that my fifth wheel landing gear be almost completely retracted to get level. Road noise from I-81 is very noticeable. Friendly staff and easy access to the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Nothing special, but OK and convenient for an overnight stop. Gravel pull through sites are not very level and are close together, but ample length for big rigs. Lots of seasonal/permanent trailers in questionable condition. Staff was friendly and efficient. I would stay here again for an overnight as there are not many alternatives in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Stayed overnight while traveling on interstate. Easy access on and off interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Campground is in a state of serious overall neglect. Interior roads and all sites are in dire need of fresh gravel and basic landscaping. As you enter, the entire left side of the CG is made up of derelict RV's that are inhabited by long term, indigent residents. Exterior appearance of the shower and restroom building is reason enough not to enter. CG is physically located below elevated exit off I-81 resulting in interstate traffic noise and trucks jake braking to slow on the exit. Staff was courteous and pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
This park was not in any book (even the ones from the state) except Woodalls. We were in a snow storm and found this hidden gem, thank you Woodalls. It is right at the exit ramp, great and easy to get in. Sites are long and wide, very easy to pull in and stay connected. The only problem is the low willow branches. That is the only drawback we saw here. The WI-FI here is one of the best ever I have seen at a campground. Plus the caverns are fun to see. The store is nice and the staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
The campsites have very little shade. the bathrooms are borderline ~ bring your flip flops. But the most disappointing thing was the staff. Legitimate questions answered with a surly tone and an eye roll. It appears they would rather you just go on by without stopping. Quite a disappointment in the great state of Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
If you are planning to stay more than a night and have a bathroom in your camper this is a good overnighter. Bring some leveling blocks. The bathrooms are a joke. The shower has no dressing area, except the main bathroom that is. If someone opens the door you can wave to everyone outside while drying yourself off! No soap, hand towels, or even a blow dryer for your hands!! Most of the left row of campers are crappy, old, moss covered, ghetto, rundown campers. The place is rundown bad; no money being put back into the place at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is an old campgrounds. Lots of old RV's. Could use some sprucing up. Bathrooms were very clean. We stopped here for an overnight stop. Got discount on the caverns. Owners couldn't be nicer. Very friendly and helpful. Great for overnight. Nothing for children to do other than the caverns. They have a gift shop but no camp store. All in all it was pleasant, but would not stay for any length of time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Pretty old park with quite a few live in trailers. Not very well maintained and no frills whatsoever. Not worth $30 other than be fairly close to the highway. Would probably not stay here again, ever for the 1 night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This CG is not well maintained. Having said that, they keep the grass cut and each site has it's own trashcan which they pickup on a regular basis. Sites are gravel but level. I said "yes" to the clean bathroom/showers only because I have seen worse and it was early in the morning when I checked them so they may have not been there yet. I saw no mold in the showers and toilets were clean. This CG is good for us as a base to see more of the Parkway, Roanoke and other areas in VA. We even took back roads into WV. Some old trailers in back of CG that are not well maintained at all. If you come here, get a site closer to the front. The roads are gravel but we have not had any problem with dust. No laundry or pool. No place for kids to play. Weekly rate: 7 nights for the price of 6 so the cost was not bad. Most people have stayed only overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Long narrow sites. We had the misfortune to be placed facing the row of permanent old units. Residents all had dogs tied outside except for those who let them run loose. Stepped in dog waste while setting up, and had to clean our site. If you are self-contained, don't use the campground bathrooms: yuck! It's good for an overnight because it is easy off/on interstate. Office help very nice, but we would not stay here again unless it was an emergency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This camp has dusty roads and gravel sites with grass, picnic table, fire ring and trees. Sites are plenty long enough to leave the tow attached, but they are quite close together. They have a large selection on the cable TV, a good WiFi system and a Verizon air card also worked well. There is one row of seasonal rigs. There is significant highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Yikes! Granted it was a cold and rainy late afternoon when we arrived, but dirt, mud, and all sorts of old RV's and general poor surroundings are the norm. We needed one night right off the interstate, and this campground was listed so we took it. Might stay there again if needed, but don't look for a vacation spot. Road through campground is paved with dirt sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
You must be realistic in rating this campground. First, it is strictly an overnight stopping place, not somewhere you would want to go on vacation. As others have noted, the sites are long but narrow; the roads & sites are gravel; there are some older junky full-time campers on the back row; and there is noise from the Interstate. No playground. It is only satellite friendly in the winter when no leaves are on trees - but free cable is excellent. Best for totally self-contained RV's -- use your own shower and potty. Unfortunately, it is the ONLY RV Park in the Roanoke Valley other than the Blue Ridge Parkway which has no hookups, size limits and closes Nov. 1. So, if you want to stop in the Roanoke Valley this is "IT." Now the good parts. True 50 amp power - stable 122 VAC. Excellent free cable TV with strong signals and great channel selection. Absolutely the best FREE Wi-Fi I have found anywhere. Sewer hookup (3" connection). Good tasting potable water with adequate pressure. Sites are level or only slight slope. Easy entrance and exit from I-81 and side roads. Interesting antiques and collectibles store. Friendly staff. Dog walk. 20 minutes from downtown Roanoke, the Conference Center & Civic Center and a huge full service Camping World. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
The sites are very narrow - if the person next to us had a slide out I don't know if you could have walked between the rigs. The sites are stone but they need more stone, and make it a little wider for big rigs - had to drive through mud going out. Some sites had fire rings, but we did not have one. The campground has it's own cavern to tour at a reduced rate if you stay there. They have a large antique store to stroll through. This was a good stop off for a night on our way to VA Tech. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
Very friendly staff here. Quiet site with very few other campers around us (off-season). Restrooms and showers were clean and safe with combination lock access from the outside. Campsite is in a nice location, although close to I-81. However, there was very little traffic noise to bother us in the evening. Great hook-ups for electricity, water, sewer and cable TV. The site was a not level and despite using our leveling blocks we were not quite able to get to a reasonable position for good water drainage. There's a great tour (45 minutes) of the Dixie Caverns available at a discount ($7 fee per person). My wife and I thought it was very well worth it. There was no RV or convenience store available at the campsite. We were short a bottle opener but couldn't buy one there. However, the concierge was kind enough to lend us their opener for our use. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Either someone is not doing their job or someone doesn't care about this place. Restrooms not clean -- especially the men's room, look unfinished, and no room for privacy in the shower -- they open directly to the hallway which can be seen when someone opens the outside door. Campground has long-term sites that are cluttered with stuff and sad looking trailers. Tent sites are pitiful looking, right next to a rusted outside fuel oil tank and the hosts yard full of stuff. I'd only recommend this place if you had to hook up for the night and absolutely needed to get off the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Quiz--What is the difference between staying here and at the Wal-Mart 7 miles North? Answer-$28. Yes, you can have hookups and a dump station. But if you are overnighting only looking for someplace safe and quiet to sleep, then there is no difference. Need a shower? Well, they were clean, but on the men's side, there were 3 and NO place to hang up clothes or towel. So you put them on bench across the room and then went in the shower. Road noise can be tolerated, but it is closer than most Wal-Marts. So if you want to pull in early, use the microwave, watch TV, and maybe have a campfire that night, this is a good deal. If you want someplace to spend 3-5 days and explore the area, there are state parks and other parks not as tightly packed or noisy. And if you just want some shut-eye on a long trip, this is not where you need to spend your money. All the previous comments hit the issues precisely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
The last couple of reviews pretty much hit the mark. Road noise is loud but should be expected when your sitting a few hundred yards off I-81 and can look up and see all the traffic and trucks. WIFI is slow, cable TV has some fuzzy stations, full hook ups with 50 amps worked fine, water pressure on the low side. Sites are pull thru and long enough so you don’t need to unhook towed vehicle. However, sites are very close together and you have to be careful to position yourself so your slides do not conflict with your neighbors. There is no room for awnings. Many of the hook ups are at the end of the site and you will need extra long lines. Rain made areas where there was no gravel or grass very muddy. Bathrooms/showers are located in old cinderblock building and are, for the most part, clean. The outside of the building needs to be repaired, cleaned up and painted. Forget laundry – you don’t even want to try climbing the broken steps to get to the derelict looking building. Currently there is nobody in tent area but last summer we did see some tenters who appeared to be living out of their car. During this last year many of the dilapidated permanents appear to have been removed and/or cleaned up but there are still a few left. One camper here now has four small dogs. Management lets them keep the dogs in a pen outside the camper while the owner is gone. The dog pen is covered with a tarp to protect from the sun/rain but the dogs bark at everything and they are left outside from morning to evening. Shame on the campground owner (who lives on site) for allowing this to continue especially after having been informed of the disturbance and danger to the animals. There are also many plastic storage bins stacked outside this camper making it look very junky. In the past the attitude of office staff has been friendly – this time they acted like they didn’t want to be bothered. As said before, this place is okay for an overnight stop but nothing more. It gets busy here during Virginia Tech football season when you need to be sure to call ahead and check availability or have a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
Park looks very poorly maintained and old but has all necessary hookups. Location (500 yds from interstate and 5 mi from Roanoke) makes it good for an overnight while traveling I-81 but wouldn't want to stay much longer. All gravel slips, very close together, needed to park MH so slides would open around the tree. On thing to note is most slips have the hookups at the very end, we needed 35' of hose to reach the sewer. 1/3 of the pull thru's were nice and long (50' plus). Looked like about 10 or so permanents were set up (not well dressed). Internet was good except for peak times, offers propane refill, and has dump station, staff was friendly. Would stay again for an overnight in lieu of a parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2007
$26
We stayed here on an overnight stop, and it was fine for that, but nothing more. The WiFi was slow to the point of being useless (both in the evening and at 6 in the morning), and the row of permanent trailers that other reviewers contributes to a somewhat worn ambiance. The freeway noise didn't bother us in our RV, but it was noticeable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
We have stayed here twice; it is convenient to the interstate highway. We were not worried about appearance of long term stay rigs, nor did we see any trash. Full service sites with separations varying from 4 to 20 feet. The main drawback here is highway noise, the worst we have experienced. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
50 Amps Full Hookups, Cable TV, WIFI in the campsite. Reasonable Price. We liked the place after paying twice the price for 30 Amps and no cable the previous night. The commercial rating services leave a lot to be desired in judging the quality and price / performance of campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Whoops! Pulling in here was a mistake. Just one night. Enough. Lots of long termers with the related junk scattered around beaten up trailers. Next to interstate so lots of noise. Small sites. I guess there are worse but there are many which are better. Not worth the nightly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This is a very poor campground. A number of long-term junk trailers with sides falling off, etc. Fairly loud road noise from the adjacent highway. "Tent" campers who didn't use tents (just slept out in the open with sleeping bags -- for several days, while living out of their cars). We needed to do laundry but stayed away from the laundry room which was built up on the side of a hill behind several decaying campers which we would have had to walk by (the laundry room itself looked like it was decaying); VERY tight sites (at least one site, we saw a motorhome with it's slides extended, which made them overhang the gravel pad for the site next to it). Everything about this place is run down and we did not feel at all comfortable here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Third year at this campground in early April. The sites are OK, but the friendly staff, cavern tours, and antique/gift shop make up for any shortcomings. We camped in a 37' motorhome. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
It is close to our house, so I wanted to see if there was somewhere I could get to quick (less than half hour) to set up for a night or two. There's not much going on there, but I felt safe. Didn't worry about our new fifth wheel when we went to the Tech game. Easy in, easy out. Not for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
After reading numerous negative reports about Dixie Cavern Campground my wife and I avoided it like the plague. We were on our way from Pidgeon Forge and wanted to visit with a relative in Roanoke. The only campground around was, you guessed it, Dixie. The thought was if we did not feel safe and comfortable we would move on. We were asked if we had reservations, a football game was in the area. The staff were very friendly and had 2 spaces, one having a tree limb in the way. We were told to use the one that would fit our coach, 40', and use the other for our toad. There was full hookup with 50 amp, water was only 20 psi, but not a problem. We would definitely stay again for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
We have stayed at this park from August 16 to September 15, 2006 The reason for staying here is it is really the only park near Blacksburg, Virginia with full hookups. The interior gravel roads had deep ruts and pot holes, the individual camp sites were dirty and the sites were muddy when it rained. They raised there rates over $170 a month from the previous year without any park improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Nice park for an overnight stay. Not many amenities, but everything worked and is was clean. Sites were a little tight, but still plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$26
This would be an adequate campground, in a good location near I-81 and Roanoke, if the owners would give even minimal attention to the bathrooms and showers and if they would remove the many abandoned old trailers. With some investment of time and effort, this could be a fine place. As it is now, it is not to be used unless you're desperate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
Only park close to Roanoke. Low water pressure. Poor satellite reception for most sites due to large hillside. Not a recommended vacation stay. Overnight or couple day stay at best. Spent 9 months here for work. Pet friendly. Storage for extra trailers and vehicles at front of park. Dirt lots. Park turns off water during winter at all sites. Need to fill up near dump station or during day at site if temperature above freezing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Good for overnight only, forget the bathroom and showers never saw a women enter them. Lots of old dirty RVs on sites, they leave junk at the bathroom entrance, had to walk around an old water heater that was changed some time ago judging by the rust. I looked in and walked out. Convenient location but needs lots of renovating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
This was any easy in and out campground for an overnight stay. Sites and facilities were adequate. I would not use it as a destination campground. Staff was not as pleasant and helpful and they should be. I would use it again for a quick stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2004
$12
Could smell the bathhouse from the entrance area. Stored "junk" in the CG...Could be a nice CG with some work and cleaning up. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2002
$15
Staff friendly but un-organized. As other entries stated sewer hook ups there but not connected to sewer system, must use dump station at park entrance. Spaces on top of each other. No Elbow room at all. Trashed RV in back for full time renters. Since cost is so low would use only for highway stop only and only if really tired. What was one time a nice little CG has become a real dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This park is in poor condition. Sites are small and are part grass, part dirt. Some hookups are in disrepair. There are quite a few permanent set-ups in the rear of the park consisting of old, in some cases, patched and painted trailers with more than enough "junk" laying around. There is a store on site selling mostly gift items. No groceries/rv supplies. This park is at best an overnight stop. Easy on/off I81. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
We have stayed at this campground on our way to TN to see our grandson a few times. It is an easy off/on I-81. The sites are level with picnic tables and our dogs are always welcome (we are responsible owners though). They go out of their way to accommodate us each time we are there. Although they do not have sewer hook-ups as yet, they are in the process of having them installed. They have free dumping for visitors. I would recommend this park for a stopover while headed south. We have not been in the caverns yet, but plan to do that on one of our overnight visits in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Road noise from I-81, roads inside park need work (holes), sewer was out of service and had been for a month, lots of old run down units on sites, large amount of equipment in storeage close to RV parking. Needs lots of work everyplace. O.K. for one night stay. Could be a nice park if people would clean it up. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com