223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Tall Pines Harbor Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (757) 824-0777
CGID3080

Tall Pines Harbor Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   9   7   8   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
This campground is about 6 miles off Route 13, down country roads. It is a reasonable drive to Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. The woman who waited on me at check-in and answered a few questions another time was not at all friendly and actually a little rude. The campground offers very little in the way of sightseeing information and brochures. Our site (500 row) was quite long and adequately spaced from the next site. Our site was littered with food and water balloons, and noticed other empty sites with garbage in the fire pits. A lot of golf carts traveling through the park. Many seasonal sites. The grassy, landscaped patio sites are mostly buddy sites with no shade. Although they advertise free Wi-Fi, it is actually only 30 minutes every 8 hours. Also, as others have stated, you can not get any local news or weather on the "cable TV". I guess if you want to keep up to date on the happenings in NYC, you are all set. Only the first half of the stations came in clear, the rest were fuzzy. I would probably try a different campground if returning to this are in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Rate is for no discount full hookup 30 amp. No cable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were led to our site and spotted while backing in. The sites aren't big, but certainly adequate with lots of seasonals. For the amount of campers, it was surprisingly quiet. Horrible Verizon cell phone reception. Campground Wi-Fi was limited to 30 minutes every 8 hours. Lots of golf carts but they all seemed to be quiet and slow enough. We'd stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Rate shown reflects a weekly rate. The park is very large and nicely maintained. The seasonal sites are congregated together. The sites are mostly pull thru and very long. Roads are gravel, sites are a mixture, some dirt, some gravel, some with a concrete pad. The one issue I see is that all the pull through sites are buddy sites, and if the park was full you would be very close and facing your neighbor. Since the sites are very long you would have to stagger the trailers to give you some privacy if you did not know your neighbor. It rained hard during our stay causing flooding at many sites. It made for a real mess of mud at many sites. Wi-Fi signal is strong, but the internet service is extremely slow - slower than dial-up at times. The handful of waterfront sites have very nice views and are well spaced which allows all to get a good view. Staff is very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$58
This is a beautiful campground with open or wooded sites. It has great activities and access to the Bay. The grounds were immaculately groomed, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. This campground is in close proximity to Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. Sites were spacious and level. They have paved pull-throughs and sites right on the bay. The only reason we didn't rate it a 10 was when it rained heavily the exit road was a lake until the next morning. Would highly recommend Tall Pines and definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
All around nice campground. The owners have made improvements over the last few years. Downfall is the mosquitoes are out of hand when the wind isn't blowing. They do spray but with water laying in the ditches its not much help. Bug spray does not even help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
Nice place. Lots of room. To busy and noisy for us. May come back again, not sure yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
We have camped at Tall Pines for a couple of years now. They are always making improvements to the campground. They have great activities planned for children and adults. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The management has good control on the security of the campground. Has a nice water view, paved and stoned roads, new store and spacious campsites. We will continue to camp here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Easy to get to and get into the park. The camp store/office looked brand new. Upon check in with the nice ladies at the office a gentleman escorted us to the site and got me lined up between the trees for my slideouts and awnings. The sites were level and long, 35 ft motorhome and I still had 20 feet to the front and 15-20 out the back. Nice looking campground. Ice and wood prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be coming back next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
The only way I could review this campground was based solely on the service I received on the phone with their representative. You see, we never made it to the campground. On our way towing our travel trailer, the fuel pump went up on our truck leaving us stranded on the road about 90 miles away from the campground. We called to advise that we wouldn't be making our weekend stay and the representative offered to credit our deposit paid to a future date. We appreciated the fact that this was offered and will definitely visit this campground in the future. Thank you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
This was our second stay at this campground and hopefully not our last. The owners are doing a good job of upgrading their already nice park. There is cable that is duplicated direct TV. There are local channels, but if a storm rolls in the signal goes out. Cell service is up to your phone and Wi-Fi needs a serious boost. They are building new bath houses and have plans to start their new water park area soon. I would give a ten except for price and Wi-Fi. They spray for mosquitoes but it does little good so bring gallons of spray (this is not a joke). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Nice, helpful Staff. Note: GPS (Garmin) shows this campground is in Temperanceville, VA. Wi-Fi is a joke. When I asked, I was informed its best at 'white tent.' However that was also so weak we could not even view connect to internet. Only time you could get any signal (1 bar) or bandwidth was at 4am. Cable TV is actually replicated DirecTV. Note there are NO local stations, so you're not going to get local weather! But there are about 20 or so channels. Pets allowed but not really accommodated. They ask you to pick up after them (of course) but throughout the ENTIRE park there are 4 garbage cans. So it means your carrying a bag of waste back to your site. The arcade is 3 video games, 1 air hockey, 1 pool table. Two ponds on grounds. Ducks, geese, and a horse pen. Treed sites are very treed (in a good way) and pull through sites are 100% unshaded (but grassed). Note: we were unable to get any cell signal anywhere in the park (T-mobile). Pump service available to those on non-septic sites ($5.00). No recycling. Would give it 10 if there was real Wi-Fi and proper local stations. (In trees there is no way to get your own satellite signal or local antenna stations.) Quiet park: very clean and well maintained. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We just spent 5 nights at this campground and found it to be very nice. It is right on the Pokemoke Sound with a small beach, fishing pier and a brand spanking new camp store. The sites were large and good for large rigs. We didn't have any need to use the bathrooms but we did use the small but sufficient laundry. The downside for our trip was that we arrived in a terrible rainstorm and when the rain subsided the mosquitoes overtook the campground for days. All of the seasonals said this happens when it rains. Fortunately for them there was no rain all summer until we arrived. We would return but would definitely check with the mosquito police first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed 3 nights in the bay front 5 campsite. The site was a large and level site that you pull into. The campground has a wonderful camp store and amenities. There is a fishing pier and crabbing was a fun activity. There was a nice beach area for swimming. The site was not full hook up but the campground offers a pump out service right at your campsite. We had a wonderful stay and would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We wanted to stay at the well known place down the road, but after reading the reviews decided to stay here for two nights instead. What a great choice! It was during the week, so it was as if we had the place to ourselves. Bathhouses were clean. Grounds were immaculate. After staying here we wished we had paid the extra money for a waterfront site (they are water and electric only but pump-out is available). The pool is very nice, but thought it was a bit small for a campground of this size. The owners of this place go out of their way to keep it nice. I was going to give them a 9, but one night a storm rolled through and the next day the owner was out cleaning all of the roads of fallen pine needles. We are definitely planning on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The good; Good size beach, nice fishing/crabbing pier, a small and friendly campground. They have a scenic location, a nice store with decent supplies and nice staff. This park is clean and in a very good location. The so-so; Our site was a pull thru, but it was a bit awkward - very long and narrow. No cable, but if you have to, you can receive a couple of stations via antenna as long as you have a digital converter box. The bad; Wi-Fi was painfully slow. We gave up. All in all this place is a keeper. We've been camping in this area of Virginia for several years. We will happily return to Tall Pines. They are close to everything and have everything you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
What a great campground. We received nothing but smiles when entering the office to register. The office/ camp store looks like a giant log cabin and is fully stocked. After paying for our weekend we were then escorted to our spot. The owner then checks to make sure everything works. The weekend we camped was Christmas in July. What great fun. The decorations were amazing. They also had a Kentucky Christmas gift swap. To funny and a good time. The bath roons were clean. The pool was clean. The park was spotless. The owners were true professionals. Kid friendly. Spots were large and spacious. Our spot also had a concrete pad. Nice. Would recommend to all. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$56
There have been many improvements at this campground in the past 3-4 years. Very nice location. Generally quite and yet plenty of activities. We were in the newer section - the 400's. These do not have full hook ups but with our outdoor shower this was not a problem for this Memorial Day weekend. Always mosquitoes but they do spray - and this is to be expected - no big deal. Nice pool, sandy beach, and fishing pier... definitely family friendly! A few too many seasonal sites for my liking but I am partial to state parks. A short drive to Chincoteague as well. Did not notice Wi-Fi and poor TV reception (would like to see them add cable/sat). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
This is a very nice campground. The owners do a good job with keeping it clean. We went with another family and got a buddy site which was very nice. We will go back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
This was our first multi-day trip in our new TT and the third campground we have ever been in. The campground was immaculate and the owners were a hard working couple. Every new visitor is escorted to their site, which is a nice touch. I was very pleased with the whole experience and would go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
This is the nicest park that I have ever stayed in. There were activities for all ages: karaoke, bingo, beach party (with a limbo and dancing!), pool, bay-front, dinner. It was fun for the whole family! Everything was easily accessable, and so beautiful. The owners are friendly, personable and made it a point to say hello to everyone. The camp store is beautiful and the facilities are great. I can't say enough nice things about it. I highly recommend this campground to anyone looking for a great time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$45
One of the best campgrounds we stayed in. Staff was extremely pleaseant, grounds were incredible with beautiful views of the water. Always had activities going on ie. pot luck, chili cook offs, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We camped here right after the 4th of July Holiday when the CG had emptied out. When we arrived, we were escorted to our sites, and were offered assistance with backing in. What a concept! As a new RV owner, and my husband doesn't tow it, the help was awesome. The staff was extremely friendly. Even went as far as circling the campground 30 minutes prior to a terrible summer storm. We would have never known it was coming until it was on top of us. They sprayed for bugs almost nightly, which really did help, considering we were water front. Wi-Fi worked for the most part, even close to the water. Pump-out service was timely and very convenient. Our only complaint would be the hot-tub sized swimming pool was very small. Clean, high chlorine, but very small. I look forward to planning another trip for a long week. (it is a 4 hour drive) Thanks again for everything, Tall Pines Harbor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Nice campground lots of things for the kids to do. They need more than 4 golfcarts for a park of this size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Very nice set up. They have spent a ton of money fixing this place up. Brand new sewer plant with the best dump station we have ever seen. Really classy bay view sites, as well as fantastic shaded full service sites, many pull through. Looks like maybe 25% of sites are seasonal rentals. Some of the sites were very soggy after a good rain - In fact we were upgraded (at no extra charge) since the site we had reserved was very wet after a squall passed by. It appears that they have "special event" weekends during the season. Staff was really helpful, and the shower/restrooms were freshly painted, and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This was our first visit to Tall Pines. The owners & employees are very friendly. They took us to our site. We didn't get to see much of the campground because it rained most of the weekend, but we still had fun. We are returning in July. Hopefully we will have better weather and get to see more. It looks like they are adding more pull through sites and they are building a new office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
We stayed here during off season and I could imagine how beautiful this place will be during summer time with all the green trees and flowers. We haven't been here before so, we asked for a pull-through site and it was a big mistake. All the pull through sites are located further from the lake and there's no trees or flowers. If you are planning to stay here, make sure you ask them a site near the lake. There's so many trees, flowers, and etc. Bathroom building looked old and dirty from outside but, it was one of the cleanest & spotless bathroom with shining tiles. They have 3 "huge" glass door showers with shelves for your shampoos which I loved! The shower was so big and it was my first time not touching the walls during shower. However, they don't have a privacy in the dressing area. Actually, there's no dressing area. You have to get dressed in the middle of the bathroom and you got to make sure no one walks in to use bathroom while you are naked. Please save your laundries to your next stop. The laundry room was very tiny and not clean. Even though it was a nice property, I think charging $40 a night was way to expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
A great campground for the family get-away! This campground shows exceptional future prospects. With continuious improvements and additions. They are currently under renotion adding addional sites and a new (much larger) store. The staff is very friendly and accommodating! The first site I have ever been to that has a valet on a golf cart. He will greet you before you get out of the vehicle and escort you to your site. His always says "Let me get you set-up on your site first. You can check-in when you get a chance." Talk about Customer Satifaction and Service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This was a good spot to stay while touring some of the Delaware/Maryland/Virginia peninsula area. Chincoteague VA and Crisfield MD are easily reached from this location. It is several miles down a narrow road from HWY 13. The staff was friendly and helpful escorting us to our site. The CG is expanding and we stayed in one of the older sites in the wooded area. There is no cable TV hookup but fortunately we had a site open facing south so the satellite worked. The new area is in a large open area that is big rig friendly. There are a few sites near the water with only water/elect hookups, and 2 awesome sites right on the bay. WiFi is included at no extra fee and worked great. A number of seasonal and regular week-enders there, but all were friendly. They had a '50s "Sock Hop" on the Saturday night we were there that was attended by both young and old, with all having a good time. We would definitely stay there on another trip in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
WOW, this is a really nice campground. The owners really know what they are doing! Just like the reviews in the past states!! When you arrive they show you to your site and help you get set up. The seasonal people are really nice also. The weekend we were there they had Christmas in August site decorating, a parade for the kids with Santa and other activities. The campground sits on the bay and has a wonderful view. We will definitely make this a campground to visit every year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This park was a pleasant surprise. I stayed there during the week and had a very spacious, private site. The beach area was nice although the water looked a bit murky. The only disappointment was the swimming pool-very small and the water was way too warm. This park is a nice alternative to the Chincoteague parks. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$41
Camping at Tall Pines was a wonderful experience for our family. We were welcomed upon arrival, and escorted to our site. Owners Ray and Sherrie could not have been nicer. The campground is very popular,(due to the number of 'frequent flyers" we met during our stay) and appears to be outgrowing it's facilities. The pool was obviously built for a smaller campground, and 1 bathhouse, while very clean, was not meant for 80-plus sites. Another gripe is the constant roar of golf carts. It seems the "seasonals" don't have to abide by the reasonable 10 MPH speed limit while in their golf carts. Also, I saw several golf-cart drivers speeding along with a beer can in hand. That is a recipe for disaster. All in all, we did have a wonderful week end. We do hope to return to Tall Pines Harbor, and will recommend this campground to other campers. Just beware the golf carts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
When we pulled into the campground driveway, we knew this was going to be a great stay. Less than 10' from our MH there was a bald eagle feeding! The owners are very friendly, frequently asking if everything is alright. At check-in, when we mentioned water fowl to Sherrie, she moved us to a water view site instead of the site we had reserved unseen online. The camp, restrooms and showers are clean. The only thing we didn't like was that the showers have glass (see through)doors. If you don't like showering and dressing in view of everyone, bring a large extra towel to hang over the door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$41
Spring for one of the water view sites. You won't regret it. The closer you are to the water, the more you'll see. We had fabulous water views of the Pocomoke Sound on 3 sides. There was a truck camper rally at the park while we were there. What a fun bunch! The campground held a Sunday breakfast that was quite good. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
An excellent park, place is well maintained. My only complaint was that the owner was rather harsh in correcting children for things that they did not do. I did not have any children or grandchildren with me, but viewed this on a number of occasions during my visit We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
We have been camping here for 4 years and enjoy it every time. We started in a pop up camper and like this place because it is open year round and has a heated bath house that is open year round. It is a quiet campground with owners that work hard to make your stay enjoyable. A great view of the Pokomoke sound and far away enough from the crazy summer traffic. Check out their web site. It is very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$38
We had a site called water front. We could see the little tidal pond perfectly but when other campers in the row were at the site their extra vehicle would block the view to the Pocomoke Sound a lot. However, it was a fantastic camping experience. We were escorted to the campsite by frendly staff. We backed in without any problem on a concrete pad that even had a brick extension for the picnic table and chairs. Perfectly level, of course. The lots were beautifully spacious. Nothing like the sardine can type lots in many commercial campgrounds. The campground is very nicely landscaped with rustic swings and old fashioned lantern for all to see and enjoy. Dog clean-up baggies were provided, and no where did we see droppings. The campground was quiet except for children playing, which is part of family camp life. For a while our next door neighbors had a loud radio playing from a opened car. I do look for the day that campgrounds restrict the sounds of radios to remain inside everyone's camping unit or vehicle. The Easter Sunday Sunrise service was incredibly beautiful. The three Crosses are permanently placed by the water's edge overlooking the Pocomoke Sound and the upcoming sun. Absolutely beautiful. I do look for the day that campgrounds restrict the sounds of radios to remain inside everyone's camping unit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
This one of the best kept secrets on the DELMARVA Pennsula. There are sites directly on Pocomoke Sound (off of Chesapeake Bay), sand beach, kayak rental, nice rec. hall and pool. Great fishing pier. The owners live on the campground. This is a quiet place to relax, fish, go to the Saxis Wildlife Management area, Asseateague National Seashore or any of the 100+ things to do in the area. You will get an escort to your site and help backing in on backin sites. Remember this place is a secret - don't tell anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Lovely Good Sam park located on the Virginia Eastern Shore on an inlet of Chesapeake Bay, six miles off Route 13. Sites are among pine trees. Owner says maximum 25 seasonal campers. Rates vary depending on season and site location. Rate I paid was out-of-season and with Good Sam discount. Campground has fishing pier and small beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com