206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Aquia Pines Camp Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (540) 659-3447
CGID3083

Aquia Pines Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   1   10   6   5   1   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
Do NOT go here unless you just need a nice, cozy, place to park your big RV. The bathrooms are clean and the pool and playground are great. BUT the tent and cabin spaces are far from these facilities, out of Wi-Fi range, do not allow fires and are so close to Route 95 that the traffic drowns out conversation. It is clear from the overgrown tent sites and empty cabins that nobody uses these options. My cabin took hours to air out and had lots of dead flies. The pitch black darkness and traffic noise made it impossible to feel safe - a little light on the path to the facilities would have gone a long way. The owner could not have been ruder or more demeaning when I expressed my concerns after a sleepless night and asked to be let out of the two day minimum. I left feeling that he was unprofessional and abusive and that I would have been treated differently if I were not traveling alone with my son. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$56
This park is quite narrow for getting around the lanes to get to your site. Sites are mostly on hills; hard to get into and out of. They say big rigs are okay, and we did get in and out, but not without a great deal of maneuvering. Trying to get propane at their store was a chore also. Hard to get the hose to the RV. It is also very, very pricey. We stayed there and took public transport into New York City. Office staff was very nice to deal with, but the park is overpriced in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
The owners of this park are deceptive. Be careful. We distinctly asked for a pull thru several times, were assured we had that and were given a pull IN. Had to back our fiver out. Could not even detach as the site was on an embankment. Please be advised they are building a hotel on their adjacent site and huge trucks rumble through at breakneck speeds all day long. Noise and dust are the rule here. Staff was not there to greet us and got annoyed when I asked for my Good Sam discount. Most of the sites are occupied by construction workers. I cannot recommend tthis place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$58
Aquia Pines is a wonderful overnight or long term park. The owner is very friendly and constantly ensuring that the park is clean and any repairs needed are handled immediately. Several types of sites from pull through for big rigs to very rustic tent camping and everything in between. Even rustic large group or Boy Scout areas available. Great pool, laundry, TV room, and playground. Cabins from one room to large ones with kitchen, bath, bedroom and living. We are full time military and full time RVers. Our stay was for 6 wonderful years...never a complaint. Several military and construction personnel do stay long term, but keep their sites very clean. Several families and retired spend a night to several nights. Pet friendly. Even in winter, the owner ensures the main roads are cleaned immediately and salted. We miss the staff. Built into a hill area that is terraced nicely. Stayed in back for 3 years and newer section for 3 years. Loved both areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$65
What I’m looking for in campgrounds is easy big rig access, full hookup at 50 amp, level sites, secure area, and clean restrooms. Drive-thru, Wi-fi and cable TV are bonus features which are much appreciated. I have no interest in a pool, a dog run, or kid’s activities. I’m here to see sights in the area and the campground is simply a place to park my 37‘ 5th wheel. Previous comments I've read about this campground indicated this campground was built into a hillside, and I agree. But, I must say it is terraced with many very level sites. Some of the pull through sites have a hump for entry or exit which is no good for me as I'd be scraping the rear of the camper on rock. The site I had was flat (no hump), and I was able to easily get to the site (pull-through )and set up with no problems. The pool was still winter covered when we were there, but I would not have used it anyway. Looks like pool could be nice with nearby playground in summer. Laundry was very adequate. There is a front section and a back section to the park. The front (newer section) does not have mature trees which is fine with me. The back section has many trees and narrow access roads that I would prefer NOT to try to park in. For the most part these were not pull though sites. The staff was very courteous and friendly and allowed me to see my site before pulling in. I felt the nightly price was a bit much. As far as "next times" I think I'd shop a bit more before staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$57
Close to freeway, some noise. Paved roads and gravel sites. Roads could be tight for big rigs. Some sites have steep entrance or exit, park built on side of hill. Power, water, and cell signal (AT&T) good. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This camp ground is not a "resort!". Gravel pads, no concrete. Picnic table was dirty but we took care of that. It is very basic campground with a basic pool. Employee was not friendly. We would never stay here again and actually left early. Cable TV reception was very poor. Location is directly on a very loud highway so there was noise all night. We were close to groceries, dining and historical sites such as Fredericksburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Interstate 95, Exit 143. Located about 40 miles from Arlington National Cemetery and Washington, D.C. This is an excellent location to see all the sights. Many restaurants and shopping very nearby. Nice park and can accommodate a big rig. Gravel sites and gravel interior roads. The site layout can be confusing so I would not suggest arriving after dark. Nothing fancy but clean and well maintained. Good power and water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
We were only staying overnight (40' rig and toad) so the pull through site we were given did not have any tree cover. However, the campground had plenty of trees. The roads and sites are crushed rock. The sites are fairly close but they do have picnic tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
Noise from interstate. Sites are confusing, but owner brings you to site. Staff is friendly. Sites a little cramped, but seems the norm around this area for private campgrounds. A little pricey, but it is a good spot for exploring this area of Virginia. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$47
Courteous host stayed late to get us in after dark. Very heavy and slow traffic coming south out of DC. If you are southbound on I-95 you will most certainly get here later than you planned. After sunrise we saw our surroundings and were impressed by the condition of the grounds even though it was mid-winter. I like this style of park. Not too big or small. Much nicer than those cookie-cutter paved parking lots but overpriced for an overnight stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$44
We chose this campground because of its location south of DC but convenient to Arlington Cemetery. We were only there for two nights. I walked some of the grounds with our beagle and met and chatted with owner. Very nice and most helpful on recommendations for travel route (by car) to Arlington. There is a wide variety of site types available from those up on a hill side among the trees to those lower down with full hook-up 50 amp which we requested and knew would be costlier. Cable was fine. Have wireless so did not try internet service. It is gravel, winding roads but since we stayed on lower roomier area we had no problem in 38' motorhome with tow vehicle right to site. We found our full hook-up pull-through site (E18) easy to get into including tow. We liked the easy access to the interstate, shopping and restaurants very close by which we used both nights. In November the heat was on at night so RV was closed up tight; no problem with sounds from I-95. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
High priced for what they offer. Electric is separate charge as well as Wi-Fi. It is an older campsite that could use some upgrading. I had a problem with the water having rust in it. Management can be quick tempered and difficult to deal with. They make you pay extra for a simple credit card transaction. I-95 is close by so it is noisy. I would not stay here again and only recommend it if there is no other place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$52
We stayed here one night. This is a very clean campground with very hospitable hosts. The only problem we had was being right next to I-95 and the noise kept us awake. We agree with most of the other posters that the price was a bit high. I don't believe we'd be staying here again if we needed some restful sleep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$54
Overall depending on the site you get, this park is ok. It has hills that are stone and gravel, that unless you have a four wheel drive vehicle, I don't know if you would get into some sites. We were on E31 a pull through, next to the flag pole. It was a level site for the fifth wheel but my truck front was on a down hill slope. I was concerned that with the rain we had at night I would not be able to get hooked up and back out of the site. The owner suggested backing out instead of trying to go down the hill and making a hard left turn at the bottom of the site. There were better sites available and one's opinion might reflect a higher rating than mine because of this. The WiFi worked quite well, no problems with connecting or timing out. The cable TV worked fine also. The rest rooms looked like they could use some maintenance, but were clean. We stayed one night. The price was a bit much for this campground, but the price is due to the closeness to DC and other historic areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We were here for two separate nights in October, when we took a trip to New York. We stayed on the way up and liked it so much, we stayed on the way back south as well. It is a very pretty campground with lots of trees. We were here in the fall and it really was beautiful. Since we were only staying for the night each time, we did not get to use any of the amenities, but we would definitely stay here for a longer period if we were planning a vacation in that area. There seemed to be a lot to do if you have the time. It is also well located for many of the attractions in that area of the country. Would definitely recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$62
This is a very nice campground considering others that I have stayed in overnight. Although I consider the rates to be a little high, I just remember this is the East Coast and all the rates are high in most cases. Originally we were booked for four nights. I had to call and change to one night because of a change in itinerary. Everett, the owner was most gracious to talk to, both times I called. A confirmation email was sent, which we really like to have. Everett was very accommodating to get our 40 footer in a pull through site. He did, and we had room for the TOAD. The sites are crushed rock and was fairly level. This is a hilly environment, so yes, there are twists and turns to get into a site. We had a guide, and he pointed out the hazards and the areas to make wide turns. I did not have any problems negotiating the terrain. No problems with the levelers adjusting to the terrain. This is a full hook up facility with a sewer location in two places, one towards the rear, and one towards the middle. The hook-ups were easy to access. There is a "camp store," for your most urgent needs. A shopping center is just a short trip away. This is a busy community and traffic can be heavy at times. I was concerned at first with highway noise, but it either quieted down, or I was just plain tired, so be aware it is close to an interstate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
I stayed here for almost 3 months from Mar 09- May 09. When I called to make the reservation I got the monthly rate which I thought was OK so I booked. When I arrived I was told that internet was $1 more per day. That is unclear on the website. The internet stopped working almost every night at about 8pm and did not work until I got back from work in the evening. Good location if you want to jump off for south DC attractions. traffic on 95 can be heard all times of the day. Traffic on 95 north is sometimes hard to get into DC without a 2 hour commute. Roads are gravel and hilly. I would stay here again for only an overnight stay not for a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$57
We were talked into a "premium" site with 50 amp service (that we didn't need). The only advantage was it was a pull through. The roads were pretty rutted from a prior storm that we were there for over a week, no attempt at repair was made. I marked the site as having no pool because it was closed and covered with debris floating on top for our entire stay. It was convenient to certain local attractions, but overall it is over priced for what you get. The laundry facilities were minimal and didn't not work well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
As stated elsewhere, this campground has the most awkward Wi-Fi arrangement. You have to get the "username" and password daily from the office. If they don't open at 8:00 as stated (and I sat there waiting until nearly 8:30 one morning). The internet awaits: and waits. I found the personnel to be helpful when asked, but not very offering of help and not friendly at all. The lounge area did have library books and magazines for campers use. Know ahead of time if you wish to be on the hilltop with some sunshine and ease of in/out or "down in the hole" with a gravel hill to climb out of upon leaving. No sun shines "down in the hole." Hard rains had created HUGE ruts in all the roads making the hill climbing really rough!! We had to do the most levelling we've done all summer. Four days and we never put our awnings out being "down in the hole." A great place to stay to visit Mt. Vernon, the Marine Museum, Washington DC and our new favorite, Stafford Hall, the home of the Lee brothers of Virginia that signed the Declaration of Independence and eventually gave birth to Robert E. Lee. Fredericksburg has so much to offer: antiques and Civil War sites. I would look around before staying here again. Of four campgrounds we visited on this ten day trip, both my wife and I counted this one as being in last place. Better than a lot of others, but not of the three others we stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
Wi-Fi worked only about 30% of the time and the sign on process is the most complicated, frustrating process that you can imagine. Site is on/in the hills, but most sites are fairly level.This is a large area with wooded sites and open sites. There is some traffic noise. It is close to the US Marine Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$53
We stayed here 1 night as an easy in/out spot, and it was perfect for what we needed. WiFi worked fine and there are lots of amenities in very close proximity. We didn't even hear road noise, as we suspected we might. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$47
We chose this campground because of its convenience to attractions in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful in getting us situated. Note there is a wide variety of site types available from those up on a hill side among the trees to those lower down with less foliage (and more room). We found our site easy to get into and setup on. We liked the easy access to the interstate, and there is good shopping (groceries and such) close by. We stayed here for a week in our 37' fifth wheel and will probably stay here again if we get back to the D.C. area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$53
Like most of the other posts have stated, this is an older park, with narrow sites and traffic noise due to its location sandwiched between I-95 and Route 1. The first site I was taken to was so narrow that I could not open my main door due to trees. The road to get to this site was a narrow gravel road with severe washout, that left me wishing that I had folded in my side view mirrors. The staff was very nice and allowed me to move to a more open site. This site was near the main office, and was spacious enough for both a slideout and an awning. There was a newer playground for the kids, which was very nice, but the play area was covered by about three to four inches of pine needles, which made footing very slippery for the little ones (ages 4, 3, and 1). The free wifi was strong in signal strength. Only off-ground campfires are allowed on site, though they do have large communal fire pits availible for use. I used this campground as a place closeby to shakedown a new RV, and would use it again for that purpose, or for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
I had planned to stay at the Prince William Travel Trailer Village nearby but my sister wanted WiFi in the unit to transact some business matters. Since this campground advertized availability of WiFi we called and they assured us we would get it in our unit on our site. Fees about twice as much. As soon as we were parked in the site we tried. No Go on 3 different units. Even with directional antennae. We were courteously escorted to a different site nearby the office. No Better!! When we presented our case to the owner, he discourteously pointed out that others farther away could get connected. So therefore it could not be his system. With my directional antenna I can pick up the weakest signals. Anyway, he did not like criticism of his system so we were told to leave the campground. We went to the Prince William campground and found nicer accommodations and friendly staff at little more than half the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$41
We had a very nice fall camping weekend at this park. Restrooms were very clean and facilities in general were in excellent repair. We stayed on one of the pull-thru sites in the trees. (some might be tight to get an awning deployed...but not needed in the shade anyway.) Wifi had very strong signal. We could hear road noise in our Hybrid, but a small fan to create white noise masked it nicely. Very nice new playground equipment for the little kids. Excellent access to I-95 and every major retailer is just across the highway. We would highly reccommend and will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
This park is clean and well maintained. Free Wifi is available. This is an excellent park for an overnight stay. The only downside is the entrance to the park is a little tight and some of the sites are hilly. We would definitely recommend this campground and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$43
Very convenient to I95 and close to Washington, DC. However, this place is typical of "very convenient" in that the Interstate highway is close to the campground and can be heard all night. We were staying only the night, not unhooking from the truck, and so didn't need sewer. Our site was quite difficult to get to in a long rig up a hill on narrow gravel roads, around sharp bends, with lots of trees close by. Sites with sewer (and cable for more $) looked like they would be a lot easier to get to. WiFi is free but I had to move the laptop to a rickety picnic table several sites over. Overall good for a quick stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$43
Close to Route 1, so plenty of noise. Very hilly. The RV bottomed out while getting to the site. The site was just wide and long enough for my RV and toad. Had a heck of a time getting the rig level. Staff was friendly. I'd stay here again for an overnighter, but that's probably about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$37
This is definitely an older park with sites meant for popups and tents on the wooded side. We couldn't open our awning and had to squeeze between trees to fit. The open side of the campground had mostly bigger rigs but even some of those barely fit on their site. We used it as an overnight stop and would choose a Wal-Mart next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$57
Clean park, friendly staff. Some spots had 2 sewer hook ups handy for me with tanks in front and back. All gravel in park no concrete pads. WIFI worked great a $3 per day charge. Way overpriced for park. Was $57 per nite including a $10 surcharge for holiday weekend. This is not an Encore Park or located on the water. It's 40 miles south of D.C. I don't mind paying this much for a park it amenities and location warrant it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2004
$42
My parents stayed here when the were visiting us and the sites were small and unlevel. They were staying in a tavel trailer and had a hard time getting into the sites amongst the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Camped here for one night in my motor home. Facilities were pretty good. Two complaints though. One, this campground is right next to a major road and you can hear it all night long. It's a real problem, the owners should insist that the state put sound barriers up. Second, I paid for Wi-Fi access and wasn't able to get logged in at all. Staff was friendly and helpful. Place is good for an overnighter if traveling in the area. In all fairness, the big sites were close to the road, smaller sites were much further back in the campground, perhaps the noise isn't as big of a problem there. Sites were a bit tight, but not that bad. Store was well stocked. Gave it a nine because of the noise. For an overnight, I'd use this campground again, any longer wouldn't be worth it to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$43
Level gravel sites, wireless internet offered, fore & aft sewer hookups at each site. Traffic noise due to being between 2 highways but not unbearable. Instant on site telephone for $2.80/day, daily on-site trash pickup. 20 miles to nearest metro station to get into Washington DC but an easy drive on the interstate. Camped in October 2003 for 6 nights and campground almost full each night. Campground fairly well cared for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$38
We stayed here Labor Day weekend and considered ourselves lucky to find a campsite at the last minute. Well, we needn't have worried, because this campground was just about empty. The staff was very nice and the guide into your campsite was a nice touch. The kids enjoyed the nice playground, mini golf, and pool. We stayed in the shady section that is not suitable for big rigs. It had full hookups and was attractive. The big rig section is an open field and not so attractive. Cable is only available in the big rig section and I think it's only a few local channels. The big negatives about this campground are the traffic noise and the width of the sites. Our awning covered our whole campsite. The terraced hillside is a pretty place, but it makes for very narrow campsites. Our awning covered our whole site! After subtracting the space the table took up, we had room left for 2 chairs. Beyond the end of the awning was a drop-off to the road. Also, construction equipment rolls past the campsites a lot, I think to keep the terraces maintained, but they're falling behind on that. Our little flat space was eroding into a pretty good slope. We used leveling blocks on the picnic table. The big attraction here seems to be tours of DC. They have a bus to take you to town, but since we're locals we didn't use it. If you are looking for a place to stay to see the sites of the area, this might be a good choice. But it's not a great place to hang out at your campsite with quiet and space. It didn't really fit our needs but may be desirable to out-of-town visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Campground is easy to get to from I95. Roads in the park are somewhat narrow and twisting. The wooded section of the park is not suitable for anything but small trailers, pop-ups or tents. Roads are narrow and hilly and most of the wooded sites are cut into a side hill. The open section is mostly pull-thrus which are adequate for larger rigs. The open (pull-thru) section lacks visual appeal. There were some permanent set-ups in both sections, some of which needed attention. The park is located in a section of land between I-95 and US 1 and traffic noise is more than adequate. The facilities appeared to be clean at the time we were there. We did have a problem with the cable TV reception as did some other people. The owner had no idea why and made no attempt to look into the problem. We feel this park is overpriced. It offers no special amenities and lacks visual appeal. It's only positive is it's proximity to Fredericksburg and surrounding area,but there are other parks in the area. We would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Some sites are narrow but our site was OK for 40 ft. motor home. You have to be careful driving through as they have put sections of trees that have been cut down close to the roads. Some turns you will need to back up in order to make the turn. Have stayed here for the last two years and will stay here again as we have a son in Alexandria, VA. Mgr. and staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$37
This park has everything you need and more. The only too items I did not like was the road noise off I-95, you can not sleep due to this problem. The other problem was washing our windshield. One of the staff people rode by on his four wheel and told me that (you can not wash your motorhome here). I told young man that only the windshield would be washed and some bad words. In a short time he was back and said it was O.K. to use a bucket of water, at that time job was complete. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$37
If you want just a place to park your RV and travel into the Capitol, this is it. Gravel roads and pads. No patio. Very tight sites close to the trees so be careful! Half of the campground is out in the open close to the interstate and yes you can hear trucks and cars all night. If you want a campground on the south side of the District, you're okay here. Next time, we'll try Cherry Hill Park! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$34
Very close to freeway, the noise can be overwhelming at times. It does have instant phones, very nice for the computer junkie. The access driveway is VERY STEEP. The sites are very plain and gravelled. Very friendly staff. They do have tours of DC from the park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com