206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Fairy Stone State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (276) 930-2424
CGID3085

Fairy Stone State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   7   8   5   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Rangers at check-in were very friendly and helpful. Campground is at the top of a hill, so easy to ride bike to beach but very hard riding back. Can ride bike easily around campground. Going to the beach is far, thus a vehicle is needed. Beach is very nice and roomy. Campsites are level, shaded, and clean. Water pressure in showers was low but adequate. Can cut fallen wood near campsites. Good cellular reception and TV station selection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Pretty CG in the woods. Lots of hills to climb to get here. Our site was level but many were on a slope. Electrical and water were good; dump was fine. Bathrooms are pretty old and need some work but there was hot water in the shower and a wall heater in the bathroom. No host but helpful rangers at the visitor center. Verizon air card had four bars! Lake looked like it would be fun in the warmer weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Nice place; staff friendly; bathrooms were clean. Had fun finding the stones at the rear of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
This is a lovely little campground. It’s close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and has an area where you can hunt for the fabled Fairy Stones (behind Hayne’s gas station on Route 57: 2.5 miles from the park.) We used this as an overnight stop, and wish we could have had more time to swim in the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a beautiful old park that may be best visited preseason or postseason, as we did. Definitely only suitable for the smallest rigs. There were only a few other campers in the campground, very spread out, which made it quiet and extremely pleasant. Looking at the configuration of the campsites, which are all on one loop, I would expect it to feel very crowded in the summer when the beach and other amenities are open, and the campsite population is high. One of the staff told us that you can usually always get a site during the week, but that reservations are always preferred and are necessary on weekends when the beach is open. Nice hiking trails, and you do have to hike or drive to the beach from the camping area. Cabins looked wonderful and have lake views. We will try one of those next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is a quiet and peaceful park, about 12 miles west of Collinsville, VA off VA-57. Park has a nice beach area. Cabins and cabin area are in a separate setting with large trees, cleared of underbrush. The RV and tent campgrounds are different. Those campsites are small, many too small for motorhomes or large campers. Campground is overgrown with trees and underbrush. It is above the lake, but with no views and no breeze! It is so overgrown, that smoke from campfires is a respiratory issue. Otherwise: the bath-house is nice, and the roads and sites are paved. All sites have electric, water, picnic tables and fire rings. A few of the sites are pull-through, but are too tight for larger RVs. We stayed here for 4 days. Due to the small sites and the smoke issue, I would look elsewhere next time. This is unfortunate, because the park is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Fairy Stone State Park is about 10 miles west of Bassett, VA, turn off VA-57 onto VA-346. This is a beautiful state park, with great accommodations in the cabins and a very nice beach area. It is quiet, peaceful and heavily wooded. Park staff and rangers were nice and helpful. Staff also leads daily organized activities, including a day with a hunt for the fairy stones. The RV Campground roads and all sites are paved. Campground itself is surprisingly small and overgrown: no view of the lake below and no breezes. Camper sites tend to be small and most are “tight” due to trees. All sites are shaded, have picnic tables, fire rings, water and electric. Some sites also have a tent pad. A portion of the sites are pull through, even so, most of these work best with smaller rigs. Only about one-third of the sites can accommodate campers of 30 ft or longer and leave room for the tow vehicle. Bathrooms were good and kept clean. We stayed here for 3 days. Due to site size and cost, I would probably look elsewhere before staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Virginia State Parks are top notch. The campsites at Fairy Stone are good size and the natural vegetation provides some privacy. The camp hosts were great. Bathroom facility old but always clean. Nice gift shop at Park office but no camping supplies offered. The beach area at lake was spotless, as were all the facilities. Will be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
we enjoyed our stay at Fairy Stone. Facilities were always clean and well kept. We saw many rangers patrolling and helping if needed. Lake swimming was nice and had lifeguards present. Check-in area was a little tight but manageable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$25
Superb CG!! Quiet and secluded sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$65
What a wonderful state park. Located on a lake. Fishing, lake swimming, and hiking. Our cabin was immaculate and was furnished with everything but food. Famous for fairy stones which are in the shape of crosses. We will return with our RV. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com