223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Chippokes Plantation State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (757) 294-3625
CGID3087

Chippokes Plantation State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   9   10   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This is a clean and lovely state park. The roads in and out were perfect and the displays and historic buildings are very interesting. We had a nice time visiting Smithfield and two great restaurants in which we had lunch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Large sites with privacy provided by foliage. Peaceful on a July Tuesday evening. Nice modern rest rooms/showers, plenty of green space for dog walking. Very convenient for free ferry to Jamestown. Would stay here again to visit the Plantation and recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We had reservations for four nights for a "shakedown" of our new camper, but enjoyed this park and the area so much that we ended up staying eight nights instead. The park has two loops. A is more rustic and has smaller sites suitable for tents, pop-ups and small travel trailers. B loop has larger sites and can accommodate campers up to 45'. B loop sites are a few dollars more than A loop sites. There is also a group camping area. Rental cabins are available and they are a ways away from the camping loops. Restrooms and showers at Chippokes were clean and in good working order. Showers were private and had locking doors. There is a laundry room on Loop B, although we didn't use it. The park operates a pool (summer only), visitor's center, farm and forestry museum, a plantation house and a mansion. Mansion and plantation house tours are done on weekends (extended hours in the summer). There are walking/hiking trails and the park offers a 'fossil walk'. We took the Jamestown-Scotland Ferry several times. It's free and only five miles form the park. It can accommodate vehicles up to 12'6" and 28 tons. The ferry docks just a mile from Jamestown Settlement and from there you can either drive or take a free shuttle to Colonial Williamsburg. From C-Williamsburg you can also take a free shuttle to Yorktown Victory Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We stayed here during the July 4 holiday week ( 4 nights ) in the B-Loop since we wanted a bigger spot. The B-Loop is only about 2 years old compared to the A-Loop. The A-Loop is good for tent camping and small pop-ups. The sites in the A-Loop are not level and the somewhat steep driveways to level a bigger trailer or motorcoach. The B-Loop is a paved driveway with a pea gravel pad for your picnic table and fire ring. Both the A&B-Loops are near the huge swimming pool to which you get free passes when you camp there. The historic area was cool since I like farming equipment. The coolest thing was watching the fireworks from the banks of the James River at the Visitor Center on the night of July 4th. We could see the fireworks from Surry, Jamestown, Williamsburg, Bush Gardens, and Yorktown. It's only 5 miles from the "free" ferry to Jamestown from the Surry. Surry does have a Dollar Store that carries most grocery items, but the nearest grocery store is across the ferry in Williamsburg or 20 miles down HWY 10 to Smithfield, VA. The only thing I did not like about the state park is the dump station is a long way from both A&B loops. It's on the main park road near the guard station for the park entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We enjoyed our stay at Chippokes but continue to disagree with the $5 per pet per night charge at Virginia State Parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Loved this beautiful park with its big trees. Lots of places to walk and enjoy nature. Sites were big with lots of trees and space between you and your neighbors. Electrical and water were good. Our site was level but some were not. Bathroom and laundry room were fine - nice book exchange in the laundry room. CG host and the people at the visitor center were friendly and helpful; one nice bonus you can borrow themed knapsacks (history, wildlife, etc...) at the visitor center to learn about the area. Small camp store has T-shirts and camping basics but no food items. Park is very convenient to the free ferry that crosses the James river every 30 mins - we visited Jamestown and Yorktown this way. Surry is a very small town so get your supplies elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We stayed in campground B and the sites were large and level. The area where you park your RV was paved and level and then they had large pea gravel pads with picnic tables and fire rings. Lovely area with a working farm, kids loved the animals. There was a new bathhouse and an excellent book exchange inside the laundry facility. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
As noted previously, A Loop is better suited for smaller rigs, tents, and PUPs. B Loop has very long, level (at least side to side), paved sites with extra large tent pads. The loop was very easy to get around and there is a very nice bath house near the back side of the loop. The swimming pool is huge with plenty of benchs for tanning. The camp store has basic food stuffs and tourist items. Like most Virginia State Parks, this one won't disappoint. The rate includes a $5 pet fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We stayed here for the Pop Up Portal Spring Rally and had a great time. The A loop sites are smaller and not as level as the big paved sites in B loop, but they were just right for the pop up, small TT or tent crowd! A loop sites have plenty of shade, and the B loop sites are nestled in a great pine forest! Bathrooms were very clean with plenty of hot water. Camp hosts and park staff were terrific! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Very nice campground located near Jamestown, Yorktown, Williamsburg and the James River Plantations. Section B has paved sites with picnic tables (big rig friendly). Clean and well maintained area best describes this section. Showers were nice and clean with hot water and separate areas for showering and dressing. Laundry was $1.00 each for washer and dryer. Free ferry is about 10 minutes from campground and takes you to Jamestown. This area has beautiful scenery with winding roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We used this park to visit Williamsburg, Jamestown and Busch Gardens. The free local Ferry takes you across the river for easy access to the attractions. The park was very nice and well kept. Camp host were very helpful and friendly. We took a site in loop B which were paved and are for larger rigs. Our GPS took us down a small one lane back country road which was a challenge, but found out after the fact Alliance Road is a much better road to travel to and from the park off Route 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Extremely beautiful and well kept. Section A is more rustic with gravel parking pads, heavy woods, and roads are a bit rough in comparison to the rest of the park. Section B looks like roads and parking pads have all been freshly paved. Plenty of shade, but less trees than section A. The shower house is rather unique in that it has traditional restrooms but the showers are private unisex stalls with accessible from the outside. There was also a coin laundry in the same building with a small book exchange. We didn’t use any of these facilities but when I checked for this review everything was clean and looked in working order. We used this park as a base camp when visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. Although it is quieter and more scenic compared to RV parks in Williamsburg, taking the ferry across the James River can be slow at times. Also, the dump station had a curb around the connection which made it tough to use a tote tank for dumping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Cost $25 and up adding taxes. This is a working farm with over 1,683 acres along the James River. The park offers swimming in a huge complex, visitor center, store – in season, biking, hiking and also a plantation to visit. There are formal gardens, a Forestry Museum and Farm to tour. The campground has two loops A and B with electricity and water on each site. Four years ago they built the B Loop and it is beautiful. Any size rig can fit into the B Loop – some of the inside sites are just huge! The new restroom in the B Loop is clean, big and also has a laundry room. We did not go into the A Loop restroom but it look like it was also updated. This is a very nice campground. The hosts said that at this time of year they are not full except for most weekends but in the summer they are full most nights so reservations may be needed. The hosts were great in the B Loop – very informative and willing to help. One of the best things about this campground is that it is so close to the free ferry that goes over to Jamestown and Williamsburg for touring. It is also faster to take the free ferry to travel up the interstate above Richmond and head on I-95 north. Nice place, great stay and we would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We love Chippokes! Second time back and had a great time. Sites would be hilly for those of you in a RV, but tents are fine with tent pads. Bathrooms were cleaned daily and there are separate showers. It was really hot, so we had a great time wading in the James River. This campground would be perfect for us, if the playground (which is very nice) was located in the campground, not out to the side, so that you have to drive or hike to it. Otherwise a super place and we'll be back! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
The sites here were a bit unlevel but not too bad, nothing that a couple blocks didn't fix. The camp hosts during our stay were very friendly and there were some severe thunderstorms in the area and they made it a point to come and update everyone on the weather. The weekend we stayed happen to be an Alpaca/Sheep shearing weekend at the farm and we had a blast watching them get naked. This is a great campground, like every other Virginia State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Well, this was trip number 2 with our popup. We read the reviews on here before we went, and found the campground to be nice just like the reviews said it was. There were only minor things that could have been better. These were: The sites are not level, so bring some blocks of wood, etc.. There are no sewer hook ups. $5.00 fee per night, per pet. The firewood for sale was kind of damp, and some was rotten, but we got it to burn. The good points were as follows: The camp sites in "Loop A " where we stayed were surrounded by beautiful hardwood trees. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring w/ swing out to the side grill, lantern post, water, electricity, and tent pad. The showers were each in their own private little rooms. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. There is a nice long beach to walk on the James River. The plantation houses and farm were nice to walk around and check out. This place is close to the Jamestown Ferry. We got their around mid-day on a Friday in November and set up. There were campers there, but no one was around. I actually got set up and sat by the fire and enjoyed an hour or two of absolute peace and quietness until people started showing up in the later afternoon. If you went in the middle of the week during the fall or winter, it would be quiet like a ghost town. I would love to go back during a time like that! We will be going back to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Very nice park. Camp host was friendly and available all times when needed. So much to do here too! We used this as a base camp for Colonial Williamsburg. Sites in the new section were very level, and well maintained. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Pool was free, and huge! Children were brought in from a day camp, which made it pretty crowded for a bit, but not too bad. It's a shame it's so far from where we live as we'd like to come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We enjoyed three nights here as a base while touring Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Nice secluded location, but a short trip across the ferry to Williamsburg. Restrooms and shower facilities were about what you would expect at a state park, nothing fancy but not bad. The Olympic size pool was great, and we enjoyed touring the hiking trails on the grounds. Camping sites were in a wooded area, with a reasonable amount of privacy. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We camped on "Side A", which though shady, was a bit hilly. It didn't bother us, but I can see where it would be tough to level for some. The park was almost empty when we arrived, and filled up for the weekend, but still didn't seem too crowded. This is a super park, with plenty to do. Rangers are very nice and personable. My kids loved the pool, which is Olympic-sized, though while we were there, entire kid's camps and daycares would show up to swim! Maybe that could be spaced out a little better. Bathrooms were clean, with a few frogs wandering into the shower, adding to the camping atmosphere. Walking and fishing along the James can't be beat. We'll be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
We loved this park, it had something for everyone. The sites were paved with pea gravel areas with fire pit/grills, which makes for clean dry feet. Private shower stall on campground B. Nice large pool with store. Has a small natural museum and a beautiful shoreline, loaded with shells. Has a great walking/bike path that goes to the old plantation. Has a farming museum with a few animals. The kids love this. Offer hayrides on Sat. We were five minutes from a free ferry ride that runs 24 hours a day during the summer. This took you over the James River right to Jamestown Settlement. We were able to get right onto the Colonial Parkway and go to Williamsburg or Yorktown with no city traffic. I was very surprised at how not crowded this campground was. I don't think a lot of people know about it. So this will be just our secret and yes we will go back one day. Loved it, loved it, loved it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
You will need material to level your site. There is so much available to do here that you will need several days. They had the largest pool we have ever seen. Pool closes at 7 pm. We picked blueberries at the nearby u-pick site within 1 mile of campsite. Campsite was located within a reasonable distance of Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. Ferry access to cross the James River was easy to use. The ferry runs every half hour until ten pm, then every hour. We recommend this site for tourists visiting Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. Travel time to tourist locations including ferry time is about 50 minutes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We stayed here with 2 other family's. One of the family's was on the Old Side Side "A" and the sites were unlevel although sizable, and it was hard to level my friends Travel Trailer on his site, although if you are tent camper it had a real nice tent pad and plenty of shade. The rest room were adequate on the "A" loop but were somewhat dated. The New Section or "B" Loop is awesome. The Sites are paved and either Pull Thru or Big enough and accessible enough to park the largest trailers on. They also have a large gravel area with a Picnic table and a Fire Ring. The Rest Rooms on the "B" Loop are Outstanding, some of the cleanest facilities I have seen and they also have a laundry facility. The Olympic Size swimming pool and Camp store is about a Quarter of a mile away from the Camping area and for the most part very well maintained. As Campers you get free access to the swimming pool but not unless the Camp Hosts give you tickets; so make sure you ask for the Pool tickets so you can access the pool for free. There is plenty to do between the Welcome Center with Wonderful views. The Working farm with Gift shop with old artifacts and a very nice Buttery Fly garden also was also a joy to visit and alot of trails and other events going on that I did not have the time to do. I would recommend this as a place to bring the family and have a enjoyable weekend sightseeing. We will go back soon!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This a real treasure. We stayed here and had a great time. They have the largest pool I've ever seen. The James River is nice and lots of fossils to hunt. Facilities were all clean and nice. This has an operating Plantation Museum and gift store. Camp has two sides. "A" is older, more shady with picnic table, fire ring, light pole, tent pad, water and stable 30 amps. The sites are irregular, gravel and not perfectly level. "B" the new side, has fewer trees, but still plenty. Sites are smaller, and paved. Stay on side "B" if you think a lot of rain is coming. Campground host(s) was nice and very helpful. Firewood is $3.00 per bundle and you will need two for a nightly fire. Small playground. Had digital television with us and rabbit ears. No problem picking up local channels. Pets fee of around $5/pet/night! BTW, camp store has great milkshakes. I'd give it a 10 if they leveled the old campsites a bit and cut the pet fee. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Loved the park. Had a site near the restrooms and showers. Not exactly level, but it was nice. Had fun touring the plantantion and walking the trails. Playground a little far but it was nice. There was a charge for the pool but it was nice and not a lot of people. We will go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Va. State Parks does it again! Beautiful campground with a wonderful swimming pool on the grounds, and family activities for the whole family. There is an "A" and a "B" side. The "B" side is newer and has good shade but not as good as the "A" side. Sites are well large and well kept with a tent pad, fire ring/grill and a pole for trash or a bug lamp. Camp host was friendly and informative. We will camp here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a fabulous campground. I was a bit nervous when booking in campground B as I had read it did not have a lot of shaded sites. I was pleasantly surprised to see that all of the sites had plenty of trees and shade areas when I arrived. The sites themselves are large w/plenty of room for a camper (ours is 32 ft.) and your tow vehicle (we drive an Excursion). The bathroom/laundry facilities were new and very clean. They do a wonderful job maintaining them as well. The park has an Olympic sized pool w/diving boards and a slide that is free to campers. The Chippokes Plantation Home is located w/in the park as well and is open for tours and is worth going through. It was built in 1854 and gives a good idea of plantation life from that era. The park also offers many activities during the week. My kids (4 boys aged 5, 7, 11 & 13) went fishing w/the Ranger ($6/family). The Ranger provided the poles and bait. We took a candlelight walk through the River Run buildings with the park historian and learned all about plantation life. One of the Rangers even went along w/just my boys to hunt for sharks teeth and fossils along the James River. We stayed at this park while visiting Williamsburg and Jamestown. You need to plan about 40 minutes to get to Williamsburg. You will need to take the free auto ferry back and forth across the James River. The ferry ride takes 15 minutes and Williamsburg is about 15 minutes from there. It was very convenient and fun. Jamestown is just on the other side of the River. I would definitely go and stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Nice state park - VERY quiet ... there were only 2 or 3 other campers (online reservations said full???). Nice sites throughout but loop A are the newer, roomier sites. There wasn't much to do here - 9 miles of biking trails that we finished in an afternoon, plus the mansion which wasn't very exciting (to us). Probably won't return - not because of the conditions, just because of the lack of activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Gorgeous campground. Beautiful wooded sites, tall trees, fire pits, grills, tables, hookups. Stayed first night after arriving late in loop a, was a little unlevel but loop b fills quickly (we snagged a spot the next morning in loop b which was posh!). Beautiful trails along the James River, nice plantation houses to visit. We camped with a 3 year old and 3 month old. Had a wonderful time. Lots of children and dogs in park. Would highly recommend. We liked the campground so much, we skipped Colonial Williamsburg! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Yet another great Virginia State Park! This park is across the river from Jamestown on the James River and we used it as our base to tour Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. There is a free vehicular ferry across the river that runs every half hour. The park has two sections - A is older and better for tents; B has 50 amp, very large paved sites and new rest rooms. There were only a few campers here mid-week in early October. There is a large pool (summer) and an historic mansion and farm museum to tour (free in 2007 only). Could not get WiFi but available outside library in Surry. Would stay here again and recommend it as a base for Williamsburg if you have the time to take the ferry which we enjoyed. Campground was very dark and quiet at night. Information said there was an extra charge for pets but even though we told them about our dog, we were not charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
I was just there 9-12 August 2007. I had a huge pull thru site # 9. I have levelers so the fully paved site was a easy set up. I didn't like the pea gravel where the huge picnic table was. All sites I saw had a wonderful fire pit and grill furnished as well as a pole to hang the light- I will return here--I loved the place. Rest rooms and showers are wonderful and they kept them spotless. I enjoyed the pool-a short distance away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We really loved this park..It is small and not a lot to do in the area, but thats exactly what we were looking for. Section B was new and very nice with black top sites and roads. The sites were not level, but fixable. The bath houses were the nicest we've ever seen in our camping experience in state parks. Cons: Their reservation system stinks. They do some (or all, not sure) of their reserving through Reserve America. Although they say on the reservation site, no specific sites assigned, we talked to RA on the phone they assured us we would have a site comparable to what we needed. Not so...we arrived on a Friday to find that we were the last big rig to come it that would be getting a decent size site. There were pop-up campers in the 50-60 ft pull throughs and Motorhomes in the older section with their fronts hanging over the site. This occurred the whole week we were there...So we concluded the sites are not even assigned but given on a first come basis.The camperhost was very nice in explaining, but firm in the attitude that we could take it or leave it. She explained there would be a lot of mad people that weekend and their probably were, we were to busy to watch and see, but we did see the effects of the poor reservation system (as described above.) Other than that, it was wonderful. If you go to the park with no expectations on your site, you will not be disappointed. If you go expecting a nice pull through or in the new section, and don't get it, you will be very disappointed. Also, they need more than 1 camperhost, she was running her legs off the whole week we were there, and we never saw her leave the campground and felt really bad for her. Other than that this campground is a 10 in our book and we would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This is our second stay here. We stayed for 6 nights and couldn't ask for anything better. The only reason I gave the park a 9 was the poison oak/ivy around our campsite. Once that's addressed it will truly be a 10. We are considering going back in the fall for another week. There is so much to do and see. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
We live only 20 minutes away and this park is a gem! Lovely park for big rigs in the B loop. as long as you just want quiet. If it is a lot of hustle and bustle you want, then this is not the place. Wonderful State Park with nice, though (hilly) walking/bike trails. Nice riverfront area to swim, but a slight walk or ride from CG. Cannot wait to go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
What a great park. Easter weekend snow added to the experience. Stayed in the new B section. Sites are paved and fairly level. Bathroom was very clean. Drove thru the A section - sites are older and well worn. Most looked like it would be hard to find a level spot for MH but the TT seemed to fit fine. Excellent area for hiking and the swimming pool is a plus for a hot summer day. Visit the Historic area in the park and just a short trip (free ferry) to the Williamsburg side of the James River. VA parks are top notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
We had hoped to stay in the new B loop but due to the ceiling falling in the new bath house, we stayed in the older A loop. The sites are not as flat but we had a great stay. We arrived on Saturday and left on Wednesday. After Saturday night we were almost alone in the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
Excellent off the road campground. Very quiet and well maintained. If you are looking for a go getem type campground, this is not for you. If you want to relax with nature, swim, walk the beach, and enjoy peace and quiet then this is it. We will came here again, and soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This was our second stay at this state park and it was great. they have just opened a new thirty site loop and it is all paved with new elec.and water hookups. new bath houses are awesome, large showers, open restrooms, laundry room, and well lit. We felt very at home in this campground. The old section may have a more rustic feel but the new loop is the bomb! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
Although the sites were not level, we were able to level our 5er. There was plenty of shade and the free access to the swimming pool was a big plus. The staff there was new and not well trained but got through the check in process with some help from a ranger. The location close to Jamestown, Yorktown and colonial Williamsburg was very important to us, and we enjoyed the ferry crossing. The plantation and the museum had a special event (gas and steam engine show show) that we were not interested so we did not get to see them. The staff at the park and the museum were extremely friendly and capable. We enjoyed our stay and plan on returning some day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
For our first weekend trip out this year, we wanted to stay fairly close to home so we decided on Chippokes. This park located in Surry County VA is located on the James River, however, the campground is back off in the park with no views of the River. It is early April, so the park didn't have the gates manned or anyone available (at gate) to give you information. So I drove to visitors center (which was manned) and found that the camphost had our reservation. Up driving around the campground, the first thing I noticed was how UNLEVEL the sites were on the upper side of the camproad. There are 32 sites and I parked on the lower side which did take a few back breaking attempts to get my trailer level. Once I struggled through this obstacle, I did relax and enjoy the quitness. A saturday rainy day gave us an opportunity to explore Surry County (Edwards Ham Shop) and a free trip across the James River on Jamestown Ferry. The State of Virginia has a ban on outdoor fires (wood burning and charcoal), so we were unable to sit by the campfire on this trip. A hard drivin rain Saturday evening and night keep us inside. The next morning I was impressed to see that the rain water had drained away fairly good. The camphost was very friendly and did say that the Park is adding more "big rig" friendly sites that supposely has sewer hookups. The park does have a swimming pool, however, like I said, it is early April and not open. Even though we were in a TT, I choose to use the facilities at the campground and they were extremely clean for a state park. Their was only one bathhouse in the campground, and separate mens and womens restrooms. They had four shower stalls which were also clean and lockable for safety reasons. I assume shared shower stalls for both sexes. There is no store on the campground, so a 10 min trip out to the closest store is required if you forgot something. Other than that, it was a quite and relaxing weekend, the DW and I would visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
Nice campground with some trees and greenery but most sites quite unlevel and not big enough for large rigs. We only have a 30 ft class A and did find a relatively level spot with room for our toad. There is a new campground loop under construction that looks like it will have much larger, more level sites for big rigs; don't know when it will be complete. Mid-week the park was wonderfully quiet, we really liked the College Run Trail and saw Bald Eagles and Osprey with a nesting chick. The farming museum was really well put together and had lots of interesting items on display. We took the free ferry several times to the other side of the river to see Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown; we loved it. Bathrooms were just fine and there are four private shower rooms that were clean and roomy with lots of hot water and places to put your stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This is a really great state park, off the beaten path, clean, not crowded. Had the biggest pool I've seen in my life. For all it had at $23 a night, I was scratching my head over why I ever pay top dollar for some of the private campgrounds I've visited. Will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$22
Excellent campground. Staff very friendly. They are almost finish with their expansion wich will double the size of the campground and provide pull-thru sites for the big rigs. Could not find out if they added sewer to the new section. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Have visited this remote state park several times. It is a very clean and quiet park, well off the beaten path. It is across the James River from Jamestown and Williamsburg, with access via a free ferry ride complements of the VA Dept of Transportation. Camp hosts are available and quite helpful. Come to Virginia, you will love the countryside. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com