218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Grey's Point Camp was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (804) 758-2485
CGID3088

Grey's Point Camp

Camp Information
Sites
700+
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   9   9   10   5   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
Pros: Clean rest room, helpful/friendly staff, paved roads, nice pool with water slides,sprinkler park for tots, activities for all, and nice playgrounds. We had a very level concrete premium site. Very quiet/peaceful park but it gets busier on weekends. Grounds and landscaping are lovely and well manicured. Cons: River swimming includes jelly fish. My kids and hubby got stung. Very small laundry room and pull cord showers. There are no A/C in bathrooms or laundry room. However, lots of retirees camp here, which would explain the peace and quiet. When we retire we would come back. Bring your bikes to get around this is a very large park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$47
Very nice campground! Very quiet and clean in every respect. We stayed during a Harvest Weekend with music, craft fair, train rides, and ice cream social. We stayed after the prime season so pools were closed. The pull-through sites are very long and spacious. Very well manicured around asphalt pads. Employees were friendly and accommodating. Easy check-in with golf cart escort to assigned site. Will definitely return during peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
We have camped here several times over the last 2 years. The park is always clean and sites are easy to get into. Staff if excellent. Stayed 4th of July weekend. Park was packed, but still very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$90
Our site was a huge "super" site, and we were able to camp awning to awning with family on an adjoining super site. Pool area was very nice. Small beach area on the Rappahannock River was enjoyable, but difficult to get to for handicapped and elderly guests. Registration process was easy. Friendly staff. Agree with other reviewer that golf carts were out of control with many underage drivers and drinking while driving. Not enough bath houses to accommodate the size of the park. Water had a horrible "sulfur" smell. We did not notice this smell on our first visit, Memorial Day, 2012. Camp store was sparse. We rented a pontoon boat from a nearby marina and spent a day enjoying the river. This was our second visit, and we would probably visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
This is a lovely RV park/resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The camp store was well stocked and filled with really nice gifts. The full hookups were just perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$85
The sites in the main area are huge and very grassy. The entire place is nice to look at. Tons to do in the area. Would get a 10 but the store is woefully understocked and the fishing pier is unusable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
A GREAT park. We only stayed a week but had a wonderful stay. Sites are quite varied. There's a small marina for guests in the park. There's a washing station which was wonderful. We had just come from the Outer Banks and the RV and toad were covered with salt. All paved roads and nice level sites. Will go back on the return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$90
This was our first time to the park. Their website is a little misleading. We paid for a super site. When we arrive the site was covered with cut grass. The site was small. When our awning was extended it was almost touching the unit beside us. The park is about 50% sites and 50% seasonal park models. The park models were well kept, but the golf carts were out of hand. All night long they drove around and the later the evening go the faster they went. The positives... The park is well kept for the most part. The pool area is nice and the location along the river is a nice spot. In the future I would seek a site on the main campground portion away from the seasonal sites as they appear to be larger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
Great place, very nice pool area. Sites are easy to get into and plenty long for the biggest rigs, sites are a little narrow but are all very level and plenty of grass area. We had a paved site which was very nice, fires are allowed. There is a big boating area on the river. Was quiet even when busy. One nice feature is they have a wash area to wash units or your truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We were here for one of the Wet n Wild weekends, it was fun getting the people wet on the train ride. We enjoy coming to this campground, it's very nice. The only thing I ask for is a toddler slide in the water spray area or let the little ones go down the slide with the parents. We always look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Will never return to this campground. Rude staff! The facility is nice. We camped last year and enjoyed so we went back this year. I'm not sure if there are different people running it now or what happened, but it was definitely different this year. We even had 1 member of the staff harass us all weekend. When we contacted management about this, we were informed this staff member would not return to our area. He came back the next morning and banged cans together to try and wake us up at 7:30 am. Nothing was done to prevent him from coming back to our site. Poor management!! Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This campground was super clean. We had a paved pull-through site. The sites and roads well planned out. The site was small but bigger sites ("Super sites") are available. This was a great campground, I can't wait until it re-opens in April. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
This is by far our favorite campground. We discovered it this summer and have already been there three times with another weekend reserved. So much for kids to do-the water park is perfect for kids-it is like going to a small Water Country USA at the campground-best deal for the money! The place is so clean and well-maintained. All roads are paved so it is great for bike riding for adults, but it is very, very busy in the summer-lots of golf carts. I recommend people with small children asking for a site as much on the outskirts of the campground as possible. My daughter (2 years old) LOVES this place, and when we have had friends with "pre-teen" kids join us, they have a great time, too. I can't give this place enough praise-it is fabulous! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is a great place, but not for those of us who don't own huge motorhomes or 5th wheels. We felt very out of place and uncomfortable, as this CG is geared toward those owners and/or permanent trailers and boaters. Beautiful area of VA, nice surroundings, but not much to do nearby. We did go into Williamsburg for a day which was nice and didn't take too long. My kids enjoyed the water slides and other water play features as well as the playground and train ride. The pools were not clean which was pretty disappointing and I am not sure why they employ lifeguards, because while there I witnessed one sleeping, one texting, and another taking smoke breaks outside of the pool area. I had to stay near the slide to make sure the kids waited for the bottom to be clear because the guy manning the slide wasn't paying any attention. Since we are not equipped with a bathroom we relied on the bath houses which were fine for going to the bathroom but not for showering. They were tiny, cramped stalls with a cord that you had to pull to get the water to come out. It's pretty hard to have to reach up and pull a short cord with one hand while trying to shampoo and get washed up with the other. Also it is well water with that sulfur odor which I guess is to be expected in such a rural area but being a city dweller I didn't care for it. Cable and Wi-Fi worked great, store is OK, staff is very friendly and available. The outdoor fitness equipment was very cool, never seen that before! We will probably not return but may try their sister camp down the road next time (Bethpage) since we drove over and checked it out and it seemed to be more suited for us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
The campground, and I use that word loosely, was very clean and well maintained. That being said, it should be called a trailer park instead. With 95% of the "campground" being permanent sites, the actual campsites are in the middle of an open field with too small of sites. We paid extra for the "super site", with my neighbor's water and electric were on my patio. The golf cart race track was open every afternoon and evening until well into the morning. I almost got hit on my bike by a golf cart which was driven by a drunk person from a permanent site (yes, I know this because I rode by their permanent site later when they were partying on their deck). My kids were also almost hit several times by golf carts that were driven by underage kids that were nowhere near the age of 16, which was required by the campground rules (not to mention state law). The adults who drove the golf carts were most of the time drinking with their coolers of beer in the back because they might get thirsty on the race track - even with the 10 mph signs, which were largely ignored. We had a wonderful party that lasted until 3:30 a.m. at one of the permanent sites right behind our camp site which we were not invited to only we could listen to them hootin' and hollerin' the entire time. We were supposedly camping on the river but that was extremely hard to get to because of all of the permanent sites. The beach area was tiny, the water park which is a pool with two slides was so overcrowded on the weekends due to the permanent site people that we could only use it during the week. The Wi-Fi that was free was intermittent and spotty at best. There were signs posted that the fish were inedible due to chemicals. Would never return to this trailer park again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$64
Nice people, staff, and camp hosts. Clean park. Mainly permanent trailers and they take all waterfront site. Many golf carts, but no issues as others described. Great pool and kiddy water features (slides, water cannons, misters, and the such). Small boat marina. Fishing from the shore. The beach is minimalist. Weekend theme events. It was Lucy weekend when were there. It's rural Virginia, somewhat remote. Nothing nearby, at least not walking or biking distance. Nice enough we'll be back this weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$65
Great place to visit and camp. Friendly people great pool very clean place. Good fishing, crabbing and nice beach area. We are planing to go back this year We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I didn't care for this place. It was really, really boring. Could not wait for checkout. I actually looked forward to doing laundry. The beach access was a joke, not at all what we expected. The kids got very bored. We rented a golf cart for the entire stay. That was a mistake as it just sat at our site. We thought there was more to this place. We were wrong. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$64
We don't get why everyone loves this place: if you like drunk people with small children, driving those annoying golf carts by your campsite every 30 seconds or so, then this is the place for you. Don't get me wrong, the place is well maintained, very clean, but not quiet at night, the seasonals were up until all hours with amplified music. Do not pay for the premium sites as they really aren't worth the extra money and they are all on the golf cart racing circuit. The showers, although clean have the strangest setup on the handles, you need to find the hot water, then wrap the cord around the shower nozzle so it stays on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The water slide and splash pool were fantastic, couldn't get my kids out. Activities are available for the kids daily, including a train ride. There are quite a few seasonals, with golf carts driving very quickly. Not much shade. If you do not pay the fee for a "super site" you are not even provided with a fire ring! No fires allowed until 4PM. All of the seasonals spend most of the evening in their RVs,so, there is no "camping" here. We enjoy camping and spending the night outside, and we love to smell BBQs all day. I saw no one cooking outside although it was VERY hot. Upon check-in, our site was flooded due to 5 inches of rain. The staff checked about every 15 minutes of so to check on drainage, and it drained rather quickly. Playground was nice and bathrooms were well maintained. Store well stocked. Although there was NO shade, we may return here for the water slide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Park was very nice. The kids loved the splash pool and water slides. Nice Marina; we enjoyed our Jet Ski on the Rappahannock River. Golf carts galore, but that is expected when you have Seasonals. Our new favorite semi-local spot. We will return again. Oh by the way, trash was picked up 5 times a day or more, that was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$64
We go here a couple times a year. We always have a great time. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. They have 2 pools and one has 2 water slides, which the kids love. I like it because they allow golf carts. I just don't like that they charge $15 a day to bring your own or you can rent one from them for $45 a day. I prefer the grass sites, cause you get a little more room. Also if you have a friend next to you, you can go awning to awning, which we have done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
Great park, very clean, nice pool, busy on weekends, but nicely quiet Monday thru Friday. We liked to use the small beach on the river and were not happy with the 30 or so mooring buoys in the water of the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
We stayed here for an advertised crab lovers weekend, a premium weekend costing more. But upon check-in, we were told the crab feast was $30 per person, children under 10 years of age half price. I said that this was not advertised when I booked but that was only returned by a snide remark on how much crabs cost. I wasn't disputing that, just the fact that I wasn't told before hand and with 8 people in my camper, 6 above 10 - I could not afford the crab feast causing disappointed kids. This is Beth Page's sister campground. Grey's Point seems a lot more laid back, not so much commotion going on or constant golf carts going. They had planned activities each day. A craft fair, a craft making session, water balloon toss, paddle boat races, train ride, and hay ride. Nice pool and mini water park for the kids, although during the day it was crowded and hard to find a chair or lounge. All the golf carts were rented out, but they're $45 for 24 hours. I rented the boys some bicycles because I forgot theirs, $12 for 24 hours. Paddle boats are $7 for 1/2 hour and it's a pond to paddle around in a circle in. My son liked the paddle boat pond though because he found some frogs. What's amazing is that this place has no bugs! No mosquito's, no ants, nothing. Ice cream got spilled and I just knew it would bring ants, but it didn't. You can burn your fires right on the ground. Wood is available for $6 a bundle. They have camp side trash pick up. There is more to the campground - Chesapeake Bay beach access, piers, fishing - that I saw during the train ride, but I didn't explore it to experience it. I like this campground and will return. The only plus Beth Page has over it, from a kids point of view, is the trampoline in the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
We were very impressed with this campground. The bathrooms were clean, the staff was very friendly & the splash complex was great. The kids really enjoyed that. It was over 100 degrees all weekend & the pool wasn't even that crowded. We had a nice spacious site, although the cable TV hookup was broken, but we were able to get it to work. There were activities for the kids as well. This is a great little getaway for us since the cost of fuel is keeping us closer to home. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$54
We camped here labor day weekend and loved it. The staff was very friendly, there were a lot of activities for the children and it was clean. We did venture into the bathhouse and found it to be extremely clean and smelled clean. We were escorted to our site and the staff made sure that 11pm quiet time was enforced. They were strict about the kids not being on bikes with out lights after dark and for good reason. We thought that the sites were huge and well maintained. This was also the first weekend that the water slide was open, but they only had one slide open and not both. Also we did not like that some campers came and took up too many lounge chairs before the pool could even open and then did not leave enough for others. All in all we would certainly recommend this campground to anyone. We actually have plans to return in October! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$54
Let me start by saying after reading these reviews I was scared! We booked this trip 3 months ago. I choose Greys Point over BethPage due to the splash pool. Our children are 3 & 1 and splash pool is more fun then big pool for them. They are still working on water slide but that is fine. It is wonderful! We have a paved area 12x70 then a grass area in front 30x70. We had a choice of 2 different electric and water hookups. The place is soooo very clean. There are a ton of Golf carts but that seems to be everywhere that allows them. We try not to drive in campgrounds unless we have to because of kids on bikes. That doesn't seem bothersome either. Last night the teeny boppers were out everywhere. We wondered if they went to bed but then 11 o'clock came and it was like the lights went off. No teeny boppers, no bikes, no golf carts. If the rest of our 10 day stay is this nice we will return many times in the future. The staff seems real friendly too. Also the sites by the water are permanent however with two small boys I wanted nothing near the water! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
This is a nice campground if you just want to come do nothing, but I didn't drive 6 hours to do nothing!! The pool is very nice, they are adding a nice water slide, but I agree this should be done in the winter not middle of summer.I am sure the guys working on it would agree. There is no game room as advertised and nobody knows why, but did I say it had a nice pool? The swim beach is a joke, it is about 30 yards of washed away beach sand, again the pool is nice. The golf carts are everywhere and there is no policing done, but hey the pool is nice. All the waterfront sites are taken, even though they advertise as if you had a chance to get one, but they have a beautiful pool. The "Super Sites" are a joke, my neighbors was a super sized site and he was upset that mine was bigger than his, were talking sites, but I told him about the beautiful pool. My site was infested with ants, and little was done about it after complaining three times, but we did like the pool. There is nothing around this area, it was built in the middle of no where, and I mean no where, there is no town of Toppings, it is just a dot on a map, but the pool is gorgeous. In closing, if you don't have a nice pool within 300 miles of where you live you might want to come stay at Grey's Point, but otherwise stay at home and save some $$$. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Beautiful campground with missed potential. Paved roads and most sites were generous in length (it's the width that's a real problem); nice landscaping; and attractive pool area; too many "homesteaders" with 4-wheel drive golf carts, though. We camped here with several other families, and we're glad we knew the people around us. The campsites were ridiculously close. There was only 2 feet between the end of our picnic table and our friends slide-out. Our site was Bluefish 27, and it contained 3 man holes, site 25's hookups and some sort of sewer box. I'm not exaggerating when I say that our 9x12 patio rug barely fit between our camper and the one beside us, and we had to put our chairs near the road because the utility hookups were an obstruction. This is not a campground to vacation at, as there aren't many (if any) planned activities (just because it's advertised on their website - don't believe it). The Splash Pool and Water Park were closed due to construction while we were there (wouldn't you think that would be something done during the off-season?). Thank goodness the playground was there, otherwise there would be nothing for the children to do. $49.95/night was TOO much for the "amenities" we got. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
We stayed here for the oyster festival and it was a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of Bethpage. The staff was very friendly and the park was very clean. Will be staying here next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$74
Stayed here as a base for the Oyster Festival for the second year in a row. It is better this year as the sites have been paved and fire pits installed. Permanent sites still dominate and have all the water view and water front sites. Friendly and clean and new pool. Restrooms are not heated and with the temperature hovering in the 40's, it was not too pleasant. Still cannot complain. Have not been here in summer so cannot speak of summer activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$49
Very nice and quite campground. Had nice activities for family to do. We enjoyed or 2 night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2005
$50
The campground is located on the beautiful Rappahanock River. Having said this, you will not see the view since the permanent sites dominate the view. The weather was a typical dry fall day so cannot comment on drainage others have mentioned. The campground was beautiful and well cared for with a constant pick up of trash occurring by the workers. Bathrooms were very clean, but it is off season so the usage was light. Even with the off season, I must say the golf carts were a nuisance. There was a constant buzz of the lifted carts going by and usually faster than I deemed safe. Pool is nice but small and there was not a shower nearby, just as earlier post stated. Overall I thought the camp ground was nice, and we will return but only if we get a shaded site, which is very limited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
This is a great campground! Very clean, very well kept. This campground has been up-coming for a few years now, it is my understanding that the owners of Bethpage purchased it about 5 years ago, and have been doing an excellent job over the years bringing it back to life. A previous post had a complaint about no cable TV or WI-Fi as advertised. When we went last year, I talked with the manager there and found out that the cable company had dropped the ball and they were supposed to have it installed but didn't. This has been resolved now and cable TV/Wi-Fi is on all sites. Lots of activities for the kids, and according to the literature we received after making a reservation for this month, they now have a water slide. Excellent access to the water, along with a sun deck, beach, and a river walk trail. Nice pool, very clean and well stocked store, golf carts available to rent (my kids LOVE these!). Trash is picked up from your site every morning. Very nice boat docks and ramp. The only thing that keeps me from rating this campground a "10" is the fact that the good waterfront sites have been snatched up by seasonal campers. We make this campground a "must visit" every year, and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$41
A huge park next to the Rhapahannock river. We stayed here in June/July and it was quite busy. We had a 45' Prevost Bus and had plenty of room. Some shade sites are available, but mostly open. Down side is too many 'seasonal' park type models for our taste. Also advertised Wi fi was no where to be found. Campground is also quite pricey. If you like to fish this would be a very nice campground. Management is a pain in the rear, but work kampers were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$42
Most sites are seasonable with a few transient sites available. Transient sites are off the river but it is only a short walk to the riverfront beach which is small. The upside of this camp is that it is a great place if you have a boat or jet-ski. There is good water access and plenty of parking and storage for toys and vehicles. The staff was friendly as well as the people who stay in the seasonal sites. A great get-away from it all place. The downside of the camp was the rain, which if it comes down long and hard, will flood or puddle in a lot of places. There is not alot for the tween or teenager crowd to do if they are not on the water. There is an okay-sized swimming pool with a small playground. The transient sites are also not shaded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$41
I will begin by saying that I had reservations about going to this campground, because of what I had heard. I decided I would check it out for myself anyway, and I am glad I did. This campground is located in a nice area on the river. The marina was well kept, and adequate for those of you with boats. The beach area was nice, and the swimming area around the beach had a hard pack sand bottom. The roads in the campground were paved or hard packed gravel. The pool was clean, and fairly large. This is not a quiet campground by no means. Out of all 500 plus sites, I would have to say that 400 are for permanents, and they are everywhere. In fact all perms (I think) have high rise golf carts with Nascar logos. I think that every cart had at least one case of beer in the back and dodging golf carts on the family bicycle ride was not very enjoyable. The campground was clean and the staff was polite. Other than young teens screaming around on 4x4 golfcarts the entire weekend, we had an enjoyable time as did the other three rvers in our party. It is noticeable that the campground was damaged during hurricane Isabel in 2003, but you can also see that they have recovered well. You will not get a water front site here for the permanents clutter them all. This is a shame, because the river offers an awesome view from the shore. I did not agree with the other post on this site, although the campground is far from a 10 it is also well above a 3. In fact the other post was spoken of around dinner time one night, and we came to the conclusion that the author had other issues because it was simply not that bad. We try to camp somewhere at least once or twice a month and this is probably a campground that we would visit once or maybe twice a year. The rating I give would be a 5 to 6, and if it were not for the golfcart traffic, it could be a 7. We camped on June 17 through 20 2004. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This review is being offered up one day after returning from our Memorial Day 2003 camping experience at Grey's Point which turned out to be quite a disappointment! I realize this review is rather long, but it represents what I feel to be an honest "review" of this facility. (Before you read this review, please understand my "place" within the RVing community. I am part of a husband and wife team raising two boys. We pull a travel trailer once or twice a month from Spring to Summer, "Weekend Warriors" if you will. As a family, we enjoy our time together and enjoy camping in areas of the Mid-Atlantic we have never seen. I do not tend to offer up reviews of campgrounds that we have visited unless they fall somewhere outside my own subjective average. As such, this review became essential.) Arriving on Friday afternoon, we were led to our "site" on "Rock Fish Road". Our frontal view was the line of permanently parked trailers owned by the seasonal "residents", each in various states of repair/disrepair. Our rear view featured an expansive boat storage lot. There was standing water everywhere as it had been raining earlier in the day. Given the proximity of the hook-ups, my neighbor was forced to have to set up with a neat little "pond" just outside his door. (As stated in an earlier post, there did seem to be a bizarre placement of the hook-ups/sewer in relation to the gravel parking pad.) Unfortunately, an intense downpour hit us on Sunday night rendering much of our site area a swamp. Thankfully, on Monday morning the weather was warm enough for us to shed our shoes allowing us to traipse through the water while packing to head home. Bottom line, the place has a tremendous drainage problem. (Which explains the preponderance of pea stone that adorns the immediate areas around virtually every "resident" setting.) I came to understand that the area we were in is a newly expanded area for "transient" campers with plans for future expansion (they apparently plan to push the boat storage lot further back toward the woods). I will give the caretakers some credit as they had a heavy piece of equipment adding additional gravel to our adjoining roadways nearly every day. (Neat for the kids to watch but quite annoying.) Though relatively clean, the showers had NO adjustable temperature valves. It is pre-set, and THEY choose the temperature. The showers in the men's rooms were rather chilly, but my wife indicated that one of the showers in the women's restroom was likely hot enough to scald the tender skin of a child. The closest restrooms to our site were near the pool, and according to another camper, they were locked each night as early as 7 PM. (Huh?) There were no showering facilities at this location near the pool, which to me, suggests a rather unsanitary situation as virtually all CG's I've been to encourage showering off before swimming. (Note, my kids stayed away from the pool.) The Main Registration building appeared relatively new. The store had more toy/t-shirt stock than groceries and other usable camping goods, and it appeared that the area for the clerks running the check-in counter was larger than the stocked goods area. The "arcade" area featured mostly "unplugged" games. Much of the shoreline areas for fishing was adequate, though could prove dangerous for little folks who happen to climb around the rocky (boulder) protected shoreline. The pond that appears on the brochure is really what appears to be a water run-off basin. Rather unkempt. About the only saving grace for all of us was the availability of rental golf carts. But with such a steep price, you would think they would/could throw in 18 holes SOMEWHERE. This did provided a novelty and a distraction that kept the kids pre-occupied. (NOTE: There is NO cable at this CG which many folks with young'uns tend to favor.) The "residents" all seemed friendly and offered up a wave upon eye contact. Many were in fact big NASCAR fans, so as an avid follower of the sport, this set well with me. All in all I was very disappointed. I must admit, upon arrival to our site, I actually contemplated leaving, but I figured we would just bite the bullet and make do. But, this was the closest I've ever come to turning around and heading home, canceling an entire weekend getaway. When you look for a "campground" to take your family for a weekend, you come to expect a certain degree of attraction and accommodation. At better than $41 a night for my family of four, Grey's Point was one huge rip-off. (Gosh, to think my Disney CG reservation is about the same.) With the "transient" sites outnumbered by the seasonal sites (which by the way occupy the most appealing areas of the CG), it simply does not "fit" the "campground" mold, and as such, I feel Grey's Point really misrepresents itself. Several of the campers there for the weekend in my immediate area indicated their displeasure with the place and all mentioned they would not return. We will certainly not return. I am most perplexed by the fact that Grey's Point is also owned (for 8 years now) by the same business concern that owns Bethpage Camp-Resort just up the road in Urbanna. The top billing that "resort" receives would suggest that this affiliated facility would appear similar in quality. Perhaps this is not the case. Nevertheless, at the risk of being taken yet again, Bethpage is also now off of my list of likely getaways as result. As the saying goes, "Fool me once". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com