214404 User submitted reviews online!!
Prince William Forest RV Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (703) 221-2474
CGID3089

Prince William Forest RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   7   7   8   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
This park is very convenient to the Washington area. Right off I-95. The park is very nice for small RVs. They have just lengthened 5 or 6 sites to accommodate big rigs, but they are not level. Jacks and air bags could not even come close to leveling our 45 ft MH. Staff was very friendly, and the park is lovely. Would love to stay here again, but sites would need improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This was our second stay in this park. While it has a pool and small play ground, I would not call it family friendly. Both times we have been here it seemed to primarily cater to an older, retired population. TV reception and WiFi are both iffy, best bet for WiFi is the middle of row D in front of the bath house. Because of the trees, TV reception via satellite or antenna is iffy. Rate reflects 30 amp and Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This campground is right on a busy street, but adjacent to a state park and set up to feel as though we are in the woods. Thick tree areas in front and between site rows. Very clean bathrooms, showers, laundry and pools. Sites well maintained. Cement roads and sites, with grassy areas between are roomy enough between sites, but this older campground was not built to accommodate some of the extra long RVs of today. They advertise 35' sites, and even that would almost put the RV on the roadway, but not in jeopardy. Vehicles go slow and careful in the park. Regular TV is good, but limited. Wi-Fi is sporadic...good when it works. Sites are pull-through, some with E/W and some with full hookup. Good dump station on the way out. We like this park and will definitely use it again when in the area. It doesn't have the amenities some have, but probably the best RV campground bargain this near Washington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Best campground in the D.C. area for the price. We stayed in Travel Trailer Village which is a vendor-managed campground in the Prince William Forest Property. Nice paved level sites (albeit slightly small but manageable). Nice older swimming pool and courteous, helpful staff. Easy access to I-95 and about 20 miles from the Metrorail. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
We stayed here for several weeks after selling our home. The campground is old, and not built to accommodate bigger rigs. We had to squeeze into our site with a 40' motorhome, and we were told that there are only about 3 to 4 sites that could accommodate a rig that size. The sites are also very unlevel. On the positive side, the staff is very friendly and efficient, and the wi-fi works pretty well. There is not much of a campground offering in the area, and the price reflects that. With that being said, we would still stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
The park is nice and the location is fairly central for what we were doing. The sites are too narrow and too short in our opinion. They also were not level. And we only have a 28 foot fifth wheel! There is no cable so between the lack of cable and the small sites we give it a 7. The W-Fi worked quite well on the positive side. We would stay if in the area again, but we doubt we will be back. The traffic is horrible in the DC and Virginia area to travel in an RV! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This campground apparently has recently changed names. It was Travel Trailer Village. Certainly not a bad place for an overnight stay. About 3 or 4 miles from I-95. Most sites are pull throughs and about 40% have water, electric and sewer. There is also free Wi-Fi (which works very well). This campground is 32 miles from the White House, if you’re in the area to tour DC, and just a few miles from Quantico. They use a code for the bathing house. Not sure why. We were only there for one night, but the place was busy, especially for a Monday night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
We stayed here a week and this campground was just as stated in an earlier review. By today's standards, sites are on the small side and not particularly level. However, the pool and quiet locale makes up for all site problems. This is a great place from which to visit our nation's capital. The VRE, the commuter train, is close by at the town of Quantico, and it can take you into town close enough to transfer to the Metro. Not having to drive in DC is a plus. The History of the Marine Corps Museum nearby is well worth the visit. We recommend this for DC visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
This is a neat little park but is hampered by small sites in most of the campground. Four of the five loops are pull-throughs. The fifth loop has some back-in sites that will accommodate an RV longer than 35 feet. Sites are paved, close to each other, and most are not level. Nice wooded setting and most sites are shaded all or most of the day. Grounds and facilities are clean. It was quiet at all hours. Office staff very friendly and helpful. Pool and restroom facilities were not the most modern but were very clean. We would stay here again but in a site that was a bit more level. Rate reflects 3rd person in our party. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Park is on federal land and run by a private contractor. Seems to be well and clean. Easy access for big rigs. But sites are very unlevel, almost every unit we saw had multiple blocks on one side. The other reason for losing points was that the fire ring had to be rented each night, for an additional charge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
This is our second time staying here within 5 years. We come to the park for the convenience to go to Washington, D.C. There is a 16 mile drive to the subway, one way. Truly not an inconvenience at all. In fact, it is an easy and fast drive, straight and right to the subway in a secured parking lot. It just so happened that we were a day ahead of our schedule. We called them and asked if they could take us a day early. They welcomed us without any problems. We extended our stay for six days which was during the Memorial Holiday Week. A very busy time of the year. The place only changed their name that we noticed. The restrooms and laundry facility was extremely clean and in working order all the time. The only real difference from our stay in compared to our last stay, was the site. We were more on a downhill slope to which we had to raise our rig up extremely high with more blocks under the trailer jack. So the back was approximately 5 inches off the ground and the front was (no kidding) at least 3 feet from the ground. We weren't the only ones with this challenge. We saw motorhomes with their wheels off the ground. We were secured and so were they. A few of us did talk about it and we said next time we will not stay in those spots. Many of the other spots were a lot more level. Lesson learned. There are many restaurants (both private and national chain restaurants) close by and grocery shopping was easy to do. The only reason I rated this place an 8 is because of our spot. Last time it would have scored 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We needed a park convenient to the District and Northern Virginia and this one met our needs. We checked out other parks in the area (Pohick Bay is nice, but a little remote and camping with a capitol "C". Aquia Pines Camp Resort appeared to be primarily monthly residents in the FHU area, the other sites would be very difficult for us to get into). Travel Trailer Village is a basic, no frills, utilitarian park. We had FHU with 30 amp which we found to be adequate (we were here in September and were not using AC). Sites are close together and just large enough for RV and one vehicle. The staff was friendly, and the park well maintained; restrooms and laundry were very clean. Access to I-95 and shopping is good. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
The staff is very helpful and courteous. The park sites are for small units. Several long units, including ours, were allowed into the park and we barely fit. We had to park crooked so we did not block road access. There are only two parking spaces for all the vehicles on your row and visitors are using them. There is no where to park your tow vehicle. The park is good if you are under 35 ft, which is what I believe they say they accommodate. When you call, they say they have spaces to accommodate you, but boy is it tight. The restrooms and laundry are excellent. If you have a large fifth wheel and your truck, I hope they direct you accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We gave this an 8 instead of a 7 due to it's location. It is very convenient to visiting DC. It is an older park and the sites are somewhat short. But it was doable for our 35' 5th wheel. Most are not real level front to rear but again, doable. The WiFi worked great for us and we didn't have any power problems like some before us. The park wasn't full however. It was real quiet and pleasant. The sites are all paved and wide enough to park your vehicle next to your unit. The sites are decently wide apart. The roads are a little tight but for us it was fine. Again the ease to DC overcame any shortcomings. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
We camp here frequently on the weekends due to the closeness of it to our storage facility and the quick time it takes to get there without hitting major traffic on 95. Overall, it's a great place to camp with the sites being paved but a tad small. The staff is excellent and always friendly and the restrooms and showers are older but clean. The only downside is that the Wi-Fi internet can be painfully slow or non-existent at times which is bad for my wife who goes to college online. Overall, great location and place to stay for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This park would easily be a 7 or higher if the electricity worked properly (low voltage = serious problems for sensitive electronics) and the internet connection worked. As is this place came about 5 minutes from destroying our AC when we first arrived and the internet connection was useful 1 out of every 10 clicks. The spaces are tight, but we were able to fit our 37 foot 5th wheel into a spot with careful maneuvering and angling. During the day we disconnected all electricity and spent the day somewhere else, returning around 8 when the voltage peaked back up. The park has a wonderful pool, easy access to highways and shopping, 40 minutes into DC, and one of the nicest camp-hosts we have ever met. Verizon signal is weak, and data speeds are super slow. Stay at your own risk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a older park, but it is well maintained and the staff was very nice and helpful. It is a excellent location. Paved streets and pads. (blacktop) Wi-Fi was very good. I was on row "D" next to the bathhouse & pool. Sites are not very long. My rig is only 32 ft and was just enough room. My only negative was the power voltage in the park. My volt meter read between 106 v. to 120 v. Thus, my 1000 watt micro-wave would not work all the time. I would still camp their again. It is a beautiful park. Caution: My GPS gave us the wrong entrance. Check the signs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This park is nice but I am a full time RV'er and depend on the internet to work. They told me that the internet was great here but my experience is that it takes 15 min for a Google page to load, also we have an expensive solar panel set up on top of our RV and the trees here are so low they scuffed up the panels just getting to our site. The sites JUST BARELY fit our 32 foot RV. We stayed here 2 weeks and have been in 3 different sites only one of them had good internet signal and it was right next to the router literally. This is a nice RV park with a clean pool and the front office lady is a very sweet lady. Its most of the time quiet and a very pretty area. I recommend it to people who do not need internet for work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Senior discount (or Good Sam) covered the price of tax. We've stayed here in the past, and what I like best about this campground is the paved roads and sites, which help keep RVs cleaner, even in wet weather. Sites are a little tight, but okay. Some leveling is needed for most of the sites. Facilities are clean and well maintained. I could not get usable wi-fi connection, but the price for this area, so near Washington is quite reasonable. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
We called the campground around 5:00PM after our original destination showed us a site too small for our rig, far from level, inconvenient distance to hook-ups and extremely muddy. They accommodated our late arrival (after the owners had left for the night). Site worked well, close to bathrooms which is important as we were traveling south and had not yet filled our water tank. Given that they still had several inches of snow and only a dozen or so plowed sites, the park was in good shape and the owners were fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Agree with other comments here about friendly staff and accessibility to DC, metro, etc. We parked our 38' 5er in a pullthru in C loop, which filled the whole driveway - a couple more feet would have been nice. Room for all four slides and pickup on side. Wifi worked great, as did Verizon cell service. At these prices and location near DC, we'd definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Pros: Quiet. Forested. Water and electric worked fine. Convenient to I-95, grocery stores, restaurants, and Washington DC. Staff helpful via phone and in person. Fairly adequate spacing between sites. Cons: Is there a level site in this campground? Probably not. You will need blocks to accomplish the mission. Internet system was simply terrible in the back loop. When available, the DSL would sometime be down and very slow. We had to select three times before we found an adequate site in F loop. The connects to water and/or electric sometimes made me wonder if I was attempting to plug into a socket in Richmond! Very poorly planning in the back loop. Ants rule! Any wood on the ground was quickly infested. To get to DC, we accessed the Metro at Exit 169-A. It worked great for us every day. Traffic is always heavy on I-95. We would return to this campground again, but may try other campgrounds, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is a great low cost CG for home basing while you visit DC area. It's a private run CG within the National Forest. We had a 36' MH and space was tight so we parked toad in over flow parking. Plenty of shade. Showers and restrooms are very clean as is laundry room. Pool is small but clean. Very small play ground. Convenient to shopping centers and restaurants. Water, elect and sewer connections worked fine. Asphalt pads with picnic table. No fire ring or grill. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
This campground is literally right down the road from us, and we stayed here to get the RV ready for another season. In the past he have stayed in the "D" loop, and had no problems. This time, however, we were placed in the "E" loop, and could not get level front to back with 5 leveler blocks under the front tires. Our back and front end hung out into the roadway on either side. The manager is getting the pool up and running again after the winter, and it looks really clean. The campground itself is well-maintained and I would definitely stay here again, just not in the "E" loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Nice, small campground. Used this as a chance for a quick spur-of-the-moment camping trip close to home. The roads are narrow, as are the sites, but we had ample room for our slideouts. WiFi worked good, and there appeared to be WiFi pole mounted on every loop. The pool was very clean, as was the rest of the campground. The new managers of this campground definitely have pride in ownership, and no detail is too small. The managers threw a s'mores roast on Saturday night that my kids loved. I will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very friendly staff. Good location for visiting DC. Site was not level, but we used boards to level our trailer and it worked out just fine. Lots of shade trees. Fifteen miles to the nearest Metro to DC. Very close to Manassas and Quantico. We thought this was a great campground and would definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for a nice, friendly campground near DC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We really liked this campground. Great location to Washington, DC and Fredericksburg sites. Staff were friendly. Pool was small, but nice. Bathrooms were always clean. They were in the process of adding WiFi. The only drawback was that many of the sites are very sloped. We stayed in site E-3 which was so slanted, we could not get completely leveled front to back. It looked like sites 6 through 8 would have been much better. We would stay here again, but would ask for a site near the middle of the row. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Travel-Trailer Village- Site B8 – water, electricity, sewers, laundry, pool - $27 and up We actually wanted to stay in the NPS no utilities campground because it is deep in the woods with biking, hiking, and more privacy but with the heat wave hitting the east coast we decided to stay in this park for the electricity. This is not run by the park service even though it is on Prince William Forest land. A company bids to run it and it is in the process of changing hands right now. To get to the rest of the park you would have to drive all the way around. This park sits on the northern boundary of this park off of Dumfries Road – it is in driving distance of the Springfield intersection which is known for its traffic during rush hour. This campground has 6 rows of sites with close to 15 sites per loop. There is one tree between each site but if they are not full you can have some privacy. The hosts were very nice. There is a small pool and you can ride your bikes on the campground roads between loops. This was convenient for us for a night before driving around the beltway tomorrow towards New England. 27 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
The sites are very small. We camped there in a 30 foot travel trailer and I could not put my truck and the camper both at my site. In order to get my camper fully on my site my truck was almost in the trees. The site did have W/E/S. There is nothing really for the kids to do. It is a nice place to set up to sightsee. I have stayed there twice and would stay there again. No ground fires but if you have a fire ring bring it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Convenient. Just off I-95. Friendly and helpful staff. Restrooms are clean, showers are dated but tidy. RV spaces are TIGHT-35' is their max--period. Would definitely visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
Great place to stay just 2 1/2 miles from I95. We used as an alternative to a Flying J. The campground was clean and private and cheap! They only can fit up to a 35 foot rig. We were a 35 foot motorhome and did have to park at angle in our pull through site to be certain all was well. Unfortunately the clerk said the campground was being sold and she did not know if it will be open in the future. I certainly hope it will be since this is my new favorite stop off I95 in Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Excellent, very professionally run site in the forest; quiet location and everything works well. Level, hard-top pitches in rows. Thoroughly to be recommended, for visiting Washington or Northern Virginia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Great campground with a convenient location for DC sights and activities. This is a no frills campground that meets all of the basic needs for sightseeing in the area. Sites are within a reasonable tolerance of being level. Staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this campground when sightseeing in the DC area. On a side note, I-95 seems to always have a traffic issue. You should familiarize yourself with the area roadways before visiting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Nice basic park at a reasonable price. We are 35' and were right on the front and back lines. Forget awnings..way too narrow a site. Sites really need to be leveled. With a DP we can't have the back wheels come off the ground and that is just what it would take to level it. The personnel were friendly and helpful. The difficult individual referenced in previous reviews has moved on. A tour company can take you on a DC tour. it's a small van and there is a lot of walking. Wonderful person driving. Call ahead for reservation to tour as soon as you know when you are going. The road in front of the campground is being turned to a 4 lane. It should be completed July 06, a full 7 months early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Excellent park close to DC. Sites are small...I needed to park my 35' rig cross-ways on the ramp and barely had enough room front-to-back. Park is quiet and even though there was a lot of rain, drainage was so good no water ever accumulated around my RV. Sites are not level--my rear wheels were off the ground as were a lot of other rig's wheels. There's no WIFI or cable TV but antenna TV is okay (not good--just okay). Very relaxed atmosphere without vigilante rule enforcement. I enjoyed my two-week stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$31
This was my first trip out with my camper. I am new to the whole camping thing so I used this for a shakedown. Nice campground, quiet, peacful, and friendly. A lot is available in the area grocery stores, Washington DC, etc. I went to Mount Vernon and it was only 20 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$23
When visitng family we always like to come here. The park is nice and quiet, however unless you use outside satellite dish, very little channels. Staff is accommodating. Best price on propane. We will of course return and recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
Sites are not exactly wooded but there are lots of trees between the rows of pull through sites; RV length limit is 35 ft, towed vehicles are parked next to the rig. We have a 30 ft class A and found the interior roads to be wide enough and in good condition. Not much privacy between rigs but having the paved sites positioned at an angle helps; sites are fairly level. Good laundry facilities and restrooms and showers were clean stainless steel with lots of hot water, plenty of hooks and a separate, dry dressing area. Two dump stations, well situated with one each on the incoming and outgoing sides of the road coming into the place. Office staff was friendly and gave us very useful information. Lots of construction on Hwy 234 but not troublesome except for an occasional bit of difficulty making a left hand turn out of the campground. We enjoyed day trips to the Manassas battlefield, Washington DC, Mt. Vernon (we loved the live demonstration at the grist mill) and Prince William Forest. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
This is a nice park to stay at and it is very resonable. We stayed 7 days with 3 adults and the totalwas $201, tax and all. Can't beat that. Showers large and roomy with plenty of hot water. There are two grocery stores within 2 miles of the park. Will stay again when visiting friends in Woodbridge, Va. Also offer good sam disc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Campground is located in a National Forest, but is only minutes from I-95 and is only 18 miles from the Capital Beltway around DC. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very quite and extremely clean. Will stay here every time I am in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
This was a nice, quiet, clean, campground. Great pool, friendly staff. Sites were a little close. No campfires allowed. A great place to visit DC from although the Metro is a 20 minute drive. They did loan out Metro parking passes so you don't have to spend $10 on a parking card plus parking fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Very nice park. The lady in the office seemed put out because she had to deal with us other than that it was a nice and quiet place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This is a convenient campsite. You can take advantage of self check-in and check-out. They have a swimming pool and a playground for the children. Most of the sites are pull through and the sites have lots of shade. We only stopped for a few hours of sleep on a long drive home, but had no complaints and would stay again. I honestly can't remember how much the nightly rate was, it might have been even less than $20. - 2002 We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Perhaps this rating is in comparison to the immediately preceding campgrounds we stayed in on our first real trip out of state. You tell me. Despite the fact that this campground offers none of the frills (there is a pool but it was closed for winter), it was a quiet and beautiful location. It felt like we were in the middle of a forest - we practically were! Down side was the cell phone didn't last very long. The sites were a little too close, but again, in comparison to the ones we'd stayed at on our trek north - they didn't seem unreasonably so. It was relatively convenient to metro station on blue line (traffic on I-95 in the DC area can make the shortest of distances seem long sometimes!). We'd definitely go back (location was pretty darn good - all things considered, facilities were clean, office staff were friendly and helpful). However, because it's a gov't park, there's a limit of 14 days per year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com